Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Garmin BC 30

Wireless backup camera

MFR # 010-12242-10

Garmin BC 30

Garmin BC 30

Wireless backup camera

MFR # 010-12242-10

107 reviews
View this product

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to mount and wire

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from American Fork, UT on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just as it was designed too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

kudos to Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Dahlonega, GA on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

everything i needed to install the unit. works great. perfect with good price and quick response what else could any one want. my neighbor watched me install the equipment and he will be placing an order soon. Richard

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works good, but needs longer transmitter cable included

Carl from Cleveland, OH on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a backup camera option for my Jeep Wrangler. Made up a custom mount for it. Satisfied with the image quality, but the biggest problem with this device is the length of the cable to the transmitter. It's way too short. If they could include maybe a 10 or 12 foot cable it would have made things a lot easier. I know there is a 50 foot extension cable available, but that would be total overkill. Had to mount the transmitter in a not so ideal location. They give a bunch of extra cable for the power feed. Why they couldn't do the same for the transmitter is beyond me. Probably would have cost them another couple of bucks if that. Overall happy with it, but could use a redo on the cable length.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

BC 30 wireless backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Longmont, CO on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The installation was easy peasy and i set mine up so i can turn it on anytime. Good camera which works well wth my Nuvicam. Highly recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Eustis, FL on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, adjusting the lines was a little more difficult then I anticipated

Pros: Easy to install, links to my Garmin Drive 61

Cons: Line adjustment was a bit time consuming

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Pleasantville, PA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good arrival of product. what i asked for. Good videos for install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rear view camera

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not happy with this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/17/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Buy this now

Crutchfield customer from Cataula, GA on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Factory backup camera went out and I was not about to pay $600 to fix. This thing took me about 15 minutes to install and looks better than factory system

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Due to tailgate had to mount next to plate

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

David from Lorena, TX on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just OK, Not a HD camera view I was expecting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukie, OR on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with last year's Garmin DriveAssist (which, unlike current model, allows me to use the same cable). Did have it installed professionally.

Pros: Works as advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great picture, easy install

John from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Placed these on Company vehicles after a few minor backing incidents. The Guys appreciated them and have made positive comments regarding clarity of the picture as well as ease of instillation. For the price, its less expensive than a backing accident.

Pros: cost picture easy install

Cons: non as of yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Archie from Greeneville, TN on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received this product when it was supposed to be here. I installed it on my 2008 GMC Acadia. It works really good and wasn't hard to install. I would recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 9/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was an easy install, the hardest part was connecting two wires to the reverse light wiring in the tail light housing. The product works great. The image appears on the Garmin GPS in one or two seconds after you put the vehicle in reverse and image quality is good.

Pros: Easy Install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Madison, MS on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product. Very easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty Lo-Fi for Garmin

William from Seattle, WA on 7/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my opinion, this is a sub-par product from Garmin compared to the dozen or so hiking, marine, automotive, and wearable products I've had from Garmin for probably 15 years. On the plus side, it's a straightforward installation and is able to wirelessly connect to a windshield-mounted Garmin unit that is about 25' from the rear of the travel trailer to which it is attached. On the minus side, it displays a very low quality image. Also, while the power wires are generous in length, the total distance from camera to wireless transmitter is limited to about 6' unless you pay $20 or $30 more for a 50' cable. the price for an all-in for a circa 2008 Webcam grade image is really pricey when no-name camera's go for $20 on various ecommerce sites.

Pros: Ease of installation, transmitting distance

Cons: Very low quality image; almost forced extra purchase of additional wire for RV installation.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Works great!

Buster from Stafford, TX on 5/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked seamlessly. I installed mine in the left rear tail light opening in a Ford F150 pickup. I attached the camera using the license plate screw. I wired it to the backup lights as per the instructions. I was concerned about attaching the wireless module to the metal frame, but it works just fine. Behind the tail light are two openings, I attached my wireless module in the upper opening. Sorry, I did not take any pictures. To make the connection between the wireless module and the camera water tight, I applied shrink wrap over the connection. Installation only took about 45 minutes.

Pros: Works as advertised Wireless so you no need to run wires all the way to the cab. Wired to backup lights, camera automatically switches to BC 30 when you enter reverse.

Cons: Picture could be a little less wide angle. When backing up, you see more than you need. I would prefer a little tighter angle and more detail.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Liverpool, NY on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you like intermittent and delayed reception then this backup camera is a real gem. Especially when the delay causes it to appear you're clear and really you just backed into one of your own fleet vehicles. I wish I had more thumbs so I could give this 3 thumbs down and one up, cuz you can kinda see a little behind you. Not worth even half the money I spent on this. And in case it matters that was AFTER I added the extension to bring transmitter closer to the Garmin

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Ed from Monroe, CT on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired right up with the Garmin GPS I bought at the same time. Super easy to install. Brady was very helpful on the phone

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: Camera connection and fuse holder not waterproof. Not a problem for a car or SUV. Since I have a pick up it was difficult finding a dry place for them. I was able to mount the transmitter, camera connection and fuse connection behind the driver's side tail light. Problem was that those connections were only about 5-feet long. Just made it in behind the tail light. Another foot of cable would have been welcomed. Had about 11-feet of power cable though.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Leon from Roosevelt, NY on 3/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The BC 30 backup camera accessories appear to function quite well so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Stoughton, MA on 10/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on a 2016 Ford f150 with a Drivesmart 50 LMTHD and works great for what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just what I was looking for !!

Steve from Batavia NY on 5/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had been looking for a backup camera system as a VW Beetle Convertible has a very small rear window. Could find many where you replaced the rearview mirror or put another screen on the dashboard. The Garmin camera uses the GPS I already own........& it's made by a company I actually know instead of a no-name foreign company. Installed quickly & easily. It was much hard to remove the trunk panels & rear taillight than to wire things up!! I think you'll love this unit & at $150 it's one of the more reasonably priced options.

Pros: Easy installation, wireless video, use existing GPS equipment, no additional screen to mount or mirror to replace.

Cons: Night vision could be better. Need REALLY bright backup lights.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good, cheap backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Harrisonburg va on 4/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this to put on a pilot just to have an extra feature for when backing up. I got it installed just so I wouldn't mess anything up. It works great for what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Easiest Backup Camera Choice

Manuel from Springfield, VA on 2/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought with Garmin Drive 50LM to add wireless backup camera to old Odyssey. Install surprisingly easy. Impressed with user adjustments post-install of guide lines- really fine tuning. Color picture adequate, but would prefer a sharper image- seems a bit fuzzy

Pros: Quick install, easy marker line adjustment

Cons: Not sharpest picture.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from sparta, MI on 12/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Installation fairly simple with instructional videos from garmin on the internet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Arizona on 12/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The back up camera works great and was easy to install. We received it very quickly and it was a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great picture

Don from Kingsport, TN on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works very well with a clear picture.

Pros: Wireless

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality product for the price

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly simple to install, quality picture, very helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great addition to my vehicle

Charles from Foley, AL on 11/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty easy to install if you know which wires control your backup light on your vehicle. Make sure it is compatible with your garmin model.

Pros: easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from South Lake Tahoe, CA on 10/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very cool addition to my Garmin 2597. I like having only one device on my dash and feel much more confident backing up. Great product.

Pros: relative easy installation only one device on my dash The receiver comes as a one piece replacement for the usual power cord.

Cons: picture is not super clear, but more than adequate for backup assistance.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Owensboro Kentucky on 10/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great back up camera! Took about 30 minutes to completely install and set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great addition to my Harmon nuvi 2597

PF from Warrington, PA on 10/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent resolution, adjustable guides, and automatic display when shifted to Reverse make this a great add on. I found this better than the factory originals in some other cars I have driven. This is installed in a 2005 Subaru Forester. I had it professionally installed which I would recommend unless you have above average experience with internal wiring and routing.

Pros: Resolution, adjustable guides, compatibility.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

BC 30 Back Up Camera

Ronald P from Canute, OK on 9/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera came fully equipped just as the pictures showed. Hooking the camera up to the vehicle was made easy because of the availability of video on the net. Once I got the camera mounted, I powered on the GPS and it linked up very quickly. There were absolutely no problems installing or linking this unit with the Garmin GPS.

Pros: Everything was as ordered and expected

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

sczebra from Aiken, SC on 9/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little addition to the license plate is PERFECT!! I took to a local audio installer and they put it on in 45 minutes for $45 bucks and it works like a charm. Adjustments to the display lines were easy to do in the local mall parking lot. The Bride likes it a lot, so enough said!!

Pros: Even though an add on, the vehicle (RAV4), had a little cutout above the license plate for theirs and this one fits right in there.

Cons: Slight pause before visual response after putting vehicle in reverse, but less than five seconds is nothing compared to the peace of mind!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy Install - No Drilling

Kurt from Deptford, NJ on 9/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was very easy. About 1 hour to install it in my 2012 Nissan Titan. Transmitter mounted behind the left rear tail light with no drilling. Not high definition video, but works well.

Pros: Easy to install. Worked first time I put the vehicle in reverse. Didn't have to run a wire all the way to the dash of the vehicle.

Cons: Not high definition video

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Framingham, MA on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gave the Garmin system to my wife for her Ford Fusion, truly really easy to install, the system was as advertised, installation was about 2 hours as I took my time. Super after market - after sales support from the Crutchfield support team. You made this first time experience Perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bc30

jim from AR on 9/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera does not have a very clear picture but works ok .If I were to purchase another camera would not buy this one I have seen way better cameras for just $20.00 more..

Pros: None!

Cons: This Backup camera is useless in the country at night.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome Picture on my GPS

JIm from Vilseck, Germany on 9/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Garmin Back up camera BC 30 took less one hour to install after I removed my panel from the rear tail gate. Matches up perfectly with the new Garmin 6 in GPS. I purchased for my 2015 Dodge Grand Caravan. Now I am going to purchase another Garmin BC 30 back up camera for my XC-70 Volvo and get it installed.

Pros: Great picture day and night, clear vision with snow, fog and rain.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin back up camera

JuneRick from Stillwater, MN on 8/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This backup camera was easy to install and the directions were easy to understand.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin bc 30

jbell from Hicksville, NY on 8/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well,easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

BC30 Garmin Camera

John C from Wayne County, WV on 8/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only used the camera a few days. The install was not difficult at all on my Toyota Tundra . The picture quality is very good on the Camara partly because my GPS is high definition probably. The only problem I have had so far is the camera has sort of Locked Up a couple of times. It just kept showing the same picture even though my vehicle was moving. I am hoping an update on my gps will stop this.

Pros: Easy Install-pretty much a plug and play type of equipment. Really good picture quality with my high Def GPS.

Cons: Camera has locked up a couple of times. Hoping an update on my equipment will solve this.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

BC-30 backup camera

Don from Mustang, OK on 7/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works really good. Hooked camera power to running lights, so I can turn it on anytime.

Pros: Installation View

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Backup Camera

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, DE on 7/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice backup camera to use with my Garmin GPS. The only problem it does not always work. Sometimes there is nothing when I put the car in reverse, sometimes it is a still picture only, and most of the time it operates normally as it should. I checked the wiring and voltage, all okay. Maybe it is a software issue. Will try updating my GPS even though it has the latest version. I would have given it five stars otherwise.

Pros: Quality build, good picture.

Cons: Does not always work as advertised.

Crutchfield response on 8/1/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bc 30 in my 2008 vette

Tom S from Mentor, Ohio on 7/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was easy any handyman do it.I hooked it up to my new garmin/cam setup was easy i just made sure i left my self 2 feet b4 i hit anything

Pros: very clear to see every thing

Cons: just rember the reciver has to replace the garmin one came with your garmin GPSv I did ask garmin if it was ok replace my garmin hd reciver they said was ok is the gps that is HD

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Product

CA BEACHBUM from Long Beach CA on 7/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Were planning a cross country road trip this summer in our GMC Savanna van; bought a new GPS That was backup camera ready. Bought the Garmin BC30 camera. They recommend pro installation but I'm pretty handy & have plenty tools, so I installed myself. Very pleased with outcome; mounted camera in recessed lic plate holder in rear door, tapped into backup light hot wire, and mounted wireless transmitter inside corner mounding (conversion van). It works like a charm! When I shift in reverse, the 6" screen displays what's behind very clearly with grids!!! Very satisfied. My 04 Van now has navigation AND a backup camera!

Pros: Very clear display; relatively easy to install, if you're handy & familiar with auto electrical systems.

Cons: None, so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30 BAck-up Camera

dwc from Grayslake, IL on 7/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly anticipated having installation problems but once started it was fairly easy. I did watch several installation videos on the computer and that helped a lot. Minimal instructions come with the unit. Did not need an auto relay for this installation.

Pros: Much better picture than what some comments reported. I'm very happy with the back-up picture on my GPS. Took about two hours to install. Most of this time was removing and then re-installing the sound padding in the trunk and around the left side. Well spent money instead of $40,000 for a new vehicle to get a back-up camers.

Cons: Included directions not very good. A novice to auto work would have problems as you can't be afraid to drill holes into your vehicle and run wire where needed. Would have been nice to have 2 - 4 wire splices included in the box.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin 2699LMT with BC 30 - Tundra and Travel Trailer

loy from Chicago, IL on 7/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The BC 30 was installed in a 21 foot travel trailer. I also purchased the extension cable so I can put the transmitter up front for better signal transmission. So the install is pretty much straight forward but I have to customize mine for the camper since the license plate is not centered. I made a bracket to mount it to the spare tire bracket, approximately 15" to clear the spare tire. I also built a bracket for the transmitter so I can mount it to the electric jack motor housing. The wiring is connected to the park light instead of the reverse light so I can see what is going to the back whenever I want to check the back. The overall quality of the video is basically low resolution. It is a wide angle and covers pretty much the back of the camper and can easily sea the big object behind. It is hard to tell any detail fromthe video. I tried to use those orange fiberglass marker stick just to set the alignment and I cannot see it clearly. So don't expect too much for the video quality, you will see something just to avoid big objects but basically it. When I tested it the camper was park where there is a big contrast in lighting so that might be the problem too. I would think that it will be better when the light is even. The whole install experience is simple. It started right away and it is paired to my Garmin 2699LMT right away without me doing anything. Once I powered it up by turning the park light to the camper, it shows the camera dialogue to set the warning ma

Pros: easy install, it works right away, looks like it is well built. I can't tell about longevity, it is too early to tell.

Cons: low resolution, no low light infrared for night time use.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Dave in Missouri from Republic, MO on 7/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up, easy blue tooth hook up and works flawlessly.

Pros: Anybody that has a little common sense and can read would be able to install.

Cons: As of now, none!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install!

Doug H. from Henderson, NV on 7/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install to add backup camera to Yukon. Already had a channel for the cable and two screws to go to the backup light/tail light assembly on driver side. Works perfectly and tucked it under the barn doors.

Pros: Easy install. Affordable solution instead of buying a car with backup. Easily adjusted guidelines and wireless connection to garmin Nuvi 55

Cons: Camera size is bulky... But it does the job!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not Useful to monitor traffic + trailer behind a moving Motorhome

Frank N from Concord, MA on 6/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Garmin BC-30 to replace a failed, wired Back Up Camera on our motorhome. (The wired OEM Camera/Monitor have "Manufacturer Unique" cable connectors, so this Wireless Camera seemed to be an easy to install solution). Our motorhome (and two other cars) have GARMIN 2598MTHD GPS units, so we were delighted to find that this camera interfaces to the Nuvi 2598 directly by replacing the original power cable with the included Camera Receiver cable. Before installing in the motorhome, I installed the camera on the license plate of our Jeep Grand Cherokee. In our driveway, the picture on the Nuvi 2598 seemed clear, with good color resolution. When we took the BC-30 for a Test Ride, we discovered that the picture on the Nuvi GPS was too broad to be of any use in trying to determine if there was any trailing traffic in the right/left travel lane - the Camera's acceptance angle is something like 120 degrees. Also, the Nuvi Display is only updated by the camera about 6-8 times/second. NOTE: The BC-30 may work in a satisfactory manner in a mall parking lot to monitor people with shopping carts + little kids, where your vehicle is hardly moving.

Pros: Easy, Quick installation with specific GARMIN Dash GPS units

Cons: Extreme Wide Angle does not allow one to see items that are more than 10 feet from rear of vehicle

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

2010 Prius - GARMIN Nuvicam - Garmin BC-30

Ray from Arlington, VA on 6/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed fairly easy. Took off a couple of panels, drilled one hole, attached a plastic piece on the hatchback and ran the wires to the drivers side back up light. Wiring reached fine. Worked the first time I plugged it in. Fantastic add to my prius.

Pros: I don't have the prius with the built in LCD radio. I have the Garmin Nuvicam. This took about an hour to install and works perfect.

Cons: Had to drill one hole. But then you would have to do that for any backup cam. I sealed around the hole and ran the wires through.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy backup camera

Mike C from Pearl, MS on 6/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This backup Garmin camera can be paired with current Garmin GPS units. It provides a high quality picture.

Pros: Made to pair with Garmin GPS units.

Cons: While installation can be accomplished by many users, some users will need to have it professionally installed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin BC-30 Camera

SgtDan from Norfolk, VA on 6/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding Product, at a Great Price.

Pros: Grid Lines are Completely Adjustable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

Fireman591 from Midland, MI on 6/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great on my jeep cherokee. I mounted the camera on the plate and wired it into the backup lamps. I also have one on my 1999 corvette. It also works great. Best money spent for piece of mind.

Pros: Easy install and wide field of view.

Cons: Picture could be better but the GPS only has a 5 inch screen.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy to install and a great product

Gene from Westminster, MD on 6/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product was very easy to install. The toughest part was trying to position it on the license plate. I did not have to drill and holes and I was amazed that it worked the first time. Adjusting the camera angle was easy. The biggest help was the online videos with step by step instructions. The quality of the display is very close to my brand new car. I bought this for my daughter's car as an added safety measure. I am very pleased with the product!

Pros: Easy to install and use.

Cons: The camera is larger than most new car cameras but not by that much and definitely not a problem.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great if you already have a compatible Garmin GPS.

Aaron from Reno, NV on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed as-advertised in my dad's old Chevy 2500HD standard-cab. No issues with signal quality between the windshield-mounted GPS and the forward face of the rearmost under-bed crossmember where we mounted the camera's transmitter. One issue was that both 12V power ports in the dash are constantly powered; the GPS was designed for a key-switched power source so it automatically comes on when you start the vehicle, and powers down when you turn the car off. We ended up re-wiring one of the two ports to dedicate to the GPS, and hiding the power cable behind the dash while we had it apart. Installing a new stereo with a video screen and a vastly cheaper wired camera would not have been more more work or money. If you have a compatible Garmin GPS and need a reverse camera, this is a pretty simple option. If you need an entire package (display and camera), there are options out there that provide a more integrated look in the dash for a similar price, as long as you are comfortable with the install. *Not well explained in the descriptions, but this kit is more expensive because it includes a required replacement power adaptor for your GPS that has a wireless receiver. The camera "add-on" kit only includes the camera, transmitter, and associated wires, so your GPS would not detect any cameras unless you already had the modified power adaptor. Only 1 receiver cord is needed, then you can install up to 3 add-on kits for a total of 4 cameras that can be cycled

Pros: Well constructed, good signal range, good range of view, simple integration with compatible GPS unit.

Cons: Low image quality (usable though), somewhat vague instructions, cost vs wired options, only works with compatible Garmin GPS units.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Flagstaff AZ on 5/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Backup camera worked right out of the box

Pros: Color

Cons: None as of now

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, Co. on 5/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera! Works like original equipment.

Pros: Can see behind while backing. Lines help while parking. Price is acceptable if you have a comparable Garmin gps. Easy installation if you have some mechanical aptitude.

Cons: I have nothing bad to say about this camera unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what it should

Dave from Apple Valley, NY on 5/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for SUV's, sedans and hatchbacks. Must have unobstructed radio wave path from back to front. Wife loves it. Should be mandatory safety equipment. Easy Install. Used relay to trigger off back-up lamp. Constant hot from 12 volt power outlet. Pairing was automatic. Adequate picture quality (about 600x400). Garmin never claimed it's high-def 1080p. Great add-on to a really good GPS (Garmin Drive LM60). Note: Camera is wireless. Doesn't broadcast through sheet-metal. Trucks need hardwired camera.

Pros: Good value. Modest price. Easy install. Unobtrusive camera. Wiring harnesses included. Fast Crutchfield delivery. Great online manufacturer support.

Cons: Won't work with pickup trucks. Cannot be hardwired. Resolution could be better.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

garmin backup camera

Norm from St Augustine, FL on 5/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

product works great

Pros: wireless connection to Garmin gps

Cons: enclosed directions sketchy, go online for more info

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bigred

Elew from Salem, OR on 5/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product, easy to install, and great value.

Joe L. from Syracuse, NY on 5/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy to install, and great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

gordon from Santa Clara, CA on 5/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit. watch reviews on YouTube works works just as they said it would. very good. Glade I bought it.

Pros: Very easy to install. Bluetooth works fine

Cons: Wish you could ajust how far or close the car is behind you.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost perfect

John L from Plano, TX on 5/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1. Installation was about 2 hours. I have installed items before, so pulling out the trunk lining and finding the backup wire was not difficult. There was already a small hole in the back of the trunk just above the license plate light. I enlarged the hole a little, then put a rubber grommet around the wire and fished it through the hole. The image quality is great, I have a garmin nuvi 2589. It connects quickly. The only problem is the time delay of the legal disclaimer on the garmin. I have been using a factory built in back up light on my other car, and look at it every single time I start the engine and shift it into reverse to back out of the garage. Love it. So, I put this unit on my wife's car. The problem is when you start the car, Garmin has this disclaimer which you either have to acknowledge by pressing the garmin, or by waiting about 60 seconds for the disclaimer to go away on its own. So, in my case, you have to jump in the car, start it, then press the button before looking at the backup camera and then backing out of the garage.

Pros: Works as described.

Cons: none for this device. Only as part of the entire garmin system, it takes an extra step compared to a standalone backup camera.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good rear view camera

Monroe from Palmetto, FL on 5/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took a while to figure out how to install. Once I figured that out I had to get up the courage to remove some panels. After that it was relatively easy to install. Works very well.

Pros: Very good quality display to my GPS.

Cons: It would be helpful to be able to access install procedure for various make and model automobiles. If I would have had a video camera, I would have filmed and posted online.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5th Wheel Camera

Sw2 from Palmer, AK on 5/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I actually got this for the back of my 5th Wheel. It mounted great and was easy to install. I had to get the 50 foot extension cable and it was the right lenght. The respection is great. I mounted the wireless transmitter in the hitch and it is and works great. Visibility is very good.

Pros: Great respection range and very easy to mount.

Cons: None that I noticed yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not what expected

ami from Lytle, TX on 4/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are more dictated products available on the market that provide high quality video. The quality of this product is bad. The pixilation is unacceptable. However for the price and the fact it is on you're already setup GPS it is what it is. There is just better out there. Spend you money wisely.

Pros: An add-on to your current GPS setup.

Cons: Poor video, hard to make out objects.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Bruce from Seattle, WA on 4/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this on a Ridgeline without navigation. I paired it to the Garmin gps and a OEM tailgate handle. Works great and saves trips out of vehicle when attaching trailers.

Pros: Easy installation and good wireless picture

Cons: Works as advertised

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Back up camera

Bill from Pittsburgh, PA on 4/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product. Crutchfield was fast and on time. Thanks

Pros: Works great as designed

Cons: Ummmm none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BEST CAMERA

ADNAN R from Brooklyn, NY on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

BEST BACKUP CAMERA FOR GARMIN GPS.

Pros: WIRELESS

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin BC30 Backup Camera

Rosie W from Corpus Christi, TX on 4/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using the videos, this was so ez to install and it works perfectly!! I attached to my backup lights and it's extremely helpful in backing up my big-a truck! *smilez*

Pros: Ez to install, the free installation videos are a major plus!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, but not for the faint-hearted

AF from oak park, IL on 3/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good unit that transmits a perfectly acceptable image to my Garmin Nuvi 2590 GPS. Installing it is not for the faint of heart, as you'll have to do some tricky wiring to get the cable from the trunk lid up and back down to the backup light circuit. Be very careful to avoid damaging any of the factory wiring harness! Or get a professional to install it; the price here is $150-175. In any case, it's a reasonably priced alternative to replacing the entertainment/GPS system of this car (until 2012 Honda entertainment systems wouldn't accept external video input.)

Pros: Good picture, doesn't need wiring to dashboard. Transmitter works fine from rear hatch.

Cons: Not for the faint hearted. Some time lag before it switches on (but not much more than on my 2012 Prius with built-in camera).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pretty good!

Wu from Panama on 3/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Actually the car is a Land Rover Defender, I had to choose another model because that one did not appear on the list. Anyway, installing the cam was a breeze. Connected to rear light, wifi trasmitted glued next to the rear window facing forward. Works like a charm. Great, just what I needed to help avoid damaging anything when backing up.

Pros: Easy to install. Sturdy. Good quality overall.

Cons: Sharpness of image could be improved, but as it is more than enough for the purpose.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Garmin back up camera from patchogue, NY on 3/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly with my Garmin Nuvi cam

Pros: Works great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

BC 30 Back up camera.

epazsr from crystal lake, IL on 3/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks like a factory installation. Wireless works great. Easy to install. Fast on time.

Pros: Good performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

As advertised

Brent from Osyka, MS on 3/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and easy to install.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great!

Norm J from Chappaqua, NY on 3/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After my brother backed my RAM 1500 into a loading dock, I decided it might be a good idea to get a back up camera. Like a previous reviewer, I tapped the back up lamp on my rear tail light (using butt connectors) and I used the included bracket to attach the camera to the license plate. There's just enough wire from the camera to the tail light area, but it worked out great. I used cable ties to secure the transmitter to the back of the tail light bulb holder so I didn't drill a single hole! Hardly any delay from the time I throw it into reverse until the display shows the camera view. True this isn't a 4K image, but things like car bumpers and loading docks don't need to appear in hi-res.

Pros: Easy install. Done in 30 minutes and no drilling needed

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Back-up Camera!

Ironman1953 from Perkasie, PA on 3/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation on my '09 Forester but I had to use the constant power option. (The Forester's back-up lights are extra bright, offering tremendous night time clarity, but are located in the taillight array, not the license plate/tailgate area.) The video quality is excellent on my Garmin nuvi 2689 six-inch display. The field of view is extra wide, making this a perfect tool to insure safe back-ups. I have had absolutely no connection problems. I installed it in 20 minutes, including soldering and silicone tape sealing all my connections.

Pros: Easy installation, excellent video quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Chuck P from lexington, SC on 3/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to install and works great.

Pros: When you put it in reverse it pops up with in a second, and you can see behind you.

Cons: The imaging behind you is a little distorted and you must get used to it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Camera performs great and was easily installed!

Steve L from Newnan, GA. on 2/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new RAM 1500 pickup did not come with a back up camera. I already had a Garmin Nuvi GPS and I saw that I could buy this BC 30 to give me video behind my truck when in reverse. I am not a auto mechanic, by any means, though I am handy with electronics from my work on fighter jets in the Air Force. I read the instructions and climbed under my truck and in about 45 minutes, I had a fully functional back up camera with no major problems, at all! I chose to hook up the power to the camera and transmitter from my reverse tail light of my truck. Just 2 star screws and the light housing pops off of the truck and I tapped onto the reverse light hot-wire inside the housing in order to give the connection a weather-protected location. I used one of the screw-type taps for the first time and I was amazed! No splices.... no screw it onto the wire to be tapped, then screw on the connector that will be served.... easy! I mounted the transmitter as close to the front of the truck as I could with the wire that came with the unit (about 5 feet or so). I mounted it facing the front of the truck on one of the chassis support beams. It comes with a sticky side to attach but I also put a wire-tie around it for confidence. The camera easily attached to my license plate and I used the hole in the camera housing to secure it with the license plate mounting screw to the truck. Once I hooked it up, I just cranked up the truck, placed it in reverse, and t

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: May need to install an LED light on the back of the truck for good visuals in the dark.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

BC 30 operation and installation

brokenclub from Seaford VA on 2/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For once that is a product that works like it is supposed to on the first try. Installed two unit , one on a Toyota and the other on a Ford Ranger. Both were done in two hours and working fine. The delivery of the units were superb receiving them in two days. Kudos to Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy to install and working on the first try.

Cons: So far I would say that there is nothing that would give it a back mark.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent camera to go with your Garmin

Jack F from Austin, TX on 2/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price and convience this is a good camera. If you already have a compatible Garmin, this is a no brainer. It isn't the best camera, but for the cost it is hard to find one better, and it will be hardwired. The wireless transmission has its pros and cons. On the plus side install is easy. On the negative side it means there is a little lag, and the frame rate is a tad slow.

Pros: Wide angle view Very good low light performance Easy to install

Cons: So-so resolution Slow frame rate

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30 Backup Camera

Howard L from Marietta, GA on 2/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I mounted this camera on the License Plate bracket for a 2006 Lincoln Town Car with no problems. I did replace the standard 12 volt backup bulbs with hi-intensity LED bulbs to improve the night view with this camera. Works very well

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Could be higher resolution

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Eye in the back of your head

Steboo from Maricopa, AZ on 2/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Backing up is very important especially when you think you are clear of everything. Since I've purchased my BC 30, I have yet to bang into another parked car. Even with the rearview and side mirrows in my pickup truck, it is very hard to see the closeness of objects direct behind you. Thanks to the BC 30, I can see clearly now and don't ever have to worry about hitting something like another persons car. The BC 30 allows me to back my truck with confidence knowing that I can see what is directly behind me much better then with my rearview and side mirrows. The BC 30 camera shows a very clear picture of any and everything in back of me, even the object on the ground. Safety is very important to me because I have 15 grand kids and I love all of them. I highly recommend the BC 30 camera to everyone who drives a vehicle. This BC 30 is worth the money. Very satisfied with it's performance. Thanks to Crutchfield for the best price around. I love my BC 30 and Crutchfield. Crutchfield, you are my favorite store.

Pros: It's like having a third eye, one in the back of your head. You really don't have to turn your head backwards.

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another good quality Garmin product

EdR from Morrow, OH on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well constructed, simple to install ( well done videos available at the Garmin support site).

Pros: Wireless transmission to the GPS. No wiring from the back of the car all the way to the display screen.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BC 30 Camera

KT from fultondale, AL on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this camera on 2013 Nissan Frontier pickup. This camera works great for my application. It was necessary to cut a small hole in the underlying panel of the tailgate to allow signal from the transmitter. The truck has a bed liner that covers the tailgate so it's completely hidden. Small wire run over to the right rear tail lamp for power. The camera is mounted in the same place that a factory camera would be, right by the tailgate latch. Looks the same as a factory camera. I did have to run the sync procedure twice for whatever reason but it performs as advertised. Would highly recommend this camera. Picture on my gps is clear and as good as any factory picture.

Pros: Clear picture, performs as advertised.

Cons: Just a slight amount of work to install the transmitter.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from smithfield, VA on 1/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bc 30 cameria works great goood instructions where very easy.i installed it myself

Pros: Crutchfield great company to deal with.came in mail on time.they answerd all my questions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great product

wog from wisconsin rapids, WI on 1/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great with my nuvi 65lm, just updated the unit, installed the camera, and works like a charm

Pros: works with existing gps so you dont have to add another display to clutter up your dash, price is comparible to after market kits, picture is clear with no fuzz or glitches

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin BC30 Reverse Camera

behhom from ft lauderdale, FL on 1/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product arrived promptly. Got it professionally installed and works exactly as explained by Cruthchfield. Makes me feel safe while reversing my vehicle as well immediate switch to GPS when driving without pushing any additional screen buttons is very helpful.Very pleased with product and excellent price and support from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Backup Camera

Duane B from Spokane, WA on 1/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Garmin Backup Camera is one of the most worth-while investments that I've made in many years, making me wish that I had looked into it when it first came out! Very clear field of view, and the guidelines give you the ability to adjust it to what YOU want to be aware of when you are backing up. Mine is attached to the brow on the top of the rear hatch window, giving an excellent view that doesn't get all the dirt and grime that is in the license plate area.

Pros: Very clear and precise installation directions, making it very easy to install. Plug in the power cord and it automatically connects to the GPS unit - couldn't be easier.

Cons: The camera mounting bracket is designed for license plate installation as a primary method - it would be nice if they had included a regular bracket for installation in other areas as well, but by no means was that a show-stopper.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great camera

Great camera from California on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. Fairly easy to install.. Everything worked perfectly. Good job Garmin

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This is what you need to know about the Garmin BC 30 Backup Camera.

Mike from Georgia on 1/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is what you need to know about the Garmin BC 30 Backup Camera. 1.This is a wireless camera and the resolution will not be the same as what you would get with a wired camera (as in a factory installed camera on a new vehicle. 2.You are viewing this camera on a much smaller screen than a factory installed unit. (No larger than the Garmin 7" GPS) 3.Because this is a wide angle lens what you see in the camera will appear farther away to the rear of your vehicle than it actually is. (Things are actually much closer to your car than you think) It is important to adjust the guide lines so you know when to stop. 4.Because the resolution of the camera is not that great, you may not be able to identify or recognize certain images you see on the screen, for that reason you must understand you are using this camera only to see if something is in your path as you backup (without identifying what is actually in your path.) 5.The camera will take a second to come on when you put the car in reverse. This is normal for this type of camera. If you want instant on then buy a car with factory unit. 6.When wired into the reverse lights the camera is only on when the vehicle is in reverse. 7.This camera has a few quirks and hopefully Garmin can fix these with updates or firmware for those of us that have purchased the first generation of these cameras. 8.Bottom line. This is an expensive but fairly efficient way to add a backup camera to your vehicle for those that want a go

Pros: Fairly easy but expensive way to add a backup camera if you have a Garmin GPS that is compatible with the BC 30.

Cons: Not the best resolution and has a few quirks.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

REVSR from Charlotte, NC on 12/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Nice, clear view. It shows what's behind me, plus my trailer hitch ball. Makes hooking up the boat much easier. Installed on my 2004 Silverado 3500 dually.

Pros: Easy install, very good instructions. Clear "video".

Cons: The horizontal lines take some getting used to. This is not a good way to view your backing up, it is good to show what is behind you. I had to give up my traffic condition USB cord on my GPS in order to install this. Would have been nice to have both features!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

not so clear and Work most of the times

CW from New York on 12/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera work most of the time,sometimes when the car is in reverse the unit don't switch to backup camera it normally takes about 2 seconds to switch to the backup camera, whenever it does not switch over I would check the backup camera apps to see what's going on with it. (display lost signal on the screen) sometimes I would put the in park or neutral then go back to reverse then it work.so I could say it worked 90% off the time,Its on a 4 door sedan the wireless device is mounted in the trunk behind the back seats so it not far from the transmitter/charger so it should work 100% perfect. It was easy to install and the camera picture isn't the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Camera work 90% off the time

Las from Florida on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera work most of the time,sometimes when the car in reverse the unit don't switch to backup camera it normally takes about 2 seconds to switch to the backup camera,whenever it does not switch over I would check the backup camera apps to see what's going on with it. (display lost signal on the screen) sometimes I would put the in park or neutral then go back to reverse then it work.so I could say it worked 90% off the time,Its on a 4 door sedan the wireless device is mounted in the trunk behind the back seats so it not far from the transmitter/charger so it should work 100% perfect. It was easy to install and the camera picture is good,you have the option to disable the guidelines plus it's easy to adjust ,also at night the camera view is good.

Pros: It would be nice if it works perfect 100% but it's wireless so it might lost signal sometimes.

Cons: Work most of the time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin BC30

LexusGX470 from California on 12/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing the BC30 was straight foreward, I bought the relay just in case but it works fine using the reverse light power. I have limo tint all around so now backing up is a easy and safe. I replaced the backup light bulbs to a more brighter light. I connected it to the reverse light so far so good. If you are having issues, use the relay and problem solved. Adjusting the grid lines was really helpful and easy. As always, I am highly satisfied buying from Crutchfield??.

Pros: It has a wide angle view and the grid lines can be adjusted to your preference.

Cons: You have to use the BC30 power cable adaptor thereby losing your traffic updates in my nuviCam LMTHD. Power adaptor gets really hot after 45 minutes driving, hopefully it won't be a problem in the future.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Unreliable

Dan from California on 12/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My setup consists of nuvi 2589LMT + BC30 on wife's 2010 MB GLK350. Transmitter is mounted on rear window which is in direct line of sight with 2589, the distance is about 8 feet. BC30 draws power from backup light. The video is grainy even under good lighting, but it shows enough detail for me to see the obstacles behind the car, so I am OK with it. However the video freezes from time to time before disappearing. And sometimes the video doesn't come up at all. If I restart the GPS (by long holding the power button) while keeping the gear shift in reverse, the video would show up again. Also if I shift to P or N, and back to R, the video would come back. It seems to be some software or interference problem. According to wife, the problem happens "almost half of the time".

Pros: Nice installation videos on youtube. Good user interface when it works. Easy to adjust guidelines.

Cons: Very unreliable.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Clsoe to worthless

Ben from Texas on 12/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty disappointed in this since I am a Garmin user for many years. I guess this camera is supposed to be used in a Geo Metro or a clown car or something. I put it on a pickup and the transmitter can barely send the signal six feet to the receiver. It would have been much better to put another ten feet of wire on the camera and let me plug it straight in rather than messing with wireless which just barely works. The connections for the camera and transmitter are not waterproof either, so who knows how long the whole thing will last mounted under my truck. The video is grainy and lags so far behind real time that you might just back in to something before the video catches up to where you really are. I had a cheap chinese monitor and wireles camera on the truck before I switched to this. They cost me a fraction of this set up and the video really wasn't that much worse than this camera. I got about $30 worth of value with this back up camera, but it cost me quite a bit more than that to do it. Seemed like an easy way to get the back up view where I could see it on my Nuvi, but I wished I hadn't bought it. Very disappointed.

Pros: Can't think of a one. Does "it didn't blow up when I connected it" count?

Cons: Everything. Pricey is not a problem if I get some value for the money. None here.

Crutchfield response on 12/8/2015
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer. We'll either help him get this working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

11 of 12 found this helpful

Backup Camera Review BC-30

Bill from Ohio on 9/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera. Picture is clear and the guidance lines are easy to move. Not as good a picture as I saw on my friends new SUV, but it is fine. I needed to use a relay to give it power. After a few minutes the Crutchfield team confirmed the wiring diagram I needed to use and all is good now. Got to remember to use the special power cable at all times to make it work.

Pros: Photo quality, easy of installation

Cons: A bit pricey I thought but I wanted one that would team up with my new Garmin GPS.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Garmin BC30 Backup Camera Issues

beeler from Tennessee on 8/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is installed in a 2013 Mini Cooper Roadster. My setup consist of the camera, transmitter, charger/receiver and a Nuvi 2597 GPS with updated software. I wired the BC30 as per the instructions. The transmitter is located about 3ft from the GPS and is pointing toward the charger/receiver. This setup worked great for the first 3 weeks. Then, with the camera turned off, every few minutes the GPS would flash the Camera screen over the GPS Map display. It would last a second or so and then go back to the GPS Map display. Even with the camera off this started happening several times a minute and eventually it started locking up the GPS screen. As a test I installed the Nuvi 2597 and the charger/receiver in a different vehicle that did not have the camera installed. The same issue occurred in the second vehicle without the camera so that lead me to believe the issue was with the charger/receiver. I worked with Garmin Support for several days on the issue. Garmin would not just send me a replacement charger/receiver. I had to purchase the entire BC30 kit and then they would refund my money once they received the defective unit. I agreed to this and was sent the replacement. The replacement worked for a week or so and then the very same issues reappeared. At this point he BC30 is making my Garmin GPS useless and I still don't have a working backup camera. I will be removing this setup and will try another manufacture. See attached video showing the screen swipes and lockup.

Pros:

Cons: Camera locks up GPS Screen when camera not in use.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

Works great

Bobkuwait from Killeen, TX on 8/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great once I got past the backup light issue where I need a relay to get the correct power to the transmitter. The instructions should be a bit clearer for Ford products that always have voltage to the lights but activate the ground circuit when the car is put in reverse to light the lamps. It took me a while to figure that out. Once I did and put in a relay to control the transmitter all worked well. Calibration of the lines was very easy.

Pros: Makes seeing when backing up much better in crowded parking lots where others backing at the same time has always been a problem for me.

Cons: Manufacturers that need a relay were not listed in the instructions.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Backup light power not reliable

BC from Rocky River, OH on 6/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great. Guidelines were easy to calibrate. Installation on our Mercedes C300 was complicated by a peculiarity of the car's electronics. A computer regulates the volts/amps going to the backup lights and power would dip below the amount needed for the camera to broadcast a signal to the GPS unit. Our work-around was to connect to a constant source of power that is on when the car is on. The camera comes on when we start the car and we have to manually change the view on the GPS unit to get rear of the backup image. This is not an inconvenience for us. We love this technology.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

needs a relay

jrj from Pottstown, PA on 5/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After spending all of Sunday trying to connect this device that should have taken 30 minutes then being told on Garmin web site that I need a relay which is something that should be told ahead of time this is a piece of garbage that's not even worth returning too upset and frustrated

Pros: None

Cons: Be careful you may need a relay for this junk to work

Crutchfield response on 5/19/2015
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer and determine the need for the relay for his vehicle. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

15 of 21 found this helpful

bc 30

Richard E from Massachusetts on 5/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bc30 will not work on my ram 2013 . I had a local retail store take a look at it also iam not a happy camper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 16 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

jon from Georgia on 5/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as advertised easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin BC 30

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 4/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera was fairly easy to install, just had to tap into the power wire for my backing lights. The image on the GPS screen looks good.

Pros: Good camera, fairly easy installation.

Cons: My GPS software did not automatically update to use the camera , I had to go into the Garmin app and look for optional updates to get it set right.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Gar in BC 30

John L from Arizona on 4/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just finished installing the Garmin BC30 in my car and it works fine. Hardest part was getting the back panel off my SUV. Once that was done everything went quickly. I did review a video on YouTube on how to install it before I started. The video was helpful along with the instructions that came with it.

Pros: Easy installation once you have everything open like panels and wiring.

Cons: If you are not mechanically inclined then have someone else install it.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

TOP