Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Wide-angle dash cam with GPS

MFR # 010-02231-05

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Wide-angle dash cam with GPS

MFR # 010-02231-05

23 reviews
View this product

Amazing!!

Crutchfield customer from Sheboygan Falls, WI on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely great. Works in all temperatures! Probably gping to buy another for the rear of my car!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesnt like the cold

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, IN on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not owned it long enough, but I have noticed that it does not like the cold. It takes the camera a while before it starts giving notices even though it records fine and responds to voice commands. I hope it does better in extreme heat because we get that also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and setup. The field of vision is fantastic, just what I wanted for the heavy traffic I drive in.

Pros: Easy install and setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Playa Vista, CA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact, HD display, with a mobile app that makes reviewing footage too easy. A little pricey but otherwise a nice product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Morgan, UT on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The video quality is great, the menus are easy to follow and the cam features are plentiful.

Pros:

Cons: Pairing with the iphone took some time to complete

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Bergenfield, NJ on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little Dash Cam. Exactly what my husband wanted. Very easy to setup and use.

Pros: Size and easy setup.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like dynamite, very small package with explosive results. Very easy to connect to a smart phone to record a vacation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buy 3 for the family here in Florida so far is going very well. I like Garmin branded products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Can Confirm!

Crutchfield customer from Layton, UT on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera. The features are good, the resolution is good, it is small and stays out of the way, it's not so small that you can't see the screen. I am impressed!

Pros: Mounting options Wiring options Video quality Lane Departure Collision detection

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Still in beta

Crutchfield customer from Elizabeth, NJ on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cam kept telling me that every brand new SD card I put in it was corrupted. In the end I wasted money on multiple SD cards just to come to the conclusion that the issue was the camera's software as those cards work perfectly fine in other dash cameras. This camera isn't ready as they are still pushing beta software.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/25/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

12 of 14 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Basking Ridge, NJ on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera, as expected. Easy to install and operate. Small size looks good in car. Quality of video is good. I am completely satisfied with it.

Pros: - Easy to install and use - small size - good quality and features

Cons: Did not see so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

An Eye for the road

Crutchfield customer from Pineville, LA on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

FIrst dash cam that I used. Yeah, there's other brands that are half the price but I run Garmin marine units in my boat so I know the quality is great. Was undecided on the 56 and 66w. Did watch a video on YT where they ran both together......figured since I drive a Tundra I'd get the 66w being it bigger than a small car. After reviewing footage, I think the 56 would have worked just fine but oh well. If you purchase one, i'd recommend getting the suction cup mount. As recommended by Garmin, i got a Samsung 128GB card.

Pros: Easy to install, easy to setup/operate, wide view, USB cable was plenty long enough to install from rearview mirror to console, Garmin website recommends certain SD cards

Cons: No operational instructions (i think it's on website),

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Dousman, WI on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very compact I wish there were more instructions,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Erie, PA on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best dash camera ever. Full of nice features, easy to install, user friendly to operate. Great unit at a great price through CRUTCHFIELD

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Crutchfield customer from Lynch Station, VA on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so, works as advertised!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Nixa, MO on 8/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally a dash cam with instructions written in English not just English words! Easy to install but with the 180* view be careful it is not behind anything. After I got the first one installed I ordered another one. The Garmin Drive App really completes the installation so get it if you have a smartphone.

Pros: Instructions. Voice Control.

Cons: You have to print the instructions they don't come in the box.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Dash Cam

Crutchfield customer from Union, KY on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great dash cam love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

quality and good optics.

Crutchfield customer from Watertown, NY on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for a Dash Cam that would provide good clear pictures along with a user friendly operation. Choose the Garmin 66W because it fit what I was looking for and its reputation as reliable. Had it now for over two weeks and am not disappointed. Operation and clarity are very good and its already come in handy. I am pleased enough that I will be picking up the mini cam that Garmin has for the back window and see how that syncs p

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, IN on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great dash cam! Works perfectly so far and hard-wire installation was fairly easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technical review of Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Hooman from Las Vegas, NV on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

View angle: Close to 180', though not quite that wide. Maximum SD card size: 512 GB. Image quality is good even in low light conditions. 1 minute of video uses roughly 61MB (720p HDR), 143MB (1080p HDR), 184MB (1080p 60Hz), or 225MB (1440p HDR). .GLV video files are also recorded, which adds about 8MB per minute. Following comments are for PARK mode only, with the optional PARK cable: Recording starts 10 sec BEFORE motion, stops 20 sec after last motion. Detection can be set to Visual, Impact, or both. Sensitivities are not adjustable. Power draw from 12.4V (display off): 224mA in standby, 227mA recording

Pros: Excellent image quality (better than previous generation 65W). PARK recording starts 10 sec BEFORE the motion event (other brands start AFTER the event).

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Peoria Heights, IL on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Many functions, too many for my liking but after researching all the Garmin models, this one was recommended to do what I want. I wanted one that would record for at least 8 hours before recording over the beginning. I wanted one that has voice command so I wouldn't have to mess with the buttons while driving. This unit is supposed to do all that. I couldn't tell when I received it because it didn't have an owner's manual. I called Crutchfield and one was emailed to me. I don't know who oversees packing of things but I feel an owner's manual would be something nice to include with a product. Overall, I believe it will do what little I want it to do but trying to recover, delete, review, etc., is very confusing for this 80 + years old man to comprehend and, no fault of the product, I wish I had never bought it.

Pros: Small, easy to install.

Cons: Very complicated and confusing instructions.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great build ez access

Crutchfield customer from Bryn Mawr, PA on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think best dash camera ever quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Garmin Dash Cam 66W

Crutchfield customer from Sylvania, OH on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to use, voice control works well. Seems to run hot when turned on at 115 degrees.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 11 found this helpful

TOP