Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Garmin Drive™ 52 & Traffic

Portable navigator with 5" screen

MFR # 010-02036-07

Garmin Drive™ 52 & Traffic

Garmin Drive™ 52 & Traffic

Portable navigator with 5" screen

MFR # 010-02036-07

42 reviews
View this product

Garmin

Crutchfield customer from Stratford, CT on 11/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed for my older car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin with traffic

Crutchfield customer from Laconia, NH on 11/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Description of product was excellent. Product was shipped promptly. Set up was easy. Working well. 5 inch screen is smaller than my older Garmin , but is still ok

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Cathy from Ashby, MA on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great basic GPS.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Tehachapi, CA on 11/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very fast delivery. This was my third Garmin and I have been very pleased with all of them. I was really impressed, when I was easily able to transfer all my old saved destinations, using Garmin Express, to my new Garmin Drive 52

Pros:

Cons: Tried to change the battery in my old Nuvi 50. The tiny screws that hold it together were impossible for me to remove. Had to take it to a jeweler. Hope my new Garmin Drive 52 will never have this problem.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Lk Panasoffke, FL on 11/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

plug it in and go

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Waukesha, WI on 11/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice upgrade from my old Nuvi. I did not have any troubles adjusting to my new Garmin. Solid performer, I recommend purchasing one - especially at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from New Smyrna, FL on 9/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice GPS with much faster response times, better touch screen performance and more accurate than my 2 previous Garmin devices. Traffic feature works in metro areas and the maps update when connected to Garnin Express on a PC.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

very disappointed & dissatisfied.

Crutchfield customer from South Hadley, MA on 9/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very dissatisfied with this product. does not give traffic updates in a timely manor. print is much to small to read. did not give advanced traffic of stop & go or slow and stopped traffic. very hard to read side streets or advance streets. after exit from turnpike did not give north or south direction. I stopped using this device, my 11 yr old garmin nuvi was better but could not download new maps, not enough room in memory.

Pros: ok around town

Cons: no traffic reports around town & worse on long trip. will not use this garmin , do not feel safe using it.

Crutchfield response on 9/28/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your Garmin. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works really well. I like that the traffic info antenna is built into the unit and not in the cord.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MS on 9/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harder to navigate around than my last GPS, but once you learn how to get around it's a very good GPS for the mone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Drive 52 and traffic

Crutchfield customer from Aliquippa, PA on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well as advertised. Quick delivery

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsburg, PA on 8/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's taking me a little time to get familiar with the new features but it will serve me much better than my old one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin Drive

Guest from Henrico, VA on 7/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boots fast. Fast processor. Bright screen

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Olivet, MI on 7/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

haven't had the chance to really use it on a long trip but used it on a short 100 mile trip and worked great will use it on trip to myrtle Beach soon hoping it works as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantastic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 6/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Picks up satellites quickly, unlike my old nuvi. Lot's of new features from my old nuvi. A good unit for someone not needing all the options offered by the top of their line.

Pros: Traffic congestion. Mostly works on interstates has been my experience.

Cons: Don't have one yet. 2 weeks in use.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Faster than the older Nuvi

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 6/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit. Much faster in finding satellites and locations than my older Nuvi. Has been accurate with directions and I find the customizable "what's ahead" function for fuel, rest areas, and food to be very useful. Was a bear to do an update from Garmin Express. Took multiple times, finally got it updated by logging on very early AM EST. Not the unit's problem but a problem with Garmin. Trouble updating my "lifetime maps and traffic" on the Nuvi is why I got this one. Traffic is a nice feature, but... not very accurate most of the time. Nice price at Crutchfield and fast delivery, I will always look to check what they offer when I am in the market for something. Great vendor!

Pros: Fast, some customization

Cons: Updating with Garmin Express can be frustrating. Traffic data is marginally useful and not always accurate.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Updated old Nuvi

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, MN on 6/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Garmin GPS for what seems like forever and there was nothing wrong with it, but with the upgrade in technology, as of late, I decided to get this updated version. I took a short (600 ml RT) trip last week and it worked flawlessly right out of the box with many more handy features than my old one. I love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

It's okay - I'll figure it out

Crutchfield customer from Sandy, UT on 6/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a previous version of the Garmin Nu vi with this Garmin Drive. There have been many improvements and changes, some of which I like. I especially don't miss the audio comment "Recalculating" when I picked a deviation from the Nuvi calculated route. However... some features on the Drive are not intuitive to find or incorporate. I am now in the process of personalizing all the notifications the system provides. I had 'lifetime maps' on my earlier version, and now I can't tell if I got the same benefit from this purchase. Simply, the advertising and software for this item are not straightforward. And the maps are still not as up-to-date in my city. My cell phone has recent address additions while my Garmin indicates an address here from 5 years ago is still not in their system.

Pros: Reliable service, good graphics, less annoying vocal interruptions

Cons: Confusing advertising for the product, utilizing some functions are not intuitive, lack of clear directions, somewhat inaccurate maps

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I really want to love this GPS...

Steve from Owings Mills on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old Garmin Nuvi 1470 finally died and I needed a similar unit to replace it. The Garmin 52 with Traffic most closely matched my old unit so I decided to purchase it. Other than some USB issues when using Garmin Express the unit works perfectly. My biggest complaint is that the roads and text are just too small to see easily. I have tried all of the map themes that came with the unit and I even created one of my own which greatly helps with making roads more visible but the text used elsewhere on the display isn't able to be enlarged in any way. I love that the unit offers multiple route options to a destination, but the "shortest distance" option almost never works satisfactorily. The 1470 was great at calculating shortest distance routes. With this unit I have to spend a few minutes tweaking a route to get it to go where I want. In fairness, it does offer several ways to avoid certain roads or areas. I want to love this GPS but I can't. I have to stare so hard at the screen to read it that I fear I will have an accident because I spend too much time looking at it instead of the road. Crutchfield shipped the unit to me quickly and it was packaged well. Since this GPS is neither damaged nor defective it's not fair for me to return it to Crutchfield. I should have done more research before selecting this model. My fault entirely. II will apply the $12 return shipping fee toward a different unit (DriveSmart 55 maybe) and keep this.

Pros: Recalculates quickly Touch screen is very responsive Displays upcoming road name at the top of the screen when just viewing the map.

Cons: Text and roads are WAY too small to see easily Unit never really routes "Shortest Distance" despite being set to do so. Garmin Express does not always detect the unit. I have to remove the unit from Garmin Express and add it again to to facilitate map and software updates.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Tricky trip

Jon from MO - Kansas City on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the new Garmin 52 on a tricky curve filled mission. The unit worked as wellas my wife's I phone and our old NUVI. Great new features helped make the trip more pleasurable. Just wish I could download a few different voices.

Pros: New features made the trip a lot more enjoyable.

Cons: The mount I bought from a catalog for all GPS units didn't fit because of the placement of the power wire.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin drive 52

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect like it should. Easy to use and up date. Way better then your cell phone gps.

Pros: Easy to use and up date

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Spotsylvania, VA on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, gets me where im going as fast as possible

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent Value!

Cary from Merrick, NY on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having had a positive experience with my old (still working) Garmin Nuvi GPS, I updated to the Drive 52. The touchscreen is improved and the new features are a welcome plus. Driving instructions very descriptive and, most importantly, accurate! Vocalizations are clear and understandable. Overall, this is an excellent value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Emmett, ID on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price I think this is an excellent device. I wish the screen was a little bigger and the resolution was higher but for under a hundred dollars I can't complain too much. I have been buying garmin devices for over 20 years and this device is an upgrade from my previous garmin for my truck. My other one didn't have lifetime maps because it was a gift. Since I was looking for a device I made sure to get one with lifetime map updates. I don't plan on ever using the traffic part of the device because I live in a rural area and that is mostly only helpful in big cities, but I got it anyways to future proof it. If you are looking for a basic Garmin GPS for your vehicle you can't go wrong with this one. If you want one with better resolution or a bigger screen or that has Wi-Fi for easy updating check out the more expensive Garmin GPS models.

Pros: Good price for a basic GPS device for your vehicle

Cons: Small screen, low resolution, no WiFi

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Confidence in Garmin Navigation

Crutchfield customer from Etters, PA on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have used Garmin Nav for years, last Civic had it built in, my new CR-V didn't so it was clear what to do: Get a Garmin from Crutchfield. Updated the maps on arrival, works well, graphics seem improved, finally settled on a Garmin vent clip mount. Very pleased, have to find sites as I work as a consultant for the hospital I retired from, the Drive 52 is finding everything reliably.

Pros: Fast recalculation, excellent graphics.

Cons: Wish the power cord wasn't so stiff.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Sylacauga, AL on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Completely satisfied. It does everything it should and nothing that it shouldn't. Crutchfield had the best price on this unit that I could find.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Paragould, AR on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit for the money works well

Pros: upcoming roads listed

Cons: doesnt know all the unpaved roads even where I live all the roads are unpaved

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great GPS

Crutchfield customer from Pine Grove, PA on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for a delivery van in our fleet that does a lot of deliveries in the city. The drivers seems to like it. Had no complaints so I suppose he's happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Mount Bethel, PA on 10/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used it once so far works good for me easy to see clear voice with directions and a little Bing just before a turn keeps you alert Going to North Carolina soon will know for sure then.

Pros: Like it so far

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great GPS

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, AR on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. It was ready to use right out of the box. Have now used it 5 or 6 times, and for my vehicle it is the perfect size. Have uploaded new maps from the Garmin website, and that was intuitive as well. I would highly recommend this product for anyone who is tired of using their phone as a GPS. Also the traffic feature is a nice. Going through Kansas City a couple weeks ago, it picked up on delays due to construction. Great product!

Pros: No set up required, quick satellite pick up, traffic advice

Cons: None come to mind

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Getting there is EASY!

Crutchfield customer from Hillside, NJ on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had hopes of worry free directions, and pleased as punch with my choice. Look or listen and you're on the way... better yet, look and listen and you're home free.

Pros: Easy to input info, grabs satellites quickly and big screen and clear voice makes driving less stressful. Shuts down if you forget to shut it off too.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Danville, VA on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, it is a good performer. Programming addresses can be a bit confusing, but overall not to bad. I would recommend this product to someone else.

Pros: Lightweight and easy to move from vehicle to vehicle

Cons: Confusing to enter addresses and screen size a bit small.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Ft Walton Bch, FL on 7/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this because my phone screen is too small, but after putting two addresses in and the gps says cannot find address, but yet my phone took me to both addresses

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

GPS Garmin 52&

Crutchfield customer from Christiana, PA on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was new I revived , not working send back for credit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great gps

Crutchfield customer from Lake St Louis, MO on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great gps for the $. Does more than I will ever need. Plus Crutchfield is always great place to do business

Pros: All good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 with traffic

Crutchfield customer from Hendersonville, NC on 5/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an older model of Garmin (Nuvi 2350) for 8 years that worked great and finally died. This one is very similar with nice upgrades that includes more derailed street and turn information. Less guess work to know what turn to take. The screen is a little larger and the graphics are clear and easy to see even in the sunlight. I think this is very user friendly and updates are easy off their Garmin Express.Happy overall with this version and would recommend this model

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: I like the old style windshield mount as you simply clip in and the power cord is stationary. This one plugs in the back of the device and must be removed each time you take down to put away

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Nuvi but the Drive 52 with traffic is much better. Just used it on a trip to Michigan and the traffic feature was very helpful.

Pros: Price and options

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

My third Garmin device and so far I like my new device

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the third Garmin GPS I have purchased. I have always liked the features and reliability of Garmin's devices. I have only used the device for about three weeks so it is difficult to give a complete review. The reason I purchased a new device is because my other GPS was over four years old and I wanted the additional features that Garmin Drive 52 offered. I use my GPS in the U.S. and when I visit Ireland. I do have to download the Irish maps but I have found the Garmin GPS is accurate in Ireland. I did have to update the device when it arrived and I was able to move my favorites from my old device to the new device easily. The only issue I have discovered that is good and bad is the number of digits that the new device allows after the decimal. The old unit you could have five digits after the decimal but with the new unit you can have six. That is great but the device would not let me just add the additional digit. I had to delete the location and re-enter. I had over 20 locations programmed into the device using the coordinates feature. Many of the tourist locations in Ireland do not have street addresses so you need to use the latitude and longitude. The new device does find satellites quicker and I like how it gives you a landmark ... turn at the traffic light.

Pros: When using the coordinates feature the device will take six digits after the decimal instead of five

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Performance

Joe from Wilmington, NC on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the Garmin and its performance. Have only used it 2 times so far and really like the unit vs. the Nuvi 350 I had.

Pros: Larger than what I had previously

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin Drive 52 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Casper, WY on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bo at Crutchfield knew his GPS products. All is fine with me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

TOP