Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Garmin DriveSmart™ 55 & Traffic

Portable navigator with 5.5" display

MFR # 010-02037-02

Garmin DriveSmart™ 55 & Traffic

Garmin DriveSmart™ 55 & Traffic

Portable navigator with 5.5" display

MFR # 010-02037-02

9 reviews
View this product

Superb GPS

Crutchfield customer from Canton, MA on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a professional chauffeur and use a GPS daily. Bought this to replace a 6 yr old Garmin. The hi-def screen and sharp graphics make this a real pleasure to read. The unit connects to your smartphone and displays real time traffic as well as text messages and alerts. Typical Garmin quality and ease of operation make this a winner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 7/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been using them since they came out. I upgrade about every 6 years and they keep getting better. Don't use your phone to drive. Much easier and frees up your phone.

Pros: Even better options than last generations

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Honea Path, SC on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this new GPS from Garmin, good features for the price, very nice to be able to speak commands to the unit. Makes it much safer while driving. Bluetooth worked well also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55

Don from Greenville, TX on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love Garmin stuff and this DriveSmart 55 is no exception. The screen is bigger and has a much better touch than the old one I had. The voice commands are really nice (most of the time) although the results are sometimes interesting! My only complaint (and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5) is the battery doesn't last long (30-45 minutes).

Pros: Bigger screen with great touch Voice commands

Cons: Battery life is short

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Winfield, IL on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit works well and does exactly what it is supposed to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Garmin Drive smart 55 is loaded with features it will definitely take you some time to understand and adjust to them . For me my tom-tom was much easier to operate of course I'm sure some of that has to do with me being familiar with the product

Pros: Shortcut feature is very good and easy to access also voice activated is a very nice feature

Cons: While driving to the address that was programmed could've been a little more precise especially when the turn was coming up

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beautiful upgrade

Bob from San Diego, CA on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this Garmin to replace our 8-year old Garmin that we loved. I love this one too, and I think I'll love it more once I get used to it. Just one slight problem - that the unit won't connect to my desktop with the USB cable provided. Instead, I used the bluetooth connection to download maps and updates. I wonder if the cable is faulty, but I guess I can live without it.

Pros: Sensitive touch screen Clear graphics Lots of features

Cons: USB cable doesn't connect to computer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Improved Garmin GPS

Guest from Charlottesvle, VA on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Eight years ago I bought our first GPS, also a Garmin, from Crutchfield (when it was in their previous store). It still works, but the memory (?) was getting limited; more and more with upgrades I had to choose which part of country we wanted to use it. So it was time to get a new one. A wonderful improvement. First it includes all of Canada and United States. More detailed instructions without overdoing it -- also mentioning that you need to turn at an upcoming stop light or stop sign. Intelligent statements about distance to next turn. No more "re-calculating;" rather it quickly adjusts without 'acting' as though you goofed. [you get to treat the voice as a colleague] Also, improved graphics, including a 'movie,' of what the coming turn looks like, at least on the interstates. Another useful touch is that it warns you when the speed limit decreases. [and the salesperson was knowledgeable, helpful, and patient] The old GPS now goes to the car we drive mostly around town.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described perfectly. I have no complaints.

Pros: Extremely user friendly with a very clear and clean display.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP