Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Garmin DriveSmart™ 55 & Traffic

Portable navigator with 5.5" display

MFR # 010-02037-02

Garmin DriveSmart™ 55 & Traffic

Garmin DriveSmart™ 55 & Traffic

Portable navigator with 5.5" display

MFR # 010-02037-02

26 reviews
View this product

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 9/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No problems with order. So far the GPS works good.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: No cons yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Topeka, KS on 8/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This GPS is an upgrade from my old Garmin Nuvi. The spoken voice is easier to understand and provides better information. I don't like the way it plugs in. I have to remove the unit from its holder to be able to get to the back of it in order to unplug from the GPS. It is kind of early to review this unit. Like anything new and comparing to a previous unit there are pros and cons and new things to learn. Time will tell.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin 55

Crutchfield customer from Twentynin Plm, CA on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this little Garmin. Unit itself is exactly what I was looking for.

Pros: Excellent unit

Cons: Vent clamp broke. Live in high temps, suction cup mount doesn't last long. Lookin at other options for mounting.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great navigation, but check on traffic coverage for area.

Crutchfield customer from Rensselaer, IN on 8/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice GPS. Easy to set a destination either by entering address or by categories. I love the categories part. I wanted to go to Menards Home Store, so I entered "shopping" and type of store and all the Menards stores close to my home address comes up and just select the one you want and it sets up the route for you. Pretty easy! As far as the traffic part of the unit, best you verify through Garmin web site that your area you are wanting to use it in has coverage for the traffic system. I live in Northwest Indiana and have no coverage. The closest places are in Chicago, IL and Indianapolis, IN which makes it useless for me unless I go to Indianapolis which happen about once a year. Most everywhere my wife and I travel is within a 50 mile radius of home but no coverage there. It would be nice if they could increase the coverage areas so it would work for more people in rural areas such as myself. I still like the unit and bought it anyway knowing I would not have coverage for the traffic. For some that would be a big deal so make sure you check before you purchase this unit.

Pros: Great navigation unit. simple to set up and use.

Cons: Traffic coverage not in all areas of United States. Check before you buy if this is important to you.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Satisfied First-Time Buyer

Crutchfield customer from Massachusetts on 7/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this device for about two weeks, but it seems to work fine. It has all of the functionality that is expected of a modern GPS device. In terms of where I purchased, I was looking for a retailer other than the big online retailer when I needed a new GPS, not because they're not good at what they do but if they put most other retailers out of business it will be bad for customers in the long run. I spotted this device available online from a national brick-and-mortar retailer that was $20 less than any other seller so I originally purchased it with this other retailer. I also bought the two-year protection plan. The touchscreen on the device froze up on my first major trip so I had to return it for a full refund. After searching further online, I found Crutchfield. I had heard of them before but never purchased from them. The device was priced competitively and was delivered within two days at no extra charge. Crutchfield also offered the most competitive protection plan, covering three years. Well done! They seem eager for customer satisfaction in the spirit that has served the American economy very well for many, many years. I would certainly look to purchase from them again. My only criticism is that I would recommend putting more of the packing "peanuts" in the shipping box or using a smaller box. The device was swimming around a little more than I would have liked, although I get they are striving to be more sustainable by using less of this packaging material.

Pros: Fully functional GPS device Competitive pricing Fast shipping Customer service

Cons: Use more packing "peanuts" to prevent product from shifting in transit.

Crutchfield response on 7/27/2021
Thanks for your review! We're sorry we skimped on the packing peanuts. We'll pass your comments along to our Distribution Center manager. Also, in case you were not aware, the packing peanuts that Crutchfield uses are 100% biodegradable! Drop one in a bowl of water and watch what happens. They dissolve. They're made up primarily of corn starch, and we make them in our warehouse in big batches, as needed. It's a process we invested in years ago to help protect the environment. Several years ago, we reduced the amount of additional paper we insert in boxes - flyers and stuff like that - because it was so wasteful. Environmental concerns are always on our mind.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Belchertown, MA on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The visibly is great. Clear understanding where to go. No issues with it. Let the Crutchfield team help you. They now what there talking about.

Pros: It's great

Cons: There is a learning curve but that is more of the operator lol

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Rincon, GA on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't had a chance to fully try all the features but otherwise we're satisfied. My wife is a realtor so she is constantly visiting new neighborhoods. The easy map updates keeps you current with new streets.

Pros: Easy updates. Bluetooth and wifi connectivity

Cons: It gets a little warm when in use.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Ridge, NY on 5/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy operation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great unit

Crutchfield customer from Harborcreek, PA on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This seems to be clearer than our previous garmin. i like the idea of verbal communication.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

David from Westfield, NJ on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this Garmin as much as my last one. Even more now because I can input my info in the app for the phone. Great to be able to have my text messages visible on screen also. Map and traffic features are terrific as always.

Pros: Map and traffic info are spot on Companion app is useful and easy Love the on screen notifications of text messages

Cons: Voice commands take some practice

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Walton Hills, OH on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Hampstead, MD on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My garman is great and at a reasonable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works and looks great,

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, TN on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and looks good at the same time. Very clear picture. Will save my phone data.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from New London, NH on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Graphics, Lots of Options, Easy to Set-Up and Use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good GPS

Crutchfield customer from Ashford, CT on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Acquires satellites quickly. The map gives good advance notice of upcoming cross streets. Good clear, easy to read display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I love the DriveSmart 55

Crutchfield customer from Albert Lea, MN on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this DriveSmart 55 better than the Nuvi I had before. I especially like the alert it gives when the speed limit decreases. That has been very helpful when traveling in a new city or town. It is also easier to search for food and lodging. It can be updated wirelessly, and that has worked seamlessly. Because it is easy and quick to update, I always check for updates before leaving for unfamiliar towns.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Buzzards Bay, MA on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

work,s great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Superb GPS

Crutchfield customer from Canton, MA on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a professional chauffeur and use a GPS daily. Bought this to replace a 6 yr old Garmin. The hi-def screen and sharp graphics make this a real pleasure to read. The unit connects to your smartphone and displays real time traffic as well as text messages and alerts. Typical Garmin quality and ease of operation make this a winner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 7/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been using them since they came out. I upgrade about every 6 years and they keep getting better. Don't use your phone to drive. Much easier and frees up your phone.

Pros: Even better options than last generations

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Honea Path, SC on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this new GPS from Garmin, good features for the price, very nice to be able to speak commands to the unit. Makes it much safer while driving. Bluetooth worked well also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55

Don from Greenville, TX on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love Garmin stuff and this DriveSmart 55 is no exception. The screen is bigger and has a much better touch than the old one I had. The voice commands are really nice (most of the time) although the results are sometimes interesting! My only complaint (and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5) is the battery doesn't last long (30-45 minutes).

Pros: Bigger screen with great touch Voice commands

Cons: Battery life is short

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Winfield, IL on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit works well and does exactly what it is supposed to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Garmin Drive smart 55 is loaded with features it will definitely take you some time to understand and adjust to them . For me my tom-tom was much easier to operate of course I'm sure some of that has to do with me being familiar with the product

Pros: Shortcut feature is very good and easy to access also voice activated is a very nice feature

Cons: While driving to the address that was programmed could've been a little more precise especially when the turn was coming up

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Beautiful upgrade

Bob from San Diego, CA on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this Garmin to replace our 8-year old Garmin that we loved. I love this one too, and I think I'll love it more once I get used to it. Just one slight problem - that the unit won't connect to my desktop with the USB cable provided. Instead, I used the bluetooth connection to download maps and updates. I wonder if the cable is faulty, but I guess I can live without it.

Pros: Sensitive touch screen Clear graphics Lots of features

Cons: USB cable doesn't connect to computer

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Improved Garmin GPS

Guest from Charlottesvle, VA on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Eight years ago I bought our first GPS, also a Garmin, from Crutchfield (when it was in their previous store). It still works, but the memory (?) was getting limited; more and more with upgrades I had to choose which part of country we wanted to use it. So it was time to get a new one. A wonderful improvement. First it includes all of Canada and United States. More detailed instructions without overdoing it -- also mentioning that you need to turn at an upcoming stop light or stop sign. Intelligent statements about distance to next turn. No more "re-calculating;" rather it quickly adjusts without 'acting' as though you goofed. [you get to treat the voice as a colleague] Also, improved graphics, including a 'movie,' of what the coming turn looks like, at least on the interstates. Another useful touch is that it warns you when the speed limit decreases. [and the salesperson was knowledgeable, helpful, and patient] The old GPS now goes to the car we drive mostly around town.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 55 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described perfectly. I have no complaints.

Pros: Extremely user friendly with a very clear and clean display.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP