Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Garmin DriveSmart™ 65 & Traffic

Portable navigator with 6.95" display

MFR # 010-02038-02

Garmin DriveSmart™ 65 & Traffic

Garmin DriveSmart™ 65 & Traffic

Portable navigator with 6.95" display

MFR # 010-02038-02

36 reviews
View this product

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Okatie, SC on 10/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meets expectations and works as described. Crutchfield's description of this product was excellent as well as their 2-Day Free Shipping. "Thanks" for Crutchfield !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Shipman, VA on 8/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Johannesburg, MI on 8/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivered quickly. Works great. Nice for when your out of cell signal!

Pros: Too many to list.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 8/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This purchase was an upgrade from my previous Garmin, and it is worth the expense. Nicely sized screen. Seems to have clearer images. More information is provided. Used my previous Nuvi for all sorts of international travel and looking forward to using this for such travel, too. Only drawback for plane travel: Garmin, according to my memory, sold a carrying case for my old Nuvi that fits the stand that sits on the dashboard (a stand which I use for my new model). I'm not seeing a carrying case for the Garmin Drivesmart 65, and I really need one to transport the Drivesmart 65 safely for for international trips and domestic trips that involve air travel.

Pros: Nicely sized

Cons: No carrying case seems to be available to hold this AND the stand that sits on dashboard, which makes it inconvenient for transporting on plane trips

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Bella Vista, AR on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I expected and more. I just wish the charging cable was longer as it doesn't reach to where I have to mount the unit.

Pros: Clear picture and voice guidance

Cons: Charging cable too short for in drive use

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good, but with limitations

preston from Chandler, AZ on 6/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This has some deficiencies that were surprising. I expected better from Garmin. First off, the voice recognition is completely useless. Even if you speak slow and very concise, it misinterprets the commands. Next, since Garmin is a navigation company, I would expect the device to know things like where the closest grocery store is. This unit will send you 10 miles to a grocery store when there is one right next to you. So what I end up doing is looking up a destination on Apple maps or Google maps and then manually entering the address into the Garmin. Once you get the destination into the device, everything else works great from there. It has great turn by turn directions and works very well with the phone app to plan your route based on the traffic situation. The settings and options on the device are intuitive and user friendly. If Garmin would do a better job at updating the map content, this would be much more reliable and useful. Voice recognition seems to be a problem on any device, but if they could fix that too, it would be nice. Overall, it gets the job done, but there is room for improvement.

Pros: Intuitive, Good turn by turn presentation, Nice display.

Cons: Maps data base is missing existing businesses etc. Voice recognition is useless.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Easy to use

Crutchfield customer from Wilton, CT on 6/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and use this powerful, versatile device. Interface large, with good definition, and voice is clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The screen size and clarity are amazing. This GPS navigator doesn't disappoint. Information comes at you with plenty of time before you need it.

Pros: Lots

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lifetime Updates a Joke

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Express update feature no longer works making lifetime updates a joke. Two Garmin customer service representatives said they would call me back with solution. Never received a callback. The GPS itself would get 5 stars.

Pros: Screen Size Features

Cons: Express updates does not work

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic review

Crutchfield customer from Santa Maria, CA on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This GPS receiver works as it should. I read about auto zoom and it's limitations. Yes there are some limitations but they are not a big problem. I like seeing where I am and the entire remaining trip on the screen at a time. This auto zoom is limited to presenting the trip up to the next turn. This is not a problematic limitation. The Toyota navigation system had no real auto zoom per say. The turns showed up on the right side of the screen close up and that sufficed. Garmin's system is faster and more detailed. At first selection points of interest was confusing, but with a little playing around with the system, I figured out how to use it. Santa Maria, Calfifornia streets are changing fast. The data base is not very up to date for this town. I use the coordinate feature quite a bit right now, as many businesses moved or are not there any more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Vandenberg Air, CA on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, voice recognition fine - just have to figure out what words it wants to hear. Still haven't figured out how to hang up the phone or put in a contact list. It does seem to like a white, mid New England accent. Mine is more black and southern.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Newbury Park, CA on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have become a fan of the Garmin portable GPS units since first buying a vehicle that did not have built in navigation nor the capability to replace the factory radio due to it being tablet style and no aftermarket replacements are/were available to replace it. I have not had an extension opportunity to use this unit but it performs as it should and having the large screen makes it very easy to view at a glance while driving. Will not hesitate to buy again if I should need one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmartT 65 "ROCKS"

Donald from PAHRUMP, NV on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is so cool and within the first min. it was up and running Plug into the lighter and hit the power button. I have Garmin built in to my Kenwoods in dash units but this is even better. large fonts and just wonderful. Crutchfield is the only place I will buy from. There help reps make you feel like your family.

Pros: 100% Great

Cons: None for me so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent screen resolution, very easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great GPS

Crutchfield customer from Durand, MI on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this GPS. It has Voice commands and access to many things when linked to your smart phone. The large screen is perfect for the aging eyes.

Pros: Large screen, fast connections and voice commands.

Cons: Battery life could be a little better but in normal use, you have it connected to power anyway.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love my new Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Centreville, MD on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an eleven year old Garmin which has served me well. It was time to upgrade to a new Garmin, especially with a 6+ inch screen since I am now 72 years of age. I am pleased with my new Garmin; have already recommended it to a close friend.

Pros: Great GPS device with great Bluetooth hands free cell phone capability.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin Drivesmart 65

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quite a complete gps device. Though with some finding flaws as with most gps devices, new and ongoing road construction, new street closings and changes, etc. it is better than its "free" competitor. It frees up on board gps devices for a more independent and hands free operations. Very good for fleet and multiple route uses.

Pros: More positive quickest routes.

Cons: Without Alexa, which I didn't op to get, voice recognition is not spot on some times.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having trouble getting the live traffic to work, otherwise, it is as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Scottsville, VA on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best gps out there!

Pros: Very easy to use!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Shakeyjohn

Crutchfield customer from Klamath Falls, OR on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great GPS always gets me to where I'm going.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, WI on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this unit has more app's , then i ever imagined.with fast map updates and great visualinformation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for use as a screen for a back up camera. I'm now sorry I did because it is on all the time not just when we back up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 12 found this helpful

A real life saver.

Crutchfield customer from Church Road, VA on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Love all the functions

Pros: Easy to use. Large clear display. Great graphics. Lifetime map updates. Notifies you when speed limit changes.

Cons: Have not found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great like Garmin always is

Crutchfield customer from Altoona, WI on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have owned TomTom & Garmin & I prefer the Garmins. Seems just a little more refined. Both will get you where you want to go.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not Lost Today

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, AR on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only used it once so far. Was easy to load info and destinations. Really like the sound warning when approaching dropping speed limit. Has an excellent screen, clear graphics. Haven't tried the voice functions yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, IL on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Newburyport, MA on 10/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this one just speak your address and follow the directions no problem had Garmines before they are the best

Pros: buy it you won't be sorry

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65

Crutchfield customer from Saline, MI on 10/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent GPS. Easy to use. I like the large screen and voice activation.

Pros: Large screen. Voice Activation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Lock Haven, PA on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Garmin is awesome!!! I bought both the DriveSmart 65 and the BC40 what a great combo. It only took 10 minutes to set up, I'm very happy with both.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Go Garmin

Crutchfield customer from Smithtown, NY on 8/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Far exceeds expectation. Great screen, large & clear. Excellent traffic updates. Red light camera notification superior.

Pros:

Cons: No downsides

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked very well on first trip to Gulf Coast. Still learning what it is capable of doing. Great size, easy to read quickly.

Pros: Easy to read.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easiest and safest GPS in existence. All done by voice!

Crutchfield customer from Goffstown, NH on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No more typing in multiple required fields, just say the wake-up phrase and it interacts quickly. 10 seconds and you are on your way. Driver alone in the car and driving gets directions without diverting attention at all! I have had a frustrating time with previous GPS units and the attempts at getting the right destination; this one gives options from which you can choose. This was a present for my 90 year old father who got the concept of operation instantly. I'm going to toss my old one and get one too!

Pros: Voice control is unbelievable!

Cons: I didn't buy one for ME!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best GPS Yet

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the 4th Garmin GPS I've owned since 2001, starting with the Street Pilot. They have all been great but the DriveSmart 65 is far superior. All it's information, including updated maps and traffic information, and other numerous features are very important , but the large, sharp display is the best of all. I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Connecticut on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This GPS is a mixed bag. I'm coming from Waze and Gmap navigation and wanted a top of the line GPS to help me reduce wear on my phone and help with hands-free calls. Let's start with the good. The screen is really good. Location lock instantaneous. Now the bad 1. Hardware choice is questionable. It uses an old style mini-USB cable. That means yet another cable to track and keep in a car. Can't reuse a micro-USB phone charger cable. The charger is also huge! Nowadays I'm used to small smart 12v chargers that barely stick out. This is something from 1990s. Speaker is also very weak and tiny. If I drive faster than 50mph it doesn't cut over road noise. 2. Software is bad. Unit has a huge screen but limits how much information is displayed. You can for instance have either at what time you'll arrive or remaining driving time to dest but not both. No compass, no mute button on map, no search button. There's no way to display multiple route choices after a route was generated. You need to cancel the drive and reroute from the beginning. It takes several "clicks" to display simple info like route overview, change volume etc. The traffic is also way off,especially on smaller roads, which results with unit recommending a re-route just to get stuck on some small road. Finally routing is questionable. It gives you 2 options when you first create a route but often the 1st option from Waze is missing from choices given by Garmin. Weird and perha

Pros: Screen quality GPS lock time

Cons: Software Routing Hardware quality

Crutchfield response on

22 of 26 found this helpful

Garmin DriveSmart 65 & Traffic

Crutchfield customer from Madison Heights, MI on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just used this unit on over 1000 miles of trips. Easy to use like all Garmin. Easy to read and good routing. Dealt with re-routes very well. Ended up buying a couple other mounts elsewhere. We used the CD slot mount which worked great. Beanbag mount works too... All the old Ball style Nuvi mounts work. It comes with a suction cup mount for the windshield but we did not like that one. Definitely a big upgrade and worth the money.

Pros: Excellent functionality Easy to read New style directions are a big improvement Good routing

Cons: Had to buy mounts elsewhere

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Garmin has done it again

Melton from San Antonio Texas on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using Garmin before there were street GPS Units and by far this is the best unit i have ever used considering i have 3 Garmins in a draw. very easy to setup and configure with or without the phone. The traffic receiver works awesome since i drive in heavy traffic to and from work. the routing is really well established and reroutes when needed. I did download the Garmin drive app and it communicated well with the Garmin. I haven't really used my phone with it since i use my Bluetooth features from my car but it still shows who is calling and receives text messages so i do not have to look down at my radio while driving my car when they come in.. Charges really fast, less then 40 minutes to charge the unit to full while driving. The screen is clear and crisp and the touch pad is very responsive to the finger and easy to ready. the speech is really nice to have, just tell it where you want to go and it will take you.First I thought the screen would be too big but no it's perfect. CONCLUSION: GREAT PRODUCT BY GARMIN ONCE AGAIN. and thanks for Crutchfield having such fantastic products. I give it 5 Stars

Pros: Clear crisp screen, easy touch, traffic comes in really fast, light and not bulky. wireless updating to latest maps and software made easy, gives easy directions and reroutes quickly.

Cons: Garmin should considered adding a screen protector and case for it since it is a large gps like a tablet and this unit needs to be protected.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP