Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Garmin Overlander®

Portable navigator with 7" display for off-road use

MFR # 010-02195-00

Garmin Overlander®

Garmin Overlander®

Portable navigator with 7" display for off-road use

MFR # 010-02195-00

13 reviews
View this product

Garmin Overlander

Michael from Sun Lakes, AZ on 10/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far works great . Easy to read

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Vanderbilt

Rick from Vanderbilt on 12/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit, the best off road mapping. Shows trails like never before. I sure have fun exploring new areas. I hope Garmin will make it a waterproof unit in the future.

Pros: Nice 7 inch screen. Great charging station. Love the options.

Cons: Not waterproof, short battery life when off the charger.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It is a decent GPS but nothing worthy of the high price...

Scott from BRIER, WA on 12/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I selected this one because I was hoping for a better experience after purchasing the Montana 750i. At the very least, the operating system on this unit is acceptable and on-par with other Garmin vehicle units. It's basically a slightly rugged Android tablet with a custom Android OS. I wanted a dedicated unit that would have easy mounting in the vehicle and ability to interact with an InReach Mini. The magnetic mount on this is great. There is no complaint there and it is nice to have the power to the mount only so you can just pop off the screen when you want without any cords. But it's still a slow OS and tablet with very limited functionality. Compared with my iPad Mini 4 that is many years old with the Gaia app, there's nothing this Overlander has apart from the cool mount. The iPad as a navigation unit completely blows this out of the water. The Montana handheld is so disappointing, like an oversized Palm Pilot from 2003. This is better, but not even close to being as fast, versatile and reliable as a simple iPad which can be had for less than half the price of this. My solution seems to be a nice rugged mount for the iPad paired with an InReach Mini. I wish Garmin would step-up their game because I do like the idea of a dedicated unit. While the hardware like the mount and case design is excellent, it falls way short with specs and software.

Pros: The magnetic mount is outstanding. Case is nice too. Ability to connect to InReach Mini (though any bluetooth device can do the same thing).

Cons: Slow operating system. Screen is too glossy and not bright enough. Very limited features. Very expensive for basically a slightly ruggedized cheap Android tablet.

Crutchfield response on 12/6/2021
Scott contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Garman overlander

Crutchfield customer from Belen, NM on 9/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good,have only used a few times but works good and easy to use. Played around with some maps and found a few places I didn't know about. Still learning all the functionality, it makes finding campsites very easy

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Price is a little high

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin Overlander

Crutchfield customer from Jayuya, PR on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Muy buen producto y entrega rápida

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Garmin Overlander

Crutchfield customer from Thermopolis, WY on 9/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the Overlander a lot. I wish there was a built in legend for the type of land ownership. Also found that you get way different results on where you search for campgrounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin Overlander

Crutchfield customer from Bondsville, MA on 8/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So Far - So Good. Much better than a regular automobile road GPS. Software contains maps beyond where the pavement ends.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Underwhelmed

Crutchfield customer from Holland, MI on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am kind of underwhelmed with the performance. Multiple times this week it would calculate the route up to 79% and then stop. It also lost where we were on the trail and would take 3 to 4 minutes to figure out that we had turned. We weren't in heavy cover, open view of the sky. This cost a lot of money for only fair performance. The biggest plus is the screen size.

Pros: Size of screen. Clarity of screen. Track back feature.

Cons: Multiple "Could not calculate route". lost track of us periodically for longer than I was comfortable with.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Vanderbilt

Rick from Vanderbilt on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice large display to see the back trails. Needs improvement on showing more of the trails. Great unit fun to use

Pros: Large display nice ram mounting. Great charging feature.

Cons: More back trail mapping. The unit is not water proof

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Garmin Overlander

Crutchfield customer from Crawfordville, FL on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

A handy little machine

Crutchfield customer from Pahrump, NV on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hey fantastic travel companion much better than I thought it would be is loaded with lots and lots of information

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Flexablity!

Crutchfield customer from Johnstown, PA on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the coolest! I have all my maps, topography, street and many parks and camping options in one. Also, this will stand alone with me during different hiking and atv-off road situations. Versatility is what I am saying.

Pros: Tough as nails.

Cons: None, it's a Garmin

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great GPS but not perfect, yet.

Crutchfield customer from Gonzales, LA on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The large screen is excellent and the RAM mount make mounting options endless. As far as the GPS goes, of course the the roads and highways maps are pretty up to date and the navigation is easy to manage. The off road gps could use a little help but this is to be expected. As more trails and forest roads are updated I'm sure that Garmin will keep the software up to date as well. As far as the price is concerned I feel that the Garmin Overlander may be a little overpriced for what you get. I think that this is a great option for off-readers to provide some peace of mind and to me peace of mind is priceless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

15 of 16 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound