Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
847 281 589 3
Connect ID #
847 281 589 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

PowerBass OE-6C

6-1/2" component speaker system — for use with 2-ohm factory systems

MFR # OE-6C

PowerBass OE-6C

PowerBass OE-6C

6-1/2" component speaker system — for use with 2-ohm factory systems

MFR # OE-6C

34 reviews
View this product

PowerBass OE-6C in 2005 Tundra w/ JBL

Steven from Greenville, WI on 8/2/2022

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 2 ohm PowerBass OE-6C was a replacement for my 2005 Tundra front door, 2 ohm JBL woofers. With the PowerBass OE-6C's I lost some bass but gained clarity. They sound real clear and the loss in bass was mostly offset by increasing the bass on the dial by one. The PowerBass woofer is slightly smaller than the stock JBL woofer so Crutchfield provided new speaker mounting brackets that Crutchfield instructions stated will result in the loss of the midrange speaker which was mounted in the original speaker chassis, however a good audio shop, such as Muntz in Appleton, WI, was able to reuse the original speaker chassis by adding a brace and therefore the midrange was retained and the PowerBass crossovers and tweeters were not needed. No more woofer rattle and the sound is crisp. No complaints.

Pros: 1. The availability of a 2 ohm replacement for my stock 2 ohm woofer. 2. Muntz Audio shop in Appleton, WI was able to retain the original speaker chassis and therefore the midrange speaker. 3. Clean and clear sound. 4. Slight loss in bass offset by increasing the bass input slightly.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great speakers

Eliazar from Wasilla, AK on 7/25/2022

2001 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit perfectly where stock speakers were in my 2001 toyota avalon xls had to drill 4 little holes in the door but that dosnt matter

Pros: perfectly sized

Cons: had to drill hole in door to fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 7/19/2022

2016 Hyundai Sonata Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great in my Hyundai Sonata! The bass is good without losing any volume.

Pros: Good bass, good volume

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Replacement Speakers for 2013 Corvette

Jody from Lyles, TN on 7/14/2022

2013 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent customer service! These speakers were a perfect replacement for my speakers that were blown in my 2013 corvette gran sport. I have been enjoying Crutchfield products and services for over 20 years. Sincerely. Jody Brenner

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2016 Acura MDX Speaker upgrade for Tech PKG

Shak from Randolph, MA on 7/7/2022

2016 Acura MDX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield made it easy to install the PowerBass midbass 6.5 speakers in the door location with speaker bracket/adapters kit and the plug-in play harness. Better mid bass come from the doors now. I am working on tweeters in the factory locations but seeing if there is a bass block harness before installing. I did not install the cross over unit because it was not needed for just a quick factory speaker upgrade.

Pros: Excellent quick replacement without breaking the bank. Works at the same 2 ohm but with more watts than the factory speakers. No power drain on factory amp. Easy to connect with plug-in play harness. Mount to speaker bracket without problems.

Cons: none at this time but will update if there is any.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well, they're not blown

Thomas from Raleigh, NC on 7/3/2022

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these since the 2ohm was supposed to avoid loss of volume with my factory Bose system. But that's exactly what happened. They seem reasonably well made, but you can barely hear them at all, and all the sound feels like it's coming from my dash corner speakers (I put these in the doors). Pretty disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/5/2022
Thomas, we're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than blown stock speaker

Shawn from West Winfield, NY on 6/26/2022

2015 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was very easy, but the sound just isn't there, they sound ok ,but stock speaker produced more bass. I didn't bother with the tweeter just because I wasn't modifying my pillar to fit them. The woofer was simple swap, all the proper wires came along with my purchase.

Pros: Instructions from crutchfield made for quick and easy swap of lower door speaker

Cons: Tweeter use required modification Bass is not great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Joe from Locust Grove, OK on 6/23/2022

2010 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. So much better than factory speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow I'm impressed!

Wayne from OCALA, FL on 5/29/2022

2021 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow these are NICE! I didn't have my expectations too high, but hoped these were better than the stock speakers. Wow was I surprised! The sound is great!!! These speakers don't distort one bit! The sound is so crisp and clear as well. I've never had this brand before but I took my chances because I was limited to 2 ohm speakers in my 2021 Nissan Titan. I went this route because I wanted to keep the stock stereo. These speakers are a great alternative if you want to keep your stock stereo and still have great sound. I'm really happy with these and they sound awesome! I'm a believer in Power Bass now.

Pros: Crisp and clear sound No distortion Good mid bass Clear highs from tweeters

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Clinton from Annandale, VA on 5/18/2022

2011 Acura RDX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my 2011 Acura RDX

Pros: Its called OE and truly is. Fitment is right on.

Cons: If you never removed your door panels, be careful. Sometimes those honda clips pop off and go missing. Be nice to your car and go slow and all will be fine.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgrade Part 2

Vernell from Chicago, IL on 5/16/2022

2014 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok. So while I can't give these speakers 5 stars and I will explain why I will tell you why I gave them 4 stars first The sound that these speakers give is great. The clarity of the speaker is awesome and yes they are a huge upgrade from my factory 6x9's, but the bass of this speaker vs the factory speaker yes there is a huge difference. The bass drops tremendously vs the factory 6x9. I do understand that this is a 6x5. While I can appreciate the upgrade because I needed it, I wasn't looking to lose bass. I will however upgrade my factory amp and add a single 12inch sub in the future. Thanks Mr. Garcia for the install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Ron from Morristown, TN on 5/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced factory JBL speakers in my Tundra. Sound pretty good, but not as much bass. Luckily, l have a Bazooka sub woofer. Technical support was very good. That's the main reason I shop with Crutch field. I do my own installs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2010 Genesis Coupe, Infinity audio package

Anthony from St Petersburg, FL on 5/11/2022

2010 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

well made and have great sound running through factory head unit and amp (infinity system). Great replacement for low impedance stock speakers.

Pros: - Very well made - Great sound quality/bass - Good price for quality - Included tweeters have 3 options for mounting (flush mount/sunken mount/directional pod mount)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointing

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 12/26/2021

2016 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are not much of an upgrade. If you need replacements these are adequate but don't install them expecting noticeably better sound. The tweeter mounts require extensive modification but they are plastic so should not be a challenge.

Pros: Good fit

Cons: Definitely not an upgrade

Crutchfield response on 12/28/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Crutchfield customer from Pierre, SD on 12/5/2021

2007 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced front door speakers on 2007 Escalade. These sound great. Had to call Crutchfield because the instructions they sent did not have the colors for the factory wiring. The tech guy answered my questions in no time. Great to work with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C installed in 2015 Altima SV

Crutchfield customer from Davie, FL on 11/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers have clear sound that is adequate for a car. Did not install the tweeters yet as I will need to find a place on the door panel to install them since there wasn't one with the stock setup. Be sure to fit the speakers in whatever bracket you purchase before mounting the bracket. In my case I had to break off some of the optional tabs on the inside edge of the bracket in order to make the speakers fit. Once I did that they fit nicely. I also used some window sealing foam (the type used to weather strip windows or doors on your house ), between the bracket and the car and also between the bracket and the speakers. This is to help with vibration.

Pros: Easy to install if you follow the directions that are sent by Crutchfield. Good replacement for defective stock speakers.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Crutchfield customer from N Kingstown, RI on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding customer service and speakers!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great replacement speakers

Crutchfield customer from Centreville, VA on 8/7/2021

2016 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple swap for OME speakers that stopped working. Stereo sounds great now.

Pros: Easy replacement

Cons: Couldn't find any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great 2 ohm solution

Crutchfield customer from Milford, MI on 7/4/2021

2017 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a 2 ohm woofer for my '17 Mustang GT doors so I purchased this set. That was all I used for my installation and they do sound really good when compared to the paper speakers I replaced. The available brackets and wire harnesses made for a very simple project.

Pros: Perfect fit for my '17 Mustang GT

Cons: I needed to buy the whole set to get just the woofers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Crutchfield customer from Farmingtn Hls, MI on 7/1/2021

2010 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent merchandise

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Guest from Asheville, nc on 6/4/2021

2015 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a front door bose speaker in a 2015 mazda 3 grand touring, and it was terrible compared to the factory bose. Not even close to the sound. Would not recommend. Seems unhave to stay with the bose if ubwant the same sound.

Pros: Nice looking product and delivery was on point.

Cons: Reviews seem misleading

Crutchfield response on 6/15/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 5/27/2021

2014 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the 2ohm bass speakers only, to replace failing OEM Bose subs on a 2014 mazda3 due to speaker cone delamination caused by small amounts of water hitting them. In order to prevent this issue from re-occurring with these speakers, I purchased and used speaker baffles with a cutout at the bottom to allow airflow for proper cone movement. With this installation method I can say that the bass performance is noticeably less than with the OEM subs, but with the bass equalizer turned up it's more than good enough for my purposes. So this was a good option, and far less expensive than purchasing a new pair of OEM Bose replacement subs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

And the beat goes on.....

BRUNO from Bellevue, WA on 5/26/2021

2009 Acura RDX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, I would like to thank Trish, my Crutchfield service rep, for assisting me in making the replacement speaker choices for my 2009 Acura RDX. The OEM speakers were not much more than little rattle boxes. Trish made me aware of the 2 ohm requirement to these speakers, and guided to the correct products that I would need. For the front doors, she recommended the PowerBass OE-6C component system. What a great selection! It has taken me time to assemble all of my tools and requisite materials and to get up to speed with the installation processes. In preparation of the installation, I installed Kilmat sound deadening mat to the door interiors (as best as I could). When running the new wiring, I placed the cables in PET-expandable braided cable sleeving (zip-tied/taped to the wiring harness as necessary), and soldered, heat shrink tube insulated and vinyl taped all of the splices/connections. I have described the speaker install preparation in my speaker bracket review. Finding an adequate placement for the passive crossover was a challenge. Using strong double-sided foam mounting tape, I placed the passive crossover on the door - facing (drier) side of the interior trim panel, in a spot with adequate clearance. The performance of the new tweeters and woofers are quite significant.

Pros: Significant improvement in sound quality. Great customer service.

Cons: This old dog had to learn some new installation tricks.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2010 Camry

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug n play front dash & front doors 2010 Camry. Sound okay for JBL factory swap. Back deck was royal PITA, need to save the old wire harnesses & mount tweeter to the side of the bracket for the sub. Do yourself a favor & put some weatherstripping between the speaker/bracket plate and also between the bracket plate & metal rear deck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Tony from Dallas, TX on 5/10/2021

2020 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This information was very helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfect for mazda cx-5

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 5/6/2021

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried several speakers to replace my front door speakers in my Bose system, these sound as good if not better than the factory speakers. I left the factory tweeters in the car and just didn't use the transitions or tweeters from this kit. Works like a champ!

Pros: OE quality

Cons: Wish they just sold the subs

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

PowerBass Jamin' Tunes

Crutchfield customer from Frackville, PA on 5/3/2021

2020 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality for the price. I noticed that the local car stereo shop sells these as well so I know that the sound experts understand the value. Great sound and quality materials

Pros: Value for the money

Cons: Sold only as a set with the tweeters-should also be sold without them

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PowerBass OE-6C

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spring Hill

Brandon from Spring Hill on 4/30/2021

2005 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took under an hour to install in the doors of my G35 coupe w/Bose and the difference in the sound is night and day. Lows are smooth and highs are far more crisp. Gives the system way more range and doesn't sound as muffled as the factory speakers. Highly recommended for those wanting to upgrade their sound without swapping out the factory amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Premium Sound upgrade to stock stereo

Crutchfield customer from Anna, TX on 4/22/2021

2017 Nissan NV200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was skeptical about this product to replace the stock 2 ohm speakers in my NV200 work van. I was afraid the sound clarity and bass response would not be very good with the stock head unit. After installing this speaker setup with the crossover and small additional tweeters I am amazed at how good this stock stereo sounds in my work van. I can hear every detail of the music from the low tones to the high notes. I can clearly hear the words in the songs on the radio. When using the handsfree phone it does not feedback and annoy the person on the other end of the phone. Yes I would definitely recommend this speaker as a cost effective upgrade to a stock stereo with 2 ohm speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Raton

matthew from Raton on 3/18/2021

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in my 2004 toyota tundra w JBL. Bass was very lean. Tweeter's were on the bright side. The JBL amp doesnt seem to have enough power to drive them - at 88db there aren't very sensitive. Powerbass claims this is a good speaker to drop into a factory system, but I disagree. I returned them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Replace that 2ohm 5.25 with a 6.5in!

Richard from Durham, NC on 2/27/2021

2009 Acura MDX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 12 years the stock woofers in my 2009 Acura MDX doors were shot. I did not want to drop in the regular 2 ohm 5 1/4 inch sized Crutchfield recommended replacements. After much reviewing of size specs, I purchased these components. These woofers are a great replacement for stock sound! I did take out the speaker mount to make it easier for me but had no issues mounting it. See picture for how I mounted the speaker to it. I did this for all four doors of my 2009 Acura MDX. Note: I did not use the tweeter or passive crossovers that came with the set. They are going in another DIY project. Thanks Crutchfield for the speaker wiring adapters to make the speaker re-connections even easier.

Pros: Nicer size Better bass response than factory speakers Didn't have to run any new amps or more complicated stuff for a better sound

Cons: Not a standard unscrew and swap speaker change

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good for Replacing Factory just not great

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 12/2/2020

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are okay for what they needed to be to replace a blown factory set of speakers. I am sure there are better options availalble but for the price they get the job done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound