Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Dynamat Hoodliner

Stop Road Noise!

MFR # 11905

Dynamat Hoodliner

Dynamat Hoodliner

Stop Road Noise!

MFR # 11905

26 reviews
View this product

Dynamat Hoodliner

Crutchfield customer from Yarmouth, ME on 9/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We got this for our engine cover(dog house) in our class A motorhome. Wow what a difference in the noise level in thecab. Highly recommend getting this. Very easy to install.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Surprised

Crutchfield customer from Valencia, CA on 8/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprised. Lighter weight than expected. Product works as described. Passengers have actually commented how quiet the engine is!

Pros: Light weight, works as described

Cons: Some flaking of the dynamat lettering. Not a big deal.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Better than expected.

Robert from MUNCIE, IN on 7/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

On my 2003 Toyota 4Runner Limited, the hood always sounded like a tin can. I removed the factory liner, added Dynamat Extreme first, then the Hoodliner on top. I was surprised at the noticeable difference, not just in engine noise, but road noise dropped significantly as well. I have the 4.7 liter V8, extensively modified with vortex throttle body, K & N cone filter, chip, and Magnaflow exhaust, and the change is most noticeable just idling. However, on rough roads at 50-60 Mph, the car is noticeably quieter. The whole car has a tighter, more solid feel, as there was never any sound dampening on the hood area. I installed both layers myself in under two hours. I did this first, prior to having my floor and doors done. I'm sold. This stuff makes for a noticeably more pleasant driving experience.

Pros: Easy to install, works as advertised, reduces road and engine noise significantly.

Cons: Must apply Dynapad first, to get the full benefit of the hoodliner.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dissapointed!!!

Crutchfield customer from Nicholasville, KY on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointed in this product. Money-time has been spend and I don't see a difference at all. Installed it on semi truck hood hopping to hear less Diesel engine inside a cab but no results

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Noticeable effect

Sanka from ALEXANDRIA, VA on 6/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Immediately noticed the difference. You dont need the roller, you can do it by hand. Took me 15 minutes with scissors. I had dynamatted the doors and trunk of my vehicle from a shop. This seemed easy to do myself. It was immediately noticeable. There is a certain RPM I always shift st because its just noisy, I went 1000rpm above that on my first drive and didnt notice.

Pros: DIY, Namebrand

Cons: You'll want to do everything after it!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it!

William St. from KEYSVILLE, VA on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to silence a diesel generator enclosure. Reduced dBs from 104 to 89! Measured with a meter one inch above the top of the enclosure before vs after. That's a huge difference and totally worth it in my book. It also is easily cut and sticks really well.

Pros: Does what they claim.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Crutchfield customer from Alameda, CA on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation for your hood but I wish you came in like a black a different color

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Dynamat is good

Jeff from Media, PA on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product, relatively easy to cut to fit. Not sure of it's "insulating" properties, but it certainly made the hood sound more solid when closing. Would recommend.

Pros: Quality feel Easy to cut Sticks well

Cons: Hard to lay flat due to shipping rolled up Wish it came in black

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Crutchfield customer from Salinas, CA on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for my application.

Pros: Easy installation and does what is it advertised.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Crutchfield customer from Pineville, LA on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and looks good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 1/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second experience with the hood liners, they are adequate when compared to the factory style hood liner. Make sure you clean the underside of the hood or anywhere else you plan on deploying, also use tape. I first went with dynatape but it didn't last long and went to the aluminized you get from a home improvement store.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dynamat Hoodliner its the best thing you can put it on your car with no problem later, it's AWESOME

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A+

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, IN on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit , less noisy engine

Pros: Great product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Worthwhile upgrade to your factory liner

Dapper from Bay Area, CA on 11/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is product is well-worth the price, and is a fairly easy install. Zero problems with tackiness. still holding strong after a couple of months. Bought this as part of an overall sound deadening project, and it performed as expected. Caveat: don't expect it to do miracles inside the cabin. The effect there is more about less vibration being transmitted that huge sound reduction (for most vehicles). The Hoodliner lettering is a real problem. As soon as you start working with the product, the painted lettering starts cracking and flaking. Put a roller or a hand to it during install, and now you have a mess in your compartment. This was Shopvac time for me. Then I used the Shopvac tools and a cloth/alcohol to remove as much of the lettering as possible. All good after that. Do yourself a favor and take care of the lettering BEFORE you are over your engine compartment. Planning Dynatape to finish the edges? It doesn't work. Not enough stick and heat resistance for under hood. Starts to fall off after the first drive. What does work is 3M aluminum HVAC duct tape product available at hardware stores, etc. Matches the look. Zero problems with stickiness. Remember to clean surface with alcohol before applying, of course. Good luck.

Pros: Improved heat resistance and sound deadening, as advertised.

Cons: Hoodliner lettering is a disaster. Flakes off immediately and gets everywhere.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Crutchfield customer from Grand Blanc, MI on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good liner was advertised as 55 inches wide But was only 33 inches wide. I needed the 55 inches on my 1965 Chrysler 300. Note. Measure the hood liner before you try installing it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/24/2020
We're sorry about the confusion over the dimensions of this Dynamat hoodliner kit. Because of this review, our product research guru, Russ, has updated our online dimensions to match the dimensions(54x32)that Dynamat states for the current version of this kit.

5 of 7 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner & Duramat on RV Inside Dash, Wheel Wells and Engine

Aaron from Plano, TX on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the Dynamat Hoodliner both inside my dashboard and under the floor in the tire well and around the engine compartment of my Entegra RV which has a Ford V10 gas engine. Before the Hoodliner we could barely hear each other speak between the driver and passenger seats. Now that the Hoodliner is installed it's much quieter. I'm guessing the dB drooped 10-15 points. When installing the Hoodliner in the wheel well and engine compartment I used Extreme Weather Foil Tape for HVAC ducts from Home Depot to seal all the edges and make them watertight. Then I used a can of spray rubber seal (like the commercial on TV that claims to seal anything) to coat the joints and spray inside the wheel well to add durability and water seal however I didn't spray around the engine compartment to maintain reflectivity of the foil coating. This was just installed so I'm curious to see the longevity! But for now super quiet!

Pros: Works as promised!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works as advertised.

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, CO on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it is working as expected. In a vintage car this absolutely reduced engine noise (diesel) and has made the engine temperature more responsive. Installation was relatively easy - I used paper to figure out the pieces I needed to maximize use of the roll of liner. I had enough left over that I lined the rear door too! Will be most interested to see how long it lasts - when it gets wet or as the adhesive wears over time...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Impressive quality out of the box, easy install.

Raleigh NC from Raleigh, NC on 9/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive quality out of the box. I don't have any measurements for how much engine noise was reduced after installation, but the car does feel quieter. I installed this on a Lexus sedan, which was already quiet compared to most cars. Some folks complained about the difficulty of re-arranging the hood liner once the adhesive had caught. Here's a solo installation tip: Once you cut the hood liner to size (which is easily enough done with scissors), lay the hood liner on top of the engine block in the EXACT location where it will be when the hood is closed. Remove the protective layer from the sticky backing (which should be on top). Then just close the hood all the way latched. When you open the hood again, enough contact points should have made contact so that the hood liner is now stuck to the hood in the right place. Use your hands to press across the liner against the interior of the hood so that it's sticking in all places.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Nicholas from Lexington, KY on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! I'm on the interstate a lot! And it reduces engine noise really well. I also put dynamat extreme on before hand can tell a big difference

Pros: Very easy to put on, works as described!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as it states in description.

Pros: Quieter engine noise

Cons: Once the sticky backing hits a surface it is stuck. Would be nice if the adhesive was pressure activated

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Jacko from Tobago on 2/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is awesome. This is my second purchase of this product and it really does as advertised. May even be better than the manufacture's hood liner. I would highly recommend it to anyone. it surely does worth the money.

Pros: Can be cleaned easily and it stays in place. reduces engine noise, keeps the hood cool and saves the paint.

Cons: It is not removable or transferable once its applied.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Blair from Pt Pleasant, NJ on 1/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product looked well-made, but was unable to install due to temperatures of only 45°F. The backing glue would not stick to my hood at these temperatures. Still waiting for warmer temperatures, or may have to unbolt my hood and bring it inside to warm up on my TDI sport wagon and then install it.

Pros: Easy to cut.

Cons: Backing adhesive very temperature sensitive meaning will not stick in cold weather.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 26 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner helps

Crutchfield customer from Ft. Pierce, FL on 8/17/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to make my 97 Saab Quieter so I could hear quiet passages of music. I also did not want to throw a lot of money at a car that wouldn't get more than $2500 if it was totaled. I used it without the Dynamat extreme as Dynamat recommended. The install is fine and the car seems quiter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Daniel from Buffalo, NY on 5/14/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a couple of quibbles with this product. First, at 5' x 3', I'm not sure it would cover most underhoods, much less mine which is not overly-large. Second, on the box it reads 'for optimal results, install over (a layer of) Dynamat Xtreme', which I did not have lying around the workshop. This was not hinted at either in the advertisement or in my pre-order tech support call. This is misleading and unhelpful. Of course I want 'optimal results', but don't necessarily want to pay more for it, or wait for the Dynamat Xtreme to arrive. So, disappointing on three counts, and this is before I find out if the product even works!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

39 of 82 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Bob from Ann Arbor, MI on 9/30/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased for a manual transmission Subaru, where the mid-frequency noise from the engine at higher revs was just a bit annoying. I was skeptical whether the Hoodliner would cut it much without doing additional sound deadening on the floor and firewall. It actually worked far better than I had expected. Did a fantastic job of cutting engine noise across the spectrum and improved the listening (and driving!) experience. Well worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

35 of 35 found this helpful

Dynamat Hoodliner

Marshall from Jonesborough, TN on 11/5/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Dynamat Hoodliner works exactly as advertised. After driving in town all day, the hood isn't even slightly warm! Great product and installation was very straightforward...just peel and stick. Highly recommended product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

127 of 145 found this helpful

TOP