Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony WH-1000XM3

Over-ear Bluetooth® wireless noise-canceling headphones (Silver)

MFR # WH1000XM3/S

Sony WH-1000XM3

Sony WH-1000XM3

Over-ear Bluetooth® wireless noise-canceling headphones (Silver)

MFR # WH1000XM3/S

112 reviews
View this product

Love the Active Noise Cancellation

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, NH on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these primarily for the active noise cancellation......and so far I have not been disappointed. It is outstanding. I can put these on and tune out the world around me and have peace. I have a noise sensitivity and these help tremendously to block out noise when needed.

Pros: Active Noise Cancellation Comfortable to wear Battery life is good

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from West Lafayette, IN on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a good sounding pair of headphones. The touch pad is a bit gimicky but all around great quality and with the new app update you can turn off touch controls so no cold weather issues either. Not water or sweat proof so keep that in mind.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 11/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best headphones in class.

Pros: Good headphones

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, IN on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Headphones

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Gladstone, NJ on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Comfortable on a 15 hour flight and a very long battery life. Noise canceling is excellent. The buttons could be better designed.

Pros: Comfortable and quiet

Cons: Button design

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Mount Laurel, NJ on 10/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and noise cancelation properties

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound, but they became hot because my ears touched the inside lining of the headphones. I also like buttons instead of the swipe gestures. I went with the Bose QC35II instead. The Bose are all around better in my opinion if comfort and ease of use is on the top of your priority list without sacrificing sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Grant from NORTON, VA on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best noise cancelling headphones on the market hands down.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Ocean View, DE on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After using the headphone for 4 or 5 days, I have come to appreciate just how good they are. Once I learned how to connect with other devices, it was really nice using them. For the price they are an excellent value. Rich sound .... the noise elimination works pretty well ... I'd say 95% at 10 feet from the tv. It would have been nice to toggle between devices but it doesn't require much effort to make that change. Unless you are an audiophile, you will love them from the very start!!!

Pros: Sound quality, comfort, noise elimination.

Cons: They deserve a toggle switch ..... but that would jack the price up ....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent value

Richard from MAPLEWOOD, NJ on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent set of headphones. Very powerful noise cancellation. Light and comfortable. Long battery life and holds its charge even when not used for weeks. Even look good! Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I like them but.

Crutchfield customer from Fort Dick, CA on 9/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They have great sound, does the job of blocking the ambient sounds also. I really like being able to switch tracks and adjust the sound by swiping the headphones. Now the negatives , when wearing them and swiping it doesn't always work as easily as the make it sound , takes some practice. I don't recommend them for any types of exercises unless you don't mind sweaty headsets, hence the four ??.

Pros: My review pretty much covers the pros&cons

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great headphones BUT...

Crutchfield customer from Maplewood, NJ on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice set of headphones. Noise cancelling is superb, very light and comfortable. Look great. On ear controls work well. One big problem though: the app/software. Very difficult to get them to switch from one device to another. Just won't do it sometimes but it will still tell you it has. Power them down, power down the devices you're trying to connect with, power back on, try selecting different device again. Tedious. Will start playing music from a device you've stopped using. Shut itself off a couple of times or randomly switch to another nearby device (iPad/iPhone). Very frustrating as the hardware is so good. May return. Sad.

Pros: Great noise cancelling, comfortable

Cons: Software is VERY buggy!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't buy for true silence...

Gary from Lima NY on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these headphones to use on the mower. Only work for 5 min then turn off. Apparently noise cancelling headphones only work when you are listening to noise/music from your phone. Kinda funny! Tech support told me to buy 99 cent ear plugs if I wanted silence. Returning these for my money back. Sony with all your brilliant engineers too stupid to make active noise cancelling for those that truly want peace!

Pros: Do work great for first 5 minutes

Cons: Auto shut off at 5 minutes

Crutchfield response on

5 of 30 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are the most comfortable I've ever put on and the sound stage is incredibly lit. If you have the dough I'd highly recommend getting a pair, Sony makes some of the highest quality cans I've listened to and these are no different.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great headphones

Crutchfield customer from Lake Wylie, SC on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not had the chance to try these out on the plane yet but I'm sure they will be great. I was sitting in the living room with the tv blasting and was so surprised at how well they block out the sound around me. They are light weight and comfortable. Great choice!

Pros: Comfortable, light weight, great features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Sandusky, OH on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MOUNT PLEASANT

Brian from MOUNT PLEASANT on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best headphones I have ever owned these rock!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Will from TN on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading many reviews on this product I decided to purchase these over the Bose. Ran them through the paces for a couple of weeks before writing this review anD these headphones live up to the hype. Great sound and features. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Seguin, TX on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality and amazing sound canceling worth every penny

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Guest from NEW CASTLE, DE on 7/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Sony the one and only

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Sony head phones amazingly block out the noise and are very comfortabley/light weight. I use these at work in an open area where many people talk and without then I was not able to concentrate. I can now get lots of reading and studying done. I tested Bose and when Bose had slightly better sound quality the Sony noise cancellation and comfort won me over. Only draw back is that Sony must be connected to Bluetooth or wired connection or it will auto shutdown, which is slightly annoying. Nice price and fast shipping ?? thanks Crutchfield

Pros: Noise cancellation, lightweight and comfortable. Almost superior sound quality. Long life battery

Cons: Autoshut down when not connected

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Madison, IN on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are amazing ! They are expensive, but definitely worth it. My wife and I were amazed... very comfortable, sound is amazing, features are better than expected! Thank you Sony

Pros: Sound, quality, easy to use, good battery life, very comfortable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

These cans rule!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The reviews don't lie. And extraordinary technical tour de force. Brilliant in every way. Huge value per dollar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Hot Springs, AR on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headphones! Looked at all the reviews and finally decided to buy the Sony. Glad I did. Great bass and long lasting after the first charge.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Premium price justified by premium experience

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of folks have sung the praises of these headphones, so I will instead focus on a few things I was concerned about before buying them: * I have a large head with large ears, so many headphones are too tight and many over-the-ear headphones end up resting on my ears instead. These do not have that problem. They adjust to my head without any problem and are truly over-the-ear. * I wear glasses, so some headphones with stiff foam surrounds don't create a good seal. Again, no problem here. The surrounds are just soft enough to close around my (thick acetate) glasses but not so soft that they feel mushy. * I read some reviews that recommended against these headphones due to a phenomenon they called "eardrum suck". While these headphones are set up to aggressively cancel noise and do create the eardrum suck effect, it's possible to mitigate this by adjusting the ambient noise level in the Sony Headphones app. In practice, this means that i can set the headphones to aggressively cancel noise on an airplane, where the effect is less annoying than the background noise AND I can set them to less aggressively cancel noise in the office, where the eardrum suck would get annoying. If you're on the fence about buying these, I would suggest going for it. It's priced at a premium, but it delivers a premium experience.

Pros: Comfortable, adjustable, blocks noise

Cons: Default settings create the eardrum suck effect, but this can be mitigated by using the Sony Headphones app to adjust noise cancelling level

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Headphones

Doug from Avoca, NY on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was in a quandary about which headphone to buy. I called Jill at tech support and within my price range, the Sony WH-1000XM3 was the recommendation. They are awesome. Easy to use and sound great. I would recommend them to anyone! Crutchfield comes through again!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, CA on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are amazing. The noise reduction is the best. The sound is very clear and I can listen to music for hours and not get a headache. Very comfortable. I choose the Sonys over Bose 35. Glad I did.

Pros:

Cons: Single pairing only.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

WOW!! - Sony M3 versus Bose QC 2

Ian from Lancaster, PA on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After scouring review websites and YouTube I decided to give the good folks at Crutchfield a call.. Ordered Bose QC 11 and M3 and wanted to listen to them in my real world. I listened to both with streaming music , downloaded music on iPhone and tested noise cancellation while mowing the lawn (and listening to music.) Both equally comfortable..Where the M3 really pulls away is just pure sound quality- much much more spacious sound with detailed highs, mids and lows.. QC sounds good but when listening to them side by side-really no comparison.. Battery life is insane. Taking a call is crystal clear and your voice is equally clear for the other person.. never lost blue tooth connection..hand over the ear cup for muting works great.. You won't be disappointed!

Pros: Did I say sound quality! Comfortable Battery life

Cons: Hard to find any

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

No Other Headphones Will Do

Brandon from Fairfield, CA on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I usually don't write reviews of any kind. And the only reason I'm submitting one now is because Crutchfield prompted me to do so. That said, I really like these headphones!! I've only been using them for about two weeks. The experience thus far has been excellent. Hence, the five star rating. The biggest thing I noticed immediately when I first unpackaged these headphones was how gorgeous they are. They look like someone spent several hours in a lab somewhere and came up with this awesome display. There's definitely a learning curve involved with using these headphones. Functionality is tricky at first. Being that the typical functional buttons- play, pause, forward, backward- are literally by feel (specifically how you glide your finger across the right ear cup) makes for some frustrating experiences. There have been times when I'm trying to lower the volume and instead wind up fast forwarding to the next song! With much practice of the numerous gestures, I imagine after thirty days of using these headphones I'll be fine. When other users talk about comfort and comfortable, those attributes certainly apply to these headphones. While they feel heavy in your hands, when they're on your head, it's like they're not even there!

Pros: Sound Quality. It's incredibly contours to whatever you're listening. There's the right amount of bass, midsized, and highs.

Cons: I'm not a fan of the type of black coating Sony chose. Matte black looks and feels better. By the way, hold onto these headphones securely at all times. They will most certainly slip out of your hands and fall to the ground thanks in part to the wonderful paint job I just commented on.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best out there right now in wireless headphones

Crutchfield customer from Chambersburg, PA on 6/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll start this review with the fact that I don't use them in a nice little ride on the plane to another city using them a few hours and nicely putting them back in their case. I work in a harsh mowing enviornment on a daily basis in the dirt and much noise. Previously I owned and still own a set of Bose Quietcomfort 35's that have been put to the test for the past two years. I also have done studio work and understand the clarity needed to hear music correctly. The Quietcomforts have done well, but this summer the earpads and the plastic lining holding them became loose and needed replaced. I went online to see if I could contact Bose and their response was that they would give me $50 off a new pair, big deal, Crutchfield already has that good of a price. So I began looking at others and read about the Sony WH-1000Xm3. These are incredible. Quality sound, outstanding noise canceling and much better wireless conncection than the Bose. Running a loud mower with these on is really wonderful. One time I got on the mower and tried to start it because I didn't hear it running. Sound is soft on your ears even at a loud volume, and the wireless connections is flawless. My Bose headsets cut out about every 30 seconds. When I change directions, it cuts out most times. This gets annoying after a while. So when Bose only offered me the option of purchasing a new set and sending the old set back, I opted for SONY. Very happy with that decision.

Pros: Love the app to control the EQ Very good Wireless quality Music is not harsh on your ears Noise cancelling is very good

Cons: Sometimes the touch controls get mixed up and when you try to control the volume, you advance to the next song because the sensitivity between the up and down gets mixed up with the forward and backward

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Trujillo Alto, PR on 6/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality audio, well balance between bass and voices, long lasting battery, very comfortable, very good bluetooth long range. Fast shipping like always.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality is excellent and it is very comfortable to wear. The adaptive noise-cancelling feature can be finicky at times but the headphones are overall very effective at blocking out sound. The touch controls are pretty responsive and smooth as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Aural Experience

garth from Pembroke Pines on 6/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, I'm still in an aural daze from listening to some live recordings of one my of favorite artist Bob Marley. I judge my headphones based on listening to a wide cross section of genres that have on my ITunes library. Simply put, these headphones are the best in its class, a near perfect balance of sound cancellation tech and audio reproduction experience. I have not connected them directly to my IPhone via the lightning connector to see if the listening experience is different but I will update that. Buy these headphones and they will leave you with a big smile on your face and other people wondering if your feeling ok

Pros: Everything, it's money well spent

Cons: Haven't found one yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

I am still waiting for my $ 350 gift card to win . It's a little over.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound wonderful

Pros: Best sounding headphones and great customer support front Crutchfield.

Cons: None...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Bose are better.

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Feels loose on head. Noise cancelling not as good as Bose. Should be better for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Sound On

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones have excellent sound and noise cancellation. This review would be 5star but for the very limited instructions that come in the package and the on line setup. The package instructions are pictorial only. If you are willing to experiment to get the settings, this is an excellent choice.

Pros: Great sound. Comfortable.

Cons: Minimal instructions.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the most comfortable headphones I've ever had! The quality of impeccable, and the noise cancelling feature is out of this world!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great headphones

Crutchfield customer from Long Is City, NY on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Headphones. The noise cancelling really works and amazing it it eliminates outside music sources. Also, I do not find this hot or uncomfortable over long periods of time, very comfortable.

Pros: sound, noise canceling, comfort, carrying case.

Cons: charger cord is very short

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Highly Recommended

Crutchfield customer from Lyndonville, NY on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been dedicated to Sony for over 30 years and they have never let me down. I hold Sony to high standards and they have always gone above and beyond in my opinion. These head phones are the best I have used thus far and with awesome features. I highly recommend the WH-1000XM3 to anyone who wants the ultimate head phone experience.

Pros: All I can say is read the "Features" in the product information.

Cons: The cost is a bit high but I paid it, so is it really a con?!?!?!?!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

auto shut down is frustrating

Bill from Dobbs Ferry, NY on 5/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound (especially for music) and noise cancelling are excellent. I've compared them to the new Bose and the Sony WH10000 are significantly better for music. Noise cancelling, maybe Bose are a little better. Here's the rub. There must be an audio input or Bluetooth connection otherwise the Sony headphones will shut down. For example, if I'm traveling on a plane and just want to use my Sony headphones for noise cancelling only, I can't. Without an active input the Sony's will shut down. There is a work around. Just plug in a 3.5 mm cable into the input jack (doesn't have to be connected to anything) and the head phones will stay on. It's so stupid! This price and Sony couldn't figure this out?!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Buy these headphones!

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I came to the Crutchfirld website to purchase Bose noise cancelling wireless headphones. However, after reading more about this product versus the Bose headphones, I investigated further, including watching an instructive review video by Crutchfield tech advisors. I chose the Sony headphones after watching that video. Key to that decision is the absolute comfort of the headphones. They are very lightweight and do not press tightly against your ears. You can actually forget you're wearing them. It's super easy and intuitive to stop, resume play, adjust volume, rewind or reverse what you're listening to. Plus, you just have to cup your right ear with your hand to cancel noise cancelling so you can listen to ambient sounds--like someone trying to talk to you while your headphones are on. How easy is that? The sound is just excellent; you don't miss a word on podcasts or the finer nuances of your favorite music. I love these headphones!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Best Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Scranton, PA on 4/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best headphones I've ever owned. I've had the Bose QC15, 20 & 35 (1st gen) and thought they are great. I deliberated between the QC35ii, B&O Beoplay Hi and these. After doing some extensive research, I ultimately decided on the Sony's because of the noise cancellation, comfort & battery life (30 hrs). If I come into extra money, the new pine H9i's will be out because they're beautiful and can handle 2 Bluetooth devices

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent service! Incredible sound!

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 4/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service! Incredible sound! Crutchfield and Sony have improved my future travels. Crutchfield is professional in all aspects of their service that extends years beyond the purchase. The first and only online electronic site I will use. Very competitive. Their advise and customer service never disappoints. The Sony WH-1000XM3 is the best sounding N/C headphones I've ever owned (and I've electrical taped together a first generation Sony N/C cans for causal listening). Extremely easy set up, comfortable, nice carrying case... I can't wait for my next flight out of town!

Pros: The Crutchfield staff. The looks and listening experience of the WH-1000XM3 is beyond what I expected. I took a chance on purchasing a returned set of cans and will consider doing it again. Perfect! Thank-you.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Flowery Branch, GA on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things are amazing. The clarity of sound: crips treble and clear midranges, while blocking all outside sound!!! And they are amazingly comfortable, so much so that I've actually found myself now wearing them while working, when I thought I was just getting them for long plane flights. Can't recommend them enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, MS on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been eyeing these as an upgrade from my wired Bose QC25s ever since they came out and have read and watched many of the head-to-head comparisons between these and the current generation of Bose QC35s. All the praise and buzz about these headphones is deserved and I am loving them. One of the remarkable things using these in wired mode (which is not the regular use but still a possibility) is how good they sound even without the active noise cancelling on. This is a big improvement over my current wired Bose headphones which sound terrible without noice cancelling. All in all a great purchase and I don't think you will be disappointed if you go for these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beyond Expectations!

Tom from Overland Park, KS on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the model that was available before this one. I have enjoyed it immensely. I got this new model for my wife. It is lighter and even more comfortable than my, less than a year old one. The sound quality is amazing and the noise canceling works wonders in all types of loud environments. The battery life is good too. I researched both purchases extensively, reading professional and regular people's reviews and comments. I am sure the Bose are good, but these Sony headphones are really terrific! Also, the gray color looks good too. Tune out the noise and distractions, and listen to great sound with this excellent product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Pinehurst, NC on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far,so great.Only wish it was compatible with more than one Bluetooth device at a time.Service was superb.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best ANC Wireless Headset on the Market

Charles from Plano, TX on 3/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using the first generation (MDR-1000X) daily for the better part of the last 2 years before upgrading to these Mark 3's. Been using them the past week and I absolutely love them! The improved ergonomics from the shape of the headband and the headband extra comfort from the plusher padding really accentuate the difference from this on compared to its original predecessor. The USB-C and fast charging also helps modernize it in 2019. Not sure if the Bluetooth chip was upgraded too, but the XM3's connect to my devices significantly faster too. My only complaint would be the app which lets you customize it. While it works fine, is pretty basic and has a horrible privacy policy. Only other concern for me is the hinges since my old headset had the cracked hinges problem happen to me a couple of months ago and the plastic finally separated from the metal part of the headband a while ago (hence the upgrade to the XM3). I've read Sony has supposedly increased the strength of the plastic around the hinges, but I've read conflicting experiences. Only time will tell I guess.

Pros: -Best in class ANC -Extremely light and comfortable -Looks and feels premium -Killer fast charging and USB-C

Cons: -Can only connect to one device at a time

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

George from San Antonio, TX on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great and feel comfortable. Much better sound than the bose qc35. Only pain is getting new usb c cords, for a iphone/ipad/mac user

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great equipment and comfort for the price

Isao from Hacienda Heights, CA on 2/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very late review and I do apologise for this but I'll start off with this is a great product and highly recommend. I'm not sure very technical guy when it comes to audio but I do spend more than the average person in them. I wouldn't call this headphones an audiophile equipment but as a daily use, portability, quality and especially they price, these are really good. I own other headphones and earphones such as Fostex Th900 mk1 and Opened, MDRZ1, XBA-Z5 and so on but I still use this on a near daily basis because it's very comfortable to wear and it definitely blocks out lots of noises from the outside. It especially shines with Android devices and HiRes DAPs because of the LDAC. The only negative thing about this product are the mic which isn't that good (my 40 dollars Jabra does better per people listening to be talk) but this is meant for audio listening /blocking it noise so I don't think it should be the decision to not buy these.

Pros: Sound quality, confirm, best sound cancellation experience

Cons: Mic is not that good

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Think twice before buying

Richard from Lutz, FL on 2/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I this time I cannot recommend this product for purchase.. Here is my experience, this product does not ship ready to use and Crutchfield does not advise you of this when you place order. This product only comes with a 4" charging cable. and no plug in adapter for cable. You would have to get plug in adapter and an extension cable to be able to charge these headphones. The headphones would have to hang from wall attached to adapter which will surely break The only option is to buy or borrow plug in adapter and extension cable. Customer service attitude was buy the cable from them and pay $6.99 Shipping charge. This was totally unacceptable but he insisted and told me to buy elsewhere or pay shipping. Now as far as the headphones are here is my observation after 12 hours of use. The base and treble are fine at default settings but you can adjust these if you want to change. What I am not really happy with is the soundstage is too wide. It is like listening to two different orchestras. Vocals are not center stage and backup singers can change from one side to other side in middle of songs. Volume is good and hand controls for volume answering calls changing tracks etc. is good. Calls received are not best sounding differently inferior to apple watch or Iphone. In ear buds much better sounding on calls. Less ear pressure on NC then other competitor. But I think I may like their sound better. The other fault is the pads on these phones make my ears sweat in 1/2 hour.

Pros: Good noise cancelation.

Cons: Bad Soundstage sweaty ear pads, 4" charge cable which is useless. Have heard much better sound from earphones costing as much. Will Probably return.

Crutchfield response on 2/11/2019
Thanks for your review and honest feedback. The included USB-C cable is 9" rather than 4". But we agree that length is more suitable for charging from a laptop than it may be from some wall outlets. Based on your feedback we will be updating our presentation and will be adding more A/C to USB chargers to the accessories tab.

5 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Chardon, OH on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, better than my Bose. The noise cancelling is very close to the Bose I have, maybe a tad less, but not enough to make a difference between the two. The comfort , for my head, is better than my Bose also. Overall, sound and comfort are much better, so these would be my first choice if buying again.

Pros: Sound, Comfort

Cons: Not really any big enough to mention

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Beware: significant fatal flaws in common use cases

Jeff from Brooklyn, NY on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While the noise reduction and comfort are certainly admirable, several fatal flaws make these highly sub-optimal for me. You may not have the same need or concerns. So what are the problems in my view? 1. As is widely noted around the internet and acknowledged on Sony's website, the touch controls do not work properly in cold weather. More specifically, they record false inputs (e.g., the cold weather triggers the voice assistant function unexpectedly) and when you do want to actually use the touch input, the panel may not respond. Unacceptalbe for an expensive pair of headphones. Sony's recommendation? When you go from warm to cold, shut them back off and turn them back on to recalibrate. Didn't they test them for use in the cold? Crazy... 2. If you are a multiple iOS device user, be prepared for major annoyances. As Sony tech support confirmed to me, you cannot be simultaneously connected to multiple iOS devices. Yes, you can be paired to more than one, but you have to manually select to disconnect on one device (even if no audio is playing) before being able to connect to another. My QC35s and every other pair of Bluetooth headphones I've had in the last handful of years have done this seamlessly. How is it in 2018 (or now 2019) Sony makes this so hard? 3. The microphone quality for voice calls is sub-par. So if you live in a warm climate, don't need to use multiple iOS devices and don't care about calls, you may be fine and happy. I am

Pros: * Noise cancellation (although I frankly can't discern a difference from QC35s) *Comfortable * Battery life

Cons: * Touch control failures in cold weather * Poor implementation for multi-point pairing * Voice quality on calls * Too expensive to have the aforementioned flaws

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Go for it!

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have owned more headphones than i care to admit, by far these are the best i've ever heard. The first time i was in an airplane sealed the deal. Excellent noise cancel while retaining a beautiful listening experience. no regrets at all. highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from American Fork, UT on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. I use it a lot with my Macbook Pro. Pairing is seamless and effortless. Great sound and function.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Believe the pro reviews on these

James from Houston, TX on 1/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these over the equivalent Bose units after several reviews (and a test listen to confirm) noted that while both have similar and quite good noise cancelling, these Sony cans sound much better. I agree -- much more bottom-end punch than the Bose, with similar mid- and upper-range, so the sound is nicely balanced. The app also allows fine-tuning the EQ settings and level of noise cancellation. Battery life is great - I can go 3-4 working days in the office between recharges (though the provided USB-C charging cord is comically short and darn near useless, and no wall-wart is provided). Fit is just fine, and very comfortable, on my somewhat large head. The proximity controls on the right earpiece are useful, though blind operation takes a little practice. Have not had any trouble with Bluetooth connectivity. Have not tried to use them for telephone function, though. BT range is impressive - I've gone roughly 50 feet (about 16 meters) from my phone in an office with lots of metal partition frames and walls between me and the phone, and the sound didn't miss at all. They cancel office noise well enough for the boss to be able to sneak up on me. That's about perfect.

Pros: - Great sound - Great noise-cancelling - Useful on-ear controls - Solid battery life - Excellent BT range

Cons: - Comically short USB-C charging cord is largely useless

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After some research, I decided to move away from Bose and try Sony. The headphones produce a superior sound. I heard they noise cancelling was not as good, but those reviews were on earlier Sony models. These headphones are amazing. The added benefit of the app for customizing the sound really make this a great purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Campbell, CA on 1/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headphones, better than XM2 and QC25's that I had. Noise cancelling is exceptional!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My new favorite pair of headphones

Benjamin from Caldwell, NJ on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my fifth pair of noise-canceling headphones, and by far the best. I first owned the Sennheiser PXC-250, then the PXC-300, then the AKG N60, then the Sony WH-H900N, and now these. The AKG N60 headphones are very lightweight and compact with very good sound quality. However, they get uncomfortable after a while and the sub-bass is lacking compared to my Audio-Technica ATH-M50s. They are better in every way compared to my first two pairs of Sennheisers. Then I got a free pair of Sony WH-H900N h.ear on 2 with the purchase of my Sony Xperia XZ1 smartphone, and had very high hopes for them. They were stylish without being gaudy, comfortable, wireless with LDAC technology, had touch controls, and good bass. However they had one major flaw: they whistled at me, particularly through the left ear cup, on certain high frequencies when the noise canceling was activated. The whistling in the left ear completely ruined the experience and I wasn't able to listen to them on public transportation, only at home. Then I got the WH-100XM3 after reading all the reviews. All I can say is, holy cow! They sound much clearer than the H900Ns, the noise canceling is way better, and they don't whistle at me. They're also more compact with a hard carrying case. The first thing I noticed is the power of the bass while listening to Tool. The bass guitar comes through loud and clear. Another good track I use to test bass response is Dr. Dre's B**** N*****, and they pass w

Pros: Comfort, battery life, sound quality, noise canceling, bass response, LDAC, Sony headphone app, touch controls

Cons: They make a weird sound when the bus rolls over bumps.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

The New King of Bluetooth Headphones

Brett from Salt Lake City, UT on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are phenomenal headphones, if you are considering Bose QC 35 IIs, stop. Buy these instead. I feel that the Bose QC 35 IIs have a touch better noise cancelling in terms of decibel level, but that's where the upside of the Bose ends. The Bose app is clunky and limited. The Sony Headphones app is phenomenal. The level of customization on the app is unreal. You can set the noise cancelling level yourself if you like, to let some noise in through the microphone, or just specifically voices. Or, let the app choose what will best suit your current speed. That's right, based on your movement speed, the app will set the ANC settings. It will let you know with a momentary chime though.. The sensors for all the controls work exactly as advertised. I have had friends try them on and the first time they palm the ear cup to let voices come through, their jaws drop. It's wizardry. The swipe controls and tap controls work perfectly. The battery life is fantastic and USB C was a great bonus in terms of product longevity vs the USB Micro of the Bose since most new electronics are going Type C. The cord is short, but to be expected. The Sonys also have a standard 3.5mm jack so you can use a regular aux cord should the factory one be lost or break. The factory 3.5mm to 3.5mm cord is 90 degrees at one end too which is great. The case is even great. Small, sleek and durable. It's rigid in all the correct spots. It even comes with an airplane adapter.

Pros: Battery life Style Quality Noise cancelling Everything

Cons: None. Not even the cost. It's worth every penny.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best purchase in a long time

Rory from Astoria, NY on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these headphones. The sound canceling is amazing and they're super comfortable. The design is super sleek and looks amazing on anyone. I've had issues with the microphone but I've been told this could be a software error and am working with Sony to try and fix it.

Pros: - Amazing sound - Noise canceling is great - Comfy - Better than the Bose in my opinion - Comes with case

Cons: - Price (but still worth it) - Microphone issues (potentially just software)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Mun Kit from Belmont, CA on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Noise Cancellation and Great Sound

Bob from Columbia, SC on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific noise cancelling headphone. Near 100% elimination of jet engine noise during a recent flight. I had used Sennheiser Momentums before this and the Sony is so much better. Very musical sound from bass to treble. I have no regrets and would purchase again!

Pros: Quality of music sound. Superb noise cancellation. Competitive price compared to comparable headphones. Compact sturdy case.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

John from East Hampton, NY on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very good at what they do! If noise Cancellation is your priority don't hesitate to buy! I returned them and went to The Bowers and Wilkins PX (also excellent headphones) as my use is primarily at home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Hector from Milan, MO on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, OH on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenon especially with the LGV40 optimized. Read about it online. You can't get this level of spending thousands on crazy expensive cans with dac's and tube amps. Whether streaming Tidal or downloads, even YouTube videos sound great. This is truly next level. Noise canceling is better than Bose. Though not quite as comfortable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This Rocks!

Crutchfield customer from Rockville Ctr, NY on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gave this as a gift to my "Techy" son who absolutely loves it! He let me know that one feature he did not expect is that if you run out of power, just plug it in like a regular jack, and it works! He travel a whole lot so this is quite convenient! Thanks Sony for making a great product.

Pros: sound

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Xiao from Palo Alto, CA on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

like it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really Nice Sound

Bryce from Columbus, OH on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In some brief testing, there is a lot to like but a few items prevent a full 5 stars. Sound is great and noise canceling is astonishing without the feeling of pressure I have experienced before. Comfort is pretty good for over-ear headphones - I typically use the MDR-EX31BN. I will be curious to try the various NC levels set from the app - so far I have just used the highest setting and it smothers external sound. My first unit (admittedly a return) had a slight hiss in the left ear when NC was enabled. Crutchfield was fantastic and exchanged for another set that works perfectly. It was unfortunate to start with a defective unit. The only other slight oddity is that the NC is so powerful that some head movements or chewing create a weird whooshing noise. I think this is just an artifact of over-ear headphones.

Pros: Smothering NC Good comfort

Cons: Possible initial quality? Aggressive NC can create artifacts during head movement

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Bryanna from Odenton, MD on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful sound. Extremely comfortable. The quality matches the cost. Shipping was fast!

Pros: Comfortable, many controls, great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Laredo, TX on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best headphones I have ever owned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Hickman from Monticello, IN on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the real deal- good noise canceling, and good sound. I have had the last two generations of Bose headphones and these are better.

Pros: Comfortable, sound, noise canceling and battery life

Cons: None yet, but only three weeks old

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Manuel from Gig Harbor, WA on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony has nailed it down with a product has the right balance of price, quality and performance. The 1000XM3 headset is not your high end aluminum set, Sony has decided on more affordable materials (aka plastic) but deliver astounding audio performance compared to those aluminum higher priced sets. The headset really shines with high-resolution material, specially FLAC files. The APTX feature gives you the freedom to roam around while enjoying pristine reproduction. Remember, you do need the same spec capability in the player you are using. When you want to exclude yourself from the world, the noise cancellation is the best you can get, even at higher pricing. It makes your own little first-class space when flying surrounded by noisy 4 year old entities (and their parents).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

GREAT SOUND GOOD BASS.

Ronald from San Diego, CA on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AMAZING SOUND AND GREAT NOISE CANCELATION. THE BEST I HAVE HEARD SO FAR.

Pros: great sound.

Cons: there are none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic sound quality

M from Canyon Country, CA on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply awesome!

Pros: Every thing is great from A to Z

Cons: Finger prints happens easily on the unit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More comfortable than the 2 model and love the way you can lower volume by placing your hand next to your r

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound quality, tight base

Vyas from Cincinnati, OH on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal clear sound. Has a wide soundstage . Insanely good battery life. Sony has done it's homework and delivered a top notch product. A must have for music lovers who work in loud offices /travel a lot. Would buy it in a heartbeat despite no deals on it.

Pros: Amazing music. Great soubdstage. Tight base . Top notch NC .

Cons: Some units have weird sounds on one of the earcups . Have to get them replaced. Pricy but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Johnny from Hales Corners, WI on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not a fan of Bluetooth but I wanted a pair for convenience but still had the best sound possible and this pair hit it on the head! I love these. Noise canceling is second to none, comfortable and a very long battery life. I go to the gym once or twice a day and battery life was still at 50% after a week of use. I highly recommend these

Pros: Long battery life, Noise canceling, comfortable

Cons: Can't connect more than one device at a time but I'm finding I don't miss that after all

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Corte Madera, CA on 12/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headset. Headphones should do what they are foremost intended for, that is great sound. Features are secondary. These Sony headphones do have great sound and noise canceling. I did sample the Bose QC 35 ll, before buying and quickly realized the Sony had a much better sound. This is what tipped me over to the Sony. Noise canceling appears to be matched with Bose and per reviews better. They are very comfortable, but do feel warm around the ears. Bose seems to do a better job there, they are minimally more comfortable. My experience with older Bose are the cushions don't last. Bose does not make it easy nor cost effective to replace. Not sure if newer model Bose fair better. Will see how Sony holds up and how they handle these issues. Sony controls are a little touchy, you have to find exact spot to operate. This is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Otherwise, the Sonys are much better than the Bose. I have a previous set of Bose noise canceling headphones, (QC15, yes I know no match for the newer Bose or Sony models), and was hesitant regarding another brand. Glad I made the switch. These are by far the best all around headphones I've come across. You can use at home or travel. Let's not forget the Crutchfield. Calvin, (He's Awesome) who assisted me when purchasing these headsets, and the rest of the Crutchfield team. I could purchase these anywhere , but only Crutchfield offers offers this line of wonderful friendly and efficient service.

Pros: Great Sound, Noise canceling, comfort, multiuse headsets.

Cons: Slightly warm around ear, touchy controls

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Best Wireless NR; Period.

Gary from West Orange, NJ on 12/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Originally purchased the Bose QC II. The Bose are certainly good. Extremely comfortable and reliably flat sound signature, very good NR. That said, I never felt like the Bose were particularly special. The were not offensive and did just enough. A week after I purchased the Bose, the Sony XM3 was released. I returned the Bose base on the positive reviews and I could not be happier. Quite simply, the the Sony is superior in every way(sound, NR, Features, Audio Codecs, Battery life, Wireless range. Even those that like a flatter signature can have that due to the built in EQ on the Sony. About the only questionable advantage is comfort. The Sony is very comfortable, but Bose still get's the nod if you put a gun to me head. Also the Bose supports simultaneous Bluetooth connections if this is important to you.

Pros: NR, Features, Battery life, Bass, EQ , Codecs

Cons: Does not support Multiple Bluetooth connections

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Improvement over the XM2 and QC35II

Rick from Mt Pleasant, SC on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the WH-1000XM2 and the QC35II before purchasing the XM3s. The QC35s were always my favorite for comfort, but the XM3s are a significant improvement over the XM2s, and are now essentially equal to the QC35s in that regard (although the QC35s do still keep your ears a bit cooler). The sound and features of the XM3s, however, far exceed the QC35s. Combined with improved looks and a superior case, the XM3s are a winner.

Pros: Sound, Comfort, Features

Cons: A little warm around the ears

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crazy Good Sound

David from Durant, OK on 11/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality of these is incredible compared to the other brands I have tried. Sony is leading the way in noise cancelling headsets with the XM3.

Pros: Great Sound, Easy Controls

Cons: a slight bit heavy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Julia from Salt Lake City, UT on 11/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are amazing. I travel a lot on long distance flights (12+hours) for work. I initially tried the Bose QC35 and they're great, nothing wrong with them, but these are so much better. The app is more user friendly and customizable and I really like the design of the headphones with the swiping functionality on the outside. They're really comfy and the sound is great. Seriously in love with these

Pros: Great app, comfy, ease of use, design

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Christopher from Atlanta, GA on 11/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The noise reduction is outstanding. I use it on conference calls and no one is realizes that I am not in my office. Connection is easy and consistent. Volume control took a little getting used to. The carry case fits perfectly, no twisting and tugging to close. Sound quality is outstanding, and you can thump the bass if you want. I usually use on 1/3 volume, so plenty of efficiency.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Carmine from New York, NY on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We need2recognize these r a pair of ANC headphones&that is what I'm rating,not high-def headset that uses data dense file.Don't know why1would purchase a hi-res player & headset.Cost a fortune&if u listen2ur music on the go, subway trains, street c horns, buses, wind etc r all going2be interfering c ur listening pleasure - thus ANC.If I want2really listen2music I sit down,relax&listen2my surround sound system at home, which is a heck of alot better than any hi-res headphone. Back2 MX3. ANC on MX3 blows away Bose QC 35, which I used4past 3 yrs until I broke them & I'm glad I did. I used QC 35s everywhere. I can only comment on the street, supermarket, my kitchen c the cooktop exhaust hood going & NYC Q subway train. Intimately knowing how the QC35s performed in those settings I can tell u the MX3s seriously outperform. I find the XM3 more comfortable. 30 hrs of play time is very nice, & 5 min charge = 5hrs, will come in handy when I travel. Sound quality? Initially I found it pretty good, but was a little disappointed. Then I watched a you-tube video on how2tweak sound&woe, dramatic improvement2point of serious listening pleasure. The bad. I really don't like "buttons", but more I use them better I'm getting. If I take XM3 off & hang headset around my neck, "buttons" r accidently being hit by my chin turning music on, siri on etc. Price? Well we'd all like2spend less,but they're better than so called best ANC headset on market&the same price. u r getting what u paid for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 16 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these headphones

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great, functions well for the office

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound quality.

Javier from Azusa, CA. on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought version 1 a couple of years ago and was impressed with the noise-canceling feature but was disappointed with the sound quality. It went into a drawer with little use. Was very hesitant to purchase V3 until I started noticing very positive reviews of it. Took the plunge, to my great surprise, they exceeded my expectations. They sound great, top notch app and my favorite feature: adjustable EQ settings. The noise-canceling feature is improved too. All in all, these are what I was expecting from version 1. Highly recommended.

Pros: Sound, noise canceling, app., comfort.

Cons: A bit plasticky-feeling.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound. long battery life. quick charging. intuitive controls. comfortable fit. this is a stellar product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Bob W. from Elyria, OH on 11/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

HUGE improvement over my earlier Bose. I always thought that the Bose were very good, but these new Sonys are in another class. MUCH quieter. The bigger ear cup was also a nice plus for me. We'll see how they hold up, but so far, they get an "A".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceburg, TN on 11/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. It is everything I expected and wanted in a great product from Sony. The setup and learning curve were both simple. The case is better that my Bose. I am glad I waited for the X3 !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

David from Glendale, CA on 11/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and great fit and comfort!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for noisy environments!!

Alexis from Aguada, PR on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Noise cancelling feature is the mayor hit. If you are one of those who need plenty of silence this headphones are for you. The sound performance and the battery life are very good. They are very confortable but ears can get a little warm, not really an issue. Definitely one of the best in this range.

Pros: Amazing Noise cancelling. Excellent sound performance. Great battery life. Very confortable. Good compatibility. USB-C charging

Cons: Little pricey. Not so good for calls. Little warm.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Very impressed with the sound quality and the noise cancellation

Brad from Los Altos, CA on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with the sound quality and the noise cancellation. I work in a noisy office environment and these really help to cut the chatter to a very low level. I can also quickly let the conversations in by holding my hand over the right ear. I like the ability to set an eq for the headphones via the app as well as setting up the ambient noise filtering mode (I like just a bit coming through). They are also super comfortable and lightweight. Awesome!

Pros: Sound quality, noise cancellation, customizability, comfort

Cons: Price is quite high, getting my devices to use AAC or AptX is a pain

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Blown Away

Michael Fiola from Colorado on 10/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Four stars (instead of five) only because there is room for improvement on the details. These things are really excellent. I've been a user and big fan of Bose QC 35 for about 2 years. When I read about these new Sony cans I was dubious but I went ahead and tested them in a store one day. The difference in NC from my Bose was immediately apparent and dramatic. I went ahead and purchased a pair... my Bose and These Sony's now sit side-by-side but the Bose are just collecting dust. I'd prefer the feel of tactile buttons for the volume and track selection, but I understand the lower cost and reliability of a touchpad. I've gotten used to it, and it works pretty well, but I'd still prefer real buttons/switches. Note that the silver model is not attractive. I'd describe them more as a beige color. Get the black. Battery life and charging is as advertised: Excellent. I'm a pixel user so already had USB-C chargers in the house and it's great to be able to plug these in without worrying about top/bottom. Also, I don't understand why Sony does not allow multiple device connectivity simultaneously. Switching between devices is relatively easy but it's still something that is not necessary with so many other headphones including my older Bose.

Pros: Next level noise canceling Excellent sound quality Battery life USB-C

Cons: Touchpad controls Silver version is attractive Single bluetooth connectivity

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Great headphones

Paul from East Lyme, CT on 10/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones live up to all the hype. Super comfortable, great sound, very slick phone app and they truly eliminate ambient sound. Highly recommended if you can afford them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

JOSE R from Davie, FL on 10/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

on my first quest finding a decent noise cancelling headphone, I tried/returned a few and ended up with the best.... lives up to the hype.

Pros: -Battery life -comfort -awwsome case

Cons: none that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great headphones

Chaitanya from Urbana, IL on 10/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are actually beautiful headphones. They feel amazing to wear and are pretty light. The cushioning is nice. The Google assistant feature is a little slow and if I ask for the weather, it sometimes starts playing my music again right when it starts saying the weather. I use the wind noise reduction a lot when I bike, and it works well.

Pros: Light Great audio quality Comfortable Cut wind and noise pretty well

Cons: Google assistant is slow

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

YEN-HENG from Logan, UT on 10/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than XM2. Crutchfield also packed and delivered it well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Satisfied

Robert from Bristol, CT on 10/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to wear at work to cancel out annoying coworkers and they do the job perfectly! And they sound amazing too!

Pros: Silky, immersive sound that startles me with it's clarity and range every time. Ample bass. Plenty of options and settings in the app. Comfortable on the ears.

Cons: Less comfortable around the neck. Only con I can come up with.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Startlingly good sound!

Richard from Seattle, WA on 10/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just took this on my first airplane flight and have three strong impressions. First, the sound quality (after an easy tweak in the phone app) is so good that I was hearing details in familiar music that I had never heard before. Second, the cans are super comfortable and I barely noticed them. Third, the NC was terrific. I don't know if it's better than Bose, which has always been the gold standard for me. But the Sony is at least that good. I'm used to turning on the NC feature and being instantly impressed. In this case, I was stunned at the instant silence. The controls are still a challenge for me, but I'll get there. And for now I can easily control things with my iPad or my iPhone, whichever I'm using. The bottom line is that this looks like it will be my new go-to NC headset, even though I have three Bose models.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony's best effort to date

Randy from Chicago, IL on 10/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like these headphones...and they do sound clearer than my B&W P7 Wireless, as well as more full than my Bose QC35 IIs, but I'm not completely blown away somehow. They are heavier and bulkier than my Bose QC35 IIs (my normal travel headphones), and they literally make my ears sweat, even just sitting around, while I can wear the Bose for hours of walking, flying, etc, completely comfortably. Also, unlike my Bose, these are a bit more finicky when pairing with Bluetooth devices, and you can't pair with more than one device at once.

Pros: Great sound, great battery life, USB-C charging

Cons: Bulkier, heavier than Bose QC35II Too warm to wear for long periods Buttons are not as responsive as Bose and B&W Can't pair with more than one device at once (like listening to music or a movie on your iPad while being ready to accept a call on your iPhone)

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Patryk from Chicago, IL on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Headphones are simply amazing! Awesome noise cancelling and sound quality. Sony made a great job improving WH-1000XM3 when compared to WH-1000XM2.

Pros: Noise cancelling Sound quality

Cons: Distinguishing between power and noise cancelling buttons require getting used to

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Lenexa, KS on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beats the Bose in every way except for comfort.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best noise cancelling around

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Geoff from Billerica, MA on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality and noise cancellation. I also own the previous WH-1000XM2 model and the Bose QC35II. The tweaks made to the design make these more comfortable than the WH-1000XM2's and the sound quality and user interface of both Sony models is better than the Bose, IMHO.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Crutchfield customer from Kihei, HI on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are fantastic. The noise canceling does a great job eliminating the sound of an in wall AC unit. The sound has great depth and just the right amount of bass for me.

Pros: Noise canceling Natural Sound

Cons: Could use more sounds modes Ears get warm

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Steven from Raleigh, NC on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound and features!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not living up to the hype

CMR from Los Angeles, CA on 10/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not worth all the hype. I was disappointed and retired these. I was expecting the noise canceling to work better than my five year old Bose and my two year old Sony's, but the it's just not so. No point in spending this much for the mostly annoying Alexa etc feature - seriously, how often do you use that with headphones? Overall very bummer, Afternall the hype, I was hoping for something significantly improved.

Pros: Slight (very slight improvement in comfort)

Cons: Same as the X2, save yourself some $$

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Beautiful sound, great comfort, cool mobile app.

Marsha from Walnut, CA on 10/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying these headphones are the softest most comfortable feeling ones I've ever owned. The sound quality surpasses my old Bose headphones. I love the mobile app where you can adjust surround sound, change areas in the room to direct sound, and it shows battery levels plus optimization settings. The headphones themselves tell you by voice they are on, off and Bluetooth connected and if optimized which is nice because you can't tell they are on or off via a lit indicator (that goes off after a bit) I had trouble on my Windows 10 desktop. It finds them and shows connected but my system won't allow the headphones to show as "enable", not sure why, still working that out. It stores many devices but switching between devices was something I had hoped would be on the mobile app. Great overall headphones, hoping they keep updating firmware and add settings on the mobile app. Glad I purchased these. Missing one start because of the trouble on my PC.

Pros: Sound quality, comfort, lots of settings, ease of use. Tap to increase/decrease volume.

Cons: the mobile app does not let you switch between stored devices. Trouble connecting to latest v Windows 10 PC.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-1000XM3

Nagender from Foster City, CA on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having owned wh-1000xm2, bose qc35 ii and now this - I can say that this beats the bose hands down when it comes to noise cancellation. My grip with the xm2 was the lack of comfort. xm3 pretty much fixes that in addition to being much lighter. The ear cups feel noticeably bigger. xm2 was touching my ears. xm3 does not. Overall, a fantastic product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

Great but little improved over XM2, still prefer PXC 550

Rob from Pahoa, HI on 9/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 3rd version of these & own Bose QC35 & Sennheiser PXC 550. Excellent, but not enough improvement so far to justify upgrading if you own the XM2s. On various NC tests at home (using fans, AC, fridge hum, dryer) they were different, but on some things worse. Can't comment on flights, conversation NC performance. One clear improvement is XM3s lack very slight hiss of the 2s, which is only noticeable if no audio is playing, and can't be heard over a plane's noises. 2s are far better than the 1000X and XM3s on calls. The 3s are unusable for calls. In my quiet home with no background noise, call recipient immediately complained he couldn't hear me well. Put the 550s on and no problem. Sony really failed here by creating a problem that was previously fixed. Can't connect to more than one device at a time. I have 6 devices I use regularly. The Senns and Bose are older models and can both connect to 2 devices at once. Even 1000X were far better at NC in every test I did vs. the Bose and so are the 3s. Not even close. Out of box they sounded awful vs. all the others, but after a week of use, they're as good as the 2s, just different. Definitely improved at highest volume, where the 2s have much more distortion. Lighter, but feel cheaper. Sightly more comfortable, but still too hot. Living in Hawaii, my ears sweat quickly. PXC 550 win in sound, lightness, comfort and remain my go to cans. Will be my long flight cans. Bose QC 35 worse. Keep X or XM2 if you own & wait for next model.

Pros: Overall excellent. Great NC & sound, but not much better than XM2, aside from less distortion at high volume. 2s a bit more alive and pleasantly exciting. Lighter and more comfortable. Improved fast charging. No hiss. AAC (iphones), Apt-X & other good streaming protocols. Good range and connection stability. Firmware updatable. Good app options and sound tweaking. Improved control pad texture. Even off they block a lot of sound. Amazing battery life. Greatly improved sound after hours of use.

Cons: Unusable on calls. Too hot. No APT-LL. Only 1 device at a time-unacceptable for a 2018-19 model. Little improvement in sound & NC over XM2 (2s were a much bigger improvement over 1000x). "Silver" isn't silver but ugly beige (like 84-97 era Macs). Pic of African American guy shows wrong color & should be removed. Almost sent back on that alone. Bad blinking & on lights of past 2 models now down to 1 less frequent blink. More annoying to turn on/off than QC35 & PXC 550. Charge cord too short.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP