Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

48" A9S Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2020)

MFR # XBR48A9S

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

48" A9S Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2020)

MFR # XBR48A9S

24 reviews
View this product

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Eau Claire, WI on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I want in a perfectly sized TV. Picture and sound quality outstanding. Thank you Sony.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony OLED TV

Crutchfield customer from Danville, CA on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful relatively compact OLED TV. The thin edges mean it can be mounted inside a smaller opening in an entertainment center and overlap the moulding in a natural way, resulting in a roughly 5 or 6 inch (diagonal) larger TV than could be fit inside the opening. Picture is superb, and most streaming services (requires an internet connection) appear on the list of inputs.

Pros: More compact TV that offers all the features of larger OLED TV's.

Cons: Wasn't able to sync our cable (Comcast) remote with the TV. Same was true with our 55" Sony OLED in a different room. Didn't try to troubleshoot the problem too hard, since it's not a big deal to keep both remotes handy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Incredibly Good

Ted from Benicia CA on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredibly good color, motion, very good sound for a TV. Very satisfied with TV and Crutchfield!

Pros: Picture quality and motion control

Cons: More expensive than LG CX

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Harbor Springs, MI on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful picture and probably worth the extra money. Nice sound system. I'm pleased with the.purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture and sound. We paired it with an Apple TV as the input source and it works beautifully. Setup was easy. The menu system is clunky (as all of them are) but serviceable. It is a premium television at a premium price, but I feel like we got what we paid for.

Pros: Beautiful picture and good sound

Cons: Clunky but manageable menu system

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Resolution is excellent, although not demonstrably better than Sony's LED. Color is definitely more vivid and deeper. Always a standout, Sony software really optimizes hardware performance. Although my prior tv refresh rate was 120 hz, the frame speed is seamless on this set.

Pros: Color, seamless refresh rate.

Cons: Not really a con, picture resolution about same - excellent - as Sony LED.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice tv with with a not that nice interface (android os)

Sony Addict from VA from Dumfries, VA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this tv firstly to migrate from pitiful samsung smart tv s interface (the bottom bar with apps) which is so unser unfriendly and slow and freezes and you have to restart the tv/third class computer. So i was between LG with better interface (as per reviews) and Sony, with 2nd place interface but better tv features and characteristics. I opted for Sony but after a few days playing with it and some Customer Service dialogues I found out that I can't change, bummer, a few things that I don't find good at all like: 1-the interface allocates/steals about 33% of the home screen, on top to ads for future movies/shows; to older versions of the os android you could hack so remove those ads but not anymore 2-the apps icons on screen are huge and when selected become humongous ; why Sony you don't give the users the option to customize as per their like?!? I see ads related to new shows when i logon in Hulu or Netflix or Prime video; Sony you don't need to push their shows, drop Cinematic Highlights bar, give customers an interface easy to navigate, the possibility to see more info/apps/icons in one screen, without scrolling up and down and left and right. And all these are only after a week playing with this tv...wait to get the soundbar and hook up the old Sony hardware (amp, equalizer, DVD player) 3-the stand is so low, it is very difficult to grab the tv by yourself from underneath; two inch higher would have been perfect, or offer a higher stand/legs also 10" hig

Pros: Image, sound

Cons: Interface, can't remove ads/future shows (Cinematic Highlights) on home screen, can't make app icons smaller, you can't stop automatic updates

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Robert Burke

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best TV I have ever owned lost of bells and a few whistles to boot.

Pros: Great if U lay or sit on couch no glare can see all angles clearly--can be used as a monitor for Pc easy WiFi hook up and the sound is best

Cons: Still looking

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Vivid display, easy to setup...perfect size for small tv room...reasonable priced.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

The best. PERIOD.

Crutchfield customer from Lino Lakes, MN on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been waiting for this model to be released for some time and it does not disappoint. The only thing better than the set itself is Crutchfield's service. Salesperson Bo was most helpful. There was an issue with my credit card having just moved to a new address and he got it done! TV was ordered Monday afternoon and was here by noon Wednesday!! Could not ask for more!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the 55 inch MASTER Series last year and loved it so much I wanted the 48 inch for my office. Beautiful color monitor, easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Huntingdon, PA on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tv was purchased to replace a 14-year-old Sony WEGA FD~Trinitron KD-34XBR970 HDTV CRT, also excellent. This is the first flat/thin screen I've bought. The image easily surpasses that of a fine CRT. Extremely film-like appearance with dark black levels. Excellent sound quality negates the need for a sound bar in our medium sized room.

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

5+ Stars!

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a user for about 8 days, and this TV is a standout performer! The use of OLED opens a world of color refinement and purity. Acoustical surface sound is also a break through. I have a hearing problem and this audio technology (with the help of a hearing aid) allows me to enjoy TV sounds again. I though the setup was relatively easy and I did not encounter any problems. The manual control seems to be a little directionally sensitive - I attribute this the low height of the stand. In all, it's worth-the-wait and my rating is 5+ stars!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

So Far, Wonderfully Good

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The TV availability seemed to be impacted by Covid but as soon as Crutchfield had it, it was on its way. Our delivery person is a little older and watching her struggle, with more than a few bounces before I was able to help, was concerning. But I must say the packaging is very robust so my worries over shipping were unfounded. Easy to set up (wall hanging - connected with cable box and Apple TV easily) with a wide variety of options/apps via internet. The picture is fantastic as expected. I had a mediocre sound bar and was looking for an upgrade but decided to wait to hear the TV. Glad I did as the integral sound is more than satisfactory and the "auto" setup works great. Couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

A Real Winner From Sony!

Alan from Hartville, OH on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing Master Series OLED 4K TV from Sony, the originator of OLED technology, now in a smaller size (48"), but still as impressive as its larger Sony counterparts. Setup was straight-forward, and the outcome is pure Sony... AWESOME picture, along with decent audio via the screen & actuator technology. Lots of options to fine-tune (i.e. 'tweak') the video and audio settings, but looks and sounds pretty remarkable right out-of-the-box. Since this is a recent addition to Sony's mid-range, OLED TV lineup, demand is high, so availability may require some patience, but in my opinion, it was well worth the three week window (as of now). This is a REAL Winner from Sony, and of course is fully complemented by the customary 'stellar' service and support from Conrad and the Team at Crutchfield. Well done!

Pros: Gorgeous 4K picture, customary smart-TV options, solid remote and overall aesthetics. Decent sound for a TV.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

48 worth the wait

Crutchfield customer from Valley Center, KS on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great TV, so much better than the led tv it replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Phenomenal and the perfect size.

Crutchfield customer from Danville, CA on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect in every way, we couldn't be happier. Phenomenal color and clarity. We have a size limitation in our family room and until now 48" OLED TVs weren't available. It was well worth waiting for this model to be released. Crutchfield's customer service and speed once it was finally available was the best we've ever experienced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Worth the money and the wait

Crutchfield customer from Toms River, NJ on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read and watched many reviews on the Sony Bravia Master Series, I have a long distance friend that swears by his. I have wanted one for a long time. The only reason I waited so long was the 55 inch was just a bit larger then I thought would fit comfortably in my room. When I heard about the 48 inch, I put in as soon as it was on pre-order. Now that I have it and have had time watching and using it, I can say 100% it has been what I expected and more. It was the easiest setup and use out of the box with all my devices then ever before. The interface is fast and so responsive it annoys me when I have to use Samsung or Panasonic in other rooms. Everything just works as anyone would want a TV to be. Simply put I am 100% satisfied and have no regrets. I love my Sony 48A9S and can't think of anything negative . Wouldn't trade it for anything.

Pros: Sony has created the most perfect TV to date compared to all others.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Well Worth the Wait

Jeff from St Petersburg, FL on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a beautiful set that looks great in a smaller space. The thin bezels, solid base and built-in cable management give it a very high-end look. The remote feels solid and has a premium look with the aluminum top and rounded, grained bottom. The picture quality is fantastic, even awe-inspiring. Standard definition content looks great. High definition content looks natural and life-like. Sony has really worked wonders with the picture processing. Android TV is fast and smooth. The sound quality is quite good. It adapts the sound to the space it's in. The result is sound that fits well with the action on screen. The picture and sound create an immersive experience that takes movie watching to another level. The time between pre-order and shipping was 3 weeks, but I was patient. Once it was here and set up, I knew it was worth the wait. I really feel like I got exactly what I wanted and that I got my money's worth. Highly recommend if you want a great, top of the range set for movie watching. I never imagined a TV picture could look so good.

Pros: Beautiful picture Immersive sound Premium design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great TV. Amazing picture, sound, colors, 3D effect. Remote is very easy. A very small bit annoying that we have to use both the Sony remote and our existing Dish remote, but that's pretty minor. Set up was very easy. Stand is very stable.

Pros: Picture, colors, picture detail, 3-D effect in some, remote easy to use. Set up was very easy. Stand is very stable.

Cons: Dish remote use also needed. Not a big deal.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The wait was so worth it!

Crutchfield customer from North Branford, CT on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb Oled Tv! Let me start by saying if you're unsure which Sony Oled to buy you can't go wrong with either the Sony XBR-48A9S or the Sony XBR-55A8H. I've seen both up close and ultimately chose the A9S. The A8H obviously has the bigger screen which is beautiful but the Sony Master Series A9S has better out of the box color accuracy. The only tweek I made on it was a simple adjustment to the Vivid picture setting decreasing the brightness and Contrast slightly. I can honestly say I'm thrilled with the A9S and am happy I went with it. Everything about this set is top notch including the sound and picture quality! I live in an apartment so that's the reason the A9S appeals to me more than the A8H. The truth is you can't go wrong with either one. Thank you Sony and Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect picture, size & SOUND for bedroom!

Harry from Simi Valley, CA on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size for the bedroom. The "entire screen as a speaker" feature is amazing -- no need for a soundbar or external speakers. I'm using the Dolby Vision Bright setting for the picture as the Vivid setting is too bright. I managed to unbox and assemble this by myself even though it's recommended that two people should do it. The cable management covers in the back give it a very neat look. Bluetooth allowed me to connect my Airpods Pro for private listening. Finally, the remote -- thought not backlit -- is classy-looking and has a nice grip. The only thing I can't answer is whether it's worth $400 more than the comparable LG OLED 48" but hey YOLO!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Impressive

Crutchfield customer from Hamburg, NY on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the most aesthetically pleasing TV in every way possible! Not only does it look sleek and clean, the picture is amazing! And I love not having the need for a sound bar. The settings, the customization capabilities.....off the charts! And even though it seems as if it would be a bit intimidating, it is incredibly user friendly. I'm very impressed with everything about it. No regrets here! It was well worth the wait. Thank you, Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect Size Sony.

Robert from WI on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give this TV five stars, if it was about $500.00 less in price. We have a 26 year old entertainment center. I drew up the plans when widescreen television did not even exist. The largest screen back then for a CRT was 36 inches. We had a 32 incher. I had to take the doors off of it to get the new the Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S to fit. It's a good fit sitting on top off the Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-450C center channel speaker, that replaced a 20 year old Pinnacle. Right out of the box this Sony looks good. Still, I had to do a few tweeks. I have it hooked up to a Roku, the Sony UBP-X800 4K Blu-ray player, and the antenna. I had to split the signal from the Sony 4K player, because the Denon AVR-X4100W that we have, knocked down the signal to 1080. Now 4K discs look awesome. Blu-rays look very good, and DVDs look better than they used to. The over air channels have very good color and a nice clean picture. This TV fits in it's place because the stand holds the TV nice and low. It's the best stand I've ever seen. The cable management in the back is a big plus. This Sony is going to stay in our Home Theater for a long time. We hope. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Just the right size. The stand is perfect. Inky blacks. Great picture, even with DVD.

Cons: A bit pricey.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP