Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

48" A9S Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR

MFR # XBR48A9S

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

48" A9S Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR

MFR # XBR48A9S

107 reviews
View this product

Great TV

Irene from Naples, FL on 10/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great TV. Incredible picture -- especially if you like a TV with true black. While the picture can be darker at times, the contrast is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

volume control

Glen from Philadelphia, PA on 10/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

tv volume losses sound must unplug to get volume count

Pros:

Cons: tv has to be unplugged to fix all meson tvs have this problem

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great TV. Great Value!

Samuel Reuben from URBANA, IL on 9/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an absolutely glorious viewing experience. It is wonderful having a TV that is this sharp without being massive. And I can hardly believe how thin the border around the screen is. (The screen is 8 inches bigger than our old Sony flat screen, yet the width is 4 inches more narrow.) Sound is crisp, and I do not need external speakers to hear dialogue. My long love affair with loud music and noisy venues means hearing people talk in films is often difficult. The dialogue mode on this television is great for my middle-aged ears. It is a bit disappointing that a backlit remote was not included in what is the flagship model of this size.

Pros: Superior picture and sound.

Cons: Does not include marquee remote. OS contains adds.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

The picture is just okay

Edward from Midland Park, NJ on 9/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I always buy Sony television, in fact I worked for them for 16 years. The tv has a so so picture not much different from their regular televisions. OLED isn't what all the hype. I have to say ordering through Crutchfield is a dream, no hassle buying and shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Remarkable TV

Joseph from Reston, VA on 9/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This TV has stunning picture quality and a fun, easy to use Google OS. The panel is the speaker set, a really cool feature.Sound quality is excellent. I don't use a sound bar or home theater audio. Delighted with this purchase.

Pros: Picture quality, motion video, design, panel speaker

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just Beautiful

Timothy from Rexford, NY on 9/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceptionally clear picture. A very noticeable improvement over my other 6 year old SONY LED TV. The screen has hardly any surrounding bezel and no logo emblazoned on the front. Looks beautiful when not even turned on! Remote does have a good feel to it as others have pointed out. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Martha from San Diego, CA on 9/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent TV. I upgraded from 1080p to 4k. It took a while to improve picture to custom. Overall very happy with purchase.

Pros: beautiful picture

Cons: Surprised took a week of adjusting custom videos.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly What I Expected

Michael from Eagan, MN on 9/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had been looking for a TV for sometime that would fit a particular cabinet, and while Other brands had them when I saw this and saw a special price I jumped. Picture is exactly what I would expect from the mirage and moniker, I was not disappointed. The sound is also superb fora TV, I even removed the sound bar from the cabinet. Note, the TV stand puts the screen close to the base, and the glass is thin so be careful moving especially in a cabinet

Pros:

Cons: None found yet, like all TVs set up and inputs menus could be better, a lot of don't want to use voice or services with the TV, that's what I use an Apple TV for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Alex from S Charleston, WV on 9/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Vivid, sharp picture in various lighting conditions. Impressive sound, the best I have ever heard from a TV this size. Still trying to work out some quirks in the Google Play interface. Lots of nice little touches stand out, such as cable management guides and covers. Quite satisfied with this purchase, an outstanding value for the price-point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Vanessa from Albuquerque, NM on 9/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love this Sony! I initially purchased the LG C1 48", but there really is no comparison! Also, every single person I've worked with at Crutchfield has been incredibly supportive and helpful!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Leonard from Bennington, VT on 8/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I picked this model because the features and the technical specs came up a whole lot of TV for the price!!

Pros: I will set tv up when my son is available. I am replacing a Sony Bravia circa 2009.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

William from Swansboro, NC on 8/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simply the best, as always from Sony.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Robert from Kurtistown, HI on 8/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture that is easy on the eyes. Easy setup for smart features and the remote has a good solid feel to it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Don from CARLSBAD, CA on 8/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture and easy to setup and use. Can turn the picture off if you are listening to music from a cd or other music source through the tv so you don't have to worry about image retention.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Christopher from Ayden, NC on 8/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very impressed just opened it up yesterday and set it up so got to enjoy it yesterday and first thing this morning.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Jeffrey from Baldwin, MD on 7/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This TV was on sale and I am glad I took the plunge. The TV is responsive, picture quality is very good after some adjustments to the settings (in my opinion colors are very oversaturated out of the box), and it sounds pretty good too. Even the remote feels good in hand and makes all my other remotes feel like hollow junk. Sony's upscaling works pretty well too, making old shows from the 60's and 70's look far better than they did on my old 4K TV. I had no issues with casting content from my iPad to the TV either. Overall very pleased with this TV so far. On the negative side I wish the stand raised the TV a bit more because as it is the bottom of the screen is pretty near the surface the TV sits upon (you can't even slide a remote under the edge of the TV and a sound bar would definitely block part of the screen).

Pros: The TV software is very responsive. The pictures quality is very good. The remote is of nice quality.

Cons: The stand should be higher.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Justin from Orange, CA on 7/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great tv!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Steve from San Jose, CA on 7/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great tv all around the best is the service I get from Crutchfield no hustle just trying to help the customer understand the product that is right for them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Brede from Lafayette, IN on 7/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

+

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

oooh!!! a modern television

John from auburn, maine on 7/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

thrilled to pieces with this television after a bit of fiddling to set up. -sound is nice enough to dispense with my "yankee engineered" tv audio solutions. - picture is stunning given the limitations of our sources. - i love the appearance of the set. i DO recommend it

Pros: a treat to wstch and listen to neat to look at, even when its not on!

Cons: lousy paper documentaion. fiddly set up at least for this trog.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony Master

Michael from Hudson, OH on 7/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the picture. Set up is easy. I like the ease of use with the Google home app.

Pros: Great picture. Easy to set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Joe from Hamilton, VA on 7/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Top tier television and easy installation. Exceptional picture and sound, only a Sony Master can produce. Crutchfield delivered as advertised and fairly priced. I love it!

Pros: A Sony product, enough said.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

super impressed

Robert from San Antonio, TX on 7/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Meets and exceeds all expectations and reviews already posted. Easiest set-up and programming for all my preferences and streaming options of any TV I have ever purchased

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Paul from Baltimore, MD on 7/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Jaw dropping when compared to my older LCD display. I would suggest downloading the "Help" posting (177 pages) to assist working thru the miriad of options available.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-48A9S won't power on 4 months out of warranty

John from Lincoln, NE on 6/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had expected more support from Sony for a $2000.00, supposedly premium TV. When they refused to do anything, other than provide me with a TV repair service phone number which was no longer in business. I then opened the back of the TV and found a power board manufactured by Delta inside. The power board is supplying power and so it's the main Sony logic board that's bad. However, Sony won't sell parts to owners of their TVs. That being the case, I looked online and found quite a few parts for this TV online, including items such as the base, logic board and power boards. The interesting thing is that if Sony does not sell these parts but there are a lot of used parts available online, they must have come for XBR-49A9S TVs that have failed. That means that my experience is not unique and the quality of this TV is not quite up to the marketing image that Sony promotes. As a replacement, I bought an LG OLED48C1PUB with the same screen as this Sony. In fact, it is LG who manufactures the screen and Sony buys them from LG. An unexpected bonus of this is that the HDMI arc & eArc issues that the Sony was having don't exist with the LG TV. The connected Yamaha AV receiver and Apple TV now work properly. The picture on the LG is better and the remote control is an order of magnitude better. It seems as if Sony's priority is selling expensive TVs based upon their reputation of the past without the engineering to merit the price.

Pros: Picture quality

Cons: HDMI arc/eArc incompatibility Hardware reliability Sony refusal to repair or sell parts

Crutchfield response on

12 of 21 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Jason from Washington, DC on 6/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great display!

Pros: Blacks can be none more black. Colors are great. HDR / Dolby Vision looks great.

Cons: Paper thin on the edges, so felt like it might break when installing. Electronic bits concentrated in very thick center so seems to block RF remote signals for devices mounted behind tv.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Huge upgrade from LED

Bryan from Charlottesvle, VA on 6/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Our new 48" Sony Bravia OLED television is wonderful. This is our first OLED tv, and the picture quality is just stunning. I can't see ever going back to LCD/LED. Also, the Google OS is easy and intuitive. We couldn't be happier with the product or with the help we received at the Charlottesville store.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional!!!

Jaroslav from Yountville, CA on 6/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great TV set with exceptional picture quality!!! Netflix streaming, Apple TV streaming built in and it looks fantastic!!! The sound quality is surprisingly good. Dialogue is very intelligible and clear. Another SONY masterpiece!!!

Pros: Perfect size for a smaller room. Stunning picture quality!!! Good sound!

Cons: The stand doesn't give any clearance. Wish it was bit more elevated as the TV literally sits on the A/V unit with zero clearance and that reflects the TV imagery.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Frank from Broadway, VA on 5/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding! I'm very pleased with my OLED. Thanks to Tom who was great help from my questions, the sale and arrangement for delivery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Television, Easy Setup

Dennis from Oelwein, IA on 5/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Arrived quickly and in great condition. The setup was very simple. I have always purchased high quality sets but when I turned this one on I was amazed. Have had it for less than a week but so far so good.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony TV 48

Fabio from Norwalk, CA on 5/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great TV Good size Nice image

Pros: Size is just perfect

Cons: No one really.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty darn close to "as good as it gets."

Mark from HODGENVILLE, KY on 5/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First, the two annoying faults with this TV: 1) For the remote to work it must be positioned middle of the set and dead level with the receiver at the bottom of the screen -- ludicrous. 2) The fiber optic connection won't hold a cable securely in place. Now for some praise. Color fidelity, clarity, and contrast are astounding, as in miles beyond what the finest plasma ever offered. The viewing angle is nearly 180-degrees wide. Having the ability to easily adjust nearly every conceivable picture parameter is a bonus. If you can't connect to a home theater set-up (and with the poor fiber optic cable connection, there's a high probability you won't have the option), the built-in speakers are better than what normally passes for transducers on HDTVs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing TV!

Robert from Port Orchard, WA on 5/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The picture quality is amazing, just like all of the reviews I had read. However, there are 2 things that makes this tv shine above the others; the sound quality and the user interface. I connected the Sony to my Denon receiver via the ARC connection, but unless i'm watching a movie, I prefer to listen to the tv speakers because how great it sounds. The sound actually comes through the the entire screen and it seems more engaging, especially with dialog. Also, the google interface made it very easy to setup all of my apps like Netflix and MLB. The remote also has a nice balance between functionality and usability. Some remotes have so many buttons that you need to find the manual to use it or not enough buttons so that you have to drill down through multiple sub menus to make things happen. But, Sony found a nice balance that gives you the ease of use and the functionality I wanted. Great for every member of the family to use, no matter what level of technical expertise they may have.

Pros: Picture quality Sound quality Ease of use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great television

Andrew from Alameda, CA on 3/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crisp picture, easy set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

James from Sun Prairie, WI on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent Picture!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

John from Hampstead, NH on 3/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with the picture and sound right now. The setup could be better, as there's basically no way of knowing, which would be the preferred choice to click on in Settings. You have to wing it, as with everything nowadays. I needed to speak to a tech, and as always they are great with Crutchfield products, and why I chose to buy from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Anthony from Pittsburgh, PA on 2/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing TV!!! Stylish look and very responsive interface. Quality build, and picture is outstanding. It will bring your regular blue ray and DVD movies back to life. This is a great purchase!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Rosemary from Bethlehem, PA on 2/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Best TV by far. We got our first and then a week later bought a second. Great color. Can actually see the lights in the eyes of the newscaster as they are filming him. It's a WOW TV

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Benjamin from Williamsburg, VA on 2/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent picture. Easy setup. Very happy with this TV. Sony never seems to disappoint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Erik from Milwaukee, WI on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent "small" TV for BR. "Picture perfect" and like several Sony TVs dating back to original Trinitron (1973, and still works) never a disappointment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Great TV

John from Greensboro, NC on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing picture quality. Deep blacks, wide color range, sharp picture, and excellent motion tracking. An exceptional TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from New London, NH on 1/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ordered the unit and next day had a notice of shipping. It arrived a couple of days later. I haven't finished hooking it up yet, so I can't comment on the function of the product. Trank D

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 12 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Pocono Summit, PA on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a picture ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Ocoee, FL on 12/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Master Series is properly named. I've had many TVs in my lifetime, this one is superior for its resolution, clarity, sound and light weight. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Love our Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Galway, NY on 12/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S arrived quickly! Great packaging, totally good condition on the outside of the box. Our son was home and a huge help in setting up the tv for us. We love the picture and the sound is pretty great. I may in the future add a sound bar to bring out some of the subtle nature sounds on Discovery.

Pros: Beautiful Screen, ease of set up - my son and I had it up and running in no time; the prompts came up as to what to adjust as needed; very well built all around, very, very pleased with our purchase!

Cons: I would've wanted more space below the tv/stand for a sound bar to set in, and that's not a big deal. Haven't found any Cons to this TV! Love it! First night I watched full season episodes of the series 'Alone', wonderful picture and action!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Superb TV

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 12/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Superb TV at a good price, Outstanding picture & sound quality! Beautifully sleek!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Oak Bluffs, MA on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We were hesitant to spend the extra $$$ on this television. But being a big fan of Sony TVs since the days of tube., we were not disappointed. Not being into AV theatre sound, the sound from the TV is as advertised, superior to other TVs and the picture from most any angle is as crisp as can be. Great for sport viewing but a real stand out for cinematic viewing. Being a fan of nature and outdoor sport documentary film, the TV can almost at times make you feel as if you were outside in person.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Definitely recommend

Crutchfield customer from Moundsville, WV on 12/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful picture, and very nice sound. Most flat screens need volume cranked up, without a sound bar. This t.v. has amazing sound, at a much lower volume. Color is exceptional, and clarity is outstanding.

Pros: Best picture and sound of any flat screen I have ever purchased

Cons: Awkward to wall mount, but once up, it's a great t.v.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 12/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product, customer service, price and delivery time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Very satisfied.

Crutchfield customer from Webster, NY on 11/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It has a great picture and good sound. I wish that I could have fit in the 55 inch but the 48 inch looks better in the space that I have.

Pros: Picture is the best i have seen.

Cons: I wish that they would supply a written manual.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Traverse City, MI on 11/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this as a long time fan of Sony XBR TVs that I have had for years - they are always amazing and this one even more so. The picture quality is amazing as is the sound. I'd highly recommend it if you are looking for a "smaller" TV these days.

Pros: Great picture, great sound, intuitive setup

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Excellent Value

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 11/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you are looking for a smaller TV this is the one. Great image quality and setup was a breeze.

Pros: Great size for a small room (14x14ft)

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome TV!

Crutchfield customer from Apollo, PA on 11/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have been watching this tv for a little over a week, and I can't say enough good things about this tv! It makes even regular broadcast tv shows look amazing! The only thing that I can't figure out is how to adjust the sound correctly. Did a lot of adjustments to try to maximize bass, and I did manage to get some bass, but it could be better. If I really want premium sound, I will turn on my stereo. Have been a Crutchfield customer for many years, and have always been happy with their products and customer service.

Pros: Excellent picture, great Sony quality!

Cons: TV speakers could use more bass

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Albany, KY on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture and easy setup

Pros: Setup was simple and everything worked the first time

Cons: Very shiny screen reflects all light sources and windows. Makes daytime viewing difficult in a room with windows

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Incredible picture, incredible contrast

Guest from Harrisonburg, Va on 10/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with my Sony OLED. Very sharp picture with incredible contrast, and color saturation. Picture was very good right out of the box. Setup was easy. Dish TV compresses the signal but the upscaling on the Sony is excellent. Over the air (antenna) programs are unbelievably crisp and vivid. AAA +++ on my new TV.

Pros: Great picture, great contrast, vivid colors, easy setup, great picture from all viewing angles.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Another Great Smaller High End TV

Crutchfield customer from Millington, TN on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Another great Sony tv. I did notice that the out of the box color, contrast, and black adjustments were off (for my preference) and had to do a little calibrating. I just purchased a 43" Sony that was spot on without having to do any adjustments. Just outstanding upscaling, in which Sony mostly owns that feature.

Pros: Unbeatable upscaling. Excellent Picture. Easy to setup. Probably the best 48"tv on the market for the price, after looking at just about every one I could find by the top brands.

Cons: High end tv that commands higher price. Had to do some picture adjustments.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This TV replaced a seven year old Sony 40" Bravura. I had been waiting until Sony produced a sub 50" OLED MASTER Series set. The picture is stunning,right out of the box, no matter the viewing angle and glare is easily solved, when it's a problem with a simple tilt. The space I have doesn't allow for a larger set. I have worked with Crutchfield for several years, mostly with auto audio and had never had a problem. This purchase continued that tradition. Staff was courtious and the recomendations for accessory products were spot on.

Pros: Beatiful picture for those space challenged situations.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

IT'S A SONY!

Crutchfield customer from Washington, PA on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Always love sony tv's for there performance and detailed colors. The xbr 48 is the right size for my mancave . The excellent detailed colors and blacks are vivid and far excel my samsung plasma tv that i own and still working. Don't get me wrong for i am going to cry when my 55'' plasma dies for they are in a league of there own.. In the past 30 yrs or so i have owned several sonys in which nothing gone wrong with them. The Master series has the best picture i have seen . The only downside is that they arn't popular in bright lighted room settings in which other people have stated. This xbr is great for watching movies and for sport action has seamless refresh rate. Over all i gave it a 5 star for best picture, easy setting up and it is a SONY. One note , i would wish they give a more detailed manual material for more advance setting. Always want to thank Bill Crutchfield and company for the best customer relationship i have with them past 20 + years. E.K

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great Support!

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Land, TX on 8/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The picture of this OLED MASTER Series Sony TV is amazing. The cable management is perfect for my bedroom installation. Crutchfield helped my with my remote control question. I didn't know that an xfinity was a universal remote. Thanks, Crutchfield!

Pros: Picture Quality, Cable Mgmt, Remote Control Solution

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

David from BRANDYWINE, MD on 8/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picture is very good. For those who use 2.1 and dac. This tv output has very good sound. I try to turn off audio out but there is not a way to put it in pcm that I figured out. Just hissing. Just plug the toslink into your dac and just turn down the tv volume to 0.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional Picture Okay Sound

Crutchfield customer from Port Orchard, WA on 8/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First, this is a great TV. The picture is everything promised. My TV is mounted to an adjustable wall mount and it was quite awkward to mount as you're not supposed to put any pressure on the TV's screen and there is very little edge to grab on to. Tried the screen as a speaker and it was NOT as good as my sound system routed through my AV receiver. I have no regrets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Texture is so important

Crutchfield customer from Athol, MA on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My wonderful plasma unit died. I am comfortable with choosing audio stuff of excellence,,, visual,,,, not so much. My Klipsh / Denon setup pushed me to go for excellence. My close viewing seating reduced the need for great size. I researched and asked Crutchfield folks questions. My Morgan and I are greatly pleased. Cinema is stunning. Picture is crisp, colors intense but the surprise is the fine texture in everything is revealed. Remarkable. The real shock cam in watching the notoriously challenging picture You Tube delivers. I watched a recent video of my treasured Clannad. Somehow,,, the picture is beyond hope. I am very happy. The setup went well for a 71 year old alone. Delivery was unexpectedly quick. I am thrilled. I would not hesitate to recommend this even in larger venues. My investment in superior sound is now complimented by cinema intense video. Oh,, cable tv is also much improved.

Pros: Depth and texture is now attainable. Crutchfield is invaluable for advice. I sit in my viewing chair thoroughly please.

Cons: The pressure to purchase humongous distorts most people's choice. Big is only guaranteed to be bigger. Precise quality in viewing is not improved when the view is disappointing. Buy precision. This TV is precision

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, VA on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so great. The picture is excellent and so is the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Weatogue, CT on 7/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Master series Sony is amazing. I did my homework and it paid off. We recently sold a house and the realtor told us part of home value is location, location, location. The same with television only its processing, processing, processing. And Sony does it better than all the rest. So very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Great picture

Crutchfield customer from Annapolis, MD on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful picture quality in a compact package!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Massena, NY on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's worth every cent I pad for it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic tv

Crutchfield customer from Manakin Sabot, VA on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This tv is phenomenal. I was hoping to hold out to see if they would come out with a new 48" OLED this year but it doesn't appear that they are. I am glad I bought this one. I have wanted an OLED for a long time and one of our TVs, a 12-year-old Sony 720p tv, thankfully failed. I could probably have tried to get it fixed but I don't think it would be worth it since it is just a 32" and is old. This enabled me to move the tv from the bedroom (also a Sony) upstairs and finally have an OLED in the bedroom. The smart features are very solid. I have a Fire TV stick so I don't use them often but they will satisfy just about anyone. I haven't sampled is the speaker system. My friend has a Sony OLED and says the speakers are amazing. I have a Sonos Playbase so I haven't tried the speakers in the TV. The HDMIs are not the latest standard that has just come out. It is disappointing but it is a '20 model so I am not shocked. It is more than adequate for my needs. The 120 hz refresh rate is awesome. No image blur at all. And of course the blacks on an OLED are the best. Many people worry about the brightness of OLEDs but I have been more than satisfied. I really can't say enough good things about this tv. I also like the fact that the viewing angle is better than just about any other set out there. Crutchfield never disappoints with their exceptional staff always ready to give you any and all information on products. Living in VA, it is also nice to shop local.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm still partway through exploring the smart TV features, but the XBR-48A9S is a dramatic upgrade from my 2006 Sharp, which was state of the art at its time. It's everything expected of an OLED-crisp contrasts, vivid colors, and bright. Crutchfield's service was excellent, too. Delivery to my door was quicker than store pickup from a local big box chain, with excellent telephone tech support to help resolve a minor self-induced setup glitch.

Pros: Lovely picture, all the desired smart TV features, handy size, easy setup.

Cons: You might want a sound bar.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

The Best There Is

Crutchfield customer from Prescott, AZ on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Better than I dreamed it could be. The challenge now? Find programming that measures up to this incredible TV. Seeing blacks I never saw before. Detail too. Where I live in AZ there is very little being broadcast in 1080p, not to mention 4K. Subscriptions to premium streaming sources will be necessary now. Patience is needed for the streaming, cable and satellite industry to catch up to this TV! Sony-No Baloney!

Pros: Everything but all those apps. No thanks!

Cons: Google. No thanks!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture and sound. Easy to set up and view.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Right size, great viewing and sound.

Melanie from San Pedro, CA on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The 48-inch Sony is magnificent. It was pretty easy to install. The Sound and Video is a big improvement over my previous 10-year-old Sony, and it has the apps I need to watch MLB and scores of other streaming services. I chose this after reading many reviews, and all rated the Sony Master Series as the best or equal to other "bests." Crutchfield support is every ready and I even got a refund when the model was repriced during the first month of ownership. We are very happy with this. It is hooked up to a Sony sound bar. I fully agree with Alan from Carson City on many things he said, and yes, this is like 3D TV. And yes it is an expensive buy, but worth it. My old APPLE TV needed an upgrade to get MLB and this set took care of that.

Pros: Ease of use, as well as picture and sound quality is top notch.

Cons: I never had to restart at TV before to fix a computer issue, but with so much tech aboard, it is inevitable. The restart is seamless, quick and easy to execute. I am more of a watching-fool than even before.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Norman, OK on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with the quality of the picture. iI had someone help me set=up the TV, and we had played a CD of "My Fair Lady" to check that we had connected it properly. It was still playing as he left, and he commented, "That is a really good picture! "My Fair Lady" never looked that good on a movie screen!" My only disappointment concerns the stand. It is so low to the table top, that I cannot pit my sound bar and cable box beneath it. I am hiring a carpenter to build a riser for it, since nothing I found on the internet seemed suitable.

Pros: Great picture.

Cons: Stand soes not elevate the screen enough.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, PA on 5/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent picture and features. also bought the 65in. about 6 months ago. highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

exceptional

Crutchfield customer from Bossier City, LA on 5/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the best picture I have ever seen, and I have seen a lot. The picture is better than my $10,000 75" XBR that is only a couple of years old. The sound from the screen is the clearest I've ever heard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best TV on the Market

Crutchfield customer from Pittsfield, MA on 4/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I waited a long time for this 48 inch Sony. It isfantastic and Crutchfield was instrumental in my purchase. Kudos to the entire team.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Such An Amazing Television For Your Eyes

Alan from Carson City, NV on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I chose this model after reading as many reviews as possible. Previously we had been watching a Sony LED 40 inch we bought ten years ago and was very happy with it. But this OLED model is a whole new level of seeing. In addition to vast new levels of sharpness and color, there is a level to the depth that borders on 3D that feels just right. I am still getting used to the depth compared to the 2D look of the old TV. But I would never go back now, the picture of this new OLED is just too amazing. Hopefully this one will last as long as our last one which was still working just fine. And the reason we decided to upgrade at this time was that our local cat sanctuary was holding a yard sale to raise much needed funds so we decided to donate our old TV in order to "justify" buying a new one. Cats truly rule our lives. And lastly I must share that normally I would never pay this much for a TV, let alone paying retail for anything if I can get it on sale. But in this particular case I am fine with having paid what I did for this set, as there was little else in this size in an OLED with such fine reviews. And given our ages, this could likely be the last TV we will ever need. My partner and I both highly recommend this OLED tv. Our eyes have never been so amazed in our many years of watching TV. And lastly many kudos to Crutchfield for their wonderful customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

New Sony tv

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture, better than expected sound, easy to operate and apps load fast. Nice looking and a good remote. I had to call customer service to get the remote paired to my provider and they were patient and helpful. A very satisfying purchase.

Pros: Just a great tv

Cons: Cannot think of any cons

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great TV and service, well worth the price.

Crutchfield customer from Athens, OH on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was wary of purchasing a new TV because I knew it would introduce a new level of complexity to my life, a new learning curve, that would last until I acquainted myself with all the new features that had not been available on my old Vizio non-Smart television. Therefore, I did a lot of research and came to the conclusion that this Sony XBR-48A9S was what I needed for my space, which is too small for a larger TV. It is with pleasure that I can say this is a fabulous TV. The sound, the picture, the remote, the ease of navigating are all factors that come together to make this the best TV I've ever had, well worth the price. It was out of stock when I wanted to order it, but I wanted to wait and order it from Crutchfield because of their reputation for service. When I had some trouble installing the TV, I called Crutchfield and within 4 minutes I was speaking to Roman, a wonderful, calm, helpful, and patient expert, who helped my partner and I figure out the problem and resolve it. I could not be more satisfied with both the product and the business, and I recommend both as extraordinary.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Mountain View, CA on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best picture ever! Wish I could get a bigger screen but my entertainment unit won't allow it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A9S UPGRADE!

Crutchfield customer from Waltham, MA on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This TV is BEAUTIFUL! We had a 4K Samsung that our neighbors kept Bluetoothing into and decided to upgrade! The image is unreal and the sound coming through the screen rumbles. "It's like the movie theater," my girlfriend said. The TV is the right says for our smallish living room, the 55" would have been too big and there aren't a lot of options for sub 55" OLED. So far everything is great with this TV and definitely an upgrade, we are very happy with this TV.

Pros: Really Sharp Image EXCELLENT Sound

Cons: $$$ If using the base pedestal, not a lot of clearance below

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Costly but well worth the price for the quality

Gerald from Mililani, HI on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Brilliant picture and solid construction. Was surprised at high good the whole screen as sound transmitter works as advertised. The base that is provided is sounder than any comparable base, meaning heavy and not too large, less than 18" or so and well fitted. As many inputs and outputs as one could want. I am still learning the ins and outs of the adjustments. So far the picture is as warm as I like and the sound is spacious. It is expensive, but the money shows in the product. Happy so far at the two month stage. Need to call Crutchfield about a few features, but I expect it will be easy to learn.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Shorewood, WI on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This 48 inch set is a nice step up in size from the 40 inch Sony (10 years old) that it replaces. Though not recommended, I was able to unbox and set it up by myself. I like the very low-profile base as it puts the TV at the perfect height on the piece of furniture I am using (I'm not using a sound bar). The covers on the back of the set and the base let you keep cables out of sight. The picture is as excellent as virtually all the reviews I read said it was. The sound is also very good for a flat screen TV though bass is somewhat lacking. I can connect my very old stereo receiver via the earphone jack but usually I don't bother. My Roku box hasn't gotten much use since getting this TV -- almost all the streaming apps I use can be installed on the Sony. Playing videos via the USB port also works well with MP4 and MKV files. The remote works well though sometimes the white lettering on a light metal background is hard to read. My only complaint is that a proper manual isn't included with the set. The "reference guide" is just mounting information, a list of specs and a brief description of the remote control. There is an on-screen help guide but I found it harder to use than a paper booklet would have been. Fortunately I didn't have to change many settings as the picture and sound are so good out-of-the-box.

Pros: Picture quality Sound quality Styling

Cons: No proper manual

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great TV

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was just what I was looking for. It was a wait to get (back order), but worth it. The size, clarity & sound have all met my expectations. The only real issue I had was with the remote. Unable to get it to keep working with my cable box (connect only once). Apple airplay was a breeze to setup. Overall I am very happy with this TV.

Pros: Size, picture & airplay

Cons: remote hard to pair with cable box

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Eau Claire, WI on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything I want in a perfectly sized TV. Picture and sound quality outstanding. Thank you Sony.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony OLED TV

Crutchfield customer from Danville, CA on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful relatively compact OLED TV. The thin edges mean it can be mounted inside a smaller opening in an entertainment center and overlap the moulding in a natural way, resulting in a roughly 5 or 6 inch (diagonal) larger TV than could be fit inside the opening. Picture is superb, and most streaming services (requires an internet connection) appear on the list of inputs.

Pros: More compact TV that offers all the features of larger OLED TV's.

Cons: Wasn't able to sync our cable (Comcast) remote with the TV. Same was true with our 55" Sony OLED in a different room. Didn't try to troubleshoot the problem too hard, since it's not a big deal to keep both remotes handy.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Incredibly Good

Ted from Benicia CA on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredibly good color, motion, very good sound for a TV. Very satisfied with TV and Crutchfield!

Pros: Picture quality and motion control

Cons: More expensive than LG CX

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Harbor Springs, MI on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful picture and probably worth the extra money. Nice sound system. I'm pleased with the.purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture and sound. We paired it with an Apple TV as the input source and it works beautifully. Setup was easy. The menu system is clunky (as all of them are) but serviceable. It is a premium television at a premium price, but I feel like we got what we paid for.

Pros: Beautiful picture and good sound

Cons: Clunky but manageable menu system

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Resolution is excellent, although not demonstrably better than Sony's LED. Color is definitely more vivid and deeper. Always a standout, Sony software really optimizes hardware performance. Although my prior tv refresh rate was 120 hz, the frame speed is seamless on this set.

Pros: Color, seamless refresh rate.

Cons: Not really a con, picture resolution about same - excellent - as Sony LED.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice tv with with a not that nice interface (android os)

Sony Addict from VA from Dumfries, VA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this tv firstly to migrate from pitiful samsung smart tv s interface (the bottom bar with apps) which is so unser unfriendly and slow and freezes and you have to restart the tv/third class computer. So i was between LG with better interface (as per reviews) and Sony, with 2nd place interface but better tv features and characteristics. I opted for Sony but after a few days playing with it and some Customer Service dialogues I found out that I can't change, bummer, a few things that I don't find good at all like: 1-the interface allocates/steals about 33% of the home screen, on top to ads for future movies/shows; to older versions of the os android you could hack so remove those ads but not anymore 2-the apps icons on screen are huge and when selected become humongous ; why Sony you don't give the users the option to customize as per their like?!? I see ads related to new shows when i logon in Hulu or Netflix or Prime video; Sony you don't need to push their shows, drop Cinematic Highlights bar, give customers an interface easy to navigate, the possibility to see more info/apps/icons in one screen, without scrolling up and down and left and right. And all these are only after a week playing with this tv...wait to get the soundbar and hook up the old Sony hardware (amp, equalizer, DVD player) 3-the stand is so low, it is very difficult to grab the tv by yourself from underneath; two inch higher would have been perfect, or offer a higher stand/legs also 10" hig

Pros: Image, sound

Cons: Interface, can't remove ads/future shows (Cinematic Highlights) on home screen, can't make app icons smaller, you can't stop automatic updates

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Robert Burke

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

By far the best TV I have ever owned lost of bells and a few whistles to boot.

Pros: Great if U lay or sit on couch no glare can see all angles clearly--can be used as a monitor for Pc easy WiFi hook up and the sound is best

Cons: Still looking

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Vivid display, easy to setup...perfect size for small tv room...reasonable priced.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

The best. PERIOD.

Crutchfield customer from Lino Lakes, MN on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been waiting for this model to be released for some time and it does not disappoint. The only thing better than the set itself is Crutchfield's service. Salesperson Bo was most helpful. There was an issue with my credit card having just moved to a new address and he got it done! TV was ordered Monday afternoon and was here by noon Wednesday!! Could not ask for more!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the 55 inch MASTER Series last year and loved it so much I wanted the 48 inch for my office. Beautiful color monitor, easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Huntingdon, PA on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This tv was purchased to replace a 14-year-old Sony WEGA FD~Trinitron KD-34XBR970 HDTV CRT, also excellent. This is the first flat/thin screen I've bought. The image easily surpasses that of a fine CRT. Extremely film-like appearance with dark black levels. Excellent sound quality negates the need for a sound bar in our medium sized room.

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

5+ Stars!

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been a user for about 8 days, and this TV is a standout performer! The use of OLED opens a world of color refinement and purity. Acoustical surface sound is also a break through. I have a hearing problem and this audio technology (with the help of a hearing aid) allows me to enjoy TV sounds again. I though the setup was relatively easy and I did not encounter any problems. The manual control seems to be a little directionally sensitive - I attribute this the low height of the stand. In all, it's worth-the-wait and my rating is 5+ stars!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

So Far, Wonderfully Good

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The TV availability seemed to be impacted by Covid but as soon as Crutchfield had it, it was on its way. Our delivery person is a little older and watching her struggle, with more than a few bounces before I was able to help, was concerning. But I must say the packaging is very robust so my worries over shipping were unfounded. Easy to set up (wall hanging - connected with cable box and Apple TV easily) with a wide variety of options/apps via internet. The picture is fantastic as expected. I had a mediocre sound bar and was looking for an upgrade but decided to wait to hear the TV. Glad I did as the integral sound is more than satisfactory and the "auto" setup works great. Couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

A Real Winner From Sony!

Alan from Hartville, OH on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing Master Series OLED 4K TV from Sony, the originator of OLED technology, now in a smaller size (48"), but still as impressive as its larger Sony counterparts. Setup was straight-forward, and the outcome is pure Sony... AWESOME picture, along with decent audio via the screen & actuator technology. Lots of options to fine-tune (i.e. 'tweak') the video and audio settings, but looks and sounds pretty remarkable right out-of-the-box. Since this is a recent addition to Sony's mid-range, OLED TV lineup, demand is high, so availability may require some patience, but in my opinion, it was well worth the three week window (as of now). This is a REAL Winner from Sony, and of course is fully complemented by the customary 'stellar' service and support from Conrad and the Team at Crutchfield. Well done!

Pros: Gorgeous 4K picture, customary smart-TV options, solid remote and overall aesthetics. Decent sound for a TV.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

48 worth the wait

Crutchfield customer from Valley Center, KS on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great TV, so much better than the led tv it replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Phenomenal and the perfect size.

Crutchfield customer from Danville, CA on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect in every way, we couldn't be happier. Phenomenal color and clarity. We have a size limitation in our family room and until now 48" OLED TVs weren't available. It was well worth waiting for this model to be released. Crutchfield's customer service and speed once it was finally available was the best we've ever experienced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Worth the money and the wait

Crutchfield customer from Toms River, NJ on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I read and watched many reviews on the Sony Bravia Master Series, I have a long distance friend that swears by his. I have wanted one for a long time. The only reason I waited so long was the 55 inch was just a bit larger then I thought would fit comfortably in my room. When I heard about the 48 inch, I put in as soon as it was on pre-order. Now that I have it and have had time watching and using it, I can say 100% it has been what I expected and more. It was the easiest setup and use out of the box with all my devices then ever before. The interface is fast and so responsive it annoys me when I have to use Samsung or Panasonic in other rooms. Everything just works as anyone would want a TV to be. Simply put I am 100% satisfied and have no regrets. I love my Sony 48A9S and can't think of anything negative . Wouldn't trade it for anything.

Pros: Sony has created the most perfect TV to date compared to all others.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Well Worth the Wait

Jeff from St Petersburg, FL on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a beautiful set that looks great in a smaller space. The thin bezels, solid base and built-in cable management give it a very high-end look. The remote feels solid and has a premium look with the aluminum top and rounded, grained bottom. The picture quality is fantastic, even awe-inspiring. Standard definition content looks great. High definition content looks natural and life-like. Sony has really worked wonders with the picture processing. Android TV is fast and smooth. The sound quality is quite good. It adapts the sound to the space it's in. The result is sound that fits well with the action on screen. The picture and sound create an immersive experience that takes movie watching to another level. The time between pre-order and shipping was 3 weeks, but I was patient. Once it was here and set up, I knew it was worth the wait. I really feel like I got exactly what I wanted and that I got my money's worth. Highly recommend if you want a great, top of the range set for movie watching. I never imagined a TV picture could look so good.

Pros: Beautiful picture Immersive sound Premium design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great TV. Amazing picture, sound, colors, 3D effect. Remote is very easy. A very small bit annoying that we have to use both the Sony remote and our existing Dish remote, but that's pretty minor. Set up was very easy. Stand is very stable.

Pros: Picture, colors, picture detail, 3-D effect in some, remote easy to use. Set up was very easy. Stand is very stable.

Cons: Dish remote use also needed. Not a big deal.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The wait was so worth it!

Crutchfield customer from North Branford, CT on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Superb Oled Tv! Let me start by saying if you're unsure which Sony Oled to buy you can't go wrong with either the Sony XBR-48A9S or the Sony XBR-55A8H. I've seen both up close and ultimately chose the A9S. The A8H obviously has the bigger screen which is beautiful but the Sony Master Series A9S has better out of the box color accuracy. The only tweek I made on it was a simple adjustment to the Vivid picture setting decreasing the brightness and Contrast slightly. I can honestly say I'm thrilled with the A9S and am happy I went with it. Everything about this set is top notch including the sound and picture quality! I live in an apartment so that's the reason the A9S appeals to me more than the A8H. The truth is you can't go wrong with either one. Thank you Sony and Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Perfect picture, size & SOUND for bedroom!

Harry from Simi Valley, CA on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect size for the bedroom. The "entire screen as a speaker" feature is amazing -- no need for a soundbar or external speakers. I'm using the Dolby Vision Bright setting for the picture as the Vivid setting is too bright. I managed to unbox and assemble this by myself even though it's recommended that two people should do it. The cable management covers in the back give it a very neat look. Bluetooth allowed me to connect my Airpods Pro for private listening. Finally, the remote -- thought not backlit -- is classy-looking and has a nice grip. The only thing I can't answer is whether it's worth $400 more than the comparable LG OLED 48" but hey YOLO!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Impressive

Crutchfield customer from Hamburg, NY on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the most aesthetically pleasing TV in every way possible! Not only does it look sleek and clean, the picture is amazing! And I love not having the need for a sound bar. The settings, the customization capabilities.....off the charts! And even though it seems as if it would be a bit intimidating, it is incredibly user friendly. I'm very impressed with everything about it. No regrets here! It was well worth the wait. Thank you, Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Perfect Size Sony.

Robert from WI on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I would give this TV five stars, if it was about $500.00 less in price. We have a 26 year old entertainment center. I drew up the plans when widescreen television did not even exist. The largest screen back then for a CRT was 36 inches. We had a 32 incher. I had to take the doors off of it to get the new the Sony MASTER Series XBR-48A9S to fit. It's a good fit sitting on top off the Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-450C center channel speaker, that replaced a 20 year old Pinnacle. Right out of the box this Sony looks good. Still, I had to do a few tweeks. I have it hooked up to a Roku, the Sony UBP-X800 4K Blu-ray player, and the antenna. I had to split the signal from the Sony 4K player, because the Denon AVR-X4100W that we have, knocked down the signal to 1080. Now 4K discs look awesome. Blu-rays look very good, and DVDs look better than they used to. The over air channels have very good color and a nice clean picture. This TV fits in it's place because the stand holds the TV nice and low. It's the best stand I've ever seen. The cable management in the back is a big plus. This Sony is going to stay in our Home Theater for a long time. We hope. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Just the right size. The stand is perfect. Inky blacks. Great picture, even with DVD.

Cons: A bit pricey.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 10 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound