Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony XBR-49X900F

49" X900F Smart LED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2018)

MFR # XBR49X900F

Sony XBR-49X900F

Sony XBR-49X900F

49" X900F Smart LED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2018)

MFR # XBR49X900F

62 reviews
View this product

Sony does not support their installed feature set

Phillip from Bloomfield, CT on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a Sony Bravia XBR 49X900F in April 2019. We use Over the Air TV Broadcast signals. The Sony TV Program Guide [Gracenote] worked properly for 3 months - we had Program Information for all of them. After 3 months the Program Information was only listed on 2 of the 26 stations I set the TV o show. I've contacted Sony multiple times. We've done Factory resets, re-scans and all the available fixes (Sony says). Sony now says that the TV is working and that there is "No Fundamental Failure" with the TV. Sony Says it is a Gracenote problem and Gracenote needs to fix whatever is wrong. Gracenote has not responded at all. The TV is watched all day by a dis-abled woman that has limited abilities and is very frustrated that she cannot view what TV programs are coming on. The TV is sold and marketed with the Program Guide. The Program Guide app is installed with Sony's operating system and there is no User install-able option. Mind you the TV looks great but... If you don't NEED the Program Guide, you could be happy with the set, but. Beware Sony may not stand by their TV's Features if they decide that it isn't a "Fundamental Failure" Samsungs don't seem to have this problem.

Pros: Very good picture quality

Cons: OTA Program Guide information (from Gracenote app) fails and is not supported by Sony

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Mount Gretna, PA on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great television. Exceptionally easy setup and a phenomenal picture and a now reduced price make it a real gem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony- Great TV. Bad Customer Service

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Excellent picture and performance. But have been unable to cash in on two separate Sony free movie promos for the TV that are advertised and Sony's customer service has not been helpful at all. That is holding it back from a perfect score. Don't needs to realize that a great customer experience is what drives satisfaction. Crutchfield gets it.

Pros: Product quality.

Cons: Bait and switch Sony promos. Terrible customer service.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Westfield, NJ on 10/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Typical excellent picture from Sony. Vivid colors, life-like image, good sound, intuitive remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Jason from Salt Lake Cty, UT on 9/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty picture, especially on Netflix. Android interface is smooth and Google Assistant works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony Tv

Crutchfield customer from Murfreesboro, TN on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a Samsung at Sam's and took it back and then bought the Sony it is 4 times better than the Samsung 6300 glad I can make this purchase

Pros: Great pic

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth the extra cost for primary TV

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony xbrx900f has excellent picture quality. Most natural of any I've seen. I was limited to 49 inch and this is our primary tv, so decided to splurge a bit. Picture is crisp and clear. The android smart functions are a bit slow to respond but work well. Only downside (slight) is that the contrast on picture degraded a bit on an angle - best of you can view straight on. Price came down a few days after purchase and Crutchfield matched. Best customer service in the Business. I recommend the tv without hesitation.

Pros: Natural colors. Doesn't feel like an arcade game!

Cons: Angle viewing degrades a bit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F is a great TV

Crutchfield customer from Iron River, WI on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We had a Sony Bravia 40" television for 18 years. Best picture out there. It died recently so we went to Crutchfield to again purchase a Sony. Great company to work with and they made our purchase very easy. We always thought the Sony picture was the best and this new Sony did not disappoint. We are so happy with our new TV.

Pros: Beautiful, natural picture. Very good sound quality. Easy setup.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect TV

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture on the TV is absolutely stunning. Then put in a 4K movie and its incredible. All this at a great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best Picture I have ever seen

Michael from Huntsville on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing Picture Quality! Great sound This is the BEST TV I have ever seen or owned! All I can say is WOW! The picture on this TV is mind blowing while watching Netflix 4k content....1080 Cable looks amazing, too....Standard Definition Cable is not so impressive...if you get this TV and watch to watch cable, invest in the extra 10$ per month with Comcast to get a 1080 Full HD Cable box..it makes all the difference in the world watching it in HD 1080 vs Standard Definition in 720 p... The sound is really great when watching 4k...I watched a 4k video series about race cars...when the race cars would whiz by you can really get a sense of how amazing the sound can be with such things...the audio on vocals is great as well but the audio when those race cars pass by is insanely good! You don't need to get a Samsung TV...the colors on this TV are perfect...skin tones and faces look natural and not oversaturated like on the Samsung models....forget Samsung...also...I heard the Samsung Tv's are only lasting a year or two before dying or getting vertical lines and color lines through the TV...Sony has a reputation for longevity and reliability that Samsung does not have....if you were like me and were having a tough time deciding between the Sony or the Samsung...let me make this very easy for you...GET THIS SONY!!!! You will thank me later and want to kiss me because you are so happy that you listened to me! GET THIS TV!!!!!!

Pros: Amazing Picture Quality! Great sound This is the BEST TV I have ever seen or owned

Cons: Slightly milky white look at brightest settings..but this is no way a deal breaker

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Always Buy Sony. This TV is the BEST ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice picture and easy to set up. Disappointed that there wasn't a user guide for the remote. Overall lack of information is a negative.

Pros: Nice picture

Cons: Little to no user guides.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Good picture quality, issue with Hulu and auto-resolution

Crutchfield customer from Owings Mills, MD on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tv so far. There is an issue with Hulu and this tv, which according to research, dates back to around August 2018. The auto-resolution refresh feature causes shows to randomly zoom in, so you need to set the resolution to Wide in order to resolve. Otherwise, the picture quality and features are great for what it is. We use this as a tv for our bedroom and have a LG OLED tv as our main tv downstairs. While the picture quality will never compare to an OLEF, setup and calibration seemed much easier. If you're looking for a great, easy to set up tv with very good picture quality, I would recommend.

Pros: Very good picture quality (not on par with OLED, but this is no surprise) Easy setup and calibration Stand has slots for cable management Sleek look Android/Google OS

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Deal

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 4/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great 4K TV for the bedroom. It has a great picture and the best thing I like about it is the bluetooth so I can listen to the TV with my Wireless Headphones and not disturb anyone else. It was real simple to unbox and setup and connect to my network so I can watch my Amazon Prime and Netflix.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I can see clearly now..........

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OMG Sony has done it again. I have always been a Sony fan for years but this time it's has been taken to another level.....This picture is unbelievable even if I'm standing right in front of it. I told my 11 years to come and look at the picture and all he said was "WOW!"

Pros: Picture brightness and clarity. Remote easy to use.

Cons: Voice control is delayed. Maybe it's the operator.......

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Purchase

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, MA on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent TV and entertainment value!

Pros: Clear, precise images, excellent sound and an enjoyable way to relax and consume entertainment.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Missing Part

Mako- First Customer from San Diego, CA on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am the very customer of Crutchfield. The customer service and the product were great except for the 4 screws to attach stands were missing!!! Luckily I had Sony Bravia TV set which broke and was the reason for this new Sony TV set , had the equivalent screws and we were so lucky to be able to used them. If not, my TV set would be laying down on the floor.. This was my sad experience for the 1st purchase. It was not Crutchfield but the fault of Sony quality assurance. Just by thinking if I didn't have the old TV set, I would not be able to watch until the screws order is delivered.

Pros: Service and product themselves were great.

Cons: 4 missing screws for the stand

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

donald from Newport, RI on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fast shipping, and easy to set up! and the picture is fantastic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Jarvis from Birmingham, AL on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture!! ... which is all that really matters.

Pros:

Cons: Connection to Amazon Alexa virtually impossible.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent TV and Customer Service

Amanda from Nice, CA on 3/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding TV picture, and ease of use. Thought it was going to be hard to set up, but the system is set up to walk you through the steps. Had the TV up and running within 10 minutes, including all the plug ins. Had one question, and Crutchfield representative took the time to walk me through it. Great experience with this company. This is our 2nd TV we have purchased from them. Delivery was quicker than expected, bonus points!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Eric from Portland, OR on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TV picture is great, The smart features are what keep it from being 5 stars, interface is kind of clunky, there are a couple streaming apps that Android TV doesn't have that would be nice and the app to use your phone as a remote is fairly worthless, it is easier to simply use the remote, which IMO defeats the purpose, if there is an app it should either be easier to use or add features. All in all I have a high standard for 5 stars and no Smart TV I've seen yet achieves it, reserving that until someone does.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pleased

Steve from Gallatin, TN on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I've been completely satisfied, the picture is superb and it's just the right size.The only knock I've got against it would be the remote. It has two huge Netflix and Google Play buttons that stand out on it.

Pros: Excellent Picture

Cons: Remote

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Boone, IA on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture and great features! Very easy setup and very "smart" TV

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sensational Picture Quality!

Rick from Hershey, PA on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb picture, very easy to set preferences.

Pros: Easy to set up, very flexible.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great TV-Great Service

Howard from Mechanicsville, VA on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Originally purchased a Samsung UN49NU8000 from Crutchfield which was pretty decent but not as good as I had hoped. (Edge lit panel and 60 hz refresh rate). Decided to return it and purchase the Sony. Yes it was more expense but it has a full array panel and true 120 hz native refresh rate. Definitely worth the extra price differential. Super color with realistic skin tones right out of the box with factory settings. Very easy to set up and connect to our WiFi network. Virtually blur free when watching sports. Audio is more than adequate even with out a sound bar. Very happy with this choice and would high highly recommend this model. Additionally, can't say enough about the superior service provided by Crutchfield. All of their representatives both technical and sales were "top notch". The entire purchase, return and repurchase processes were accomplished easily. Reps really made you feel like they appreciated you as a customer. There are no big box electronic stores that come anywhere near close to what Crutchfield provides. 5 stars for them as well

Pros: Great picture quality Ease of set up Blur free motion for viewing sports

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Conway, MA on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This television exceeds all expectations. It is going to take me a little while to learn everything it does. Picture quality is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Picture

Matt from Spring, TX on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best TV I have purchased in terms of picture quality. Audio is also very good relative to other 4K flat screens and more than sufficient for an apartment living room

Pros: Great picture once everything was calibrated on Apple TV

Cons: HDR did not automatically activate on my Apple TV

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Johnson City, TN on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't know whether I like the Sony or Crutchfield better! The Sony arrived is excellent condition and the pictures are better than I could have imagined. The Crutchfield team was MOST helpful , knowledgeable, and interested in what I was trying to achieve by buying this set. Trish was outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Picture

KC from Coppell, TX on 12/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic. Have the same "model" from 2016, and the 2018 picture is better. Netflix works great, and the audio out from TV to my receiver works great. I adjusted the brightness up 5 clicks or so, and that's it. Again, very impressed.

Pros: Easy set-up

Cons: The stand feet are very wide, I had limited space, so I reversed them and created a much smaller overall stand footprint.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony is premier

Bob from Moorestown, NJ on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always enjoyed Sony tv's. No surprises here. Excellent picture and sound Easy wall mount and cable connections

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Naples, Fl on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture and three inputs on the reverse

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stunning Picture Quality!

Aric from Trotwood, OH on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4k wow! This tv is the real deal, but what else would one expect from Sony. Easy to set up with an easy to use, well laid out remote. The picture quality is absolutely stunning. No lag at all when watching fast paced sporring events such as hockey. The clarity and brilliant picture colors along with ease of use make this tv a steal at whatever price you can grab it.

Pros: Stunning picture quality, ease of use and set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Picture

David from Green Valley, AZ on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TV picture is very good so far with excellent processing of lower resolution content (1080 and 720 p). Docked a notch because the package was missing the packet of 4 screws (item M5L12) that are intended to secure the legs of the TV. I sent an email to Crutchfield support on December 5 requesting assistance / support ...but have never heard back.

Pros: Great picture. Excellent processing of lower resolution streamed content (1080 and 720 p)

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Jim from Bedford, NH on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture is awesome! I'm a simpleton and this tv is easy to use. The picture is great out of the box and set up was easy. Chromecast was also easy to set up and works great for pictures. Plenty of apps in the menu to choose from. Only four stars because the sound is less than good. I expected more from Sony on sound. There's an equalizer in the sound menu and does little to help. This is a kitchen tv so it's not a big deal. Remote works well, but feels "chincy" in your hand

Pros: Great picture with easy set up

Cons: Disappointing sound

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful picture, bad OS

Justin from Brooklyn, NY on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture looks great, bright & sharp. I'm not using the Android OS to access Netflix or other streaming apps, instead using Roku. As others have mentioned the OS isn't great. You have to dig down a bunch to get to settings. I'm using DirecTV and a Roku, so I never have to even use the Sony remote... already have too many. Remote seems fine but nothing great for a TV at this price point. Only been a few weeks, if any issues crop up I'll update! *** When I play Netflix through Roku, programs show up as HDR. When I play through the Netflix app on the TV, some show up as Dolby Vision. This is because the TV is Dolby Vision capable, but the Roku is not. I tried to discern a difference between HDR10 and Dolby Vision (a different HDR) by flipping back and forth, but couldn't distinguish between the two...

Pros: Picture, inputs, sleek design

Cons: Android OS, maybe remote

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice picture. Easy set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Yan from Durango, CO on 12/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my tv

Pros: Picture

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing picture

David from York, PA on 11/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced my old TV and wow I am impressed with the picture and sound. There are a lot of options with it and the apps like Amazon Prime Video are a bonus. I recommend this Sony TV.

Pros: Features, weight, sound, can't wait to play some of my ps4 games.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Victor from Carencro, LA on 11/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The television was very easy to set up and the picture was more than what we expected for in a spare bedroom. The ordering process went off without a hitch and the TV actually arrived earlier than posted which was a plus with me translating into great service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Kenneth from Bristol, CT on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this TV. The picture quality is excellent and it sounds very good in my family room. I thought this would be a good TV but found out it was even better than I had thought. I highly recommend this TV.

Pros: Picture Quality and Audio.

Cons: Could have a little better quality remote.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Ponderay, ID on 11/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Updating from a 21year-old Sony Wega TV and old Dish DVR to this new Sony TV and new Dish HD Hopper was quite the jump in quality. It is impressive what has changed in 20 years. The picture on the new Sony is nearly 3D in comparison to the old. But the old Sony did last 21 years and was still limping along. Good Job, Sony.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Love Sony TV's

Paul from Durham, CA on 11/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own numerous Sony TV's and love their products and the Sony XBR-49X900F is no exception. An excellent picture with an easy setup menu to dial in the perfect picture for your situation. Received the prompt service and quick shipping I expect from Crutchfield.

Pros: Great picture, easy setup.

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Picture Sony XBR-49X900F

Bob from Trumansburg, NY on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I researched for a long time and this TV had the best overall reviews. I replaced my Samsung 32" with this. This has been a great TV. I used the Samsung as a monitor for my computer.

Pros: So far everything. Picture is great and the sound is good too. 60 day return and American tech support. I could have gotten this from another retailer, but it would be a hassle to drive up there, cart it out to the car, unload it etc.. Crutchfield has free shipping, free tech support, 60 return. Knowledgeable sales people. I will buy from them again.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Mill Valley, CA on 11/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture, good refresh, good sound, great 60 day refund policy, excellent customer support

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Gained 9 inches of tv to replace a 40 in. tv

Gary from Topeka, KS on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a 12 year old Sony XBR that was a 40 inch model. It still works great but with the bezel size and the 4K coming in now at half the price I paid for this one only made sense.. It is in my bedroom and at age 74 now I can see it so much better without glasses one a crystal clear picture which is 9 inches bigger than my previous and weighs half as much. If fit on my wall and took less than 30 minutes to install on my previous wall mount.. Now my son-in-law has a tv for his garage to watch.Would recommend purchasing a high end HDMI cable when going to 4K.. The streaming is phenomenal especially on U-TUBE for 4K material but regular cable picture is much brighter than previous tv with no black on edges.

Pros: Great picture, easy to install and need very few adjustments for picture quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Culver City, CA on 10/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony is priced higher than similar models of the same screen size from other manufacturers. But the picture on this baby is incredible. It's really a cut above. The sound quality on all flat screens lacks something. But this unit has a better sound system that LG units I've had in the past. The apps you can access are a plus. and the fact that I can perform many of the functions I used to perform on my cable remote, centrally on the Sony remote control, is a plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Mc Lean, VA on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A excellent TV. Sports and 4K/Blu Ray quality is excellent. Even some of the old fashioned signals grabbed by my antenna are excellent. Not a huge fan of the "feet" on which the TV rests, but knew what I was getting going into it, and this is such a minor aspect of the set that I wouldn't dock a star for that. The remote is easy to use. Toggling between TV, Blu Ray, and Apps is very easy. It's a little pricey, but you know that going into it too - Sony always charges a premium. So again, I wouldn't dock a star for it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

HARRY D from Brooklyn, NY on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome picture right out of the box easy setup, crutchfield great service super fast shipping to new York city.

Pros: one of sony best

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

stellar for the price

James A from New York, NY on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

amazing picture and size. motion control could be better, but no worse than similarly priced tvs. maybe motion control would be a bit better on oled?

Pros: bright, sharp, natural, and comparatively inexpensive

Cons: motion control

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, WA on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bright display with excellent contrast. Intuitive user interface and seamless integration with Sony's blue ray players.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, NC on 8/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a 12 year old Sony Bravia TV due to lightning strike. Amazing how much better the picture is in this new set. Smart TV is the way to go for sure. Set up was easy. As usual, Crutchfield salesperson GUS was great to work with. This TV fit perfectly over the fireplace in my 10 year old house,The TV came one day after I ordered it from N.C.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Picture - feature packed

Paul from Scituate, MA on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to pick a 49" TV to fit a built in space designed 10 years ago. Most of the best units out there don't offer this size. This may be a mid-range TV but the picture quality is outstanding, especially streaming on the built in YouTube App! Nice to have built in Prime Video as well, now I can use my fire stick on my bedroom TV!

Pros: Great picture adjustability, awesome streaming resolution, like the Apps feature

Cons: Automatic speaker change when on ARC input when connected to a receiver for upscaling. I'd rather choose when I use my home system, having to switch back to TV speakers is a pain.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Bill from Centreville, MD on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best TV I have ever owned; great tuner. I love the separate Netflix button and the TV button which quickly takes me back to regular TV channels. Picture quality is best I have ever had.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None noted so far.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Tom from Oxford, MD on 6/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture quality. Easy set up. Crutchfield phone technical assistance was very helpful. The TA is a reason I go back to Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Complete satisfaction

H. from Livingston, NJ on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set, easy to set up. Completely satisfied, especially with Crutchfield guidance and technical expertise.

Pros: Great color, contrast and picture quality.

Cons: Only supports Android OS

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

A picture that is second to none!

Tom from North Tazewell, VA on 5/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fantastic tv. Replaces a 10 year old 1080p 46" Samsung. Color and sharpness are outstanding. Installed it by myself in 10 minutes. No adjustments . Everything was great right out of the box. I have not seen a tv anywhere with such a jaw- dropping display. Have since ordered one cable and the Sony model 1000 ES uhd blu ray player. Eric was great in helping me with the order. When I was researching this I noticed all the Sony tvs in this line (smallest screen to largest ) had the same great specs. This is not so with Samsung and that is why I ordered a Sony. Thank you for a great product and wonderful assistance.

Pros: Outstanding color and sharpness. No adjustments were necessary. Support stands look a little weird but that is ok. They installed easily and the rest was plug and play.

Cons: Absolutely none.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X900F

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this Sony Tv, great colors and picture quality. Crutchfield have excellent customer service and fast shipping. Thank

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Best picture I've ever seen

Dan from Gettysburg, PA on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivery was prompt and well packed. Set-up was straight forward especially when using HDMI cables to hook-up all attachments. Nice integration with Sony 4K Blu-ray player and Yamaha soundbar. Picture across regular cable, streaming and blu-rayl consistently fabulous. You get a great TV experience for a fair price. It's a value purchase.

Pros: Easy set-up with Crutchfield HDMI cables Remote and menus are simple to learn Picture is the best ever Nice interface with Sony 4k blu-ray player and Yamaha soundbar.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great picture above average remote with loads of special features.

Edward from Castleton, NY on 5/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture above average remote with loads of special features.

Pros: Well worth the money it has more features than my previous 4k which cost twice as much.

Cons: Won't run Alexa because you need an android phone to set it up.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Very Good TV

William from Sarasota, FL on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good TV set and an excellent seller too!!

Pros: Excellent TV - picture, sound, features. Used it out of box without any adjustments. I also have a TV antenna and picture is fantastic!

Cons: Good menus but it takes time to use them properly. Wouldn't support some of my apps (Direct TV Now, etc) so I need an additional streaming device.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best Picture

Sana from Riverview, FL on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to write a review on this awesome TV from Sony. I'm glad that I waited until the XBR-49X900F came out because there wasn't too much difference in the price. As far as the TV itself, Sony has lived up to its name, phenomenal color, great view from all angles, love the easy switch from Netflix and other apps back to TV mode with no interruption of sound. I watched a 2000 TV show and even the color looks clear on this TV.

Pros: Clear, precise sound and picture, true to color, good viewing from all angles while displayed properly on the wall. Good amount of HDMI input, slim and easy to mount on wall.

Cons: Can't find any yet, but if I had to choose something, I would say the stand. Looks flimsy and not sturdy.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Such an upgrade over 2016 models

Guest from Elmhurst, NY on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic 4K altogether. Colors are vibrant, contrast and clarity is wonderful, and the blacks are very deep. God of War on this looks insane. So glad I upgraded earlier this month just in time for GOW and also for Far Cry 5, they just look amazing. PS4 Pro games look great and I can only imagine how XB1X games would look. 4K movies especially running on the X800 player, Planet Earth II, it just looks phenomenal. Stellar picture!!!! If you own the 900E series and up from last year, don't think you need to upgrade to this but if you own older models, it's a definite YES! My brother owns the 55 inch of this and has no complaints.

Pros: Everything besides the leg stands

Cons: Do not watch at an angle, gives it a white wash effect. And don't raise the TV too high, perfect straight in the middle at a good distance. Also, the stands suck.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

TOP