Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XBR-49X950H

49" X950H Smart LED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2020)

MFR # XBR49X950H/A

Sony XBR-49X950H

Sony XBR-49X950H

49" X950H Smart LED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2020)

MFR # XBR49X950H/A

42 reviews
View this product

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Unicoi , TN on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really easy to set up and a great picture. Apps great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Significant upgrade to 12 year old Sony kdl46w4100

Crutchfield customer from Marshall , NC on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought my first LED television in 2009, a Sony kdl46w4100. It's been a fine TV but recently developed blotchy, ghosting screen. I replaced the components most likely to create this problem but success eluded me, so I bought this XBR-49X950H. While the display is a bit larger than my previous TV, this one is about the same dimensions because of the much thinner bezel. I read numerous reviews of this and similarly sized TVs to conclude this is best for me. A smart TV interests me little, and although this one is smart there are more comprehensive options. I felt no need for OLED and have concern about the higher potential for screen burning an image. To cut to the chase, this TV has a much improved display over my previous. It was simple to set up. The sound quality is OK but I added a Yamaha SR-B20A soundbar that is a big improvement, and connected readily via HDMI without need to change any settings. Of course, I hope this TV lasts at least 12 years as my previous Sony did.

Pros: Very nice, clear, vibrant display. Easy set up. Sound quality is better than many other TVs I've experienced.

Cons: None that I've noticed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, VA on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so happy with this smart television, recommended by your associate; the picture is wonderful and crystal clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony 950H - OUTSTANDING!

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding TV (Sony XBR-49X950H - purchased 1/25/2021). We bought the 49" due to the room size. Very intuitive and easy to use. The Apps are great and set up was very easy. Picture quality is outstanding and easy to adjust for what you want. The sound is also much better than expected. We were going to buy a soundbar with the TV and will now wait to see how we adjust to this TV's audio....after 2 weeks the audio is very good and we are less likley to get a soundbar - or we will wait until we see a good sale. Overall, 5 stars for the TV and 5 stars for Crutchfield's for all their help. We did purchase a table-top stand to swivel the TV so we don't have any comments on the feet that came with the TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good after Calibration

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield Glade, TN on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially, I was not thrilled with this set but after finding and following this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLPzEm_-egA&feature=emb_logo I am thrilled with it. The only downside is that it has a small viewing issue when viewing it from an angle 20* or so from head-on. I solved that by turning the TV slightly to the side I am sitting. This is the recommended setting from the mentioned video 1. Watching TV External Inputs - All set to Enhanced 2. Picture - Custom 3. Light Sensor - Off 4. Brightness - 35 5. Contrast - 90 for regular 4K, but if using HDR set to Max 6. Gamma - 0 7. Black Level 48, if too dark go to 49-50 8. Black Adjust - Low 9. Contrast Enhancement - Off 10. Auto Local Dimming - Med 11.. X-tended DynamicRange - High 12. Color - 50 13. Hue - 0 14.Color Temp - Expert 1 14. Live Color - Off 15. Clarity - Sharp = 52 16. Reality Creation - Manual 17. Resolution - 55 18. Random Noise Reduction - Off 19. Digital Noise Reduction - Off 20. Smooth Gradation - Low, (could be off) 21. Motion Flow - Custom 22. Smoothness - 1 23. Clearness - 1 24. Cinemotion - Auto 25. Video Signal - All (3) set to Auto 26. Advance Color Temp - Basic Top 3 to the right Bottom 3 Centered If you think the picture is too warm then reduce R gain & B gain down by 3. That will cool the image down

Pros: All good

Cons: Picture quality from an angle In order to use hearing Aids, you have to set the sound to Audio System. You can't get sound from hearing aids and TV at the same time. There is a workaround for that but it requires a Digital Optical Audio Splitter.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding 4K Picture & Plenty of Input/Output Options!

David from Winston Salem, NC on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an upgrade from a 9 year-old 42" LG LED which was still working fine but wanted a larger screen (49" was about the upper limit for the space desired in my den - see pic), the best 4K LED technology (OLED was considered but out of the budget), and updated network connectivity. Needed to purchase a central stand to fit my rolling cherry stand, so leg location was not appropriate for me - bought an inexpensive stand online and put together/attached to the new Sony TV in about a half hour or so. My only minor complaint is the 'Settings' for some features are buried deep in the menu followings (e.g. I wanted to turn off 'system sounds' and finally found the entry; still have not been able to turn off the TV's speakers - have audio going out optically to my stereo for better sound) - might take off a half star for that annoyance and not sure there is a good online manual explaining the numerous settings that can be adjusted? SO, maybe 4 1/2*.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Carbondale, IL on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful picture, great sound as well. Set up required several steps mostly related to the Google connections which I found irritating.

Pros: Quick delivery and great Crutchfield customer service

Cons: Google set up requirements

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Victor

Crutchfield customer from Lake Spivey, GA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased many Sony products before it was time for an upgrade. I decided to purchase the Sony XBR-49X950H I'm very please with the decision. The picture quality is very excellent.

Pros: Very simple to setup and the picture is perfect.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Brookline, MA on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The remote is difficult to use. ( We could not watch a Netflix movie in HD. There is no verbal cue on the remote. There is no "page up or down" on the remote. The picture is excellent. We are enjoying watching on this new television.

Pros: excellent picture. Looks good in our living room

Cons: remote

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Southampton, PA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this choice. I have a small living room seating area, and the 49" size is more than sufficient. Glad that Sony added this size to their XBR lineup. I was not ready to spring for the OLED technology, but I can't imagine a picture quality too much better than this. Replaced a 40" Sony 2009 Model "Z", which provided excellent service for 10 years, but I was as "wowed" by the picture quality of the new XBR as I was when we got our first HD tv. The tv is hard-wired to the internet, and true 4K content is amazing. Color range is excellent and the blacks are deep black, which really makes images pop. I have not noticed any of the small defects in the screen that some reviewers complained of, and none of the blooming around images that was sometimes annoying on the old unit (which still employed a CFL backlight.) Worked with Curtis at Crutchfield, and he was extremely helpful, courteous, patient and generous with his time (as everyone that I have ever dealt with there has been, hence the reason for my loyalty.) Ordered on Friday night, delivered on Monday, and set up and in use by Tuesday (the only reason it took a day, was that I also ordered an after-market table-top stand, that required one trip to the hardware store for some washers to get the screw depth for the VESA mount just right.)

Pros: Great product (I expect no less from Sony) and great service (I expect no less from Crutchfield.)

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

fantastic picture

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic picture....and reasonable sound. Great in black and white and color. Interface is also accessible. Having a little frustration with voice control... trying to hook it up to Alexa, but so far no luck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Traverse City, MI on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture and ease of set ups

Pros: Ease of set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Simply amazing

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is simply an amazing tv. The picture quality is near perfect and the HDR is derailed and bright. I had originally tried the x800h and it was a very good tv for its price but was dark in HDR. I opted to spend more and get this tv. It was a good decision. If you can afford the higher price and quality you won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Middleville, MI on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deep, deep black. Great angle side viewing. Sound system is imprpved.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great Picture!

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We love it!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Peekskill, NY on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality of the picture was not showing good. I call customer service and the issue was resolved. I am amazed at the quality of the picture now . He change it from standard to Vivid Love it now

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Satisifed so far

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 10/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality pictures. Am still learning all of the connections and figuring out what cables I need. Cannot seem to project from PC to TV without a cable, but possible with Mac.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Allen, TX on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TV setup went smoothly. Crutchfield has good website and keeps customer informed--would use them again. Wait and see on TV, as this is the first day in service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Red Oak, TX on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A perfect replace for my old 34" Sony XBR that I had for 16 year. It fit perfectly on the old stand to a T. The item was on back order and was advised to get in the queue, and I 'm glad I did. I received my new TV in about 5 day. Setup was nice and easy (4 leg mounting screws are packaged with one of the legs). Picture quality. Well it's a Sony XBR. Best Regard, Don

Pros: Picture Quality Size for what I needed

Cons: I had to get the old 34" Sony downstairs first. Old TVs sure are heavy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding Picture

Crutchfield customer from Brownsville, TX on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has a great picture quality. The menu is very intuitive and fast. The remote is great. I am very satisfied with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Guest from Houston, TX on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tv was an upgrade from an old LG unit and I've been very happy with it so far. The picture quality is excellent with really good blacks for an LED. The tv is responsive when you use the remote. Setup was easy and Ifollowed the steps without any hickups. Subsequent setup of my Sonos surround worked smoothly as well. One of the reasons I considered this tv was the electric compatibility between europe and usa. LG used to have the same compatibility, but for some reason they no longer do. Really happy with this purchase, and can really recommend this tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR 49 inch 950h

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Robert from SAN DIEGO, CA on 8/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything the other five star reviewers state is true. However, my unit has two small darkish spots at the upper edge of the screen that are quite visible on a white background but less so on normal operation. Here's the explanation from Sony: In all LCDs, there may be a small number of pixels that do not change color. This is a normal occurrence for all LCDs from all manufacturers. Bright or dark spots may be more prominent while viewing an all-white or all-black screen, but are often not noticeable under normal operation. NOTE: A replacement LCD may exhibit the same characteristics or have pixel issues in a more noticeable position than on the display it is replacing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Love our New Sony

Guest from Luray, VA on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We love our new Sony! Did my research, went in and probably took about 5 minutes to buy it! Set up was super easy. We had a 13 year old Bravia and after reading reviews knew this Bravia was for me!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Peter from WAUWATOSA, WI on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 10 years we finally got a new TV. The picture is amazing! Minimal bezel, APPS that we can use like PBS, Amazon Prime, and Word On Fire. Extra clear and pop images from our HD roof antenna.

Pros: Bright image Lots of Apps Easy GUI

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Saunderstown, RI on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture. Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Wyncote, PA on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture & great service from Crutchfield. The TV was delivered the day after I ordered it!

Pros:

Cons: The only Con is that it's Google-based

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Amsterdam, NY on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros: Quick shipping

Cons: Should have purchased years ago

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Martinsburg, PA on 7/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture. Easy setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Coto Laurel, PR on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, excellent picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

What we expected from Sony

Crutchfield customer from Salida, CO on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far we like this tv a lot but that is what we expected from Sony. We haven't tried any of the specialty features yet but the basic menus are quite easy to understand. Setting up the unit was quite easy. Even my wife (who is "remotely Challenged") has little trouble with the menu system.

Pros: The picture is noticeably better than the LCD tv we had before this one.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not Very Happy

Parish from NAPLES, FL on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bought this 6/4/2020 to replace an 8 year old Samsung 9000 series. i mainly use it as a computer monitor connected to an Apple Mac Mini and at first everything was amazing. first issue started when the Sony would not recognize the signal from the Mini and flashed a white static screen 10-20 times before it picked up the signal, this never happened even once with the Samsung. second issue it it developed several dark spots at the top of the screen that were not there at first. they can be clearly seen on any light color background and are very annoying. third issue is it has started dropping the wifi connection several times a day, have deleted the SSID and re-typed the password but it still happens. guess i got a lemon, i plan on returning it once they have the 55" model in stock.

Pros: gorgeous picture and lots of amazing features.

Cons: too many problems for a high end unit

Crutchfield response on

9 of 19 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fantastic picture with a menu that's fast and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Richardson, TX on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love this television/monitor. The level of detail combined with the dynamic range is amazing. I suppose an OLED screen would pop even more, but for my taste this works perfectly without what seems like exaggerated color saturation of OLED screens. The sound is above average, with a more bass than a lower priced monitor. Still need a sound bar though. While watching movies I seldom let go of the volume control, needing more volume when characters are speaking, and less volume the remainder of the time - but I am somewhat hard of hearing. I use the unit with a 4K Blu-ray player, but the upscaling of HD Blu-ray content is so good it is hard to tell the difference. For this size, I haven't found a better unit on the market. This may be the smallest unit on the market with a full LED array with local dimming.

Pros: - Great picture detail - Very good dynamic range - Good value for the money

Cons: - Remote is not backlit; seems like for this price point that should be included.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture leaves you speechless ...and speaking of speech, the internal speakers are good for regular TV watching. If you have a decent theater sound system, I'd recommend a quality center speaker for the full theatric experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Hale, MI on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture quality with good sound.

Pros: Complicated enough that having the support from Crutchfields have been great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good upgrade for us.

Crutchfield customer from Fox Island, WA on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We've not had an LED TV with full array before (each pixel dims by itself). Makes a big difference, almost like an OLED (which they don't make in this size) in the blacks and highlights. Very nice picture.

Pros: Picture clarity, smoothness of motion, and color.

Cons: Good speakers but not as good as a sound bar.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

SUPER TV

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, NC on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This TV is a bargain with all the features it has. It was easy set up. I highly recommend it.

Pros: Superb picture.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Great Sony LED

Crutchfield customer from East Thetford, VT on 4/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgrading from an LG LCD TV after 10 years to this one. Considered both LG and Sony, LED and OLED, but went with this Sony LED. Had to set-up by myself in times of COVID but able to do so creatively! Love it. I have a digital roof antenna and set up the TV to get my digital channels with the built-in tuner. They come through clearly. Sound is good but I tweaked the equalizer for each mode (Dolby, Cinema, Dialog, etc) which helps A LOT, particularly for dialog. Not a fan of the TV Android OS, had an LG TV before this with different OS, but easy to use. Works well with my Sony blu-ray DVD player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Chino, CA on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fits in the cabinet perfectly and it has a great picture and Francesca so easy to work with

Pros: It has a great picture and we are learning how to use all the new apps

Cons: We don't have any at this time

Crutchfield response on

2 of 9 found this helpful

Sony XBR-49X950H

Crutchfield customer from Danvers, MA on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stunning picture and simple setup with the new Sony home receiver and customer service is the best. Why shop any where else.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 18 found this helpful

TOP