Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XR-50X90J

50" X90J Smart LED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2021)

MFR # XR50X90J

Sony XR-50X90J

Sony XR-50X90J

50" X90J Smart LED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2021)

MFR # XR50X90J

10 reviews
View this product

Outstanding picture, disappointing sound

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not sure what the secret sauce is in Sony's "Cognitive Processor," but we've never had a TV on which all inputs looked so good right out of the box. Typically, I find myself tweaking picture set-ups for a couple weeks when we acquire a new television. I know it's something I should do with our new X90J, maybe I'll get to it tomorrow -- or the next day -- there's absolutely no rush. The built-in speakers are another story. There was no type of content that sounded okay. Dialog was hard to understand. Music was awful. Any spacial trickery Sony claims they're achieving is overstated. This is a TV that will eventually live in a bedroom in our house and therefore we were willing to put up with much less than cinematic sound. But, like most TVs today, its speakers are so bad that, if you're willing to spend a little more for such a superb picture, you're going need at least a mid-range soundbar. We paired it with a SONOS Beam within 48 hours and are pleased. For screens larger than our 50-inch set, a bigger soundstage than what the SONOS Beam delivers will be required. Bottom line: the picture on Sony's X90J TVs is excellent and worth the price alone, but you will definitely need to upgrade the sound.

Pros: All inputs look great right out of the box. Google TV is a huge improvement over Android TV UI.

Cons: For a company that makes some great audio products, the sound on this TV is embarrassingly poor.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

nice product

Crutchfield customer from Canton, CT on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellant product, fun to use, great picture . i'm still learning many of the features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XR-50X90J

Crutchfield customer from Quebradillas, PR on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Calidad en la imagen

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XR-50X90J

Crutchfield customer from Ocean City, NJ on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great TV. I only buy SONY and this is another great SOMY

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great TV

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the Sony for about a month and so far I'm very pleased with it. I bought it mainly to watch sports and recent events like the WCWS and French Open looked great. Movies, especially some of the 4K UHD movies on Amazon Prime, are exceptionally clear. The audio is pretty good for a TV but I've got it connected to an HT-Z9F sound bar. I'd recommend a sound bar for best results.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Price worthy!

Crutchfield customer from San German, PR on 6/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Waited for my PS5 to be delivered before giving a full review. The TV's overall build doesn't strike a premium feel but internally it really delivers! Tested almost every media I got and it played flawless. Navigation/transition is fast and responsive. External HDD plays directly on TV with USB 3.0. The new advertised procesor really enhances lower resolutions in every posible way, even toons and anime look way better! HDMI 2.1 and eArc ports work with a PS5 as expected. On that note, I had to manually set the HDMI port to recognize it as a HDMI 2.1 for the PS5 to handle native 4k 60hz HDR, weird but nothing you can't fix yourself. Have not tested gaming on 120hz yet because of lack of compatible content. HDR is very colorful and lively despite it being not a "wide color gamut" TV. Brightness is just perfect for my medium light enviroment and colors stay accurate on my eyes day and night. OLED's look best on dark/low light enviroments as they don't get bright compared to full array LED's. The Game Mode really improves input lag and games are VERY responsive. You just need to play a bit with the color options to bring the best picture quality on Game Mode. Using the "interpplations" improves visuals but adds noticeable imput lag, not recommended for gaming. The TV's audio not fully tested since I have a soundbar but sounds way better than your average TV alone. Overall, best 2021 option for the price for multimedia/gaming and for non-OLED TV units.

Pros: Fast and responsive on all types of content, specially gaming (PS5) Bright enough for low/medium light enviroments. Friendly User Interface Easy setup

Cons: Not a very slim unit (if you care for wall mounting) Build feels a bit cheap (if you care for thar stuff)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XR-50X90J

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and great picture. I just switched from Samsung to Sony and so far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

A Good One!

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson, LA on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new TV. The picture is beautiful, color brilliant and the system easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Love the TV

Crutchfield customer from Beavercreek, OH on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the TV it has a very good color nice size for my room easy to set up it does it for you just say yes no or otherwise very convenient I would recommend it highly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XR-50X90J

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, DE on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good picture--seems to learn as it goes (if you let it find all of the right settings).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP