Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
803 935 222 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
803 935 222 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Sony XBR-55A8G

55" A8G Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2019)

MFR # XBR55A8G

Sony XBR-55A8G

Sony XBR-55A8G

55" A8G Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2019)

MFR # XBR55A8G

16 reviews
View this product

Sony XBR-55A8G 4K TV

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The XBR-55A8G has a nice picture & is great for gaming! I mainly bought it for gaming but meant to get the XBR-55A8H I believe? Totally my mistake but still very happy with the TV for the price. Has many picture options which I personally like because I'm not a fan of preset picture settings. You can make the picture exactly how you want it if you take the time to do it. A few cons at the moment would be the Dolby Digital out to my Sony reciever via fiber optic will not work? There isn't a setting I can find to change it? It'll only output sound in LPCM-48 from the TV itself from the Home page where you would use all your Apps like Netflix, Hulu etc...Now if I want surround I have to use my Xbox & that's kinda why I got a smart TV so i wasnt running 2 things to watch TV. It may even be something I'm not seeing but i honestly can't find it? Other con is the TV stand....its just ugly. I'm sure I'll figure out the sound problem but overall I like it for what I bought it for. Crutchfield also is great to buy from! 1st thing I've purchased from them being a TV kinda had me like IDK? It was here within a wk & zero damage to the TV, box was in perfect shape. Thanks guys I appreciate it, will definitely buy again as soon as you get the reciever I want in stock.

Pros: It's a great TV, has a great picture. Great for gaming!

Cons: TV stand is ugly & having an issue getting 5.1 fiber optic out to work correctly. Could be me, not the TV tho?

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-55A8G

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best television I ever own

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TV

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, TX on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture. Sony the one ond only.

Pros: Easy setup. Great picture.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-55A8G

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brilliant picture, the OS interface is less user friendly than my samsung, and google pay is attempting to double billing for apps i previously utilize. It synchs really good with my bluetooth speakers. It looks really good on my console table, no visible spaghetti unlike samsung (kudos). Its a really nice gaming tv. Overall Im really pleased.

Pros:

Cons: the remote is bulky and not stream lined to appeal to the eye and not very user friendly, the tv stand is ugly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-55A8G

Crutchfield customer from Cornelius, NC on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazingly clear and vibrant colors and everything that can be expected from Sony.

Pros: On screen controls extremely easy to understand.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-55A8G

Michelle from Yankton, SD on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing TV, very clear pictures, it feels like you are right there in the scene. Would recommend this TV to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mr.

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, OH on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, I ordered a scratch&dent product. I have been look for a new TV for more than a year. This Sony TV stands up to all the hype, I love it. Because I have a Sony AV receiver which directly connected easily and completely. All my sound is through my receiver . The IR blaster control my cable setbox with my Sony remote. I can control it all with one remote.... The picture is beautiful. The choice of apps is huge. The TV was completely set up by me within 1 hour. Compared to my siblings tv mine seems to be the best in every way possible.. The price was perfect and I have been watching the prices for quite awhile

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-55A8G

Crutchfield customer from San Leandro, CA on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from a high-end Panasonic plasma which had served me well, so my standards were already high. This new type of panel is the worthy successor to plasma in terms of image quality. I'm very pleased with the performance of this set.

Pros: Excellent picture quality. If you're a videophile, you will be pleased with this set.

Cons: Only downside is the remote that Sony chose to package with this series. A nicer remote his package with the A9G series sets.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-55A8G

Crutchfield customer from Lanham, MD on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, easy setup

Pros: Picture, easy setup

Cons: Short power cord

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-55A8G

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, NY on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is excellent, but the picture is no better than regular old XBR-75-850E. The price is too high. I should buy XBR-xx950G instead.

Pros: Sound excellent

Cons: Picture is like regular Sony LED. Expensive

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Perfection

Crutchfield customer from Lewes, DE on 11/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Right out of the box, beautiful display picture and brilliant colors, needed only minor picture adjustments to customize for my visual preferences. Setup was quick and easy with provided menu navigation. Remote was easy to use and the TV paired very well with a Sony 4K Blue Ray Player (UBP-X800M2). The combination was dramatic in producing an ultra quality Picture of Brilliant Colors.

Pros: Ease of use, setup, and personal adjustments to suite one's visual preferences. Also pairs well with a satellite programming service. The problem of a narrow viewing angle that we see with LED displays disappears with this OLED TV. WOW!

Cons: A minor inconvenience, I chose to use the table top Stand Mount. The infrared censor is located at the bottom center of the display. which can be interfered with when placing a DVD Player, set top box or center channel speaker in front of the display, blocking remote IR signals.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XBR-55A8G

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such a great tv, I love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-55A8G

Crutchfield customer from Lk Havasu Cty, AZ on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice tv my second Sony last one lasted 12+ years

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Outstanding

Crutchfield customer from Jasper, GA on 9/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Back in 2010 Crutchfield helped me choose a soundbar & mounting bracket for my vintage-2006 plasma TV. The time came for replacement came This time around I'd already settled on this Sony OLED TV, but Crutchfield's help & support nine years-ago led me to a last-minute decision to buy it from them. Delivery was exemplary - two-days earlier than anticipated. And the OLED Bravia has been everything I'd hoped for. The picture is just stunning. I'd read about the importance of black levels but, until you see for yourself the dynamic range afforded by OLED, you can't appreciate it. (A word of advice, and this applies to any smart TV: for consistency, stability & throughput, try if you can to connect the TV to your home router via an Ethernet cable rather than using WiFi.)

Pros: Incredible picture and easy initial setup.

Cons: Initial learning curve for menu familiarization.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

12 of 12 found this helpful

Great upgrade to the world of 4k.

Crutchfield customer from Germantown, MD on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade to the world of 4k. Last piece of the puzzle is in place. Great features. Slotted right in place of prior set. Excellent delivery times from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

My Football Sony

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far TV is great, nice clear bright picture screen. I really haven't had it long enough to make an assessment. It's in a roomI don't use that much right now. I have several other TVs I watch located in other rooms. I'm waiting for football season.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 11 found this helpful

TOP