Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XBR-65A8H

65" A8H Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2020)

MFR # XBR65A8H/A

Sony XBR-65A8H

Sony XBR-65A8H

65" A8H Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2020)

MFR # XBR65A8H/A

73 reviews
View this product

Total home remodel

Crutchfield customer from Seabrook, MD on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture is beautiful it's very responsive Thin and we love it.

Pros: Great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent picture, but sound drops while streaming

RICHARD from SAN DIEGO, CA on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture quality is superb and I really like the Android TV user interface. I was considering the competing LG TV, but I don't like the user interface they use. Why four stars instead of five? Rumor is Sony isn't going to upgrade the Android TV interface to the Google TV interface introduced on their Chromecast dongle (which I use on an older TV) which instantly makes my brand new TV "last year's technology". Also, I am having the same problems that other people are having with the sound of certain streaming channels (such as Disney+ and HBO Max) dropping out intermittently. The TV already received an update since its purchase which did not fix this problem. There doesn't seem to be a fix for this other than to perhaps use a separate Roku or Google TV device. This however defeats the reason I spent $$ on a new TV. I am hoping a future update to the TV or the streaming apps will fix this issue.

Pros: Spectacular Picture Quality Useful Android TV User Interface Looks fantastic even when off!

Cons: Rumors that Sony won't upgrade Android TV to newest Google TV interface Sound drops/clips on certain streaming channels

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No regrets from someone a bit behind on tech

Crutchfield customer from Rock Springs, WY on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My review should perhaps be taken with the understanding that my last tv was a Sony KDL46V4100, from 2009. So, most any modern tv in 2020 is going to impress me. I normally upgrade on a ~6 year schedule, but skipped 2015 due to a car project, then I got into racing, which ate all the budget for many years. Finally decided to treat myself indoors though (aren't we all spending more time there these days?) and wow... am I glad I did. At first, it was a bit disorienting. One doesn't consider that a 19" larger tv in this case is roughly 30 percent larger, but when you see it in the same spot... it makes an impression. On the color / brightness subject, I see a lot of consideration given to the superiority of led displays in the brightness factor. Well, happy to report that the Sony A8H does not disappoint in brightness. In fact, I've had to turn it down to about half its max to avoid being blinded, no joke! Color and clarity are phenomenal, compared to my old set. Been playing a lot of Super Mario 64 the past week, this tv managed to make 24 year old early 3d games look great, a feat to be admired. I have yet to see anything in 4k due to a lack of reasonably fast internet or hardware to display it, but I have no reason to expect anything less than impressive there. All in all, no regrets. It may not be the tv for every situation, but it works great for me! =)

Pros: -Color, clarity, brightness even in a reasonably bright room. -Quick to get through menus and explain what each feature does for the most part. -Sound is surprising for a screen so thin, could possibly be used as a center channel? -Two position stand is a fantastic idea! In the "tall" setting, can put a PS4 slim underneath, with a bit of room to spare, for reference.

Cons: -Let's not pretend the price is not a concern for most folks. Only reason I went this route is because I skipped an entire upgrade cycle. Price will come down and OLED displays will become more common in time, and the tech inside them will get better too, if history is to be believed. If you catch an A8H on sale you could certainly do worse! -Sound, while impressive for a modern tv, is not going to replace a proper AV system. If you're going for a screen of this caliber though...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clear picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Mark from LOS ANGELES, CA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Firstly, let me state that I have been a Sony TV person for over 30+ years. I had the original XBR1 30 inch flat panel, then purchased the XBR4 50 inch and now this XBR-65A8H. The picture on this TV is FANTASTIC. The blacks are deep and the colors are bright and true. I did consider the LG OLED TVs (yes I know that LG actually makes the OLED Panel for the Sony), BUT Sony's final output is better (not quite as bright as the LG, but more true). I mounted it to my wall with the matching Sony wall mount and it is as if my wall came to life...I would highly recommend this TV to anyone that is looking to upgrade. The sound out of the TV itself is impressive for a flat panel OLED, but I have mine connected to my Denon receiver with Vienna Acoustics surround sound speakers and a Martin Logan subwoofer. Crutchfield after sales support was very helpful with the final installation.

Pros: Fantastic picture quality.

Cons: Minor - the remote is not back lit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful Picture

David from CEDAR FALLS, IA on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful picture! We are really enjoying our first new TV in over 15 years. I had some great tech support from Crutchfield, when setting up the sound integration with my home entertainment system. Thanks!

Pros: Sony picture, Crutchfield tech support.

Cons: Google...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, WV on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivered within days of placing my order. Unboxing and setup no problem. Turning on and progamming was very simple only had to input a few passwords wi-fi, netflix and the tv did the rest. Wasn't sure about spending the money on an Oled but it does has an awesome picture. Total satisfied so far..Crutchfield delievered.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent picture and software

Marc from Durham on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are so many good things about this TV. The picture is sharp and the colors are stunning. It's a joy to watch and sometime my wife is watching a show and I'm really watching the TV and how good the picture looks. I really liked how it used my android phone to set itself up. It made setup a snap as it automatically detected my router and linked to it. The software is excellent and caused me to immediately gave away my Firestick (the old Firestick was 1024 anyway). I liked that it's not an amazon product so the TV software doesn't give preference to those products like the Firestick did. My previous LG was a good LCD TV, but it is nothing like this Sony. This TV exceeded my expectations in every way.

Pros: Picture quality, software, setup using phone link

Cons: The picture is so sharp you can see skin imperfections on some actors. Glad to see I'm not the only one with nose hairs.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

This is the 4K TV you've been waiting for...

Donald W from PLEASANT HILL, CA on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While we expected a higher resolution image than our 10-year old SONY LED TV and our older-still Hitachi plasma TV, we were not prepared for the impressive quality of the image even when upscaling from HDTV. As others have stated, the colors are true and exceptionally realistic, the black is profoundly black, and the 4K images are stunning. We upgraded our cable box to a 4K version as well which ensures any 4K content is displayed in native resolution. The depth of field is lifelike which makes many Netflix shows immersive experiences, as if we are in the scene with the actors. Frankly, this TV exceeds our expectations on every level whether the input is cable, Blu-ray DVD or computer HDMI input upscaled to 4K. Our Crutchfield advisor was right: the screen size is less important than the processor. Make sure you get the Sony X1 video processor and you'll be more than satisfied with the result. We use the optical audio output to our soundbar and enjoy balanced sound with equalization to emphasize the human voice (for most shows with dialogue) or music for concerts. Buy with confidence!

Pros: Outstanding value for the price Exceptional image quality / resolution Upscaled 4K images are stunning True color, deep blacks 3 HDMI inputs, optical audio output Easy setup

Cons: None - just wish we had bought it sooner.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic picture

Crutchfield customer from Catawissa, PA on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture is unlike any tv we ever had. You feel like you are standing there with the people on the set. Love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Bernardsville, NJ on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An absolutely incredible picture and sound. The color clarity is amazing. There is no need for an additional sound system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Weeki Wachee, FL on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great pic right out of the box!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Seneca , SC on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tv

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony xbr-65ah8

Crutchfield customer from Martinsburg, WV on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic tv / what more can I say? / beautiful tv , beautiful picture, beautiful sound! / also nice price / Black Friday sale / cant be happier! Eric byrd

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from St Clair Shores, MI on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture the apps on the tv are easy to use and download

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, great sound. Huge improvement over our old plasma tv and moderately priced led TV.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: Sony wants a lot of information permissions. There's a little or no explanation of the necessity for the permissions on the setup screens and none in the paperwork that comes with the TV.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Get this one!!

Crutchfield customer from Waterford, NY on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast shipping!! UPS was great! Unbelievably beautiful picture! Have a 4K blu ray player on the way with some Real 4k movies!! Nice upconvertion of some old non 4k titles. New Pink Floyd DSOT remaster looks great!! Also, no big Sony logo on the front is a nice touch. Enjoy!

Pros: 65" looks perfectly proportionate with the stand in my LR.

Cons: Too much time spent watching tv.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Repeat Customer

Crutchfield customer from Tuckahoe, NY on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The purchase, delivery and installation couldn't have been easier!

Pros: Very easy installation. Picture is so much brighter than my 2008 Sony Bravia which this model replaced.

Cons: The was a lot of packaging materials. And not being able to lay down the unit to install the wall bracket was inconvenient.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Guest from Battle Creek, MI on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I do not like it. Picture is not very sharp and it is not bright either. The screen reflects light a little bit too much. It is 120 Hz and I certainly would not use this TV to watch sport program.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/2/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your TV. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent video with buggy audio

Huey from San Diego, CA on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The video quality of this set is amazing. It has become the main TV for us to gather around and watch nightly. The reason I could not give it a perfect score is due to its audio output. I've owned this set for 2 months and within that period there are 3 occasions that the unit was turned on with no audio output. Switching through the menu I could still hear the beeping sound and movies from YouTube still had audio. It's dead silence for everything else. The only way to recover the audio was to remove power to the set. It's very annoying. Hope Sony will have a FW fix for it soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Reference Monitor Quality

TV Guy! from Harrisburg, PA on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I work in the Broadcast Engineering field. This is a reference grade TV at a great price. Sony OLED takes an LG panel and adds all the great Sony processing. No one does upscaling of HD content better than Sony. This TV can be viewed from any angle with no loss of color or brightness. The black levels are incredibly deep. Rich picture only begins to describe this TV. If you are picky, I would strongly consider this TV. It is a piece of electronic artistry. You wont be sorry and Crutchfield makes it easy. Like Sony they offer the best service and consultation. (Thanks to my advisor Sonny).

Pros: Deep Dark Blacks. Phenomenal View Angles. Responsive and Quick. Beautiful resolution.

Cons: Well, it shows some inferior video sources what they are.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Customer service.

Freeman from CHULA VISTA, CA on 11/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very grateful for the kind of service I have received from Jimmy & Lane. They clearly understand the true value of customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Picture

Crutchfield customer from Laurel Springs, NJ on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TV has an excellent picture out of the box. Very good color accuracy and brightness. Every bit as good as the LG OLED CX (same price range). Very easy to unpackage; requires two people to be safe. Initial connections and set-up took 10 to 15 minutes. Above average sound for normal TV viewing. Personal thanks to Doug for his thoughts re this model.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, IN on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the Sony A8h for almost 3 weeeks and love it. I'm not a gamer,but love watching movies so the hdmi 2.0 spec. isn't a big deal for me. If you enjoy film then, I would totally recommend this Sony;but if your a gamer , I'd recommend you look for a tv meets your gaming, movie and tv expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, delivery was prompt & well packaged with no visible damage. Removal from the carton was easy as well as the installation/set-up. Technical Support was provided for an issue connecting to our home WiFi. One call and issued was resolved. Just had to remember to upgrade our Comcast Cable Box to enjoy the 4K content. Picture and Sound are incredible!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Ammon, ID on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing picture and super simple set-up! Some reviews say the set-up was confusing- not sure why it would have been- the tv walks you through step by step. Maybe took five minutes and we were ready to go! Perfect size for our small theater set up downstairs paired with klipsch surround and onkio receiver- we'll never go to the movie theater again! Really impressed so far with the picture quality of the tv so far. The blacks are SUPER BLACK, especially in a very dark room- and even more impressive when the lights are on. We didn't originally want to spend this much on a tv, but very glad we did!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Beautifully fast TV

Crutchfield customer from Evergreen, CO on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Remember back when TVs didn't have computers in them and you just turned them on? No "powering on please wait" or watching the little spinner while Amazon or Netflix loaded. Well that's what this one does! It turns on instantly and everything loads lightning fast! My old tv is a Sony Bravia 50" that I bought six years ago, and after I finished our basement remodel, I wanted bigger and better, so I went for the Sony OLED. You can't mess with Sony. And make no mistake, it's just as amazing as everyone says, but what I notice most every time I time I turned it on is just how fast it is!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony Bravia + Crutchfield = A Happy Camper!

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love this television. The picture (the reason for the purchase) is phenomenal. The darks are rich and the colors is vibrant. I purchased it on sale at Crutchfield, which made the buy even sweeter. If you're thinking about an OLED television, definitely consider the Sony Bravia. Of course, the Crutchfield buying experience cannot be beat! I try to purchase all of my electronics from Crutchfield; excellent prices and great customer service.

Pros: Beautiful picture and awesome response rate!

Cons: It is a bit pricey; so get it on sale.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Berlin, NJ on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful picture, great sound for a tv.

Pros: Tremendous picture quality.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Ewa Beach, HI on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this tv so far. I just purchased last month but I really like the UI for settngs and the sound is good although I prefer my soundbar for audio.

Pros: Great access to settings Beautiful color and picture

Cons: Atmos is nearly no excitant

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing picture

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I expect most top of the line OLED TVs offer this level of picture. This Sony is simply amazing. Well regarded and highly rated, it doesn't disappoint. Among the reasons I chose this Sony is for the height adjustable stand to accommodate a sound bar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Richmond Hill, GA on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful TV. Right out of the box, excellent color and picture. Very pleased as I have had TV's in the past that looked horrible out the box and required lots of step up / calibration. Only concerns are.. First, tv is very heavy and very fragile! Well at least it seemed like it but I was stressing out trying to mount it with a helper. Second, maybe once a day the HDMI EARC cuts off, so sound cuts out to my receiver and I have to power off/on my receiving and then everything synchs back up. Have not had time to research but a bit of a hassle. Having said that, if I could go back I would have still bought this TV. I love it and the picture is breathtaking!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Forest Hills, NY on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

David from Davisburg, MI on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a TV!!! Love it!!! The colors are some much crisper, clearer, and sharper than the 8 year old Samsung 55 inch that it replaced. Love that you have different settings for picture such as the vivid, standard, cinema, etc. I have played around with that while watching different shows or movies to see which one looks best. So far the only downside that I have found as others have noted in their reviews is that the remote isn't backlit so it can be difficult to see the buttons if you are watching with the lights off. Have it paired with a Sony STR-DN1080 and Sony UBP-X800M2 that were all bought roughly at the same time to fully upgrade my home theater system. So far in heaven with everything.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Pedro L from Mayaguez, PR on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony A8H is an excellent Oled TV that delivers incredible picture quality for any type of content and is a fairly decent upgrade over its predecessor the Sony A8G. Sony best picture processor, beautifully refined, natural pictures. It's important to remember what's most important about a television: the picture and, to a lesser extent, the sound it produces. And where these fundamentals are concerned, the Sony is right up there with the best around.

Pros: Excellent blacks Accelerate color reproduction Google Assistant built in, plus Alexa and Homekit support Mic status light on the remote Highly customizable UI

Cons: Only two size options Remote isn't backlit No HDMI 2.1

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony Bravia A8H

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing picture quality at a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, easy set up. Wish remote was backlit.

Pros: Picture, set up

Cons: Remote not backlit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great TV

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, CT on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing picture quality--colors are very pure -especially skin tones

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This television is stylish and has a fantastic picture. We are thrilled. Can't wait to connect it to the AV receiver we also have. With respect to delivery, we have no complaints whatsoever. The television arrived in accordance with the schedule promised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What a picture!

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, AL on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a 12 year old Sony Bravia LCD with this TV. I was afraid it would be too dark being an OLED. After a few setting adjustments, this thing is amazingly beautiful and plenty bright enough for my area. The sound is also very good. Bass is a little less than my old TV but it's still very good considering how thin this TV is. It synced up nicely with my older sony surround system. Overall, I'm extremely satisfied with my purchase and would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I want to start with saying the process of ordering the tv was fast and easy. The arrival of the tv was a day earlier than estimated. The setup of the tv was fast and simple and the best part is that picture is amazing and the sound much better than the 55" led that I have. With all the apps that is available for streaming I plan to cut the cable. Crutchfield is a great company to order quality products, I have used them before and never been disappointed and will definitely use them in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

"Would buy again!!"

Crutchfield customer from Pinellas Park, FL on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great and beautiful tv!!!! Was easy to set up and looks great out of the box!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A8H 65 Sony TV

Crutchfield customer from Aberdeen, NC on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The color on the TV is striking. Didn't realize what I was missing and the 65 size is fantastic. The only negative is the remote does not recognize Directv cable box. Too many remotes.

Pros: Great color and clarity. Easy to use and setup.

Cons: No written instructions and remote does not recognize Directv cable box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product.

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Everything we expected from a 65 inch TV. Outstanding picture and very respectful sound quality.

Pros: Beyond the exceptional image quality the product is easy to assemble and operate.

Cons: Missing Apple TV

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Massillon, OH on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture very nice. Interface simple

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice

Wayne from Ocala, FL on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After owning several LED TVs throughout the last 15 years and viewing the Sony XBR-65A8H next to a high end QLED, I now have this one in my home. Right away I started looking for content to see the capabilities of this technology. After watching a clip from Gemini Man in 4k with 60fps frame rate I knew this was a keeper. We were blown away by the detail and how sharp the picture was. It was almost like looking out a window and being there. We also see a large increase in viewing upscaled content from our streaming service. Only negative would be, we want more truer 4k content, which not all advertised 4k is the same. How a 4k Blu ray player is on the list of must haves. Watching true 4k is a must before reviewing this tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great TV

Crutchfield customer from Union Hall, VA on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are very impressed with the picture quality of the TV. Android TV also works well. Our only minor complaint is that the remote is not backlit, and it appears that you cannot program individual buttons on the remote. That being said, the remote does operate all our devices (directv an av system).

Pros: picture quality

Cons: remote

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful TV. Incredible picture with surprisingly good sound. Setup and user interface are easy. Highly recommended. The icing on the cake is Crutchfield's customer service. They are knowledgeable and made the whole experience of replacing my old TV actually pleasurable. I wouldn't buy another anywhere else.

Pros: Picture, Sound, Ease of setup, Crutchfield's customer service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointed

Kevin from Kill Devil Hills, NC on 10/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, I have dealt with Crutchfield for years and they are awesome. Great techs, service, products etc. 5 Stars to them. Now to the XBR- 65A8H: For movies it is great. Blacks are deep, but colors are muted for my taste. I have it set in a large darker room that has some windows and it reflects those windows too much. I have been working on getting the picture more vivid to over come reflections but haven't found a good mix. Live tv is not colorful and dim. No printed manual and the one on line is not model specific. I can't even find a diagram of all the outputs. I want to use my sennheiser headphones and it seems I have to plug them in each time I switch from my receive. Then unplug when I want to go back to receiver. This is problematic when the tv is mounted on the wall. The tv this is replacing is a Samsung UN60F8000 60-Inch 1080p 240Hz 3D Ultra Slim Smart LED HDTV (2013 Model). The only reason I switched was because I was really excited about OLED and when I saw them at stores they seemed to look awesome. I guess they programming at the stores were designed to grab your attention (ya'think?) I think I am a traditional LED guy.

Pros: Great for movies

Cons: Live tv and sports are muted in colors and not vivid. Plug in Headphones requires manually plugging in and unplugging each time for use. No model specific manual.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Easy setup with WIFI mesh AC

Joseph J from LANGHORNE, PA on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have received the Sony XBR65A8H in excellent condition and set up was easy using my home WIFI 5 network.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony Bravia65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Fallston, MD on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful picture and many features and apps to choose from. Expensive but worth the price.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Buy this without regret!

Crutchfield customer from White Plains, NY on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great TV - sound and picture are both amazing! Love this TV. Crutchfield is my favorite vendor for electronics. Staff is so helpful with making good choices. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Leo, IN on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I chose the Sony over the L.G. because I thought it was a better fit for my family. The picture is more than awesome, we are very satisfied with our purchase. The football games are unbelievable. Talk about being there, the colors are so vivid. We made a good purchase, and the people at Crutchfield are very helpful. This is my second T.V. from Crutchfield. Chas.

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my XBR-65A8H TV. Dealing with the Crutchfield team was a pleasure and I will certainly look to Crutchfield for my next purchase,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Simply Stunning!

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an incredible TV! I've always been a fan of Sony TV, and I think they still have the best picture quality compared to other manufacturers. This TV replaces my 13 year old Panasonic 50 inch plasma, which I enjoyed for many years. Loved the picture quality of the plasma, but can't really watch it during the day time, it is simply not bright enough. My living room is very bright with lots of sunlight, and I have no expectation on how this OLED TV performs in day time. I was surprised to see how good it looks on the brightest day. No issue with brightness at all, except for some reflections which I can totally understand. I am also very happy to have decided on the 65 inch. I was concerned that it might dominate the look of my living room, so I was considering the 55 inch instead. As soon as I mounted the TV, I knew I have made the right decision. There is not much I can say about the picture quality. It is simply stunning, and beyond my expectation. I was watching "Black Panther" from Disney Plus with 4K and Dolby Vision. The color is so rich but not over saturated like other manufacturers. I'm 2 weeks into owning this TV and still smiling every time I turn it on. I'm also glad to have purchased this over the 2019 Master series because it is cheaper and most reviews said this is actually better than last year's Master series. No regret at all. Finally, thanks to Crutchfield for being such an awesome company.

Pros: Exceptional picture. Bright enough for day time viewing

Cons: Not a big fan of Android TV interface. No user manual included. Only available online.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great TV

Crutchfield customer from Avon, IN on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tv is awesome...of course it better be with the price. This tv does what the Crutchfield listing claims. This new tv is replacing a Sony KDL700 so improvements were noticed immediately when using it for the first time. My wife was giving me grief because I upgraded from a 40" to "65" and she hated the cost. As soon as I turned on the tv she stopped talking when she saw the picture. After about a minute of silence she finally told me that this is the best tv picture she ever saw and she has not complained since. The picture is so crisp. The blacks are perfect. The picture seems to be smooth as I watch fast moving sports...though I have not had the opportunity to sit and watch my Irish play football. This tv is great watch in a dark room or with a lot of light. Angle viewing of this tv is good so if there are a lot of people in the room watching at any angle can work. The built in audio is even great for a flat tv. I have never heard such great audio from a flat tv! I have a Denon receiver so I do not need to rely on the tv speakers but do not be afraid to use the built in speakers if you are a casual tv watcher.

Pros: Great picture Nice audio Easy to understand menus Nice compact remote

Cons: Would be nice to have a backlit remote

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent TV. Met all my expectations. Crutchfield is superb. I have never had any issues with any product purchased from them. I have been dealing with Crutchfield since the 80's .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazingly detailed picture and well put together.

Pros: Amazingly detailed picture and well put together

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Ridgefield, CT on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic picture, especially for the price. The Android TV software runs as well as I've seen on a Sony TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simply Amazing Sony

Crutchfield customer from Hilton, NY on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just simply amazing picture. The price has also come down in line where Oled is within reach and you will not be disappointed. The service and technical support afterwards is second to none as well. Thank you

Pros: Amazing picture easy set up

Cons: Backlit remote would be a plus

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

OLED upgrade

Dave from Grand Rapids, MI on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

outstanding picture quality. Replaced XBR-900 55" which is an excellent tv but the OLED is such a great improvement. Sound quality from the "screen " speaker is pretty good. I had to use for a few days until we could figure out how to make the earc work with my older receiver and home theater setup. Really like the clarity for off angle viewing. Remote is simple to use, laid out nicely but should back lit like my Harmony. Sale price really made the decision to buy easy.

Pros: Great picture quality, easy set up

Cons: Remote needs backlighting

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Can't go wrong with a Sony TV

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Breathtaking colors, awesome TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Satisfied with the Sony 65A8H OLED

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This 65" OLED replaced a 7 year old 60" Samsung plasma (which was pretty darn good imo). I've had it about 2 weeks, sitting on the mantle (was glad it weighs 25 lbs less than the LG). I put the adjustable feet 'up' and put my sound bar between the feet. I'm no audiophile, but surprisingly I have not been using the sound bar - the TV sound is quite good. Typical use is TV through a cable box, so while the picture is perfectly fine I imagine it is only as good as the signal coming in. Overall I am satisfied, and it didn't hurt that I waited a few months and the price came down, to the same as the LG 65" OLED.

Pros: Easy set up Audio Picture (with lots of adjustable settings)

Cons: I'm no videophile, so while it is great to have a lot of video settings that can be tweaked, it can be a bit much trying to fine tune.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a real smart TV with an unbelievable video experience. This TV's built in image processing capabilities are phenomenal!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best TV I've ever owned

Crutchfield customer from Reeds Spring, MO on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture is absolutely brilliant. Clarity and color are superb. I've never owned a TV that has had such vibrant colors. I also can now see movies filmed in the dark. Before, all I was able to see was darkness and shadows, now I see the actors and background. More realistic images. Glad I purchased this!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best picture!!!

Mark from Studio City, CA on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tv is unbelievable!! So accurate and so clear, you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Black levels are best I've ever seen

Cons: Not the brightest tv but the colors are so real

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wow! What a Picture!

Crutchfield customer from Carmichael, CA on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Picture on this OLED is gorgeous! We watch tv shows, movies and sports. Those looking to play games may wish to look at LG OLEDs but if not you cannot beat this picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best tv ever..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sony XBR-65A8H

Crutchfield customer from Yardley, PA on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We researched this TV and so glad we bought thru Crutchfield.

Pros: Beautiful picture, and easy set up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

4.5 Stars - FANTASTIC Picture (mostly) w/ a few minor issues

Crutchfield customer from Surprise, AZ on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, let me just say that when watching 4k discs or streaming content. I'm thoroughly enjoying getting to re-watch some shows and movies that were previously challenging due to the contrast limitations of an LED set. You will NOT be disappointed with the picture on this if you primarily stream/watch movies. It's also PLENTY bright (my main concern going into this purchase). There are some things I don't like though. The remote is NOT backlit. That's just a cheap thing to not include imo. My 7 year old Samsung had one and now this set doesn't? HDMI 2.1 is not included. Yeah, I know, this isn't an 8k set, but would it have really pained Sony that much more to make it 2.1 compatible? Finally, when watching regular tv through my cable box - the picture doesn't wow me and I think my older LED set looks better. I primarily watch true crime shows on the ID Network so maybe that's just an issue with the content on there? I am eager to see how sports look on here, unfortunately that's all been in hiatus thanks to COVID.

Pros: Fantastic picture for streaming/4k discs, plenty bright for OLED, very little blurring on fast moving scenes

Cons: No backlit remote, not HDMI 2.1, picture is so-so (relatively speaking) for regular cable tv shows.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

Picture Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture perfect. We were replacing a plasma TV and worried that we'd lose the contract and beautiful blacks....but NO, the picture is so good it almost looks 3D! We use a controller and it was special to find that the TV has an IR port so we can plug our system directly into it to control the TV without relying on IR repeaters. Great experience with Crutchfield and an outstanding TV!

Pros: Crystal clear picture Deep blacks High Contrast IR port

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Thanks Crutchfield for existing! Would be lost with my A/V purchases.

John from Aliquippa, PA on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an incredible tv. After my Panasonic Plasma stopped working after 7 years I started to do research and watched many Youtube reviews on OLED tv's. Being a heavy cinemafile collector and with proper research, I've decided on the Sony brand of tv's. I don't need the HDMI 2.1 versions that are now becoming a standard on your LG OLED's for refresh rates for gaming. I was looking for more of a high quality movie experience. Can't believe how light the tv is compared to the old Plasma. Setup was quick but getting the eARC was a little tricky since I had to do some reconfiguration with my Integra pre-amp. I run the Custom Setting in the picture mode and the picture quality blows me away. Like my plasma but much more vibrant. Can't wait to get my tv professionally calibrated. Been doing business; as a consumer, with Crutchfield since 1991. And they have never let me down. Can call them anytime to pick their brains and they have always taken the time in answering my questions with great explanation. Now I'm waiting for my gift card so I can purchase the Panasonic UB820 4k BD Player for my new tv. Oh, and the tv's streaming apps, again I'm blown away and watched a few movies on XUMO. Again, the picture quality is awesome. Blown away again! Crutchfield and the extended warranty they offer is the best in the business. And the great variety of products that they carry; again, is beyond incredible with great competitive pricing. Can't go wrong with Crutchfield.

Pros: Very competitively priced. Incredible picture quality leaning more towards the true cinemafile type of a viewer. Lighter then most other tv's in the 65" range. Easy to setup and to perform your own calibration.

Cons: New technological screens are much thinner and flexible. Must be more careful when mounting on a wall. Don't be a hero, get a helping hand. It's not about the light weight that's of concern, it's the flexing of the screen that can damage the tv if not handled properly. Be nice if it had more HDMI ports. Need a better, more in-depth manual.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

WOW, I'll say it again WOW!

Crutchfield customer from Erie, CO on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal picture! It's amazing that there could be that much difference in quality. Don't fool yourself, 4k/OLED is the only way to go. I was planning to get a 65" OLED (done!) and an 85" full array w/local dimming... Can't do that now. The others are pretenders, I'm now hooked on the best picture possible, so a 77" is in my very near future. Maybe there will be some competition, but not now and not next year. (8k, is nice, but still, until it's in OLED and widely available, it's 4k/OLED)

Pros: Picture Blacks Acoustic Surface Audio+ eARC - (don't buy a TV without this feature) Crutchfield Service

Cons: It isn't an 85" 8k/OLED w/available content

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP