Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

77" A9G Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2019)

MFR # XBR77A9G

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

77" A9G Smart OLED 4K UHD TV with HDR (2019)

MFR # XBR77A9G

75 reviews
View this product

Die ca

Crutchfield customer from Ft Leavnwrth, KS on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such a difference from my LED TV and well with the price. Picture quality is superior to any TV on the market. I've always owned Sony and this is the best one yet. Excellent customer service provided by Crutchfield as always

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Niagara Falls, NY on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service on selection Delivery was perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Fairless Hills, PA on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic TV!! Everything that I expected it to be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes. It's all it's made out to be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't be scared of "open box!"

Cowboy from Martinsburg, WV on 1/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good evening! I am not going to spend a lot of time talking about the qualities and functions of this television. I do agree with many reviewers that have stated that it is the most beautiful picture ever seen on a TV. Flat out period, I agree with that. I'd like to spend a few moments and describe some of my buying experiences with Crutchfield in the last few months. The purchase of this TV was a huge financial"reach" for me, so my consultant Simon at Crutchfield suggested that I consider purchasing an "open box" unit. This represented a nearly 15% savings over the full-freight price, and I decided to go that route. It arrived in 3 days (!), which was a stunner in itself. The delivery driver helped me wiggle this monster into the house, and as soon as he left, I carefully examined all of the packaging. I found it impossible to identify even a scuff on the packaging, or any seam that showed evidence of cut tape, or having ever been disturbed from factory packaging. Next, I opened the top of the box, and found the complete un-packaging directions. Nothing in that box had been disturbed since it had been put in there, so I have no idea what Crutchfield found that made them discount this TV. After I let the TV warm up in the house for a few hours, I turned it on. Wow. Now, about the other purchases: I have had to have three "consultations" to put together my home theatre system. These guys were fantastic! I will never go any

Pros: In a word, Crutchfield

Cons: There are no negatives in dealing with a great company like this.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Huxley, IA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible picture, plenty bright even in a brightly lit room

Pros: Plenty of brightness, looks great even turned off

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Poor service

Crutchfield customer from Stroudsburg , PA on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very poor customer service from Sony. Dec 7 tv shut off and would not come back on. Today is December 21 and still no tv replacement today called Sony customer service and was on hold for thirty minutes and then they hung up. Made the mistake of going with Sony for the exchange instead of Crutchfield

Pros: Great picture

Cons: Lousy customer service from Sony

Crutchfield response on 12/23/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support for help. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very sharp picture, nice frame small edge gives full screen view. set is straight forward, lots of adjustments to get the picture output that you are looking for.

Pros: Quality product

Cons: Cost, you get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, IL on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture quality, the concealment panels in the rear are a nice touch.

Pros: Picture quality, well made, well thought out, ease of setup , sound quality is best I've heard from a flat panel tv!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Miramar Beach, FL on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got here much quicker than expected and at a great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Breakthrough Tech

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The OLED screen actually IS that much better. A lightning strike during a movie looked and felt like a camera flash. Razor sharp detail and startling contrast. I did not think the oled tech would make as much of a difference as it did. The much vaunted Sony processing seems to work well; fairly seamless in operation, it just works and looks good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional TV and Customer Service

Crutchfield customer from Helotes, TX on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic TV! I upgraded from a plasma TV which had good picture quality, but you can tell a big difference especially with exceptional deep blacks. Very easy setup for the TV and it has a lot of great features such as automatically turning off while you're not using to ensure there's no burn in issues. I did all my research vs. the LG OLED and this one is fantastic and would highly recommend! Crutchfield really separates itself by it's customer service, calling me the day I ordered it and setting up a date I would be at my house. Never again will I make my purchases at another retailer. Crutchfield for the win!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

An Excellent Value

Crutchfield customer from Boothbay, ME on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is by far the best tv we have ever owned. In fact, it really is a computer with a huge screen and software geared to producing the best picture quality. The processor is so much faster than our 2017 Sony android tv that I almost can't tell when switching between apps. Sometimes the tv is showing a video within seconds of turning the tv on. The tv's speaker system is every bit as good as a mid-range sound bar we used with our last Sony so we ditched the sound bar and are using just the tv's speakers. The picture adjustments that can be made to each individual app or source are almost endless. And while this tv is not cheap, it is an excellent value. Consider that the cheapest new Apple MacBook Air is $1000 for a 13 inch screen. While the MacBook can do more than just watch tv, the value of the Sony 77 inch (almost 6 times larger) with its fast processor, speakers and voice control for the money is excellent in my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allan, MS on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful picture and straight forward plug-up. Reading directions before installing is critical to understand the somewhat more fragile nature of the OLED at the 77 inch size. Two people could do it but better with 3 especially while mounting to base and lifting up four feet to cabinet level. It will help to watch video for cautions on laying down and cracking screen. I was maybe more cautious than necessary because of that but I didn't have to send it back for replacement. Don't know what the limitations are for cracking and don't want to find out now with it in place and working fine. I had to call Crutchfield once about delayed delivery and was treated very well and got answered with in 30 minutes. Nice. 100% satisfied with them and their videos before purchasing. Very helpful in giving important information. Watch them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Palm City, FL on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Moving from a older Samsung plasma (still has a great picture) I wanted my new TV to be able to match the color, blacks and viewing angle of my plasma. I also had concerns with "soap opera effect" and reflection in a well lit room. I can tell you that the Sony has surpassed all my expectations. The picture is just fantastic, realistic in all aspects. My TV is in a well lit room and there is no background reflection. The only thing I misteng on where I am sitting. Would definitely recommend,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

WOW Picture!!

Rick from Virginia Beach on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful picture and easy to get started. Would like a few more options on customizing the picture.

Pros: Easy to get started.

Cons: Google assist is limited to just the TV - No inputs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MN on 12/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this TV! Picture is bright and clear and very easy setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great OLED TV!!

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded my previous 50" Panasonic Plasma since it was 12 years old. It has been a great TV with a good picture for that era, but now this new Sony OLED blows it away! I compared and researched many TV's including Samsung QLED's, and decided the OLED technology was the best. There are many picture and sound adjustments on this TV, so it will keep you busy for a while. I loved the beautiful picture it produces....the deep blacks, the fine detail, the brilliant colors are unbelievable! I like the remote with the voice control. It speeds up a U-tube search by eliminating all the typing in the search box. Netflix and U-tube is quick and easy to bring up. The menus are all customizable. The sound from the screen...called Acoustic Surface Audio is adjustable and works great! My friends always ask if my surround sound is on! Also, the bluetooth is nice to use with my wireless headphones. There is not enough I can say to brag on this set. Believe me you will like it!

Pros: See the review above, there are too many pros to list.

Cons: The screen will show glare in a brightly lit or sunny room. This above average remote needs lighted keys.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Green River, WY on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than advertised. Fantastic picture!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Atascadero, CA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, the shipping was absolutely horrific. Delayed 2 days making us wait without any return calls UPS freight was completely useless. Griley was just as bad with very poor communication. Called Crutchfield and all they did was give me a phone number. No support from them either. Next time will think about getting from a local store in stock, same price. The display is amazing! Clarity of color, clarity of black. Very intuitive controls. Really happy with the display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

The best picture for movies and TV.

Paul from Ocala, FL on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted the best TV picture available on the market. This Sony is that, and the best looking TV. Fantastic 4K HDR and impressive upscaling ability of lesser quality pictures. Since I don't use this TV for gaming, HDMI 2.1 wasn't relevant to my decision. Bought Sony over th LG CX because Sony has a slightly better picture and I believe their quality to be a notch better than LG, even though all my home appliances are LG. Kudos to Crutchfield's customer service personnel and service technicians, top notch as always.

Pros: Honestly, pretty much everything.

Cons: Google OS has had a few hiccups, had to press the power button for several seconds and restart the system to resolve the issues.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality picture and easy set-up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Absolutely astonishing!!

Crutchfield customer from Yorkville, NY on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the 77" for WOW factor and could not be any more excited and astounded to watch "tv." The absolute blacks are true to life. I've paused serval 4k and regular Blu-ray movies with my Panasonic DP-UN9000 in dark situations and compared them to my windowless home theater room and I can attest to the ink black level. You cannot tell where the Sony's screen ends at all. I'm truly amazed at this television and I wholeheartedly give Crutchfield kudos for carrying higher end products that home theater fanatics such as myself drool over.

Pros: Everything about this television.

Cons: The remote control could use a "light" feature. Most others do at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Brilliant picture.

Crutchfield customer from Arnold, MO on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible picture, the cable management on back is thoughtful, overall quality is exceptional. Blacks and contrast are flawless as expected with an OLED. If you're on the fence about buying, do it, you won't be disappointed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sensational OLED television

Will from Mount Kisco, NY on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The XBR-77A9G is one of the best purchases I have ever made. I also own a 65 inch LED that I purchased from Crutchfield two years ago. That is also a great television, but this one is a whole different ballgame. The picture quality is truly remarkable. I've done a few basic calibrations using Steve Kindig's recommendations and it's just stellar. I've got it hooked up to a nice home theater stereo which just adds to the enjoyment of this amazing product. Crutchfield service, as always, has been first-rate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent!!

Geoffrey from Farmingdale, NY on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my opinion, Sony TVs have always been one of the absolute best. I have purchased Pioneer Elite, as well as LG TVs and I can only say that Sony is the TV to beat. The picture is excellent. And when not using a surround system, the sound is also one of the best I have experienced. I upgraded to the 77" Oled for my entertainment room where I previously had the same Sony TV in the 65". If you are looking for a great Oled with top notch picture and sound, Sony is the only way to go.

Pros: Picture Sound Design

Cons: Could use a lit remote.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Crozet, VA on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TV is amazing, the quality and clarity of 4K content is unbelievable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 11/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wonderful picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best TV I have ever owned!

s from San Antonio, TX on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible TV! Outstanding color and depth of field! Even Gunsmoke black and white episodes from the late 1950's look as if you are watching them live! This TV leaves the older technology in the dust!

Pros: Picture quality. Easy to set up. Perfect out of the box.

Cons: UPS delivery! Had to have Crutchfield call their local office to get the TV delivered. Otherwise, they would have just sat on it.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

OLED is king

Crutchfield customer from Garner, NC on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This purchase replaced my discontinued plasma TV which was highly regarded in it's day. I'm glad to see OLED prices fall from where they were and into affordability. I'm happy to report stellar image quality and don't feel that I'm missing anything on a larger screen that what I'm used to.

Pros: Superior image quality regardless of viewing angle.

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best of the Best

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What fantastic service, first a very knowledgeable phone contact steering me to the best of the best and then delvery almost overnight. This team shines throughout the United States. thank you. 5 stars

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome tv

Crutchfield customer from Galena, IL on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome color and very crisp picture.loads of detail

Pros: Love the appearance of tv on stand

Cons: Difficult to get ports right

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Sandy Hook, CT on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tough to go wrong with this one if your a movie buff. Picture is absolutely stunning with incredible blacks and vibrant colors across the entire spectrum! OLED is the clear choice for those who want the best movie picture you can get. TV is amazingly light for its size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Todd from CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely stunning picture quality in a stylish frame. Contrast is remarkable and it works great in a large, high-ceiling room with lots of natural light. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Home Theater TV!

Crutchfield customer from Sparta, MI on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing, finally was able to set up in our basement rec room. Perfect size and picture is outstanding. First OLED TV so I am not surprised we were blown away.

Pros: - Great picture - User friendly set up interface - Easy to install on wall with proper mount - Through screen sounds is impressive -

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No Apple TV

Bryon from Florence, AL on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No Apple TV App is available!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 24 found this helpful

Buy It

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just Perfect! Even the back panels line up and snap in place. Up against the wall - who sees them - but they do give this TV that touch of perfection! The price, the free delivery and the Crutchfield help!

Pros: Easy Setup. I had my neighbor help me and we were done in 30 minutes.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent picture!

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture quality of the TV was impressive enough for me to buy it when I seen it at the showroom, however watching the TV at home on 4K was simply mind blowing quality and very impressive at the resolution and sound. I also enjoy the Netflix calibrated mode and recommend that everyone experience it. I have this hooked up to my Sony ZA1100ES 7.2 ch surround system and it is like being in the movie theater.

Pros: Picture - A+ Cant get any better for me Sound - A Has center channel connections Profile - A+ Super thin UI - A+ I was surprised, because I heard differently Remote - A+ Sync with other Sony Products - A+

Cons: None at the moment

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great TV. Delivery was a problem

Crutchfield customer from Commerce City, CO on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This TV is exactly what I was looking for. Great colors and very easy to use with lots of options. Mainly use it for sports and movies and couldn't be happier with the picture quality. The only issue I had with the purchase was the delivery. At first it was estimated to be delivered on a Friday when it showed up at the UPS distribution center. It never came on Friday so it sat all weekend in the warehouse and was rescheduled to be delivered Monday before noon.... never showed up. It was then rescheduled to be delivered Tuesday before 10am.... never showed up. This rescheduling delivery times became a hassle because I was having to re-arrange my schedule to be home for the delivery. I called around 3pm to figure out what was going on and decided i was done scheduling appointments for the tv to be delivered and decided to just go pick it up since I was having issues with it getting delivered. When I got to UPS they didn't know why the delivery was getting delayed and that they couldn't release the tv to me until crutchfield gave them the OK to do so. 2 hours later I was finally able to get the TV loaded into my vehicle. Not sure what the issues were with the delivery process but with something of this value I would have hoped that the delivery process was a little more clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Sylvania, GA on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This TV is exactly what the box says it is. First of all it's a Sony and Master Series. Let me start by saying Crutchfield did a great job of shipping and it was really fast. The picture on this OLED is any videophile or home theater enthusiast's dream. It's crystal clear and the sound has so much depth. The colors are vibrant and action movies like Transformers or Mission Impossible look like it's taking place right in front of you. Almost 3D. If you're on the fence about a projector or large TV, get this. The size will make you forget all about a projector screen. Sony Master Series!!! The best TV I have ever purchased.

Pros: Crystal clear picture, great sound, and the size is great for movie night

Cons: NONE!!!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Loda, IL on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield again came through, shipped it the next day! Then UPS fumbled the ball. With help from Crutchfield, we finally got the tv. I guess good things are worth waiting for. The tv is wonderful, enjoying the OLED experience.

Pros: Great picture, the audio is excellent

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Needham, IN on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I just installed it a week ago and am very impressed with the picture quality and refresh rate. The viewing angels are great so it allows everyone to sit where they want and still have great picture quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, Va on 10/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding TV, great follow on support from Crutchfield with specific optimal display settings sent by email without asking. Sure beats having it professionally calibrated when those services are non existent in my area. The only disappointment was discovered nearly a year later when it went on sale for half my purchase price. Yea, I cleared the way for future buyers paying $6k for a 4K that later sold for $3K. All in all I'd do it again.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just wow.

Sara from Cudahy, WI on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I have always been a Samsung girl. Always, I love the brightness of Samsung tvs. But I really started to get tired of all the motion blur that goes on with LED Tv's, even after owning a Samsung Q9 4K tv. Motion blur drives me crazy. So I started doing the research and the differences with OLED tv's and LED tv's. After doing my research, I then began doing research on who makes the best OLED. Come to find out, it was Sony(I thought it was LG). So I did it. I spent the money on the Sony 77" Master Series OLED tv. And holy cow. I am in love. I am in love with this tv. The picture is crisp. It's clear. It's not dull. You can see the picture perfectly from the side view. This tv blew me away after I hung it on the wall. (Heavy!) I really cant say enough about it, I have yet to find one bad thing about it. If you have the extra money, DON'T HESITATE to buy this tv. It is worth it. Hands down. And I am not easy to please! (With tv's)

Pros: Crisp Picture, Clear Picture, Whats not to love

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Cabot, AR on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best TV Ever

Pros: Clear, crisp, no lag, had a Samsung Qled, chose the Sony and am super satisfied!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not so "smart."

James from Millington, TN on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This television relies on the Android OS to provide the "smart" part of this smart TV. However, the Android OS is inconsistently stable. Often it returns an error message when attempting to access one of my subscribed streaming services. Occasionally the OS limits the audio feed to my external audio system to a monophonic center channel only. Rebooting the TV corrects these issues temporarily until the OS corrupts itself again. And again. And again.

Pros: Great image.

Cons: Erratic Android OS.

Crutchfield response on 10/14/2020
James, we're sorry you're having issues with your TV. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!

Pros:

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Stunning picture

Andy from Woodruff, SC on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This set is absolutely stunning, truly a marvel. Crutchfield is the finest retailer on the planet. There is a 1 star rating here. I guarantee it is not Crutchfield that's the problem. They bend over backwards for you and take all the time you need. Professional, knowledgeable, reliable...before and after the sale. Great folks.

Pros: Nothing like it!!!

Cons: ZERO!!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome TV

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surreal picture quality. The clarity is really just stunning. It's my first 4K, so I don't have much to compare it against, and it was an upgrade from a 60" LG HDTV that was about 9 years old. So, a big upgrade. No complaints at all, well worth the price.

Pros: Fantastic Picture Quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from North Haven, CT on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great TV. Picture is fantastic right out of box. I have not yet played with settings to optimize but will. Very easy setup. Crutchfield customer service was excellent- they checked twice before shipment to ensure by identity and credit card purchase was legitimate. I highly recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

State of the Art Television For Sure!

Tim from Jamestown, ND on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An absolutely stunning picture. The screen audio system is the real deal too. Not monstrous bass, but wow it does sound very good for what it is. My first suggestion is to shut off the ambient light sensor this will really kick up the vibrancy in the picture, Personal choice for me and may not be for everybody. Next, make sure you have a high end HDMI cable, like an Audioquest vodka, they make a big difference. I also want to say a little bit about upscaling, this TV is amazing what it does for old content. Owning this TV is a dream come true. Thanks a ton to the super staff at Crutchfield. Love this TV!

Pros: Best of the Best!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Poncha Springs, CO on 8/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was concerned about the cost of this TV when comparing the prices of other models, but this TV is great! The picture is far superior to other models that I looked at. The up-scaling of programing almost makes all channels look 4K!

Pros: Incredible picture!

Cons: Be sure to have assistance as this TV is very heavy.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great TV

John from TAVERNIER, FL on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture. Very happy. I previously had a Samsung 82 inch 8k. Developed clouds in the picture which I realized now is extremely common in that TV. They couldn't fix it so they refunded me. Bought the this Sony. A little smaller but much better picture, even than 8K. I have a lot of light in my TV room and people told me Samsung QLED had a less reflective screen. I can't tell difference. OLED is much much clearer that QLED. Added JBL 5.1 sound bar. Incredible combo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

A True Work of Art

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The design of the TV itself is a work of art aside from having gorgeous picture with phenomenal sound with such small speakers - Work of Art The crutchfield process and delivery was very prompt and flawless - if I could I would give 10 stars . Will definitely use crutchfield to buy all electronic products.

Pros: Phenomenal picture and sound For the size very lite in weight Intuitive

Cons: Google Platform and analytics

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Riverview, FL on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than going to the movies, even if we could.

Pros: Picture,size

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

James from Carrollton, VA on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this TV on sale 6/6/2020, It arrived approximately 6/12/2020. I had to wait another week to set up the TV, due to the Salamander TV stand, that was ordered through Crutchfield, but shipped VIA the vender took almost eight weeks to get. Upon setting this monster up and connecting to my Marantz SR7011 VIA HDMI3, the ARC port, I started having sound issues within five days. The TV kept switching automatically to external sound, turning my receiver on each time. What was weird, was that the TV would switch automatically to external source when I pressed the TV Guide button on my DirecTV remote. The cable box is not even hooked up to the Receiver, it's hooked to HDMI port 1. Called Crutchfield Tech Support, we went through all the settings between the TV and the receiver, but to no avail did the TV work the way that it's intended too. Tech support had me turn off all HDMI sound setting, between my AV gear, but to no joy did this work. Crutchfield has a 60-day return policy for the items they sell, but because Tech support did not believe that anything was wrong with this TV, and swapping it out would not solve the problem, they would not give me a refund, swap, or credit for this TV, even though I wanted to swap for another Sony, due to me discarding the Box it came in. Tech Support even stated that they would call me back in a couple of hours, it's been now been three days and still have not heard back from them!

Pros: Outstanding Picture, really true colors.

Cons: A bit pricey, external auto switching.

Crutchfield response on

22 of 36 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything about this TV is excellent. The picture has great color,contrast and detail. The remote has a high end quality to it. I did a lot of research before I purchased this TV and now I know I made the right choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful TV. This new Oled 77A9G is an order of magnitude better than my old 75 inch Sony C850 model that I purchased about five years ago. Bonus for this TV is that the sound is so good you really do not need additional speakers unless you really want a sophisticated home theater sound. It can easily pull its weight as a front center channel with my B&W 800 series wall speakers.... I could not be more pleased. I think Sony is really the best TV brand anyway, maybe I'm a little biased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Whitestone, NY on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the best tv picture I've ever seen.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony A9G

Crutchfield customer from Voorheesville, NY on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received my TV from Crutchfield No problems with the shipping and arrive quickly and in good shape. The TV is great. Set up is easy but does take some time.Each input needs to be adjusted independently. I suggest you follow the Crutchfield settings recommendation in their video. Overall the picture is somewhat dim. However with the The appropriate settings a bright picture is obtained. HDR and Dolby Vision Are Handled flawlessly Most of the problems I've been having were with sound. Issues occurred connecting earc to my Marantz erc preamp connection. Dolby digital plus would lose sound Was able to fix it by using Dolby digital compressed This most likely was a fault of the marantz av 7005 only having hdmi 1.4 and not enhanced arc Overall very satisfied with this television Great picture especially with 4K material Strongly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This TV is amazing, the picture is just what i have been looking for... I do not have a 4k disc player but this picture for other signal brings in the ultimate high def.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This TV is nothing short of amazing! I can't ever go back to LED after this. Note that you might need to play with the settings a bit to get it right but once you do... It's breathtaking!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Fort Valley, GA on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very detailed picture, major upgrade from a 20 year old projection TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

After Much Research, This Was It!

Bryan from East Lansing, MI on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic TV! We saw this one in store and were just awestruck by its picture quality. It's our first OLED set, replacing a 14-year-old Pioneer 60" plasma. The 77" screen size is PERFECT for our space; can't imagine going back to a smaller size, and no matter the format being viewed, this TV shines. Well worth the money and am hopeful it will provide many years of enjoyment. We wall-mounted it, so cannot comment on use of the included stand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

will do business with them again

Crutchfield customer from Newport Beach, CA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very helpful

Pros: Delivered right away

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Looks Great Right out of the Box - Even Better with Tweaking

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a outstanding Sony TV. Looks great right out of the box. Even better after color adjustments in the custom settings. The TV audio is very much improved over the XBR 930 series that this TV replaced. So far we have watched some older DVD, Blu-ray and 4k UHD content - the 4k content is amazing and the TV does a great job with the older DVD based content that we have in our video library.

Pros: Viewing angles Picture Quality Color presentation - blacks are really black

Cons: Expensive - but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Fantastic TV!

Crutchfield customer from Eastham, MA on 3/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an opportunity to see this tv in person and if possible for anyone interested in buying this model do so. If you cannot, I will sum up in one word... Spectacular! It has the ability to upconvert programing, great sound and easy connections. Couple that with Crutchfields longevity in the business and record of customer service and you can rest assured that you are making a good purchase. If you have ANY questions they are happy to walk you throught it. This is a stellar addition to my home theater. Thank you again Crutchfield!

Pros: Theater like view

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hardest part of making the decision was purchasing through Crutchfield's. Such a large purchase I typically want it right away. But the overall support that I have received from Crutchfield for over 20 years made them the only one that I felt could help me make the right decision. I love my tv!! The support that I received made it unbelievably easy to install. It even came in two days early. The investment in the tv was huge to me, but the lifetime support that I have always received is much more valuable in the long run. Thank you to their entire staff. The tv is worth every dollar that I spent for it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 23 found this helpful

Exceptional

Crutchfield customer from Kihei, HI on 11/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic picture, worth every penny. Customer service A+

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Seabrook, TX on 11/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely Stunning

Pros: Amazing Color

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Kernersville, NC on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best TV all around. Major selling point was no sound bar is needed due to the way the speakers are built into the TV. Crutchfield customer service is outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Sony MASTER Series XBR-77A9G

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, TN on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 22 found this helpful

Spectacular Picture Image - Total Crap Pedestal Stand

Crutchfield customer from Mesquite, NV on 9/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Truly spectacular picture image, worth every penny spent and dealing with Crutchfield has been a pleasure. I would not buy high end electronics from anyone else.

Pros: Nearly everything about this TV is a plus - the image quality is second to none and the acoustic panel sound is surprisingly good - setup was easy and only took a few minutes

Cons: The pedestal stand Sony chose to use with this TV is a piece of crap - I had to shim the back half of the stand with cardboard in order to get the TV to stand vertically - this may be because it is such a large TV and the stand can not handle the size/weight of the unit but regardless for such a high end piece of technology Sony appears to have put almost no thought into the stand for the unit - its the only disappointing thing about the TV

Crutchfield response on

34 of 41 found this helpful

TV Utopia

Dan from Knoxville, TN on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This TV is absolutely phenominal! The color and realism are perfect. This replaced a Sony 65" OLED (not Master Series) and the difference is striking. Pricey but I feel I got my moneys' worth. The wife and I watch a lot of tv and movies and this tv just blows us away.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

22 of 23 found this helpful

TOP