Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
206 661 571 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
206 661 571 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Sony XBR-85X850F

85" Smart LED 4K Ultra HD TV with HDR (2018 model)

MFR # XBR85X850F

Sony XBR-85X850F

Sony XBR-85X850F

85" Smart LED 4K Ultra HD TV with HDR (2018 model)

MFR # XBR85X850F

12 reviews
View this product

Sony XBR-85X850F

Crutchfield customer from Alliance, NE on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture from the Sony about the same or maybe a little better than my 82"Samsung. Great service from cruthfield , have owned mostly Samsung tv's but would purchase a Sony again.

Pros: Very nice picture on a huge screen

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Picture!

Chadillac from Clarksville, TN on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was torn between this TV and the Samsung 82" QLED for the same price. After reading many reviews, I was leaning towards the Samsung. Almost all of the reviews said the Black levels were terrible on the Sony. I looked at both pictures side by side with the same content for a fair evaluation. The Sony had no problem reproducing blacks without clouding and the colors looked real, not washed out as some reviews stated. The Samsung colors look over saturated and almost fake. Don't get me wrong, the Samsung has a great picture, but it had a "Fake" look to me. The Sony has an amazing picture, fast moving objects look great, detail is fantastic, and the colors look spot on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XBR-85X850F

JR from San Mateo, CA on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge TV, colors are so vivid, life like, very bright display, gorgeous display, I'm glad I bought this. I was thinking of the Samsung 82" QLED over this TV because I have not seen an 85" Sony on display at my local stores, really beautiful images, many settings to tweak and adjust to get the perfect picture. I mostly left everything in auto. Let the machine do all the calculations in real time. Crutchfield is the really the BEST, one of my cable covers was cracked, I called and spoke to Cleveland, within minutes he had a replacement cable cover ordered. They really take care of you! BIG THANK YOU!

Pros: Picture is so beautiful, colors are immersive, every shade/tone I can see, it does make a difference with Truliminous. I told my wife to bury me with this TV I'm taking it to heaven.

Cons: Huge TV, weights 100lbs. it now takes up my entire wall, all worth it though

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great decision on upgrading to a larger screen!

James from Magnolia, TX on 12/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little hesitant to go from a 65' to 85" screen but after reading some reviews and talking with the advisor, we made the decision. The TV works very well in our viewing area and has a fantastic picture. I was a little concerned with what the picture quality might be after reading some reviews on the XBR75X850F. The reviewer did state that his comments didn't necessarily pertain to the 85" model since it did NOT have the "edge lit w/frame dimming". Seems the edge lit in the larger sizes casts white shadows at the edge and has difficulty getting the light across the larger screen. The 85" uses the "direct lit w/frame dimming. It may not be as precise as the "full array w/local dim" used in the 900 series but we are very pleased with the colors, brightness, and the blacks. There are many preset picture setups (vivid, sports, etc) that we have not explored but feel that with those selections and the manual adjust, things can only get better. We purchased this TV using the Black Friday special so we feel that we got an excellent TV at an excellent price. On a side note, when you set up the TV, ensure your cable box doesn't revert back to 720P! Initial picture caused us to say "something isn't right here". Upper right of screen showed that it was only receiving the 780 signal. We reset cable box to the 1080 and everything was as expected. As always, Crutchfield did an excellent job on advice, sales, and delivery.

Pros: Great picture, great price, great service.

Cons: None to this point.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

HI QUALITY

Brad from Holland, OH on 12/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this tv. Great picture great sound . Easy hook up. Hard to stop watching on this beautiful TV!!!!!!!!!! Just buy it you will love it!!

Pros: PICTURE AND EASY HOOK UP

Cons: TAKES 3 PEOPLE TO HANG ON WALL

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

High value 85" Tv

Barrett from Kyle, TX on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I viewed the 850f and the 900f side-by-side at another retailer. Image processing and native contrast on both TVs seemed identical. Brightness on both TVs appeared identical. The only difference I noticed is when local dimming was engaged, the blacks on the 900F became approximately 15 to 20% darker than the black levels on the 850F. I did not think this minor, incremental increase in contrast is worth an additional $1,500 over the 850f. Therefore, I decided to go with the 850f. After some minor adjustments to settings, this TV shows an absolutely stunning picture. And I don't use that word lightly. I've had numerous Samsung and Sony TVs in the past along with Pioneer plasma. I also have a top-of-the-line, JVC projector. This TV has gorgeous, deep colors. Great color accuracy out of the box. A bright, detailed picture. In fact the TV is so bright that I have to use the ambient light sensor to tame the brightness of it. It has the best upscaling out of any TV I have ever owned. It upscales 1080 content to near 4K quality. And even older movies from the 80s and early 90s appear with shocking detail on this TV. I could not be happier with this purchase. I could not justify paying an additional $1,500 for the 900f for such a minor incremental upgrade in black levels. My only complaint is the onboard speakers are not that great. I would classify them as average-at-best. You will definitely need a surround sound system to get the full audio/visual effect with this

Pros: High brightness Good native contrast Superb color accuracy Great motion handling

Cons: Speakers are a bit underwhelming. You will need external speaker system for a big soundstage which matches the enveloping visual display.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XBR-85X850F

Jennifer from Fort Wayne, IN on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TV is amazing. Customer service and delivery was great. Will recommend

Pros: Love everything

Cons: Not ne

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great TV!

Ian from Fort Johnson, NY on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tv, picture quality looks excellent. Excellent service from Crutchfield as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XBR-85X850F

John J De from San Antonio, TX on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional picture! Sony comes through to form with this TV. Very pleased!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

85 inch WOW!!

Nathan from Pueblo CO on 9/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was leary as i had a 75 940d. I was skeptical about going up in size because of quality. Tv arrived today and i am very happy. This tv is astonishing the size and clarity. You feel.really immersed no matter what you are watching. Its like being at the Theater. Crutchfield staff is top notch and always does a good job. shipping was less pleasant than the past but tv came w no.issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding picture

Christopher from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really love this TV. I have had rear projection in my home theatre for years but never was satisfied with the performance in moderate ambient light conditions. With the size of the new Sony, I really don't need projection any longer. Love the connected functionality of the sony with Android TV and Google Home. This is my fourth purchase from Crutchfield. Honestly, I wouldn't go anywhere else. The service has always been great.

Pros: Great picture, good functionality with google home. Compatibility with other home theatre components

Cons: None to speak of.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love my new TV!!

Margaret from Lakeland, FL on 7/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this TV! Super-easy to set up and get it working with my Alexa and Sonos Beam. The picture is beautiful and I love the 85" size! Ordering and delivery through Crutchfield was also easy and convenient. I love Crutchfield! I am not a video expert so I really can't comment on the technical specifications but I know what I like.

Pros: ease of setup and use

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP