Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony Cyber-shot® DSC-HX80

18-megapixel digital camera with 30X optical zoom and Wi-Fi®

MFR # DSCHX80/B

Sony Cyber-shot® DSC-HX80

Sony Cyber-shot® DSC-HX80

18-megapixel digital camera with 30X optical zoom and Wi-Fi®

MFR # DSCHX80/B

14 reviews
View this product

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX80

Crutchfield customer from Mauldin, SC on 6/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently bought this camera to replace an old Sony HX9V Although I use and appreciate higher end camera equipment I like having a compact, high zoom, camera for casual and vacation shooting. You can also take this sort of camera into places where detachable lens cameras aren't allowed, such as some concerts. The increased zoom range of this camera over my old one can't be truly appreciated until I get into some more wide open spaces but it is a significant increase and the new stabilization software allowed me to take significantly sharper pictures at 720mm than I was able to with my previous camera which only went to roughly 380mm and I never used it fully zoomed out because it simply wouldn't produce good pictures much past 300mm. A big improvement. The pop up viewfinder, while it could be slightly more convenient, works perfectly when deployed and allowed me to track fast moving subjects on a recent whitewater kayaking adventure much more easily and precisely than I could with the LCD screen even when the sun didn't wash it out. And that is exactly why I wanted a viewfinder in the first place. This camera, at least in good light, takes pictures much closer to a good DSLR or Mirrorless than one might believe. No, bokeh isn't going to be stellar and you can't print four foot posters with this cameras files. But if you're looking for a great all around pocket camera with more reach and features than any cell phone you can't go wrong with this one.

Pros: Viewfinder, zoom range, compact

Cons: none for me

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX80

Crutchfield customer from O Fallon, MO on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just what we needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX80

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 8/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use. Light & compact.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Compact, perfect camera for travel.

Maurice from Sarasota, FL on 5/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great little camera. A sure and steady 30x zoom packaged into a true pocket size camera. I read comments about how small the buttons and dials were but I did not find them to be an issue.

Pros: Easy to use Great pictures Compact

Cons: Putting on the wrist strap is a real challenge.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great camera Wi Fi disappointing

Sherman from Talent, OR on 2/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera for travel and it's great for that. Small enough to easily fit in a pocket, but versatile enough to handle most photography chores. Love the pop up viewfinder. It's perfect in all lighting situations and allows me to frame a shot exactly as I want it. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is the software for the wi fi transfers of photos to my smartphone is "fussy". At times it works perfecly, but about half the time the transfers don't happen on even a 2d or 3d try. Very frustrating! The feature of being able to share photos by sending them out on my phone is very important to me while traveling and this camera disappoints on that feature.

Pros: Compact, versatile and great pop up viewfinder

Cons: Fussy software for wi fi transfers

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony DSC-HX80 Cybershot Digital Camera

Richard from Rochester, NY on 11/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lightweight, sharp pictures for a great price. Simple to use, clear menu in clear English, no jargon.

Pros: User friendly menu, great price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX80

Crutchfield customer from Grand Forks, ND on 10/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the camera for the zoom and it was worth it. Great zoom!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great, small camera

Ak from New Hyde Park, NY on 8/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent small camera. Took it on my European tours, and some brilliant pictures.

Pros: Price, size, lense

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great 30X zoom.

Russ from Park City, UT on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought it as a replacement for the previous Sony 30X model (broken on a rock) and like it a lot.

Pros: Even smaller than the previous model and appears to focus on, e.g. flowers, better than earlier model.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small camera/nice zoom

Edward from South Carolina on 6/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't had much time to use it yet, but so far I like it. I was surprised how small it is. My only real disappointment is that you can't edit pictures within the camera like I could with my other Sony cameras.

Pros: Small, light weight, nice zoom.

Cons: Inability to edit pictures within camera like I can with other Sony cameras.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love the camera

Alan from Jamison, PA on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the camera HX80. It has a great viewfinder and zoom

Pros: The viewfinder and the zoom make this ideal for me especially in this price range

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX80

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, DE on 3/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the Sony HX80 for an upcoming hiking trip. Perfect size for this purpose. A few reasons this model was chosen over other brand are; Zeiss optics, long zoom lens and sweep panorama.

Pros: size quality optics (Zeiss lens) sweep panorama

Cons: sensor size

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX80

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Saco, NM on 2/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am in the process of learning my camera.......it is much more advanced than my last camera...........Instructions sometimes difficult to understand as my "tech" vocablulary is limited. Love the camera, have taken some awesome sunsets...............would give a better review in about 6 months

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome pictures.

Kolby from Redmond, WA on 1/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent camera. Takes great pictures and easy to use. I did have a difficult time with transferring photo's with Wi Fi to camera.

Pros: Excellent photo's & easy to use with still or video's. Lightning fast shipping from Crutchfield. Excellent customer service with Crutchfield team. Five stars here!

Cons: Setting up to transfer photo's & video's to camera..

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP