Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony DSX-GS900

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DSXGS900

Sony DSX-GS900

Sony DSX-GS900

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DSXGS900

27 reviews
View this product

Happy customers

Crutchfield customer from Coachella, CA on 2/28/2021

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome deck, lots of features and very powerful. Once you learn how to navigate and use all the features from your smart phone it's really easy to use it.

Pros: Powerful and loud enough, able to control it with your smartphone.

Cons: So far none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointing Purchase

Matthew from CANTON, OH on 1/17/2021

2021 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this as a temporary replacement for the factory radio in my 2021 Tacoma. The OEM radio and speakers in these trucks are pretty terrible, so I was searching for a nice replacement for it. Closest I came to finding the perfect radio was the 8" and 9" Pioneer head units, but decided not to pull the trigger on those after my last $500 Pioneer head unit lasted 14 months before the right side preamp outputs started to crackle and hiss just 2 months out of warranty. I heard Sony may be coming out with a better 8" head unit with Idatalink Maestro compatibility this year, so I decided to just buy a "cheap" head unit until something better comes out. I was hoping this Sony would provide good sound without an amp, but I am very disappointed with it. It isn't any louder than the stock head unit and the sound quality is actually worse. It distorts at volumes low enough that it shouldn't distort (wired correctly). There is no punch or depth to the music. I thought maybe the power wire feeding it may be inadequate, so I ran a couple of temporary 10 gauge wires for power and ground directly to the battery for testing purposes, but this did not improve the sound quality at all. I played with all the settings for about 30-45 minutes to no avail. The factory speakers have been upgraded to Kicker CS series all around with Stinger road kill mat in the doors and the foam speaker enhancer system. This radio just feels cheap and the plastic will scratch by just looking at it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/19/2021
Matthew, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 1/17/2021

2003 Chevrolet Venture

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, exactly as advertised, easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excelent radio!

Crutchfield customer from Mercedita, PR on 12/29/2020

2005 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio, I installed with Kicker speakers and the settings are exquisite, it sounds loud and clear, I recommend it!

Pros: Excelent audio, friendly Bluetooth, Call is clear, Android App adjust.

Cons: No Cons!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from West Salem, OH on 12/13/2020

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring harness adapters were fantastic, it made the installation a piece of cake. Love the sound!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible instructions

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, WA on 12/7/2020

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible instructions/guidelines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Fallon, NV on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, I would recommend this Sony radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Many features.

Crutchfield customer from Grove City, OH on 10/7/2020

2008 Dodge Caliber

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This so far seems to be a good choice. It's not complicated to use. It has many features. Far more than I need. It has two usb connections, and bluetooth. It also has an aux connection not mentioned in the specs section on the crutchfield website. We purchased this because it was not touch screen. The down side is it does not have that low punch the factory unit did. It does sound better though. The unit itself is small, with Double DIN screen.

Pros: Many features.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX - GS900 ***Perfect Decision

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 10/6/2020

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a sony brand as usual, it is very sleek looking and love the color changing on the face. Sony in my opinion doesn't put out true power as the other brands. But for a Sony, I think it does exactly what I needed it to do. I am extremely happy with my choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Hiram, GA on 10/6/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big upgrade over the factory system! The extra bass option is definitely noticeable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

gerard from Pembroke, GA on 9/7/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have no issue with the screen brightness in sunlight, level 1 brightness is a tad too high for me at night. Very strong built in amp sounds great with Kicker door and rear pillar speakers. The tuner receives much better than the factory radio and it scans from station to station very quick. No cutting was needed in the dash to install it in a 2005 Chevy Silverado standard cab.

Pros: The Sony app makes setup very easy.

Cons: You have to go to the Sony web site to get the full operators instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Green Valley, AZ on 9/7/2020

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo! The install was easily done, thanks to the super instructions I received. Having a car stereo with Bluetooth is something I have wanted for quite some time. This one has everything I need, along with great sound and an even greater look. I couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Le Roy, KS on 8/19/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As other reviews say, the display is hard to read in daylight. I underestimated just how much so when I read reviews myself. Be willing to take the chance that you can't read it at all sometimes. Sound quality is okay, but I was expecting a little better for the price. It has tons of options and features, so it can be adapted to work in many different configurations.

Pros: Lots of configuration options.

Cons: Dim display text.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MIB

Crutchfield customer from Lampasas, TX on 8/14/2020

2011 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect fit for what I was looking for. The Sony DSX-GS900 provided the ease of added power without the need for an external amp! The wiring harnesses provided by Crutchfield were spot on. Pay for the wiring harness service!! At 930pm after installing two sets of speakers and a new stereo the last thing you want to do is solder or crimp wires.....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Friday Harbor, WA on 7/16/2020

2005 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound. Easy installation. Intuitive

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Sidney, OH on 7/7/2020

2010 Mercury Milan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good headunit sounds fantastic but the Sony app could use some attention on setting the eq and being user friendly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid power for a headunit

Mark from Overland Park, KS on 7/6/2020

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in a buddies 4Runner over the weekend, and was happy with how everything sounded. We choose this headunit because of the RMS power. He needed to replace all his speakers and the front set up is 6x9's with separate tweeters - we replaced those with JBL components and this Sony headunit sends them enough power that they sound pretty good and arent getting too muddy with very bass heavy beats.

Pros: Higher RMS power than most head units. Easy to install.

Cons: Not the prettiest and the controls take a bit to get used too.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 6/30/2020

2011 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great powerful sounds perfect if no plans for amplifier.

Pros: great for someone who doesn't want to add an additional amplifier

Cons: Only one person can connect via Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sound. Not a very bright display. Colorful though.

Gregory P from FREDERICKSBURG, VA on 6/26/2020

2014 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I looked at touch screen options and found that none that cost less than $300 are worth my time and none of them had the output power of this particular stereo. This Sony has a built in amp that provides about twice the raw power of a typical car stereo. That makes a big difference when blasting your music and let's you take advantage of the performance ability of most aftermarket speakers. The options are plentiful if not confusingly complex. I managed to change the color scheme and sound properties after a few minutes of fiddling. The biggest issue is the screen. It is just not bright enough at it's max for broad daylight. I have it in a white color scheme that matches my car's gauges and clock displays while also maximizing contrast. I work at night so this won't be an issue half the time I drive. But besides that, the sound sculpting options are actually quite impressive. I found I liked the EDM eq setting and the bass boost actually sounds pretty clear. Sony is known for excellent sound shaping in their car stereos and this one is no exception. The clarity and detail vastly exceed those of my stock radio. And I can read a lot more folders on my USB drive. Lesser stereos can only read a low number of nested folders so some of the music on my drive remained inaccessible. The Sony has a higher max level of file management. The stereo is really a single DIN with a double DIN control face. So I had to drill holes in the mounting kit.

Pros: Sound options are plentiful and default settings are quite good. Customization is possible too, but I haven't had the need to use them. Cool color options and a powerful amp make this awesome. WAY better than stock and better than touchscreen devices in this price range. Has a built in amp that beats almost any stereo on the market. Super clear sound with enough power to blow weaker speakers. Even the bass boost options sound good. Not enough cons to take off a whole star. Love it.

Cons: It's really a single DIN with a double DIN control face so you will have to drill holes in the double DIN mounting kit to center it. The display should be twice as bright for easier daytime use. Scroll and click to select menus are complicated but that is what happens when you cram a ton of options in a non-touchscreen car stereo. The screen bezel lights can pulse to the sound of your music but it is laggy and not that cool. I turned that option off.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Grandville, MI on 5/8/2020

2005 Chevrolet Venture

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome radio auto bluetooth more rms 45 compared to 25 the sound rocks easy to use highly recommend extra bass button

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the Price!

Crutchfield customer from Randolph, NE on 4/5/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is quite amazing! Sound quality is phenomenal and the amount of features and customization you can do with it is crazy! One thing I noticed is that when you shut the radio off while using usb and turn it back on with usb it starts the radio back up at full volume. Scared the crap out of me but besides that it has no issues and works and looks great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Saint Anne, IL on 4/5/2020

2014 Nissan Versa S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has plenty of power to push 4 Kicker DS door speakers. It sounds good out of the box but learning and playing with all the sound options make it better. To get the most full sound with decent mids you have to set up the custom 10 band equalizer

Pros: Plenty of power from class D 400w - 4 channel built in amp. Virtual sub option really works. Virtual dash speaker/tweeter option really works.

Cons: Can't get display to stay a solid color. It changes the shade of whatever color you pick from dark to bright constantly. Doesn't completely fill the hole in my dash and doesn't come with any beauty ring. The install kit supplied is for a single din radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Crutchfield customer from Fishers, IN on 3/17/2020

2004 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it's really easy to install and i love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit, sounds great

Crutchfield customer from Jamestown, ND on 3/2/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm really happy with this head unit. Sound is awesome in my Ram quad cab. Only complaint is it's hard to read in bright sunlight. But once it's set, don't really need to see anyway.

Pros: Great sound, easy setup Remote does everything, not just volume and tuning

Cons: Hard to read display in bright light

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-GS900

Wade from Waynesboro on 2/17/2020

2007 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and plenty enough power to supply the Infinity References that I also had installed

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not detachable face

Joe from Grass Valley, CA on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product does not have a detachable face. Crutchfield says it does under "general features"( I have a screenshot). I did not buy this product online, I did it over the phone and spoke with James who said,"Yup, looks like a detachable face", he was wrong. A detachable face was my main reason for finding a new head unit, and Crutchfield's information completely disappointed me. This is more about Crutchfield and not this exact product, because now it's proven that they don't test gear and then sell the best; they just copy and paste the manufacturer's description. Unlike Crutchfield experts, I have actually unboxed and used this product.

Pros: I can return it.

Cons: Crutchfield's information is wrong.

Crutchfield response on 2/19/2020
We're sorry about our mistake on the non-detachable faceplate for this car stereo, Joe. Our Customer Support group is reaching out to Joe to offer an exchange or refund. And because of this review, we've corrected this information.

3 of 11 found this helpful

Simple installation

Kevin from Chillicothe, OH on 1/12/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first review I have ever written on anything. I installed this stereo in a 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2 door cab (standard cab). I had no problems whatsoever, I did not have to modify anything. The head unit bolted up like the factory unit and I did not have to cut anything. NO MODS! I received the unit in Jan. 2020, along with the harness and kit to complete the installation. I changed to this unit because my son started driving this truck. He wanted a stereo that would pair up with his apple phone. Upon installing this unit, he was playing music via Bluetooth in minutes. We tested the functions of the calling features to an external phone and they worked as expected. I also replaced the two door speakers and two rear speakers located behind the driver and passenger seats. This was done to accept and clarify the power coming from the new head unit. This was the first purchase I had made from Crutchfield since the early 1990s. I was not disappointed then and I am not now. I have owned many Sony products in the past and been quite happy with there performance and durability. The instructions that came with the stereo are clear and straight forward . This is day one after install, so far we are happy.

Pros: Sounds great, No surprises, Looks great, Set up is quick. I would recommend to anyone. Buy the harness and kit for your vehicle specific, as i did. It will save you time and headaches.

Cons: NONE, so far. Everything shipped to me was in undamaged ( MINT ) shape and complete. No complaints!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP