Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony DSX-M55BT

Marine digital media receiver with Bluetooth® (does not play CDs)

MFR # DSXM55BT

Sony DSX-M55BT

Sony DSX-M55BT

Marine digital media receiver with Bluetooth® (does not play CDs)

MFR # DSXM55BT

98 reviews
View this product

Headunit good, Crutchfield Great

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

purchased a "open box" version and it was delivered fast! However after installing found that it shut down at loud volumes. Called tech support and they walked me thru some troubleshooting but ultimately just decided to send me a new one. Received new one just day and half later. plugged new one in and it worked great so first one was clearly a return that was defective. Anyway, I find all these head units a little extra with the buttons and settings, but Sony is one that I keep coming back to. Can't beat the specs and price point. MOST IMPORTANTLY, mad props to Crutchfield, first time customer but will now be a lifelong customer due to tech support, making things right, and amazingly fast shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast shipping and the deck is exactly what I wanted. Good clear sound, fits perfectly and easy install in my 2011 Harley Street Glide. 10/10 recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Longview, TX on 1/17/2021

2007 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation on my pontoon boat was straight forward and Blue tooth linked with my I Phone on the first try. Great radio reception and Pandora and Amazon Music sound add to the boating experience.

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Abingdon, MD on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent stereo. Arrived quickly; has thorough, clear installation instructions. Enjoying it so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good stereo bad remote

Crutchfield customer from Saint Peters, MO on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this stereo on my Yamaha boat and it works well with plenty of power and sound. Main reason was old stereo didn't have Bluetooth. Bluetooth works great for streaming music. Wireless remote is useless because it has to "see" the ir signal so in a waterproof hatch blocks it. We really only use remote for volume control. Solution to was to turn stereo all the way up on control volume with Bluetooth phone. Not perfect but works.

Pros: Sound Power Bluetooth

Cons: Remote

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Hastings, MI on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, sounds great!!

Pros: Fast shipping, no unexpected.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, TN on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure yet about reception and picking up radio stations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, OH on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what it described. Fast shipping!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Windham, NH on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deck for it's price point. Does everything I would need and a big step up from the stock receiver that came out of Electra Glide. Crutchfield educated me on the equipment and install was easy.

Pros: reasonable priced receiver with options to expand capabilities and enhance sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony Tuners??

Crutchfield customer from Dyersville, IA on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am more than pleased with this unit. Incredible sound and great fm reception, which is what I was really looking for. I pulled in 17 stations out on the Mississippi River in an area where the unit I replaced, barely pulled in 2. My fishing partner has this same receiver in both of his boats, which steered me towards it. You can't go wrong with this unit!

Pros: The tuner stands out, but everything else about the unit is good too. Reasonably priced as well! Not to mention the Crutchfield family and team support!

Cons: I haven't found any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Kokomo, IN on 8/19/2020

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Replacement unit

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a 17 year old Sony radio with this unit on my FourWynns boat. The Crutchfield Rep Lee was great. He told me that Sony hasn't changed their wiring harness color code for decades which reassured me that I could swap the units out without wiring issues and he was correct. The user interface for this unit seems intuitive - I was able to set up Bluetooth & Ipod connections easily. The sound is great using my original Sony marine speakers.

Pros: cost - value ease of installation user interface sound quality

Cons: wiring harness plug in to the unit was different than the 17 year old OEM Sony but the wiring color code was the same - so I did have to splice all connections but using Posi-Products wire harness connectors, the connection was made significantly easier.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good! Got this for my Jeep since rain and radio don't mix and the sound quality it amazing! Easy install with the pre wiring y'all did!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Overall happy

Andrew from BUFFALO, NY on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well...getting it to sync with your phone can be a little tricky but overall happy with the purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit at a great price.

Crutchfield customer from Connersville, IN on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a customers boat, nice looking unit. It's shallow so it doesn't require much space behind it, great for tight dash. Works well and sounds great.

Pros: Shallow mounting

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrific Unit

Crutchfield customer from Orange Beach, AL on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice marine stereo receiver. Picks up many radio stations. High quality audio output. Love that it has Bluetooth so we can stream our music from our playlists. Great that it allows us to make hands-free telephone calls, too.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Sterling Hts, MI on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice equipment and easy to install. Great complement to my MB quart speakers in my 2001 golf cart.

Pros: Really really nice equipment

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Bolton Landing, NY on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound, works with phone easily setup a bit confusing but works

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Pairiing with phone sketchy but works

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Canadian, OK on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds fantastic. Replaced an older Sony Marine AM/FM/CD head that crapped out after 12 years hoping this unit would use the same plug. No such luck, but the color coding was the same making wiring this one up a breeze. The extra power in this unit is noticeably cleaner and louder than the old unit. This was also an Outlet purchase designated "Open Box". All manuals, accessories, and wiring were in the box, absolutely no issues there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Peshtigo, WI on 7/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with My replacement stereo. With out the help of my Crutchfeild rep. I would have chosen the wrong stereo and spent much more than I needed to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Gary from Indianola, wa on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My unit only lasted 3 months before it gave up the ghost. Sony did send me a replacement, but i couldn't install it in the 90 day warranty period as my boat was in storage for winter. Put the replacement unit in, and it wouldn't even power up. Sony said I was out of luck. Won't buy their products again!!

Pros: sounded great worked great.

Cons: lasted only 3 months.....

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little radio for the money! Hopefully it will withstand the lake and all the humidity that will be thrown it's way! Sounds good, easy installation, and easy Bluetooth pairing!

Pros: Installation was easy! Pairing my phone was easy!

Cons: No case for the removable faceplate.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for the price, could be a little easier to use.

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NY on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product with good sound. It could be a little easier to connect to Bluetooth, for example a dedicated Bluetooth button, because you have to go through 2 menus with the dial to connect a new phone, and it feels weird, especially with wet hands from swimming

Pros: Good sound, good price, good quality

Cons: Bluetooth could be optimized

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluetooth sync is clumsy

Crutchfield customer from Saline, MI on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the economically priced radio for the Bluetooth capability, but what a clumsy sync process. Looks like old tech, no auto sync, better plan on pushing buttons to get it to work every time you go out. Installed in 2018 Yamaha boat, sounds good with stock speakers.

Pros: Cheap and sounds good

Cons: Bluetooth setup is poor

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Saugerties, NY on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm happy with it. Nice small, light weight unit - not very deep.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio and sound for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Richfld Spgs, NY on 6/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio installed easy and sounds great. I would have given a 5 but the menu items and navigation is cumbersome at times. All and all it's a great radio for the price!

Pros: Easy install, sounds great.

Cons: Menu/Navigation is clunky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marine radio

Crutchfield customer from Parsons, TN on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great products and service as always. So far the equipment is everything it was advertised to be.

Pros: Small unit, easy install, high powered

Cons: Haven't used it enough to notice any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, SC on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality, good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Montpelier, VT on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs as expected. Good quality for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Sandy Hook, CT on 6/15/2020

2006 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted. Crutchfield had it in stock, fast shipping and by far the best price as it was on sale. Fit and works great on our boat. Thanks!

Pros: Quality, bluetooth, good sound

Cons: I think it would look better for marine applications in white... but thats about all I could come up with trying to think of a con.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Angier, NC on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good customer service and fast shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 6/11/2020

1992 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound. Easy controls. Good value. It hasn't got wet yet so I don't know about that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Recommend highly

Crutchfield customer from Meriden, CT on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and features. Bluetooth works easy. Simple installation.I thought I needed speakers but this unit sounds 100 times better than the clarion unit that it replaced. Recommend highly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

About what you'd expect

Crutchfield customer from Berlin, MD on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent upgrade over stock head unit on boat. Nothing very fancy, straightforward head unit with decent enough modern features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Rutherford, NJ on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for replacement of my old JBL. Easy set up, easy connections to my iPhone. Great sound and adequate power

Pros: Easy install, set up and operation

Cons: Wish the included remote was not line of site and was instead BT.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

HAMMONTON

steve from HAMMONTON on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had it about a year and a half, it now has a mind of its own, Volume randomly works or turns itself up, buttons work when they feel like it.Connects to your device when it wants. Don't waste your money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, TX on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo puts out good sound and the blus tooth is fast and efficent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Kurt from Chittenango, NY on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit for price.

Pros: sound, size & simpleto usw

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New Sony Marine Stereo

Crutchfield customer from Willis, TX on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product at a great price / shipped fast with spot on information about tracking. Nice upgrade to my old system - easy install - sounds great! Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Jennings, FL on 12/8/2019

2011 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking receivers operates good

Pros: Very nice looks good easy functional will buy again

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Barely lasted 1 year

David from Marietta, GA on 9/21/2019

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit worked well last year. Tested radio back in June and it worked. Took the boat out last weekend and the radio powers on, displays radio and channel, then turns off. Sony support suggested resetting it to factory default. Pressing mode and dspl does nothing. if I disconnect the battery and reconnect, the unit goes into demo mode but it will not go to menu to exit demo. If I press src, it shows radio and turns off. If I hold the source in the radio stays on until I release then turns off. It is now out of warranty. I thought Sony would be better than the other brands. The boat stays covered so the radio doesn't get wet.

Pros: great features and sounds great. Really liked having SiriusXM and Bluetooth.

Cons: Only lasted just past warranty period.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Nice unit at a great price

Crutchfield customer from Bartlesville, OK on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a 30 year old Sony stereo in my boat. This one sounds much better than the old one. The FM reception is very good. I can attach a thumb drive to the USB port and listen to my music library that way. I can also listen to music and podcasts from my phone via bluetooth. The price was right as well and shipping was fast. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent value!!

Crutchfield customer from Bradley, ME on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installation took just 15 minutes. Unit proved to be intuitive and easy to set up. This replaced a 4 YO Alpine unit that did not have bluetooth or the ability to play music from an iPhone through the USB port.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit for my boat, very easy setup and Bluetooth operation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from York, SC on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio performed as advertised. The bluetooth setup was crazy easy; if your phone has NFC, you just touch your phone to the control knob and it is instantly set up. I purchased this to replace my old Sony, so installation was very easy. Great on the boat.

Pros: Lots of features; not as deep as previous stereo, has bluetooth, aux input on front, wireless remote, and will accommodate a wired remote so that the stereo can stay below deck.

Cons: Takes a lot of "clicks" to get through menus.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Boat Radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent value

John from Titus, AL on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good stereo for the money. I bought it for the blue tooth feature inner pontoon boat and it works flawlessly. Install is fairly easy, but make sure that you connect directly to a continuous power source. That issue was the only problem that I had in completing the installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

easy install

Crutchfield customer from Clifton, TX on 6/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very easy install, sounds great, will have to get on the lake to see how it holds up to the weather.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great system for boat!

Crutchfield customer from Linden , MI on 6/2/2019

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, plays well, functions on radio are laid out well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 5/24/2019

2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new Sony DXS-M55BT. Easy installation in my Harley Davidson Road glide.

Pros: Crutchfield has awesome help if you have any questions.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 5/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Nice features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good with minor caveat

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 5/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit powers my speakers fine with no external amplifier. Connector pins needed to be tweaked to make better contact. My unit resets when going over choppy waters. Menus reasonably well laid out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Taylorsville, KY on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Carmine, TX on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit sounds great. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Grest unit, great price

Jon from Howell, NJ on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this unit into my motorcycle fairing this week..so far it sounds great! I did also install two passive crossivers with two kicker and two polk audio speakers. If you are installing in a motorcycle I definitely recommend putting in crossovers and mixing up your speaker selection-one for bass and ones for highs. Connectivity to my iphone 7plus was super easy and the marine antennae just plugged with ease and gets great reception! I would recomend this unit for any motorcycle, boat or car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Toms River, NJ on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, compact and easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Nate from Grand Haven, MI on 1/7/2019

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wired the reciever into my boat, synced my phone for Bluetooth iPhone 7. And everything worked well. Internal amp is powering 6, speakers 6.5" with no problem.

Pros: Great price, easy installation

Cons: NA

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very nice radio.

Curtis from Tavernier, FL on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly, out of the box. Easy installation, and easy to use, intuitive controls. I'd recommend to friends.

Pros: Nice sound. Intuitive interface. Easy to install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Robert from ODESSA on 10/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple install and works great, Display is easy to see in my 2008 Wrangler, Bluetooth works fine.

Pros: Plays FLAC files, Bluetooth

Cons: No rear USB port

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Roland from Miami, FL on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value.

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value!

Rob from Norman, OK on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best FM reception and the most built-in power for the money. These features are important to me for the stereo in the boat. The lightweight design since it does not play CDs is a big plus, too, and makes mounting much easier.

Pros: FM reception, built-in power, features, light-weight design

Cons: Some menu functions are not as intuitive as I'd like, but a reference to the manual figured it out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good stereo, bad USB design

Bryan from Niles, MI on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking stereo and sounds good. The one complaint I have is that the USB cover looks like a latch but is actually a slide. It doesn't take much pressure to snap it right off, so now I'm stuck with a stereo in my boat with a USB port that has no cover. Otherwise it's nice.

Pros: Looks nice, sounds good, is light weight

Cons: USB cover snaps off easily if someone attempts to open it wrong

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Power and Sound

Crutchfield customer from Waterford, MI on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power and sound....small, lightweight chassis makes for easy install. Selecting input could be a little more clear cut, but works great and tuner is excellent.

Pros: Small, lightweight unit that is easy to install in tight places. Good tuner and power for 6 Kickers.

Cons: Selecting inputs could be little more clear cut, but once I am used to it, not so bad.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Jay from Middletown, DE on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product at a great price. My advisor, Aaron was awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Michael from Virginia, MN on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality at a very fair price

Pros: Very easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from New Ulm, MN on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and great sound!

Pros: Easy Bluetooth

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive product for the price

Eric from West Bend, WI on 5/11/2018

2011 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this deck with the auxiliary outputs to go with my 360 watt amplifier to dive two tower speakers and two 12"subs. I'm very happy with the deck so far. I writing this review because you need to spend time going through the sound settings and playing around with it. At first it was pretty good but after tweaking the settings I'm very happy with excellent sound and excellent base, I would definitely recommend.

Pros: Excellent features for improving sound quality

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit

Daniel from Crowley, TX on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well in the boat. Plenty of power for the four kicker speakers I have. No problem connecting to Droid or I phone. Good value for the cost.

Pros: Bluetooth works well

Cons: Different wiring harness than last generation sony marine radio. I was going it would have the same harness to swap out radio faster. Dropped my last face plate in the water. Still fairly easy to install.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Cory from Burton, MI on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding stereo much better quality than the factory Harley Davidson that it replaced on my 06 Ultra CVO. Installation was easy and straight forward. The unit is much smaller in depth than a standard one with a CD player, which created an issue with mounting my aftermarket Cerwin Vega (B-54) amplifier. So I made an aluminum bracket/plate to mount it to and was good to go.

Pros: Marine grade, awesome EQ setup, easy connecting to my android device.

Cons: Not knowing/paying attention to the shallow depth of the actual unit when ordering.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Kingsland, GA on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install, love the features. Done awesome so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Finleyville, PA on 2/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good sound and very good price works well in my Harley.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for My Golf Cart!

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 11/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this Sony DSX-M55BT to replace an old Sony CDX-M10 in a golf cart. I purchased the new radio for the features, Bluetooth to play music from phone, XM Radio upgrade capacity , a front USB port for charging phone and a remote control. I was hoping that I could swap out the old Sony radio with the new one without rewiring. The connecting pins are different, so I had to rewire, which took about 30 minutes. As I mentioned, I purchased the new radio for the updated features but what I was surprised most about is how much better it sounded using the same speakers. I was also pleased with was how good the XM Radio reception turned out to be in the golf cart.

Pros: Radio features and great sound.

Cons: If replacing an old Sony radio it may not be just plug and play but it did have good instructions for wiring.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood, FL on 10/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One word - awesome! Explained exactely what I needed and Crutchfield customer support zeroed in on what I needed. Saved me time and I ended up with a perfect stereo for my golf cart. Love how it works and performs - scans at light speed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

After disappointing reviews with other models...

Steve from Burlingame, CA on 9/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After searching high and low for a reasonably priced, single-DIN marine radio, this one met all my needs and provided a few unexpected bells and whistles, such as the wireless remote. Admittedly, I have only owned it for a few weeks now, but so far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony

Bill from Tappahannock, Va on 7/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, small and fits easily into dash. For marine use it needs a constant memory, most boats have battery switches that cut everything off and you lose your memory. BT has to relearn every time.Speaker wires seem very thin for supplying the advertised power.

Pros: Nice face plate, easy functions

Cons: no memory for boat use

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Islip, NY on 6/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a good radio, but the wired remote does not provide visual readings. It works, but you don't know which station the radio is tuned to on the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 6/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install as well as fictions. Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Ryan from Bay Shore, NY on 5/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good great sound on my boat, just installed this weekend with ease

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 5/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased and installed this in my 2008 Harley to replace the factory Harmon Kardon unit. So far disappointed in the sound. It doesn't compare in quality of sound to my factory stereo. Still trying to figure out all the settings I'll never use and the ones I will use. If it is still giving me trouble after I get back from my upcoming 14 day ride I'll be sending this back don't really like it. Sony really seems to lack when it comes to audio quality. I was hoping for something better.

Pros: Inexpensive, has external aux jack and USB port on front.

Cons: Poor sound quality, won't turn off stays on constantly, won't hold equalizer setting, gets stuck on one screen and can't get out, can't adjust equalizer settings, can't adjust bass or treble, crappy instruction owners manual.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Mark from Kentucky on 5/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received this item faster than I expected, Nice stereo for the money! Loaded with features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Provides good sounds. Excellent features. No complaints yet.

Pros:

Cons: Could make the wires a bit longer. I'd rather cut the excess, but I found the length to very short.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

kory from Sioux Falls, SD on 5/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect setup for my motorcycle easy install and great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just get it!

Jared from Pardeeville, WI on 4/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this receiver in my Harley Davidson along with a Memphis marine amp, pushing Memphis MClass oversized 6 1/2" speakers. It is fantastic! The Bluetooth works flawlessly, and is controlled by the head unit. Wish I had done this years ago!

Pros: Works great

Cons: Wish the illumination color could be changed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple install, with terrific sound.

C-Lou from Conroe, TX on 4/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We were able to install in our boat with a few questions from a very helpful customer support group. Sounds terrific and very pleased with our purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Matt from Peachtree City, GA on 4/9/2017

2006 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Great head unit for my pontoon. Ton of features for the money. Powers up 4 6.5" Kickers with no problem. Im going to buy another for my golf cart. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from South Carolina on 4/6/2017

2011 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this stereo to upgrade from stock unit in a 2011 Harley Street Glide.Installation is easy,just follow the instructions!Sound is Great all features this unit has work really well,You will need the handle bar switch control interface mounting kit to retain the use of handle bar switches.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from Marine City, MI on 2/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio and a great company. I have been buying car stereo stuff from you for over 20 years

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty Good for Wranglers

Matthew from Columbus, OH on 1/6/2017

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to put in a 1999 Jeep Wrangler. The installation was a piece of cake (using the mounting kit and wiring harness Crutchfield supplies). Since there isn't a CD player, the form factor is quite small. It fit with plenty of room to spare. As others have posted, I bought this with hopes the display is easily visible in bright sunlight. I have the hardtop on for winter, so I can't speak to that yet. It did improve the sound quality with the factory speakers. I mainly listen to podcasts from my phone. The Bluetooth integration works great. It was easy to pair. The Bluetooth volume is naturally lower than the standard radio volume. This unit has the ability to adjust an offset of the Bluetooth volume. Now, when I switch from Bluetooth to radio, I don't get a blaring boost in volume. It is consistent across both sources. My only complaint is the brightness of the display at night. I find it to be distracting. It has a display dimmer that lowers the brightness a bit, but not nearly enough. More user control in that area would be nice.

Pros: Easy fit in dash Bluetooth volume adjustable Visible display

Cons: Too bright at night

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from St. Louis, MO on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic radio. The thin plastic lip for adapter was flimsy and broke during installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Crutchfield customer from SW Ohio on 11/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far the stereo has met our expectations. Bought it for a Jeep which is often in bright sunlight or damp conditions. The operation of the multifunction vol / menu knob when bouncing around can be a challenge.

Pros: Hopefully resistant to wet exposure damage. Bright display.

Cons: Volume adjust when bouncing around is a challenge.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT

Christopher from Ft Worth, TX on 11/10/2016

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, easy to use unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Does It Again!

Phil W from Bartow, Florida on 10/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Second Sony marine stereo purchase for our ATVS and we are just as impressed the second time around. You won't be disappointed. Easy to use and love the mega bass feature! Plenty of sourcing options and compatible with android! Great price and rocking sounds!

Pros: Great price, excellent ease of use, durable, mega bass options, many source options

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

My Crutchfield Experience

Brian G. from Randolph, NJ on 9/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My primary need was to replace a "marine" cover for a radio/CD player on my boat. My existing radio was 100% operational. The "marine" cover was broken and after searching the options on Crutchfield's website I realized that I should consider upgrading the radio at the same time. My existing radio had a hard wired connect for iPhone, AUX, etc. but I considered that having Blue Tooth capability might be justified. The install space for a radio and cover on my boat is not standard and having had past positive experiences working with Crutchfield, I reached out to a Crutchfield Rep via a chat session. The Rep was professional and knowledge and most importantly to me, "listened" and understood my challenges and requirements. He offered a few options that would work for my application and made it easy for me to decide on the best solution for my needs.

Pros: The radio and marine cover I chose with his help has met, if not exceeded my expectations.

Cons: If I had negative constructive criticism I would share it but happily I have nothing to offer :)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony DSX-M55BT Marine Stereo

Lea from Kendallville, IN on 8/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality stereo, replaced old Sony receiver in pontoon that was 14 years old and quit working. Easy to install, took about 30 min. Bluetooth connected easily to all devices, cool feature of having a remote to control stereo functions. The sound is crisp and allows you to set up equalizer for all types of music, I.e. Rock, dance, pop etc.

Pros: Quality sound, easy to install and simple to connect your devices via Bluetooth.

Cons: Have to point remote at head unit for it to work.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marine Radio

Sandy F from Warsaw, IN on 7/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice high quality marine radio. Works with Bluetooth and Pandora. Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony

Nathan D from Baton Rouge,La on 7/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver for the price.

Pros: Bluetooth and remote

Cons: Does not come in white.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crest III pontoon

Bassman from Roanoke Rapids, NC on 7/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very quick shipping, works great!! Bluetooth works great!!

Pros: Easy Bluetooth connection, simple to operate

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP