Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Sony Alpha a6000 (no lens included)

24-megapixel mirrorless camera (Black)

MFR # ILCE6000/B

Sony Alpha a6000 (no lens included)

Sony Alpha a6000 (no lens included)

24-megapixel mirrorless camera (Black)

MFR # ILCE6000/B

17 reviews
View this product

Relevant Camera For Stills In 2020

Crutchfield customer from Winchester, MA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Though it is an oldie, the a6000 is very much relevant for stills in 2020. The features, performance, and image quality stack up well against many newer and pricier cameras, especially shooting raw stills in manual mode (no interest in video). The Sony a6000 replaces an ancient 2006 Canon XTi Rebel DSLR (RIP) => which in turn was a back up camera to a full frame Sony a7II. The compact body of the a6000 makes it a great travel/portable every day camera. And many of the a7II accessories can be used on the a6000 - shutter release cables, spare batteries, off board flash/transreceivers, etc..... Though not as feature rich as the Sony a7II, the a6000 does allow for a fair amount of customization => back button focusing, peaking level/color, zebra, live view on/off is invaluable for low light conditions, the ability to assign functions to custom keys, and customize the function menu. It was easy to adapt the crop sensor Canon EF lenses from the XTi Rebel, using a Sigma MC-11 mount converter, to the Sony a6000 body, and it has worked nicely. Cannot beat the value for a brand new unit, especially with year end holiday pricing, along with the additional end of product life cycle discount - priced below many used a6000's advertised on the web. Only gripe is having to change shutter speed with the dial - it is impossible not to accidentally press the dial without taking one's eye away from the viewfinder, and inadvertently activating one of the func

Pros: Price, image quality, performance, compact, settings are highly customizable, easy to adapt/plays nice with non-Sony lenses

Cons: Changing shutter speed with the dial is cumbersome

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Four stars for camera // Five stars for Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte Ama, VI on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera for my purposes. Bought this one, body only, to replace my first one which suffered two problems after two years of moderate use: 1- wouldn't turn off by switch; had to remove battery to avoid continuous " on". 2- the battery compartment cover broke off the unit. Hoping for better longevity on this one. More importantly, the service/shipping from CRUTCHFIELD was absolutely great. Five stars, unsolicited, for Crutchfield. Thanks for shipping to the Virgin Islands without question!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great deal for an excellent camera.

Eelco from Sunnyvale, CA on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera with excellent sensor & processor. I've had it for 3-4 weeks and have taken it for several photo shoots and am very happy with the result. I purchased both the Sony 35mm f/1.8 prime and the 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 zoom and am particularly impressed by the sharpness of the prime lens. I would strongly recommend avoiding the kit 18-55m zoom and going with the prime instead to really see what this camera is capable of. My reason for not giving the camera 5 stars is that the menu system is not well thought out. However, like anything, once you figure out where the few items are that you need on an on-going basis, you'll have no real issues.

Pros: Great sensor & processor Compact size

Cons: Menu system not logically organized

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony Alpha a6000 (no lens included)

Pro from Michigan, USA on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did lot of research before buying this camera. I have used couple of other DSLRs before buying this. I was really happy that I have chosen this the picture quality I am getting out of this really awesome especially the color tones are very natural. Once you combine this camera with correct lens the picture you are taking will be a memorable one. Nice camera to capture your memories.

Pros: Light weight and compact with good image quality and fast focus which helps to carry with you wherever you go.

Cons: Not weather shielded which we cannot ask for this price.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very competent

Sandy from Cape Coral, FL on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely satisfied. My main concern was the lower resolution EVF compared to my NEX 7. It is a non-issues. It is plenty contrasty and bright and a bit more realistic than the nex 7. Additionally, it is faster to refresh and process data than it older sibling. Images are crisp, colors are superb and tend to be a bit oversaturated but the settings can tone that down. Bottom line... I really like this camera especially since it also uses my Nikkor lenses with an adapter. No regrets.

Pros: Image quality,handling,overall quality

Cons: None to date

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony A 6000

Vic from Northern Mariana Islands on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took me a while and a lot of research to finally find the camera that will be good for my intended use. Watching Jason Lanier & Gary Fong online helped me a lot to decide to go with a mirrorless camera. The apps that you can download directly to the camera from Sony PlayMemories website is surely a plus for amateur photographers . You can even sync the camera to an Apple or Android phone for instant transfer of pictures from camera to your phone. Make sure you buy a prime lens like the 50mm f1.8, and for video I went with the 18 to 105 mm with a constant f4 G lens. Just make sure to learn how to properly use it and you'll be amaze of what it can do.

Pros: The camera specifications say it all.

Cons: It is not a perfect camera so prepare yourself and learn how to use it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Camera !

Vic from Northern Mariana Islands on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a long research for a new camera I finally found it! Watching Jason Lanier & Gary Fong on youtube help me a lot to go mirrorless camera.

Pros: The A6000 spec.s says it all plus the available apps that you can download into the camera which is good for amateur Pro photographers, and wifi capability too.

Cons: It is not a perfect camera so be prepared to learn how to use it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony A6000 Great Camera

PixelPro from Lexington, Va.. on 6/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found the a6000 to be a perfect portable, small camera that has the ability to take amazing photographs. I use it mainly as a backup to my larger Sony a7ii full frame. Both cameras use the same lens mount and makes switching back and forth very easy. The large APC sensor size of the a6000 allows for very detailed and low noise images.

Pros: Super fast focusing, larger sensor size, 24 mega pixel photos. Small portable.

Cons: Have to learn the Sony menu system, once understood it is very funtional but does take some time to get used to.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Almost perfect

UadeD from Washington DC on 3/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did my research and Sony is well ahead of everyone else in mirrorless cameras

Pros: Resolution is better than the Nex 6, higher autofocus etc. Used Crutchfield points to get the best price available.

Cons: Viewfinder not as good as nex 6

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small & Sophisticated

paball from Kalispell, MT on 11/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Want to carry small? Smaller than even a 7r. This should be one of your top choices. I bought a NEX7 for a travel camera when DSLR just too big. It was a great camera, takes superb images, but the slow contrast detect auto-focus, and the difficult menu system were real negatives. The A6000, using the same sensor, adds phase-detection autofocus for fast focusing, and the menu system was revised to an easier layout. The electronic eye finder lost something from the NEX7 but suffices, and the images are just as good. Retains the very useful focus assist, and highlighting. Will handle photographers from pros to beginners--just dial in the "i" auto setting for the latter. The Sony optics are not bad at all, and the Zeiss e-mounts are stellar--but cost as much as the body.

Pros: Size, cost, quality of build and images

Cons: Electronic viewfinder could be sharper. Lacks an dedicated auto manual toggle button like NEX7. Object tracking could be improved.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not a substitute for an SLR

Leslie from Saipan, MP on 10/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, the camera is that good -- but be warned it's for season shooters, if you'll be picking this camera as a substitute for an SLR pls don't. This can be your go to "on the go" camera because this thing is light compare to my SLR. What i like about this camera is that it takes good quality pictures because of its APS-C focusing system. What bugs me is that the battery really hogs the power of the camera, really descent but common Sony guys. If you'll be taking pictures primarily for casual and family use this is a keeper but if you're expecting a speedy camera for that wedding event better go with an SLR. Bottomline this camera is amazing just don't expect too much if you're a season SLR shooter. How i wish Sony people would give us rebates for extra batteries ha-ha!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great camera

Larry from Amherst, NY on 9/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having owned 3 NEX series cameras as well as many others, this a6000 is the best yet, trouncing my prior NEX-7.

Pros: Fast AF, relatively small and light, moderate cost, nice EVF, flash,,and smartphone integration

Cons: Needs a really good small pancake lens to make it a true pocket camera

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Alpha 6000

WayneR from Charlottesville, VA on 8/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tremendous camera- I used it primarily as a camera off of a surgical microscope to document procedures for lecturing and patient education. I like it so well that I bought another for personal use. It has replaced my big Canon and it's attendant lenses (I got the Zeiss 16/70 f4 and e Sony 70/200 f4 to replace the equivalent in Canon). Much less to lug around. And more megapixels. And faster focusing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ILCE-6000 Unrealized potential

Stuart B. from West Palm Beach, Florida on 8/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had my A-6000 about a month, maybe 500 photos - and it is a camera with unrealized potential. After shooting back to a Pentax and Nikon F1- I find the absence of a manual very hard to manage - the camera behaves very well as a point and shoot, good quality photos with Lightroom corrections applied to the lenses I own, but it has several shortcomings (below) that reduce it to a point and shoot.

Pros: Good to excellent image quality with Lightroom lens corrections applied. Very light, well balanced, and very quiet. Remote operation from a cell phone open creative windows in time lapse and distance wildlife that were well beyond my budget.

Cons: No manual is unacceptable. I shoot wildlife and the camera just won't focus on birds in flight - the shutter just locks up and the body laughs at me. I'm reduced to manual focus for any moving shots. Finally they pointed out a foot note n a blog comment that says the fast auto focus is disabled above F/8 (huh - maybe they think focusing isn't needed for a point and shoot), and focus won't work accurately on a blue sky. No autofocus - Over $1000, 1 star.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

An excellent continuation of the APS-C E-mount lineup

Joe M. from Seattle, WA on 6/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have spent a week with this body and the SEL-P18105G, SEL-35F18, and SEL-55210. I am very impressed. Having owned the 5, 5N, 5R in the past, I'm surprised and disappointed that Sony omitted the horizon/level indicator. Why? Other than that, the JPEG output is impressive and the AF coverage and speed are the best I have seen to date. For the price, this is a whole lot of camera. It covers the areas and times when my other camera, an A99, cannot come along for the ride.

Pros: Price, build quality, AF point coverage and speed, almost all functions can be assigned to so many buttons. I could not fill all of the available slots.

Cons: These are minor, but they could be improved. The horizon level indicator (why?!). It would be nice to have a faster flash-sync speed. I have been through two different boxes. Are all of the new batteries now made in China? All Sony Alpha batteries used to be made in Japan, and they felt more solid. The new ones feel hollow, but they are certainly a bit lighter than the original NP-FW50's.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

A6000-Top performer

Marty S from State Island, NY on 5/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera performs better than my Nikon D5200 full size DSLR. Compact size and full control of camera functions and picture taking modes. All the advantages of a DSLR in a relatively small package.

Pros: Small size, electronic viewfinder,sturdy construction, great ergonomics and most of all fantastic photos.

Cons: Sony and Zeiss lenses can be rather expensive.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony A6000

Roger from Los Angeles on 5/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this camera. Moved up from a NEX-5N. It's a little bigger but not much, still feels compact. I use this with the SELP18105G lens and the 50mm 1.8 and feel that's all I need to carry around with me. Very versatile setup. EVF is very clear, burst rate is excellent. Photos I've taken with the camera can be seen on my Tumblr http://rgrxdgr.tumblr.com/ Definitely recommended to anyone who is moving up from the "lower" end NEX models but do not want to invest in full frame just yet (A7).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP