Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony SEL85F18 FE 85mm F/1.8

Medium telephoto prime lens for Sony E-mount mirrorless cameras

MFR # SEL85F18

Sony SEL85F18 FE 85mm F/1.8

Sony SEL85F18 FE 85mm F/1.8

Medium telephoto prime lens for Sony E-mount mirrorless cameras

MFR # SEL85F18

11 reviews
View this product

Worth every penny!

Daniel from CLEARWATER, FL on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely worth every penny! I have purchased the f1.4 G master prior to purchasing these and I'm glad I returned the g-master and got these instead! Price is very reasonable and the quality of shots from these is outstanding! If you thinking of purchasing these lenses, don't! BUY THEM! You won't regret it!

Pros: Price, size, sharpness, f1.8 and focal length.

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love this on my A7III!!

Micah from Rougemont, NC on 9/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome glass for the money!!

Pros: Lightweight

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Could be better!

SS from New York, NY on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good lens. But I found the image quality slightly soft at full open apertures. I had to return it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing sharpness and perfect for Portrait !!

Eric from Fremont, CA on 6/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The lens is SUPER SHARP and great for Portrait on A7M3. I had it for about 2 weeks and the photo/video quality meets all my expectation for Church and Wedding!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony SEL85F18 FE 85mm F/1.8

William from Brookline, MA on 5/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A portrait lens that can't be beat for it's price...winner!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy it now

Reid from Mira Loma, CA on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have lens for any Sony shooter. Sharp, fast, and very light.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best cost effective portrait lens

Il Sun from Philadelphia, PA on 4/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this to pair with the A7III. Love the lens. Eye AF is amazing, and having a dedicated button on the lens to assign Eye AF is great. As a hobbyist, the quality of pics and bokeh with this lens doesn't make me wonder about 1.4 GM lens at a much higher price.

Pros: Size, cost, sharpness, focus speed

Cons: None for me

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A Real Superstar in Sony FE Lens Lineup

Pratyush from Chandler, AZ on 11/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking for an 85mm lens for Sony full frame mirrorless camera, look no further. This lens has amazing center sharpness with borders only marginally behind. It produces very creamy bokeh and really good contrast and colors. Vignetting is well-controlled. And at its price point, it's a bargain. Only negative is purple fringing in high contrast areas. Know when to avoid it and you will be fine. Side and weight are no issue. It balances very well on my A7RII body.

Pros: Sharpness, colors, contrast, price, weight and size

Cons: CA (purple fringing) in extreme conditions

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Absolutely amazing lens

Curtis from Austin, TX on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely loving this lens! I am by no stretch a professional photographer, however, the more I use the lens the more I learn how to get the most out of it. The first thing to get out the way is that this thing is SHARP! Coupled with the a6500, I use the custom focus button on the side of the lens for 'eye focus'. This allows the portrait shots to look absolutely stunning with the eyes really piercing through. Additionally, the size of this thing is amazing. I originally went w/ the Alpha series due to the portability of the suite. This lens, while packing in a ton of features, retains that mindset of being as minimal as possible when it comes to size and weight. I absolutely love that I can throw this in my backpack and it hold a smaller than usual footprint for traveling. The only thing I would recommend is if you aren't familiar with an 85mm (130+ w/ crop sensor), definitely get some trial runs in before taking it out on the field, as it is a bit of a different beast. Overall though, this is a must have for any Sony E-mount user.

Pros: sharpness quality size weight portability price (in comparison to other 85mm offerings)

Cons: none that i can think of!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony SEL85F18 FE 85mm F/1.8

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MS on 5/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I sold my 85mm 1.4 . Love the 1.8 faster focus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony SEL85F18 FE 85mm F/1.8

Howard from Opelousas, LA on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this lens on my Sony A6500. It's well built and balanced for me. The images are very sharp, fast focusing, I am enjoying the handling and overall quality of this lens. Forty years of using many kinds of equipment, I like it for a keeper in my bag. A very nice value for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP