Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony SEL35F18 35mm f/1.8 OSS

Standard prime lens for APS-C sensor Sony E-mount mirrorless cameras

MFR # SEL35F18

Sony SEL35F18 35mm f/1.8 OSS

Sony SEL35F18 35mm f/1.8 OSS

Standard prime lens for APS-C sensor Sony E-mount mirrorless cameras

MFR # SEL35F18

14 reviews
View this product

A must have lens

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 3/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This should be the first prime lens for anyone with an APS-C Sony e-mount camera. Great focal length. Very sharp. Small. Optically stabilized. My favorite lens for the amount system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small, light-weight, sharp and fast lens

Veenadhar from Halfmoon, NY on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect combo for 6000/6300/6500. For the price it does the job very well, almost close to Zeiss option at 40-50% of the price. Silent and fast auto focusing. Have seen chromatic aberration though. Overall happy with the results.

Pros: Fast, light weight

Cons: Chromatic aberration noticeable on edges.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony SEL35F18 35mm f/1.8 OSS

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 8/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens to own for sony A6ooo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Prime Time

Matthew from Canton, OH on 4/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this lens on my A6000 and started taking professional quality photos instantly. The lifelike clarity/sharpness of this lens is nothing short of phenomenal. Auto focus is lightning fast, accurate, and silent. OSS works great. Video quality is superb even at only 1080p. The amount of light this lens captures just makes me laugh. You can take a picture in near dark at 1.8 and it almost looks like it was taken in the daytime. Take a longer exposure of the sky at night, when you can only see a handful of stars by eye, and you will be astonished by how many show up in the photo! I'm new to higher end photography gear and I'm having a blast with this new camera and lens. Do yourself a favor and skip the kit lenses. Put the money you save, by buying just the camera body, towards better lenses and you will be much happier. I got the 16-50mm kit lens and it is quite a bit of work to get decent quality shots out of it. Only downside to this lens is obviously the price.

Pros: Everything but the price

Cons: The price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great lens

david from Brooklyn, NY on 6/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for a 35mm lens, great range, hi IQ and really fast. Must get for a Sony A6000

Pros: Light fast good price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Prime Lens For Indoors & Portraits

Chris G from Holly Springs, NC on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a good prime lens to take portrait pics with my Sony A6000. I'm still new to interchangeable lens camera, so I wanted something cheaper. It came down between this and the SEL50F18. After doing a lot of research, it sounded like I might have issues with the SEL50F18 when taking indoor group photos (crowding). So, I chose this lense. I couldn't be happier. The camera takes crisp clear pictures with this lense. It also takes great pics in low light. I would highly recommend this lens.

Pros: Crisp clear pictures, size and weight, cost

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid prime for low light

Philip from California on 12/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used it for a few shots with my NEX5N, solid performance in low light and I like the DOF it can provide compared to the kit lens. If you looking for a prime lens for your E mount camera, this is the one to consider

Pros: low light performance

Cons: Cost more compared to Sony 50mm prime, if you don't do need the reach in tight space should consider the 50mm with similar f stops

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome lens

Andy from Guam on 12/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very small in size and perfect for most of my shooting needs.

Pros: Small. Fast focus. Image stabilization. Best use with A6000 for fast focus and night shots.

Cons: Not as sharp as the 50mm 1.8

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony Alpha SEL-35F18 35mm f/1.8 Lens

JoeM from New York on 7/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens perfect match for the Sony a6000

Pros: Sharp lens, fast and great for lowlight

Cons: None that I can report

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sharp!

songsterq from Seattle, WA on 5/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my a6000, fast and sharp, image quality is amazing even in low light.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

For such a small glass it packs a punch!

Leslie from Saipan on 10/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't say enough how i really like this lens, had Nikons but the Sony f1.8/35mm Rocks! The only downside is the price cause it's too much for a prime lens but the photos really look stunningly vivid. I know that if it paired with the a6000, paired with proper settings this lens will do it's job. The lens is solid in material, like metal if you asked me no wonder they advertised the a6000 as moisture and dust free and the lens also goes with it. So good in low light, for my taste preference i usually go f2.8 for Bokeh effects and go tack sharp on f5.8 onwards.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just what I wanted!

Crutchfield customer from South Kent, CT on 5/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy, sharp, fast - much better than the kit lens.

Pros: Perfect.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

great lens!

schmally from So. Ill on 12/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received this lens promptly and used it during the Thanksgiving holiday. Excellent IQ and quite good in lowlight.

Pros: Good build quality. Superb glass.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice primary lens

Paball from Kalispell, MT on 10/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This with crop factor produces 'normal' lens (50mm equivalent)--just what I wanted. Adds little bulk to my Nex 7, and is very sharp. Maybe not a $1000 Zeiss, but no one is going to tell the difference.

Pros: compact, sharp lens

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP