Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony CDX-G1200U

CD receiver

MFR # CDXG1200U

Sony CDX-G1200U

Sony CDX-G1200U

CD receiver

MFR # CDXG1200U

79 reviews
View this product

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Seminole, OK on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great system for the money.Its hard for me to imagine anyone making something better in this price range.

Pros: Easy to navigate through the controls.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Racine, OH on 10/31/2019

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the mpney

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleased!

Crutchfield customer from Wayne, WV on 10/7/2019

1992 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit brings in stations that I've never gotten quite clearly enough to use, where I live. Great value!

Pros: Great reception. Nice features. Exactly what I needed for a great price.

Cons: None at this point.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Willoughby, OH on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good stereo , but don't have treble control, can't set a custom equlizer. i always bought a pioneer and next time will buy another one. just has more option in a pioneer. but this sony is doing what i need it to to. and easy wire hook up. had to cut splice all the wires for the speakers and hook up. where the pioneer was al ready done for you. so you will need wire cutters

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CD player and AM/ FM radio

Phillip from Espanola, NM on 9/19/2019

1999 Mitsubishi Mirage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio it works like a charm for me but I should have gotten a Bluetooth but this is a good one for you if you don't want a Bluetooth radio

Pros: Nice looking radio and great sound wonderful use

Cons: No Bluetooth but I didn't get one and no case to put the face in it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Cochrane, WI on 9/8/2019

2001 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit for the price. Has a lot of features and great looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

From a zero to a hero

Randy from Allendale, MI on 8/21/2019

1979 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The owners manual is a little on the vague side, so a call in to Crutchfield's tech dept steered me in the right direction. The pre set 10 EQ settings didnt match up with my high end Polk speakers and I couldnt figure out how to set it to "custom" with the owners manual. With their help, we got this Sony sounding perfect.

Pros: Nice clean look, sounds very good, $$ easy on the wallet.

Cons: Sony instructions need a little help with adjustments. Some adjustments can only be made with unit off, but nowhere in the manual does it tell you that. Crutchfield's support team made this stereo a "keeper" as I was about to send it back. I couldnt get it to sound good. Now she sounds great. thanks

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to operate Stereo.

Crutchfield customer from Horseshoe Bend, AR on 8/2/2019

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice CD Stereo with a lot of nice features. Good sound. Installed in a 1996 Ford SuperCab.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: Wiring could be confusing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Libby, MT on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its what I wanted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Top Notch!

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 5/8/2019

2001 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally purchased a Dual unit, but the AM/FM reception was lousy, so I switched to this Sony on the recommendation of a Crutchfield tech. The radio reception is better than the original Volvo unit! This unit has all the features I wanted (CD player for MP3s, USB input, AUX input), and it is easy to use. I particularly like the easy to navigate menu system. Crutchfield tech support was fantastic, as they helped me troubleshoot the issues I had with the Dual unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Hill, GA on 4/20/2019

2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a decent stereo for the price in terms of sound only. If you have a power antenna, it will go up every time you turn the unit on, regardless if you are not using the tuner. When you turn the car off, the antenna will go UP and then DOWN again even if the stereo was OFF when you stopped the car. To me, that is very annoying. The antenna should only go up when you switch to the tuner, then go back down when you change audio sources. The USB/phone connection on this is useless. Just get a memory stick and plug it in, you'll thank me later. Tried doing the firmware update, it just keeps crashing the unit and you will have to master reset it.

Pros: Inexpensive, decent sound, will play MP3 CD's

Cons: Power antenna function is terrible - will not accept firmware updates - USB to phone connection useless.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Piedmont, SC on 4/14/2019

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to set up. Great features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 4/1/2019

2009 Suzuki SX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always did love the sound of Sony equipment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 3/24/2019

1980 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not compatiable with I pod? Will be returning this tomorrow. How something so simple couldd be made so coplex is beyond me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great Receiver/Player, but...

Ben from Myrtle, MS on 3/17/2019

2004 Chevrolet Malibu (Classic)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It loses a star for the EQ not being user intuitive. There are presets easily accessible from the "EQ" button on the receiver, but the only way to change the 'Custom' setting is via the remote, as far as I can tell. The factory presents do not produce a 'full' and balanced sound, with new or old CDs. I havent tried the auxiliary inputs (1/8" and USB) yet. Overall it is a great value and a quality product, but know that it may take you some time to get a good sound out of it.

Pros: Value Quality Aesthetics

Cons: Not very user intuitive.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful And Easy To Operate

Pardero from Rock Springs, WY on 3/7/2019

1994 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprised at ease of operation! I had intended to replace the factory radio with the same Pioneer as my other pickup, because it was so perfectly easy to operate, but they changed the controls a bit, and I didn't like the new layout. I studied many models of JVC, Pioneer, and Alpine from cheap to expensive, and although I need bluetooth, I decided to go with non-bluetooth, and use a separate add-on, because they are cheap and handy. I nearly pulled the trigger on an Alpine, but it had a large overly bright button, which was a deal breaker. If I recall, the JVC was crApple oriented, and I despise Apple, hence a deal breaker, although I liked the clean lines and sensible faceplate. The rakish faceplate of this Sony gave me pause, but I really liked the large tuning(slewing) buttons! Nearly impossible to miss or hit a wrong button. The volume knob is not lit, but two diagonal lines point at it-excellent! If you hit the menu by accident while tuning, you can back right out of there with a button on the southwest of the volume knob! If you hit the PTY button while adjusting volume, no problem, as it is only radio station info, anyway. Not a problem. Somebody griped about a complex menu system?! I am a middle-aged klutz, and not a particularly bright bulb, but was amazed at how logical and intuitive the menu is! Superior engineering. I skipped through the items that did not concern me, but realized that this stereo can really be customized. Most powerful at th

Pros: 1. Most power anywhere near the price point. 2. Nearly klutz proof controls are well placed. 3. Supremely intuitive menu-I have not looked at the manual, yet. 4 White display is easy to read and far more elegant than colored. 5. Red controls go with any panel lights. 6. Trashed computer burned cds will not skip! 7. 10 levels of illumination will cover any contingency. 8. Perfect stereo for my junky beat up vintage work pickup, or a cowboy Cadillac.

Cons: 1. Although I am a persnickety curmudgeon, the ONLY thing I can quibble about is the slightly large 'extra bass' button. 2. Oddly, the trim ring appears symmetrical, but has a top and a bottom. If not for confusion with that, a 10 minute installation . Sorry Pioneer, I have always loved you, but this Sony blows you away, since you don't even make SuperTuners anymore. Crutchfield is still very much the gold standard in audio equipment, and their custom harness is a bargain.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Selinsgrove, PA on 2/27/2019

2004 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works amazing, love the ease of use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-1200U

Marcos from Philadelphia, PA on 2/27/2019

1998 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony one word AWESOME .Thank You crutchfield family your number one in my book.

Pros: Very easy to navigate.

Cons: Can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 2/3/2019

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really sounds great when u go to turn the volume up it easily hits the menu button so I just use the remote sounds good great price Daronray17 San Angelo

Pros: Sounds really great good price

Cons: When u go to turn the volume button up it hits the menu button easyily so use remote

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Sikeston, MO on 2/3/2019

2004 Hyundai XG350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

just fine

Ted from Mesa, AZ on 11/26/2018

2008 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just fine. It replaced the factory radio.

Pros: sounds great

Cons: controls are small

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Real bargain

George from Monroe Twp, PA on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful receiver that sounds and looks good and plays CDs without skipping (skipping CDs was my main concern). Lots of cool features and really a bargain for the price and Crutchfield tech support is excellent. My main complaint is the small buttons and the lack of an illuminated volume knob so it's hard to find it in the dark (but the more you use it, the less of a problem this is). Also, the volume knob doubles as the menu button so when you are reaching for it while driving to change the volume, it's easy to accidentally push it and turn on the options menu, which can then interrupt your listening if you start turning the knob. There is also a steep learning curve with this unit because of the many features and the markings aren't very intuitive. Plan on keeping the manual close until you memorize what each button is for. Overall, I am happy with the purchase. I'm a big fan of Crutchfield. If you are a do-it-yourselfer, do yourself a favor and buy from them- when you run into snags while installing, you will really appreciate their tech support.

Pros: CDs don't skip. Plenty of power for me. Looks and sounds good. Great price and service.

Cons: Volume knob is hard to see in the dark and doubles as a menu button. Other buttons are small and unintuitive.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Chloride, AZ on 11/11/2018

2000 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to follow instructions, sounds great, I like it a lot. When I need another radio I'll purchase from Crutchfield. Thanks for an awesome product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I was surprised!

Richard from Hegins, PA on 10/25/2018

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver to replace an older model which gave up the ghost. I was really pleased with the older one and hoped the new model would be of equal quality. I can say that I was pleasantly surprised. The new unit was a big improvement! It has excellent sound for a lower priced car stereo......far better than you would expect.

Pros: Excellent sound and features in a lower priced unit.

Cons: None that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Stereo, Nice Features

Gayle from Central Washington State on 10/20/2018

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my 2000 Mazda MPV, worked great and I loved being able to record CD-W's and leave the originals at home. The USB input is wonderful, holds a month of music, audio books, etc. This is by far the best I have had and Crutchfield made it SO easy! I never installed one before but the wiring harness, connectors, and instructions made it a pleasure. My husband couldn't believe I did it by myself! The car died after that but the stereo lives on, now I'm putting it in my new rig. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Versatile, great sound, plays USB, connects to my SanDisk player, and gets awesome reception! I can listen to my favorite station even where I could never get it before.

Cons: Confusing display, hard to read buttons, but as others said, gets better with time and you get used to it. I guess they have to be small as it does so many things well!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great factory replacement

Mike from Marshfield, WI on 9/30/2018

2007 Ford Focus ZX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic replacement for the stock Ford Focus stereo. Loving the amount of presets . and being to set an EQ for AM/FM/AUX. More power than I expected so the only con I can think of is that now I'm going to need to upgrade my factory speakers as it will probably blow them out if I'm not careful.

Pros: Individual EQ presets for each channel

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great sound and easy install

ric from Tucson, AZ on 9/2/2018

1980 Dodge Ramcharger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

was a replacement for an older SONY cassette radio....so dash was already modified and the connector worked for the new radio..speakers went right into the doors and the whole job took about twenty minutes...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 8/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounted in my travel trailer. Very pleased with the radio. Just what I needed. Mandy did good job at recommend this radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

sony

Crutchfield customer from Marysville, OH on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Buttons are difficult to read

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value and easy to use.

Crutchfield customer from Thiells, NY on 8/15/2018

1996 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a CD/receiver with USB and aux input for a 1980 vehicle. Because of modern circuit design I needed a ground isolater from Scoche and everything worked well. Customer support was great I may add. Thanks again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Huntingdon, PA on 8/6/2018

2005 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly into my 2005 Colorado. Directions came with stereo, good deal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 7/30/2018

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was exactly what I expected. It's not an amazing system or anything...its a low cost CD player with a few bells and whistles. The reason I am giving it a 5 star rating is because of the extreme convenience Crutchfield provided. I had to replace the stereo in my jeep before going on my vacation. How sucky would it be to drive for hours without any tunes? :( This was a reasonable stereo st a good price and it was able to be delivered a few days before the trip. I went ahead and ordered the wire harness service as well to make the installation as quick and painless as possible. I was shocked at how easy this made everything. Getting the dash panel off was the hardest part. I literally unplugged the old stereo and just plugged the new one in...screwed in the screws and bam...done! Less than 30 minutes for me!!! If I ever have to replace another car stereo definitely going this route!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Tom from Sun City West, AZ on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value. CD sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 7/9/2018

2006 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A basic radio that plays cd's. the radio works as expected. the cd player handles bumps very well. This is the main reason, I purchased a sony. It replaces a jvc, that was terrible with bumps, and its display, was weird Sony is much better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Bad

Bill from Steubenville, OH on 7/8/2018

2008 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There's no on-off button. I have to remove the faceplate to turn it off. It dosen't communicate with my phone wirelessly. I'm very disappointed.

Pros: Its a radio

Cons: Poor design.

Crutchfield response on 7/10/2018
Bill, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Steven from Yakima, WA on 6/24/2018

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A simple and great sounding stereo.

Pros: Extra base settings

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

You won't be disappointed!

Jerry from Ault, CO on 6/10/2018

2005 Dodge Stratus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth every penny! I replaced the factory radio/cd player in my 2005 Dodge Stratus Coupe, this one blows the factory unit away! If they made a Motorcycle.ATV/Marine version of this, I'd slap one in the Harley in a heartbeat!

Pros: Great sound, good power output, nice features.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Murrayville, GA on 6/6/2018

1993 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best stereo I've owned

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lots for the money....

Jay from Kihei, HI on 6/4/2018

2010 Nissan Frontier SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, exemplary service, support and fast delivery from Crutchfield. Two days free delivery to Maui. Sony G1200U was an easy install. Great power and low distortion for the price. Lots of features. A little complex to "dial in", but am used to it after one week. The equalizer has multiple pre-sets, but the ability to customize the EQ is the best. USB, AUX and CD are great and the remote control is icing on the cake. With 4 Kicker door speakers, 10" Diamond sub and a 300 w Orion amp......clean and more than loud enough.

Pros: Features and clean power

Cons: Complex and takes time to dial in.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Lithia, FL on 5/7/2018

1987 Buick Grand National

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clearance item at a low price ! Included harness and face plate at no additional cost. Been dealing with Crutchfield for a long time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Las Cruces, NM on 4/30/2018

1981 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

unit works well. Had a problem with this unit and 2 others received. I installed them in a vehicle that had only two speakers, found that all units would shut down because of heat when installed this way, added 2 speakers to connect to all speaker outputs and problem went away, please advise customers that these units must be hooked up to 4 speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

sweet radio, great service

brett from Langhorne, PA on 4/13/2018

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the head unit is dope. mostly use it for the aux cord to listen to podcasts while i drive around for work. all i did was order the radio and everything was handled. got everything i needed to do the install myself minus tools. kind of a let down how easy it was. i might get the same one for another car too.

Pros: all of it

Cons: had to go buy the wire caps. should have ordered them there kinda difficult to find cause they are kinda specific to audio. One of the big box hardware stores has only one option lucky it worked.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Austin from Apo, AP on 4/10/2018

2004 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really cheap and has some of the best preset eqs I have heard would definitely recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great quality and value for the price

Mike from Winchester, VA on 3/27/2018

2000 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony was installed as a replacement for another Sony model that was in our vehicle for over 9 years. It finally died after all these years of faithful service, so when we needed to replace it, we went with this Sony. It is a lower grade unit than the one it replaces, but in the 9 years that have passed, Sony has added more features that bring it up to the quality level of the old one. One of these features that we like is the ability to play music through the USB interface. It works great, but only works for us if the songs are prepared as MP3, or WMA files. It may read some others, but this is all that have worked for us through the USB stick. The tuner is awesome (We pick up 50 stations in our rural area..WOW!) It was a very easy replacement process, and the Tech that helped me ( Barry ) was very helpful and informative. Dealing with Crutchfield is so awesome! They always satisfy! Overall, a great buy for the $!!

Pros: Lots of nice features and they all work nice. I like the ability to change how it appears, ( Brighter/dimmer display ) and all the sound setting ability. It has plenty of power, and the station presets are more than ample.

Cons: It can be confusing to set it up and make the necessary changes at first for some, but it's not too hard once you use it for a while. The buttons are rather small and at times difficult to operate, but again, with time it gets easier.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Bernard from Uppr Marlboro , MD on 3/26/2018

2009 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio and loaded with features!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good radio for orice

Crutchfield customer from GA on 3/22/2018

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good. Some buttons are a little small

Pros: clear display, easy set up clear sound. Super easy install with the crutchfield install kit great tech support

Cons: Some buttons are a little small

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

One Source

Terrance from NC on 3/18/2018

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a radio capable of cd usb and aux input. My stock radio in my pick up had non of that . To me there is only one choice , and that is Crutchfield. Over the years I have ordered other radio items. With Crutchfield I have no questions on how to do the removal and the install, it is all there. The sony Radio is all I need. I did not know my speakers in my truck could produce such great sound. Very happy with the radio.

Pros: CRUTCHFIELD

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 2/27/2018

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deck for the price. Very easy to install with Crutchfield recommended kit, wiring device, connectors, and instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 2/26/2018

2005 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An amazing product - super easy install with incredibly detailed instructions & photos. Also, all the included accessories and wire connections made the project a foolproof install. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great buy

Ron from Fredericksburg, VA on 2/11/2018

2003 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install. Functions are easy to operate. Excellent buy for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Panguitch, UT on 1/28/2018

1986 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is alright, more than I need. I play cd's with mp3's on them and it takes about 15 sec to start playing them. My older alpine started playing them right a way with no waiting. Too complicated to use. The older one was simple to figure out but it does play my mp3's off disks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great low dollar car Stereo

Marty from Puyallup, WA on 11/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this radio to put in our motorhome. I needed a radio with AUX input so we could plug our XM receiver into it. We also listen to CD's. This stereo CD player has met my requirements plus, plenty of power for 4 speakers, easy to use equalizer, Bass boost and controls are not difficult to understand.

Pros: Low price, great sound and easy install

Cons: I am old fashioned, would prefer separate bass and treble controls

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony = Boomin System

Josh from Salemburg, NC on 11/16/2017

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good head unit, especially for the price! I would recommend it for sure. CRUTCHFIELD RULES!

Pros: Price and Quality

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent unit

Martin from Gilbert, AZ on 11/4/2017

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, easy to use - mostly. The buttons on the panel are quite small and hard to identify. The EQ settings are good. The Karaoke one is amazing really - if you want to sing along it does a great job of removing the vocals. The presets for EQ are missing one - Classical, which I would expect a company like Sony to have included first! This was a replacement for a factory installed Bose (made by Delco) changer and I can't say the Bose sounded any better. Now I just need new speakers.

Pros: Inexpensive Great sound Easy to Use Plenty of room for AM/FM storage

Cons: Small buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Lady Lake, FL on 10/30/2017

1991 Buick Regal

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio itself has assume sound and multiple imputs, but the unbelievable ease of installation you outlined (this was a 1991 Buick I was restoring) made the whole job exceptionally easy and a bit of fun. Your agents worked with me to insure every thing would go smoothly...and it did!! They (he..."Rocky") made sure that all the necessary and suggested aux. items were ordered, and it was delivered most swiftly. I can't thank your operation and personal enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit no modification(M benz E class)

Fredy from Las Vegas, NV on 10/29/2017

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a Birthday gift for my daughter. I was a little skeptical (after all I was replacing a Bose radio with cassette) But the Sony CD player very well complimented the Bose speakers. Thanks to one of your advisors who helped me with the wiring...(Idid not get his name)... been buying electronics from you since I got my truck... and this is not the last time..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too complicated

Kathleen from Libby, MT on 10/26/2017

1979 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What I am very unhappy about is that this particular radio does not keep in memory (?) anything that you have programed. Every time I start the truck, I have to reset the demo to off, reset the clock and reset the preset radio stations. I have never had so many problems with a radio in my life. I ordered this radio because I wanted something very simple to operate in an old '79 Toyota pickup. Also you are not able to set treble and bass levels. If you want more bass, you have to push the bass button twice or hit EQ to select music type levels. Maybe this type of programing is ok for young people under 35 but for me over 50, I find it a hassle. On a positive note, Wade was great and very helpful answering my many questions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/30/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Kathleen to help her further. We'll either help her get the receiver working the way it should, or help her return it for an exchange or refund.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 10/10/2017

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not only does the Sony radio look good, but it sounds great in my 2001 Jeep Wrangler. The installation process was so easy once I figured out how to get the OEM radio out. What made it difficult was the theft prevention kit that was factory installed. The wiring kit was easy to understand and the installation process was very quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very good inexpensive radio

Joe from Minot, ND on 10/8/2017

2007 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install, sounds way better than stock radio in my 2007 ram 2500. works great and the bass boost feature works pretty slick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Fairmont, WV on 10/3/2017

1994 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo at a great price. Could not be more satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio

Crutchfield customer from Blue ridge ga on 9/30/2017

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good product as always

Pros: A very good product as always

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Lacey, WA on 9/21/2017

2014 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shame on me for not asking if the device supports ipod playback. It does not. According to a spreadsheet buried on the Sony website, it doesn't support many devices at all. I give it two stars for that reason and that Sony customer service can't seem to answer their phone and the email/chat person clearly runs off of a script. I have purchased 2 other similar car stereos for my wifes car and my truck that had the USB port and they bother supported the ipod. Sound quality is similar, better features and cheaper price (JVC and Pioneer). Save yourself some cash and buy something other than this substandard unit.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Everything else. And that annoying chime when you leave the vehicle, reminding you to remove the stereo face...

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Glenville, NC on 7/30/2017

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This website made it so easy I have already spoken highly about Crutchfield to people about our town. I needed to replace a factory radio/cd player in my 2006 Jeep. I was able to select from products that will fit in my vehicle and they automatically tell you the other items you will need to complete the installation process. Their fee to pre-wire the unit to fit to your vehicle was absolutely worth the money and made installation much quicker and easier than it would have been otherwise. I received my product with in days of my placing the order. I was able to manage the installation myself, but knowing I could call their techs if I ran into problems was comforting. This Sony radio kicks butt and makes my speakers sound better than they ever have. Living in the mountains makes picking up radio station a tad challenging, and this unit picks up more stations than i knew existed. I had herd others say that the buttons on this unit is small. While that is true it really takes minimal time to get used to using this product. My cd's sound fabulous and I am looking forward to trying the thumb dive option in the near future. Lastly, this unit looks terrific and has become a great upgrade to my good ol' Jeep. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

G from Southold, NY on 7/25/2017

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the product but I get no reception on stations I used to be able to listen to. everything else works good. I can put stock radio right back in and get the stations!

Pros: cd player works great

Cons: can`t get stations I used to get on stock stereo.

Crutchfield response on 7/26/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to G. to help him further. We'll either help him get the radio reception working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Quinton, VA on 5/8/2017

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this radio, as well as this site. For the same price as another retailer, I got it from Crutchfield along with the wiring harness and removal keys. The radio puts out great sound, just have to upgrade my speakers now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Delafield, WI on 4/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A four because there is always room for improvement. I would recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works, but tiny and non-obvious buttons

Steve from Brunswick, ME on 4/2/2017

2008 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works. However, I found the buttons to be tiny and inconvenient to use. I suspect if I had been able to see several radios side-by-side, try them out and actually touch them, I might have bought something else. But it will do. I've always found Sony products to be reliable. I hope this radio is no exception.

Pros: Sony brand is usually reliable Sound quality seems good.

Cons: Tiny buttons Non-intuitive layout

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic sounding radio, CD-MP3 & Flash Drive Player

Glen from San Tan Valley, AZ on 3/29/2017

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great sounding radio. Very pleased with it and the installation was easy with the supplied free kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

wesley from grantville pa on 3/10/2017

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice radio but would not play my ipod through the usb Sony should make the public aware of that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Economical Upgrade for Older Factory Unit

Edward from Reno, NV on 2/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was a replacement for a factory AM/FM Cassette player and factory amplifier in my 1999 Toyota 4Runner. The wiring harnesses fit perfectly and the instructions for the installation were very good, and the unit fits perfectly in my vehicle. With the existing factory speakers, this unit sounds much better than the original factory unit and the convenience of the CD/MP3 format makes music selection much more convenient . The control buttons are not easily accessible and take a little time to get familiar with. Switching between different modes of control takes some studying of the owners manual as on visual inspection, the controls are not very intuitive. However, after learning how switching between the various modes is accomplished, it becomes completely functional, even though somewhat difficult to operate. The remote control, although functional, accesses only a few functions. Also, when a CD is loaded into the unit, with the FM tuner on, the FM antenna remains extended. In the factory unit originally in the vehicle, when a cassette was loaded into the player, the FM antenna retracted. When the unit is switched off, the antenna does retract. All things considered, including price, I believe this unit to be a bargain for anyone who wants to upgrade their older factory unit to a much higher quality music player.

Pros: Quality sound, very good music handling capacity.

Cons: Control buttons not very visible and accessibility is a bit difficult. Control of the unit is not very intuitive and a study of the manual is necessary to fully access control of the unit.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Strongsville, OH on 2/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Typical Sony quality in design and performance. Very high audio quality when playing MP3 files from a USB flash drive. And easy controls to use. Would purchase this model again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 1/17/2017

1997 Infiniti I30

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Clayton , IN on 1/9/2017

2007 Suzuki Forenza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For some reason the radio says it can't take an iPhone or galaxy phone in the USB port but other than that awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Ryan from Kentucky on 1/7/2017

1996 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo!!! Easy installation, love the added hi/low filters and sub outputs. Makes install easy.

Pros: Has everything a novice could need in a basic stereo.

Cons: Only one color display

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great value & sound

Tom from North Myrtle Beach, SC on 12/28/2016

1994 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of power, great sound and easy installation.FM, CD & USB...you can't beat the price.

Pros:

Cons: FM preset buttons are very small

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Radio!

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, SC on 12/12/2016

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for the price. I love that it has a front facing USB to play MP3's. Easy to install and sounds great!

Pros: Plays MP3's, front facing USB, Subwoofer outputs, great built-in amp

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Timothy R. from Independence, OH on 11/29/2016

2000 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy retro fit, great sound for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Mark from burghill, oh on 11/13/2016

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instillation was a breeze and controls are easy to understand and use. overall sound quality was more than I could have hoped for. Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony CDX-G1200U

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, MT on 11/8/2016

1997 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP