Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony HT-G700

Powered sound bar with wireless subwoofer, Dolby Atmos®, and DTS:X

MFR # HTG700

Sony HT-G700

Sony HT-G700

Powered sound bar with wireless subwoofer, Dolby Atmos®, and DTS:X

MFR # HTG700

37 reviews
View this product

Sony HT - G700

Dwight from Murphy, NC on 11/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound bar is great but the sub woofer volume is very low unless you turn the sound bar extremely high.

Pros: Great sound bar with a lot of sound.

Cons: Sub woofer should have better sound at a lower volume.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cool features, but design flaws and sub performance detract

Michael from Horseheads, NY on 7/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Sony unit is serviceable, but doesn't knock my socks off. I bought it to replace a Denon DHT - S514 that for some unknown reason starting experiencing mystery blue tooth interference after 7+ years of wonderful service. I was terribly disappointed I had to replace it because when it was working, the Denon hit all the right notes. I chose this Sony based on the newer technology (e.g. eARC input, Dolby Atmos) than some of it's competition. However, when unboxed and installed, the sound is just o.k. The Subwoofer enclosure is almost 1/3 larger than the Denon one I had yet it seems sadly underwhelming in the base category. It's got a 6.5" cone vs. the dual 5.5" cones the Denon had. Anyway, aside from the underwhelming subwoofer, it's got a lot of cool features and the bar itself sounds pretty good. I'm likely going to send this back and try the Polk and/or JBL that's on Crutchfield's "Best of 2022" list instead. The subwoofer's they offer just seem like they pack more boom for the buck and look a whole lot more elegant in design. The Sony's subwoofer has very harsh corners and just overall looks like a tower computer unit. Not a bad thing if it's going to be fairly hidden, but if you're walking by it on a regular basis, those sharp corners will be laying in wait for your unsuspecting shins!

Pros: -Slim Sound Bar profile for top of TV cabinet -Sound Bar sounds great with good dialogue clarity

Cons: -Subwoofer has a huge cabinet, but not huge sound -Sharp corners on subwoofer are a design flaw waiting to attack any passersby

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Ayodeji from Bronx, NY on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Too early to share my thoughts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 14 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Howard from Pahrump, NV on 6/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was a great addition to the TV in the Master Bedroom. Sounds wonderful and as the TV it was hooked up to was also a Sony,it was pretty much plug and play!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good tv sound improvement.

Bruce from Satellite Beach, FL on 5/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price this is a very good soundbar if you're looking for something to greatly improve the sound from your TV. It does not provide a total surround sound effect but it does have decent sound separation and good clarity.

Pros: Easy set up good sound quality. Bass is very good also.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good

Colin from Brooklyn, NY on 3/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good system for a mid sized room especially if yo have neighbors above and/or below

Pros: FLEXIBLE

Cons: Still checking the bluetooth. Not easiily connecting.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

GET INSURANCE

Mike from Kissimmee, FL on 3/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought in November 27th 2021.Now on March 10, 2022 (4 months) the sound bar is dead, Will NOT power up when plugged in.

Pros: Looks nice

Cons: Didn't last.but 6 months...

Crutchfield response on 3/15/2022
Mike, we're sorry you're having issues with your sound bar. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 1-year Sony warranty on this sound bar. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent sound

Walt from Baton Rouge, LA on 2/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with this purchase. The sound bar and woofer were extremely easy to set up and sound GREAT! Very pleased with pricing, Crutchfield offered this unit for $100.00 less than anywhere else, Couldn't be more pleased with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

George from Fort Payne, AL on 2/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It perfect for a small space no wires to trip over

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great TV speaker upgrade

John from Rochester, IN on 1/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great bang for your buck soundbar. It doesn't really give you the feeling of a real surround system but it is an awesome upgrade to TV speakers and looks great with my 55" TV. All the Sony products sync up and work flawlessly.

Pros: Easy set up. Good sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Wyckoff, NJ on 12/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound bar is incredible! The subwoofer makes all the difference when watching movies.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Crutchfield customer from Rensselaer, NY on 12/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to setup. Having earc along with the tv really simplifies the setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor quality audio

Greg from Danville, CA on 9/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to setup and connect to the TV and and Apple TV. But, the sound quality is poor regardless of audio settings. The volume must be turned up louder than is comfortable to get distinct speech, even on the voice setting. Music just sounds flat and lifeless regardless of setting. I bought this to pair with a Sony XBR-43X800H that I bought at the same time (Feb 2021). The TV is great. Given that both are Sony products, it's also disappointing that the sound bar remote functions aren't available on the TV remote. Seems like a missed opportunity. Too late for a return but I'll be looking for a different sound bar soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/28/2021
Greg, we're sorry you're having issues with your sound bar. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 1-year Sony warranty on this sound bar. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 7 found this helpful

Nice match for Sony TV

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted something to match my Sony 75" TV. This is wide and looks slick on the wall. Sound is crisp. Pleased so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Crutchfield customer from St George, UT on 8/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Easy set-up, outstanding sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Neshanic Sta, NJ on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Set up was super easy, and sound is awesome! Couple of hints: even though the TV sound is "off" with the sound bar connected, the TV volume has an impact on overall sound bar volume. So set the TV volume accordingly. Also, be sure to turn on the "enhanced sound" on the sound bar. Makes all the difference in the world; in fact, not sure why the default setting isn't with that feature turned on, but nevertheless, it provides a true stereo, almost quadraphonic soundscape.

Pros: Super easy to set up

Cons: "Optional" sound features must be turned on from remote; not really a "con", but they should default to being turned on from the start.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Sound bar

Crutchfield customer from Gunnison, CO on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect customer service. Great prices on products Excellent line of products

Pros: Affordable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Full price quality at a discounted price

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Such a wonderful soundbar. It was worth buying the open box outlet option for the great discount . Will be checking the dudcounted sections again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sound Bar

Crutchfield customer from Chelsea, MA on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good unit but for my satisfaction I needed more bass. Crutchfield is world renowned and they have competitive pricing. Plus lifetime tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/23/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

10 of 10 found this helpful

Not that great

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was hoping for a resolute solution for a sound system after spending less money on cheaper systems. I purchased Sony because I have a newer Sony TV. Matching should be good. But overall, I see little improvement. It disconnects periodically for no reason and goes out of sync at times- even after selecting the sync operation on both the sound bar and tv. The menu is only as good as your eyesight. Must get up to see what you choose on the sound bar itself. Some of the functions state: "Not Used" and I have little idea why after checking hook ups repeatedly and using the correct connections. Sub woofer appears to have little "punch" to it. Whispers even on the highest setting (12). Voice enhancement?- the jury is still out. Bottom line, don't be tricked into thinking more is better. It'll do for now, and the sound is "ok" when all is well, but I am disappointed overall.

Pros: Ease of set up is good. Wireless connection to Subwoofer worked well.

Cons: May go off unexpectedly. Not sure about the Subwoofer output. Menu difficult to maneuver. User manual could have more troubleshooting ideas.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Decent, but less than hoped for

Crutchfield customer from Mount Dora, FL on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

One of my main reasons for buying this was voice clarity at lower tv volumes. It's an improvement, but not a huge one. On the music side, it's ok, but nothing to get excited about if you're someone who enjoys listening to clear, well reproduced music. In short, a nice improvement on TV sound, but should not be considered as a substitute for a good audio system.

Pros: Easy to set up, especially with eArc Movie sound improvement is best benefit

Cons: Commercials still come out louder Even on voice setting, background sound sometimes dominates. Bass sound sometimes sounds what I would call economy.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony

Crutchfield customer from St Paul Isle, AK on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros: Bass

Cons: Not loud enough, for the hard of hearing.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Crutchfield customer from Transfer, PA on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, great clarity. But not what I needed for a big room. So I traded it in. Crutchfield has been absolutely awesome.

Pros: Voice clarity is great. Especially watching British shows.

Cons: Not enough bass for my taste and the size of my room. Other than that it's a great product.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Crutchfield customer from Cape May Ch, NJ on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit. Simple to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

JAMIE from Piedmont on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding soundbar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Crutchfield customer from Steubenville, OH on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bill and the Crutchfield girls and guys did it again. Delivery was much ahead of the projected date and the gear is great. This soundbar matches well with my Sony big screen TV an improves the already good sound. Since I'm old, I don't hear as well as I once did and the soundbar makes voices sound clearer. It's not an audiophile setup,but I didn't expect that. The bar does exactly what Crutchfield said it would do and consequently exactly what I expected. Keep up the good work!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Crutchfield customer from Vandergrift, PA on 1/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not bad but I guess I expected a little more from Sony.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Sony HT-G700 has an amazing sound! I live in a studio and it definitely fills every inch of my place. The only problem I have had is that the trouble-shooting for this device is hard to access. It, for some reason, will lose the sound to HDMI. I have to change the settings on the TV in order to hear it again.

Pros: Amazing sound!

Cons: Some issues with connecting inputs.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound quality for the money. Set-up was easy as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality sound

Crutchfield customer from National City, CA on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to setup and gives good room filling sound.

Pros: Ease of setting up, and love the wireless sub

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonderful Speech and effects from Sony HT-G700 Sound Bar

Crutchfield customer from Grayslake, IL on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Initial setup was very easy. Sound out of the box was very good. Because it has a separate speaker for voice, you can hear speech clearly over the sound effects. The several effects, such as Dolby, seem to immerse the room in sound as though we had several speakers firing in our room. I was concerned that you have to turn the volume up to at least 25 to hear any program and further if you want to hear the sound effects. In conversations with Crutchfield, this is typical of today's Sound-bars with multiple speakers. Also, the instructions were not clear for using the supplied remote. It only operates the sound bar to change settings and inputs. It is not meant for operating the TV. The instruction booklet in some areas is hard to follow, particularly in changing some of the sound effects. But, all in all the sound-bar is terrific and I am glad this was recommended for our TV sound needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Finding the Right Sound Bar for Your Needs

Crutchfield customer from Show Low, AZ on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When you turn on your AV system are you there to watch a DVD or stream a movie? Or like me, are you watching TV primarily with that DVD or streamed movie sometimes? Before finding this Sony HT-G700 I talked to many 'helpers' and even ordered a Samsung HW-Q60T based on a huge discount. I sent the Samsung back. It sounded good but really did not play well with the rest of my system. If you're that person who is a streamer and mostly 'movie theater' viewer, or an audiophile with specific music likes and types. then I'm sure there are specific Sound Bars to suite your specific likes and needs. However, if you're like me and do the 'channel change - recall' dance a lot then you need a sound bar that plays well with your TV, Cable Box and DVD player. In the days of everything 'Smart' you can find yourself in a war of technology and adding the wrong sound bar will cause all the aforementioned to do strange things to say the least! Coupled with a Sony XBR-55X950G 4K TV, Sony UBP-X800M2 HD DVD player and a Cable Box with DVR this Sony HT-G700 Sound Bar sounds great, has the famous Sony intuitive simple and straight forward controls and remote inputs that keep life simple. or at least as simple as it can be these days! Oh, and the crew at Crutchfield made life easy as they helped navigate through the maze, took the Samsung back and replaced it with the Sony HT-G700. It can be a big help keeping things in the family; Sony and Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Sony soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Fredonia, NY on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sound bar does exactly what it says it will do. Glad I purchased it .

Pros: Everything

Cons: Absolutely not

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Minimalist Atmos

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good. Bought this for my apartment to enhance my TV's speakers and listening experience with Atmos. This soundbar does not have upward firing speakers, so it's not the "old-fashioned" Atmos, but it still sounds great with their supposed "software magic" to get the Atmos effect! Obviously you would get better sound with a receiver, a few front speakers and rear speakers (a whole home theater-type setup), but for somebody who's looking to go the minimalist route, this is great! Sound quality from what I can tell is great; the surround effect is DEFINITELY more than what you'd get with any other soundbar at this price range. The ease of setup shocked me (given the Atmos, I was expecting having to calibrate it to my room, but right out of the box it was doing surround), just plugged it in, connected the sub and it was good to go. I would have liked to calibrate the soundbar to my specific seating position to get the best surround effect, but I couldn't find out how to do that in the instructions. I don't know if it's worth noting, but the power cords were short for my entertainment unit setup - an extra foot or two would've done the trick (I have my surge protector in one of the entertainment unit cabinets on the opposite end of the sub, so it had to go further than most). Overall I'm happy I bought this unit, been about 2 weeks with it and no glitching or problems - powers on and off with the TV (I have a Sony TV), and it's a seamless process.

Pros: Minimalist Surround Effect Seamless Easy Setup

Cons: No calibration? Short power cords

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony HT-G700

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds Amazing!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Mc Cormick, SC on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Being old school audio I was very dubious about the quality of sound that could come out of a sound bar and a subwoofer half the size of my 10" Veladyne subwoofer. I'm used to floor size Polks or similar audio speakers. I have to admit this system in amazing. Not only is the sound full and room filling but the control over the bar and subwoofer make the system "fit" whatever is right for the TV show being watched. Parred with my 55" Sony TV I have a fine AV setup. I highly recommend this system.

Pros: Great sound Compact Versatile

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

700/950g

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Park, TX on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Taking some time to learn the nuances of the hand shaking between the 950G and the 700, still have NOT got it down. Wiring the system very easy, make sure you understand eARC/ARC and cable connectivity/HDMI input/output ports. The order of 'power on' is critical. TV on first, then cable box/700 at same time.

Pros: Two SONY products directly connected.

Cons: Still need to read both manuals for clear understanding of how things work.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound