Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony HT-ST5000

Powered sound bar with 4K/HDR video passthrough, Dolby Atmos®, and Chromecast built-in for audio

MFR # HTST5000

Sony HT-ST5000

Sony HT-ST5000

Powered sound bar with 4K/HDR video passthrough, Dolby Atmos®, and Chromecast built-in for audio

MFR # HTST5000

30 reviews
View this product

Great Sound System

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy initial setup. After a couple weeks just getting acquainted with the capabilities and proper setup of the equipment. Instruction manual is about 90 pages long and pretty easy to follow. Nice thing is a lot of flexibility in setting up the sound bar and sub-woofer the way one likes it. Still making changes to sound output till its just right. It keeps getting better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

An Exceptional Switching Hub For Audio Video Systems

FDW from Santa Fe, NM on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My review of the Sony HT-ST 5000 is somewhat different because I have a surround sound system for movies and music as well as a sound bar for routine TV use. Having two audio systems in one AV pathway is always a challenge to set up but using the HT-ST 5000 as an ARC enabled hub greatly simplifies the process . The HT-ST 5000 is an outstanding and versatile sound bar that outperforms most other high end sound bars. Construction is the best I have seen and there is no plastic or fabric in sight. The high frequency detail is excellent and the sound stage can be modified in a number of ways to satisfy most listeners. Overall the low frequency response of the system is good but it could be improved. The setup features of the HT-ST 5000 are exceptional. The sound bar acts as an audio switcher and will automatically turn off its audio if surround sound is active in the same pathway. The HT-ST 5000 is an ARC enabled hub for all of the ARC enabled and non ARC components in the AV system. If surround sound is turned off, audio output reverts to the sound bar. In surround mode the sound bar also can be powered off but its HDMI setting must be at 'Standby Through - On' to allow continued video pass through. Sony has not promoted these important capabilities but audio switching and video pass through are very useful features for an integrated AV system. (a similar but more detailed review of the HT-ST 5000 was posted on the Sony website.)

Pros: Quality, setup versatility, excellent sound stage, overall performance.

Cons: Because of the limited low frequency response of the subwoofer, its audio output is directional and thus the sub should be placed as near to the soundbar as practical.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000! I would certainly recommend.

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased the Sony HT-ST5000 and am very pleased with my purchase. The room that it is in is perfect for a sound bar more so than a complete surround sound system with front, center and rear speakers. I was first blown away by the build quality of the sound bar and sub. You can feel how well built both are and once I got them set up with my new Sony XBR-65A9G OLED TV (I splurged a bit and I am a big fan of SONY) I was very very happy with the sound quality as you do find yourself immersed in the sound that comes from this sound bar and sub. It has been quite a while since I purchased some new audio / video equipment and since I have an extensive music collection I also wanted to purchase for this room a quality Blu Ray player that could be used as a very good CD player. For this I went with the Panasonic DP-UB9000. Paired with the Sony sound bar they work together terrifically. While not the same as having multiple speakers dedicated just to music this combination is more than does the job. I am quite happy. While I did spend a little bit on everything I think I got my monies worth.

Pros: Excellent Build Quality Great audio clarity Lots of HDMI inputs

Cons: A bit on the expensive side

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CT on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Killer sound!!!

Randy from SAN ANTONIO, TX on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sound bar is gorgeous! Awesome quality and killer sound! Found it on sale with purchase of a Sony TV. Super fast delivery!!! Very happy customer! I look forward to spending all my money at Crutchfield!!!

Pros: Heavy - great quality! Sleek and modern looks!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Poncha Springs, CO on 8/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sound bar has very good sound and the ability to connect various devices. It was very simple to connect to a Sony TV!

Pros: Easy connections and great sound!

Cons: The first box was delivered damaged but they quickly sent another unit!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

AWinner

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really cant find anything not to like about this set. Super easy to set up. Remote controls remote woofer volume independently from soundbar volume. Solid build. I have the wireless woofer situated 5 yards from the soundbar - no issues and good depth. Different sound setting for sports, movies, 3-D, surround sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Disappointing on many levels

Crutchfield customer from Ridgewood, NJ on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Major audio sync issues on eARC/ARC HDMI channel. Overall, looks great but the low and high ranges sounds are sub par for a $1,200+ audio system. Which is a puzzle as I was expecting more from the Sony HiRes.

Pros: Appearance

Cons: Poor sounding speakers/sub

Crutchfield response on 7/1/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

7 of 11 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Kihei, HI on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This soundbar looks good. The subwoofer is quite large, but can fit nicely next to an entertainment center. There are no rear speakers so the sound in a mid-sized room is not totally enveloping, but still quite compelling. I don't get a great sense of Atmos, but the front soundfield is large in 3D sound mode. Sony's on-screen menu is great to have setting up the unit. It does not have automatic room calibration, but it really isn't hard to take a few measurements and put them into the setup menu.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Downsizing

Crutchfield customer from Clyde, NY on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1st Soundbar ever? Have this running with a 950G 75". Replacing a DTech 8040 cchannel. The Sony has its own distinct sound,and performs better every day. The sound is so dependant on the source. Have this in a12 by 24 room. It is outstanding for movies, not better than a good SSound setup. In a smaller rooms this Sony is a Movie Star! Vevo videos from Youtube play very very good. The sound is good enough to pass on turning on the Yammi. The better the source the bigger Rock Star this is. The auto His Res conversion is set to auto and what a difference. Clarity and separation. I'm thinking with a Tru hi res source it will shine. SW is all Sony, and is matched well to the bar. SW, Soundfields, volume, and many other options all changed from remote while watching or listening. As a BT receiver it worked flawlessly, with MSoft, and a Sony portable with LDAC. Not a replacement for serious listening, yet it definitely will get you by, in a very good way. When sources are piped through the bar the source is added to The Sony TV input selector. You then use tv remote shortcut menu to change input. No need to go into Sbar menu once it is setup! That last option makes this such a wondeful option, less menus and remotes the better. Magenetic grill excellent. Have not used all its functions yet, its a Sony. Wife loves, Son loves it, low volumes to high volumes, this works. Future proofing my self fo 10 yrs I hope? This bar does not replace seperates, it will run tv stuff!

Pros: Transfers inputs to TV input menu. Many Sony equipment is used in so many TV, movie, and music studios, maybe they are the standard?

Cons: Expensive, get the sale and TV discount!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Holcomb, KS on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great but I cannot get it to pass through Dolby vision. It conflicting on if it supports it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

FRANK from Troy, MI on 11/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great tv 's I love it so much I we'll tell all my friends about Crutchfield because they have the best product and the best prices

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Ridgely, MD on 9/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Williamsville, NY on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent as expected from sony

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Jimmy from Palmyra, VA on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional sound and awesome bass! Fantastic upgrade over my old soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Shui from Hackettstown, NJ on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound bar. Very satisfied. Great customer service, fast delivery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality is good and setup was easy. The selections for input types are very limited. For example, Apple TV is not on the list. Ideally the setup would allow input of small amount of text like PS3(DVD), AppleTV, LG-TV WII...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound and bass

Steven from Tampa, FL on 10/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and easy to set up. Lots of bass in a large room so no concerns with that issue that others had reported. Run the HDMI cords into the soundbar and a single output to the TV for best sound. A bargain from Crutchfield's scratch and dent sale but absolutely no blemishes, only a battered box.

Pros: Sound, scratch and dent price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Maunabo, PR on 9/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Regular power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 48 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Chatham, NJ on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprised by how well this does surround. Lot's of sonic power and bass for the room it's in. Paired with a 75" Sony XBR75X900F. Atmos works well for me, unlike some of the other reviews. I have low ceilings where it is so maybe that helps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Thumping bass!

Jeffery from Miami, FL on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Blown away by the sound (4.5 stars) and ease of set-up of this system (4.0 starts). Also struck it lucky when I purchased an Open-box (scratch & dent) and it came in perfect condition. Thank you Crutchfield. I will be back for more.......Thumping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Overall I'm satisfied

Tony from Dickinson, Tx on 7/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a really good sound bar but I noticed a delay with my two srs zr5 rear speakers so I bought a Furman power conditioner/surge protection elite 15 and There is a nice little improvement in my main speaker and the subwoofer. I called Crutchfield and at first they told me I can't get Atmos and surround speakers at the same time but I called again a few days later and they said I could. When playing sicario 4K blu Ray on my Xbox one x I do notice Atmos and the rear speakers working as surround sound. It may be me just imagining but I hope I'm right. I will continue to investigate, if I'm wrong I might buy the z9f later on down the line

Pros: The sound bar and subwoofer sound great with a power conditioner

Cons: Would like to know if I can get Atmos through the front speaker while getting surround sound out of my two rear srs zr5 speakers

Crutchfield response on

7 of 15 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Joseph from Monroe, OH on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this is outstanding!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

No wireless support

Carrilyn from Fargo, ND on 4/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not support wireless surround with sony speakers through sonys app. Only supports multiroom. Sony offers wireless surround with the basic soundbars but not with this high end model. Contacted sony support and no immediate plans to add wireless surround capability. Frustrating that the sony support site for this model directly links to the youtube channel showing how to add wireless sony speakers. Well built. Sound is good but not $1000 better than my klipsch r20b

Pros: Chromecast built in. Clean sound

Cons: No wireless surround support.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 25 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Antonio from Dickinson, TX on 2/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great sound bar but if you have the room to accommodate more I will wait for the new system that comes out in spring that has Dolby vision and optional rear speakers ??

Pros: Atmos is nice ????

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent integration and great sound

Matt from Alpharetta, GA on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a really high ceiling and the Sony is one of the Atmos bars that is supposed to deal with that, but I think it's a stretch to do it in a really highly vaulted room. Other than that, I love it. Great integration with my Sony 4kTV and my Sony Blu Ray player. All the remotes work for the soundbar volume perfectly. All devices power on and off together with a single button. Seamless and dreamy. Plenty of deep bass and a pretty wide soundstage for music.

Pros: Wonderful sound, plenty of deep bass and nice integration with other Sony gear.

Cons: Atmos effect is limited with a high ceiling...I'm a little skeptical about the effectiveness of Atmos in general (regardless of ceiling heigh)..

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great room filling sound (if you have a small-medium sized room)

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 11/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved the Atmos/DTS:X sound this bar puts out. I have a small living room and this sound bar really fills the room with thunderous sound. Watching a movie like John Wick 2 really makes you feel each gunshot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great Sound Separation and Bass!

Christopher from San Antonio, TX on 10/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have purchased many soundbars trying to find one with a fuller sound, and this one is the best that I have heard (so far). I am sure that there is no substitute for a true 7.1 speaker setup, but the separation of sound actually works well and suits my apartment living needs.

Pros: Sound separation Strong bass Atmos effect definitely adds something Plays nice with all of my other Sony stuff

Cons: The remote is the same as all the cheaper Sony sound bar models

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Emanuel from MI on 10/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound bar (home theater bar) only real complaint is that Dolby atmos over head effects could be a little more immersive. To try to compensate for that, I have my Dolby atmos drivers a little louder. Perhaps Sony will release a add on to make the 7.1.2 configuration a 7.1.4 configuration. I even left a direct message for them on Instagram requesting it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony HT-ST5000

Crutchfield customer from Boston Area, MA on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been in the market for one for a while. I've read numerous reviews, and even bought a similar priced Bose model and ended up returned it. Going on Sony's reputation and the reviews, I gave this one a chance. Other than it being shipped with a faulty HDMI cable, I have for the most part been quite impressed. The sound stage is full, it gives a pretty good simulated surround effect, and the wireless sub works flawlessly, providing quite a punch. I also like that the remote has a dedicated vol +/- for the sub, so it's easy to adjust. Having a Sony TV, it also integrates very well with the Bravia Sync functions. Also, unlike the Bose model that I returned, it's nice having an on-screen user interface to configure options rather than rely on confusing remote codes. I have two complaints though. First, the sound effects/sound field options create some weird inconsistencies, especially with TV broadcasts. I found the best sound came when I disabled it altogether. The only problem is, it's a process to re-enable it when I do want the effects for music or movies. An easier method to enable/disable would be welcomed. The other complaint is there seems no easy way to be able to listen to another source on the soundbar, such as an iPhone over Bluetooth and watch TV (without sound) without altering your setup. All in all, I would recommend this soundbar for anyone looking for a decent substitute to a multi-speaker surround sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

32 of 34 found this helpful

TOP