Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony Cyber-shot® DSC-HX400V

20.4-megapixel digital camera with 50X optical zoom

MFR # DSCHX400/B

Sony Cyber-shot® DSC-HX400V

Sony Cyber-shot® DSC-HX400V

20.4-megapixel digital camera with 50X optical zoom

MFR # DSCHX400/B

17 reviews
View this product

The Sony

Crutchfield customer from Willoughby, OH on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ordering process was a breeze! Love the Sony features and ease of use. This is my 4th Sony point and shoot. Love the 50x optical zoom.

Pros: Ease of use. Features. The Sony lenses are amazing.

Cons: Wish the lense cap had a strap.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

S

Crutchfield customer from Newburyport, MA on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my camera! In particular I love the adjustable screen which makes it so easy for me to take shots that would otherwise be difficult.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V

Roy from Siloam Spgs, AR on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera. Good photos. WiFi use is very poor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood Ranch, Fl on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just took over 300 photos of the Smokey Mountains for Christmas, the picture quality was incredible, the zoom lens is amazing even on in digital zoom picture quality clear. I stepped down from a DSLR by Sony for this Camera, because I was tired of changing lens and carrying around a back pack of equipment. This camera does everything I want and much more I look forward to going out and playing again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

17 of 19 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V

Crutchfield customer from Anasco, PR on 9/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente compra. Toma unas fotos de excelente calidad.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V

Deborah from Long Beach, NY on 5/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight out of the box, following the first shot, the Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-HX400V gave me a message "Processsing." I can take only ONE photo at a time. I had read that this was a problem with the HX-100V's predecessors, but had thought that the issue had been resolved. I spoke to someone at Crutchfield who suggested that the memory card might be the problem. I was using a Sandisk Extreme Memory card. So I inserted a Sandisk Extreme Pro memory card. The Sandisk Extreme Pro is a top cards that, has no problem keeping up with my Sony RX-10 MK IV. Perhaps I got a lemon. I need to return the camera. It's unusable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V

William from Springfield, MO on 2/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera for the price. Arrived on time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Sony DSC-HX400V Digital Camera- 20.4MP, 50X,

Crutchfield customer from Mount Sinai, NY on 6/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera as a backup, but it does everything I need and more. An awesome camera. I would not ask for anything more at this price. It's a steal.

Pros: Ease of use. Light weight, Great zooming capability.

Cons: Nothing I can think of. It will be even better if the camera can save images in RAW format.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Hiker

Crutchfield customer from Green Valley, AZ on 5/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the camera. It is exceptional. Lens is truly amazing

Pros: Lens, lightweight, quality of pictures. Very pleased with results

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

I Love it!

Dina from Tracy, CA on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it! I've only been using this camera for about 2 weeks now and I can say I am so amaze of the image quality of this camera. It does everything and the zoom range is awesome. I strongly recommend Sony and Crutchfield to anyone looking for a great digicam.

Pros: Pros: The mega zoom is amazing. I'm very pleased with this camera so far.

Cons: Cons: The lens cap has no string, attached to it, it's easy misplace.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

The intelligent, Do-Everything digicam!

Ron from Charlotte Court House, VA on 9/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been doing business with Crutchfield for decades because I look forward to their competitive prices, friendly sales people and fast service. So it was a "no-brainer" when I decide to upgrade my digicam and purchase a Sony, DSC HX400V camera. After using it extensively for a couple of weeks, I can say that I am in awe of the power and image quality this feature-laden Sony bridge camera offers. It does everything I want of an advanced "point-and-shoot" camera without being overly expensive or bulky, and the incredible zoom range is simply awesome. The on-board array of special-effects filters give the photographer a creative approach to manipulating images right in the camera instead of later in the computer. I strongly recommend Sony and Crutchfield to anyone looking for a great digicam and a great company to do business with. I will say that I am super pleased.

Pros: Too numerous to list, however, the mega-zoom reach is phenomenal and the many modes are a boon to creativity.

Cons: Honestly, I have found no "cons" as yet. It is a mid-range priced digicam so one gets their money's worth in ease of handling and features.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V

Rick from Myrtle Beach, SC on 8/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the quality of pictures and moderate pricing. Awesome telephoto lens.

Pros: Amazing quality photos. Easy for amateur to use. Super telephoto lens.

Cons: Can't come up with any cons.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Loving It !!

Chris from Montevallo, AL on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving our new Sony DSC-HV400V !! Already had our first vacation--the zoom was perfect for the wildlife and even scenes I captured from the passenger window riding down the road :)

Pros: 50 Zoom. Wonderful pictures. Even like the manual flash design since my older electronic flash malfunctioned. First video with no practice in the dark civic center was wonderful as the "movie" focused perfectly on my grand-daughter's last tap recital. Many pros!

Cons: The only con is that the shutter button seems somewhat last my last Sony in that there are some very slow delays in between attempted photo shots. It remains that I need an in-depth read of the instruction manual to deal with this issue.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Love the camera

mrs s from Harrisonburg, VA on 6/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera enables me to get the distance from the lens without changing out lenses. The pics are great!!!

Pros: Picture quality is great!

Cons: no cons

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great CameraC

ColleenH from Battle Ground, WA on 10/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great well balanced camera. It will do more than I ever thought a camera would do on the creative side. I was looking for a camera with a good optical zoom, a good stabilizer, and GPS tagging all in one for under $500.00 dollars. Very few choices to choose from, but my research on the few I found kept coming back to this Sony product. I had own a smaller Sony camera 8-10years ago and loved it. So I ordered this camera. I am very pleased with the product so far. I have only used it on one small trip over the weekend. I found it very similar to other digital cameras I have used, the stabilizer for the zoom is amazing, and I am still learning about some of the creative features built into the camera. The only downside I see is the lens cap had no string to attach it to the camera, its booklet of instructions is not very completed and no directions on where to find more help. But a little web searching linked me to the help I was looking for. I look forward to flying with this camera to use it for the Ariel photography I love to do.

Pros: Good optical zoom Good stabilizer Not to big or heavy

Cons: No string on lens cap Instruction booklet a little lacking

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Great Pictures

Dez from Texas on 7/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a Sony years ago and decided to purchase a newer Canon-never like the quality of the pictures with the Cannon, everything seemed to be backwards like the button for the zoom went just opposite of the way most cameras . Went back to a Sony and I have not been disappointed - the quality of marco photos is awesome and the camera is fairly user friendly. As for the Play Memories Home...it is awful have tired for days to get it to work with no success. Have called Sony twice and they have been very helpful but bottom line-my computer is a Dell with Windows 8 but not a touch screen and it seems there are many problems with the program on computers which have Windows 8 but not a touch screen...go figure. I have deleted that program and everything else is great. Love the WiFi with my Iphone and the Wifi on the computer works great to upload photos from the camera-so you don't need the Sony Play Memories Home-to bad, I would have enjoyed using this program but not a big deal and way to much drama to keep trying; Two things about the camera I don't like (small things) the cover for the camera lens is not attached so I figure I will lose it in a few months and the other is NO BATTERY CHARGER you have to change the battery in the camera. This is not convenient at all-I like to charge a battery while I use the other...can't do that-so I fixed that and purchased the travel battery charger so I don't have to charge the battery in the camera. Everything else seems to be great.

Pros: Feel of the camera, user friendly, photos excellent, zoom is great, Wifi is easy to use and works well, love the GPS.

Cons: Camera lens cover not attached, NO OUT OF CAMERA BATTERY CHARGER (this was big for me),

Crutchfield response on

25 of 25 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V

JustMe from Harrisonburg, VA on 6/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera is definitely a great bridge camera. It packs a lot of the futures not found on smaller, cheaper cameras without the "bother" and expense of extra lenses for a DSLR. This camera has excellent image stabilization at full zoom (50x), this camera is virtually as easy to hold stable as my Panasonic ZS1 at full zoom (10x). Another useful feature is the manual focus, which works in picture and video mode. If the autofocus focuses on the wrong object during video, a quick twist brings the desired object back into focus. This is one of the reasons I chose this camera over the competition. I also liked the EVF. I wasn't sure I would like looking at things on such a small scale, but I was impressed with how well it worked. Also the proximity sensor that automatically switches between the screen and the EVF works without a hitch. One thing I did not like is that the manual focus/zoom ring is not truly manual. When turning the ring, one can hear the servos zooming in and out, and it just feels unconnected. But even though I prefer true manual control, this is much better than simply relying on autofocus.

Pros: Long zoom range Excellent image stabilization (OIS) Manual Focus (sort of)

Cons: Manual focus not truly manual

Crutchfield response on

24 of 25 found this helpful

TOP