Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
141 070 622 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
141 070 622 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Full-frame 42-megapixel mirrorless camera with Wi-Fi®

MFR # ILCE7RM2/B

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Full-frame 42-megapixel mirrorless camera with Wi-Fi®

MFR # ILCE7RM2/B

20 reviews
View this product

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from Camillus, NY on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera, Undersized Batteries

Matt from Canton, OH on 4/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent image quality. I bought this for camera specifically for night/astrophotography and I'm very pleased with the results. Image noise is almost nonexistent with this camera. Especially compared to my A6000 that I was using. The only complaints I have are the camera is kinda slow processing images, which isn't a big deal and I knew this before purchasing, but worth noting. The other issue, which is HUGE is the fact that this camera chews up and spits out batteries in a ridiculously short amount of time. You can literally kill a fully charged (Sony, not aftermarket) battery in well under an hour. I expect to use one or two batteries per day, not per hour. Unacceptable Sony. I bought a vertical grip for the camera that holds 2 batteries, but in all honesty, if it held 4 batteries it still wouldn't get you through a day/night of shooting.

Pros: Image Quality

Cons: Battery Life Image Processing Speed

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Huge value and quality!

Barbara from Kalispell, MT on 2/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I sold all my expensive Nikon equipment and went over to Sony after working with two professional photographers who came to our forest on a project. They swore by this camera so I took the plunge. I was worried because I took a beating on my used Nikon gear which had cost me thousands and thousands of dollars. After receiving this camera and the lens I ordered with it, I went out for a week to see if it would stack up to my former Nikon. It did, in spades! Lighter weight, more versatile, more field friendly and I loved the simplicity of some of the features compared to Nikon. No regrets. Wished I had made the switch sooner.

Pros: Cost efficient. Simpler camera function compared to other brands. Excellent image quality and color reproduction.

Cons: None that I have come across.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Sergio Rodrigue from Hormigueros, PR on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Now that SONY upgrade the Alpha A7 Series to the New A7RIII, A9 and the budged is a constrain, the A7RII still the best option to buy. If you are considering upgrade from the A6000 series, A7, A7II, or DSLR, the A7RII is loaded with a fantastic features and a 42.4 MP sensor you won't regrets for almost the half of its original price. It's sensor produces amazing professional quality photos and videos. I personally moved from the basic A7 which is good, to the even BETTER A7RII and the results are priceless and breath taking. Hope it can help you decide if the budged is a barrier to get Sony's top of the line camera.

Pros: It new price and features, Sensor quality and resolution, 42.4MP. Same as the A7III AND the 7RIII. 399 AF points, 5 axis in body stabilization system... A7 series with the play memories apps access...

Cons: The only but not a deal breaker, shoots per battery charge. Batteries are cheaper now. With 4 batteries in your bag you are covered. No other cons found.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from Kerrville, TX on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

amazing! makes my 10 year old 24mp sony seem like a toy ( though still very competent camera)

Pros: technology is just a tool... what is between your ears and in the heart is what counts.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade to a full frame mirrorless camera that was still small enough and not too bulky like the Canon EOS 5D. I have owed numerous cameras from Sony 6300, canon 5D,Nikon D7500, canon 80D. The Sony A7R II literally was the combination all all those cameras in one. The capability of the 5D and the size of a compact camera. If your thinking about getting Sonys A7 series, then go with the A7r II. A bit expensive but definitely worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very capable camera

Sean from Westminster, CO on 10/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently upgraded from a Nikon D60 to the Sony a7R II and I have certainly not been disappointed. Granted comparing the two cameras is a bit like apples and oranges but the a7R is worth every penny. From the low light capability to the nearly infinite customization of the user interface this camera opens new possibilities for both still and video capture.

Pros: High ISO for low light capture Lightweight and compact

Cons: Not the best battery life.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 8/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent months researching and looking for a camera. the a7rii is what i ended up getting. Am not disappointed, was definitely a good choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best all around

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 5/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Owned a7, a7r, rx1, rx1r, a850, a6000...this is by far the best of them all...fantastic IQ even at high iso, i can shoot even at 10,000 without worrying about the image. If you are thinking of making a switch to mirrorless then this is what you want if you want the best even if its two years old, nothing at the moment comes close.

Pros: IQ 4K 5 axis IS

Cons: As with most sonys, battery, but just carry extras and youll be fine

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from Jersey City, NJ on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera. A lot to offer at your finger tip! Very exciting my new endeavors with Sony A7R

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from Newbury Park, CA on 1/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

amazing and easy to use camera!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rated best in class by DXOmark

Holz from Winston Salem, NC on 9/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a highly rated full frame camera the A7R II doesn't disappoint. I bought the A7R II as a "Scratch and Dent" and thought I would give a little insight on this. There are three purchasing options, New, Open Box and Scratch and Dent. In my case (Scratch and Dent) there were indeed scratches on the lens mount and the rear monitor screen neither of which affect the performance. The camera came with a full warranty and the original box and accessories and is in otherwise good condition. Many of the pro level DSLR's have a glass screen rear monitor where this one is obviously plastic. The camera gets bad marks for the menu system but I have found the Function screen (Fn), which you can customize, is about as useful as the custom menus on my Canon DSLR, I do find that when zooming in for critical manual focus the electronic viewfinder is not as sharp as my Canon DSLR when doing the same operation.

Pros: Full frame, excellent dynamic range, compact, light weight, 4k video

Cons: Cost, Plastic (scratch prone) monitor, lower resolution viewfinder than pro level DSLR

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Buy it

Rene from Los Angeles, CA on 5/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned the a7ii I have the a6000, this is the best! I can go on here and go over all the features the autotracking the focusing magnification but you have to get your hands on it you have to use. I wouldn't recommend any camera right now except this one.

Pros: Everything is a pro

Cons: Only real con about this camera is the battery life

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Camera!

Michael from Bend, OR on 2/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great purchase. I normally shoot sports with Canon equipment but I'm branching off to do more landscapes so I'm loving this Sony. I purchased a 28mm 2.0 lens and a Metabones adapter so I can run all of my Canon lenses, but I'll surely be adding more Sony glass in the future. The camera isn't perfect; it eats batteries like crazy but I've found some 3rd party batteries that are working great. If you are going to be out shooting all day I would suggest having 4 batteries with you (it comes with 2). Also, be sure to upgrade the firmware online so that you can take advantage of the uncompressed RAW file option, although at 85Mb a file it eats up memory quick! If you are planning on shooting 4K video be sure to upgrade to a super-fast card that's at least 64GB. The menu is always an adventure, but you can re-program many custom key to suit your shooting. The on/off switch is too close to other buttons and I've accidentally switched the body off trying to adjust f-stop. The 5 frames per second shooting is fine and having a feature like flip-out screen has helped me get some sports shots that would be almost impossible with my Canon gear. I've used some of the Apps for shooting but find the Time Lapse one the most useful. Purchase a manual sensor cleaner with this body. The sensor is a dust magnet!! Overall, this is a great camera. Great for travel, landscapes, street photography and any time you don't want people to remark "wow, that's a big camera!

Pros: Overall size, weight, file IQ, expanding lens options, large megapixel size, wireless options, time lapse app, flip screen, video quality, lens adapter options, customizable buttons, useful at high ISO

Cons: Price, Location of on/off switch, Sony menu layout, eats batteries, sensor is dust magnet, focusing on action with Canon/Metabones combo can be a little tricky (Hint, use 'center' focus mode)

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony Alpha a7R II (no lens included)

Jay from mount prospect, IL on 2/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera has an excellent layout of controls with the ability to program a few of the buttons. Having an exposure compensation dial allows quick adjustments for night shots. An onscreen level means few crooked shots needing straightening.

Pros:  Level ??  Image Stabilization ??  Full frame ??  HD video ??  Tilt screen ??  Live view ??  Pano ??  Rapid on ??  Easy manual controls for zoom and exposure ??  Eye viewer is 100% ??  Operate with one hand so I can hold it above crowds ??

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Everything They Say it is

AtomicPunk from Pennsylvania on 12/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This truly is a remarkable camera. You hear about the size and weight comparison to DSLRs, but don't fully appreciate it until it is in your hands. I went from a D750 (a great small DSLR) and a D810 (a powerful high resolution DSLR) to this Sony and I couldn't be happier. The image quality is excellent and to have something so great in a small package is really amazing. I've sold all of my Nikon DSLR gear and lenses and started building my mirrorless system. This truly is the future.

Pros: Size, weight, image quality.

Cons: Price is a little on the high side, but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

A7R M2

FERNANDO18 from New York, NY on 11/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

BEST CAMERA ON THE MARKET , TO DATE !!!!!!!!!!!!! GOOD JOB SONY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros: EVERYTHING

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sleek Sexy Adventurer's Dream

bburkley from Brooklyn, NY on 10/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only had this camera for about three weeks now and the results are incredible. I bought this camera for video and photo on my travel adventures and will be taking it to Asia and Europe this year. Sony drew me in a few years back from the sleek compact sex appeal of its NEX series, which served me beautifully and my girlfriend who is a professional photographer was constantly impressed by the image quality when compared to higher end DSLRs. The A7RII blows away everything in its class and outside of it - I'm so excited to take this thing everywhere as my dedicated travel adventure camera. I've paired with the Zeiss Loxia 35 and plan to buy a PilotFly H1+ gimbal for smooth video results. I love the MF assist on these cameras - probably one of my favorite features - there are really too many to list here, just get one and explore!

Pros: Clarity, Compact, Specs will keep it future proof for some time

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Worth Every Penny!

Twelve Crows from Alabama on 10/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although I initially balked at the price, I am glad that I decided to go ahead with the purchase. I did not switch from the Sony A77ii to mirrorless for the camera's size but, rather, for its adaptability. I prefer to use older manual lenses from the days of inconsistent coatings and hand assembly; I have a collection of Nikon, Canon, Minolta, and Olympus glass representing this era. Thus far the A7Rii has not failed to impress in its color rendition and its capability to capture even the smallest details (even at hight ISO). I am primarily a macro photographer, so I purchased a Sony's FE 90mm f/2.8 G to use on my A7Rii until my adapters arrived: Its performance with this native lens is stellar, too. The one area where it falls short, IMO, is in its battery life. This was a problem with the previous A7 line, so I'm afraid it won't be corrected with firmware updates. Do what I did, buy two extra batteries and start shooting. With its five-axis sensor shift, high ISO quality, and spectacular color rendition, I believe that Sony has set the course for the future of photography. Canon and Nikon will soon be forced to produce a pro-quality mirrorless camera in order to keep up. When this happens, I look forward to seeing the results of their competition. BTW, the camera has yet to miss on auto white balance either.

Pros: Adaptability. Quality Construction. Superior image quality. Weight and size.

Cons: Sensor is prone to collect dust. Slightly awkward button placement. Battery life.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Superb camera!

JAck Winberg from Florida on 8/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This full-frame, 42 megapixel mirrorless camera is the best I have owned, among many.

Pros: High resolution, wide dynamic range, quick, configurable

Cons: Compressed RAW files rarely cause problems

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

TOP