Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony MEX-M100BT

Marine CD receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # MEXM100BT

Sony MEX-M100BT

Sony MEX-M100BT

Marine CD receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # MEXM100BT

73 reviews
View this product

Mounting frame/ring

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield should also automatically include the mounting frame/ring for this product. It's marketed for marine application and not a vehicle that already has a cutout. There isn't a cutout template included with the product. Not including $5 mounting frame/ring with the product is a stupid oversight.

Pros: Good unit

Cons: Cutout template and mounting frame/ring not included

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sony Radio

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced OEM radio on 2005 Harley Touring model.WOW This Sony Rocks. Half volume is about all my ears can stand. My wife came out to the garage with her ears plugged with her fingers asking me to TURN IT DOWN. Added 4 Polk Speakers( 2- 6.5 in front & 2- 5.5 in rear) Very happy with sound quality. Have no sound distortion even at full volume. Scary loud. No amp needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding sound quality, good value

Crutchfield customer from Glen Cove, NY on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We replaced our Jensen stereo in our boat with this model. It takes some time to get used to the buttons, but the sound quality and Bluetooth is amazing. Not sure why Sony still ships a remote control because you need to point the remote at the stereo to use it which defeats the purpose. But the Bluetooth does it all. As soon as connected, the Sony app downloads on your device and controls every aspect of the radio. The built in amp also significantly improves the sound quality at a second unit we have in the salon in which we feed the downstairs unit from the line out on the new radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Guest from Houston, TX on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit in 2018 for my mc fairing, worked great up until this year. I ride my bike maybe five times a year and the rest of the time it is stored inside in a garage. I loved the stereo when it was working, but I believe it should be made with high enough quality to last more then a couple years. Sony and Crutchfield said nothing we can do it's past the warranty. Sad thing is I would have given this unit five stars if it lasted. Now I have to decide if I'm going to purchase the unit a second time since I everything is setup on my mc for it.

Pros: Great unit when it works

Cons: Poor quality will last maybe a year or two

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Ashville, NY on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, picks up more radio stations and very easy to pair my phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality. I have a wakeboard bar with 4-6.5" on it. This was just enough push to create a great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A great mid range tuner/radio. Good installation documents.

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, LA on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this radio in my boat as a replacement for the original equipment Sony. Installation was relatively easy as it fit in the dash perfectly with no cutting or alteration needed. Wiring the speakers and power was also straight forward as the included wiring diagram was consise, except for the power requirement. Two sources of 12V DC are needed, and that was a bit unclear in my opinion. A quick call to Crutchfield solved that confusion immediately! Cudos to Crutchfield tech support. I would give this radio 5 stars except I feel the buttons on the front panel are very small and difficult to push and the display is a bit hard to see in direct sunlight. In fact several times I have accidently ejected the front panel while trying to change modes or other settings. The Bluetooth is simple to connect wth iPhones and Android. The sound is amazing. I recomment this unit for a mid range tuner and would purchase it again.

Pros: Great sound, good documentation.

Cons: Control buttons small and somewhat confusing.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Eastman, GA on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great system, with bluetooth and CD, going into a 68 BRONCO, outlets for additional amps, etc

Pros:

Cons: outdoor cover for all weather use, similar to a marine environment

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Loved it...BUT!

Tim from Rochester, MN on 10/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So difficult to give this Stereo a 2 star rating but maybe it deserves a 1. Loved this Stereo! So much that after a little over a year when my first one stopped working(was professionally installed btw) I bought another one. Maybe it was just random bad one. Not sure after this one stopped working today after 2 years. Tough to spend this much $ in 3 years and be back at square one. Great sounding fun stereo when it worked no doubt!

Pros: Sound quality, power, fun lights

Cons: Reliability

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Oakdale, LA on 8/28/2019

2016 Polaris General

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good sounding unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Stereo, Horrible Owners Manual!

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne Bch, FL on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Stereo, Horrible Owners Manual! But with Crutchfield's Virginia techs .... help is on the way, they will make it play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Broken, continues to reset, no help from vendor or manufacturer.

John from Durango on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Started "resetting" (demo back on, all sound and display setting reset to factory, beep on, had to repair) itself once every other month or so. Then once a month, then a few times a month. I pulled everything out to recheck the wiring, no shorts, nothing exposed,everything snug and secure. Now it resets it'self multiple times a day. I hear a pop/crack in the speakers, and back to factory settings. The kicker? It became a noticeable enough problem that when I called Crutchfield about it, it was just past Sony's 1 year warranty. And Sony said too bad. When it works, it works great. But at this price point, it should last longer than a year, and someone responsible for taking my money for it should care a bit more..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

David from Stevens Point, WI on 8/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and works great with powered subwoofer on Pontoon. Hooked in 5.25" Polk speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Powerful

Crutchfield customer from Belleville, MI on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Loud for the size. Don't need an added amp. Use #10awg wire to feed it. Bluetooth good range.

Pros: Power, Bluetooth, Remote

Cons: Small buttons, Bluetooth sync tricky

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 8/9/2019

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to replace an existing hi powered head unit and this was recommended and it sounds awesome coupled with my new JL audio 6.5"> match made in heaven thanks again Peter

Pros: easy fit and install.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very nice unit but iPhone app a little shaky

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, sound was great with my existing Sony MP61 speakers. Loved the hands free calling and Bluetooth music streaming. Wished the iPhone remote app was more stable

Pros: Fantastic sound Plenty of power with clear sound Bluetooth hands free works great Bluetooth music streaming works great

Cons: Sony app a little unstable Typical confusing Sony buttons and screen

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 7/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really was looking for a Kenwood or Alpine system to replace crap factory receiver in 2002 Jeep Wrangler but all of them really require the addition of an external power amp to get the kind of headroom you need to get reasonable quality sound. Although I had the space for the additional amp, I just didn't want to add the wiring complication (although not really that big a deal). Went with the Sony which has 40 watts x 4 channels which drives my newly deployed Focal RSE 165 components installed in Q-Forms kick panel enclosures as well as the two (sort of crap) Pioneer three-ways in my roll bar. The unit provides hands free operation and integrates reasonably well with iPhone functions, although I am using the Sony app which works ok but is a bit clunky. Although you can answer the phone through the system my wife complains that she can't really hear me over the road noise (driving with doors and side windows off so pretty loud wind/road noise) which I think is due to a poor mic performance. Pandora works well and FM stations seem to come in far better than my Audi Q5 system.

Pros: Enough power to pretty much eliminate the need for external amp (less cost/less wiring hassle). Easy install with Crutchfield doc's and recommended accessories. Excellent sound production with EQ10 functions working well. Speaker balance and fader options are good. Subwoofer control options also improve sub performance. Hands free functions are solid, display controls are comprehensive.

Cons: Supplied mic seems to need to be mounted to your mouth to overcome road noise when taking handsfree calls. Using Sony app (not sure its required but I followed Sony instructions) ok but a bit clunky with the receiver requiring you to open the app to get music on iPhone to play.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Seymour, CT on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Rig sound upgrade.

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 7/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

lots of power. i installed it in a KW water tanker truck and it keeps the operator happy and also has a nice hands free phone feature for safe calls without distractions. i was able to modify the factory headliner and install the Polk 6x9 speakers -# DB692. these supply nice clear sound with the Sony's high power output without the need for an amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Out with the old, in with the new.

Crutchfield customer from Bullhead City, AZ on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Out with the original Pioneer, no Bluetooth capabilities. In with the new Sony. I was on the fence wether to get a replacement cd combo head unit or a media type receiver( I was looking at the JL Audio MediaMaster 50and the JL Audio MM100s-BE. For my install on my boat, this was the better solution, it did not require re upholstering the location of the install. I don't know I will need the cd option, but really not a concern. The installation was simple and straightforward for me. I am glad I went to the MEX-M100BT over the MEX-M72BT due to the 5v pre-amp as apposed to 2v. Very clean loud sound out of my amps. However, I did not connect any speakers to the head unit speakers wires, so I can't comment on that. Very pleased with this product, fast shipping, and in stock.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product and awesome support when I had a wiring question!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Piney Flats, TN on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional ! Crutcfilds has Great service, delivery and easy to use website !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Spring Valley, MN on 6/4/2019

2009 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great with my infinity kappas in my street glide

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 5/17/2019

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio all the functions work great I installed it in a Jeep Wrangler

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect setup for the Harley

Crutchfield customer from Minnesota on 5/8/2019

2006 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit because of the built in amp and being one of the most powerful units on the market right now, and the fact it's marine grade. Installed it in my 06 Harley Davidson Electra glide with a set of infinity kappas and all I can say is wow. This setup packs a major punch. Most definitely louder and clearer than the plug and play kits. I'd buy again

Pros: Bluetooth, marine grade, built in amplifier so didn't have to spend extra money on one, most powerful unit on the market, easy EQ tuning, the background processor works good on eliminating distortion

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Boat install with 6.5inch Kickers

Crutchfield customer from Hampstead, NC on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation as always with crutchfield. Sounds great with Kicker 6.5s in my center console.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Roscommon, MI on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo! People complain about how they connect radio to battery and their battery goes dead. BUT... only because they did not hook it up correctly. Yellow wire goes to battery. Red wire goes to on off switch. The switch is wired directly to battery. Simple. No issues. Works great.

Pros: Good. Works well.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Tiverton, RI on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for the money. Plenty of power. No amp needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ridio repair

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, KY on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the radio but I order a reman an it was no good the cd skipped a lot an not moving so the are taking care of the problem an they was so helpful when I called an have been dealing with Crutchfield for years an if you have a problem they can fix it an no problem

Pros: the problem will be fixed soon

Cons: the radio was not good an now Crutchfield is fixing it

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Cedarville, OH on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did end up having to hook it up directly to the batter but works great since.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed this unit with 2 JBL 6 1/2" speakers the sound is incredible. Still learning the function buttons but very simple to set up. Awesome power for just two speakers .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, AL on 4/3/2019

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions and wiring diagram were great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony marine

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 3/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible unit for my upgrade to Cobalt 282 boat. Nice power and great features!

Pros: Power, features and ease of use. Great appearance too.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Craig from Bedford, NH on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect in my Jeep

Wilbur from Science Hill, KY on 11/27/2018

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased. I installed in my Jeep Wrangler in case I get wet when the top is off. Sounds great and has gone of power to drive my speakers w/o an amp.

Pros: Great sounds. Bluetooth. Streaming audio. Gobs of power for a head unit.

Cons: None. I wouldn't have purchased if there were any.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great stereo.

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 8/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Lots of options. Eddy to use. Installed on motorcycle. Sounds great for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Randy from Eden Prairie, MN on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit matched perfectly with the Polk audio speakers in our boat. Also from Crutchfield. Great customer service and tech support for installation too!

Pros: Sounds great, good looking unit.

Cons: None so far, except maybe difficult to figure out all settings and features.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SONY Marine stereo but as a CAR stereo

Hans from Mortistown, NJ on 7/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give it a 3 ONLY because I have its Power wired to my ignition switch, and not to the boat battery direct. When Marine stereos are connected directly to a boat battery, and the boat is left at the dock for a while, the low electrical draw will kill a battery. Plus, my Mercruiser Bravo III sterndrive pulls from the battery too, with its Mercathode system, to prevent corrosion. This is too much electrical draw while sitting at the dock for a few weeks at a time.... OK, all sounds good, BUT the radio's DEMO MODE is activated after every power down/power up, and is a Pain for me to deactivate each time. It's not very User Friendly for a guy like me. I've contacted Sony, and they've basically told me "too bad", after a lot of back and forth. I've contacted Crutchfield, and they're willing to work with me for a swap, even out of the 60-day period, so this review is not a Ding against Crutchfield, but it is a DING against Sony. I wish Fusion made a reasonably priced stereo that has an AUX input on the front, since their model MS-RA70 does not have this DEMO MODE feature built in, but a normal boot up screen. I'm very dissapointed in SONY.

Pros: Too many features, which I guess is good, but I don't need them all. I need Simplicity.

Cons: You can't bypass, or delete, the DEMO MODE on power up, and every time power is applied to the unit, you have to manually turn off the DEMO MODE. What a pain...for me.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 26 found this helpful

MEX-M100BT

Acer from Hamilton, IL on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded my boat's (1999 Rinker 192 Captiva BR) original unit and this provided better sound (louder and clearer) and radio reception. Good price point too.

Pros: 100 watts per channel, Good radio reception.

Cons: Menu is a little cumbersome to navigate.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small but powerful!

James from Canonsburg, PA on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was extremely easy. Head unit is small, but powerful & has great range. Tremendous amount of options and look forward to listening to it for many years. Crutchfield shipped it same day and it arrived 2 days later- awesome service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Defiance, MO on 5/31/2018

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed in a 2017 Jeep Wrangler. Wow...what an upgrade. I wanted something that was marine grade with some built in power. This unit fit the bill perfectly. The interface is a bit confusing, as they all are, but the Music Center (SongPal) app makes it easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Hill, NH on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, sounds great but not super user friendly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and no issues. Crisp and clear even at high volume. Great features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Grass Lake, MI on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice stereo. I put it in my Race car trailer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Huge improvement

Peter A from Decatur, IL on 5/10/2018

2010 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this on my 2010 Harley Ultra. I ordered the handle bar controller adapter and a basic amp cable kit. The stereo is a huge improvement over the factory stereo and I paired this with some Alpine 6.5 speakers in the fairing and Polk DB 6.5 in the lower fairing. Now I can hear my stereo on the highway. The only thing I found I don't like is to change pandora stations I need to use the remote. I lost the auto volume feature and CB that the factory stereo had but the trade off was worth it with this stereos performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Huntington, IN on 5/3/2018

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great in my jeep and the power is awesome no need for another amp to get the great sound out of my infinity speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great controls

Matt from Fishers, IN on 4/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio installs easy Great controls

Pros: Power Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerful and Clean with plenty to go around.

Edward from Deland, FL on 4/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Chose this unit because it's rated 'Marine' and it will be placed into a Jeep Wrangler soft-top, ergo it will see some moisture. Also having an internal power amplifier was a plus for space consideration. Critique: Firstly, the manual notes not to place the unit where it gets direct water contact, meaning the marine designation applies to some parts, but not to the unit as a whole (no IP rating or sealing noted). Secondly, there is an attached, clear acetate cover, which will keep drips off, but I cut off the portion that covered the heat sink fins at the left edge of the unit. Thirdly, no cover over the CD slot. Praise: Simple installation, excellent volume, drives my Polk speakers easily from a whisper to enough to rattle the cab. Nice lighting options and plenty of features to access. Music range is very nice, and has enough that I don't need rear speakers. I will add in a powered sub using the dedicated pre-amp channel and remote turn-on lead rather than the direct connect feature from the 5 amp rear signal, but if I had a hard top, I could easily use the Sony's sub feature due to the enclosure.

Pros: High internal power rating, detachable face, moisture resistant, direct-connect sub feature

Cons: Not direct water proof

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Tyler from N Little Rock, AR on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Volume can be cranked up and the sound is crystal clear. The only thing I don't like is the sound tuning, only seems to have preset sound settings or it seems you need a degree in sound engineering to fine tune yourself. Other than that, great product and easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Fruitland Pk, FL on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This deck is amazing, clean sound lot of power. The back list display is great. But this deck you won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Windermere, FL on 2/27/2018

2007 Polaris Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome player, sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a great product for the boat. Sound quality is very good and fairly simple to operate. Set up was pretty standard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Jason from Wixom Lake, MI on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from the factory clarion head unit in our checkmate! Love all the features, and the added power, need to upgrade the 6.5 inch speakers now!

Pros: Bluetooth, big power, cool lighting features

Cons: BT Pairing sometimes tricky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome marine receive

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stellar customer service

Crutchfield customer from Punta Gorda, FL on 11/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic customer service, as always. Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Charles from NC on 10/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio, sound, and quality for my 2016 Harley Road King. Great price too by getting it on sale.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Coastal ga on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product very simple to install and use. Sounds great with 2 speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Midland, MI on 5/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently installed this product in my boat. The functionality of linking your Bluetooth device to the unit is little cumbersome. This is probably due to the unit allowing for Bluetooth telephone calls as well, which is not a feature I am using so it is just an extra step. Other than that it has been great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome sound

Hog from Saraland, AL on 5/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired the receiver with two JL 7.7 speakers sounds awesome very satisfied

Pros: Can hear the radio while running the boat 50mph sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome features

Jim from Waconia, MN on 5/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Awesome features. Great sound! Sony rocks!

Pros:

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Nice Sound

Joe from Blue Ridge, TX on 4/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this radio into our pontoon boat, along with 2 pairs of JL Audio MX650s and a Bazooka 10" 250w tube. The system sounds really good and I am very happy with the performance. Install of this head unit was typical for a stereo. I did notice that there was not a connection required for 12vDC for the memory, so I have to see if this means they are using nonvolatile memory to hold settings and presets. If this is the case, it will be even better, as I use a battery cutoff switch to kill power to the boat when moored at our slip to keep the battery from draining due to trickle power draws like this radio memory. In the past I had to rescan for radio stations every time we used the boat, so that may be fixed.

Pros: Easy install, really good volume, easy to setup blue tooth connectivity.

Cons: The remote really needs to be waterproof since this is a marine radio.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great on a Boat

Stan from Lake Orion, MI on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried to compare this radio with Kenwood. I went to the boat show where they tried to tell me that the Kenwood would out preform this Sony. I went to a Car stereo store and I listened to both. I contacted Crutchfield. The bottom line is this Sony does the job for sound quality, and performance.

Pros: Good Quality. Sounds great with a powered Sub. Went to a boat show. I was told that the Kenwood was better. I don't think so. The power is great the reception strong. When you play the CD it really comes across well.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Mike from Minneapolis, MN on 3/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the easy Installing . The sound is great I also love all of the features including the cd player. Which alot of units do not have.

Pros: Like features like the additional base. Enough power for me.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 3/14/2017

2008 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. I needed to call tech support during installation, and they were very patient and helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

James from Holt Mi. on 3/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound, quality and great value. Super fast delivery. I highly recommend this receiver! Crutchfield I'm a customer for life...

Pros: Great sound, lots of power, mega bass really thumps the speakers! It's everything it advertises!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee ok on 3/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Tom from Chicago, IL on 8/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit was just as described. Plenty of power and the "Mega Bass" function lives up to the hype. Installation was straightforward after reviewing all the product instructions and watching a fair share of You Tube videos. Most challenging aspect was running the power cable back to the battery which was required due to the higher output amplifier.

Pros: Power and features

Cons: None observed

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

It Rocks!!!

Mike C from Joplin MO on 8/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is amazing it has a ton of features and tone adjustments. But what really makes it stand out is the amps power and clarity.

Pros: Power. Clarity. Features.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Ts from Michigan on 7/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replace my stock Sony on the pontoon to power my new JLs. This had the most watt/channel I could find without adding an amp (40RMS). Really like this thing so far, only been on the water 1 weekend so still in trial mode. You probably won't host a concert on the sandbar but is plenty loud for my liking (and the wife won't let me turn it up all the way). The unit is easy to use and haven't even utilized all the Bluetooth features yet. If you don't want to deal with all the wiring and current draw of adding an amp I would definitely recommend this receiver.

Pros: Direct swap out with my old stock Sony. Plenty of power. Expandable if you still have the need for more decibals (Assuming your speakers can handle it)

Cons: Nope, nothing yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

So far so good!

Mike from Brainerd, MN on 7/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Installed in the roof of a side by side. Love the power without having an amp for a pair of MOMO's. Lots of extra features if you were going to amp it out. Color display options, Bluetooth, USB & aux input on face, marine rated, search function for USB input. Some of the stuff I havent even scratched the surface with.

Pros: Power, marine rated, USB/AUX input on face, Bluetooth, Face color options

Cons: Didn't need the CD player. Should have just been a "media player" really. Put tape over the CD slot to keep dust out as no CD is going to play on a SxS. Price was also steep, but without the need for an amp, it was OK given my application.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sea Ray boat

Ken from Memphis Michigan on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this new Sony marine stereo for my sea Ray cabin cruiser Hooked up to some JL speakers I was impressed with this unit so far

Pros: Very easy to hook up and use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 5/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice deck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Sony MEX-M100BT

Crutchfield customer from Erath La on 5/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice radio with a lot of power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

TOP