Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony MDR-Z1R

Signature Series over-ear headphones

MFR # MDRZ1R

Sony MDR-Z1R

Sony MDR-Z1R

Signature Series over-ear headphones

MFR # MDRZ1R

9 reviews
View this product

Impressive

Travis from Ashburn, VA on 5/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! I have tried many headphones over the last couple of months, to include; Sennheiser HD 660 S, Sony MDR-Z7M2, AKG-712, Philips Audio Fidelio X2HR, HIFIMAN Ananda and HIFIMAN HE-560 V4. My favorites were the 560 v4 and they were a great bargain at $300. But, tax returns were good to me so, I wondered what a truly premium headphone could sound like? WOW! You don't know what you don't know. Yes, they have a V shaped sound signature, but I have a Schiit equalizer to fix that if I like, however, I actually think they sound great with very little equalization. I always thought soundstage was the most important factor to me and these have plenty of soundstage, but more importantly to me, sound more full through the entire frequency range. Yes, the bass is incredible without being over blown. I absolutely love these things and will be keeping them!

Pros: Soundstage Musicality Bass

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony, Bifrost, Loki+ Mini, Magnius - Schiit Sony is the best

Saravanan from West New York, NJ on 12/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it. I combine this product with my MacBook Qobuz, Schist Bifrost 2, Loki Mini and Magnus headphone amp, in that order, it is better than anything I heard in the recent times. There is nothing pleased more than this combination. I have a few hi res expensive DACs, AMP and Speakers. This is beats everything I have. It is my most memorable time of my listening. This product is at the point of maximum value for money in the law of diminishing marginal returns for headphones market. There are little better sounding headphones for double the cost. I tried a few up to $7K. With a combination of quality DAC, Parametric or Constant Q Equalizer and a headphone amp, this is the best value for money. The more expensive ones often don't make a difference.

Pros: It sounds good without any DAC. It sounds great with a good DAC. It is a good testing device to measure the sound quality.

Cons: I can't find one. It is too good to be true.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MDR-Z1R

Crutchfield customer from Potomac, MD on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sounding headphones I have ever had. You can hear every detail!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I enjoy every second listening to them

Crutchfield customer from Medford, NJ on 8/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, very light, great build quality. One of the best closed-back headphones.

Pros: Great sound Very light Very comfortable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MDR-Z1R

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, GA on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of my best headphones , and l have a pretty good collection of cans.

Pros: Great all round sound and balance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony Aces great headphone sound

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Sony headphones are flat out wonderful. They have deep but clean bass, no booming or overpowering the rest of the audio spectrum. The mids are rich and detailed, and the treble is clear and well balanced. These cans sound amazing at all types of music and for watching movies. And even though they are closed back, the sound very close to an open back headphone. The sound is wide and deep and there's great height in the overall audio presentation. Highly recommended.

Pros: Hand built by Sony in Japan. Build quality, fit and materials are all first rate.

Cons: Expensive but quality is never cheap.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Comfortable and Well-made

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very comfortable and well-made headphones. A future classic!

Pros: Comfortable, well-made, sound incredible

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MDR-Z1R

Crutchfield customer from Royal Plm Bch, FL on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are with out a doubt the best sounding headphones at any price point period. The sound is absolutely warm not too bright or harsh. I currently own an expensive Ultimate ears IEM and never found an over the ear headphone that sounded good enough until now. I am very hard to please when it bcomes to electronics but let me tell you, if you can afford these headphones you wion't be dissapointed at all.

Pros: Sound and build quality.

Cons: Price but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

A headphone for a great mix

chowder from usa on 1/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recommended for mastered music only!!. High end headphones have a tendency of driving people away because of exaggerated panning and spikes in songs.. Songs that were not made with proper technique or modern style would hate this headphone as well. Anyway, Sounds great plugged into a Mp3 radio, no need for an amplifier so much. However, plugged into a amplifier......The sound is beautiful. Its a soft "stereo" sound signature. That means there is a slight bass boost and or coloration. Kind of a tall sound stage. Not that precise like the HD800S, for instrument placement and panning. But it does deliver the song somewhat close to the original. I would consider these headphones for professionals to listen to there final mix with bass and color. Way too expensive if not used properly. Same for all high end headphones. Plus most people don't even care about headphones. They listen to stereos and radios. Very quality built. Extremely lightweight compared to LCD's, Focal's, and ZMF headphones. The leather is soft on the headband and earmuffs. The stock cables sound well and are durable. Not bad for silver plated copper. The MDR-Z1R sound is optimal with different cable metals as well. A tough investment. I emailed Sony about burn in and they said no burn in required. I still gave them a 2 day burn. This tells me if they were built well and not crap. I don't think headphones need that much of a burn in. The most would be 2 days, maybe just 24hrs. Anyway, great headphone.

Pros: light, comfortable, good cables, leather type display case

Cons: expensive, for great mixes only, no micro fiber cloth included

Crutchfield response on

27 of 37 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound