Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
404 476 382 4
Connect ID #
404 476 382 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony MDR-Z7M2

Over-the-ear headphones

MFR # MDRZ7M2

Sony MDR-Z7M2

Sony MDR-Z7M2

Over-the-ear headphones

MFR # MDRZ7M2

13 reviews
View this product

Sony MDR-Z7M2

Trey from ELGIN, OK on 2/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

That sounds good, but they are very bass heavy. The color the sound of you are sensitive to bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Great

Ronnie from Asheboro, NC on 2/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really like the big ear cups and how they put very little pressure on my head while I am listening to them. I have never had a wired headphone that sounds this good before so I am really happy with them. The cords that come with the headphone are plenty long and even the balanced cord is good for my use. I'm an older person and my hearing isn't what it used to be but these headphone really sound good to me.

Pros: Big ear cups, very comfortable, has good bass,

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Interesting

Andrew M from ARNOLD, MD on 1/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have had these a few months, wanted to test them extensively before my review. So I have a BUNCH of headphones and different setups/DAC's headphone amps etc. I also have the Sony MDR-1AM2's. For the money the 1AM2's are a steal, way more comfortable for longer listening sessions. YES the Z7M2's are better, twice the cost better, IMO NO. I prefer my Sennheiser HD 650's over these (although close) My Grado RS1x's are considerably better again IMO, My Beyerdynamic DT 1990 Pro are also better however I wouldn't put their build quality very high (i.e. long term or frequent use) In fact I would actually say my Yamaha HPH-MT8's are more accurate for critical listening than the M2's. Did I think about returning them yes, but they are still decent and I know they will last. I would gladly have paid $400 for them and had NO issues, at their price the 1AM2's are a way better deal/value for cost.

Pros: Build Quality

Cons: Value for cost compared to competition/other models

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound and lots of detail

Joseph from Mcdonough, GA on 6/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love these headphones! There's so much detail. The sound is accurate and lifelike. I like the balanced cable which works great with my balanced DAC. This was a big step up from my magnetic planar phones.

Pros: Comes with balanced cable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great mid-priced sonic experience

CLT from Spanaway, WA on 5/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It took some weeks to burn in, but once it did it's quite the experience. Some say to fiddle with equalization, and I find that true for some genres. Running these only on an iBasso DX300 balanced, which provides plenty of power at 56 ohms provides a fantastic sonic experience. I lose track of time in bliss quite often re-digesting my music library. Extremely comfortable, but does not hold during activities, but who wants to use these like beats??? Overall, very pleased with quality of construction and materials, sound and comfort.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MDR-Z7M2

David from Detroit, MI on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In looking to replace my 21-yr. old Senn. HD-580 open-backs , I wanted to try a reasonably priced good closed-back design and gave the Sony Z7M2 a chance to compare. I thank Crutchfield for their generous service to allow us to do so. I like the Sony's design, compact case, and comfort on my head. The length of cable is good for getting comfortable away from the source, although it seemed to transfer a lot of contact noise. My favorite aspect of the sound presentation is the bass, which I enjoyed - the only downside, for me, was the mids seemed hollowed out in comparison. I don't know if more break-in time would help with that, but I chose to keep the Senn. HD-660s open-back, bought at the same time on sale, and can happily live with that choice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good but not for serious listening

Errol from Jacksonville, FL on 4/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased the these and an Audeze LCD-2 pair. I was looking for a new closed back for focused listening. Sony MDR z7Mk2 sound out of the box was great with wide and deep soundstage. Build quality and comfort were what you would expect from Sony. The LCD-2 are heavy and very well built. They were not as uncomfortable as I was led to believe. Their sound out of the box was terrible. However burn them in properly and you will truly hear what the artists, recording and mix engineers , and master pressers gave to the effort. My final selection criteria was long wear time comfort and sound. I had no trouble wearing either for over 2 hours multiple times across several days. The deciding factor was sound after 10-15 minutes the Sony sound became boring soulless and fatiguing. I never grew tired of sound The Audeze LCD -2 presented. The Sony's are not bad. They did not fit the purpose I have which is focused listening of music.

Pros: Very comfortable Light and well built

Cons: Sound to punchy as result it is fatiguing Not worth full retail price

Crutchfield response on

9 of 18 found this helpful

Good Value - Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a pair of Sony MDR-1AM2 headphones that I purchased to listen to Hi-Res playback on my NW-ZX100 player. I upgraded to the NW-WM1A player which has the Sony Balanced Output jack, and also seems to have a more robust amp. So I bought these (Sony MDR-Z7M2) because the price had dropped from when I originally looked at them. I broke them in with about 14 hours of Hi-Res music at about 2/3 level. Honestly, they seem to have been created for this specific music player. Great sound, dynamic range, and sound isolation. I am an older man with music-induced hearing loss, but I still hear a difference. The better the delivery, the better the sound. From a Quality source... with amplification, these produce excellent, isolated sound at a fair price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony MDR-Z7M2

Crutchfield customer from Joppa, MD on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was looking for an upgraded set of headphones and found them with these from Sony. High-quality materials, components and build make for a satisfied purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

As good as others that cost 2-3x more

EB from Windsor on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm in the middle of a search for new headphones (previous owner of Audeze LCD-XC's). So far, I've tried Denon D9200's, Focal Clears, and these. I think I'm the only person in the world that didn't really like the Denon's, and sold them after a month. Now it's down to the Clears and these Z7M2s, and the big surprise is that they're totally holding their own. Unless you've got some serious electronics on the backend, you are NOT going to notice a difference between these and headphones costing 3x more. I'm still pretty stunned, honestly. The only downsides are that they don't come with any kind of case, can get hot, and are closed. That last one might not really be a negative, but for me, I find I get listening fatigue earlier with closed headphones, which is the only reason I'm still on the fence on whether to get these or the Focals.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

If I had to pick just one pair, it would be these.

Neal from Miami on 10/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A friend that works in a high end audio store let me listen to his and compare to many others. I liked these the best. I then read a lot of reviews that were very mixed. I bought them anyway because they are for my ears, not some reviewer. I have come to believe after having them for a year that the reviewers are crazy. Perhaps they are comparing them to headphones at twice the price (they have dropped greatly since the release. Perhaps they are comparing them to the legendary Z7 that they replaced. Again, a very different price point. They are frankly superb. Deep rich rich and tight bass and mid-bass, detailed mids, perfect highs, not sibilant. Excellent imaging, very open sounding for being closed (they do have small vents for bass but they sound closed to the people around). Great isolation for outside sound. Far more comfortable than any of my other headphones. If I had to pick just one pair, it would be these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

24 of 24 found this helpful

A stunning all around find, with a bit of extra low-end love.

Joseph from Temecula on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My initial thoughts were dim; I have big ears and they are far from parallel. I will always experience discomfort with listening devices because of this. (At least until I can afford custom-fitted products...) However 2 things became clear after listening for some time; even if your ears do touch the Fibonacci style grille, it isn't that uncomfortable at all, and also, THE SOUND. Since these are regular drivers, I perceived a short burn-in period, and my God once the stretch gets in, these cans sound unreal. They respond super well to EQ, and keep an honest representation of your music despite lessening frequencies around whatever sensitivities you may have. The sub bass is unreal! Its like standing at the edge of an unblinking void and just feeling those 20hz *woosh* out of the darkness. I have some resotiance to bass frequencies due to my musical background, so I can imagine these sounding extra bassy to certain people, but they're just right for me. Also the Soundstage is genuinely impressive for closed cans. The fit on my head is the best I've ever had; secure, weightless, and they don't get very warm at all.

Pros: Great headband fit, amazing soundscape, sub bass on par with planar drivers, stays cool, secure, awesome build quality, light

Cons: Fibonacci grille may press into your ears a bit.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Sony MDR-Z7M2

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Mirage, CA on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Impeccable headphones! Brilliant sound. Gorgeous and lush. Soundstage unbelievable! Bass incredible! Highly highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound