Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony MEX-N4200BT

CD receiver

MFR # MEXN4200BT

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Sony MEX-N4200BT

CD receiver

MFR # MEXN4200BT

95 reviews
View this product

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 11/24/2019

2004 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome deck! Sound is great and has all the functionality I need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Arlington Hts, IL on 10/23/2019

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Customer service was amazing. Would buy from again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo, even better price

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, NY on 10/22/2019

1999 Acura 3.0CL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo sounds great. And was easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, OH on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my tractor, works great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Manville, NJ on 9/30/2019

2008 Volkswagen Rabbit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We replaced the stock radio on our 2008 Rabbit. The entire job took less than 2 hours. Phone assistance from Julia was exceptional. The unit worked perfectly and linked up to my daughter's phone on our first try.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleasantly surprised!

Crutchfield customer from Pelham, NY on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the sound separation and the audio clarity. I love the Bluetooth because it pairs automatically. I can be on the phone and run navigation at the same without using any buttons.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, TN on 9/18/2019

1995 Saturn SL1

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Lehi, UT on 9/10/2019

1997 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo, easy to use and learn. The menus are easy to scroll through and the functions are easy to use. The sound quality is great and I liked it so much I bought two of them for my vehicles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 9/3/2019

1996 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for what U needed. I have other Sonys and they are goos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, CA on 8/29/2019

1966 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product and a reasonable price. Great sound quality with ease of use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Aberdeen, MD on 8/22/2019

1994 Dodge B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works very nice, has the features i like. was easy to install and directions were great to help clear up a pblm i had before.

Pros: like the cool blue, and u can adjust the brightness

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 7/21/2019

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great stereo for the price.

Pros: Easy to install and set up. Sounds much better than my original stock stereo.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good upgrade

Crutchfield customer from London, KY on 7/7/2019

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install, easy to use. pairs to my phone and starts playing music where i left off automaticallyso that i domt have to initiate anything. i like it alot

Pros: easy install, easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 7/4/2019

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit, had some minor issues

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, UT on 6/27/2019

2005 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, attractive look, not too hard to use. Had Bluetooth issues when more than one phone was paired. Fixed by removing the phone which wasn't in the car, but it it took a call to Crutchfield to actually figure out how to do that.

Pros: Bass, awesome sound via EQ, looks great in the car

Cons: Fiddly Bluetooth, still haven't gotten steering wheel controls to work.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I like it

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 6/25/2019

2011 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a good piece of equipment for the price. It sounds good. It's a bit distracting to use while driving, but I haven't had the time to read the manual so once I do it will probably be easier to figure out how to do the things it's capable of but I don't yet know how to do. The Pandora feature is great. I've been listening to hours of great music without having to think about what to play. Installation with the Crutchfield kit was super easy. About a half hour and it was finished.

Pros: Good price for a decent receiver.

Cons: Not the most intuitive operation but once I have time to read the manual It will be easier to operate.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install, lots of features in a small package.

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 6/20/2019

2006 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed this unit in a motor home. Although it was difficult to get the dashboard and kick panels off, the custom installation instructions were dead on, and led me in the right direction. The directions cannot fully compensate for a on-piece dashbaord that is almost impossible to remove without destruying it, but it certaily helps. I used the ReadHarness service, which worked perfectly. Once I got the dash off, installing the head unit was a snap. So far, the head unit seems to be working well. Pairing the phone was pretty easy. Some other functions are not really self-intuitive, but it's easy to operate the head unit once you're used to it. Phone calls are very clear using the bluetooth function, and I was easily able to stream music from my smartphone. This little head unit has a lot of features packed into it!

Pros: Lots of features, easy to install.

Cons: No serious flaws that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 6/18/2019

2008 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good power right out of the box. Bit of a learning curve with all the settings etc. After a few weeks of use it's easy to operate for me now. Great sound/value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great quality at a great price

Crutchfield customer from Forest, VA on 6/16/2019

2000 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, I'm not a techie. However, I can say that I think this was a great buy. The sound is much better than my factory radio, even playing through the original factory 20 year old speakers. Bluetooth connects quickly and flawlessly with great sound quality. The same can be said for the aux input. The remote is a nice touch, but unnecessary for me. What really surprised me was the quality of the built-in mic. Phone calls using bluetooth were heard clearly without distortion on the other end, though someone commented that it sounded a little "tinny", but still clear. There is an input on the back of the unit should you want to buy an external mic, but I don't think it's necessary for most users.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Council Bluffs, IA on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's everything I thought it would be...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Watchung, NJ on 6/13/2019

2004 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and a great upgrade to my "sweet tape deck" in my 2004 CRV. What a great value, packed with so many features. Looking forward to taking a long road trip and listening to some tunes via bluetooth. The sound on this thing is so clear and loving the preset equalizer settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Buy With Great Features.

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 6/10/2019

2000 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy To Install. Great Sound Quality. Easy To Use And Set Up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Sun Prairie, WI on 5/21/2019

1992 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MEX series always great

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 5/14/2019

2000 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the third SONY MEX series radio I have installed in mine or my children's cars. They work very well, and handle bluetooth handshakes when you get back in the car very smoothly. I tried another brand once, and noticed the difference. If your space or budget constrain you to 1 DIN, this is arguably the best one.

Pros: Bluetooth works much better than others. Speaker is built in, so it is easy, but it is also very effective.

Cons: MEX series has always had very closely packed row of small buttons. Would be better to have a smaller display or fewer but larger, better defined buttons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Peasy

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, IN on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, nice complete installation kit provided by Crutchfield. Good performance. The only disappointment was that the display color is not selectable.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: No color options for display

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 5/13/2019

1999 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I expected w excellent service. Nuff said

Pros: Install easy

Cons: The removal tools supplied did not work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Medford, OR on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've put Sony receivers in my truck for years. They were all sold to me by Crutchfield and they were 1) easy to install with the included directions and2)they sound great. Can't go wrong with Crutchfield products and support. Simply the best!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Item works extremely well

Crutchfield customer from Maysville, WV on 4/15/2019

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and love the Bluetooth connection to my cell phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Kulpmont, PA on 3/7/2019

2004 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product Easy Install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Sweet Home, OR on 2/20/2019

2006 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, everything works as it should

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Barry from Sprngfld Gdns, NY on 1/23/2019

2006 Hummer H3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking display, not too garish, fits well in my Hummer. Install was so easy with the pre made harness. Love the Bluetooth functionality, works flawlessly with my Samsung note9. Sound is great, much cleaner and more powerful than the oem stereo. Really happy with it so far.

Pros: Ease of use Sound quality Bluetooth Function

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio and service!

James from Cooper, TX on 1/16/2019

2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

absolutely wonderful! Made changing it myself a breeze! will definitely use again for the next vehicle!

Pros: great fitment easy to follow instructions my advisor helped me pick the right radio

Cons: screws for the mounting plate not easy to get in, had a little trouble

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio,

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 1/15/2019

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is nice, I use my cellphone + iPad and is so easy to pair. The radio have memory and you can use as you wish

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Camden Wyoming, DE on 1/15/2019

2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was as described ,arrived before expected ,packaged very well. I purchased the connection package it was literally the the easiest and quickest install I've ever done

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Aliquippa, PA on 1/15/2019

2003 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice head unit, clear display, easy connectivity. No complaints so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Nate from Exeter, ME on 1/9/2019

2001 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony stereo is a really good for the price, and I love it. The only real flaw I have with it is just that Sony stereo interfaces can be weird.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Upgrade

Aimee from Wadsworth, OH on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great stereo and the perfect upgrade from my factory set. I love that it works with my Apple products. Sound is decent. Could be better but that may be my speakers rather than the unit itself. Connected easily and is very user friendly. I only have two complaints: I can't use the map function on my phone when it's connected to BT Audio and the sound from the BT Audio isn't as clear or rich as the sound from the Tuner or a CD. Overall a great stereo at a great price.

Pros: Price User Friendly Bright Display Connects Easily to Bluetooth

Cons: Map Function on Phone Doesn't Work When Connected to Bluetooth Bluetooth Audio Playback Not as Good as Tuner or CD

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid base model unit

Crutchfield customer from Wrightsville, PA on 1/1/2019

2000 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this for my father in laws Hyundai. His old head unit didn't work at all, so this is an upgrade. He says the sound quality is better and it looks great. I'd recommend this unit if you're looking for a great base model CD / radio / Bluetooth stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, SC on 12/30/2018

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Everything works great no issues, sounds awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loaded with Features

Barry from Galveston, TX on 12/26/2018

2002 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound and loaded with features.

Pros: good sound and fairly easy to get started with basic features.

Cons: advanced tech features necessitate a review of the owners manual.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Fortuna, CA on 12/25/2018

2009 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a gift to a family member so it has not been installed but she loves it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Jose from Norman, OK on 12/24/2018

2003 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Lonnie from Redford, MI on 12/11/2018

1992 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great gift!

Kathy from North Babylon, NY on 12/4/2018

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Early Christma gift for my son. He loves it. He says the car stereo has everything he wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SongPal can control everything.

HIROTAKA from Tampa, FL on 11/22/2018

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was not difficult. As soon as done, I downloaded SongPal App for android phone. I connected this receiver with SongPal music center App. Once connected Music Center took over entire control of the receiver. I could play musics from CD, iPod, My music Library in the phone, Spotify, Pandora, iHeart Radio and other music sources while I was using Google map navigation. I could switch the source thru SongPal, easier than using native receiver control. Wonderful receiver. Do I need android auto??

Pros: Connectivity thru bluetooth enables SongPal to take over the control. Very convenient. Receiver starts music as soon as car key is on, don't wait audio system starting up.

Cons: Receiver's native control sometimes confuses me. I hope Bluetooth connectivity will continue stable in the future.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from Erin, NY on 11/22/2018

1997 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio was a perfect fit. Very easy to install and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Carl from Lumberton, TX on 11/12/2018

1982 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product ! I have 3 of these and it is a very good value !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from elba,alabama on 10/23/2018

2004 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installation instructions were spot on. sounds good . good deal also compared to the shops I could have bought from near me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made my old speakers sound awsome!

Walter from Brasher Falls on 10/22/2018

2010 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install with directions sent with product. I also purchased the quick connector which made it a breeze. Took a whole 20 minutes!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Chris from Greenville, WI on 10/20/2018

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, wish it would display the station and time at the same time, but other than that, a good unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 10/14/2018

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is great value for the the money overall. The Bluetooth audio and phone paring are quick. Making a hands free phone call is a little tricky whiteout this being a touch screen, however still possible. The head unit does not have the capability to automatically dim when the vehicle headlights are turned on, this would be the only feature that it I would like it to have. The head unit can be manually dimmed or put on an automatic dim timer. I installed this in a 2002 VW New Beetle and this head unit has brought the technology of this car into the current era.

Pros: Bluetooth Audio & Hand Free Calling RDS Preset & Custom EQ

Cons: Dimmer does not connect to vehicle lights

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product by Sony

Crutchfield customer from Ft Pierre, SD on 10/13/2018

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in a 2004 Avalanche. Great power and sound with easy to access options. Ordered with install kit, ready harness, and interface to keep my SWCs. Removal and install took less than an hour.

Pros: Price, easy to install, easy access options, power

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pleased with purchase

Michael from Cortez, CO on 9/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the cost you cannot beat it! The only issue I have is sometimes I have to turn it on and off to pair it with my phone.

Pros: Price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Linthicum, MD on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple install, had to hard wire but that was a nobrainer. Great display good sound with the speakers I have. Have ordered from Crutchfield before and will probably again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Joel from Lakewood, OH on 9/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit. Easily installed. Thinking about complimentary speakers soon

Pros: Great price, fairly high powered

Cons: A little too technical for a non technical person

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Somerset, CA on 9/14/2018

1991 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My only complaint about this product is that when you are changing the equalizer or any of the settings the display does not just go back to "volume" setting after so many seconds like most others. It makes it difficult to adjust the volume while you are changing settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Mike from Bossier City, LA on 9/6/2018

2008 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't believe a radio at this price has the same features as the one in my Lexus IS convertible. I put this radio in my Daughter's Prius as a birthday gift. I plan the get another one and put it back my other Daughter's RAV4 for her birthday next month.

Pros: Installation was easier than I expected. Trim kit fit perfectly.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unbelievably easy upgrade over factory unit

Crutchfield customer from Quinton, VA on 8/28/2018

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased a 2001 F-250 and immediately wanted/needed an upgrade that provided a hands free option. Always a fan of Sony products and this reciever had all the features I was looking for from bluetooth to USB. There were no issues connecting my phone but it did take a few tries to get other things set up to my liking. I didn't call tech support, just read the manual ( go figure,right). I was on the fence about my purchase and how it would fit my truck. Crutchfield's online chat was super helpful. The representative put a togther a sample cart for me and explained what each item did. I bought the recommended removal tools, install kit, the "readyharness" service and a scratch and dent unit. The installation looks great, took less than hour and literally couldn't be more plug and play with great sound quality through factory speakers. Don't hesitate to get this reciever if you're looking for a solid upgrade over an old radio.

Pros: Typical Sony quality Built in mic for calls Easily connects to iPhone initially and every time since ReadyHarness couldn't make things easier

Cons: Buttons are on the small side but not a deal breaker Some of the features ( flashing in sync with music and caution alram beeping) take a few attempts to turn off

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

James from Cartersville, GA on 8/20/2018

2007 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the receiver. The guys at crutchfeild are great. This was the easiest installation I've ever done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice radio

Crutchfield customer from Three Rivers, CA on 8/14/2018

2005 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had this a couple days and it seems fine. I like simple and it seems like I can simplify this to be easy for me to use. I can turn off alot of the beeps and pulsing lights, etc. Still seems more complicated than necessary but I'll figure it out.

Pros: Seems to work really well

Cons: Makes a noise when I turn the car off and I can't stop it. I never want to make a call while driving and I can't seem to disable that. Clunky bluetooth pairing - not that easy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Prestonsburg, KY on 8/12/2018

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product, easy wiring, great display

Pros: Simple install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Georgia Hands Free Driving Law

Matt from Martinez, GA on 8/8/2018

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new Sony radio and CD player, which is a replacement for the Sony radio I purchased from Crutchfield 12 years ago, includes Bluetooth enabled hands-free calling. I wanted the additional features to comply with the recently enacted Georgia law prohibiting use of smartphones while driving. Installation was a breeze as the new radio fit into the old Sony mount and wiring harness provided by Crutchfield years ago.

Pros: The new Sony radio and CD player, which is a replacement for the Sony radio I purchased from Crutchfield 12 years ago, includes Bluetooth enabled hands-free calling. I wanted the additional features to comply with the recently enacted Georgia law prohibiting use of smartphones while driving.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect, great quality

Hannah from Mc Caysville, GA on 8/8/2018

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came with everything I needed to install, took about 30 minutes tops. Fit my 1994 f150 perfectly and sounds great. Definitely recommended.

Pros: Easy and quick to install Comes with all tools Sounds and looks great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

gregory from Moline, IL on 8/1/2018

1999 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

everything from ordering from Crutchfield to installation and then working the controls has been very easy and worthwhile...excellent unit for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Amherst, VA on 8/1/2018

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first Bluetooth receiver and I love the ability to use my Android device to control and stream my music. Installation was easy, especially with the Crutchfield ready harness. My only negative is the size of the buttons, they are a bit small.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from MA on 7/31/2018

2005 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it - especially big fan of the iPhone hookup/ability to use Siri and talk on the phone hands-free.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 7/22/2018

1993 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice system, works great for my application and the hands free phone has great sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Sewell, NJ on 7/11/2018

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Great sound and easy set up. Love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Las Piedras, PR on 7/10/2018

2004 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio and easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent unit at a reasonable price

Richard from Yarmouth, ME on 7/6/2018

1999 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to order using Crutchfield's website, arrived on time, and was easy to install using the installation kit provided. Very pleased with my purchase!

Pros: Easy to install, works great!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Jim from Newnan, GA on 7/4/2018

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, good features, and great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound for small price

Mike from Bellingham, WA on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo for the money. I installed in my boat.

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: Connector plug did not match old Sony it replaced. Had to splice new one.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, NJ on 7/1/2018

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly. Quick install, easy to set up channels. Bluetooth paired no problem with iPhone 8. Hard to hear telephone with convertible top down.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT SOUND!! AFFORDABLE

Zachery from Lincoln, IL on 6/22/2018

1997 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a Pioneer head unit that the owner of my car had put in before me that had stopped working. I am blown away by how much better it sounds. I do have aftermarket speakers but the Pioneer head unity that it originally had is incomparable to this Sony. The sound quality, plus the ease of installation and clean exterior look, make this head unit a 5/5 for me.

Pros: Great Sound Affordable Aesthetically Pleasing

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 6/17/2018

1997 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio installed quickly and easily with no problems instructions were clear and correct. Stereo sounds good and works well with my iPod.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy customer!

Anthony from Falls Church, VA on 6/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio/cd player is a good value and was very easy to install in my 1988 Toyota extended cab 4x4 pickup truck. The tuner seems to clearly pickup many more stations in my area, even with the old antenna. The CD player seems to work well. Buttons on the face are very small for my fingers. Nice features otherwise. Happy with purchase!

Pros: -Looks good -Easy to install -Sounds good -Many modern features -Great value

Cons: Small buttons on face

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TN on 5/27/2018

1996 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for sure. Looks good, buttons feel good, powers my new speakers well. I've had it for a couple weeks and haven't had any issues except the Bluetooth was acting up but it may have been my phone. What's good is I can just use the usb or aux anyway. I love the custom EQ settings and the subwoofer crossover is good for cleaning my speaker quality.

Pros: Aux, usb, and Bluetooth are all available

Cons: Bluetooth is a little glitchy but might be my phone still

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 5/15/2018

1997 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

radio works fine except for the bluetooth phone. sound is muffled coming out of speakers. To be fair I have not yet called to troubleshoot this, I think it is a problem with the amplifier set up on my car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Regret free

Matthew from Sunset, LA on 5/11/2018

1999 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to upgrade my 05 to a bluetooth system. The bluetooth works great and the radio's sound is far superior to the factory setup.

Pros: Easy install and great sound compared to factory.

Cons: I personally have no complaints. The deck is what I wanted.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Coquille, OR on 4/20/2018

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as planned, all the parts, pieces, and wires worked exactly as they should, and I would definitely order this stereo and set up again from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Al from Tracy, CA on 4/16/2018

1997 Volvo 850 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product. A few layer of menus for the setup. Looks good sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit

Robert from Brandon, VT on 4/2/2018

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo was an excellent product ,thanks to the pre-wired setup installation was very easy ! I will buy from Crutchfield again ......service and shipping were also excellent!

Pros: great sound ....easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Florence, SC on 3/25/2018

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio at a great price and it sounds good. It was easy to install

Pros: Nice color and sound with great features

Cons: It doesn't come with a microphone for the hands free calling it has to be purchased separate that was disappointing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very good head unit

Vern from Las Vegas, NV on 3/20/2018

2006 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit for the hands-free/bluetooth features, as well as the fact that it has a volume knob! Everything works as expected, except at first it was a bit difficult to get the unit to play music off my phone, without cutting off/on every 3 seconds. I also wish it had several choices for the color display, other then blue, to match the dash. Other then that, it's a great unit for the price. Considering buying another for one of my other vehicles.

Pros: Hands-free/Bluetooth/CD Receiver/USB Port/Aux Port

Cons: Only has a Blue color display.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Hartford, TN on 3/4/2018

1991 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great improvement over the stock radio in my bronco.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Brownsville, OR on 3/2/2018

1998 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was super easy in the Subaru Legacy. All the features work as described. Very happy for a simple stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 2/26/2018

1991 Chevrolet Astro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, it works as excepted, the only thing that doesn't work is that you cannot display the clock without the unit being switched on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great tuner and Bluethooth

Lee from Morristown, TN on 2/14/2018

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tuner for the money. Love the Bluetooth paired with my phone. Easy install on my 99 Avalon, however, had to remove radio bezel trim and outer metal cover to fit in single din.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Purchase.

Ken from Woodbridge, VA on 1/28/2018

2001 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, at a great price. The Sony MEX-N4200BT found my smart phone with no problems, calls are clear, and the other person hears clearly also. Music played thru the USB and CD is crisp and clean. now I need to upgrade my speakers.

Pros: Overall great at a great price.

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa, FL on 1/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Baker, FL on 12/29/2017

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation sounds great. Blue tooth works great with phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Beth from Cumberland, MD on 12/27/2017

1995 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it works great. Can even talk to siri and she does what you want !!! Love it

Pros: It connects easy and works great

Cons: Nothing on the stereo just a little time consuming installing it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Generally good with one major firmware bug

Crutchfield customer from Tempe, AZ on 12/18/2017

2007 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sony receivers packs most essential functions into a reasonable price tag. The sound is much nicer than the stock audio. The remote is very useful because the button on the receiver is very small and the "next" button is actually on the passenger side and hard to reach. But you can change song or stations on the remote. But I would like to point out an important bug on the current firmware. This device is designed to connect to two phones at the same time by bluetooth. However, if you have two phones paired, but only one phone within reach of the bluetooth signal of this device, it will keep searching for the phone that is out of reach for the first minute or two when it powers on. This interferes with the connection to the first phone and causes significant interruption to the bluetooth audio playback. You basically cannot listen to music via bluetooth for the first one or two minutes if you have two phone paired but only one phone within reach. I tested this bug on two of these receivers and it reproduced quite well. So I believe this is a firmware issue and Sony needs to fix this. The service of Crutchfield is great! I had this problem with the first unit and they send me a replacement quickly. However, the replacement did not solve the problem. Of course this is not Crutchfield's fault because this is a firmware problem from Sony. If you own this receiver and also have this problem, please contact Sony so that we can get the firmware update sooner.

Pros: Clear sound, bluetooth, easy to install

Cons: firmware issue affects the bluetooth experience

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great Little Sony

Bryan from Santa Fe, TN on 12/5/2017

1989 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great stereo for the money! The tuner brings in more stations than any other radio that I have owned. The Bluetooth works really well and the USB port reads flash drives in a flash.The built-in mic picks up really well and others say they can hear me just fine. I have just had it for about a week, and so far it seems great.

Pros: Great Tuner and Fabulous Bluetooth Connectivity.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N4200BT

Crutchfield customer from Aguadilla, PR on 12/3/2017

2004 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente producto y rapido envio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP