Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony NW-A45 Walkman®

High-resolution portable digital music player with Bluetooth® and FM tuner (Black)

MFR # NWA45/B

Sony NW-A45 Walkman®

Sony NW-A45 Walkman®

High-resolution portable digital music player with Bluetooth® and FM tuner (Black)

MFR # NWA45/B

46 reviews
View this product

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Carson City, NV on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my car. old style radio with no cd but it has blue tooth. the sound is great . I wish the music stores had a better choice for flac files but the mp3 is ok for now

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic Music

Crutchfield customer from Brea, CA on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality is definitely superior to the iPhone...even when using the Bluetooth feature. Music is easy to download through the music transfer app on the Sony website. The program is set up to work on a PC...not the Macintosh--album art is easily downloaded and arrangement of albums can be accomplished alphabetically or by artist. There is availability to download high res files of music (FLAC or any HD format). Multiple Bluetooth connected devices are stored on the Walkman so reconnection is quite simple...just check the device and in seconds you are connected. Touchscreen is very responsive and navigation does not require extensive reading of the instruction manual. The Walkman provides CD or better quality sound from a very small device. I would highly recommend getting the FAT BEAR case for protection. The other recommendation would be to purchase the 128 gig micro SD card (not very expensive). This will allow you to add huge amounts of music to the device because the internal hard drive is only 16 GIGS. Currently, I have added 100 or more albums and have made a slight dent in the capacity. All the features of a CD player are available...time of the selection, time remaining, listing of the selection and the ability to randomly play various albums or selections. Downloads are simple using the music app.

Pros: Size, ease of adding music, graphic depiction of selections or album, cover art

Cons: Output by Bluetooth is outstanding...output through the 3/8" mini plug is problematic due to limited gain provided

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Little DAP

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, NC on 8/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, this is a great investment for great digital sound. I'm very picky about sound quality. This little DAP puts out great sound. I use 1More triple driver earbuds. The combination sounds fantastic. Flac files and MQA files really sound good. I've read negative reviews on this product, glad I didn't pay any attention to them. Its easy to use. You will need to download the Sony Music Center. Once you do that, transporting music to the DAP is simple. The DAC function of this DAP when connected to a computer really helps the sound of music that's on the computer. I am very pleased with this product.

Pros: Sound, function, ease of use and solid build quality.

Cons: No wifi, but I knew that before I bought it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

sony walkman

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent unit dropped in the memory card and downloaded books and music with no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality. I learned the menu layout fairly quick. For ripping CDs, I found using Sony's downloaded software to be the easiest way to quickly fill all song info if available on Gracenote. If you have files already tagged with ID3, you can easily import them. I had some HDTracks that had no ID3 tags and had to stamp them with Stamp ID3 Tag Editor. Not compatible with Windows Media Player.

Pros: Excellent sound quality. High output; will probably drive most headphones up to 32 ohms. Very responsive touch screen.

Cons: Internal 16GB memory index is separate from add on micro SD card. If you try to sync by using Sony's software and select add new songs to SD card, you will get duplicates of what is already on internal memory. Transport control spacing is so tight you have to use your finger nail to activate.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unless you're a techie, be careful about buying this product.

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unlike the traditional and easy to use Walkman´s of the 1980´s, this product isn´t user-friendly, the supposedly fast track set up instructions are totally unreadable simply because there are no words being used to explain the setup instructions. There are only drawings that make no sense. Then when I read the thin, very thin pamphlet, actually more than three times, the language is garbled and not at all clear and organized in regards to the steps to be followed. I never found any instructions on how to create a playlist. I would gladly return it to Crutchfield, which is an excellent venue, but I don't want to experience anymore more frustration with this player.

Pros:

Cons: Not user-friendly.

Crutchfield response on 7/30/2019
We're sorry you're having issues with your music player. If you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Cambria Heights, NY on 7/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Handy!!!!

Pros: Pocket sized

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Captain Cook, HI on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, easy to navigate, easy to load files using content transfer app. Most importantly, flac or high bitrate flac files, sound absolutely awesome, especially when paired with low impedance higher end headphones or IEMs. Oh yeah, the battery life on this DAP phenomenal! For those looking to get into high resolution audio players, and not wanting to break the bank, this is the perfect entry level high res digital audio player. Honestly, if you want to hear the subtle nuances in the music you listen to, pair this with a good pair of low impedance headphones, and you will not be disappointed.

Pros: Easy to use interface, long battery life, excellent sound quality, with lossless files.

Cons: For the price, none!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Now This is What Portable Entertainment is All About

Crutchfield customer from Somerset, NJ on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a replacement for my 16GB ipod, which could not hold anymore music. Only wanted a pure music playing device with expandable capacity. Was to referred to the Sony NW-A45 on the recommendation of Rep. Kay, and she and The Walkman did not dissappoint I thought plugging my Shure SE425 earphones into my iPod was good. Plugged them into the NW-A45 and the music jumped out by leaps and bounds. The sound, the range, the depth of the music. From Moby to The Beatles to Gorillaz to Beach House I am hearing detail I have never heard before. One or two calls to Tech Tim, and I and the NW-A45 were good to go. So glad I contacted Crutchfield...................Again!

Pros: Super easy to download songs/albums. And again, unbelievable that a hand held device gives such great sound.

Cons: Does not always show album/song artwork. Have to use the power button to open the screen/would have preferred it opening by pressing the screen.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Eh...

Crutchfield customer from Arlington Hts, IL on 5/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The audio signal is great, the size is compact and easy to handle. File management I've found to be counterintuitive and the on line help manual is poor.

Pros: Size and audio playback

Cons: Delicate controls are glitchy (brush the player and it may stop. File management is counterintuitive. On line manual..not so helpful.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for lossless Files

Crutchfield customer from Clyde, NY on 5/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First observation is that it will not play WMA Lossless files. My entire collection is made up of these files. I was initially going to return it, then I played some WMA files. Then I ripped some FLAC files. Using a set of Bose Soundlink II with the wired connection and EQ setting on Sony preset EDM. Definitely worth the sale price minus my 55 dollar reward dollars. The FLAC files are fuller and very clean, the EDM setting gives great bass at lower volumes with no need to turn the volume way up. Has a selection feature for specific Sony headphones, which might be good for some. I paid 120 plus reward points which makes this best in that price range. I am keeping it and slowly ripping Flac files to enjoy. If your serious about your music and have lossless files that it will play its a must have. If your using simple mp3 files or a downloading service I would say no.

Pros: drop and drag from Windows Media Center is Awesome

Cons: Will not play WMA Lossless files, but to get a player that will cost you twice as much

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Tucker, GA on 4/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it.....very portable, great storage , easy to use

Pros: Storage, Price point, Easy of use,

Cons: haven't found any yet...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Little Device

Dana from Kasson, MN on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has very small screen, but is just right for storing hi-res music files. The internal storage is also small, but it takes a 128GB micro SD . The Bluetooth connectivity is good with all but one of my devices, and the file transfer is very easy and efficient. I was skeptical at first, but I download almost all hi-res files and it is a pain trying to still use iTunes. This unit, I feel, is a very good purchase for the price. Supports most file formats, and delivers some pretty high quality sound to my systems and headphones wired with 3.5 aux or Bluetooth. I haven't had it long enough to evaluate battery life, but so far so good. USB is for file transfer and charging. I carry this in my work car and truck mostly, but also good on the main systems in the house. I have some Bluetooth connectivity issues with my vehicle (Honda Pilot) and TV sound box (Pioneer).

Pros: File support

Cons: Doesn't play through USB

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Coos Bay, OR on 3/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had great advice on product line, very friendly personnel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony nw-a45 Great Product

Joe from Clinton, MS on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield,"Thank You" for your absolutely great customer you are the best! My recent purchase of the Sony nw-a45 Walkman is my 3rd Sony mp3 player. My first sony is a nwz-545 and still plays fine even after nine years. From tv's to dvd players Sony makes a good product period! It seems to me most all music players and electronic componants have a few quirks or small issues with them no matter what brand they are. I don't like the way this new sony nw-a45 files a few of my albums but I'm ok with that. I love this mp3 player and I'm thinking about buying another one. Try buying a nice stereo for your house or car and see much it will cost you. For the 219.00 I spent on this sony,it was money well spent,even a bargin considering what I'm getting in return!!!!

Pros: Sound quality,convenience,easy to use,functions and features are great!

Cons: Have to look for a few of my albums

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Morris Plains, NJ on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Todd from Hope, ID on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to work with. Uploaded 400 cd's effortlessly

Pros: easy to use beautiful screen

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Item

Thomas from Newmarket, NH on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As of this writing I'm listening to this Walkman with my new Marshall III bluetooth headphones. They are a perfect match. The quality of this Sony player faithfully represents Sony's history of great products. This Walkman won't disappoint!

Pros: Everything about it

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Athens, TN on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far a great Walkman

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Frank from Munster, IN on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast delivery, product performs as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great player. I can now get away from Apple and ITunes after a long and dreadful experience with music. I have tons of stuff that now plays in beautiful high quality sound. I also love the ability to blue tooth to my 5.1 speakers. This is a major update to my original Ipod which I have had plugged in for years since the battery died. Once unplugged, it died forever. Very happy with the size and functionality of this Walkman. Soon I plan to even upgrade my flip phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Janet from Charles Town, WV on 12/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great MP3 Player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Dave from East Aurora, NY on 11/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good reliable portable music player. The only two retraction are that it does rip music anywhere near as fast as Microsoft does, and transferring album cover artwork is tedious. At best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I think it's a great product for me,I just got it like a month ago but I like the way it has my music, I'm still trying to learn it,I'm having a bit of trouble trying to upload from my iTunes but overall I feel good about it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Would purchase again

Paul from Fairview, NC on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this HD player! Sound quality is excellent both over Bluetooth in car and using quality headphones (Sein Hxxx) User friendly and easy for me to navigate the device. I'm giving it only 4 stars because it seems to periodically have issues connecting to my Kenwood car bluetooth deck. But not sure which is to blame. It may be the Kenwood.... or it may be the Walkman. Takes a forced connected using the Kenwood setup at times to reconnect. My phone connects with the Kenwood for hands free calling, and doesnt seem to have issues. But... I'd purchase the Sony again without hesitation.

Pros: Quality sound, easy to navigate, long battery life

Cons: Connection to BT

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound

Bob Kashmanian from Bedminster, NJ on 10/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product with great sound. Easy to connect to external speakers using Bluetooth. Using Sony Music Production Center to upload songs and album art (very important).

Pros: Easy to use device, and Sony Music Production Center was critical for me to upload music and album art

Cons: Small screen fonts for an older user - album art becomes critical to recognize albums to play

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Ridgefield, NJ on 10/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quite an improvement over an earlier Sony model i purchased 4 years ago. It's sound, ease of use and built in radio make it my go to for commuting and travel. The expandable micro SD slot gives you enough memory for pretty much all the music/audio books you'd want to put on it.

Pros: Easy to carry and gives you a great sound through a variety of headphones. Built in DAC for use with laptop listening. Great value!

Cons: A little thicker than some of the other models in the previous Sony line. A protective case will be a good investment as the player can easily slip from your hand.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great digital music player!

Brian from Auburn, ME on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit feels well made and looks really nice. Music sounds great. Bluetooth connectivity works flawlessly. Having the EQ work when using Bluetooth would be nice, but still sounds pretty good without it. The only thing I find annoying is that it creates a database of what is on the microsd card whenever you turn it on. I can see when you insert a card, but every time you turn it on is a bit ridiculous. Other than that, it is a great product and I highly recommend it!

Pros: Sound Quality Looks

Cons: A bit pricey Database creation every time you turn it on

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

A lot of great music from a small device.

w.a. from Jesup, GA on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I usually listen to music in my truck from a walkman with a list of music that I have compiled over the years. I'm a baby boomer and prefer my music from my time along with new hits that catch my ear. My previous walkman (NWZ-F806) died. So with Crutchfield's help,I purchased this replacement. Works just fine with my Sony car radio, and sounds great.Already populating it from the 900 songs I have on my playstation 3 which I use as a media player in my home. The extra memory card slot ensures plenty of jams for long trips,and with shuffle mode from the radio and a remote control, I never hear the same song twice. Thanks Crutchfield! I'm back in the groove.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Overall a Good Product

Tim from Anchorage, AK on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality is good; its certainly very compact yet has reasonably sized controls for the critical functions. The screen display is crisp and easy to read even for someone that needs reading glasses for smaller fonts. The Sony software for managing your music collection is fairly easy to use and intuitive. Setting up playlists was straight forward. Transferring music was much faster than expected. Bluetooth pairing was easy but unfortunately its buried in the Settings menu. A Bluetooth On/Off icon would be a nice addition. No carrying case, it requires a proprietary cable and has a fairly small memory, which are disappointing for a unit at this price point.

Pros: Compact size, easy of use for both the Walkman and the Sony Music Center software.

Cons: Proprietary cable required, no case is included, memory size is fairly small for this price point,

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield is great, Sony Walkman... ehh?

Russell from Clayton, NC on 8/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My order experience was fine with Crutchfield, as always. I am not, however, loving the Sony Walkman i bought. Mainly because of a lack of documentation/ Manual, on Sony's part. The menu on the player itself, is only half intuitive and that , when trying to integrate it into a system, or use with basic BT speakers, for example, rather than just using it as a portable listening device... is only a half- satisfying experience. The lack of volume control from the Walkman when connected via BT... even in it's "Enhanced Mode"...causes one to use only a BT speaker with it's own vol. adjustment (a far more costly type) as the signal is way to 'hot' otherwise. The rest of the product and it's software which is needed to make playlists, etc. is, for me, too much WORK... so, i made a poor choice. All's well with Crutchfield, as mentioned, though.

Pros: nothing stands out

Cons: no vol. control when connected via BT and software used on computer to organize is too much work.

Crutchfield response on 8/29/2018
Russell, we're sorry you're disappointed with your Walkman. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Poor sound quality.

Crutchfield customer from Nathrop, CO on 8/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product has decent sound if you keep your headphones plugged in, once you switch to Bluetooth all of the sound controls (except volume) don't work. For someone who wants to listen to mid range only this might be O.K., but if you want bass and treble in you music, while listening with Bluetooth headphones this is not for you. I have wasted my money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/27/2018
We're sorry you're disappointed with your Walkman. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

8 of 9 found this helpful

If you Love listening to Music

Crutchfield customer from Bolingbrook, IL on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy listening to music while at home or on the go. I bought the Sony NW A45 to hear for myself if all the reviews were true about it''s High resolution music quality. LOVE IT. Very happy with my Walkman.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to load but lacks extras compared to others

Alan from Oakland, CA on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lack of internal headphone amp means you have to buy one for your nicer Cans. Also doesn't have a Line Out capability; you have to use a regular headphone cord and turn up the volume when running a headphone amp. So far easy to use and load with music but is idiotically picky about some tracks (won't hint as why it doesn't like them).

Pros: Loads easy, good on data cards, simple controls, polished feel

Cons: No line out, no internal headphone amp, no data cord for headphone amps

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Nice little unit!

Dave from Dekalb, IL on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am enjoying this little player very much. I have it connected via Bluetooth to my 2018 Subaru. The connection was simple and fast. In the process of importing files from my computer about 40% of the album cover art did not make it? I guess that's not much different from iTunes? It was relatively easy to get it added, just time-consuming. The Sony Music Center software is pretty simple & the transfer to the Walkman is a "drag and drop".

Pros: Compact size, decent sound, good Bluetooth connection.

Cons: Not as easy to set up playlist "one the go" (compared to iPods)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

TODD from Martinsville, IN on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this for something to listen to while running, and it has turned out to be great! Bonus...the FM tuner has amazing reception also! Crutchfield's has been great to deal with, I would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony walkman (NW-A45)

Kimi from Newport, VA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use! Slightly larger than a business card. Color screen for album artwork. 3.5mm jack for headphones. FM radio. Great Sony App/ software, is compatible with windows 10!

Pros: Battery life great. Expandable memory. Clear, crisp sound with equalizer. Great sound & hook up to my car via 3.5mm jack.

Cons: This is a tad bit slow on the start up; however, it is a great product. I haven't tried the bluetooth yet.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cost effective solution for playing uncompressed FLACs.

Stu from Evanston, IL on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picked this puppy up to play FLACs in my new car which does not have a CD player. Hooked into my car's AUX input, getting much better sound quality than from MP3s stored on my phone. Easy to work with. Very intuitive. Simply dragged and dropped files from music collection stored on my computer to the Sony. Unit comes with 16 GB of memory, but can add up to 128 GB more via micro SD card, which I did. Currently have around 150 albums on the player, all stored as uncompressed FLACs and guessing room for a 100 more. (With compression, you could store way more music, with some trade off in sound quality, but personally I'm dead set against compression ... that is why I bought this player.) Very cost effective solution for my use case. Delighted with the product.

Pros: Great SQ and functionality for the price, and all in a very small package.

Cons: Wish I could make icons a little bigger .... but not a deal breaker.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent, straightforward player for HiRez

David from New York, NY on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, this is exactly what I was looking for. A compact replacement for my ipod classic that would also play FLAC files as I build out my HiRez collection. It is intuitive to use and offers a significant improvement in sound quality over an iphone or ipod, even with standard resolution material. Two minor points that could add a star: (i) ditching the proprietary cable for USB-c or another universal protocol; and (ii) some sort of a belt clip or aftermarket case to make it more gym friendly.

Pros: Great sound quality, intuitive operation.

Cons: Proprietary cable. Lack of belt clip or case for gym use.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

JOHN from Boston, MA on 7/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bluetooth doesn't connect with my Honda CR-V. Music doftware needs to be updated. Sound is great.

Pros: Sound. Portability.

Cons: Poor software. Bluetooth issues.

Crutchfield response on 7/30/2018
John, I'm sorry but I was unable to locate an order for you in our system. If you purchased this Walkman from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound machine

Les from Bluffton, SC on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this MP3 player. My only negative comments would be the instruction manual that comes in the box is a real O. And I cannot connect the Bluetooth to either of my Honda vehicles. Sound quality is great, and I have learned to download music easily. Many of us senior citizens are computer challenged and this MP3 player makes me look "smart".

Pros: Easy to use. Great sound quality. Well made product.

Cons: Poor instructions in box. Not Bluetooth compatible with my Honda vehicles

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Back to basics portable music

Matt from Fort Collins, CO on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does one job and does it well ... plays music with no distractions ... no wireless, no phone, no text messages, no browser. It doesn't even tell the time. This is a good thing. It brings me right back to the last Walkman I owned which was Minidisc based. Great for finishing my workouts without the interruption that happens with an iPhone. It also sounds 100x better, works faster, and doesn't pester me to sign up for "Apple Music", suggest things I should be listening to instead, or tell me to follow my favorite artist on social media. Also, the Sony music manager application for Windows isn't half bad, it's no frills but it runs circles around the iTunes bloatware that you have to use if you want to manage your music in Apple's world. This gadget also doubles as a DAC for your laptop, and the Sony PC software can function as a pretty capable player or you can download the hardware driver from Sony and use the windows player of your choice. You will probably want a memory card, I haven't gotten one yet but I'm hoping it supports 256GB capacity when I do. Also I wish it had included a carry case ... Sony always used to include a case with walkmans. The selection online is pretty limited. If you want to go back to basics for portable music this is your answer. Your friends may laugh because you are carrying a Walkman again, but it's such a relief to disconnect from a smart phone for a while and just have a really good sounding port

Pros: Sounds great. Great battery life. Easy to use, fast interface, capable PC software, no unneeded features, no distractions. Just simple music on the go.

Cons: Limited selection of accessories available online (cases, cables, etc.). Proprietary cable ... not standard micro USB... you'll want to buy a spare. Sony could have included a protective case. Finally you will also probably want a memory card.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Nice!

Omar from La Mirada, CA on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and sounds great. Needs a bit of work in the UI department but aside from that, a great buy.

Pros: Good size. Easy to use. Quality build. Great sound

Cons: UI is a tad sluggish. UI is not up to par with modern Mobil devices (IPods) Data transfer software needs improvement.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Sony NW-A45 Walkman

Shelby from Crawfordville, GA on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Guitars have strings again, cymbals vibrate, violins are cool....The clarity of the sound makes the recording come to lfe. I had an early IPod Classic, now an iPod touch with 10,000 songs and this new Sony Walkman NW-A45I can cut grass with my diesel Zero Turn Mower or my bushhog on the back of my Kubota L-38-30 tractor and still enjoy quality music reproduced, Bose Sport Ear Buds. Not bad for the suburb of the Sticks in Sharon, Ga.

Pros: Music reproduction. battery Life

Cons: Ease of finding songs. I ran in to several sites that stated the Sony would not be compatible with I tunes collections but My file seems to have been imported by the Sony Walkman with the exception of playlists that were not imported. JW was the Crutchfield associate that helped me.Like Brooke and a couple of others have been very knowledgeable. I will be playing my music next year at our 50th High School Class Reunion. I'm fairly certain that one of t is steered me towards a Denon Am

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

TOP