Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony NW-A55 Walkman®

High-resolution portable digital music player with Bluetooth® and FM tuner (Black)

MFR # NWA55/B

Sony NW-A55 Walkman®

Sony NW-A55 Walkman®

High-resolution portable digital music player with Bluetooth® and FM tuner (Black)

MFR # NWA55/B

49 reviews
View this product

Sony nw-a55

Crutchfield customer from Enid, OK on 2/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have listened to my music through my iPhone forever. I switched to the Sony Walkman and all I can say is WOW on the difference. The music is very clear and I hear more from the songs than listening through iPhone. Best choice I made switching. I also like that I can switch songs by a button on the side rather than having to look at phone to switch tracks. I got tired of playing list favorites and so I can cycle through all my songs while I'm trying to go to sleep.

Pros:

Cons: It was a little difficult trying to pair my Bose headphones with this player. You have to go to settings and click on a different headphone set up. Then it pairs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Sumner, WA on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second sony walkman and the NW-A55 has an excellent build quality and superb sound output!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NW-A55 is a nice digital player. It functions well and sounds good with head phones and plug into my stereo reciever. The software for loading music on to the player is a little clunky until you get use to it, then it works fairly well. Over all I think it was a good puurchase and would recomend to others.

Pros: Ease of use Build quality Sound quality Features

Cons: Music transfer software. It is not bad, but it could be better.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall Really Happy With The A-55

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted to spend some time with this before reviewing, so 2 months later, very happy with this player. First thing, using a 400gb micro sdxc card with zero issues, even though the manual states 128gb. I really like the fact you can load literally any type of music file on the A-55 and it will play it. Battery life so far has been really good. Overall an excellent sounding portable music player. I like the fact it has several eq options, not really a fan of Clear Audio+, depending on the mp3, DSEE HX makes some difference, the Vinyl Processor, these ears aren't hearing much change honestly. The bluetooth has worked well, playing through JBL Charge, and a Sony bookshelf system. I have tried this with several headphones, both Sennheiser HD598 and Beyerdynamic 990 Pro seem to be a bit power hungry for the A-55, however it does match well with the AKG K371's, so avoid the high ohm headphones with this unit. My only complaint is unlike the Pioneer player that this replaces, it has no line out function. Lastly, i have not used the Sony software, prefering to just drag and drop music onto the card when plugged into the computer, I do agree with others that the way it handles album art can be a pain, only have a few that refuse to behave. Overall I would say pick this up from Crutchfield and make your head happy.

Pros: Great sound Lots of options for sound settings Handles pretty much all formats of music.

Cons: Album art a bit buggy No line out option

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to carry while walking. Easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Paper weight with a FM Radio!

Crutchfield customer from Penn Valley, CA on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Won't play on it's own and tried to download from a Mac and does't play unless connected back on the Mac. Won't load Into the playlist to play in the car or any other device. I've followed the instructions and tried everything, but no go! Who designed this? It's just a paper weight that plays FM. I'd give it zero stars!

Pros: None

Cons: Won't download correctly from a Mac.

Crutchfield response on 1/20/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Petaluma, CA on 1/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for me to quickly start out compiling a digital hi-res music collection for car and home. Wanted at least CD quality and the Walkman does this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Outperformed My Expectations

Crutchfield customer from Edmond, OK on 1/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony NW-A55 is a great walkman! Pleasantly surprised to learn that it will support microSD cards greater than 128GB; I loaded a 256GB microSDXC card and pushed a 156GB library to it with no issues! Bluetooth is easy to use and I have setup multiple devices including connecting to my truck, all with clear playback. The Music Center software takes some getting used to, I used iTunes previously, and it can be a bit slow to load music and process commands. A big plus appears to be it's Gracenote CD DataBase song information acquisition setup; I was able to fill in a lot of gaps in my library iTunes couldn't solve plus the information gets logged with the music files so it will back-populate an iTunes library as you play songs from that software. Music Center also supports home network broadcasting so I can use the PC software to wirelessly play to my home theatre receiver. Overall this has been a great upgrade and I can finally retire my outdated iPod!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Apple computer users beware: 'content transfer app' is horrible+small

Dj iCEBERG from New York on 1/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you plan on pairing this with the Sony WH-1000XM4 headphone's Crutchfield recommend's keep this in mind. You will NOT* be able to use the Sony Headphones connect app as it is not* built into the player or Apple computers. You will need to 'upgrade' to the Sony NW-A105 just for that feature alone even if you don't want the Wifi capabilities it offers. =( If you plan on using this walkman on Mac OSx software and hate using iTunes/Apple Music as it creates a back-up library which hogs GB storage in your hard drive there is a workaround. Download VLC media player and make the playlists in there. Then open "Finder' on Mac and drag/drop mp3 folders and playlists in there. I minus-ed one star on my review but other's will find this annoying. This was not designed for Apple products. There is no reason a company like Sony could not have ported the Sony Media Center windows uses ! Instead Apple users are stuck with the horrible 'Content Transfer App'. [Actual photo of size below with no way* to 'maximize window'] -Mac Mini M1 on Big Sur 11.1

Pros: - Great battery life - No issues with MicroSd - Windows users will have a much better experience transferring mp3 files and playlists

Cons: - Apple computer users beware: 'content transfer app' is horrible - I need to use VLC media player so it wont create an iTunes/Apple Music back-up folder. - There is no way to make the window size bigger so I hope you have good eye sight. [see photo] - Not designed for Apple computers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

'Upscale mp3 player'

Crutchfield customer from Cabot, PA on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Expectations were high for this high res player. Sound is typical Sony - good. A little light on bass though. Pairs easily. Not sure if the upconverting is all it's cracked up to be as I cannot tell much difference. Not sure how to get streamed high res music on the player - once I figure that out we will see how much better high res really is

Pros: Sound clarity Pairing easy Battery fairly good

Cons: Starting the unit is sluggish Hi Res upconvert is in question. Bass a little lacking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's even better than I thought. Size is perfect; screen is super responsive. Easy interface. Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony walkman

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new A55 Walkman. I paired it with the Sony Bluetooth headphones and I couldn't be happier with the quality. Most new electronic devices have a learning curve that takes a while to figure out however this Walkman is a breeze from the start. I would recommend this mp3 to anyone and would purchase again if it was somehow lost or damaged beyond repair. Always pleased with my Sony products and my purchases from Crutchfield.

Pros: Ease of use and getting started with for the first time. Value for the quality. I have never had a Sony product need repair.

Cons: Not a one.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Elco, PA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of storage & sounds wonderful!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great, but battery life is subpar

Crutchfield customer from Catoosa, OK on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is amazing! However, I do not know if I received a faulty unit or not, but the battery life is definitely not what is advertised. This is especially true with the sound modifying features on. With wired headphones it is clocking in about 5 hours and with Bluetooth headphones, significantly less. I have visited the Sony website to look at how to correct this and its advice is to basically turn everything off, which limits the features significantly. I really want to like this player, but I am thinking of returning it. Also if you own a MAC, the Sony software is abysmal. Especially if you have MAC OS Big Sur. It is barely compatible. PC is better, but there needs to be a "conversion" of files to ensure all the correct metadata is included in the files and that it shows up on the player.

Pros: Great sound; features really improve Mp3 and MP4 files. Lossless and DAC files are great!

Cons: Sony software. Battery Life. Not convenient with MacOS Big Sur.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not as easy to use as an I Pod!

Nicholas from Stuart, FL on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit and FM radio works great... Unfortunately , not like an Apple product and downloading all of my stored I Tunes, from my PC, remains a mystery to me? My Bose wireless Bluetooth ear buds don't want to sync either? Maybe I'll figure it out...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Lockport, NY on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not be more pleased. The Sony NW-A55 far exceeded my expectations and needs. Software and device performs flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Kingsburg, CA on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

with this little device I can honestly say I now sleep every night with Rosanne Cash ... and won't disturb my neighbor who happens to be next to me in the same bed (my wife) I can listen to music all night !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Millbrae, CA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality sound from hi-res music, even from 16bit material. Makes the sound richer. Downsides are when copying music files over, make sure no more than one album has the same title, such as "Greatest hits" or it will group all the songs from other greatest hits to the same album. Battery could be better, but depends how often you use it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Siren, WI on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality. App is cumbersome have not been able to import playlists made in app to device.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality product. Reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Returned the first one because it only lasted 10 hours. Its replacement is the same so I guess it is the standard. Other than that it is a good player but I wouldn't buy another one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, MA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great portable music player . High quality sound and lots of features. It would be a great gift for any music lover.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Player 5 Stars, Software/Cable 3

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Actually 5 stars for the player and 3 for the Sony software and proprietary cable. So far, I really like the player. Sound is very nice both through bluetooth and wired ear buds (Haven't tried through a good set of headphones yet. It sounds much better in my car than my phone on Bluetooth. Controls are fine, I like the buttons on the side to control basic functions. I had a Sony MP3 player in the past, and had to use the Music Center software, not a big fan, but it is the only way I found to really get all the album info transferred to the Sony players and have CDs (not a playlist kind of guy) play properly (You know how crappy it is when the tracks on The Wall are played in alphabetical order instead of album order?) . Along with the "must use" software, I also don't understand why Sony can't get into the 21st century and use a USB-C cable for data transfer/charging. Especially since if you try to buy a spare, you need to go aftermarket and can't buy one from Sony. Booo.

Pros: Very nice sound for lower end lossless player Side buttons for basic controls Small, highly portable Seems like a sturdy build

Cons: Music Center Software Sony propriatary Cable

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, GA on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great but the user interface is a little kludgy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put a 512 gig card in it filled it to the brim and it works flawlessly ! Software is easy to use and it doesn't hog up your computer with duplicate files.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Walkman runs!

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great item. Easy to use. Tons of storage for songs (after adding the microcard, sold separately). I don't know why I didn't purchase one of these sooner.

Pros: Plenty of storage. Easy to use.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Phenix City, AL on 12/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great shipping. Sony has finally got me the walkman that I have always wanted THANKS SONY.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

love it

VERONICA from IRVINGTON, NJ on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product so much better thanm apple ipod cooler look too love it!!1

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Music Player/Storage device!

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After careful consideration and research, I chose the Sony NW-A55 for my music storage and playback. Having grown weary of Apple products' proprietary software upgrade requirements, increasingly awkward interface, storage limitations, cost and reliability issues, I made the switch to Sony. So far, so good. I really like the storage expansion capability via Micro SD Card Slot and that you can drag and drop music files cross platform on Mac or PC, without proprietary software. I loaded my Sony player up with a 256gb Micro SD card and it works great! It also reads high quality audio files of many types. Very versatile.

Pros: Expandable storage capacity. Drag and drop music file interface. Works cross platform right out of the box (PC or Mac). Great hardware design. A good value for the money!

Cons: Interface takes a little getting used to - especially if you are used to Mac software, but by no means a deal breaker. Replacing the proprietary USB connector cable could be an issue.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony NW A55

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 2 A45's and this A55. I like the bluetooth performance and the software.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

LOVE it!!

Susan from Lakeville on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely LOVE my new Walkman! To have a dedicated music player that just plain works and sounds terrific is wonderful! No more cloud music for me (thanks a lot, Google Play Music, lol). As far as the Sony Music Center software: I downloaded the app on both my computer and my phone so I could get a feel for it beforehand. It's not perfect, but it's workable, and I'm satisfied. I can easily transfer music with it, and edit info to songs, etc. If I can't occasionally get the cover art to show on the Walkman, oh well, I can still hear the music and that's what's important. The NW-A55 is a nice solid device that delivers what it promises. Now I only need to hook it up to our Sansui 9090 and rock the house down! :) Crutchfield, you people are awesome, you shipped it in 2 days, no problem! (And the biodegradable packing peanuts? Beautiful!! Plus, fun to watch dissolve!) Well done, well done, ladies and gentlemen, my hat's off to ya! :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy to navigate and great sound. Works well with Bluetooth headphones. Very pleased with Crutchfield's customer service - the walkman arrived way before I expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Happy Customer

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm SUPER happy with my product and with the timeliness of its arrival !!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bch Gdns, FL on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A couple of notches above the standard MP3 player especially in terms of sound quality. As I understand it, most MP3 players are playing mostly compressed files while this SONY unit un-compresses the files using technology usually reserved for much more expensive players. Connecting with bluetooth to my headphones was a little tricky - read and follow directions carefully.

Pros: Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Kennedale, TX on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this Walkman it's easy to use and user friendly and has great sound

Pros: Great sound compact

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Guest from Rockbdge Bath, VA on 8/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent toy to start with,since I am old school I was more then pleasantly surprised.My entire collection on one device.sound reproduction is nothing short of stunning-have tried three different headphones and all were remarkable hands down.The higher priced walkmen are something to really consider,since this was a gift I am not complaining at all.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great music player replacement for a phone

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this player on sale in order to have a better experience than my phone, and to have a radio to listen to at work. The new model has android, but no radio, but if you don't care about radio and don't want to have to use the proprietary cable Sony uses check out that one. I just ordered a spare cable. Anyway this player is great, for this price, a bargain, and has an excellent dac. Which you can plug into your computer and use as a dac. The instructions say 128 gig is the limit, but my 256 gig works fine,holds my entire collection. Still working my way through setting up playlists and the like but the interface is very intuitive and easy to use, and the sound is great, I plug it into my preamp and use it with my audio system, it competes well with my other hard drive setup that I use for my files, mostly flac. The blutooth I cant use with my truck, it interferes with my phone, but the aux sounds better anyway. With my full size phones it is a portable high end audio system. If you don't care for android or a cheap phone dac this player is a low cost alternative, so is the "fat bear" case I put on it. And the price is right.

Pros: Small inexpensive, sounds great, can be used as a standalone DAC

Cons: uses a proprietary cable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Strong value DAP

Crutchfield customer from Blue Bell, PA on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good DAP overall. Nice size, great metal build and touchscreen use, with outstanding battery life. My biggest gripe is that you must use Sony's proprietary software for UI, which isn't intuitive or consumer friendly. Having said that, the outstanding sound quality makes it worthwhile.

Pros: Great sound and build.

Cons: Need to use proprietary software to download music and label files

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great music player

Ray from FLUSHING, NY on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound quality! love this. highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great player, almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Hilliard, OH on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got my NW-A55 about 6 weeks ago and have been putting it through it's paces. Firstly, Crutchfield, as usual, was awesome. Player arrived a couple of days after I placed the order. As for the player, it sounds great. Overall, it's just a bit warmer than my old iPod nano, and a bit punchier down low when the volume is up. I think, overall, it's a pretty smooth and clean sound. The controls take some getting used to (coming from an iPod), but are pretty intuitive once you swipe through all the menus. I also like having the hard buttons on the side to control the player. I chose this player over the Android-powered NW-A105 because it had better battery life, but also because it could be used as a USB DAC and had Bluetooth send/receive functions, which the NW-A105 does not. The build quality is top-notch and the player definitely has some weight to it. It feels solidly built and I hope it will last me as long as my last two players!

Pros: -Player sounds awesome. I tried the different sound settings and found they (mostly) didn't do too much, although I left a few turned on -Size is smaller than I was expecting. I was expecting something larger, but it's only slightly larger than the old iPod nano that I am replacing, although it is quite a bit thicker, about as thick as an iPhone with slim case -Battery life is also awesome. I am regularly getting 30-35 hours of headphone listening out of it. I've only charged it twice!

Cons: -#1 is no USB-C port. I could've got the NW-A105, but I didn't want to sacrifice the battery life -I wish it transferred more info over Bluetooth. In Bluetooth receive mode, it won't display any song information, not even the title. In send mode, it doesn't send album artwork or time elapsed -I wish it transferred the song index to my car (2019 Accord) like the iPod did. As it is, the car has to index the tracks which takes 30+ min every time I plug the player in, so I use the Bluetooth in

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Nederland, TX on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Device performance is good, but the Sony music software is a bit flaky. One star deducted for that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Mabel, MN on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was tempted to purchase a digital music player of lesser quality. After learning about the Sony Walkman players and reading about their quality, I figured it would be worth the price. Although it is not their top of the line product, I am very satisfied with this purchase.

Pros: Durable exterior and easy to use software for a novice to get started on using a digital music player with their PC.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Bel Air, MD on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and sounds great. Has nice features for the price.

Pros: Price . Easy to download music.

Cons: Have to crank up volume a bit to drive large headphones.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Tucker, GA on 5/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I do really like it. Nice size and weight--feels solid. The display, menus, and the navigation among them is intuitive. Sounds good and supports lots of formats. However, it's slow to start, hard to see in even moderately bright light, and the proprietary Sony connector are negatives. Like I said though, I'm glad I bought it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with HiRes tracks and easy to set up and use. Only the proprietary cable keeps it from being a 5 star product

Pros: Hi Res track playing

Cons: Proprietary cable for transfer/charging.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

NW-A55 review

Crutchfield customer from Grove City, PA on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my wife. She absolutely loves it and is very impressed with the sound quality. I may have to get one of these for myself as well Great product.

Pros: Excellent sound. Controls well laid out and menus make it easy to find functions.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony NW-A55 Walkman

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsburg, PA on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

super product..unimanginable amount of music (with excellent fidelity) on this rather tiny device. it is a bit complicated to utilize all the features, but it just utilizing all the features

Pros: sound quality is great/volume of music possible with mini SD card

Cons: screensize is pretty modest, so the displays are also on the small side...good news is device has important (daily usage) controls are on the side of unit and can be operated with your fingers by touch

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Muncie, IN on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this thing! Connects to Bluetooth, can use it as a DAC for phone etc to make sound better! Good price vs. features.

Pros: Bluetooth connectivity, both as player and a Reciever if you need better DAC for phone etc!

Cons: No outside apps....not Android. Still a great piece!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

I am very happy

Phillip from South Carolina on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with my new Walkman. I wish it was bigger, like my smartphone. I had to upgrade to protect my investment, my music (2304)items and still counting with a 128gb microSD card, also a case and screen protector. I looked at three companies for free shipment. I went with Crutchfield because I can count on them, the two-day shipment. Order on 2/29/2020. They shipped my Walkman on 3/2/2020, it was delivered on 3/3/2020 at 4 p.m. by UPS. Crutchfield packed my product with those little white balls, thank you for protecting my product. It means a lot to me. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP