Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Sony Cyber-shot® DSC-RX100

Large-sensor compact digital camera with 20.2-megapixels and an f/1.8 Carl Zeiss® lens

MFR # DSCRX100/B

Sony Cyber-shot® DSC-RX100

Sony Cyber-shot® DSC-RX100

Large-sensor compact digital camera with 20.2-megapixels and an f/1.8 Carl Zeiss® lens

MFR # DSCRX100/B

30 reviews
View this product

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had the RX-100 for over a week now. I am very happy with it. It took some time to understand how to use the many useful features. I am of course still experimenting and learning. All in allI am very pleased with its operation. I especially find the JPEG+RAW format useful. Plus, the 1" sensor I think will greatly improve images in marginal light situations outdoors.

Pros: Light weight, scene functions save hassle and look good, many ways to control the camera from full manual to point and shoot.

Cons: It is not suitable for using during rain or other wet atmospheric conditions.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not reliable

Crutchfield customer from Paradise, CA on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a faboulus small camera and I'm comparing it to our full frame Nikon D600. The one I got three years ago developed major problems and barely usable. There are no Sony service centers near us so I got another one from Crutchfield. I hope this will last longer. The photo quality is amazing and it has all the adjustments if you know how to use them, but you can leave it in full auto and the results are amazing.

Pros: size and photo quality

Cons: battery life poor, not reliable

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100

Crutchfield customer from Kerrville, TX on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

never had anything this small but powerful. beautiful images. quiet and unobtrusive. perfect for candid, clandestine moments

Pros: we all need help, we all can help

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

The Best of Its Type and Price

Bob from Pompano Beach, FL on 7/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always, I did a lot of research before buying. This camera is by far the the very best for its price. The "i" version doesn't have all the extra features of its newer brothers, but takes the same high-quality images. So, if you can forgo some not-very-needed bells-and-whistles and want to save hundreds of dollars, this is the one for you. At first , I thought we required a touch-screen, but after testing some models, they're not all that helpful, even for focusing. Beyond that, similarly priced cameras with touch-screens don't produce high-quality images.

Pros: Great images Easy to use point-and-shoot Ability to use with full traditional controls

Cons: Larger and heavier than most point-and-shooters

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A bargain and still a great camera

Christopher from Jackson Heights, NY on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is still a great camera, and at the price I bought it for it is a steal. With the introduction of the RX100 mark VI, the prices all down the line have fallen and suddenly the original model looks very attractive again. I had the original model from about 2012 but about a year ago it died. I was considering the new mark VI but at such a high price I really couldn't justify it. Very happy to have stumbled across the lower price point for the Mark I. It is missing some features of the later models (articulating display, auto eye focus, 4K video, WiFi, and now a touchscreen) but it takes really good photos. We look at our photos on our 49 inch 4K tv and it is on a screen that size that the difference between the Rx100 and, for example, an iPhone X are clear. It is amazing what smartphone manufacturers have done with computational photography, but so far there is still no substitute for good glass and a large sensor.

Pros: -Longer zoom range than the mark III-V. -Slightly smaller than future models

Cons: -No articulating display -No EVF (especially useful on sunny days) -No ND filter

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Big sensor with fast shutter speed, light weight=refined pix

Richard from Rochester, NY on 11/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture quality due to large 1" CMOS sensor is terrific, with fast shutter speed f 1.8. Great price, pocket packable, and also comes with a good LOWE brand camera bag/case. Not much zoom but that is part of the trade off for truly sharp bright pictures. And the camera has 'image stabilization.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100

James from NH on 10/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great so far. I am able to take pictures of soccer games and get nice action shots as well as up close foliage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Picture in a very small size

Robert from Chester, NY on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture quality. Auto focusing is a bit tougher than an DSLR especially close up. Picture quality is better than phone and a little short of DSLR....but it isn't much bigger than the phone so I can live with that. All modes are excellent - fireworks was great! Very fast shutter speed - I have found no lag with multiple shots in a row. Bought something to fit over the camera body which makes holding it easier.

Pros: 90% of DSLR in a very small size. Totally worth it.

Cons: Slippery to hold - fix it by buying a camera jacket case.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great point and shoot

Kristen from Fargo, ND on 1/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera to put in my purse and carry with me all the time. I find my cell phone camera to be ok but not great, and I don't always lug my DSLR around with me. I want to be able to get the shot in an everyday moment that I want to preserve. When I bought this, the biggest thing I wanted to know, but couldn't find the answer to, was how fast it was from shot to shot. The answer is that you can take multiple shots in a row without lag. The picture that you just took will show up on the screen, but you can push the button again at any time to get the next shot. I have been able to take 8 pictures in a row with the only lag between shots being from the autofocus so I have been very pleased. The quality of the image is great for a point and shoot - not quite the same as my DSLR, but significantly better than my phone camera. Autofocus is very fast for a point and shoot (again, not as fast as DSLR, but significantly better than my previous point and shoot and my phone camera). It is lightweight and easy to put in my purse or coat pocket. It is exactly what I was looking for.

Pros: -Fast autofocus with minimal lag between shots -Fast start-up for a point and shoot -Great image quality for a point and shoot

Cons: -Because this particular model is a little older, I had a harder time finding a small (purse-size) case for it

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100

Gilbert from Valatie, NY on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent photo quality. Even at ISO 3200 quality is good on a 25inch screen. Easy to change shutter lens opening by using front ring. Cons: Does not focus automatically at 2inch distance on small objects in nature photography. Camera does not come with grip attachment.

Pros:

Cons: on small objects in nature

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony RX100

Ron R from Taylorsville, NC on 3/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still trying to learn the camera but so far seems to be what the reviews said. Takes great photos

Pros: small and lite weight. Is a pocket camera for sure. Takes good photos.

Cons: Instruction manual not very helpful had to go online to look at a video to get a better idea what the camera is capable off.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Compared to full frame Nikon

mgforshort from California on 1/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even compared to a full frame Nikon D600 which is my main camera, this small Sony is very impressive. My only complaint is that many optional adjustments are not available unless in aperture or shutter priority or the full manual mode is selected. I realize this is to prevent novice users to ruin a shot, but an experienced user should have something like a "master switch" to override the grayed out menu items.

Pros: Great image quality and small, pocket able size.

Cons: Limited menu access in program modes.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

So far, so good

Lori from Wisconsin on 1/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have not had it long enough for an in-depth review...however, I am very pleased with this camera so far. The image quality is excellent and seems to be especially good in low light. I am down-sizing from a DSLR, as I wanted something more mobile and always ready. I am tired of constantly switching lenses to get the right shot and lugging everything around when I travel. I had a hard time choosing which point and shoot to get, as none seem to cover all bases. This seems to be a good fit for me as it has lots of manual options, but can be used quite simply as well.

Pros: Large sensor, excellent image quality

Cons: No built-in viewfinder, wish it had more zoom, poor grip design - knew these things when I chose it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony rx100

Amateur from California on 4/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera for a small size. Very quality photos indoors/outdoors. Quality goes down as you use zoom, but that's expected I ordered the scratched/dent option, but mine had a scratch on the lcd display. I only expected scratches on the body.

Pros: - Big sensor packed in a small camera - Very good quality photos

Cons: - Once you start using the zoom, photo quality goes down - LCD was scratched

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony and Apple not playing nice

Kenny from Long Island,NY on 12/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't transfer movies from camera to Mac or Ipad. Crutchfield support tells me it's a software compatibility issue and there is a workaround if I jump thru some hoops, but that's a deal breaker for me. Usual good customer support from Crutchfield-efficient and quick .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Best pocket camera period

Crutchfield customer from Santa Monica, CA on 12/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best pocket camera period. Used it to take more than 1000+ pictures on my recent 10 day trip to Spain. Shot all kinds of pictures including daytime, night time, indoor (good and low light), macro (food) and the shots were all amazing. Buy this camera now!

Pros: Perfect everything. Most amazing for me was the accurate and super fast focus. Unreal camera!

Cons: Absolutely none in terms of features and performance. The sheer number of options can definitely be overwhelming though :)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Powerful package for its size

AdamF from Chicago, IL on 10/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality of this camera for its size just can't be beat. I'm an experienced DSLR shooter and I am completely satisfied with carrying this around as an alternate when I just don't want to lug around the big cameras. The image quality is fantastic and it handles poor lighting almost as well as a current generation APS-C size sensor in a DSLR. There is a bit of noise and smudging from the noise-reduction in ISO 3200 and above, but surprisingly it is handled really really well. The menus and the ui is intuitive and well laid out. I come from a Nikon ecosystem and had no problem adapting to the Sony menus and buttons. The manual controls are quick to access let you make fast adjustments. The battery life is about what you would expect from a point and shoot. I wish it was better, but oh well. The screen is bright and has worked well even in daylight. I was worried about not having a viewfinder, but so far composing on the screen has been fine. The lens is fast when at 28mm (equivalent), but stops down pretty fast when you zoom. There just probably wasn't room in the lens to keep the aperture open wide at zooms unfortunately.

Pros: Amazing image quality. Very small size. Manual controls are intuitive and quick to access.

Cons: Battery life could be better.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

An amazing little camera

Ira from Idyllwild, CA on 6/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing little camera. The CMOS sensor low light capability blows away everything else I've considered. The" watercolor" effect on this camera is astounding - I use it a lot. Others have said that the camera is difficult to hold, and that a special add-on grip is needed. I found an inexpensive third party camera case solves this problem.

Pros: Low light capability, resolution, watercolor effect

Cons: Price, location of the pop-up flash, lack of a coherent manual is a real problem, but I got great a third party Kindle download manual that has been great. Without it , I'm afraid that you are LOST.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Review of Sony RX100

Ken B. from Newton, MA on 5/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

"Know your tools" This camera has a wide range of capabilities. A novice can use it and a Pro can also use the camera in different modes and obtain superb images. The difference is in understanding the challenges the photographer faces in creating a powerful image. This translates knowing which controls to use to get the desired results. The Sony RX100 has a very complex interface, or it seems to have until you have your first epiphany! Then the "work flow" of shooting with this camera suddenly pops from confusion to clarity. The Carl Zeiss f1.8 lens is extraordinary: sharpness that is hard to believe. the sensor is huge for a pocket sized camera and the Camera works very well in low-light situations. You may even get better landscapes than you have ever created before when using the controls built into this small but precise instrument. I like the camera's small size for candid shots. I suppose it seems antithetical but I do confess to placing the Sony RX100 on a small tripod for low light and night photography.

Pros: Picture quality is superb! Fast lens, excellent for low-light photos.

Cons: Price seems high until you use the camera then you realize what you have paid for. I too would like to have had a viewfinder. I would have been even happier had they rid the camera of the pop-up flash and installed a hot shoe instead. This would allow using radio remotes for triggering the shutter for long exposures without using the self-timer. Also a hot shoe would allow the use of variety of dedicated flash units. Be sure to purchase a separate stand-alone battery charger and a one sp

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

quick shutter, great focus options, relatively easy to see outdoors

ann from Charlottesville, VA on 5/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was worried about lack of viewfinder when in bright outside light but I could see fine if I took off my sunglasses. I wish it came with a separate battery charger so you could swap charged batteries. You can buy separately. I found, however, that battery lasted longer than advertised. Did fine with auto settings but I plan on learning more about the manual settings.

Pros: Fast, good battery life, bright screen. Good mix of settings

Cons: Battery charger not included. Lack of viewfinder.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Best point & shoot ever

SteveA from Salt Lake City, UT on 4/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having owned a number of point & shoot cameras in the past before I went the DSLR route, I am still able to pull up pictures from those cameras and be quite satisfied. As the ridiculous megapixel war raged on, the image quality kept getting worse and worse. Even though I haven't shot with one in years, I do keep up on all the news and, more importantly, all the image samples from testing sites. Nothing has been impressive whatsoever. That is, until I started seeing samples from the RX100. I had a Sony Nex-5n for about 6 months and 8,000 shots, and while I mostly liked the camera, the lenses really don't do the sensor any justice. I decided to try the RX100 as a portable all-in-one for my better half & so far she really likes it. I can say the image quality is quite amazing for such a dense little sensor, yet when the going gets tough, there is more than enough leeway to reduce the size of images, which often reduces most of the grain, mush and noise (especially at high ISO).

Pros: Small, very portable, solid build, great image quality, better dynamic range than I've seen on any previous point & shoot camera. Able to set the highest acceptable ISO & the multi-shot night mode are my favorite features.

Cons: Auto portrait produces horrible results-turned it off. Some of the scene modes, while seemingly intuitive, won't produce the desired result.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

DCS-RX100

Jeff from Lake City, MI on 3/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially, I wanted to give this camera a 4-star rating but I had to give it 5 stars because I purchased it after having read many professional and purchaser reviews and it is what it is - a high quality pocket camera that takes great photos and excellent movies. That said, after taking over 150 photos and movies in the past 2 weeks, I can see where the smooth body might be a problem securely gripping the camera with sweaty hands in the summer heat. It was my experience that the flash is too intense at close range but that can be pleasantly negated by mastering the fine art of tilting the flash to bounce it off a surface above or below the subject. I did accidently completely drain the battery by leaving it plugged into my computer's USB port when in the USB mode. One word of caution - do not misplace the USB cable as the camera end is not a standard mini-USB connector and charging or downloading could be a problem (wouldn't life be great if USB cables were all the same?). This is not a camera for the casual point and shoot user that doesn't want to take the time to study the menu and learn how to set up the Function and Memory features. Sure, it will take good pictures in one of the Auto Modes but if you're going to shoot in Auto most of the time then I would argue to save your money and consider one of the many other fine point and shoot cameras. But if you want creativity, quality photos and video, all from a camera that you can always have with you then consider this.

Pros: Excellent videos but may require use of Active Steady Shot moving in rough terrain with slight loss of quality. Great panoramic photos. Wonderful portraits and mid to close range photos. 42 mm Mag Filter circular polarizing filters available. Very compact.

Cons: Limited zoom but photos crops well. Small size could be a problem for big hands - get in habit of using wrist strap. Menu could be better organized but mostly negated by customizing Memory feature and Function button. Lense ring is very slow - use rear dial instead. USB charging cable not standard.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Excellent pocket sized camera!

grace2009 from New Lenox, IL on 2/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera takes impressive photos...and fits easily into your jacket pocket. Also, the shutter speed seems faster then my Nikon D5000. Overall, it takes amazing photos but I still need to learn how to use all the functions on the camera b/c it does everything the DSLR ones do....Thanks again Crutchfield!!

Pros: Image Quality, Fast shutter speed, Pocketable

Cons: Location of the flash is annoying! (left top side where your finger usually is on a Point-and-shoot)

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Brilliant little camera

Crutchfield customer from Springfield MA on 1/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic little camera. It takes pictures you would not believe, and is small enough to keep with you all the time.

Pros: Performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony RX100

bpc from Rochester NY on 12/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony RX100 is a solid (metal body) but small (really pocketable) point-and-shoot looking camera. With a 1"-in-diagonal and 20 Mp sensor it beats all its competitors in terms of image quality. I have printed 17"x22" prints that can compete with 4/3 or DSLR-made images in everything but the very tip of the 4 corners. It provides all the choices that an exacting amateur or a pro may expect from a P&S in this price range. Video quality is excellent and it includes the same "sweeping-panorama" function as the NEX generation (more successful than Fuji in doing so). Except for its price, but quality has a price, it is a dream camera. [I dreamt it, Sony made it! ;o) ]

Pros: Solid alloy body. Small body big sensor. High resolution, excellent behavior in low light. All the bells and whistles one may want in a serious/pro digital Point & Shoot camera. Excellent lens. Excellent video. Easiness of use. Shooting options (ISO, WB, format, image quality...) easily and quickly accessible. Lens maximum aperture: f 1.8

Cons: Neither hot shoe nor potential addition of an electronic view-finder. The automatic curtain protection of the lens always makes me nervous. What if the mechanism undergoes problems opening or closing?

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Xlnt little camera

Huntid from San Diego, CA on 10/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. Really like it. I used and returned the Panasonic LX7 as picture quality fell short of my 5 year old Canon S90 - IMHO. This camera takes excellent photos. As an amateur that's all I need. People do reviews about every little detail on the camera. Heres the sum: IT IS SMALL - IT TAKES EXCELLENT PHOTOS! end of story.

Pros: Xlnt Photo Quality

Cons: Price - I guess.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

RX100 short term

puma from san diego, ca on 9/27/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

- much better than anything else - in this catagory - it could seriously use more intruction/user/function manual -LCD is about the best i've seen in sunlight -- would like it to be better - support software is lacking, software for video editing is non functioning - for the price a much much better manual (pdf) could be expected and software support for video is very very poor

Pros: lens, lcd, size, quality execution,

Cons: Manual, instructions Software poor, nonexistent

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Nice point and shoot

Clayton H from Chicago, IL on 9/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little on the pricey side but I really like the camera. Lots of features in a relatively small package. It's definitely a point and shoot on steriods.

Pros: Small Lots of features

Cons: None for what it is.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Persistent smudge on images - returning

josh P from Portland, OR on 9/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful images, compact form, good battery life. A zillion settings and options it will no doubt take me a long time to figure out, will stick with the basics for now and those 2 or 3 shooting modes I use most frequently. Theroblem is that on every single photo, there's a smudge that shows up in the exact same spot. I've carefully cleaned the lens but the smudge remains, it must be in the inner optics or an issue with dust on the sensor, or something else in the bowels of the camera. I would otherwise give this camera a solid 4 stars (maybe even 5?)... I like this camera so much I'm sending it back to Crutchfield for a replacement, not a refund. Hopefully #2 will be free from this annoying defect.

Pros: Small, lightweight, good battery life, stellar photos

Cons: Defect causes smudge on same spot of every photo, flash seems fragile

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

Everything a point and shoot should be!

HTGamingPC from Milford, CT on 8/31/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super fast and super discreet with super image quality! It has everything you need from a point and shoot and lots of stuff I wish my d700 had. I'm comfortable using iso 1600 at the drop of a hat. That's just about how I felt about my dslrs from just a couple of years ago. It focuses smarter than anything else I've seen, with its freakishly good face recognition and tracking focus. If you like to pretend it's a dslr or rangefinder, you will find it odd; too techy feeling, not Leica-like, etc. I personally find this camera so refreshing. I can stick it on a tiny tripod and do other serious stuff with it without attracting any attention. I can also snap away like it's a cell phone camera anytime anywhere.

Pros: Pocket sized, quiet, fast.

Cons: Screen isn't great in the brightest light, but you can still frame with it. Sony doesn't make a 100 dollar underwater case like canon does for their point and shoots. 1/2000 max shutter speed is a bit of a let down.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

TOP