Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Zoom lens for Sony E-mount mirrorless cameras

MFR # SELP18105G

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Zoom lens for Sony E-mount mirrorless cameras

MFR # SELP18105G

16 reviews
View this product

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

clear sharp pics.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Crutchfield customer from Stafford, VA on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent lens. The versatility ,ease of use and quality photos I have been shooting are fantastic. Highly recommend this product . Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great lense

Carlos from Redwood City, CA on 4/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this piece of glass, photos are crisp and great film quality.

Pros: Great pics and film

Cons: A little heavy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great all purpose lens

JT from West Bend, WI on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really good overall lens. Sharper than the kit lens and with the constant aperture throughout the entire zoom range. I also like it is an internal zoom, therefore it does not extend any longer than it is. The power zoom may be a feature you like if you shoot a lot of video. Raw files show a little distortion that can be fixed post processing. The camera takes care of this if you shoot jpg.

Pros: Sharp Constant Aperture Internal zoom

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A nice lens a a bargain price!

George from Michigan on 1/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great addition to the a6000 camera. Really adds range over the kit lens. Use the clear image zoom for even more telephoto range.

Pros: OSS for video. Range is great for most occasions. Price is very affordable.

Cons: Size for a6000 body. Fly by wire focus.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great lens for the price

Teri from Las Vegas, NV on 10/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens, quiet, beautiful crisp pictures.

Pros: Versatile. I don't have to keep changing lenses. Quiet motor.

Cons: Not good when using the flash on sony a6300. Creates a shadow but probably the camera's flaw.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Lens, Great Price, Great Image Quality, Great features!!!

Arthur from Chicago, IL on 10/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony 18-105mm f/4 is a great lens for the price. I love that the lens has power zoom that is internal. Great feature for using a gimbal! This lens is lightweight and looks very good on Sony E-mount cameras. This is a great lens for video...

Pros: Great overall lens. Well built and sharp.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Paul from Henderson, NV on 7/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent lens Very sharp and quite Motorized zoom works perfect

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 3/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have purchased Auto and Home audio equipment from Crutchfield before but this is the first time for my photography hobby. I am very happy with this purchase of the Sony SELP18105G Lens. The quality of the photographs that I take with this Lens is very good and so far I am happy with the image quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great lens, great images quality.

Dagmar from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome lens from Sony and very high quality for the price ;I highly recommend this lens.

Pros: Awesome lens.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Alvin from Ann Arbor, MI on 1/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great lens! While it's a little bulky, the range is perfect for an everyday lens to keep on my camera. Does great Bokah for portrait shots while the zoom is great for farther shots. Definitely recommend!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, NH on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great overall lens. Well built and sharp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony SELP18105G 18-105mm f/4

Crutchfield customer from Fairmont, MN on 11/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a lens, with wide field , able to take close up and further away. .I have a 55-210 ,,4/5-6/3 and a 16-50 f.3.5-5.6 lens for the camera. Don't have to switch lenses now unless I'm inside switch to use the flash , then the 16-50 lens is used. At a auditorium at aclass play only used the 18-105 with no flash with great results, It works great, shape pictures, able to focus on an individual in a crowd. Great one lens solution for my use . Its great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good travel lens

AnnieB from Centereach, NY on 10/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

for the price this lens delivers good IQ photos, at 18-105 it is a good travel lens

Pros: good IQ, nice bokeh

Cons: slightly large for the size of camera

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pleasantly Surprised

JohnD from Charlottesville, VA on 9/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Feels great on the a6000/NEX6. Not as large as I thought it would be and no extending is very nice (might be a tad large for the NEX5 though). Motorized zoom feels very close to a manual zoom, so no worries there. In fact, I prefer it over my 16-70CZ zoom now. Sharpness is surprisingly good for such a range and well worth the G designation. Some vignetting wide open, but for portraits you shouldn't been shooting at wide angle and for landscape you shouldn't be using f/4 - problem fixed. Highly recommend as a one-lens solution!

Pros: Motorized zoom for video and 18-105 @ f/4.

Cons: Slight vignetting, but not bad.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony Sel 18-104 F4 G Lens

RickM from Queens, NY on 3/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a full time working Pro Photographer. As I say tongue in cheek, about my work, "If it moves, I'll chase it" This lens, which was a very long time in coming, from Sony's lens roadmap, was worth the wait. It may seem large to some people, but it is very light in weight, yet very ample feeling. A great feature is that the lens barrel does not extend when zooming. Some reviews highlight moderate pin cushion distortion. It's splitting hairs in my estimation. I found this lens tack sharp, with great color contrast, especially using it with my Sony Nex 7 auto HDR menu setting. The colors just popped. I also own the Zeiss 16-70 which is a fine lens, but this new G lens is much more handy with the additional zoom reach. Crutchfield's liberal return policy is certainly not needed with this lens. Buy it, use it, and love it. I have a great deal of the Nex system, most of it purchased here. This lens rounds out the system. A great multi type optic tool.

Pros: Lens barrel stays the same length when zooming; front element does not rotate. Great for ND or Polarizing filters. Light weight, but very well constructed. Extremely fine zoom and focusing rings. Very accurate.

Cons: ? None that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 23 found this helpful

TOP