Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
932 951 451 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
932 951 451 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony STR-DH590

5.2-channel home theater receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # STRDH590

Sony STR-DH590

Sony STR-DH590

5.2-channel home theater receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # STRDH590

70 reviews
View this product

Decent entry level 5.1 stereo. Only Bass & Treble control.

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, LA on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the on screen (TV) user interface but the actual stereo should have enough screen size to show what menu or particular control the operator is accessing and trying to change. I only gave 4 stars due to this unit only having Bass & Treble EQ controls. Soundfields are Ok as you can choose 2, 4 or 5 channel with Subwoofer outputs. Manual is good at explaining different soundfields and setup. This is a basic 5 channel stereo and sounds decent but if you use this as a secondary or bedroom stereo use 6ohm speakers as this provides the best sound and power. I am using this as a bedroom stereo for Bluetooth and TV. BT was easy to setup with no issues on an I-phone. Enhanced 2.0 or 3.1 channel is best for TV. I originally bought a Yamaha RX V-385 (Returned) but the sound on that unit at low volume was terrible and lost all sound shaping. This Sony uses a Night mode that uses a more low and enhanced midrange sound shaping at lower volumes, much like the old "LOUDNESS" function on older units.

Pros: Decent sound with Night Mode at lower volumes and Bluetooth was easy to connect.

Cons: On-Screen display only single line scrolling type. The display screen size should be adequate to show what is being accessed and controlled without scrolling on a single line. If you dont have a TV to connect this to your out of luck to be able to control some functions or setup. Only Bass & Treble control.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Pulaski, WI on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I real nice unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great 5.1 Bargain & Performance

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price, even better sound. I have a two-speaker, subwoofer setup in a small basement-anchored by a Sony plasma. As a result, the front surround function appealed and didn't disappoint. Auto Calibration, like everything else out of the box, was simple and speedy. Only downside (and I note this more in hopes of someone at Sony stumbling across this review than as a reason not to buy): If you don't have a 4K TV, the written instructions can prove frustrating. Just a couple more pages covering different configurations, especially in regards to HDMI v. Digital Optical, would've been helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Uniontown, PA on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy setup. Been having a problem with it not staying on auto when my HDMI is set up on the tv via arc and end up with no sound. I have to manually enter auto bavk into the system after switching off of game hdmi. Great otherwise looks nice.

Pros: Looks good. Ease of use.

Cons: Small glitches that are annoying

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Randy Mills

Crutchfield customer from Inez, KY on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good little receiver for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great features for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, IN on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was purchased to replace an older Yamaha AV Receiver that the ARC over HDMI had failed on. This is a definite upgrade in sound quality and the ARC on this unit functions perfectly. Very simple to set up and it also has an easy to use remote control. Great quality and features/functionality for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit is working great. Was easy to get installed and going.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Nick from Cortez,CO on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the very first receiver I have ever bought brand new I have all was bought used receivers and they never last I recommend it good price and has two subwoofer hook ups I didn't even know tell I got it so that was a plus shipping was fast it was packaged very good and costumer survive was great..

Pros: Very easy to set up and looks good

Cons: I do have to say I am a bass head love loud electronic music and it caused it to overheat but it did what it was so post to do and turn off so I am running two little fans on it when I turn it up and it is fine keep in mind I am turning it way up for two too three hours at a time very good reserve

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Value for an Entry Level Receiver

Crutchfield customer from New Bern, NC on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pleased so far. Purchased this to replace a Pioneer receiver that died. Wanted a simple receiver to run a basic 5.1 surround setup for movies and music. Connection to my Vizio 4K TV was easy using the HDMI ARC ports... The TV recognized the device immediately and brought up the setup menu to run the auto calibration for speakers. The setup menus aren't immediately intuitive but with the help of the manual only took a few minutes to figure out. Sound quality is great for an entry level receiver. Bluetooth connectivity is convenient. If you're looking for a basic entry level receiver that's easy to setup and has decent sound this Sony appears to be a good value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Buy

Crutchfield customer from Clifton, VA on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product with multiple functionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding!

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with purchase. Great price, super fast shipping. Jill made the purchase easy, she was very helpful and friendly and Jay from Tech Support was amazing! He gave crystal clear instructions and made the installation and set up process very easy, even for a beginner like me. Thank you so much!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great surround sound for the dollar, plus I got discount from scratch and dent. I use in my garage with tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from N Kansas City, MO on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super Happy With This Reciever......If You Have 4k TV...Then this model is for you......

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beware if you want to use HDMI ARC and one remote!

Michael from Woodstock, GA on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked up and everything was great. SO EASY to set up. Plugged everything in, 15 minutes had wonderful sound going and was happy. Then the biggest problem. With the new 4K box from Infinity, you can't split audio out, so you have to use the HDMI, not a huge deal, right? Well, when you pass the HDMI through the receiver, every time you turn the TV on an on-screen menu comes on that you either have to wait out or use the Sony remote to cancel. EVERYTHING else works on one remote, so this is extremely frustrating. Upon further research, this is by design with Sony and there is no fix, so it is going back. As far as technology has come, the Xfinity system is so simple there is no reason at all I should have to use a second remote to close a menu. The only other solution is a Harmony remote or similar, but that is far more complicated than the Xfinity solution. So back it goes. Yamaha it is. Sad, it had such promise for my living room setup and I really wanted Sony, but that is crazy.

Pros: Ease of setup Good sound Build Quality

Cons: ARC and pop-up menu on screen is a joke.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590 AV Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to replace a failing 5 year old Pioneer AV receiver. Decided to purchace the Sony STR-DH590. The Sony's sound quality is amazing (including the 'Front Surround' mode for watching DVDs using only a simple 2ch setup with JBL speakers)! Fairly easy setup, with enough features to suit one's own personnal tastes.

Pros: features sound quality picture quality (ARC) price

Cons: setup can be confusing/frustrating

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Pohnpei, FM on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and good quality for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Santa Paula, CA on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and great features at a modest price. Delivery was quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not WorkingYet.

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Waiting for my son to hook it up, I have not been able to get it to work

Pros: N/A

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 11 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Hudson Oaks, TX on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderfully easy to use. Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Atlantic Beach, FL on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not at this time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Functionally works fine, but ergonomically not good

Crutchfield customer from Belmont, CA on 5/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Functionally, this receiver works well and does everything I need it to. It also allows settings for small details through menus which gives great controls, though through cryptic menus so not very intuitively. But from a user experience point of view, it has issues for nearly all the senses. When you turn it on, it makes an awful and loud clack, which Sony tells me is normal (the sound turning off is a normal click). When you turn the volume knob, it resists you and is difficult to turn, instead of gliding easily as you would expect. And in what feels like a gimmick to me, if you turn on the mode which disables theater surround for listening to music instead of movies/TV, it shuts off the display to "avoid possible noise interference from the display" (per the manual). I have never heard noise interference from a display, and would prefer if it did not take away the information about which source I am set to. So overall fine but ergonomically it has visual, auditory, and touch issues. At least there are no bad smells.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Tijeras, NM on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a fan of Sony for a long time. They alway perform well, and never disappoint. Using this to put in our guest room. When we are through I'll want to sleep there.

Pros: Sound quality is very good

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Solid purchase

Daryl from King George, VA on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are looking for a good solid inexpensive receiver...this is what you need. Very easy to set up and with the enclosed mic, you can easily calibrate the sound for your room. For the power and features, you would be hard pressed to find anything better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Guest from Shenandoah, VA on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been very impressed with the sound quality of this amplifier for being in a very low price range. It is very easy to set up the automatic speaker setup worked perfectly on the first try. It provides excellent clarity and power at a low volume and remains crystal clear at high volume as well. Would highly reccomend this amp to anyone looking for great sound on a low budget.

Pros: Easy set up Great sound Easy to navigate on screen menu Plenty of fine tuning adjustments for getting the sound your looking for

Cons: None that i can find

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Telford, PA on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great cheap option for a simple audio setup!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very good sound , but...

Stan from Dayton, OH on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good feature of this receiver, and one of the reasons I selected it, is that it is only 12-1/16" deep, which makes it small enough to be usable in Ikea Billy bookshelves that are 10-1/2" deep, if 90 degree connectors are used for the speakers, HDMI and other connections. Unfortunately, because my space is tight I wasn't able to use the Crutchfield banana plug equipped speaker cables, as they can only be inserted straight into the speaker connection terminals. The music ehancement modes really improve the sound coming from the Klipsch speakers. One of the things I don't like about the system though is that I can't listen to a CD through the system without turning on the television, probably because I am playing the CDs in the Blu-Ray player. Another drawback is that the receiver does not have an auxiliary input jack of any type (except the calibration microphone jack) on the front of it. So, if you want to connect a wired device such as auxiliary hard drive containing movies, or an old ipod with lossless music files on board, you have to connect it through one of the rear inputs. I find this to be very inconvenient, and again, the tv will have to be on to even play music through the receiver and speakers. But the best feature of the receiver, in my opinion, is its Bluetooth feature, which allows it to play music from my PC, which has mostly lossless music files on it, and really saves the whole syste

Pros: Great music enhancement programs. Small (relative to other brands) fottprint. Bluetooth

Cons: No auxiliary inputs on front of receiver.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Dennis from Lawtons, NY on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the price! Replaces my jvc receiver I've had for 20 years. Easy to operate & hookup.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great 5.1 home theater

Larry from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, good sound, pairs nicely with Sony 4k BD player, good remote.

Pros: Setup, connections, on screen actions

Cons: Doesn't always switch to desired input (waah).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound Across All Spectrums

Mr Tiy from Hephzibah GA on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this unit. Has performed flawlessly so far. Pleasantly surprised at the small size of unit and how light weight it is. The blue shrinkwrap covering applied over the box for shipping is a Very nice touch. Especially during the holidays when 5 finger discount artists are looking for easy pickings.

Pros: Small Profile Light Weight. Unit Doesn't Generate Excessive Heat During Operation. Plug N Play Right Out The Box

Cons: Was promised 2 day delivery. Ordered 20 December. Unit arrived on 26 December. UPS dropped the ball. Unit arrived in town on 22 December but wasn't put out for delivery until 24 December. Thank goodness I wasn't expecting delivery for Xmas.????

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can not ask for a better product. It is great for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Gary from Savanna, IL on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Antonio from Juncos, PR on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome receiver more than i can expected for the low price and a 2 years warranty bery satisfied

Pros: Bluetooth system, plenty hdmi input s, excelent sound worth the money

Cons: So far no cons for me

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great budget unit

TaxiPete from Rio Grande, PR on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is the perfect " on a budget home theater receiver " to buy. it have all the basic needs plus excellent sound. get one before Christmas sale discount expire. you need to have knowledge in home theater receiver terminology to fully set up this unit and get the performance it have. suggest read the manual first and then start the set up. i installed denon,onkyo,harman kardon,pioneer,jvc,technics and now sony receivers and all of them have their own system name process and terminology besides the basic standard steps.

Pros: Christmas sale price

Cons: you need to have some knowledge in home theater terminology because is not friendly user.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just what the sound dr. ordered

Jason from Arlington Hts, IL on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect solution for my needs to power center, bookshelf speakers and sub in small living room. 4K, HDR, HDMI pass-through and CEC connectivity make it easy for my wife. She just hits the "on" button on the cable remote and the Sony TV and Sony receiver come on together...nice! She loves that it just "works". Coming from prior receivers without HDMI pass-through, I'm loving the single HDMI cable to the TV. I just wish it allowed push-in connectors for the center channel (it only has push ins for L & R front speakers. Not too many frills here but has all the important basics at a great price point. Great Crutchfield experience, as always. Note: this receiver may be a bit underpowered if you have a more expensive 5+ speaker setup.

Pros: 4K, HDR, HDMI pass-through and CEC connectivity...all at a great price point.

Cons: No push-in connectors for center or surround speakers. May be a bit underpowered for more expense speaker setups.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Love the receiver and love the price!

Lewis from Santa Maria, CA on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very user friendly stereo. Christmas gift for my son, which I'm sure he will have for 20 plus years. Easy setup as well. Was looking for a low price receiver and this Sony STR-DH590 has blown me away!

Pros: From the Receiver to Crutchfield website all positive..

Cons: Not yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Cody, WY on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up, works well with my Samsung QLED TV. Very pleased with purchase.

Pros: Easy to set up, great price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great sound for a great price

steve from Toledo, OH on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a quality receiver that wouldn't break the bank , after my Onkyo went out. This seemed to fit the bill and was reviewed quite well in many places online. It seems to be very nice and felt like it was built with some quality to it. I have previously owned 2 Onkyo receiver over the years and was satisfied , except they both burnt out even when running them off a line converter for safety. No more Onkyo -

Pros: HDMI inputs quality speaker wire connections easy setup calibration mic lots of internal options in the menu

Cons: slightly confusing menu

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great price, great product

Jay from Pearl River, LA on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy to set up and low price for the amount of options!

Pros: Price, easy set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Gretna, LA on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It alright

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 11 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Tipp City, OH on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good with my new Sony receiver. I had my old receiver disconnected and the new Sony receiver set up in about 15 minutes. I like the sound and it looks great too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Ed from Clearfield, UT on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great performance for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Basic receiver does the job

Argyn from Vienna, VA on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for the most basic home theatre reviewer with hdmi and Dolby digital 5.1. This does the job, no bells and whistles just the essential functionality. It's easy to set up, has a calibration to speakers.

Pros: Price, Bluetooth, simplicity

Cons: No optical audio input No fm station and song display that I could see, unless I'm missing something

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Great value.

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely delivers. Gets the job done properly and the price is right. Tremendous value.

Pros: All you need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it

Sam from Fort Pierce, FL on 11/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially this receiver was driving me nuts trying to control it. One quick call to Nicole at Crutchfield solved all my problems and now the receiver is operating beautifully. Crutchfield has never left me hanging and always leaves me totally satisfied with their products and service.

Pros: great price, smooth operation, sounds good

Cons: poor manual

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Alpena, MI on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works the way I thought it would. Customer service is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, PA on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am in joying the use of my new amp. It does exactly what I needed to do a good quality item so I thank you very much for my new sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Maysville, KY on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This A/V is replacing an Onkyo. It was a poor choice on my part. Everything works as it should. Just disappointing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 14 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Ross from Lady Lake, FL on 11/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for them price. Powerful sound through the 5.1polk audio speakers. Easy to set up and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good value, easy set up, but limited adjustments

Neb from Clinton, AR on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace an old Harmon Kardon stereo, which sounded superb (maybe it was even analog), but which did not have the modern HDMI or optical connections. This Sony was reasonably priced and very easy to set up for my new matching Sony 4K TV, but I am not entirely happy with the sound quality. I played with it as much as I could with the limited choices available, but the voice portion of the speech audio spectrum seems a bit muffled and there are only limited settings, whereas my previous HK has numerous options. Also, the Sony set up has to go through the TV, which is OK, but not ideal; more problematic is the limitation on the adjustments. I wish I could boost the mid-range, where I believe the speech audio portion is, but in loud music (which I do not play), the sound is fine. MAKE SURE YOU USE HIGH QUALITY HDMI or OPTICAL CABLES; the cheap ones make the picture fuzzy. Overall for the price and TV, it is adequate, thus the 4 stars.

Pros: Easy set up and hook up, especially with Sony TV.

Cons: Minimal setting options and have to go through TV screen. Speech portion of audio a bit muffled; no way to adjust.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Wantagh, NY on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony receiver is great addition to my stereo, nice power, very easy to set up and has blue tooth, sounds really good and looks sleek in design. I rate this 5 stars based on my experience!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Everything you need with no frills

Jason from Pearl City, HI on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything you need, nothing you don't. HDR and 4K is supported in pass thru. My 2 year old Yamaha didn't. Have it paired with a Polk 5.1 speaker system. Sounds good to me. The Sony automatic sound calibration seems to provide more bass than my old Yamaha's calibration (sounds better to me)

Pros: Good sound, HDR and 4K passthru, good price.

Cons: If you want fancy features like app control or multi room sound this doesn't have that. Also only has 4 HDMI Inputs.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good deal

Joshua from Loveland, CO on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was a good purchase

Pros: Ease of set up good quality

Cons: Bulky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Guest from Broadway, VA on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great low price receiver. easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great receiver hard to set up

thomas from Baltimore, MD on 9/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hard to setup 5.1 with cable box also great sound need some with knowhow to set it up

Pros: great sound for 2 speakers

Cons: setting up hard to do

Crutchfield response on 10/2/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Thomas to help him further. We'll either help him get his receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

15 of 17 found this helpful

Great Basic AVR Value!

James from Nevada, MO on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver for an even nicer price. I could pick nits, but why? It's a bargain that looks great, is compact enough to fit most places you might need to put it, performs very well, has a nice remote and ample power. It doesn't have every bell and whistle, but it does cover most of the essentials quite nicely. It's very quiet and just does it's job. Set-up was relatively easy. My only real gripes are the cheesy FM antenna connection and the somewhat cloudy appearing fascia. Sony should do better.

Pros: good remote, ample power, good feature set, quiet, compact, excellent value

Cons: cheap FM jack, front fascia finish could be better

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Gregg from Pt Pleasant , NJ on 9/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to setup. Takes some time to synch with my Xfinity cable box (HDMI). Roku HDMI works fine.

Pros: Great specs for the price.

Cons: Seems to have some difficulty synching with the HDMI output of my Xfinity cable box.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Vale, NC on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really enjoy it. Does great job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Arecibo, PR on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

BEST equipment ever bought

Pros: All options un one equipment

Cons: Nine.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Lagrange, GA on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is exactly what we needed. Just the right size for it's purpose. Excellent Quality at a reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Mark from Lewes, DE on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sales help and professional service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Lovely Design

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley, CA on 8/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful design. However it was not easy to set up, and was far beyond my tech capabilities. It took an expert to get it going.

Pros: does everything I was looking for---the price seems fair

Cons: difficult to set up unless you are very tech savvy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Works like a charm!

Crutchfield customer from Dahlonega, GA on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm no stereo expert and we moved into a home that had 4 ceiling mount speakers in a large family room. We had nothing to connect them to, and wanted to be able to connect our Smart TV to them as well. After doing a very small amount of research I figured a receiver was probably all we needed. Did not really even want blue tooth capability--but it is awesome. So easy to pair with our phones, tablet, etc. for music. Very easy set up. Very easy to switch from TV to FM stereo, bluetooth, DVD player. Very easy to use. Sounds good too. Great device, great price. Happy happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, MD on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony receiver was easy to set up and delivers a quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, DE on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fine receiver at it's price point. It provides the basic functions and does them well at a budget price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Basic Receiver At a Nice Price

James from Palmyra, VA on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a basic receiver that's easy to set up and use. For those looking for an easy to use receiver that delivers nice sound this is a good choice.

Pros: Easy to set up Nice price Nice sound

Cons: Basic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent receiver

Crutchfield customer from Evansdale , IA on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver and easy to set up and use. Syncs with my Sony Bravia TV so I can control everything with 1 remote. Plenty of power for rear speakers and sounds great with 5.1 setup and a subwoofer. Highly recommended!

Pros: Easy to set up Easy to use Plenty of power Looks good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

EZ set up. Great sound.

Mark from Pompano Beach, FL on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. Perfect fit for my Florida condo.

Pros: EZ set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Richard from University Pa, MD on 6/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent surround sound receiver with plenty of power. It has great control over my television set my cable box and my DVD player. Very easy to use and very easy to set up. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone wanting and affordable surround sound receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great value!

Sergey from Mount Laurel, NJ on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony STR-DH590 has excellent features at a relatively low price. I'm glad I got it.

Pros: 1) Solid performance as amplifier and as selector of 4 HDMI inputs to 1 HDMI output to my 4K TV. 2) Compact size. 3) Very easy set-up. 4) High quality materials and attractive external design that matches other Sony electronics.

Cons: 1) Requires sub-woofer with external 120V AC power. STR-DH590 does not work with passive sub-woofer. 2) Primitive on-screen menus (not a big deal because you need them just for the initial set-up). 3) Small remote control feels like it was made in 1990. 4) Loud clicks of the disconnect relays, when Power is switched Off.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 12 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Everett, WA on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with the new Sony 4k tv i bought, great sound and capabilities for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP