Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony STR-DH590

5.2-channel home theater receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # STRDH590

Sony STR-DH590

Sony STR-DH590

5.2-channel home theater receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # STRDH590

170 reviews
View this product

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Cambria, CA on 8/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm happy with this receiver. Easy to use, plenty of power for my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Center Rutland, VT on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has plenty of power though the unit does get a little hot after longer periods of high volume. Make sure to keep in a well ventilated area.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

East Longmeadow

George from East Longmeadow on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This has a proprietary fm antenna connector and the antenna supplied is inferior. Also there is no way to tune manually.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice sounding unit

Crutchfield customer from Elkton, MD on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good compact unit especially for 5.1, TV, and listening to music. The receiver has good sound and power. It's compact enough for most listening areas including bedrooms. I wish it had wifi and the ability to upgrade-but it does not. I have always liked Sony for its good sound and features. I would recommend it!

Pros: Good sounding unit

Cons: no wifi

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Amp

Crutchfield customer from Oldtown, ID on 7/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love all the new features of this amp compared to my previous unit that was 20 years old. Bluetooth works great, the arc controls are awesome with my smart tv. Makes my speakers sound better than they ever did with my previous amp. The auto calibrate feature is pretty accurate and I felt no need to make further adjustments.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Guest from Mohnton, Pa. on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not made for satellite speakers. No treble or bass control (must pay additional for sub woofer). No info on F M operation in manual (must have computer to access info)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 4 found this helpful

Just what the Dr. ordered

Crutchfield customer from Florissant, MO on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony home theater receiver is just what the doctor ordered. It fits my Sony TV, Blu Ray DVD player like a glove and my entire family is enjoying the great digital sound it produces. It is all it says it is and Crutchfield delivered as promised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Willy

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, KY on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bargain on a good receiver. Not for the "High Tech crowd" but great for someone that just wants to improve the sound quality of their TV. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros: Cost, Quality

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Punta Gorda, FL on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect balance of features for me. Not an audiophile but wanted a 5:1 receiver with bluetooth to replace an old receiver and simplify the system. Price was right in the outlet area. Had a crush dent which can't be seen while it is on the rack.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Freeland, MD on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best option for me and superior customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value, great performance

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IN on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was finally time to upgrade my receiver to one that could accommodate today's technology, and this model from Sony proved to be an excellent choice that protected my budget. Setup was easy and the performance is excellent, filling my entire house with sound. I especially enjoy the convenience of Bluetooth and the easy-to-operate remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Covington, KY on 5/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo receiver for a budget entertainment system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unplanned replacement receiver

Crutchfield customer from Hershey, NE on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaces a 1999 Sony receiver that i also purchased from Crutchfield. New one has essentially the same functions but with HDMI inputs and switching. No more 12 foot HDMI cables to back of tv--just one and shorter ones in equipment rack from sources to the Sony. The remote has dedicated input buttons as well as sound field buttons. Good choice for my retirement budget and the Sony does all I need it to do for my 5.1 system. I like!

Pros: HDMI switching, dedicated input buttons on remote

Cons: I do NOT like Sony's front channel speaker connectors nor do I like the other channels' spring loaded connectors.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Summrlnd Key, FL on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic update for my 25 year old version. All the HDMI outlets to plug-in all my devices

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Guest from Beverly Hills, CA on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, sound sounds accurate and well balanced. I'm loving that it connects to multiple speakers and distributes sound accurately. However 2 draw backs, no apple airplay and Bluetooth is last Gen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit for deck/pool area

Crutchfield customer from Maineville, OH on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We bought this "open box" receiver as a basic/core unit to support our outside, back deck and pool area with 4 speakers. Couldn't be happier. The packaging and internal item and paperwork were like brand new. Hooking it up was simple. And the functionality is great. Bluetooth works extremely well even through a brick outer wall.

Pros: Bluetooth Setup Ease of Use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Clackamas, OR on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with my receiver. It does everything I hoped for and more.

Pros:

Cons: I am not happy with the service. I am being bombarded with e mails from "Bizrate". It won't even let me unsubscribe. I want these e mails to stop or I'll never be back!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony quality on a budget

Laurie from TOMS RIVER, NJ on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver. Good sound. Very efficient and runs nice and cool. Has everything you need and nothing you don't. I really like the sound optimization with the supplied microphone. Adjusts for the best sound in that particular room. Sound is good in multi channel sound, very accurate. In stereo mode it's phenomenal. And for once the remote control is easy to read and use although I did train my universal remote to combine all the remotes for easy use.

Pros: Many different sound modes. Has good S/N ratio and frequency range, with full 20hz to 20khz response. Full array of line inputs and HDMI ports. There is no phono input so you will need a phono preamp, most TT nowadays have it built in so that's not an issue. I like the way the receiver, TV and DVD are all synced via the HDMI. Good FM radio with supplied FM antenna but with a weird feature. And the price was good too.

Cons: Only one I can think of. This is where the cost cutting is obvious. Sony should have built the RDS system into the tuner. It's a handy feature I like. Instead, you have to go into the menu on the TV and enter the station call letters manually. What is this? 1990? Not a deal breaker but I felt I should mention it. Although you can select between FM radio and FM stereo reception and set the mode with the station program.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My Latest Upgrade.

Crutchfield customer from Kalaheo, HI on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only owned this receiver for less than two weeks, so I can't really make any observations regarding its long-term reliability. However, so far it is definitely the best receiver/amplifier I have used, ever. I finally have enough power to run all my speakers without the cut-off being activated. It was very easy to set up to my cd player, DVD player, television, and laptop, all of which I use through this amp regularly. The controls are very easy to understand and access. I especially enjoy the way the lights turn off after a few minutes and eliminate any annoying lights. The sound quality is fantastic. this is a much-improved upgrade from my old receiver. And the Crutchfield assistant was patient, knowledgeable, and fun to talk with. Recommended, especially for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Painted Post, NY on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and setup!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Sumter, SC on 4/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived less than 24hours of placing the order!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Breat Value for the Money

Crutchfield customer from Salem, SC on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaced an older Sony that died after many years of reliable service. The look and features are nearly identical, but they added an option to operate in a 3-channel left, center, right configuration that is perfect for my family room set-up. Even at this low price it provides more sound field options than I will ever use, and the audio output is excellent with more than adequate power. Hard to beat for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, CT on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A huge upgrade. The self-setting surround sound feature is spectacular. The best sound system I've ever had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Purchase

Crutchfield customer from Southport, NC on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and easy to use. I like it.

Pros: Simple with all the features necessary for family theatre

Cons: Only one set of speakers can be hooked up at a time. Otherwise this thing is perfect

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, MI on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, easy to use and great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Falls Church, VA on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy system Hookups and easy to understand. This receiver is compatible with with digital audio formats FM stereo broad cast is super. Price of this is affordable.

Pros: Super at this price range and performance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Mount Holly, VT on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent receiver Simple with enough options for small system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Meridianville, AL on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a great receiver! It has great power for small rooms!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great buy

Crutchfield customer from Williamston, MI on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, great sound, perfect for small 5.1 set ups and listening to music via bluetooth. Easy buy and quick delivery but don't expect any support via email Crutchfield only works with phone calls so they can sell you stuff. Too bad cause the rest of the operation is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Entry Level 5.1 Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Perryopolis, PA on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been in the market for a new ES level unit but they are just not available yet. In the mean time I bought this to keep my system running. For what this unit is, it works perfectly. Bought this to "upgrade" from a 2002 VR-333ES, to utilize the auto calibration system and leverage some of the higher bandwidth audio capabilities. The cal system seemed to be accurate but after watching a few movies I realized that the center channel seemed a little high. I adjusted the speaker size setting and calibrated again and the same thing happened. In the end, the auto cal system seems a bit off. From a performance standpoint, this unit will leave a set of Def Tec 800 and 1000 series thirsty. The output power seems to roll flat at as the volume goes up but remains distortion free. If big power is what you crave, look elsewhere. But for the average family 5.1 home theater that needs an HDMI switch, buy it.

Pros: 4K HDMI Switching / ARC 5.1 DTS Decent Power Value Harmony with other Sony porducts

Cons: Wont really push a decent set of speakers. Menu Nav a little tricky. Only two channels use banana jacks.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Brookville, OH on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony STR-DH590 is just what I needed to upgrade my TV system to cut the cable! 4 HDMI inputs are great, and I love it! We had DirecTV because there was no cable in our rural area. Now we have high speed internet. Our old receiver was over 40 years old, and we had to upgrade. This was a great choice!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Ok but some odd behavior

Crutchfield customer from Millstone Twp, NJ on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good but a few strange behaviors. Cable remote powers up the STB, TV and unit but it has to cycle 2x for the sound to start working: turns on with sound but then goes to mute and then comes back with sound which is ok but a bit annoying. Also on the first weekend it would turn on and raise itself to max volume. Remote and dial on the unit would not work to turn it down. Had to power cycle to clear and ok this past week so far. I've only had it a couple weeks but other than the 2 items I mentioned it seems ok otherwise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Balsam Grove, NC on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So many of these receivers nowadays offer way more than what most folks need. This unit works perfectly for me. I just wanted a good receiver to power my speakers for a modest home theater. This one is ideal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Alliance, OH on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent device. Great sound and versatility. Would highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Quality Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Menlo Park, CA on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been very happy with my Sony STR-DH590 receiver. Very good sound quality, and easy to setup. Quite the upgrade from my old receiver, which didn't have HDMI ports. Few minor annoyances, but nothing I'd take stars off for.

Pros: - Good sound quality - Easy setup - Good price

Cons: - Getting it setup, I had a bit of trouble getting the CEC/ARC setup between the receiver and TV; the receiver kept trying to show it's home menu when I turned it on, and would turn off without being told when I turned the TV off. After playing around with settings on both devices I was able to get this resolved though. - Volume equalization isn't great. It helps, but doesn't work as well as I would like (the sound card I bought for my PC equalizes much better) - Some settings can be adjus

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good value, Lacks some features

Crutchfield customer from Osseo, MI on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a scratch and dent item. Looks good as new. Works fine. Great buy for the price. One drawback though is it has no 75u antenna input. Can't connect to external FM antenna. It has a single strand "antenna" which is useless.

Pros: Price

Cons: No external antenna input

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Life made easy

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Satellite Beach, FL on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy set up. looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed for a small sitting room theater. No excess bells and whistles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good budget AV but auto turns off

Ryan from Hawaii on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got it at a good price but after turning it on within 10-15 min it would turn off by itself. Noticed quite a bit of people on a google search has complained about this. It's too bad all the receiver deals are over.

Pros: Affordable HDR Dolby vision Bluetooth

Cons: Auto turns off Only front speakers have quick connect No EQ

Crutchfield response on 1/6/2021
Ryan, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good Player

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsville, MD on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really nice unit. It had all the features I was looking for, easy to operate, and sounds great.

Pros: The multiple HDMI inputs and output source to a TV. Function really comes in handy.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Penuelas, PR on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Por el pricio buenisimo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great service

Richard from Gresham,Oregon on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 30 days had a problem with tv sound not passing thru the receiver. This is more of a review of tech help than product. Worked with Carl for one hour and eight minutes on the phone. He not only resolved my problem but helped me reconfigure several processes between the tv and receiver. I have never encountered, in my 80 years of life, such dedication and knowledge for a tech help person.Thank you Carl for your excellent service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Double Money Receivers Were No Better for Me

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, CA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With my hearing problem, I have tried two other receivers that cost twice the money to clarify streaming dialogue but they are no better that this cost effective Sony STR-DH590. Nice receiver with easy setup, and very nice sound. Using it for Netflix, Dish satellite especially their music, and blue tooth of songs on my iPhone. For an old guy like me, streaming dialogue is difficult so I bought the Sennheiser Flex 5000 for wireless earphones. Works very well. Wife has her super hearing low volume and I have my clear earphones - only used for streaming when I can't get the dialogue. I will work on the receiver settings to improve the spoken word. Otherwise all is well.

Pros: Cost Simplicity

Cons: Speaker terminals were really cheap No AM radio

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a 145 watts a channel as it says on the box, also came with a small dent on top, left back of receiver, but not worth returning. Is not Crutchfield's fault. Other wise receiver does the job and would recommend buying.

Pros: Nice for price

Cons: See review above.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Easy, preasy

Crutchfield customer from Brentwood, TN on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice system. Has everything I needed to connect all my equipment. I had never used a surround sound speaker setup so that was a nice feature. Easy to rename sources. Good price, fast delivery as usual from Crutchfield. Also saved a few bucks buying an Open Box. Everything was perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Controls audio from TV remote

Crutchfield customer from Richardson, TX on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The reason for purchasing this receiver was to control theater audio using my Sony TV remote. It works!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MA on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaces earlier Sony receiver lacking up-graded connections......and does a great, if not better, job for an outstanding 5.1 surround sound system experience. Had purchased a Yamaha sound bar with new tv and was unhappy with the sound.....and returned it to be replaced with Sony unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not loud at all. The only reason I got it is because my new one didn't have built in Bluetooth. The sound was good but you could have it all the way no problem. It does look nice and is easy to use but I think Sony has this way overrated on its power level. On the back of the receiver it's only powered at 200w total. I actually sent it back and got a onyko it is way better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Tradeoffs

Crutchfield customer from Bethel Park, PA on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace a 10+ yo STR-DH540 whose front Display died. Otherwise, it still worked perfectly. The 590 lacks many of the options of the 540 which is both good and bad. It is easier to setup and operate but doesn't allow as many adjustments. The tradeoff is bluetooth controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Festus, MO on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SONY receiver is fantastic. Works with all my components. Plenty of choices for terrific sound from Blue-Ray, TV, VCR, Wii, ect. Would recommend this SONY to anyone. Very good price for all the ease of setup and features you get. PLUS you get Carl that you can call and get excellent support for all your questions, Without Carl I would have been lost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Chaska, MN on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sleek and simple. Audio is clear and defined. It is voiced very differently than the pioneer this replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very good value

Crutchfield customer from Hatillo, PR on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Plenty of power to meet my needs. Sleek modern style. Easy to use controls. Great price.

Pros: Good performance for the price

Cons: None to report so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was recommended to me. This system is a great system, so glad I purchased it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Madera, CA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver because my old one gave out. It was easy to set up, sound s great : just what I was expecting from a Sony product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent value receiver

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge upgrade from a very old Sony receiver. The looks, connectivity and setup are all excellent for a value receiver. I love the sleek look but the type font on the device is so small it's difficult to read the button labels. But, I'm old.

Pros: Setup, connectivity, sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not for everybody

Crutchfield customer from Linthicum Hts, MD on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very disappointed. Complicated S/W and if you move to fast, it gets confused. Was there a help guide mentioned in the manual? The worst though is the antenna. Not 75 OHM and somewhat obscure. My rooftop over the air coax is useless. I had to create my own solution to adapt the unit after some significant time researching others same problem. Wife says the reason is that Sony does not want you to listen to' FM Radio, only streaming. The Optical Digital input exploded on the insertion. Could have been my fault, but I doubt it. I will be returning the unit for this particular issue, but will ask for a replacement. Why? The price was fantastic and I will use it somewhere, especially since i have spent so much time on modifications, finding and using the "help guide" , and overall frustration in learning and using the unit. If Crutchfield drops the price of the unit again try it out, but get ready.

Pros: Price

Cons: Almost everything

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Dothan, AL on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straightforward controls as well as thorough owner manual. Quality sound. Quick and easy bluetooth pairing. Good FM reception. Plenty adequate connection ports.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Rogersville, TN on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This model has everything I wanted. I failed to fully investigate the first unit I ordered, a DH190, which lacked Bluetooth. My fault. I would rate Crutchfield 10 stars for the tech assistance and the generous return policy that allowed them to correct MY mistake at no cost to me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good, easy to understand receiver for the beginnings of my humble home theater. Currently I am using it for 2 tower speakers with plans to expand later. The HDMI link with the connected projector makes it easy to use a single controller to operate multiple components of my system (audio, projector & blu-ray player)

Pros: Easy to set up.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from S Williamson, KY on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not work Had to send back

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome product awesome gift!

Crutchfield customer from Pueblo, CO on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver made the perfect early Christmas gift ! The power is more than enough with digital, and enough preouts and hdmi! Add quality wire and speakers from Crutchfield and live in awe!! Thanks guys excellent shipping too!

Pros: Amp outs, watts, shipping!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid entry 4k receiver. Lack of most current HDMI technology makes it a less future-proof device if one uses 4k refresh rates over 60Hz.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Blacksburg, VA on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was delivered rapidly, operates according to the description and had no issues getting it all hooked up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good receiver for the price. The price has increased since my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Mayaguez, PR on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered as replacement for and old JVC receiver. Installation was a little difficult but went ok. Once set up sound was excellent on movies and music. I did not required sub-woofer and bass was acceptable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking to upgrade the sound in our small entertainment center (TV Room). This unit fit the bill! Blue tooth works well with my IPad. Set up was easy and straightforward. Good unit for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dont buy Marantz

Crutchfield customer from Corp Christi , TX on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works better than the Marantz 1509. Sounds better and hopefully will last longer than 9 months. The Marantz I purchased from crutchfield quit working , called crutchfield they said to call a repair center. Took 2 weeks to get ahold of the company, long story short shipping it was 65.00 then they said the first 125.00 was out of my pocket. Well it made more sense to shoot it with my .338 Lapua rifle, I felt better watching it explode into many fine pieces, beautiful sight. I ordered the Sony so far so good. Be careful when a company states warranty B.S. , most companies never honor their warranties.

Pros: Good value Sounds better than the Marantz I had for 9 months

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great amp for the money!

Crutchfield customer from COLUMBIA, PA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an old Pioneer (gak) receiver/amp. Drives equally old Technics and Sony speakers, and a Polk sub just fine. Good clarity and low distortion. Bluetooth pairing is easy with multiple sources. Don't know about the FM receiver...really have no use for it, but it's there.

Pros: Didn't cost a small fortune, great sound, EQ options are adequate.

Cons: Hard to read the button titles on the front of the unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great reciever!!

Crutchfield customer from Clinton Twp, MI on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it!! Got surround sound speakers Saturday to hook it up, found out I have to buy extra rca cords! So disappointed!! Thursday I will be on it!! It looks just as pictured!! I know it is going to sound great!! It's a Sony!!

Pros: Sony' great sounds!!

Cons: So many connections!! But, I am going to have fun connecting everything to it!!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cant beat under $200!

Crutchfield customer from Alamogordo, NM on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple plug and play! HDMI cables I bought for this eliminates a bunch of wires. Can't beat under $200!

Pros: Simple connections.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, NH on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

received it in 2 days, hooked it up and it's works find

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Springs, CO on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the money! Easy to use, plenty of settings! Only thing I found is in 2 channel mode, the sub outputs do not work. So have to run in surround mode. Not a big deal for my setup, but may be for someone else. I use my old Bose satellite system and it all runs through the sub and crosses over, but my temporary setup found the sub output not optimal for 2.1 setups.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Peasy

Crutchfield customer from Sun City Ctr, FL on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Integrates well with my TV and sources. Plenty of power for my large 1970's vintage speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Florida Sue

Crutchfield customer from Nokomis, FL on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice easy to install receiver. It however does not have the depth of tone I had hoped for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best receiver I've ever owned. Great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does almost everything I need. Wish it had a set of audio outs for my application. Otherwise, setup and sound are great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Subiaco, AR on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really appreciate this company because when I ordered, I informed them of the brand I preferred and they matched it up to my current TV system and it was easy to connect. Most of all, I got a stereo system again that I LOVE, with 5 disc CD player! I had looked in many places on the internet and this company had exactly what I was looking for.

Pros: Quality product, fast shipping and no pressure.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Crossville, TN on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is really nice amplifier and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Another Quality Item from Sony

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love Sony products for their quality and this unit doesn't disappoint. It's full of functions, a variety of connections and easy operation. I highly recommend the STR-DH590

Pros: Easy hookup and operation,

Cons: FM receiver doesn't pick up many channels but the channels it does pick up are very clear.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works Great!

Crutchfield customer from Ramona, CA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, but had some trouble setting it up. Called Crutchfield and got the help needed to complete the setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value for the money

Crutchfield customer from Oshkosh, WI on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my 20-year-old Sony surround sound receiver with this model. The old one didn't have the right inputs for modern satellite boxes, Blu Ray, etc. Unit was easy to install, and close enough to the old model as far as location of jacks on the back. Has RCA jacks for Sub instead of terminals for bare wire, so I had to change one wire. Intuitive, comes with mic for an auto setup feature. As soon as I ran that, I could instantly hear spoken word and sound effects much better than with the old unit. Music quality went way up. I am now thinking of replacing the front speakers with higher quality ones so that I can really take advantage of the improvement in sound quality. I don't expect it to replace my vintage tube hifi for music listening but I'm really enjoying watching concert videos and Music talent shows (Masked Singer, the Voice, etc.) much more than I used to due to the good sound quality. PLENTY of power, we have it in a huge rec room with a 110" screen and HD Projector. Old amp used to be turned up to about 50 to hear spoken words over the sound effects. This one is only turned up to 30 or 35 tops to really blast the room with small inefficient surround sound speakers, with good speakers I think I could shake the whole house.

Pros: Does everything I need for a surround sound receiver, easy to use, simple remote

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Gonzales, LA on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Best features per dollar

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, GA on 10/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The STR-DH590 is another solid Sony product...good build-quality, not skimpy on features, great value for money. I was most impressed with Crutchfield. Shopping and checkout process was easy. My receiver was shipped quickly and arrived shrink-wrapped in hard, protective plastic indicating Crutchfield is serious about delivering an above-par customer experience. Will def buy from them again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy set up

Pros: east setup

Cons: romote does not lit up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Staunton, VA on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The set up for the speakers isn't as well as I thought! Overall a good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great I'm using it at loud volumes often and only worry about the heat it generates I hope it lasts forever

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality receiver

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with our Aiwa floor speakers and Cambridge Audio subwoofer, as well as our set top cable box, Toshiba DVD player, and LG TV. Initially, the remote's Home button navigation was not intuitive, but I eventually figured it out (yes, I know I should read the manual).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Bow, NH on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it a lot for the price. Fewer cables to hook up than my old pre hdmi receiver. Easy set up for my cable remote to turn on/off & volume, the surround sound microphone even worked to balance the speakers. Power is good, sound is good, price is good. It's only 5 speaker surround + 2 powered subwoofers if you want them. For the small room I'm in that does just fine. The 7.1.2 system is also available for more $ if you want and on from there.

Pros: Easy to use affordable

Cons: only 5.1.2 surround

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590 Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect receiver for my 2 Polk Audio ATi7's & subwoofer , this Sony receiver also has Bluetooth to play music from my phone , easy set up. I highly recommend this receiver , it will set up as a 5.1 but I set it up as a 2.1 (2 speakers and a sub) plenty of power and speakers sound awesome in my smaller living room (1150 SQ ft house) I only buy my electronics thru Crutchfield , also just purchased the new Sony WH1000Xm4 headphones...can't wait to get them next week.

Pros: Smaller size fits any cabinet , lots of power , easy set up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Superb Value

Christian from LITTLETON, CO on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a Home Theater AV receiver which wouldn't break the bank. We'd inherited a 5.1 configuration of Polk Audio TSI speakers in the home theater room of our new home, but need an AV receiver to power them. Having just purchased a new home and moved, cash was tight. I was very pleasantly surprised with the performance of the STR-DH590. Setup was extremely easy. It has plenty of power, and handles movie soundtrack dynamics with aplomb. The atmospheric surround details add a whole new dimension to favorite movies and shows with multi-channel audio. The native room correction software is a nice bonus. It would be nice if the Sony receivers offered front R/L channel pre-outs to an external power amplifier. That would allow for future system expansion or speaker upgrades. However, at this price point, there's really very little to complain about.

Pros: - Brings film and streaming show soundtracks to life - Plenty of power for the dollar - Plenty of HDMI inputs - Very easy setup - Native Bluetooth and room correction - Great value for feature set

Cons: - Lacks some transparency, subtlety, and wow factor when playing music - It doesn't appear any of the Sony AV receivers currently offer front channel pre-outs

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Isabela, PR on 6/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good Receiver

Benjamin from CROSBY, TX on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the receiver a couple of weeks and I enjoy it so far. Plenty of power and setting seem pretty easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

very good

Christopher from Huntersville on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best yet

Pros: best

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pleased

Crutchfield customer from Churchville, VA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good reliable Sony quality. Pleased with the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always wanted surround sounds, and have that movies atmosphere. I have that now. Five stars.

Pros:

Cons: I have always wanted surround sounds, and have that movies atmosphere. I have that now. Five stars.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good quality sound

Crutchfield customer from Muscle Shoals, AL on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality sound and good speaker sound separation. The only drawback is that it only allows output to one set of 5.1 surround speakers. It needs standard output for another set of speakers so the sound can be switched to speakers in another room.

Pros: good sound separation and quality by each speaker. Good price. Clear hookup instructions.

Cons: Does not have outputs for two sets of speakers.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 18 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Sun Prairie, WI on 4/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've replaced a 15 year old receiver with this unit. Installation went well. It pairs up well with my Sony DVD player and my Sony OLLED TV. The surround sound that I have been missing is great. A great product at a reasonalbe price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great product and quality!

Crutchfield customer from Wollaston, MA on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality of the receiver is outstanding! Very happy with my purchase.

Pros: Very easy to install and use.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent entry level 5.1 stereo. Only Bass & Treble control.

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, LA on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the on screen (TV) user interface but the actual stereo should have enough screen size to show what menu or particular control the operator is accessing and trying to change. I only gave 4 stars due to this unit only having Bass & Treble EQ controls. Soundfields are Ok as you can choose 2, 4 or 5 channel with Subwoofer outputs. Manual is good at explaining different soundfields and setup. This is a basic 5 channel stereo and sounds decent but if you use this as a secondary or bedroom stereo use 6ohm speakers as this provides the best sound and power. I am using this as a bedroom stereo for Bluetooth and TV. BT was easy to setup with no issues on an I-phone. Enhanced 2.0 or 3.1 channel is best for TV. I originally bought a Yamaha RX V-385 (Returned) but the sound on that unit at low volume was terrible and lost all sound shaping. This Sony uses a Night mode that uses a more low and enhanced midrange sound shaping at lower volumes, much like the old "LOUDNESS" function on older units.

Pros: Decent sound with Night Mode at lower volumes and Bluetooth was easy to connect.

Cons: On-Screen display only single line scrolling type. The display screen size should be adequate to show what is being accessed and controlled without scrolling on a single line. If you dont have a TV to connect this to your out of luck to be able to control some functions or setup. Only Bass & Treble control.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Pulaski, WI on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I real nice unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great 5.1 Bargain & Performance

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price, even better sound. I have a two-speaker, subwoofer setup in a small basement-anchored by a Sony plasma. As a result, the front surround function appealed and didn't disappoint. Auto Calibration, like everything else out of the box, was simple and speedy. Only downside (and I note this more in hopes of someone at Sony stumbling across this review than as a reason not to buy): If you don't have a 4K TV, the written instructions can prove frustrating. Just a couple more pages covering different configurations, especially in regards to HDMI v. Digital Optical, would've been helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Uniontown, PA on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy setup. Been having a problem with it not staying on auto when my HDMI is set up on the tv via arc and end up with no sound. I have to manually enter auto bavk into the system after switching off of game hdmi. Great otherwise looks nice.

Pros: Looks good. Ease of use.

Cons: Small glitches that are annoying

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Randy Mills

Crutchfield customer from Inez, KY on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good little receiver for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great features for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, IN on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was purchased to replace an older Yamaha AV Receiver that the ARC over HDMI had failed on. This is a definite upgrade in sound quality and the ARC on this unit functions perfectly. Very simple to set up and it also has an easy to use remote control. Great quality and features/functionality for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit is working great. Was easy to get installed and going.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Nick from Cortez,CO on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the very first receiver I have ever bought brand new I have all was bought used receivers and they never last I recommend it good price and has two subwoofer hook ups I didn't even know tell I got it so that was a plus shipping was fast it was packaged very good and costumer survive was great..

Pros: Very easy to set up and looks good

Cons: I do have to say I am a bass head love loud electronic music and it caused it to overheat but it did what it was so post to do and turn off so I am running two little fans on it when I turn it up and it is fine keep in mind I am turning it way up for two too three hours at a time very good reserve

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Good Value for an Entry Level Receiver

Crutchfield customer from New Bern, NC on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pleased so far. Purchased this to replace a Pioneer receiver that died. Wanted a simple receiver to run a basic 5.1 surround setup for movies and music. Connection to my Vizio 4K TV was easy using the HDMI ARC ports... The TV recognized the device immediately and brought up the setup menu to run the auto calibration for speakers. The setup menus aren't immediately intuitive but with the help of the manual only took a few minutes to figure out. Sound quality is great for an entry level receiver. Bluetooth connectivity is convenient. If you're looking for a basic entry level receiver that's easy to setup and has decent sound this Sony appears to be a good value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Buy

Crutchfield customer from Clifton, VA on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product with multiple functionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding!

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with purchase. Great price, super fast shipping. Jill made the purchase easy, she was very helpful and friendly and Jay from Tech Support was amazing! He gave crystal clear instructions and made the installation and set up process very easy, even for a beginner like me. Thank you so much!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great surround sound for the dollar, plus I got discount from scratch and dent. I use in my garage with tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from N Kansas City, MO on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super Happy With This Reciever......If You Have 4k TV...Then this model is for you......

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beware if you want to use HDMI ARC and one remote!

Michael from Woodstock, GA on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked up and everything was great. SO EASY to set up. Plugged everything in, 15 minutes had wonderful sound going and was happy. Then the biggest problem. With the new 4K box from Infinity, you can't split audio out, so you have to use the HDMI, not a huge deal, right? Well, when you pass the HDMI through the receiver, every time you turn the TV on an on-screen menu comes on that you either have to wait out or use the Sony remote to cancel. EVERYTHING else works on one remote, so this is extremely frustrating. Upon further research, this is by design with Sony and there is no fix, so it is going back. As far as technology has come, the Xfinity system is so simple there is no reason at all I should have to use a second remote to close a menu. The only other solution is a Harmony remote or similar, but that is far more complicated than the Xfinity solution. So back it goes. Yamaha it is. Sad, it had such promise for my living room setup and I really wanted Sony, but that is crazy.

Pros: Ease of setup Good sound Build Quality

Cons: ARC and pop-up menu on screen is a joke.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590 AV Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to replace a failing 5 year old Pioneer AV receiver. Decided to purchace the Sony STR-DH590. The Sony's sound quality is amazing (including the 'Front Surround' mode for watching DVDs using only a simple 2ch setup with JBL speakers)! Fairly easy setup, with enough features to suit one's own personnal tastes.

Pros: features sound quality picture quality (ARC) price

Cons: setup can be confusing/frustrating

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Pohnpei, FM on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and good quality for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Santa Paula, CA on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and great features at a modest price. Delivery was quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not WorkingYet.

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Waiting for my son to hook it up, I have not been able to get it to work

Pros: N/A

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 13 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Hudson Oaks, TX on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderfully easy to use. Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Atlantic Beach, FL on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not at this time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Functionally works fine, but ergonomically not good

Crutchfield customer from Belmont, CA on 5/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Functionally, this receiver works well and does everything I need it to. It also allows settings for small details through menus which gives great controls, though through cryptic menus so not very intuitively. But from a user experience point of view, it has issues for nearly all the senses. When you turn it on, it makes an awful and loud clack, which Sony tells me is normal (the sound turning off is a normal click). When you turn the volume knob, it resists you and is difficult to turn, instead of gliding easily as you would expect. And in what feels like a gimmick to me, if you turn on the mode which disables theater surround for listening to music instead of movies/TV, it shuts off the display to "avoid possible noise interference from the display" (per the manual). I have never heard noise interference from a display, and would prefer if it did not take away the information about which source I am set to. So overall fine but ergonomically it has visual, auditory, and touch issues. At least there are no bad smells.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Tijeras, NM on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a fan of Sony for a long time. They alway perform well, and never disappoint. Using this to put in our guest room. When we are through I'll want to sleep there.

Pros: Sound quality is very good

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Solid purchase

Daryl from King George, VA on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are looking for a good solid inexpensive receiver...this is what you need. Very easy to set up and with the enclosed mic, you can easily calibrate the sound for your room. For the power and features, you would be hard pressed to find anything better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Guest from Shenandoah, VA on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been very impressed with the sound quality of this amplifier for being in a very low price range. It is very easy to set up the automatic speaker setup worked perfectly on the first try. It provides excellent clarity and power at a low volume and remains crystal clear at high volume as well. Would highly reccomend this amp to anyone looking for great sound on a low budget.

Pros: Easy set up Great sound Easy to navigate on screen menu Plenty of fine tuning adjustments for getting the sound your looking for

Cons: None that i can find

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Telford, PA on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great cheap option for a simple audio setup!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very good sound , but...

Stan from Dayton, OH on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good feature of this receiver, and one of the reasons I selected it, is that it is only 12-1/16" deep, which makes it small enough to be usable in Ikea Billy bookshelves that are 10-1/2" deep, if 90 degree connectors are used for the speakers, HDMI and other connections. Unfortunately, because my space is tight I wasn't able to use the Crutchfield banana plug equipped speaker cables, as they can only be inserted straight into the speaker connection terminals. The music ehancement modes really improve the sound coming from the Klipsch speakers. One of the things I don't like about the system though is that I can't listen to a CD through the system without turning on the television, probably because I am playing the CDs in the Blu-Ray player. Another drawback is that the receiver does not have an auxiliary input jack of any type (except the calibration microphone jack) on the front of it. So, if you want to connect a wired device such as auxiliary hard drive containing movies, or an old ipod with lossless music files on board, you have to connect it through one of the rear inputs. I find this to be very inconvenient, and again, the tv will have to be on to even play music through the receiver and speakers. But the best feature of the receiver, in my opinion, is its Bluetooth feature, which allows it to play music from my PC, which has mostly lossless music files on it, and really saves the whole syste

Pros: Great music enhancement programs. Small (relative to other brands) fottprint. Bluetooth

Cons: No auxiliary inputs on front of receiver.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Dennis from Lawtons, NY on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the price! Replaces my jvc receiver I've had for 20 years. Easy to operate & hookup.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great 5.1 home theater

Larry from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, good sound, pairs nicely with Sony 4k BD player, good remote.

Pros: Setup, connections, on screen actions

Cons: Doesn't always switch to desired input (waah).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound Across All Spectrums

Mr Tiy from Hephzibah GA on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this unit. Has performed flawlessly so far. Pleasantly surprised at the small size of unit and how light weight it is. The blue shrinkwrap covering applied over the box for shipping is a Very nice touch. Especially during the holidays when 5 finger discount artists are looking for easy pickings.

Pros: Small Profile Light Weight. Unit Doesn't Generate Excessive Heat During Operation. Plug N Play Right Out The Box

Cons: Was promised 2 day delivery. Ordered 20 December. Unit arrived on 26 December. UPS dropped the ball. Unit arrived in town on 22 December but wasn't put out for delivery until 24 December. Thank goodness I wasn't expecting delivery for Xmas.????

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can not ask for a better product. It is great for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Gary from Savanna, IL on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 12 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Antonio from Juncos, PR on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome receiver more than i can expected for the low price and a 2 years warranty bery satisfied

Pros: Bluetooth system, plenty hdmi input s, excelent sound worth the money

Cons: So far no cons for me

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great budget unit

TaxiPete from Rio Grande, PR on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is the perfect " on a budget home theater receiver " to buy. it have all the basic needs plus excellent sound. get one before Christmas sale discount expire. you need to have knowledge in home theater receiver terminology to fully set up this unit and get the performance it have. suggest read the manual first and then start the set up. i installed denon,onkyo,harman kardon,pioneer,jvc,technics and now sony receivers and all of them have their own system name process and terminology besides the basic standard steps.

Pros: Christmas sale price

Cons: you need to have some knowledge in home theater terminology because is not friendly user.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just what the sound dr. ordered

Jason from Arlington Hts, IL on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect solution for my needs to power center, bookshelf speakers and sub in small living room. 4K, HDR, HDMI pass-through and CEC connectivity make it easy for my wife. She just hits the "on" button on the cable remote and the Sony TV and Sony receiver come on together...nice! She loves that it just "works". Coming from prior receivers without HDMI pass-through, I'm loving the single HDMI cable to the TV. I just wish it allowed push-in connectors for the center channel (it only has push ins for L & R front speakers. Not too many frills here but has all the important basics at a great price point. Great Crutchfield experience, as always. Note: this receiver may be a bit underpowered if you have a more expensive 5+ speaker setup.

Pros: 4K, HDR, HDMI pass-through and CEC connectivity...all at a great price point.

Cons: No push-in connectors for center or surround speakers. May be a bit underpowered for more expense speaker setups.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Love the receiver and love the price!

Lewis from Santa Maria, CA on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very user friendly stereo. Christmas gift for my son, which I'm sure he will have for 20 plus years. Easy setup as well. Was looking for a low price receiver and this Sony STR-DH590 has blown me away!

Pros: From the Receiver to Crutchfield website all positive..

Cons: Not yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Cody, WY on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up, works well with my Samsung QLED TV. Very pleased with purchase.

Pros: Easy to set up, great price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great sound for a great price

steve from Toledo, OH on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a quality receiver that wouldn't break the bank , after my Onkyo went out. This seemed to fit the bill and was reviewed quite well in many places online. It seems to be very nice and felt like it was built with some quality to it. I have previously owned 2 Onkyo receiver over the years and was satisfied , except they both burnt out even when running them off a line converter for safety. No more Onkyo -

Pros: HDMI inputs quality speaker wire connections easy setup calibration mic lots of internal options in the menu

Cons: slightly confusing menu

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great price, great product

Jay from Pearl River, LA on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy to set up and low price for the amount of options!

Pros: Price, easy set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Gretna, LA on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It alright

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 18 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Tipp City, OH on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good with my new Sony receiver. I had my old receiver disconnected and the new Sony receiver set up in about 15 minutes. I like the sound and it looks great too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Ed from Clearfield, UT on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great performance for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Basic receiver does the job

Argyn from Vienna, VA on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for the most basic home theatre reviewer with hdmi and Dolby digital 5.1. This does the job, no bells and whistles just the essential functionality. It's easy to set up, has a calibration to speakers.

Pros: Price, Bluetooth, simplicity

Cons: No optical audio input No fm station and song display that I could see, unless I'm missing something

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Great value.

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely delivers. Gets the job done properly and the price is right. Tremendous value.

Pros: All you need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it

Sam from Fort Pierce, FL on 11/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially this receiver was driving me nuts trying to control it. One quick call to Nicole at Crutchfield solved all my problems and now the receiver is operating beautifully. Crutchfield has never left me hanging and always leaves me totally satisfied with their products and service.

Pros: great price, smooth operation, sounds good

Cons: poor manual

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Alpena, MI on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works the way I thought it would. Customer service is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, PA on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am in joying the use of my new amp. It does exactly what I needed to do a good quality item so I thank you very much for my new sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Maysville, KY on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This A/V is replacing an Onkyo. It was a poor choice on my part. Everything works as it should. Just disappointing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 20 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Ross from Lady Lake, FL on 11/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for them price. Powerful sound through the 5.1polk audio speakers. Easy to set up and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good value, easy set up, but limited adjustments

Neb from Clinton, AR on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace an old Harmon Kardon stereo, which sounded superb (maybe it was even analog), but which did not have the modern HDMI or optical connections. This Sony was reasonably priced and very easy to set up for my new matching Sony 4K TV, but I am not entirely happy with the sound quality. I played with it as much as I could with the limited choices available, but the voice portion of the speech audio spectrum seems a bit muffled and there are only limited settings, whereas my previous HK has numerous options. Also, the Sony set up has to go through the TV, which is OK, but not ideal; more problematic is the limitation on the adjustments. I wish I could boost the mid-range, where I believe the speech audio portion is, but in loud music (which I do not play), the sound is fine. MAKE SURE YOU USE HIGH QUALITY HDMI or OPTICAL CABLES; the cheap ones make the picture fuzzy. Overall for the price and TV, it is adequate, thus the 4 stars.

Pros: Easy set up and hook up, especially with Sony TV.

Cons: Minimal setting options and have to go through TV screen. Speech portion of audio a bit muffled; no way to adjust.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Wantagh, NY on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony receiver is great addition to my stereo, nice power, very easy to set up and has blue tooth, sounds really good and looks sleek in design. I rate this 5 stars based on my experience!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Everything you need with no frills

Jason from Pearl City, HI on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything you need, nothing you don't. HDR and 4K is supported in pass thru. My 2 year old Yamaha didn't. Have it paired with a Polk 5.1 speaker system. Sounds good to me. The Sony automatic sound calibration seems to provide more bass than my old Yamaha's calibration (sounds better to me)

Pros: Good sound, HDR and 4K passthru, good price.

Cons: If you want fancy features like app control or multi room sound this doesn't have that. Also only has 4 HDMI Inputs.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good deal

Joshua from Loveland, CO on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was a good purchase

Pros: Ease of set up good quality

Cons: Bulky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 10 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Guest from Broadway, VA on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great low price receiver. easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great receiver hard to set up

thomas from Baltimore, MD on 9/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hard to setup 5.1 with cable box also great sound need some with knowhow to set it up

Pros: great sound for 2 speakers

Cons: setting up hard to do

Crutchfield response on 10/2/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Thomas to help him further. We'll either help him get his receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

15 of 18 found this helpful

Great Basic AVR Value!

James from Nevada, MO on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver for an even nicer price. I could pick nits, but why? It's a bargain that looks great, is compact enough to fit most places you might need to put it, performs very well, has a nice remote and ample power. It doesn't have every bell and whistle, but it does cover most of the essentials quite nicely. It's very quiet and just does it's job. Set-up was relatively easy. My only real gripes are the cheesy FM antenna connection and the somewhat cloudy appearing fascia. Sony should do better.

Pros: good remote, ample power, good feature set, quiet, compact, excellent value

Cons: cheap FM jack, front fascia finish could be better

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Gregg from Pt Pleasant , NJ on 9/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to setup. Takes some time to synch with my Xfinity cable box (HDMI). Roku HDMI works fine.

Pros: Great specs for the price.

Cons: Seems to have some difficulty synching with the HDMI output of my Xfinity cable box.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Vale, NC on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really enjoy it. Does great job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Arecibo, PR on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

BEST equipment ever bought

Pros: All options un one equipment

Cons: Nine.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Lagrange, GA on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is exactly what we needed. Just the right size for it's purpose. Excellent Quality at a reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Mark from Lewes, DE on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sales help and professional service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Lovely Design

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley, CA on 8/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful design. However it was not easy to set up, and was far beyond my tech capabilities. It took an expert to get it going.

Pros: does everything I was looking for---the price seems fair

Cons: difficult to set up unless you are very tech savvy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Works like a charm!

Crutchfield customer from Dahlonega, GA on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm no stereo expert and we moved into a home that had 4 ceiling mount speakers in a large family room. We had nothing to connect them to, and wanted to be able to connect our Smart TV to them as well. After doing a very small amount of research I figured a receiver was probably all we needed. Did not really even want blue tooth capability--but it is awesome. So easy to pair with our phones, tablet, etc. for music. Very easy set up. Very easy to switch from TV to FM stereo, bluetooth, DVD player. Very easy to use. Sounds good too. Great device, great price. Happy happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, MD on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony receiver was easy to set up and delivers a quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, DE on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fine receiver at it's price point. It provides the basic functions and does them well at a budget price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Basic Receiver At a Nice Price

James from Palmyra, VA on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a basic receiver that's easy to set up and use. For those looking for an easy to use receiver that delivers nice sound this is a good choice.

Pros: Easy to set up Nice price Nice sound

Cons: Basic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent receiver

Crutchfield customer from Evansdale , IA on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver and easy to set up and use. Syncs with my Sony Bravia TV so I can control everything with 1 remote. Plenty of power for rear speakers and sounds great with 5.1 setup and a subwoofer. Highly recommended!

Pros: Easy to set up Easy to use Plenty of power Looks good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

EZ set up. Great sound.

Mark from Pompano Beach, FL on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. Perfect fit for my Florida condo.

Pros: EZ set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Richard from University Pa, MD on 6/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent surround sound receiver with plenty of power. It has great control over my television set my cable box and my DVD player. Very easy to use and very easy to set up. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone wanting and affordable surround sound receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great value!

Sergey from Mount Laurel, NJ on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony STR-DH590 has excellent features at a relatively low price. I'm glad I got it.

Pros: 1) Solid performance as amplifier and as selector of 4 HDMI inputs to 1 HDMI output to my 4K TV. 2) Compact size. 3) Very easy set-up. 4) High quality materials and attractive external design that matches other Sony electronics.

Cons: 1) Requires sub-woofer with external 120V AC power. STR-DH590 does not work with passive sub-woofer. 2) Primitive on-screen menus (not a big deal because you need them just for the initial set-up). 3) Small remote control feels like it was made in 1990. 4) Loud clicks of the disconnect relays, when Power is switched Off.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 13 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH590

Crutchfield customer from Everett, WA on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with the new Sony 4k tv i bought, great sound and capabilities for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP