Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony STR-DH790

7.2-channel receiver with Bluetooth®, Dolby Atmos®, and DTS:X™

MFR # STRDH790

Sony STR-DH790

Sony STR-DH790

7.2-channel receiver with Bluetooth®, Dolby Atmos®, and DTS:X™

MFR # STRDH790

68 reviews
View this product

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, VA on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did an upgrade and after I figured out how to make adjustments I'm loving this receiver and what it can do. all everything hookup and my sound is the best that it ever has been. Going to replace rear speakers with another set Tsi's soon

Pros: none

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Sinajana, GU on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiver for the price, Crutchfield has best pricing

Crutchfield customer from Canyon Country, CA on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver was recommended by a tech guru on you tube. It was given high marks for quality and value. Crutchfield had the best price compared to other online vendors. No issues so far. Great sound connection and easy to use.

Pros: Price Great sound quality, connection

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Rushville, OH on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice receiver with every option needed without breaking the bank. Quality sound , easy setup, great instructions, light weight , easy to handle. Satisfied on this choice. Crutchfield very helpful. Shipping fast .

Pros: Great receiver.

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Simple But Powerful

Crutchfield customer from Beech Grove, IN on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple receiver with lots of Power ,I am glad i bought it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product and Great Service

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, LA on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly the product that I needed and the help by the techs setting up my system was great. Could not have asked for better service from the 1st contact where they helped me decided exactly what product I needed all the way thru keeping me informed on the shipping and expected delivery. Great Product and great service. The installation went great with step by stem instructions from your tech.

Pros: The whole experience was great and I will never, ever order your product from anyone else off the internet from this day forward. Thanks for all you help and support.

Cons: No negative comments

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony replaces Denon...

Crutchfield customer from Murray, KY on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like it! I have a older sony receiver(similar to this new one) that I've had for several years and it has worked flawlessly. I'm getting rid of the Denon I've had since before I got the first sony that's still working like a charm! The fancy Denon failed the first time under warrenty. Power supply I think. I sent it back for repair ( A pain you know where!}. It was fixed and worked fine for a while then started acting up again. I replaced it with the second Sony and am getting rid of the Denon if I come across someone who wants to fix it. My next receiver will be a Sony!

Pros: I'm convinced Sony is a better product.

Cons: Denon is nice when it works!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it! I bought this for my first home theater set up. It was easy to set up and sounds great. The only real gripe I have is that the on-tv displays are a little hit or miss. I don't really mind not having intrusive graphics covering my content though. Would recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Average receiver

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 8/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give a 3 star so far because it is not a friendly set up. For example AMP set up is not on the TV menu to be seen. You have to pay attention of the tiny screen on the receiver to see the changes. Also I did not realized it does not have a connection for Turntable.

Pros: It is a light Receiver does not provide all the features but It is OK.

Cons: Should be friendlier on the set up side. Not a lot of choices when to set to listening mode compare to the Onkyo that I had.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent sound, easy setup

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup, great sound but settings and options are limited through the home screen, is hard to find for instance how to verify if it is reproducing sound in Atmos. For other options you need to use the front panel for more settings, other than that you get what you would expect from Sony, great quality. I wish it had the graphical user interface of the other Sony STR-DN 1080

Pros: Superb sound Quick setup Bluetooth

Cons: Home screen for settings is very limited, need front panel to configure

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Solomons, MD on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Chicopee, MA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds greats. Major update to my old one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic receiver at the price point

Matthew from DECATUR, MI on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and the mic calibration worked really well. I got this receiver due to its price point and feature list. It was the only 7.1 or 5.1.2 that was sub $450. It currently powers my 3.1 setup that will grow eventually. I think its the perfect receiver for an entry level system. The only thing that would make it better is if it had just one more HDMI port, I have a lot of game systems and computer hooked up to it and need one more input for a SNES Classic.

Pros: Setup was easy Mic calibration worked well Fits in my console well with room to breathe

Cons: only 4 HDMI ports Changing the speaker setup from 2.1 to 3.1 wasn't where I thought it was in the options and took a bit to find

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

New Sony Stereo

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, IA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Jury still out maybe it's a setting or something I will turn it on one time and go to use the FM radio and it will display on the TV then the next time it will not display on the TV maybe it certain settings when it shuts off. Then one time shut the TV off and it will shut the stereo off and the next time it won't. I miss my old Stereo my Sony STR902p that failed. Had it for almost 15 years. The New Sony sounds pretty good with my old Sony speakers need to add another powered sub and it will sound really good. And I have never seen a stereo with no AM band radio on it. That's Weird.

Pros: Easy setup with the calibration mic.

Cons: Does something different every time I turn it on.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound of this system is an improvement over the old Sony system that gave up after many years of use. The STR-DH790 makes my Polk speakers sound better than they ever did however the set-up was rather tricky for this old guy...

Pros: The cost, the Quality, The sound...

Cons: Set up...

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great unit and a great price

Crutchfield customer from Des Plaines, IL on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This does not have all the bells and whistles of other receivers but is exactly what I needed. It offers surround sound, but all I needed was 4 speakers in my den/kitchen area and another pair in my living room. With stereo and multi-stereo speaker options I was ale to setup any combination of sound availability I needed. Works pretty much out of box. Was a bit concerned at low price, but so far so good. It runs a lot cooler than the Onkyo it replaced. It is also compact so had no trouble fitting into my entertainment cabinet.

Pros: runs cool. Easy setup. Enough options. Can handle 2 zones (rooms) Great price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Piscataway, NJ on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a longtime Sony bigot and most of my televisions and audio equipment carry their label. This receiver replaces an 8 year old unit that still works fine (just wanted to upgrade). As has been my experience for probably 50 years or so, this product lives up to my expectations. Build and performance are outstanding - especially for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Deltona, FL on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great system for DVI input. It also updated my JVC CD 200 disc player with RCA input giving me Dolby surround sound.

Pros: Very easy to setup with the TV ARC screen menu's and very forgiving to reset to factory defaults and then change or add speaker settings.

Cons: I have a small dedicated fan next to the transformer side vents that also pushes air over the top of the receiver, it's not a big deal since other brands also require an external fan.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Guayama, PR on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For my needs I believe it fulfill all my desires .I connected all my speakers and Blue ray player and CD player.It delivers a great sound. Also it has the proper size and looks for a nice receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great receiver at an even better price

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, IN on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instruction manual in the box was pretty useless, but the one online is good. Overall this is a great receiver at an even better price. The auto-calibrate feature was pretty slick. Figuring out the pass through function required digging out the online manual, and I'm not exactly thrilled about the way the menu on the unit operates, but all of that is really a one time inconvenience. Crutchfield was awesome as always.

Pros: auto-calibration, excellent sound, great price

Cons: on unit menus are awkward, manual in the box is not complete

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great with other Sony products, sounds nice, and future proof!

Vincent from Cupertino, CA on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with Sony XBR-65X900E (which I also brought from Crutchfield) and Sony PlayStation 4! Also, sounds nice with old Polk 5.1 surround sound speaker system and ready to support Dolby Atmos setup if and when I decide to upgrade. Last but not least, really like the clean and minimalistic look :-)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Bel Tiburon, CA on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product well built and simple to use.

Pros: Excellent sound output.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Aledo, TX on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works, doesn't have all the features I would like, but a quality product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sony A/V receiver.

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new Sony receiver makes my new Polk Audio RTI A7'S sing.... Great receiver. Easy to hook up the rest of my equipment.

Pros: Plenty of HDMI inputs. Plenty of wattage. On screen programing.

Cons: None found so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Riverton, UT on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great surround sound with my updated 4K Sony TV.

Pros: Great sound. Easy setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great so far easy easy set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wife approved!

Crutchfield customer from Dixon, CA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Easy setup and configuration. I am happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great output sleek design

Brian from San Tan Valley, AZ on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is probably the best out there for the money. The first one I had started buzzing, sony then sent me a new one and it has worked perfectly. So the customer service was great. I have a 7.2 surround system up and it sounds great. I have surround klipsch speakers with two tower jbl (including 12 inch woofers in them) with 2 powered subs set up adjacently.

Pros: sound picture

Cons: the first one started buzzing, but was replaced by sony.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up, great sound from the speakers. My wife is a little hard of hearing, so she likes this receiver. Also she likes the remote controls and the ease of using the receiver with Dish Network

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, FL on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo arrived packed very well and has worked flawlessly. Will purchase from Crutchfield again

Pros: Ease of use, packed very well

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Replaced old Sony Receiver that did not have HDMI ACR

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, CT on 3/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did not think that by changing my receiver I would get better sound out of my existing speakers yet the clarity and definition is superb.

Pros: Great Sound!

Cons: Menu is a little cumbersome at first but, not hard to get used to.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Westerville, OH on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Goose Creek, SC on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fm antenna is a joke

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MO on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Once I figured out how to set it up. Not all that intuitive. I usually spend a lot of time playing with settings on new audio gear to find the best sound. Didn't have to with this reciever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Gouldsboro, PA on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deal on a receiver with just enough features that I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing receiver

Crutchfield customer from West Lawn, PA on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony never disappoints, and this receiver is is just one more example of that. This receiver is fully adjustable to your personal sound preferences, has bluetooth, and sounds amazing. The self adjusting feature is really nice as is the bravia feature. I love sony products and this one is no exception. I would recommend this to anyone.

Pros: Easy to setup Sounds great Bravia feature Self adjust feature Supports two subwoofers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Sound, Lackluster Audio Interface Controls

Crutchfield customer from BOISE, ID on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had Sony audio electronics since the first Walkman came out. I really wanted to like this receiver more than this. I bought this to replace a late 80's vintage component system, one by one the components were failing and it was time for a replacement. I typically listen to music 90% of the time I use this receiver, movies the other 10% of the time. My setup does not use all 7 Channels, I have a pair of 1984 Bose 601 Series II front speakers, Klipsch Reference R-51M for the rear channel speakers, and a Klipsch R-10SW Powered Subwoofer. The Automatic setup with the microphone included didn't work, no matter how many times I tried or moved speakers or the microphone around (following the instructions as closely as I could for my room). That left me with manually adjusting the sound for best sound quality, the menu system is not easy/intuitive to navigate, I really wish Sony had an App compatible with this receiver, something with a graphic EQ and some level indicators would be nice. After several hours of adjusting it sounded good and I was able to switch back and forth between sources without much issue. But anytime the power goes out the unit resets to defaults and I have to start all over again. On a side note, mine came with a manufacturers sticker on the front of it, when I peeled the sticker off it left a residue that discolored the face of the unit like the glue was made out of some sort of solvent. (yes I tried cleaning it, nothing worked)

Pros: Good Power and sound

Cons: Manual adjustment of audio signal is horribly complicated and cumbersome.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 11 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Novato, CA on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Top Quality!

Crutchfield customer from Tehachapi, CA on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am no expert but this unit, just installed today, is fabulous! Produces great sound to our several speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Berwyn, IL on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Overall, satisfied with the receiver

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethtown, IL on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price of this AV receiver I can't complain much, only found 2 issues so far, one is the two sets of HDMI and RCA inputs that are labeled the same, you can only use one or the other so this cut you down to 6 inputs instead of 8, the other issue is a noticable click thru speakers as you raise or lower volume, even during play but all in all a decent receiver, especially for the price

Pros: Price and ease of setup

Cons: Nothing major so far but if I want to grow my setup later, will probably have to upgrade

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

yep

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Land, TX on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only issue i have is there are less banana plugs but otherwise an AMAZING product.

Pros: great quality

Cons: runs warm only 4 banana plugs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Independence, LA on 10/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy installation

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, SC on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and excellent sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Easy setup, if you read the manual.

Crutchfield customer from Powhatan, VA on 10/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I only buy a stereo every 15 years or so, so I'm no pro and I'm always way behind on new functions. I use two front speakers and a subwoofer and (for now) don't have a surround setup. bought this so I could have integrated bluetooth and eventually expand to surround. Bluetooth setup was super easy. I had to go back and check the manual to figure out how to set up the second set of front speakers, and had to play for a while to get through the menus correctly so my sub would play with that configuration- but both of those are my fault for being a dinosaur.

Pros: flexible, easy bluetooth setup, sound is better than my ears are

Cons: Setup for non-surround configurations is not intuitive, but it's in there once you get to the right part of the manual.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fabulous Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Chino Valley, AZ on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

very good sounding receiver!

Todd from NEW CANEY, TX on 9/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good sounding receiver.my home theater sounds so much better with my klipsch inwalls than the pioneer elite it replaced.paired with the sony x800m2 4k player sounds amazing.only wish sony packaged their items better.very little foam around receiver.slight dent in top left corner from shipping slight crease in box when arrived.still seems to work fine.but i am very fussy so it bothers me a bit.it does sound fantastic when playing movies;so much better than my pioneer!i can actually here them talk now without the effects being overbearing.i have had sonys in the past and they where always good.i should have never strayed from them!going to get an x900 or x950 65" 4k tv soon too,to replace my older lg 4k tv need dolby vision support.

Pros: sound reproduction especially with movies.simple to use.more than adequate power.

Cons: spring terminals on center and rear.come on sony step up your game this is to good sounding of a receiver to have spring terminals.packaging needs to be better from factory so as to not receive damaged!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 8/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected,

Pros: Many default speaker profiles

Cons: Menus little clunky

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very good entry level AV/R

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1st time setting up an av receiver and I found that the Sony interface was easy to navigate and tweak. The sound and video are good and the only reason I didn't keep the unit is that I later decided that I needed pre-outs which this unit doesn't have.

Pros: Easy to setup.

Cons: Spring loaded speaker connectors.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Vincent from Central, CA on 5/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Primarily bought this because I wanted a 4K pass through receiver for my 4K TV. It replaced a STR-DH740 over 5 years old. I finally gave up my Sony 3D TV for a Sony 4K TV. The 2 receivers are almost identical. I upgraded my HDMI cables for high speed ones >18 Gbps. I also bought a Sony UPB-X700 4K DVD Player to use with this receiver and a Directv Genie DVR. The setup was easy, the sound is excellent.

Pros: 4K Pass Through

Cons: None, so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Massena, NY on 3/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice system,easy to get working and easy speaker wiring hook up. Great remote also.

Pros: Price and installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

sharon from Getzville, NY on 3/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have mine set for 5 speakers setting it using the Auto Calibration Microphone which gives very good surround sound comparing it to 5 yr old Denon. I did have to tweek the setting for the rear speakers. I really dislike the remote as it too small and buttons are too close making it difficult to use at night which is why I gave 4 stars. This is my first Sony product - Sony has good tech as I had to call for what turned out to be a minor problem.

Pros: Surround is very good

Cons: Remote is difficut as it i too small

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Charlie from Smithville, MS on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything was good as excpected

Pros: Great price great sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Nice change from 5.1 surround

Jackpine from Central Lake, MI on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking to upgrade my Sony 550 (an excellent receiver) used in a 5.1 setup to take advantage of the Atmos encoding in some Blu-rays and my 4k disc collection. Was on the fence whether to get the DN1080 or the DH790, but when the 790 went on sale I couldn't resist and pulled the trigger. I don't have the best layout for placing speakers due to the size and shape of the living room and eventually decided on front height speakers as that seemed the best option in my case. So far i am totally pleased to say the least. The front heights seem to do a good job of placing sounds where they belong. I haven't played much (yet) with Dolby Surround or Neural-X, but will give those a try later on.

Pros: Fairly easy setup (coming from the Sony 550 helped) Height effects sound great.

Cons: Spring terminals for surrounds, but I knew that going in. Sets all speakers to large just like the 550. Oh well LOL

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Calvert City, KY on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Does exactly what I wanted it to Do. I use it in a garage to power 4 surround speakers, a center channel, and a powered sub. The sound is very nice, easy to Use. Almost wish I had this set up in my house it sounds so good.

Pros: Price, easy to Use

Cons: Speaker wire inputs

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Matthew from Weaverville, NC on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inexpensive and it works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Danville, PA on 1/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up with Sony TV. Good sound for a reasonable budget. Also liked the calibration microphone feature for testing surround sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Havre, MT on 1/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, easy to use and set up. Nice sound quality. Compact design.

Pros:

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great bang-for-the-buck receiver

John from Portage, MI on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am really loving this receiver. Talk about bang for your buck. Actually the next level receivers cost $200-300 more and all you really get is 2nd room audia, a little more power and wifi pandora support, which is really not necessary with bluetooth anyway. Nothing else even close to having all these features for the price. Pretty easy setup. On-screen setup is fairly intuitive. Did have a bit of a time getting it to ignore the hdmi and use spdif/optical. User manual was absolutely no help. Turns out it is buried within the settings on the remote A-??? button. You have to disable hdmi control. Also would be nice if it had a few more sound fields to choose from in dolby/non-dolby modes and could use more info on screen of receiver as to what sound field it is using, but in my opinion, minor gripes. Amp sounds great and has plenty of punch. 90x7 at 8 ohm/145x7 at 6 ohm for those who were confused. Manual is a bit confusing because as someone mentioned, the main manual is only in fra/spa but there is a very thin separate English manual buried in the box as well. Found it for $20 cheaper elsewhere but the AMAZING Crutchfield priced matched it. Thanks.

Pros: Very punchy, sounds great! Feature rich! Price!

Cons: A few more (digital) sound fields to choose from and could use more info on screen of receiver as to what sound field it is using . Crappy Manual.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne Beach, FL on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Receiver! Set up with surround sound on big living room TV. Little thinner vertically than several others which works well with limited space in the cabinet below the TV. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My second sony receiver in this case I like the simple configuration, an the setup I great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Manual limitation

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Manual only has French and Spanish. English for the shipment I received only has a web link for English version. Set up does not remind people of needed authentication before doing anything else. Had better receivers and purchase experience before.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 14 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Jeff from Proctorville, OH on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great AVR. In a room approx 14x17 it has plenty of power for my set up. 'm currently running a 5.1 set up, with front towers bi amped. It's paired with Polk monitor 60 fronts, cs10 center and t15 for surrounds. Never needed to go over 1/2 volume. Around 40% is quite loud in thus room. Hdmi input switching and controlling othef devices works flawlessly as well. But TV, blurry etc are all Sony. Not sure that matters though. If you want a good AVR on a budget and don't have a very large room, it well serve you well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-DH790

Crutchfield customer from Worcester, MA on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing system!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

The BEST receiver for the price!!

Jerome from Arlington, TX on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this receiver! I've always used the Sony STR Series for my home theater and game room. I now own 2 of the latest models and Crutchfield had the best prices and really fast shipping! They even sent me a postcard thanking me for my purchase...that was awesome!

Pros: Easy setup, compatible with all the latest 4K technology.

Cons: None at all.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great for the $ but info need clarity

Gabe from South Deerfield on 10/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not disappointed but also not 100% loving it. What I got for the price is very acceptable and works well as a home theater receiver. What I wasn't totally thrilled about was the fact that each place I looked gave me different power ratings. Some saying 145x7 and others saying 90 watts per channel at 6 ohms. What's the actual answer? What is the wattage at 8 ohms? Anyway, I love the low profile size. Some receivers are so damn tall! The fact that I got a setup mic, atmos audio, dual sub output and a lot of options to adjust each speaker groups volume and crossover is pretty awesome for a sub $500 model. Lastly, I was a bit bent that Crutchfield was advertising 2 day shipping for items over $xx.xx but I didn't get it for 5 days. After going back on the site I saw that there all sorts of exceptions to the two day shipping.

Pros: Price, options, fine tuning, dual sub outputs

Cons: Conflicting watts ratings

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Good sound & picture

Owner from Santa Fe, NM on 8/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good for music and movies with my two ELAC Debut B6.2 bookshelf speakers as only speakers. Stereo separation not noticeable with bookshelf speakers. Even with speakers 15 feet apart sound appears centered at TV. Adding an ELAC C6.2 center speaker helps with stereo separation, but still not pronounced.

Pros: Sound is excellent in 2.0 and 3.0 configurations. Picture from Netflix, Amazon Prime and STARZ is good 1080p. FM works fine too. Runs cool.

Cons: Stereo effect minimal. Buyer should read the Sony on-line "Help Guide" at https://docs.sony.com/release//Help_4731211111.pdf In particular note the "sound field" description and note that some choices disable the center speaker or the sub woofer. The choice of "sound field" is all the control the listener has.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 18 found this helpful

Just right

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, TX on 8/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I need and more. Easy-to-use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

TOP