Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony WF-1000XM4

True wireless earbuds with adaptive noise cancellation and Bluetooth® (Silver)

MFR # WF1000XM4/S

Sony WF-1000XM4

Sony WF-1000XM4

True wireless earbuds with adaptive noise cancellation and Bluetooth® (Silver)

MFR # WF1000XM4/S

54 reviews
View this product

Great for listening; not so great for activity

Andrew from Washington, DC on 11/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for listening; not so great for activity. These buds provide really rich sound when they're in your ears properly. Easy to do and maintain if you're at your desk or relaxing in bed. But if you plan to move around they're not so great. They start to get loose, and may fall out if you're moving a lot. So not great for exercising, and even worse if there's wind, because they pick up a lot of wind noise (I can only imagine how much worse if I were a fast runner). Buy for the home but look elsewhere if you plan to use for workouts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Ross from New York, NY on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My only complaint about these is that the case feels a bit cheap. But that's the only complaint.sound, fit, look, functionality and everything are fantastic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, best active noise cancellation

Crutchfield customer from Branson, MO on 11/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I washed my iPod Pros, and now I'm glad I did! These are so head and shoulders above Apple's iPods it isn't even a competition! The hi fidelity sound is AMAZING. I was stand next to a backhoe, and could not hear it! I literally took out the ear pod because I thought the equipment had turned off! One ear of mine had to adjust a bit to having it in, but within 2 days I don't even notice them. Love that I can stop playback just by speaking! And, I can turn that off if I want. So glad I got these. I literally can practice my Russian while I work. :)

Pros: Best active noise cancellation Quality materials & construction Great features customization Comes with Sm, Med, and Lrg inserts Lasts 6-8 hours, then recharged very quickly from case!

Cons: Does not work with Siri iPhone Siri alternates are worthless.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A worthy upgrade.

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, IN on 11/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with these. They are lower profile than my older XB700's and fit well. The noise cancelling is very effective. After getting off my mower I've questioned whether it was even still running! It's great being able to easily switch between NC and ambient if you need to carry on a conversation without removing them. Getting used to the touch controls. Found you have to handle them by the edges to prevent accidentally invoking a touch control. Battery life is excellent.

Pros: Comfort, function, appearance, battery life, noise cancelling is excellent, can use them independent of the other.

Cons: No volume controls on the buds.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound great but call quality is lacking

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 10/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Music sounds great, wonderful spatial ambiance and bass. Sounds better than AirPods Pro, but phone conversation quality is really subpar. I can hear people fine, but I was told I sound like I am in a tunnel. Fit is hit or miss, right pod would fall out with slight movement like piking up a piece of paper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Lees Summit, MO on 10/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I appear to have those strange ears that just can't handle these particular ear buds. I tested the small and medium tips. The medium tips were uncomfortable and the one of the smaller tips actually stuck in my ear when I tried to remove them after a run. I have been a headphone junkie for years experimenting with different types of headphones looking for the perfect solution that fits all situations. The quest continues. Good sound, easy to connect, small package. Ambient vs Noise Cancelling was a little tricky as touching the side of the buds would change it. I was excited about these because my Apple AirPods Pro require continuous adjustment on runs...once again, my ears appear to be that strange size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Telluride, CO on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wish these would have fit my ears but the plastic casing made my ears sore after an hour of use. Otherwise great buds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must have set of earbuds

MICHAEL from NEW ROCHELLE, NY on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best earbuds I've ever owned. Better than my Sennheiser earbuds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 10/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want to use just one you can only use right, cannot connect to multiple devices you can save 8 but only connect to one at a time, every time you change to a device you must reset sound to either ambient or noise canceling it wont remember last choice. Sound quality and noise canceling are good. Just was expecting more versatility.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

They do everything extremely well.

Fred from Leander, TX on 10/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best earbuds I've owned. Amazing sound, great noise cancelling, and call quality is very good. These earbuds do everything extremely well.

Pros: Sound quality Noise cancelling Call quality Call connection App functionality and control

Cons: Must manually connect to new device.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Mantua, OH on 10/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent noise cancelling for mowing grass. Very good noise cancelling for playing drums. Have not fully broken them in yet, but initially, the bass could be better, but it's still very good. Spectacular clarity.

Pros: Noise cancelling, appearance, build quality.

Cons: Could have better low end, but have not broken in yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 10/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, minor defects

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, MA on 9/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gorgeous sounding headset with great noise cancellation. I find the sound balanced, with good bass and very detailed structure. When you hear a violin being plucked or a drum beat you can hear the higher order harmonics.Good with all sorts of music, and with voice. If you are buying a headset for the way it sounds you won't be disappointed. The command set which uses two sensor, one on each ear, is inadequate. There are three functions: playback, sound level, and noise suppression, and you can only configure two of those three from the headphone's app. I used playback and sound level, but that makes a pass through feature that allows you to hear ambient voices and sound inaccessible. Jabra has a better command set with its sensors. You will miss the extra functionality. Another issue is dropout. When I go running these units have a tendency to go into listen mode (as if I were speaking) interrupting whatever playback I have going. I've looked for some sort of threshold setting in the app that would correct this, but I haven't found it. For me, this problem is one that will limit where and how I use this headset. I wrestled with returning these headphones but decided that the quality of the sound overrode the defects mentioned. I'll keep them and get a more exercise friendly set to bounce around with. A shout out to Sony for brilliant non-plastic packaging. The units come in specially designed cardboard that are crafted like a jewelry box.

Pros: Gorgeous, balanced sound with fine detail. App portents future upgrades.

Cons: Poor sensor command set. Too frequent dropout.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, CA on 9/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! The units stay in place, are comfortable and the sound is outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A New Level of Audio Quality

Crutchfield customer from Greenwich, CT on 9/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These ear buds have by far the best sound of any I've tried (admittedly, I have not tried the Apple Airpod Pro). The bass is amazing and it feels like the sound is coming from inside your head, not through your ears! They are very comfortable and the software comes with a fitting program to find the right size ear piece. The controls do take some getting used to and it's a little frustrating that there are no volume controls on the devices themselves - volume is controlled via your phone. There is apparently a voice activated volume option that I haven't explored yet. But all in, I'm extremely happy with these headphones. I'm a musician and have always hated the audio quality of any in-ear headphones I've tried, but these have truly amazing sound.

Pros: Incredible sound Very comfortable, secure fit Great battery life

Cons: Controls take some getting used to No volume control on device

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, TX on 9/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been using these primarily at work, and loving them. Like others have said, the fit is better for those of us with larger ears, I think. My wife has tried them but they're much trickier to fit in her smaller ears. Sound quality out of the box definitely leaves something to be desired, but a short time spent tweaking the EQ via the app produces great sound, to my ear.

Pros: Versatility Sound (once tuned)

Cons: Not for smaller ears

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Silence to the maximum

Titus from Wasilla, AK on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing! These kill my AirPods Pro, from noise canceling to battery life. Worth every penny! If you also own the WH1000XM4s like me, you can put the WF1000XM4s under them and have another level of silence. Ambient Sound Mode is incredible too! Crutchfield ships fast, even to Alaska. Don't hesitate any more. Click that order button and you won't have any regrets!

Pros: Noise Canceling- impeccable

Cons: Slight Bulk

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great. The noise canceling is impressive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Converse, TX on 8/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best earbuds I have ever purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, may need to tweak your fit

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 8/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is great, exactly what I expected from Sony. I taken calls with traffic and wind around me, friends say they didn't hear anything and thought I was on my office headset. My comfort rating is based on the supplied ear tips. Fit is always a personal thing with ear buds. I'm glad I had some extra silicon ear tips from previous bud purchases - I much prefer them to the foam tips provided by Sony. I got a much better fit using the silicon tips, especially when exercising.

Pros: Sound quality Ease of connectivity

Cons: Foam ear tips may not be for everybody

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Job Sony

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 8/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were my first venture into noises canceling earbuds. So far I am more than satisfied. The sound is wonderful with crisp highs, great mids, and satisfying bass. Note the Android/Apple app is great for controlling noise canceling and other characteristics, including equalization for which these buds respond well. I believe my Sennheisers have a more spacious soundstage but the Sony's ultimately resolve the music and instruments better. I probably abuse these by wearing them when I use my zero turn mower but they work so well to cancel much of the noise and that mower is quite loud. I did "upgrade" my earbuds with Comply ear tips and they hold like glue no matter what I'm doing. For me, they are also more comfortable. In all, Sony did a phenomenal job with these earbuds and I am elated using them. Bases on other reviews I know I'm not alone in this sentiment.

Pros: Noise-canceling, sound signature, comfort, secure hold

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Decent, awaiting future firmware updates.

Crutchfield customer from Rockport, TX on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, wish they could go a little louder, but maybe I'm getting old. I performed the firmware update and sometimes they're flaky when swapping between noise cancelling and ambient sound. They reboot/disconnect/reconnect when swapping between the two options. I finally got them on with noise cancelling and haven't touched the settings. Sometime they freak out when enabling Bluetooth on my device and swapping between apps. I like them, just hoping another firmware update will solve these minor issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Superb Earbuds!

Crutchfield customer from Morganton, NC on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best pair of earbuds I've ever owned, coming from a pair of Galaxy buds + these put those to shame worth the extra money for getting better battery, sound quality, and amazing noise cancellation I would recommend to anyone looking for a set of high quality earbuds i rate 5/5 only issue to me is they can become uncomfortable after wearing for long periods of time

Pros: Battery, sound, noise cancellation

Cons: Can become uncomfortable, can't connect multiple devices

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great detailed sound with good bass, but only 3 pairs of foam ear tips .in this price range little disappointed :(

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Silver is Not Silver, Some glitches. Sound is Great

Crutchfield customer from Farmingdale, NJ on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality and stable bluetooth connection. However, I was totally disappointed in the color description as "Silver." That description is very misleading and the actual color looks nothing like silver, and not even white. It's more of natural stone gray or putty color (like the old computers before computers like the Mac became silver). This color in my ear looks more like a hearing aid than cool headphone earbuds. I will have to return it at my own shipping cost and buy the black instead. The buds do have some bugs such as switching between Off, Ambient or Noise Canceling on its own and regularly makes a chime as it does so even though I did not command it to. I assume such bugs will be ironed out with updates. While the Noise Canceling is very good for continuous monotonous sounds, it does not work to cancel out another person's snoring (I hoped it would). I was unable to get the earbuds to make a perfect seal in my left ear even though I kept switching bud sizes and L to R nd R to L. It seems I might need a larger ear piece than the "Large" so will have to buy aftermarket ones that fit onto the Sony and into my ear. I still want the black ones because music sounds great through these and the app allows a lot of customization of sound and functions. Once the glitches/bugs are worked out I'll give it a 5 rating. PS. While the case is nice and compact, it is not easy to get the earbuds out of the small tight case when held in by the case's strong magnets.

Pros: Excellent sound clarity, volume and richness. Does not fall out of the ear. Compact case is very portable. The earbuds are nice and small compared to some others out there.

Cons: Wrong color description. Noise cancellation is good but could be better. The buds fit in my ear but I can never get the left ear bud to make a perfect seal. Quirky things have happened like functions changing by themselves while wearing them..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Davis, CA on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a huge fan of these! They're my first pair of true wireless earbuds, though I've tried out airpods and airpod pros as well. I normally use the largest size of silicone tips with my earbuds, and so I've been using the largest size foam tips that come with these, and they work great. They seal out sound great, even without noise cancelling on. The noise cancelling works very well, though the ambient sound isn't quite as good as airpod pros. Overall I really enjoy these! Additionally, I love the packaging. It's a very small cardboard case with the earbuds and case inside, and is biodegradable. It doesn't feel like a waste at all, and even if it isn't terribly flashy, it still looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Buena Park, CA on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It exceeded my expectations. The design is nice. Noise cancelling is perfect. The fit in the ear is very comfortable. I enjoy the multifunctional features of this earphone. The battery life is super long. It's worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Rockledge, FL on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great battery life. 7/10 sound quality. ANC is very good.

Pros: Bass, Battery life, ANC, app.

Cons: Eartips. Don't sound as good as sennheiser tw2 or mw08.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

There is no perfect wireless earbud

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been holding out on buying a pair of wireless earbuds until I found some some with active noise cancelling and good battery life. The Sony WF 1000-XM4 excel in those categories. In terms of fit and comfort, the buds can make my ears sore after wearing more than a couple hours. I found that the foam tip size you choose will make a drastic difference in how they fit and perform. If you go too small, the noise cancelling won't work effectively, and the ear bud will press harder against the side of your ear and become uncomfortable. For me the medium foam tips that come installed worked the best. Sound quality is great when using active noise cancelling. This is a matter of taste, but to me the sound is somewhat tinny and hollow when noise cancelling is off. It will also take a higher volume to hear your music over any background noise when ANC is off. The EQ settings will also make a big difference. I find "Excited" and "Enhanced Vocals" to sound the best on most music. The problems I've found range from minor to deal breaker depending on your usage. Only the right ear bud can connect by itself. That means you can't swap to the left one while the other is charging if you like to wear one at a time. Also, the noise cancelling occasionally cuts out for a split second, usually while turning my head. I'm not sure if it's a defect with my pair or a quirk of the noise cancelling mics. All said and done, I am happy with my purchase, but these are not perfect.

Pros: + Active noise cancelling is excellent + Sound quality is good* (but only when used with noise cancelling) + Setup was automatic and easy + Bluetooth connection is solid

Cons: - Noise cancelling sometimes cuts in and out - Sound quality is not great when used without noise cancelling - Ear buds are not very comfortable when worn for longer periods (at least for me) - Only the right earbud can be connected solo -App is sometimes buggy when reconnecting or updating

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Wheat Ridge, CO on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product! The quality of the noise cancelling is most impressive.

Pros: Very high quality product.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Crown Point, IN on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The left ear bud has a bad pinging sound like someone talking through a snare drum without the chain rattle. Been waiting for a call back from tech support. These might have to go back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your headphones. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best in class in ear noise cancelling

Crutchfield customer from Captain Cook, HI on 7/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds just as good as my WH-1000 XM3 plus EQ. enough said

Pros: Awesome noice cancellation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from South Amboy, NJ on 7/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once You find which foam tips best fit your ears,you are in for a treat ! Sound quality is first rate,well balanced and with theq from the app you can custimize to your liking !! I highly recommened these !!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Morrisville, VT on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality and awesome noise cancellation. Cannot speak to sweat/water resistance yet because I've only used them for a week. Could have been more secure and stable in its fitting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another great headphone product by Sony

Craig from Sacramento, CA on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these as replacements for the Sony WF-1000XM3. There are a number of improvements over the M3's: sound quality, ANC, Bluetooth stability, size, and battery life. They are very quick to power on and connect to my phone once placed in the ears. These are much smaller than the M3's allowing them to fit under a full-face motorcycle helmet. The new foam ear tips provide a snug fit and allow music to be heard at moderate volumes when riding a motorcycle at freeway speeds. The case is also smaller and has a flat bottom allowing it to stand on its own. Battery life is dramatically better than the M3's. The biggest weakness of the M4's is telephone audio quality (for the callee). Simply put, people cannot hear me when there is background noise. Overall another great headphone product by Sony.

Pros: Smaller size (compared to the XM3) Stable Bluetooth connectivity Excellent battery life Great ANC

Cons: Sub-par telephone call performance

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound but spotty fit

Crutchfield customer from Shickshinny, PA on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I have had these Sony ear buds for a few weeks. I originally bought them as a replacement for some Galaxy Buds + that I may or may not have accidentally ran over with a lawn mower when they fell out of my pocket. I love the secure fit of the Sonys due to the foam ear tips, for me the foam ear tips make the product. The ANC is amazing, and compared to other ear buds I've had they are the best, almost no discomfort from pressure caused by ANC and it blocks out a lot more sound. The sound quality is great, everything is super clear with a fairly wide Soundstage, my only complaint here is I wish it had a bit more low end bass (please keep in mind I haven't played with EQ settings much yet). My only complaint with these headphones is that they have a tendency to press on the ridges in my ear and get quite painful after a while, I highly suggest trying these to see how they fit in your ear before purchasing if possible. All in all great pair of headphones just make sure they fit you.

Pros: Great sound, snug fit

Cons: Painful after hours of listening

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

#1 Wireless Earbuds

Crutchfield customer from Gilbertsville, PA on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a lot of research on wireless earbuds and these Sony buds came in my first place and I am so glad I purchased them. They are very easy to setup and use and their sound is totally incredible. A little pricey but I am worth it.

Pros: Incredible sound, easy to setup, easy to use

Cons: A little pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Waianae, HI on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are just hanging out, these Sony earbuds are great. If you are walking or jogging, not so much. After an hour of active exercise, my ears were sore. And repeated squelching to adjust sound was annoying. I give this product three stars because the sound is wonderful when free of issues.

Pros: Great sound and noise suppression.

Cons: Uncomfortable after prolonged (45minutes and beyond) use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Whitestone, NY on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headphones

Pros:

Cons: Sometimes hard to place in ear

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Noise cancelation cuts in and out making a whooshing sound. Would not recommend until they get it fixed. Excellent earbuds other than that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sounding wireless Earbud with ANC

Peter from Milford, MA on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For this category of product, the sound is excellent. They have a nice warm, detailed sound with a pretty good sound stage. Wireless earbuds with LDAC and ANC combined, does a great job of keeping outside noise out. They also have great touch control options for each ear. Ambient sound mode works well for hear folks when the music is low volume or paused. The bad is that Sony only supplies three sets of foam ear tips. I could not get a good or comfortable seal. Luckily I had a pair of ear buds with a great selection of tips and I found a pair that worked great. The integrated wearing condition test is a great addition to the app for checking your seal.

Pros: Good sound for the category High bit rate LDAC support Excellent ANC Small and light case size Good battery life

Cons: Supplied ear tips do not work for me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best of all: noise cancelling, sound quality, app functions, call quality...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better fit and sound quality than AirPods Pro they replaced.

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use earbuds mainly for noise-cancelling and music listening while mowing the lawn. With the AirPods Pro, I never could get a tight seal, even with aftermarket foam tips, and the sound quality was just OK. These Sony buds not only fit my ears better, but the noise-cancelling performs better and the sound quality is great. The Sony Headphones app has an eq built-in that allows the sound to be tweaked to your liking, making them an excellent choice that I highly recommend.

Pros: Fit, noise-cancellation, sound quality.

Cons: Tap-controls take some getting used to, especially with sweaty hands.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional earbuds that have awesome sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the new WF-1000XM4. These are so comfortable and stay put in your ears. The included foam tips cuts out the treble a little, so I swapped them out for JVC Spiral Dots and now I can hear the treble quiet well. Adequate bass even with the included foam tips. My AirPod Pros have been relegated to the back. These wireless buds support LDAC and along with the Headphones Connect app from Sony they form a great combo. You can use the equalizer in the app to tune your music. I've listened to Apple Music lossless spatial audio on my iPhone 12, Tidal HiFi and everything sounds very close as my wired IEMs. The noise cancellation is excellent.. almost as close to my Airpod Pro. Phone calls are also decent on this and the Bluetooth range is great .. works when I walk downstairs in my house with my phone in the upstairs office. All in all the best wireless Bluetooth ear buds I've owned so far .. the fit and comfort of these are phenomenal. They just stay put and won't fall off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Bryan from Apo, AP on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had my XM4 headphones for a few days, but I'm already disappointed. After fully setting them up, making sure I had an airtight seal according to the app, trying different equalizer settings, and listening to different types of music at my desk I decided to go for a run. I tried with ANC on, and could hear every step in the headphones. Literally every time my foot hit the ground the headphones made a noticeable noise. I turned ANC off and the wind noise was too much to handle even though it was a light breeze. The plus side is they did not move during the entire run...totally solid and never needed adjustment. There are recurring issues with putting them back in the case and later putting them back in my ears...they normally won't reconnect unless they are disconnected for a long time (iPhone). The sound quality is pretty good, but not great, and not on the same level as similarly priced in/over ear noise cancelling BT headphones. Voice quality on hands free calls was good. Hopefully a chat with customer support will help, but so far I'm not impressed and al leaning towards returning them. I installed the latest firmware update and have not noticed a difference at all.

Pros: Stable fit, good sound quality, small case

Cons: BT connection issues

Crutchfield response on 7/6/2021
Bryan, we're sorry you're disappointed with your headphones. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Emeryville, CA on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Please buy these are worth it every penny,Sound really good.

Pros: Sony did it again

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The best option for earbuds right now!

Crutchfield customer from Isabela, PR on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound incredible, all the customization options are great, and the Noise Canceling is one of the best out there, and all of this with a wonderful battery life. The only downside is the you can only connect one equipment at a time.

Pros: Noise Canceling, battery life, sound quality and incredible app and features .

Cons: Don't support multiple equipment connections via Bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sounds, reliable and comfortable enough

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Mayaguez, PR on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sorprendente sonido. Cancelación de ruido alucinante. Cómodos para usarse por periodos largos de tiempo. Los recomiendos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A bit pricey, but very nice!

Crutchfield customer from Belleville, IL on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice earbuds! Great sound quality that is very close to over the ear headphones. I have had some issues with the noise cancellation/odd rumble noise, but a chat session with Sony led to a very quick solution. This product is brand new, and issues are to be expected for early adopters. I look forward to firmware updates that improve the overall functionality of the earbuds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Milpitas, CA on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, very comfortable. Once you put them on, it is so quiet with ANC. Outperform my XM3 version bought last year. Battery last long too. Sounds much better then XM3. Worth it to upgrade to WF1000XM4.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good not great

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good earbuds. Not the greatest as everyone says but very enjoyable. 4 stars because the setup process and Bluetooth connection is really spotty.

Pros: Anc sound is loud eq adjustments

Cons: Bluetooth connectivity .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WF-1000XM4

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, WI on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As soon as I saw the size of these compared to the XM3's I knew that these would be worth a try. Boy, was I right. These are sized down to fit comfortably without giving the feeling they are basketballs. But the best part: they sound fabulous. A full range natural sound giving me the best experience in earbud listening. Plus they rival my galaxy+ buds in all day or all night listening power! For classical, jazz, rock, or spoken word, they just work without annoying outside sound bleeding in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect all around ear buds

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield, NH on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have tried quite a few of these wireless earbuds and finally found a pair that checks all the boxes. They fit great and they sound amazing. The anc is fantastic.

Pros: Great ANC. Very centered sound and they stay in your ears

Cons: For me, the long term comfort is marginal but I have oddly shaped ears too?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP