Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
349 507 173 3
Connect ID #
349 507 173 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony WH-RF400

Wireless TV headphones with transmitter

MFR # WHRF400

Sony WH-RF400

Sony WH-RF400

Wireless TV headphones with transmitter

MFR # WHRF400

51 reviews
View this product

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 11/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These work great. I've not experienced any issues yet. They're easy to install and I look forward to using them for years to come.

Pros: Easy install. Not too expensive.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Hortonville, WI on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good for my 91 year old mother who is hard of hearing. Bad is how it connects to your tv. Make sure to verify it is compatible. Luckily had a different tv that actually had an audio output plug. They did send package with no ac adapter had to call and wait till that arrived. Otherwise product as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Conway, AR on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great earphones by Sony. Crutchfield service personnel were very helpful in getting me what I wanted Thank you John Ross

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Glenpool, OK on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have not had the time to get it to work right yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/21/2020
We're sorry you're not able to enjoy your headphones yet. If you have any problems getting them set up, please contact our Tech Support team. They'll be glad to help. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Tenafly, NJ on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

they work well. The other Sony headphone I received as a present did not work as well, but after about 10 years it was time to upgrade.

Pros: When I listen to music station on the TV the sound is good and when I walk around there with the headphones on the signal stays strong.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Jackson Center, PA on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does increase the volume, but I was hoping for for a Decrease in Background sounds, so I could hear what was being said.

Pros:

Cons: background sounds are too loud

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Winter Harbor, ME on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product and super tech support. Headset works as advertised and is a Great Buy. Had trouble with setup with my existing universal remote and surround sound system so called Crutchfield Tech Support and got most knowledgeable support person ever experienced who helped me solve the problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound quality.

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality. My living room has an echo, and this headset solves the problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product as advertised. Satisfied with the product and Crutchfield service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitely Noise Reducing

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These wireless radio frequency earphones are great. My television is too old for Bluetooth so I needed to go old school. I work in a studio with lots of noisy machinery and these cut out all the noise and let me hear the television. Sometimes they work too well, I don't always hear when the phone rings or a customer comes enters the studio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

They don't last.

Guest from Coralville, IA on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved them while they worked. But...they didn't last a year. This is a complaint I have seen in other reviews. Not sure why they quit working. Wondering if some electrical component has a short shelf life.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: They don't last even though we have been careful with them.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

What happened to Sony's quality ?

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, CA on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is unfortunate that Sony released for manufacturing and that Crutchfield offered for sale this poorly performing product. Audio quality is especially important with headphones. Their very function is to shut out other sounds and allow you to hear very well what the speakers are producing. Unfortunately along with the otherwise very good quality sound, there is also a background crackling audio present on most mid-range frequency sounds. This is bad enough for typical television audio, but is quite destructive to the enjoyment of music. Since I purchased two units I was able to preclude the possibility that I had simply received one defective unit. Both sets fail to clearly reproduce the sounds being input to the transmitter without adding the crackling. I tested with both headphones utilizing one transmitter or the other and tried all three transmitting frequencies. There is no static or "hiss" of poor radio signal transmission/reception - only the added crackling which I suppose is a byproduct of the decompression process.

Pros: Very easy to set up and use. The recharging concept and function are excellent. The headphoines are very comfortable.

Cons: So many things about them are right, they should have been perfect. But they aren't. The terrible addition of noise to the otherwise excellent sound reproduction makes them annoying to use.

Crutchfield response on 8/25/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your headphones. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Streamwood, IL on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for my 85 yr old mother she loves them thank you so much cructhfield

Pros: great for people hard of hearing

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400 cordless headphones.

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, WY on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Solved the problem of missing dialogue due to tinny TV speakers. Headphones re-charge on the transmitter/stand. A clever feature is that if the rechargeable batteries ran out mid-movie, you can put in regular AAA alkaline batteries temporarily.

Pros: Good sound quality. Comfortable. Long battery life. Small footprint. No more headphone extension cords to trip over.

Cons: It takes a little practice to find and adjust the volume control on the headphones without look.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are non stop crackle and pop, like there's lightning strikes constantly. After using them for a couple days, the sound quit working on my tv. I'm very disappointed with these and Sony products right now!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/27/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your headphones. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesvle, VA on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Sound quality is excellent. Comfortable over the ears. I wear these to watch/listen to TV even when no one else is at home. Good buy for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Mc Cormick, SC on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can hear dialogue with these on show I previously could not understand

Pros: Very clean and clear dialogue

Cons: A little warm on the ears after an hour or two

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Mustang, OK on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. Improved over the last series that we had for my wife.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Elmore, AL on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for my wife who has a significant hearing loss. She now can hear every thing on the TV, and go anywhere in the house w/o missing a verbal moment of the program or music she is listening to. She loves them.

Pros: She states good clear hearing of all programs & music. Easy to set up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Satisfied client

Crutchfield customer from Manville, NJ on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great, my family is so happy not to hear my tv all night long. Price was amazing. Recommended to other family members who will be purchasing them. Great job Sony and Crutchfield.

Pros: Light weight , comfortable

Cons: Directions should have you put in rechargeable battery on delivery it takes 7 hours for first complete charge. That way if there a gift there ready to go.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

My key to late night viewing happiness

Crutchfield customer from Royal Oaks, CA on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Comfortable and light weight--the tone is good as is the clarity--I would say a quality product for a nice price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Aunt can hear

Crutchfield customer from Urbanna, VA on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for 92 year old aunt. She can now hear her tv again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Townville, SC on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the head phones are great, and your sevice was even better love working with you guys, keep up the great work. thx stephen

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Southfield, MI on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is good and headphones are comfortable. Buttons are a little difficult to find by feel on the headphones and charging on stand requires some extra wiggling of unit to get the charging to start. But a fine product for the price. Enjoy, CWW

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great work from home option.

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, IA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice for watching TV while wife works from home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Beavercreek, OH on 3/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once you buy an inexpensive 1/4" to 3.5 mm adapter for your home theater receiver , they set up easily enough. Unfortunately, they are subject to interference/noise, and don't handle low frequencies well. But they were inexpensive!

Pros: Inexpensive, good build quality.

Cons: Subject to interference, poor low frequency performance.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Purchase

Crutchfield customer from Bonita Springs, FL on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I'm happy with this TV headset. I own some of the higher end Sony headphone that are much better, but for the price these are perfect for watching TV. If I needed to replace these, I would buy another pair. It's a decent and easy-to-use headset. PLUSES: - Easy to Setup - Good sound - Much better than a standard TV speaker and even our sound bar. As with any headset, I can hear greater sound details in a movie. - Love the charging base and instant-on control from the headset. - Sound does not escape to disturb my spouse when sleeping (cups over the ear). NOT SO GREAT: - Power switch and volume controls are on the side of the headset, but not too easy to find find without looking - Lot's of hard plastic - fit/finish. But ear-pads are very soft. - Some minor static and rumbling at lower volume and frequencies even though I'm 10-12 feet from the transmitter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Fox Lake, IL on 2/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing clarity

Pros: Functions exactly as advertised and what was needed.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Safety Harbor, FL on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once i received the headphones and the splittersfor connection ,the sound is very good and control for sound is easy to adjust, good buy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony Wireless Headphones Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Midland, MI on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Headphone set....comfortable and the sound is amazing!

Pros: Light Weight, Comfortable, Excellent Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400 Headset is the best !!

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the third Sony Wireless Headset this I have purchased over the last 15 years. These are the best by far. Excellent reception and excellent comfort! Easy to see that Sony research and know-how is at work to continue to improve their products. I definitely recommend this Sony product to all that are interested.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

VOLUME CONTROL

Crutchfield customer from Byron, IL on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The RF400 is a good headset. Very comfortable and good sound. I should mention that in my opinion the volume control is very sensitive. Rotate the control very little to change volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Hammonton, NJ on 1/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We were not able to connect these headphones to our smart TV. I will be returning them and searching for something else.

Pros: nice lightweight

Cons: unable to connect to our tv

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Buyer Beware

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to love these headphones, even tried two sets. They are a wonderful fit and as comfortable as any headphones I have owned over more than forty years. The set up is easy and they transmit from one end of my house to the other. So what's the problem.....the reception. They pop and hiss like a scratched LP and have the persistent static of a weak AM radio station. I tried every setting, moved the transmitter all over my house, and plugged them into different outlets....nothing worked. Ultimately, a headphone must be judged by the sound quality it produces; thus, my rating.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/31/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony Mdl WH-RF-400

Martin from WINDERMERE, FL on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased Sony Headphones Mdl WH-RF-400 for my son who lives in Florida. He expressed to me how much he likes and enjoys listening with the Sony headphones. Very good quality and rated very high. As usual Crutchfield is a very good and reliable company to deal with. Thank you, Martin

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Not worth the trouble

Crutchfield customer from Placerville, CA on 11/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unable to get the stupid thing to work. I've tried to get help but not able to get the help in a timely fashion.

Pros: None

Cons: Read above

Crutchfield response on 11/20/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the headphones set up and working properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Mc Farland, WI on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product that i'm So happy to have, since my hearing is deteriorating.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Hawley, PA on 7/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear audio, easy set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Fairhope, AL on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TV ears work great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, TX on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality at a very reasonable price point. A little more bass & larger ear muffs would be nice, but over all sound quality is good & headphones are comfortable for extended wear. Crutchfield reps are very congenial & knowledgeable. Best service you will find anywhere!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect Father's Day Gift

Crutchfield customer from Thomasville, NC on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am excited to give these headphones to my husband for Father's Day.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

No shock

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 3/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these headphones for my dad because he likes the tv loud but his old headphones shocked him every time when picking them up so he would always send mom to get them for him. Mom likes these much better than the last ones. Dad said they sound great but he misses mom getting shocked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Raymond from Brooklyn, NY on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These cans serve the purpose of peaceful coexistence between the sleeping and the binge-watcher. Couldn't really tell the difference voice on/off when switching back and forth. Was odd that I had to auto-tune for a frequency for clear transmission. They were comfortable though not necessarily truly over the ears; didn't feel weird even after a couple of hours. Compared to my Sennheisers RFs, these are probably 2 notches down but more than adequately serve the purpose; thankfully, the price reflected that. So it you don't want to drop a few extra bucks, you'll be happy with these cans.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Guest from Greeley, CO on 1/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Usable 150' distance is questionable. Phones have drop out if moving at all and the range is only about 40 feet if sitting quietly, not moving your head.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/28/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your headphones. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 6 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works great. Easy to set up,and adjust In all ways. Well built and comfortable. Whole experience buying was a breeze. Could not be more pleased!

Pros: Well built, great sound, and easy to set up on tv and adjust.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

The Headphones Work Great for Us

Wayne from Coldspring, TX on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony WH-RF400 wireless headphones have been a welcome addition to our television viewing and listening. My wife doesn't hear as well as I do, so she likes the volume loud. When she wears the headphones, I can listen at a comfortable volume.

Pros: Great sound quality, lightweight

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, IL on 1/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted and battery life for headset is awesome! Great sound!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Brookfield, WI on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. My mom and aunt have the sabe and they convinced me this was the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound

Craig from Sacramento, CA on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With the lights out, you think you are at the theater, good price, good service. You get all the sound and miss nothing. Oh and they are extremely comfortable to wear. Thank You

Pros: Easy to hook up, great sound, good price and comfortable over the ear headphones.

Cons: Still looking, have not found anything I didn't want.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, CO on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife doesn't like listening to TV programs I am watching so these wireless headphones work perfectly. I can hear all the dialog now that I miss due to my slight hearing loss and tinnitus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony WH-RF400

Crutchfield customer from Princeton Jct, NJ on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my ear phones. I have been struggling to hear the TV for years. If I can hear it then it is too loud for the rest of my family. Now, I can watch and listen to the program without worrying about it being too loud. I am in heaven!!! Thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

TOP