Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth®

MFR # UBPX1100ES

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth®

MFR # UBPX1100ES

65 reviews
View this product

Passable but not audiophile-quality sound

Crutchfield customer from Kernersville, NC on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review relates primarily to the use of this Sony unit as a day-to-day music player. I intended to use it for occasional video playback, and had no problem getting through one UltraHD 4K disc without a hitch. But for my intent to use it as a primary CD/SACD/DVD-Audio music player, this unit's sound is mediocre to my ears. It's hard to describe other than that vocals are dull and the music is lifeless, like someone has thrown a heavy towel over the speakers. I've played all three music disc types, with the same impression of the resulting sound. It seems the player is tuned for heavy-bass movie soundtracks and spoken-word vocals at the expense of middle and upper range musical detail. It's not that the highs are clipped, but the balance is definitely tilted. I'm using the RCA-jack analog output connected to my stereo system, so I can't comment on the quality of the HDMI output audio-wise. My comparison units are the Marantz 6007 CD/HD music player, and a 10+ year old Yamaha DVD-S1800 multi-disc DVD/CD/SACD/DVD-A player. The Sony definitely improves over the Yamaha in terms of cleaner, more precise sound, which you'd expect from newer DAC technology and simple age difference, but can't hold a candle to the Marantz. Maybe not a fair comparison, but I was hoping for something better from the Sony. I guess I'll still have two disc players hooked up to the living room stereo going forward, and the search for SACD and DVD-Audio nirvana continues.

Pros: Multi-disc capability, interfaces well with the Sony TV, loads and starts quickly.

Cons: Analog audio output quality is precise yet ultimately unsatisfying.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Need more TV streaming.

Crutchfield customer from Jobstown, NJ on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product only has 4 streaming apps and no way to add other apps. I am very disappointed. Hopefully, the ability to add other apps will be added with software upgrades. Otherwise, the player works fine.

Pros: Excellent CD player

Cons: Need more video streaming apps

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente equipo y buen precio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Belfair, WA on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and has worled great so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Trials and Tribulations of My PERFECT Sony !!!

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went thru TWO Panasonic 820 BluRay Players. The first one was Defective ( NO FAULT of Crutchfield ). The Second was Manhandled by UPS to the point of ( It must be Returned ) again ( NO FAULT of Crutchfield ). So at one point in this Deal, I had two Panasonic 820's in my possession. ( Have only paid for one !!! ) What other Company would do this ??? I'm a Sony FANBOY right now ( TV, A/V Rec., and another older Audio / Video BluRay Player " H 1 " ) I looked at these problems with the Panasonic as a Message from God. So I ordered the BEST UHD 4K Universal BluRay Player from Sony. Just the Build Quality alone is Substantially Better. I was able to sample the Audio from the First Panasonic 820 ( To me it was Hollow, Bright, and Tinny ) The Audio output on this Sony is Superb. The Video is Amazing. Somebody was looking out for me to wind up with this Sony instead of the 820 Panasonic. When you combine all of this with the SERVICE I received, I'd be Dancing in the Street, if it wasn't Snowing. WIN, WIN, WIN !!!

Pros: Build Quality, Audio Quality, Video Quality, Ease of Integration into my System.

Cons: You have to switch Dolby Vision on and off ( No BIG Deal ).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A great value

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to purchase a good SACD player for quite awhile, but they tend to be very expensive. After reading the reviews, I decided to purchase this Sony. I think it's great, especially at the sale price. I had an older player and the sound was a bit harsh. This player offers detailed sound but highs are a bit rolled-off...very enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excelllent Player!

Crutchfield customer from New Market, AL on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent player! I actually bought it to use as a CD player to replace a California Audio Labs Icon ii. I needed something that would play SACDs and provide audiophile quality sound. I was a little apprehensive about Sony but I'm not disappointed.

Pros: Handles all the needs of a high end player including SACDs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

charles from Summit Ms on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So my Marantz Blu Ray finally played out so I ordered the Sony ES 1100 from Crutchfield, and it did not disappoint me. First I ordered this player on a Monday and it was delivered on Thursday. Set up was easy and loading is supper fast. Crutchfield is always easy to deal with and answered my questions.

Pros: Great product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Everything but...

Michael from Medford on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We received our new 4k Blu-ray player two days after ordering, which is pretty impressive considering where we live & how long other items from other vendors take to get here. The picture quality was fantastic, whether from disc or streaming. The startup time was very quick and input commands via the remote are so much faster than our other players. However, the player was unable to make it through a single playthrough of any of our 4k Blu-ray discs. It could be from 30 minutes to well over an hour before the player would lock-up, becoming unresponsive. All in all we tested seven discs in the unit and each one seized/froze the player. Crutchfield came to the rescue and did their best helping us troubleshoot the player, but in the end nothing worked. Five stars for the Crutchfield service team (like holy cow these people are friendly and knowledgeable) and two stars for the Sony.

Pros: Crutchfield

Cons: Sony

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Oregon, WI on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a new 4K Bluray and found this Sony ES. I hae seen some people comlain about Sony, but they do get some things right. Its really made a difference in my new 65 inch 4K set up.

Pros: Price and features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony es ubp x-1100es

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, NJ on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good buy, great product.4K upscaling the best ever and has a crystal clear sound. Makes me enjoy whatever I am playing. I really love this sony es ubp-x1100es player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Robert from CARLSBAD, CA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and super quick delivery! Thanks!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sony ES player

Alan from OREGON, WI on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great addition to my home surround system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome super HD playback!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, LA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For Bravia tv's this is no-brainer. It gives you the choice to hand off processing power to your tv. Pretty slick.

Pros: Plays everything. Interacts nicely with other Sony products. Highest quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

DVD Player - Sony

Crutchfield customer from Romeoville, IL on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality, and easy to use. Make the picture brighter and crisp. Worth the investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Blu Ray player but limited streaming device

Crutchfield customer from Highland, MI on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was replacing an older Oppo BluRay player that does not support 4K to match my new 4K TV and was aiming for video and audio performance that was on par with that unit. I've been using the Oppo for BluRay, Streaming apps, and streaming uncompressed audio files to a very nice sound system. The good: this things video performance and audio performance are fantastic! The bad: The USB for accessing my uncompressed audio files is in the front of the unit under the cover that denoted the "ES" badge of honor for the higher quality audio performance. This means if I want to leave the hard drive plugged in, it looks bad with a connector sticking out the front of the unit. My one other complaint is that the unit only comes with 3 apps for streaming. You Tube, Prime Video, and Netflix... so if you want Disney+ you are S.O.L. There is no way to download any other apps. I spent an hour on the phone with customer support trying to find out how - the first 3 Sony people were convinced something was wrong with my unit. Finally someone that knew this machine helped out my support guy and informed him this is all you get on this machine. You might think that's ok... future downloads... but, in fact, Sony assured me on the phone that is not possible with this unit as the apps are embedded in the firmware and will not be added to. Unfortunately the product page has a marketing blurb that leads one to believe otherwise. All in all, this is a great unit at what it can do, with reservations.

Pros: Excellent 4K video Excellent Audio Fast load times Can stream audio from a USB device

Cons: Only 3 streaming apps No upgradability for streaming apps No XLR audio outputs for Hi res audio USB port only in front of unit under a flap

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

Nice player for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Miramar, FL on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture and audio, right amount of inputs. Would be good if it had more streaming apps, and a better, brighter front display.

Pros: Plays all three, CD, SACD and DVDs. Has digital outputs, but analog also sounds great.

Cons: Small and dim front display.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, NJ on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've held off on getting a 4K DVD player for quite awhile and was using my XBOX One X as a DVD player and I did not like it, even when using a remote. That being said, I couldn't be happier with this player, as I am one step closer to completing my component entertainment center. And with the 18 month, no interest offer from Sony, this was an absolute "No Brainer." In addition, Crutchfield is the the best! Their knowledge and professionalism is unsurpassed! This Sony player is simply tremendous, versatile, and solidly built.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Seward, AK on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to set up. Played Hans Zimmer Live at Prague/ Exquisite. A lot of player for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Dan from SANTA CLARITA, CA on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really great 4K player. The only weird thing is that we have it hooked up to a 2K Sharp 80" TV and if you play a 4K disc the resolution is less than when we play a regular Blu Ray disc in it. Looking forward to having a 4K TV. We talked to tech support to make sure HDR i turned off, but it did not help.

Pros: Great player and fast loading

Cons: Poor resolution if it plays a 4K dic to a 2K TV compared to a Regular Blu Ray disc.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Fredonia, NY on 8/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great addition to my new Sony a8h tv perfect performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Not what I expect from the ES line

Bob from Bonney Lake, WA on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not worth it. This is supposed to be their best player. As others have mentioned, this player locks up occasionally. The only fix is to unplug it and plug it in again. Additionally, since the apps are not updateable, some of the streaming apps in the device no longer work as they are no longer compatible. Lastly, it does not seem to have Vision detection on the 4k blu rays. It plays regular blu rays, dvd's and cd's fine. The lockup issue is so annoying, I am seriously considering putting this thing up for sale and getting the Panasonic instead. At least the Panasonic has no issues with lockups.

Pros: Great picture, when it works

Cons: Locks up allot No Vision detection Outdated apps

Crutchfield response on 8/26/2020
Bob, we're sorry you're having issues with your blu-ray player. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

19 of 22 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Poncha Springs, CO on 8/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a quality DVD player that complimented my new system and this unit meets that need!

Pros: Easy to connect and use, and does a great job of up-scaling BT DVD's.

Cons: None that I have found

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Enjoying this upgrade to my home theater!

Crutchfield customer from Princeville, HI on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. It married up to my other Sony components well. Very easy to use and works with my Harmony remote. Even plays our old dvds and makes them look and sound better than ever. Our blu rays look better than ever also. I like the internet apps that come with it. Looking forward watching a 4K disc! I am very happy with this upgrade to my home theater system! Thank you for the the free 3 day shipping to Hawaii.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great player

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say? Great picture as expected. On a Sony 4K TV, it's a perfect match! The only issue others seem to be complaining about is Dolby Vision implementation, personally, I never like HDR and always felt it's an artificial enhancement that is far from realistic, so that issue does not bother me in the least, because I always disable it.

Pros: Plays all disk formats Excellent build quality Integrates well with Sony TV, but that's personal.

Cons: None. Maybe it could use more streaming apps, but I have 3 different devices in the same setup that offer all the streaming I need and more.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

So far this has been great!

Crutchfield customer from Goleta, CA on 7/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this has been great! I purchased this primarily for the audio quality including SACDs, which sound terrific. My regular CDs sound fine as well. I'm running it through analog cables and RCA plugs to my old-school amp. I'm looking forward to videos through the AVR via HDMI in the future.

Pros: Great sound! Looks fine. Very nice to have analog out via RCA plugs.

Cons: A bonus would have been start/stop controls on the player rather than only on the remote.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Don't waste your money on this player

Jeff from Hudson, FL on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If are looking for a good 4K HD player don't waste your money on this product. The unit I purchased will not play 4K DVD's without stopping when watching a movie. The image just stops and your screen is frozen. It stops playing on all my 4K discs. It plays Blu-ray Discs just fine. I've tried brand new 4K discs just out of the sleeve and they freeze up. When I play the same discs on my old cheap Samsung 4K player every disc that stops on the Sony will play though without any frozen screens. They should stop advertising this deck as a 4K player, it's not! I spent this much for this particular player because it syncs with my Sony flatscreen. If I wanted a Blu-ray player I would have bought one! A huge waste of money!!! I am very unhappy with this player.

Pros: Syncs with Bravia flatscreen

Cons: A 4K player that won't play 4K discs

Crutchfield response on 7/29/2020
Jeff, we're sorry you're having issues with your blu-ray player. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

14 of 15 found this helpful

Excellent Video Player, Decent Audio Performance, and ONE Drawback

Crutchfield customer from Beaufort, SC on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to handle SACD as well as Blu-Ray/DVD. Also wanted an improved interface for Netflix, YouTube, and general streaming. I'm quite happy with the player. It's faster to wake up than the Blu-Ray player it replaced, and provides a significantly sharper video image. It plays everything I've thrown at it. As an audio device, it's not as polished as a dedicated SACD player, but it's not presented as an audiophile-level player. The deciding factor in choosing this player was the last line in Crutchfield's description, which said it supported USB keyboard. When I tried a known-good wireless USB keyboard, I got 'Device Not Supported' nasties. Wired keyboard got 'No Device' error. The manual says nothing on the subject. A call to Crutchfield support netted no result, and a follow-up e-mail didn't either. ***The player does not support USB keyboards, wired or wireless***.

Pros: Excellent video performance Fast start-up Easy set-up, good remote Assignable 'Favorite' key

Cons: Does *NOT* support USB keyboard

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Very nice player

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture, very responsive to remote control. Loads Netflix in a couple of seconds. Only criticism (true for all new DVD players) -- few or no HDMI inputs.

Pros: Picture, response speed

Cons: few inputs

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

One of the best 4k units ever.

Michael from MYERSVILLE, MD on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great 4K Disc player. What seems to bother some people is the fact that this device does not auto detect Dolby Vision. That issue which is not an issue for me, is far outweighed by the construction and picture quality. Cant find a downside for me. Jill was my advisor and she is a perfect example of what we have come to expect from Crutchfield. Thank you!!

Pros: Construction and picture quality. Ease of use.

Cons: Nothing really. If i had to nit pick, i would say a backlit remote would be nice.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Doylestown, PA on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I want it to do and does it beautifully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Set-up, Great Features, Excellent Pictures and Sound

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the end, after significant research and comparison, I decided to purchase this unit over others because of its analog audio outputs. There are only a couple of other 4K Blu-ray DVD players out there with analog audio outputs, and they retail for around $1,000. (I missed the opportunity to purchase an Oppo at a sensible price). I own a vintage integrated amplifier that is a workhorse, putting out excellent sound day-after-day for 30-years, so it'll stay with me until one of us dies. This is my first Blu-ray player, and even though I don't yet have a 4K TV, the image is stunning. My current TV is a Sony Bravia model, and the TV and player easily married. Now can't wait to upgrade the TV as well, as soon as my budget allows. The audio certainly meets or exceeds my expectations. My old CD player didn't have even 24/96 capability, let alone SACD playback. But hey, for digital, who even needs a transport! The Sony easily logged into my home network, and now I can play anything from my computer hard drive. Also, it allows me to view all my photos and videos from my computer. Definitely neat. People complain about the limited streaming apps, but I'm not concerned about those. With a Roku it's all there anyway, and when I get my next TV I'm sure it'll include anything needed. Anyway, overall I have to give this Sony 5-stars. Hopefully it'll be as durable as their ES products should be.

Pros: Perfect picture, hi-res audio, easy connectivity, affordable price point.

Cons: The interface for the network connection is kind of clunky. It'll require some re-organization of folders and file names for clarity, but then that's probably something I should have been doing anyway.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Very nice player

Joe from THORNTON, CO on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plays my DVDs, Blu-Rays and UHD 4K HDR titles nicely. Very easy setup, very intuitive interface. I really enjoy being able to have it broadcast a Bluetooth connection, bypassing my receiver for late use. Seems quicker than previous models of Blu-Ray player I've owned at accessing the title menu. Good looking, sturdy chassis. Down 1 star for not letting me bypass media restrictions on fast forwarding through trailers, moving straight to playback or menu.

Pros: Bluetooth transmitter

Cons: Haven't found a way to set it to let me bypass or fast forward unskippable trailers, FBI warnings on media I've paid for.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

EBower

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is not a five star because there is a glitch in the Sony software that to date has no solution. If you sign onto Amazon Prime with this device, you will have to re-sign onto Amazon Prime every time you try to watch Amazon Prime on any TV in your network. This occurs even though the player is turned off. The only solution to this problem that I have found is to unplug the player and plug it back in only when you want to use it. Other than this major defect, this is a great player.

Pros: A great player.

Cons: Major incompatibility with Amazon Prime.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Good Player

Nick from Pierson on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Build quality is nice. It's a hefty unit. The front display is simplistic and doesn't draw attention. Buttons are nice and press with confirming clicks. Setup was super easy. All menu items were explained well on screen. I hard wire all my stationary devices to the network so internet connectivity was done in an instant. Amazon and Netflix services were easy as well. A quick look at Fury in 4k on Amazon looked very good and the sound was great. Netflix was a different story. The auto play clips that start when a show or movie is highlighted on the home screen causes the unit to load each clip. It's very annoying and makes Netflix almost unusable. First movie played was Bad Boys For Life. Picture and sound are great. Starts and stops well. Loading is pretty fast and it holds its spot. It's quiet. Skipping scenes is almost instantaneous. I use a Marantz SR8012 powering a Klipsch Reference Premiere 7.2.4 system with front, front wide, surround, Atmos upfiring front and surround. Samsung Q80R 65" television. The Sony communicates well with the receiver, and the Marantz menus adjust accordingly with the formats on the disc. The DTS track is outstanding. The remote is nice, intuitive, with confident button clicks. Overall a nice player. It does its job well. Great video, big sounds, and easy to use. The Netflix loading issue, in my opinion, is unacceptable at this price point. It would be nice to have an option

Pros: Great video and sound. Plays well with my Marantz receiver. Nice remote. Solid build. Easy to use.

Cons: Netflix app is bad. Really bad.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Hubbard happy in Henderson again

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, TX on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best CD performance I've ever had way too difficult to set up is smarter than me and as usual Crutchfield service excellent got here two days before they said it wood really like it

Pros: Phenomenal sound

Cons: Difficult to set up

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

john from East Boston, MA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ecellenti product

Pros: es top of the line

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Oak Creek, WI on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome upgrade picture is great compared to my last one

Pros: Great picture and sound even a regular DVD upscale is awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it on the scale of 1 to 10 10 being the highest I'll give Sony 11

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 9 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Sparta, NJ on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My favorite aspect of this player is the higher quality of Netflix playback

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

So far, so good.

Henry from WARNER, NH on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong video and audio quality, easy to setup and use. The built-in streaming apps work well. This unit is very quiet in operation. Perhaps I misunderstood, but I thought it came with a universal remote, which it did not. Also, the player froze up once and had to be unplugged to restart.

Pros: picture and sound quality, setup, interface

Cons: froze up once

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Rip-Off

Ted from Charlotte, NC on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture and Sound quality is great. But for some reason, Sony decided this price is not enough to justify giving it the capability to have any apps other than Netflix, Prime Video, and Youtube. That is literally it. There is NO WAY to add any other apps, contrary to the misleading marketing which states "plays almost anything" and "internet browser enabled" (not necessarily this site, but on many sites it states this). There is absolutely no way to play/add Hulu, Pandora, Spotify, Slacker, or go to any website on the internet. And the bluetooth is one way only - it will send the video and audio signal from the player to your bluetooth headphones or speaker, but if you want to play any music or videos from your smartphone via this player/your tv, it's not going to happen. I have a 5 year old $50 Sony blu-ray player that has apps and web, and a 12 year old PS3 that does more than this "top of the line" player. So basically, save your money, and get a cheaper player that can do those things and still provide decent picture and sound quality. And the finish on the remote plastics wouldn't even be good enough for a Daewoo. This is simply not worth the menu, the value is not there.

Pros: Picture Quality Sound Quality

Cons: Only 3 apps No web browser One-way bluetooth No Sony Essentials or App adding Cheap remote

Crutchfield response on

16 of 25 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Eaton, OH on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Noticeable improvement in picture quality, even in BluRay. Colors really seem to pop.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best of the best

Crutchfield customer from Yucaipa, CA on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best of the best it plays everything like they advertise. I have a large collection of audio formats dvd-a, Blu-ray, Sacd, and DSD as well as hi res digital Flac and Aiff this unit plays them all and very well, I have other units and this one outperforms them all. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great Blu-ray player.

Pros: Play anything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Money Well Spent

Crutchfield customer from La Grange, IL on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just set up a new 7.1 surround system in my media room, and being a life long audiophile and an old guy, I said to myself "go for it" and purchased this Sony ES Blu Ray player. First, this unit has a front display so you know it is on and the status of the player is indicated. Second, there is heft to this unit, and it comes with a three year warranty. The low end Blu Ray players generally have no front display, a one year warranty and feel like they are made from cardboard. Most importantly, the sound and video output is top notch. No regrets here.

Pros: Read my review

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

4K Ultra high def & blue ray player

Crutchfield customer from Rogue River, OR on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted the best that Sony had available, I wasn't disappointed with the 4K ultra high def & blue Ray DVD player, exceptional picture along with the masters series Oled TV

Pros: Sony doesn't disappoint

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding Media Server

Crutchfield customer from St Francisvle, LA on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Actually there is not much to review here. First, it is a Sony, and then it is an ES model. Playing a BR gives you the whole experience as it provides fully scaled video to the TV. This of course is expected. Where this unit excelled is in the Media Server area. I play a lot of movies through a media server and my Roku3, while it generally does well, struggles with many of the different sound formats. I prefer the DTS soundtracks as they are much clearer on the dialog portion. The media player in this unit will generally handle all the sound formats not only correctly but well. As I have found with all media players, each seems to have problems with a subset of the sound formats, but this one does much better than most. Beautiful unit. Recommended! RP

Pros: Great BR Player Great Media Server

Cons: Somewhat expensive

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

sony Quality brand

Roberto from LAREDO, TX on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent image and very ease to setup. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony blu ray x1100es

Crutchfield customer from Apache Jct, AZ on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ran a few blu ray concert discs through it, and it looks and sounds great. This one is more expensive but it does have the out puts I needed and does come with a 3 year warranty.

Pros: Easy setup and playing. Great picture and sound

Cons: Could use an additional video out

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Port Charlotte, FL on 3/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excelent picture quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES DVD Deck.

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, IL on 2/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really great value for the money. I appreciate being able to easily connect to our home internet system so I don't have to hard wire the unit to the modem to check for software updates and/or Sony service. Plus, it also allows for one to connect with U-Tube and Netflix with the touch of a button rather than having to go through multiple screens on our Sony Bravia TV.

Pros: Easiest setup and maintenance of any unit I've ever owned.

Cons: NONE.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to admit, the service that I have received has been GREAT! Free shipping on my order, and it arrived in two days. My player was packaged so well that it looked like it just came off the shelf. Since this was my first time buying anything from Cruthchfield I was a little worried. Not any more! Thanks You! As for the operation of the Sony player, well, I just connected it to the power source and the TV. The Sony player did everything else. It stepped me through installation without any hitches. Mikie likes it!! LOL

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought it because I wanted a player that could handle SACDs because I have many of those (think they are generally excellent) and the Oppo players are no longer available. I am happy with its performance but would have liked for it to have a USB input so it could be used as a DAC for the computer. I also would like to have the Tidal and Qobuz apps available (the app selection is awful for a player of this price).

Pros: Can play SACDs and DVD-audio

Cons: Should have Tidal and Qobuz apps available (maybe we can get them with a software update).

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

A Step Up!

Crutchfield customer from Layton, UT on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what was needed for a picky consumer with High expectations. Pros: work's flawlessly Cons : remote works well but seems under designed for the quality of the player. - no issue though. Pleasantly Impressed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a real nice upgrade from my earlier Sony model, I had it for about 7 years. This unit is really nice and very easy to use. Works very well with my Bravia Sony TV. Ordering was easy and delivery was quick and the unit was well packed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Rainbow City, AL on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great plays anything player!!!!

Pros: Easy to set up. Quick loading of disk and quick to play.

Cons: Not found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Irondale, AL on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I have not had a chance to really get in there and tweak as much as I would like but for sure a step up from the first gen Panasonic 4k and the first gen Samsung 4k.

Pros: Great picture and options.

Cons: You need to be able to make changes while the content you are viewing is on the screen. As it stands ,in order to do fine adjustments ,you have to go back to the home screen.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Brian from Clarksville, TN on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I usually don't write reviews, but Sony did an amazing job with this player. Set up was so easy and it has a ton of apps already installed. I managed to get this from the outlet, money well spent. I would have paid full price, I love it that much.

Pros: Easy set up, tons of a apps.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

love my Sony

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony does not disappoint, and neither does Crutchfield! Love this new blu ray player, highly recommend, one of the best out there!

Pros: Easy to navigate, great quality

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

X1100ES

Roger from Dayt Bch Sh, FL on 12/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit ... great price for all it does ... but then again, I only buy Sony

Pros: Price ... setup very east

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sony ES UBP-X1100ES

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, TN on 10/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 10 found this helpful

New King of Universal's

Guest from Battle Creek, MI on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, it handles all the video enhancements my HDTV does, HDR10, Dolby Vision and HLG. I owned the 1000ES which only had HDR10, my CXUHD has also Dolby Vision but no HLG. This 1100ES is the best universal player available today. Able to also play my DVD-AUDIO and SACD discs flawlessly, along with 3D Blu-Ray and 4k. Buy this one !

Pros: Great Design Fast Loading HDR10,Dolby Vision, HLG

Cons: Marginal Remote

Crutchfield response on

23 of 25 found this helpful

LOVE the ES Models

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are less expensive Blu Ray Players out there, that many reviews say are as good or better than the ES Models. But, we love Sony Video from both TV's, and Blu-Ray Players. Our last ES Player we bought from Crutchfield YEARS AGO, is still working like new, and we use it A LOT. But, we wanted to go 4K. The ES units seem heavy duty and well built. I'm more comfortable with that than price. Out of the box the picture from Blu Ray Discs was so improved, which wouldn't seem possible. I believe Sony's claim, that these ES's upgrade close to 4k, on our non 4K TV. We're still waiting for the Freight Company to deliver our Sony 75"- 950G in a working condition. So, we can't review the TV yet. I like the QUICK Starting!!, and simple front design on the new X1100-ES compared to our last model. It can fit almost anywhere too.

Pros: I don't know where I'd begin. But, I only will buy Sony ES Players, and nothing else. And talk about quick starting, and when skipping beginning credits on the Remote, there is NO Delay. We love that, and didn't expect it. Another perk.

Cons: The Front Display Timer is hard to follow at first. The color I think throws me off. Blue or Red would be easier to follow than the Green for us. But, after using it more, it's getting to where my eyes can focus better on the display.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Great Player

Jerald from Bountiful, UT on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this player! I was leaning towards the new Panasonic DP-UB9000, but it is not a universal player and it is $400 more. This player does it all playing any format. It has two HDMI outs, two digital outs, RCA analogue outs, ethernet, RS232C, WiFi, and Bluetooth. It is solidly built and looks like a component. Picture and sound quality are amazing. Though the specs on the Sony ES UBP-X1100ES are pretty similar to the Sony UBP-X800M2 (I have one of these as well), this is an upgrade all around from that unit. You will love this player.

Pros: Plays every format, a true universal player

Cons: I would have liked a more detail display but this is a minor point.

Crutchfield response on

39 of 40 found this helpful

TOP