Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
293 357 072 3
Connect ID #
293 357 072 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony UBP-X800M2

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth®

MFR # UBPX800M2

Sony UBP-X800M2

Sony UBP-X800M2

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth®

MFR # UBPX800M2

98 reviews
View this product

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Blu-ray player is great. I'm very satisfied with what I purchased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

blue ray

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, OH on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice machine. Works great. Had all the things the more expensive ones had but for half the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Picture

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, CT on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Picture quality, well built. So far so good.

Pros: Excellent Picture quality, well built.

Cons: No Front Panel Display & no TosLink Optical Digital Sound Output.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plays SACD

Crutchfield customer from Clinton Twp, MI on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like that it plays SACD and DVD Audio in addition to 4K Blu-ray, DVD etc. Loads quickly and user interface is not confusing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Cambria Heights, NY on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent unit with many features ( i.e. ability to split audio and video HDMI outputs) and high resolution for a reasonably priced drive/player.

Pros: Price and performance

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, MA on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good brand at a nice price.I intent to use it every day

Pros: Lots of features overall is a good device

Cons: It some times freezes

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does what is is supposed to do!

Crutchfield customer from Richland, WA on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased and returned two LG BluRay players that would freeze and shut down my TV randomly, leaving me very frustrated when trying to watch a movie. This Sony works perfectly. It is solid, plays without problems, upscales old DVD's to HD type clarity and seamlessly fits in with my Denon AV Receiver and Samsung Smart TV. The ability to play high quality music from CD's, DVD's and Thumbdrives is a plus. Everything is easy to use and does what it is supposed to do. Highly recommended!

Pros: Ease of operation. Clear set prompts. Great picture quality.

Cons: Not really a con but with the migration to streaming, may be more than you need.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best on e market

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy out of the box set up. Audio options are there . Looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Michael from INDIANOLA, IA on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit. after six or so months use this deck has performed flawlessly. Every type of disk I PUT IN, IT PLAYS.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great 4K picture and sound

Crutchfield customer from Thornton, NH on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to upgrade for 4K and wanted a player that could also play my SACD collection. So far, it works great! As the summer grinds on I will watch more movies to see how well it does. I have noticed how sharp the few 4K movies I have look. Time to buy more. I really don't stream much, so I haven't gotten into checking out those features.

Pros: Plays every format I own

Cons: I miss the days of having a display on the front panel. Especially when playing music and you don't need the screen on! I currently have two Blue Ray players set up in my system. This one is set up for multi-channel SACD playback. The older one is set up for two channel playback. My original DVD player that plays SACD's had a button to change from multi to 2 channel. Sure miss that button!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Opa Locka, FL on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A real piece of crap, don't waste Your money on this , constantly freezes, whether streaming or watching a disc, once You hit pause, that's it, you have to disconnect the power to reboot, because hitting the power button on the remote or the unit itself does nothing So disappointed in Sony (used to be the best, now just mediocre)

Pros: Streams 4K UHD from Amazon Prime & Netflix

Cons: Overpriced and totally unreliable

Crutchfield response on 6/15/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your blu-ray player. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Denver, NC on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great all around player--also works well as CD transport for HiFi system

Pros: excellent value proposition

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth the price.

jerome from Blacksburg, VA on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did I think a new Sony 4 K Blu-ray player was going to improve the quality of my dvd and Blu-ray collection,NO. But I was wrong and honestly just blown away. And I can watch 4 K on my older Sony since I have not upgraded to a 4 K television. Sony has never disappointed me with any of there products. It makes me want to upgrade to a Sony 4 K television now.

Pros: Older dvd and BD look even better now

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Blu-Ray Player

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently purchased this Sony Blu-Ray player. It has teamed up very well with our new 4K TV and provides an excellent picture and excellent sound through our home audio system driven by a Denon receiver. I like its sleek, low profile design. We have tried it out on some big budget movies having great cinematography and high end audio and it performed very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Groves, TX on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice blue ray player. Picture quality is excellent along with the sound.

Pros: Easy to use and set up.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

800m2 Sony

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, FL on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice solid build, Set up was fairly easy too. Happy with price for what you get...Had a samsung before this and had too many problems like frame freeze and power off and on, The picture is sharp and detailed with improved sound quality. Love fast loading also....Streams only Amazon,,Netflix,and You Tube,,,I know, But thats all we need ! Nice job SONY.......

Pros: Solid build, picture improvement, easy remote, great sound...

Cons: no front display

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great 4K player

Crutchfield customer from Wickliffe, OH on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this Sony because I wanted to upgrade from standard Blu-ray to a 4K Blu-ray player. First of all, right from the start you'll notice a nice hefty weight to this unit, makes you feel good about the quality just from that. After plugging in a few cables, start up & first time set up was a breeze. It will do a firmware update, only took a few minutes & ask a few questions. I popped in a regular blu-ray ( I have no 4k discs yet )and it looked great. It loaded fast & played right away, hardly any hesitation like my last player. The reason for the 4 star & not 5, and this will probably not even matter down the road but something your just not use to is that there is no display on the unit itself. No elapsed time, no info, but all you have to do is hit the display button on the remote & you'll get more info than you bargained for, so not a bad thing. This unit also had a few apps but I did not try them or use them because I have a smart TV & a Roku player with way more apps on them. Crutchfield had a great price & as always free 2-3 day shipping which made this a no brainer for me.

Pros: Good price on a premium player. Seems build quality is there, unit weighs about 8lbs, which is nice. It is Wifi & bluetooth capable. And it's a Sony

Cons: No display on physical unit, need to hit display button on remote & view info on tv. This second con was personal to me, since I have an older home theater receiver with no hdmi inputs my older blu-ray player had a digital optical out, but this unit uses a digital coaxial out so I had to purchase another cable to use the unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A winner

Crutchfield customer from Gettysburg, PA on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was easy to install, has a nice slim profile and really enhances the HD quality of our Blu-ray videos. Would buy again and recommend to others.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fast!

Crutchfield customer from Bellefontaine, OH on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compared to my old Blu Ray player I can't believe how fast this thing is. Push the play button and a second or two and the movie is playing. And the same when ejecting the movie, the door opens so fast and out pops the disk. My old Samsung Blu Ray player took for ever for the movie to start, and or eject. This player was easy to set up, no complicated hoops to jump through. And very easy to go back into the settings and change them if you don't like the way you set it the first time. My only complaint would be that, it does not up-scale to 4-K automatically when you want to watch a 4-K movie. I did watch a 4-K version of Star Wars, but did not go in and change the settings to 4-K, and the movie was still crystal clear. For me at least the failure of the players ability to automatically switch to 4-K was not a deal breaker. Given one must ask themselves the questions, how much is enough, how much can the human eye perceive and observe, and how much can the human ear hear? You've found your player, buy it, you'll like it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Ellijay, GA on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, great picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Owensboro, KY on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture and sound quality are very good. One problem I have is that I have to manually select Dolby Vision for the movies that are in DV. Other than that, I am very satisfied with the UBP-X800M2

Pros: Great picture and sound quality

Cons: Have to manually select Dolby Vision

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Chatham, NJ on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality and versatility!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good except...

Kelly from Ulm, MT on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the player as far as the picture and sound quality. My problem is that I lost the remote and that is the only way you can operate it!

Pros:

Cons: Don't lose the remote or you won't be able to operate the player.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, WV on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We just purchased and have only been using it a week so far it is doing great. BluRay movies picture and sound excellent. We have several other DVD/CD players and the sound is superior. Set up was easy, we have not used all the features yet will update at a later date. Crutchfield has prompt shipping and follow up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Gunnison, CO on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super nice unit , easy to hook up. Quick shipping

Pros: Good internet reception, great pictures

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Harrison, TN on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy the vibrant colors on my 4K TV and the great sound as this Sony X800M2 is high resolution sound. Great product. Thank you Crutchfield! Roger

Pros: 4K and high resolution.

Cons: No problems.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is hard to find a blutooth 4k 3D player. This has all three with 4K upgrading. It is worth the price for the quality it gives and the different choices you have -- especially the 3D piece

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Mentor On Lk, OH on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture and very easy to install. Pleased with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Oregon, WI on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean looking but the important thing is all the features and ease of use. All you ever need for a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield is Wonderful!

Crutchfield customer from Gulf Breeze, FL on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from previous Sony DVD. I have always purchased Sony products and have never been disappointed. Cructhfield is great with advice in selecting products, timely delivery, customer service and price guaranty. I have been buying from Crutchfield for over twenty years!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, MI on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player at a great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Eagle River, AK on 3/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meets expectations. I thought I wanted the next higher end Sony but it was twice the price. This gets the job done and saves $250.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Yerington, NV on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is a great product. the staff was awesome in helping me also. love this organization. they are so customer focused!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Ronald from Heathsville, VA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read quite a few reviews about this player. Some were bad, but the majority of them were really good. I wanted something that would make my home theater stand out and this does it. When I put a movie in I get a great picture. Although I use another source to stream this is handling my physical media just fine.

Pros: Great picture

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install!!!!

Pros: User friendly to the technologically impaired!!!! Cost is highly reasonable being a Sony.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from London, OH on 2/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product Should recommend to a friend

Pros:

Cons: No problems so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Extreme bang for your buck if you understand it's limitations.

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Where the X800M2 shines is it's ability to shine play almost any media format you throw at it which is rare since Oppo left the market segment. I purchased to use mainly as my digital audio center piece though I generally focus my resources on analog. I love that I can no play DVD-A, SACD, and Bluray Audio as well as standard CD's. The USB flash drive and streaming support is just icing on the cake. The picture quality is strong. Those looking to purchase for audio purposes just need to understand there are no analog outs. You will need to rely on the DAC in your receiver or external DAC device (as I do). The dedicated audio HDMI out is nice as Sony protects/limits SACD and it doesn't output via the digital coax. For any other format though, the digital coax works perfectly. There are work arounds for SACD with a little research. Very happy with the value and diverse functionality. The unit itself also has a heft to it that feels like it was made correctly and not cheap. That was a nice surprise. The lack of any display on the unit does take a bit of getting use to but is not deal breaker by any means. All in all it is hard to complain honestly when you consider the price point, I could find no worth competitor for my needs until I hit the $450-500 price point

Pros: Heavy duty unit that plays more formats than any of the compitition at a similar price point.

Cons: Lack of analog output and no display on unit.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Feature Rich!

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a do it all 4k Blu Ray Playing Monster. This can become the centerpeice of your av set up. Netflix and many other services included!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 2/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best bang for your buck in a universal player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This player is great.

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, GA on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player is great. It finally lets me get DTS master audio off my blu-rays. It runs very cool too even though it is inside a cabinet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluetooth is the extra selling point.

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A couple of points. First, this unit has Bluetooth. Most models in this price range do not. To me, that is a huge plus. Both my wife and I have Quiet Comfort II headphones from Bose (also great!). There are times when one of us wants to watch a DVD that the other has no interest in. With this Sony and the Bluetooth you can have one person watching the DVD and the other completely ignoring it, while reading in the same room. Great! Second point, and this relates to Crutchfield's great customer service. Soon after I purchased this player I wanted to try out the Bluetooth feature described, above. I followed the step-by-step instructions to pair my Bose headphones with the unit. It didn't work. The sound was garbled, unlistenable. After re-checking everything and still not fixing it, I called Crutchfield's tech support. The tech patiently spent time trying to help. At first, no luck. So he called Bose, while I waited. Turns out there is a glitch in the connection process between Bose headphones and the Sony player. All I had to do was turn "off" the two Codec settings. No apparent diminishment in sound quality, no more garbled audio. Worked like a charm. So, yes, I'd highly recommend this unit. And, from Crutchfield, of course.

Pros: Has Bluetooth capability.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Very good so far

Crutchfield customer from Matthews, NC on 1/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4 stars since I haven't had the sony long enough for a complete conclusion. But is performing as I expected. Played 2 4K movies and one regular DVD with no issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SACD and DVD-Audio

Mauricio from Los Angeles on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a very good 4K player already. The only reason I bought this unit to play SACD and DVD-Audio discs as a more reasonable alternative to players that go for over $1,000. It didn't disappoint at all! Very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Edmund from Pasco, WA on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I do not have a 4k TV yet, so I can't speak to that level of operation. The player works perfectly with 1080p Blu-ray and 1080p HD TV. Set-up was a breeze and software update worked without a hitch. I have the player hooked up to my network via ethernet. I noticed in the specs that the player lacks the ac standard for WiFi. That seems a bit archaic these days as the wireless N standard is lacking in speed. Also, if you pause a disc for several mins, the player does not seem to have a screen saver mode. I can't find anything in the settings that indicates it has a screen saver function. This is a slight issue with a Plasma TV and a function that my previous Samsung 3D 1080p Blu-ray player had. If you stop a disc the player does not always give you the option to resume where you left off. I did notice the resume function worked with certain discs but not all. So, that could be inherent in the media and not the player. Other than the screen saver this is a very well built player. It is very solid construction, larger and much heavier than my previous player.

Pros: Unit construction, set-up and operation

Cons: No screen saver on pause of disc. No wireless ac standard.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Solid player. Everything you need in a 4K

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a solid build on a player. I like that it's metal and not mostly plastic. It doesn't have a front display. But, I don't really miss it since I have a clocks near. So it's not necessary.

Pros: Nice metal shell

Cons: No display

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A solid exceptional player. Audio and video are excellent. The only reason I marked it down to four stars is that the "power on" light is too tiny and very difficult to see. It is not much, but it is "something"..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

happy happy happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Boulder, CO on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality and interface, excellent picture with UHD or general BluRay.

Pros: Excellent picture quality Color and sharpness Ease of connectivity

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Slam Dunk with Sony Bluray player.

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I chose this particular item after doing my research reading professional reviews as well as personal reviews. I am not disappointed! This thing is built like a little tank so it feels quite sturdy. I really like the usability as well. The GUI is well laid out and easy to use. The electronics mean that pictures and sound are outstanding. You truly get what you pay for!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Saint George, UT on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product was exactly as described. Very easy to hook up and both the picture quality and sound are terrific!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Waverly, NY on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Blue Springs, MO on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice Blu-ray player...solid build, quiet operation, beautiful colors and sound! Was easy to set up and looks great. Crutchfield shipped this out a lot faster that I expected and I really appreciate that.

Pros: Solid build, quiet and smooth operation, looks great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great disc player at a great price

Andrew from BROOMALL, PA on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first purchase of a Blu-Ray player and first Sony product ever.The features of this disc player are what attracted me.It can play CD-Rs and CD-RWs which was important since I also own some pro audio recording gear.That it also played SACD and DVD-Audio discs was a big bonus. The big feature of this Sony is that it also up-scales standard definition 480p DVDs to 1080p (2K TV). It will bring new life to all of your old standard-def DVDs.The effect is very impressive to see.Couldn't be happier with it. I'm a big YouTube fan as well and was thrilled to find that Sony's implementation of that popular website was FAR superior to my LG 4K TV's.The Sony's user controls on screen are much better and very intuitive to use,great simple remote,too.Absolutely blown away by the performance and feature set of this player and Crutchfield's price is unbeatable.Would definitely recommend to others who are looking to buy a nice Blu-Ray player.

Pros: In addition to great Sony Blu-Ray movies,this machine will also play most DVDs,home recorded CD-Rs and CD-RWs

Cons: none found as of yet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Better than oppo

mIke from Glen Burnie, MD on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can honestly say that sony makes some of the most economically Friendly products that rivals the industry best Blu-ray players in quality, that would cost five time as much. I can truthfully say this machine is one of the best investments that i have made in a long time.

Pros: Just as good as oppo

Cons: None at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding picture

Crutchfield customer from Ocean Pines, MD on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding picture & it was easy to setup. I was also very happy to see how it upscaled good quality standard DVDs. It works really well with my Sony 85" TV. Had it over 1 month & so far all is well. The player included two 4K Sony movies which was a pleasant surprise.

Pros: Pix, upscalling feature

Cons: no toslink audio jack

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Sterling Hts, MI on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works fine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great hi res and 5.1 music player

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this player mostly for music DVD's I've gotten a number of box sets that include hi res and 5.1 dvd discs and wanted to play them on my AV system I'm putting together. Couldn't have made a better choice. I have watched a 4K disc that came with it and I can stream from my TV but it's good. Music was why I went for this player and I'm happy. Would recommend based on that.

Pros: Full features and hi resolution audio.

Cons: Sony doesn't match anything else I run.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's no OPPO, but it'll do.

Crutchfield customer from Merchantville, NJ on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fine machine; nice to get a disc player that doesn't feel flimsy. This has some heft and reflects a nice build quality. All the functions work well, picture quality is excellent and audio is fine. The machine is a little finicky about which video and audio files it will and won't read and play from the USB port. (I feed it an MKV file and it will read the video but says the audio format isn't supported, for example) In an age of vanishing physical media, its important for collectors to have a machine that will read as many disc types as possible, and this one is as good as you'll find these days, and for a decent price.

Pros: Quality video and audio output Solid build quality Reads many different disc and file types

Cons: Picky about file types and formats through the USB port

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Austin, MN on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love that it came with an owners manual. Looks good and works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install and picture quality is excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Van Buren, ME on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great blu ray player. I love the picture and sound. If you are looking for a player that streams this one only streams Netflix, Prime, and Youtube. It does a great job with those though. For me that is all I need. This player does a good job for sound quality. My DVD- Audio discs sound great and so do the Blu Ray Audio discs. Buying from Crutchfield is fantastic! They are the BEST for service.

Pros: Great picture and sound

Cons: Limited for streaming

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Return to More substantial build

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slightly Faster load than the X700. Build is much more solid and built more like the older style.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, IA on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does K2 films really well. Always have liked Sony products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

fine player

Crutchfield customer from Allen, TX on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fine player. I purchased it mainly for Dolby Vision and it renders that format as expected. Yes, you need to toggle Dolby Vision on and off but that is OK with me. There are plenty of repetitive things I do in life so this is just one more. Point is, you accept it, get used to it and move on. I also like the display option that tells me what bitrate my video and audio are playing at. Typically, the audio is playing at around 3mb/sec and the video at around 60mb/sec. This tells me the player is outputting more uninterrupted detail than I would get over my wireless network from a streaming service. The streaming options are limited, but I have all the streaming options I need on my other devices. I have a smart tv, receiver and streaming stick so why do I need redundant streaming options on my player? For the price, I got 4k upscaling, Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos and DTS-X, most of which require Sony to pay royalties. I consider it a good value. It came with 2 4k movies which were good for setting up and testing some of the 4k features. The player has performed flawlessly and discs load very quickly. Although I have only used it a few times, I suspect the build quality will hold up as well as my other Sony components.

Pros: tons of features, compatible with many disc formats, great value for the price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Get it now

Crutchfield customer from Muldrow, OK on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product from great seller!

Pros: Price , functions

Cons: Remote could be more useful.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A winner

Crutchfield customer from Clifton, NJ on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very nice & inexpensive blu-Ray player that does much more than just play blu-rays. Additional features and quick, easy set up makes this one a winner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional build and video quality

Crutchfield customer from Kenmore, WA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic, well-made machine that's got quite a bit of heft to it. It's much heavier than the lower UBP-X700 (which has also got rave reviews too). The 800M2 is fast and most importantly, super quiet when spinning the discs. If you want a well-built player that uses metal throughout, as opposed to plastic built that are noisy, this is the one for you. Note that a software update fixes the Dolby Vision issue where the setting now stays on once you check it.

Pros: Exceptional video and solid build quality, built in Dolby Vision and HDR10, separate HDMI audio output, nice sale price.

Cons: Lacks Component video outputs (but nowadays no longer needed

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does its job well. Great price point. Plenty of additional apps to use when not playing disk.

Pros:

Cons: None noted!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Idaho Falls, ID on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ubp-x800m2 is an affordable swiss army knife of a 4k bluray player. I own the Oppo udp-203 and it compares favorably with x800m2 with the added bonus of internet apps not included with the udp-203. It may not be built as solidly as udp-203 but anyone other than the most extreme tech head will most likely never notice. The x800m2 performs an a par with the udp-203 in almost every aspect and at half the price paid when the udp-203 was still in production. You won't go wrong in purchasing one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, IL on 11/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TWO GOOD FOR WORDS, AWESOME

Pros: IT DOES WHAT YOU ASK IT TO.

Cons: NONE THAT I HAVE FOUND.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Blu-ray Player!

Crutchfield customer from Green Valley, AZ on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony UBP-X800M2 provides high quality picture and sound. I found set-up easy using the built in screen instructions. Set-up took approximately 5 minutes.

Pros: Easy set-up and great picture and sound quality.

Cons: None noted.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Kendall Park, NJ on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player but had a problem with 2.1 hdmi connection.Wouldn't be recognized with Yamaha receiver and also Oled c9 tv

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Easy and Admirable

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was easy to set up. It has performed admirably both provided clear vivid olors and deep true sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, MI on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, big improvement for my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Mount Airy, NC on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So pleased that I bought another one.

Pros: Great picture.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony Only

Terrence from Milwaukie, OR on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an upgrade to match the performance of my recent 4k smart TV purchase. Performs flawlessly as a Blu-ray and CD player as well as a Wi-Fi streamer. Already updated the software. Love it!

Pros: Flawless and versatile for Blu-ray, DVD, CD and Wi-Fi streaming.

Cons: No optical output if that's your thing (but prefer the HDMI audio anyway). Does have coaxial.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X00M2 Blue Ray Player

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and works fine.

Pros: Low cost and easy set up.

Cons: So far no problems.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Matching Sony with Sony

Crutchfield customer from Mesquite, NV on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to use with my Sony XBR-77A9G - simple easy setup and seamless operations with the TV - the unit recognized the Sony TV it was connected to and automatically configured itself - nothing could be easier

Pros: Simple easy setup and seamless operations with my Sony TV

Cons: None that come to mind

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

an absolute tank!

Todd from NEW CANEY, TX on 9/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is a very high quality 4 k player.very heavy!very well built!would have to say probaly one of the best 4k players around.super quite when playing.loads fast.excellent picture.this thing just scream build quality!

Pros: very high quality.plays everything i have thrown at it.sound reproduction signal from this player is amazing.the big one here second hdmi output for audio only!this is a very nice feature!

Cons: no hulu streaming support?

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony quality at it's best

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, CA on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I was having a hard time choosing between this unit and an LG model at the same price. My TV is an LG but I have always had good luck with Sony products. A couple features on this model was the tipping point for this unit. First is its build quality. This is a well built player. and it is heavy. Second is it's Bluetooth feature abling to send a signal to headphones or speakers. And last is the audio sync adjustment. The rest are normal features and appsthat other players have like Netflix, Youtube. My cable box and TV have tons anyway. So that's not a selling point for me. This was an upgrade from my Panasonic Blu-Ray player. I wanted to step up to a 4K model and get into Ultra Blu-Ray discs. The piture is fantastic. I did have to go through the setup a few times to get things adjusted to suit my needs. I do wish it would send an audio signal out both HDMI outputs at the same time. I did try and send one to my Onkyo receiver and the combo (AV) to the TV with no luck. Also you can make the player come on at the same time as the TV. This confussed my wife for a day while I was out. I had to reset this feature so it only powed up when we turned it on seperatly.

Pros: Build quality, features, picture, sound

Cons: no display of front panel

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Dolby Vision compatibility

Crutchfield customer from Woodinville, WA on 9/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I previously purchased the previous version of this model, the UBP-X800. After discovering that model did not support Dolby Vision, decided I would have to upgrade. I made numerous inquiries with Sony about this and the possibility there could be a firmware upgrade to my old machine and finally determining that was not possible. There are many things I like about both models, but the lack of support from Sony on the Dolby Vision issue was a turn off. Providing an upgrade option from Sony would have been a nice gesture.

Pros: Solid build, supported formats, compatibility with other Sony components.

Cons: Lack of Sony support forcing me to purchase similar component to ensure compatibility.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Jamaica Plain, MA on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect DVD player for my needs. Quality at a good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

excellent 2019 ultra HD player

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently bought a 4K TV and so realize that I'd have to get a 4K player to utilize its full potential. I had been waiting for the Sony X800M2 release, since it's a bit foolish to buy a 2017 or 2018 model and I'm not disappointed. It has the newer HDR10 and Dolby vision capabilities. It has worked seamlessly for me. Most of the other ultra HD players are being priced twice as expensive as this model so this was clear choice for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All good from ordering to shipman received.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, CA on 8/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and it's easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit!

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, CA on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is completely quiet, and works perfectly. It connected to my home wireless network, and upgraded with zero problems.

Pros: Very quiet

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Palmetto, FL on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thus far I'm pleased with this Blu Ray player. I did have one incident where a scene froze for 30 seconds. Upon inspection of the disc I found several finger print smudges. Hopefully that was the source and I don't have any future freeze up issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

I like

Crutchfield customer from Willow Street, PA on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to setup. Very easy to use, changes the required HDMI setting on the receive automatically. Along with that the picture on the TV screen is also improved. Would buy again.

Pros: Easy setup. Great picture.

Cons: None found to date.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality product with some shortcomings

Crutchfield customer from Parma, OH on 7/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid, high-quality product. Excellent picture and quiet operation. Downside is way too many features and settings. Very complicated. Also, instruction manual almost useless. Almost no information in it. You have to go online and look at FAQ to figure things out. Very inconvenient. Also, the unit has no display. So you need to turn on TV to perform any function, even those that have nothing to do with video. Annoying.

Pros: Excellent picture. Quiet operation.

Cons: Lack of display. Poor instruction manual.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Woodland, CA on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy set up and simple to use. The picture is sharp and clear. I do wish Sony would spend a little bit more money on the paper they use. Recycle paper not too good.

Pros: Easy set up and very easy to use. Great Picture.

Cons: Would like a backlit remote. Remote is very cheap looking.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Guest from St Clair Shores, MI on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice looking player and plays the 3 4K blue rays I've tried so far very quietly almost silent. I did however run into a glitch when I stopped the movie Logan then restarted from the menu and the picture got very dark. I restarted the player and it went back to normal

Pros: Quiet, good build quality

Cons: Bug that caused movie to go dark

Crutchfield response on

11 of 17 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from The Colony, TX on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture! I matched it with my LG OLED 65 inch tv. The results are absolutely amazing. The Sony has Dolby Vision

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Tuck from Cheyenne, WY on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sadly, player doesn't come with the Vudu app, which is where many of my movies for replay are. I wish I had read more reviews before purchasing. Otherwise, so far, not a bad player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 27 found this helpful

Sony UBP-X800M2

Crutchfield customer from Comerio, PR on 6/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

La imagen es buena pero no detecta dolvi vicion automática es molesto. The image is great but it doesn't automatically detect Dolby Vision, it's bothersome.

Pros: Buena imagen y sonido Great image and sound

Cons: No detecta dolbi vicion automatica Doesn't automatically detect Dolby Vision

Crutchfield response on 6/18/2019
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

7 of 14 found this helpful

Buggy

Crutchfield customer from Solomons, MD on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shipped well. Its well built, quiet, and integrated well with my Sony TV. The PQ is excellent. It has frozen twice and had to be unplugged to work. It has lost and refused to see the wifi once for over an hour and then suddenly saw it again. It has frozen on 2 different UHD discs and had to be restarted. If it settles down I'll keep it, any more issues and I will use Crutchfield's great return policy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

27 of 30 found this helpful

Very Nice Player

Jerald from Bountiful, UT on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received this beauty yesterday. I was thinking of buying the $1,000 Panasonic UB9000 but ultimately could not justify the extra $$$. This player really looks sharp and the build quality is excellent (metal chassis that is solid with some weight to it unlike the plastic model it replaced)! Setup was easy and it looked for, and then updated the firmware as the first step in the setup process. To my surprise, the box came with two 4k movie titles (an added bonus to the already reasonably price). We are a disc watching family, so I was most interested in the disk performance with streaming as a secondary need or want (I know we are becoming the minority with streaming taking the lead over disc's). Wow! The picture and sound are amazing! The remote is basic, and I wish it had a display. There are two buttons on the front (open/close the tray and the power button) along with power indicator light. On the back is an ethernet port, HDMI video/audio out, HDMI audio only out, and a digital optical out. I just use the HDMI A/V out as this is for movies in my system. It has all the latest playback bells and whistles. For the price, it is hard to beat this player. I am very happy with this purchase!

Pros: Well built, Great looking, Amazing picture and sound, ethernet port and WiFi, great deal for the price

Cons: Audio component outs would be nice, a display would be nice

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

TOP