Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

DVD receiver with free SiriusXM satellite radio tuner

MFR # XAVAX200SXM

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

DVD receiver with free SiriusXM satellite radio tuner

MFR # XAVAX200SXM

84 reviews
View this product
Discontinued item

Sony XAV-AX200SXM is everything you want

Crutchfield customer from Cleburne, TX on 7/5/2019

2015 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was nervous about the Sony XAV-AX200SXM from some other reviews but I am really glad I went for it on my wife's Jeep Patriot. The volume knob was something most people complained about but we have no issue with it. The knob is not huge but we have had no troubles using it. The system does everything rather well and was a breeze to install. Hooked it up to two cameras, mic, 4 door speakers , and a sub with no issues first go. Navigating its features comes easy and self explanatory. Would definitely recommend getting this unit.

Pros: easy install, easy interface, multiple cameras, mic, good sound. custom background, good size, dimmable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony in dash

Crutchfield customer from Seabeck, WA on 6/24/2019

1998 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install crutchfield gave me all the parts and pieces I need to install very easy to use great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo, many options, clean look.

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Lake, WA on 6/24/2019

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a '04 4Runner. Works great! Apple play works smoothly and so far have been able to connect all devices just fine. Lots of options and settings to adjust just how you want it. Sound output is great even with stock speakers. Haven't tried the dvd option, but would be nice to eventually have support for videos through your phone. Touch screen can take some getting used to but works well for me.

Pros: Apple play, Sirius, CD/DVD, good power output, easy controls, and lots of settings.

Cons: Touch screen can be hard to see if very bright out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Smooth, Receptive Touch Screen

Rusty from Oak Harbor, WA on 6/23/2019

2008 Ford F-450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value! quick, responsive touch screen (other than a rather lengthy boot sequence). Clear sound quality and most importantly, fast and smooth apple car play abilities. Installation was a breeze with the Crutchfield ReadyHarness. worth every penny!

Pros: clear image quality responsive touch screen apple and android car play screen off feature for traveling at night

Cons: only one usb input startup is slow, but it does show backup cam instantly Switches apple maps to night mode when headlights are on, but this is probably more apple than sony

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Sandy, UT on 4/18/2019

2006 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the touch screen still learning how to adjust it but step by step I'm making the system I want

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit!

Crutchfield customer from Bella Vista, AR on 4/14/2019

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Sounds great. Apple CarPlay is awesome! Crutchfield service is awesome too, as always. Definitely recommend the ready harness service! The harness was complicated and I don't think I could've don't without.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, IL on 3/24/2019

2010 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio. My son loves watching movies. simply ground the brake wire

Pros: Simple layout

Cons: Still haven't figured out how to program phone numbers or maps. I might have to read the directions. I wish there were more options to customize the display.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Doug from Madisonville, TN on 3/10/2019

2011 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works just like I wanted except for the sync system. I have not been able to get it to work correct. I can hear the people talking but they can't hear me. The volume knob is hard for the passenger to adjust, but it works very well with my steering wheel controls.

Pros: Connects to my phone for up to date navigation and music.

Cons: Volume knob hard to adjust. Does not work with my sync system

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Way better than buying from a competitor!

Stephen from Mesa, AZ on 3/7/2019

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase! So glad I didn't buy from amazon. You get all the gear you need to go along with installation and it costs the same. Fast shipping too! Thanks crutchfield!

Pros: Same product with extra gear!

Cons: Slightly slower shipping than the competitor but well worth the wait.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Loganville, GA on 3/3/2019

2007 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit overall, but I have a large iTunes library which means I also have an iPod classic and this unit doesn't support it. Very disappointing. On the other hand after searching through the other options I think I'll stick with this unit and deal with it.

Pros: Great unit overall, easy to use, I love the CarPlay. Works great with my iPhone 8

Cons: No iPods are supported.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent OEM-Looking Unit

Matt from Philadelphia, PA on 2/11/2019

2015 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent unit. It sounds great, is feature complete, is a good value, and looks like something that might have come with the car (i.e. not glossy black and covered with logos).

Pros: Good audio quality for a basic head unit. Feature complete (CarPlay, Bluetooth, SiriusXM, etc..) Flat black, OEM style, appearance. Built in programmable steering wheel controls - This let me keep the steering wheel controls in my car without having to buy an adaptor.

Cons: Volume knob is tough to use if the radio is even slightly recessed into the dash. Turning the unit off requires two steps (press knob, then choose "Source Off" on the display) -- this isn't even documented in the manual. Volume control is slow - requires a few turns of the knob (or many steering wheel control button presses) to get from low volume to high.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

All Around Good, But Not Perfect, Unit

JTE from Lafayette, CA on 2/3/2019

2013 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All-in-all, this is a good unit. Install was a snap with Crutchfield's pre-wired harness. Routing the SXM antenna from the rear roof of the car through the car and into the dash was probably 90% of the effort involved. However, the result was a very nice XSM unit. This unit also has a nicer touchscreen than the cheaper units, as I recently put a more affordable unit in my teenagers car and you can feel the difference. Note that other reviewers make some valid points: the volume knob is small and recessed below the bezel, making it very difficult to use. The real problem is that is that you can only make contact with a portion of the knob because of the bezel. As well, I have had some frustration with the preset channels setting themselves rather than changing channels. At the end of the day, I can live with these issues for now. However, if I had to choose one thing that annoys me it is the slow boot up and mandatory Warning screen that you must to dismiss EVERY TIME you turn on the car - "warning don't look at this stereo too much while driving.... ". Maybe this is bc it plays videos but I should be able to turn off Video capabilities and avoid this warning multiple times a day. Pretty sure folks will just watch their phones in this day and age. And as always, Crutchfield has some of the best customer service of any company in the US... period. They are just flat out awesome.

Pros: - good BT - good CarPlay - good SXM reception - good screen quality - easy install - it's from Crutchfield

Cons: - tiny volume knob - presets have a tendency to get changed on accident - warning screen at boot up is annoying and unnecessary

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Volume Knob is Horrible

Bryan from Durham, NC on 1/26/2019

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this radio in my truck for several months now. The main reasons for choosing this model were the volume knob, back up camera screen, and satellite radio feature. Let's begin with the volume knob as it was the most important feature to me. The volume knob is very small as other people have mentioned. I thought this might be a few picky reviewers, but these people were right and I wish I had heeded their advice. The installation bezel that comes with the radio for my Ford F-250 is raised and blocks you using the knob on the left side. Not only do I have to use the tips of my fingers to turn the knob, I only have access to 3/4 of the knob rotation. Lastly, the volume is very slow to raise and lower the sound which is very aggravating and I wish there was a setting that you could change that. Next, is the touch screen feature, which is also less than desirable. I spent so much time accidentally reprograming my preset channels instead of it selecting the channel I was trying to change to, I no longer use the touch screen and use the remote instead. I have reprogrammed the touch screen sensitivity several times and it does not seem to help at all. The screen also does not dim as much as I prefer so I selected the black screen so it would not be an issue. For the good. The sounds is good and the back up camera feature is nice. I removed the distance lines on the screen because I use the camera to hook up to trailers.

Pros: Back up camera and sound

Cons: Power knob size and function and poor touch screen.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Scott from Huntersville, NC on 1/1/2019

2010 Nissan Frontier XE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like this unit. It was a bit more than I wanted to spend, but it had all the features I needed. (The volume knob was a must-have, and not many DVD players with Android Auto have a knob anymore). The sound is really clear with preset EQ's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

all around good radio

Greg from Branchburg, NJ on 11/8/2018

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Put in Porsche 2011 Porsche Boxster Spyder. Picked this one because I really wanted a volume knob, and its good but very small. The touch screen is good and responsive. The sound is good. I found the radio easy to set up and use. I really wanted to be able to listen to satellite radio and use android connect waze maps at the same time - this has been a challenge - music cuts out when waze talks but then doesn't come back on for a long time if at all. It works better if you use pandora or another phone based app with waze but still not seamless. Not sure if its the radio's fault or Android connect. Its a software issue, because sometimes waze doesn't talk through radio for a while then suddenly does, or after a phone call then it does. Nice feature if Waze is running and you go back to the radio screen it will show directions, little window drops from the top of screen, even though no sound. Phone through radio or android connect works great, better through Android connect. You can put your own background photo and set how faded it is, nice feature. Have not hooked up back up camera, but plan to.

Pros: easy to set up and use responsive touch screen

Cons: doesn't work so well with sound running Satellite radio and navigation through Android connect.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Snap to install and a perfect fit for the OEM unit

William from Allison Park, PA on 10/31/2018

2014 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding unit - except for one minor hiccup - the vertical "scroll" rate seems a bit "jumpy" and not quite as smooth as I would have liked. But the unit overall operates perfectly and is exactly what I was looking for in the way of a flat-panel touch-screen multi-media receiver. The install was a snap and was just about what I expected after having gone through the MasterSheet instructions and after having viewed several on-line videos. One suggestion on installation. I dropped a single screw down into the open space covered by the shifter console cover. To avoid this, drape a bath towel over that open space when doing the installation. Any dropped items will be caught and kept from dropping down below.

Pros: Great looks and operation.

Cons: Plastic mounting brackets - wish they would have been even cheap stamped metal instead.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice unit!

Walter E from Siloam Springs, AR on 10/8/2018

2013 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit. Sounds good on XM and CD/USB. Easy install, but touch screen is difficult to use.

Pros: Easy install. All steering wheel controls work with Crutchfield kit. Looks almost factory and sounds great.

Cons: The touch screen is older technology and has a lot of glare and feels "spongy," but that is easily fixed with an anti-glare screen protector. I bought a 3-pk for an iPad that was under $6 and cut one to fit. Really helps the feel and reduced the glare on the screen. The other issue is that when a call comes in, the radio has to reset and seems to take a long time to come back on. I upgraded the firmware and it helped, but it's still slow to power up at first and after a phone call.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Decent unit without automatic camera display

Jon from Michigan City, IN on 9/27/2018

2011 Honda CRV SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am happy with this unit in general, no glaring problems once I did the firmware upgrade and my phone upgraded (Android 8.1.0). The volume knob is small as others have noted but not a big problem to me. I have not found a way to have the screen switch automatically to the backup camera like an OEM unit would do unless you are on the camera screen when you shift into reverse (with the camera is powered by the backup light circuit). It will not show the camera image if you are on any other screen when you shift. After the updates, Google maps work well through Android Auto, but the connection is sometimes lost after an interruption (most recently when I declined a call).

Pros: Good looking Responsive touchscreen

Cons: No auto switch toe backup camera Android Auto sometimes drops out for no reason

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Edward W from Derby, KS on 9/25/2018

2007 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo with Android Auto. Touchscreen works well. DVD player works well. Dissapointed in volume control know, you have to turn it a lot to affect the volume very much. the reason I wanted it was to be able to QUICKLY turn down the volume if the device I switched to was too loud. It doesn't work very well for that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Jay from Cookson, OK on 9/6/2018

2007 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I need it to. Easy to use with a lot of options for multimedia.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All the features I wanted

Ted from Yucca Valley, CA on 9/2/2018

2008 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing unit! Has all the features. Android Auto has been flawless for me. I can play DVDs (if I ever need to do that for some reason) and it has a volume knob. A lot of people in the reviews are complaining about the warning screen when you start up, but that issue is taken care of by a firmware update apparently. After numerous issues with a different brand's head unit (that Crutchfield was nice enough to let me exchange), that "issue" seems laughable.

Pros: Made dated car stereo compatible with smartphone; no more need for extra gps navigation unit stuck to windshield and plugged into cigarette lighter!

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent upgrade

Nathan from MD on 8/26/2018

2013 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adding this unit to the car almost makes my 5 year old car seem brand new. It has a bright responsive screen and was easy to install. I would recommend for anyone who is looking to add a simple upgrade to their vehicle that supports CarPlay and Android Auto.

Pros: responsive screen, easy install

Cons: couldn't figure out how to get the auto-dimmer to work if even possible

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Cloverdale, CA on 8/9/2018

2001 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic product

Pros: Nicely thought through

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful unit, nice features

Taylor from Mount Pleasant, SC on 7/20/2018

2007 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, buy an ipad anti glare protector and cut to fit, would be good if crutchfield could cut anti glare protectors to fit your unit before they ship***

Pros: camera inputs, power, carplay

Cons: Buy antiglare protector for ipad and cut to fit and youll be happy! Works

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stock look with lots of features

Shaun from Fort Worth, TX on 7/14/2018

1996 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my third Sony headunit, and for the third time, I've come away happy. I was primarily looking for something with CarPlay and SiriusXM, BUT also something with an actual volume knob. For some reason, every aftermarket manufacturer thinks people want touch-sensitive volume buttons. I don't want to look at the radio when I'm driving, I just want to change the volume. SWRCs weren't available in my car, so if I have to take my hand off the wheel, I want a tactile knob to turn. The XAV-AX200SXM has customizable backgrounds (you can put your own in off a thumb drive) and with the latest software update, you can control the button backlighting color too. CarPlay and Android Auto both work flawlessly. I replaced the cigarette lighter in the dash of the car with a USB plug (since there's an extra power port in the console, I didn't mind losing it). I don't use the backup camera functions, but I assume they work fine, too. All in all, I wanted an easy, stock-looking way to get CarPlay and Sirius in the car and the AX200 did that perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Tamassee, SC on 7/11/2018

2004 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

worked great with factory amp

larry from Huntington Ml, PA on 7/6/2018

2005 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the stereo required an interface to retain the factory amp it came wired for me it worked great and made installation easy

Pros: everything i needed came with stereo

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Probably not what you want to buy

Josh from Corvallis, OR on 7/1/2018

2006 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've waited months to write a "real" review. The short version is that I regret purchasing this unit. I actually waited for this unit to become available over the prior model. I ordered the unit as soon as Crutchfield had it available. One of the big points for why I wanted this unit was the volume knob. But the knob is tiny. At 5'10" with normal hands, that knob is hard to grab and manipulate. So if that's a big item for you, don't buy this unit. I listen to audiobooks extensively as I drive long distances. These come as a collection of ~60 min MP3 files. There is NO WAY to move around in an MP3 track. Trying to "speed up" playback gets you a blistering 2X speed increase. When you change from one input (MP3) to another (XM / Radio), it forgets where you were last at . . . Enjoy getting back to where you were. The touchscreen is super flakey. It's irritatingly easy to reprogram a preset station rather than change a station. The steering wheel integration to the Pilot stereo controls suck. Volume change is super slow, and changing stations jumps through ALL of the presets not just the on-screen set. The faceplate was a less than perfect fit - some adjustments were needed. It looks good enough and brought phone support, backup camera support, and multimedia capability into my older vehicle. The Sirius XM "3 months free" isn't: a subscription, activation fee, and one year of billing expected. It sounds and looks nice.

Pros: -Looks nice -Sounds good -Firmware update provides nag screen timeout -Supports Android Auto

Cons: -Volume knob almost useless -Screen flakey and easy to accidentally reprogram -Cannot navigate long MP3 files at all (touch, reasonable FFWD, etc) -Video playback and DVD navigation finicky

Crutchfield response on

16 of 22 found this helpful

Simple design and good sound with some limitations.

Lee from Colorado Springs, CO on 6/20/2018

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has a clean interface with good sound. The physical volume knob is great. Note: knob is very short and located completely flush to the left edge of the unit so it may not fit your dash. Finally, the latest firmware automatically dismisses the warning screen! The unit does have ~20 seconds of cold boot-up time but backup camera is available instantly. By the time I back out of my driveway the unit is fully ready and warning screen has auto-dismissed. Once booted, Carplay is instant. If you were playing music in bluetooth mode it continues seamlessly in Carplay. Audio quality is so-so in bluetooth but great in Carplay. When you turn the car off while using CarPlay, the iPhone plays 1/2 second of music on internal speaker before stopping. I guess a CarPlay bug? Also, CarPlay sometimes crashes. I like the resistive touch screen. Works with gloves, no reflections. Good brightness, mostly visible even with direct sunlight. Unfortunately the screen is not fingerprint resistant and slightly squishy. It feels like an old Garmin GPS with all its pros and cons. Backup camera image is crystal clear with great colors. If you watch a DVD movie make sure to change the picture EQ; default saturation is terrible. Quirks: 1. The voice control button does not work in bluetooth, so no Siri Eyes Free 2. Turning screen on after screen off in CarPlay goes to Camera mode 3. No way to organize home screen icons. SXM stays in menu even if you disconne

Pros: Simple clean UI Volume Knob Resistive touch screen Backup camera available instantly Play any audio source while using CarPlay Keeps memory of different input levels for different sources

Cons: Knob may not fit your dash No AUX in No iPod mode - only carplay No way to organize home screen bluetooth audio quality not great, only supports 2.1 SBC Only Rear camera is auto-switched. Other two cameras are manual.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from GA on 6/18/2018

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit into a 04 f150. The install kit could use some work as the head unit didn't fit correctly, the bottom was recessed in too much. I had to use a dremel to trim the inside of the frame to make the unit flush all the way around the trim adapter. I didn't see anywhere in the install docs where to connect the parking brake wire or the reverse wire for a backup camera.. As for the head unit, no issues after I upgraded the firmware to the latest version.

Pros: Easy to use, firmware up-gradable, works well with both of our android phones, ok google works great even with the music going.

Cons: Install kit could use some work, had to use a dremel to get radio to fit flush with dash panel.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love this unit

George from Austin, TX on 6/12/2018

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this thing. No really.... The preamp thats built in is pretty good and has made a big difference. CarPlay is heaven. 10 band eq has really made a difference in getting the speakers to sing. VERY happy. The note that people talk about when it starts up isa as big a deal as you make it. Get the pre assembled wiring from Crutchfield. It was a two hour install. Amazing. Worth the money.

Pros: Sound , looks it just works

Cons: Hard to say.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great product!

Chris from Waterford, MI on 6/12/2018

2005 Subaru Baja

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I hoped it would be. Installation in my 2005 Subaru Baja required some slotting of the holes in the mounting bracket and some clearancing of the bezel. The recent firmware update allows changing the color of the bottons as well as the automatic removal of the warning screen on startup after several seconds. The FM tuber seems to be weaker than the OEM radio. Very happy!

Pros: Works as advertised.

Cons: Required some custom fitting. Weak fm tuner.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Corp Christi, TX on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, ease of use, very simple setup and installation!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Jon from Long Beach, CA on 4/15/2018

2005 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great purchase, easy install, great sound, and the Apple Car Play for an older car makes this the perfect receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Ball Ground, GA on 4/15/2018

2013 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Unit! Easy to install and works great. Really powerful to blast the speakers more than the factory unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Flexible system with loads of useful features with a minimalist look

Matthew from Upper Arlington, OH on 4/9/2018

2011 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Of all the head-units in the market this was the cleanest look to maintain a stock OEM appearance in the dash. Additionally, this head-unit has a heftier amp to supply more efficient speakers and sound great compared to many competitor brands. The digital soundstage optimizer feature (DSO) really improved the sound-stage and depth WITHOUT adding an artificial or over-processed quality to the sound. This is an excellent choice for those who like a clean minimalist look with a well designed graphical interface. As the menus are easy to utilize without the need for the manual find/customize the features. My only complaint is the auto dimmer feature. I wish it would raise or lower the screen brightness by use of an ambient light sensor instead of a line signal from turning on the vehicle's headlights. The additional camera inputs (total of 3) allowed me to have a back-up camera that automatically switches on when the vehicle is in reverse and another camera attached to the rear of my travel trailer to stream a visual of what is behind me (like a digital rear view mirror).

Pros: + Decent amp power for stock or efficient speakers + 3 Camera Inputs + Nice minimalist look + Clean graphical interface + EQ & DSO really enrich the sound without an over-processed quality

Cons: - Limited screen dimming control

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 4/9/2018

2008 Mitsubishi Lancer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Easy install in my 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution. Love it. CarPlay is awesome!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good, not perfect but I like it.

Gary from Englewood, CO on 4/8/2018

1992 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this into a 1996 Corvette, replacing a JVC unit that I installed about four years ago. My main reasons for selecting this unit were the volume knob and Android Auto capability. I'm really liking the clean, simple user interface, and the screen is bright and clear, even in a convertible with the top down. Way better screen than the old JVC had. On my old unit I already had a backup camera, the microphone, and an XM SXV200 receiver, all of which I reused with this new unit. The Sony came with the XM SXV300 receiver, I wasn't sure if my older one would work but it works fine. I wish it had the ability to change the color of the button lights. The orange colored display wallpaper matches my stock lighting close enough so the unit in general fits in quite well. The old JVC unit had a separate wire on its harness to signal a power antenna to rise only when using the AM/FM radio, the Sony doesn't have that. It ties the power antenna into the turn-on for the amplifier, which means the antenna is up all the time and only goes down when I shut the car off. I really liked on the old JVC that the antenna stayed down unless it was actually needed. Like everyone else I find the nag screen irritating. It takes several seconds to boot up but I don't find it excessive. If it had the color changing buttons and the power antenna signal wire I'd have given it five stars, as it is I wish you could award a half star to make it 4.5. Can't do that so four stars it is.

Pros: Simple, clear user interface. Bright, clear screen. Android Auto. SXM included.

Cons: No color changing buttons. No separate power antenna signal wire. Nag screen.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Tommy from Seattle, WA on 4/3/2018

2003 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed this stereo last week and so far it has been great. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because my rear passenger side speaker constantly makes a crackling sound. I tried messing with the settings but nothing was able to make it go away. With my stock stereo this never happened so it's very confusing. Other than that everything is great, love having Android Auto!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

This is the best stereo EVER!!! At least for me!

Andrew from Bellingham, WA on 4/1/2018

2011 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best stereo EVER!!! It works so seamlessly with my phone and Android Auto, and every day, I'm finding out new things I can do with the stereo. With the dash kit, it looks like factory OEM, and has integrated well with my vehicle and brought it into 2018!!! So far I haven't had any problems with the software or problems with the backup camera (bought an aftermarket one, and it integrated well with this stereo). Love that the Google Maps gives me an estimated time to work and to home when I connect up my phone. My only complaint is the warning screen when I start up the car, that would change this from a 4.75 out of 5 to a 5 /5 as far as satisfaction, but I can definitely live with that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great automotive head unit excellent value

Trent from Astoria, OR on 4/1/2018

1998 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony XAV-AX200 is an awesome reciever at a great price. It features Car-Play which allows you to use your Apple or Android to navigate on the stereo screen, play music, take and receive calls, read and send text messages. This is the second Sony multimedia automotive AV receiver now in my other rig. Sony makes a great product, lots of cool features to make driving and using your phone easier and safer

Pros: Great quality, great features, great price. Crutchfield includes adapters to make installation as easy as possible.

Cons: Some modification to my dash was required to install a double din radio.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Rich from Rockville, MD on 3/25/2018

2004 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with the unit My only negative was that Appleplay will not support Google maps. Should have been made clear to buyers. This is a big deal. Probably not a Sony fault but more of an Apple issue. Apple maps is nowhere near the level of Google maps.

Pros: Easy install, nice sound and interface.

Cons: Does not support Google maps when iPhone connected.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome BUT Sucks (Buggy Software)

Brian from Orlando, FL on 3/20/2018

2005 Ford Five Hundred

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great, good looking unit that delivers on its promises BUT there is a software bug afflicting the backup camera operation that not only has caused me to spend hours upon hours troubleshooting but it is well documented for several months and Sony has chosen not to resolve the problem or even acknowledge that it exists. Google "sony xav-ax200 reverse in" and check out the results for the little brother to this unit, the Sony XAV-AX100, same problem. I am keeping the unit and living with the bug but I would not have bought this if was aware of the problem. If the backup camera is important to you, it'd be best to avoid the Sony XAV-AX200SXM and Sony XAV-AX100 until (if) Sony resolves this bug.

Pros: - Apple CarPlay - Good Looking - Good Sounding - Feature Laden

Cons: - Back-up camera bug in software leaves display stuck on reverse camera unless you do a factory reset - Sony hasn't resolved this bug in the several months this unit has been on the market - Sony does not care once they have your money (see points one and two above)

Crutchfield response on 3/28/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Brian to gather more info and help him further. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect for RV

David from Illinois on 3/19/2018

2006 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this head unit in my 2007 RV based on a 3500 Chevy Express van. I am not sure why Crutchfield is so against double dins in these vans. I purchased my own double din GM adapter at a local store, and the Sony slid right in with no cutting or grinding. I think it looks great! This unti makes great since in an RV. The android auto play gives you access to up to date Google maps for traveling, and you can listen to SXM while traveling long distances and not have to worry about radio stations coming and going. I can use every source on the head unit with Google maps still navigating! This is a nice feature set with a powerful, great sounding amplifier!

Pros: Lots of long distance traveling features SXM, android auto, and hands free phone. All sources work with Google maps running.

Cons: Crutchfield needs to offer this as a fitment for the Chevy Express Van

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

SOPHAL from Fairfax, VA on 3/17/2018

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit. First one came in and wouldn't eject a CD. Was sent a replacement and it's been good so far. Only wish the illumination color could be changed, other than that Android Auto works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not so great

Crutchfield customer from Little Elm, TX on 3/6/2018

2008 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Takes a long time to boot up. Screen is odd with bad glare, feels like it has the protective film on it even after its removed. Steering wheel controls don't work with android auto.

Pros: Cheap and works Volume knob

Cons: Long boot up Screen sucks Android auto not so great

Crutchfield response on 3/7/2018
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Love it!

David from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/4/2018

2011 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice radio and huge upgrade over factory one (also upgraded speakers while things were ripped apart). I'd give it 5 stars if there was a way to eliminate or customize the layout of certain source icons on the home screen - I don't have satellite radio and wish I didn't have to now forever look at the SiriusXM icon on my home screen. I bought this one because of the good 'ol volume knob, but with the dash adapter, the left side of the knob is flush with the adapter, so it's not the easiest thing to grab with my big hands. But, I still prefer the physical knob. Steering wheel controls work just fine though. GUI is intuitive and nice clean colors/fonts - and you can customize the wallpaper with your own image. Custom EQ is nice too. Install was easier than I expected with all the adapters you're given. After some trial-and-error, a call to Crutchfield solved a few small issues I was having, as usual. Android Auto is really nice, although it basically bricks your phone while it's active/plugged in to the stereo. You can "hide" it in the background, but it pops back up when you're in certain apps then. I understand the point of this (safety first), but hopefully improvements are made as Google continues to update the app. I'm sure I'll get used to it though as I continue to use it. It's nice that it charges your phone while it's plugged in and I'd certainly choose having Android Auto over not having it.

Pros: GUI; Android Auto; physical buttons!

Cons: can't customize/eliminate icons on home screen

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Fontana, CA on 2/27/2018

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good device...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Fairmont, MN on 2/20/2018

2010 Ford F-150 FX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit, nice features, I wanted a CD player, and was pleased sony came out with one. Also like the option of having spotify as well as Pandora.

Pros: Upgraded features

Cons: Choosing stations by swiping the presets, you loose the station you were previously listening to.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pick one!

Francis from Virginia on 2/11/2018

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So glad I decided on this head unit, was looking for one that would look like an OEM receiver on my 2012 Rav4. You can feel the quality on the buttons and plastic. They aren't flimsy like in others. Waiting on new speakers to arrive. The factory speakers sound much better now but looking forward to the upgrade. Very easy to install. I opted for the prewire option from Crutchfield and the installation was probably done in 30 minutes, Routing the microphone took the longer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

OK, but not great

Steve from Morristown, TN on 2/6/2018

2006 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, but screen being in constant change is distracting. Have not used CarPlay. I have had other Sony units I liked better because of the lack of control of the screen. Would buy Sony again, will know which questions to ask in future decisions.

Pros: Good quality Nice features

Cons: Screen constantly changing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Nice CarPlay Bluetooth unit

Danny from Atlanta, GA on 1/30/2018

2008 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for Bluetooth upgrade and CarPlay for my 2008 4Runner. Love the unit! The sound is clean and strong, steering wheel controls work. Touchscreen looks nice, but wish the disclaimer window could be removed or time out. Install was easy! May go ahead and add a rearview camera.

Pros: Bluetooth Hands free CarPlay DVD/CD

Cons: Disclaimer screen

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The sound, it's sooooooo much better

David from Rocky Point, NY on 1/28/2018

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2017 WRX, I used both the Metra USB adapter (it works despite what Crutchfield says) with this Sony unit and I picked up Metra AXSUB28SWC6V which Crutchfield doesn't carry, to the best of my knowledge. I snipped off the Axxess steering wheel plugs that came on Metra AXSUB28SWC6V and wired a pigtail to it. This allows you to programs the steering wheel control without having to buy extra stuff that isn't needed. It will also allow you to retain the factory backup camera. I wish Crutchfield had better directions for this but with a bit of sleuthing on the internet, you'll be able to find info on how to do this yourself if you're having trouble

Pros: Was able to retain the factory back up camera, as well as steering wheel controls

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Great Unit, Great installation

John from Lorton, VA on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got it for Apple CarPlay and SiriusXM. Works well in both regards. Install in my 2007 Xterra is ok, but the screen is recessed more than I would like it to be, obscuring far left from driver's viewpoint and limiting access to volume knob. Neither is a show stopper. It drives my standard speakers very well for great sound when the volume overcomes the truck and road noise. Navigation via my iPhone SE works great. All in all it's a great unit and Crutchfield did a fantastic job of installing it. Recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Newark, OH on 1/28/2018

2007 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this head unit mainly for hands free phone/ texting and has surpassed my expectations. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the warning screen that makes me press "ok" every time I turn on the car. Very annoying if I'm in and out of the car all day.

Pros: Great radio easy install all features are great

Cons: Warning screen is annoying every time at startup

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Brad from Greensboro, NC on 1/27/2018

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super happy with this radio. I haven't installed a stereo in 10 years and this was very easy. As always Crutchfield's instructions and supplied parts made this very simple. Fits great in my 2008 F150. I used two spacers on the top screws and no spacers on the bottom screws for the bezel and that give it a very flush mount. Sound is excellent and I really like CarPlay and bluetooth. I paired this with the Crux CFD-03F Rear-View Camera and it works great. Boot time could be a little faster and having the press OK on the screen every time is quite annoying but not a huge deal. I really like the physical volume nob although it's a little small are hard to grab sometimes. I also find myself using the forward and back buttons a good bit too. Easier to push a button or nob while driving. I like that this radio is very simple to use and not over cluttered with extra features. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Oak Ridge, TN on 1/14/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If it wasn't for the constant reminder on start up it would be a 5 star. Otherwise it does everything I want it to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Merrimack, NH on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The reception seems a bit weaker than the OEM radio it replaced. controls are intuitive and the sound is great even thru the OEM speakers. It would be nice if the volume control was either a bit longer or larger diameter, adjusting volume with gloves on is a challenge. Dimming of the screen in Auto mode isn't as dynamic as I would like, nor is there a way to adjust the max/min brightness that the dimming will achieve. Wiring was a snap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Carlos from Anaheim, CA on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm in love with my new Sony cav-ax200smx, it has all the expectations I was looking for, thanks Crutchfield salesman for the help, I was available to choose this product, fits perfectly on my Toyota Tundra, VERY HAPPY

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Rock Hill, SC on 1/7/2018

2004 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this as a scratch and dent at a great price. Even better is the customer service when the unit would not play a DVD and ate one. Free replacement unit arrived in 2 days and works perfect. Great price and unmatched customer service. This is why I always end up at crutchfield when shopping car audio.

Pros: Price! DVD and android auto!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony No Baloney

XMJUNKIE from Cincinnati, OH on 1/6/2018

2008 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean and nice fit for my son's Fusion. My first departure from Pioneer and so far not disappointed. Programming the steering control module a bit challenging but overcame with a little patience. Longevity still unknown but if the phrase "Sony no Baloney " holds up he'll enjoy this unit for many more years!

Pros: Apple Carplay

Cons: None YET

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value, Sony knows what they're doing

Steven from South Lyon, MI on 1/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the AX200 over Christmas along with a backup camera. Installation was pretty straightforward, albeit not simple. With the assistance of Crutchfield tech support. however, I persevered. The unit looks great in my Sport Trac and sounds fantastic even with the OEM speakers and sub. I really like the look of the Sony since it has an original equipment look and feel, versus most of the other units which scream "aftermarket". Simply designed with well-placed buttons and a volume knob make for easy access and a clean integration. The Sony home screen is well laid out with easy access to CarPlay, it includes the basic functionality you'd expect from a higher-end unit. It also came with the SAT receiver but I didn't install that since I'm not planning on using it. Integrates well with the steering wheel buttons which is probably attributed more to the PAC unit than the radio. My Sport Trac steering wheel apparently has a few "analog" buttons which require tapping into a harness on the steering column to access - haven't done that but I eventually will to fully utilize all functionality. My only complaint thus far is the warning screen - it would be nice if you could disable the screen since it comes up every time the vehicle is started and stays on until you press the "Okay" button. Not a big deal, just annoying. It would also be nice to have a mute button.

Pros: Good looking head unit CarPlay integration Terrific sound - even with OEM speakers

Cons: Ugh, the warning message

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Happy with purchase

Todd from Rolla, MO on 12/31/2017

2003 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits easily into my 2003 MR2 Spyder. Responsiveness of touch screen is very good. I like the separate volume levels for different modes. Phone conversations are clear, even in a convertible. I'll probably need to upgrade my speakers at some point to get the full sound that this unit is capable of. Navigating the controls is quick and fairly intuitive. Nothing of importance is hidden behind 5 levels of menus like my 2014 F150 stock radio. Background image is customizable. Clock seems to lose power and fall behind my phone time, so I need to investigate that.

Pros: Ease of connection and use. Physical volume button. Ease of installation.

Cons: Still investigating slow clock...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 12/29/2017

2009 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We really like the receiver, everything works really well. Audio is clear on calls, it connected with no problems to apple carplay and the aesthetic fits in really well with the 2009 CR-V we have. I'd give it five stars, but the placement of the volume control knob causes some trouble. With the knob's low profile and location on the left edge, it sits flush up against the plastic trim of our dash kit and I'm assuming other folks might have a similar issue. When reaching to adjust the volume, you have to grab the knob at the top and bottom, and can't grab it on the left side at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great way to bring an older vehicle current!

Mike from Danville, CA on 12/26/2017

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit! Make sure to only use quality USB cables with it or you'll suffer constant disconnects from Android Auto (haven't tested with CarPlay). Also be aware that the screws that come with the head unit may not be long enough to mount into the Crutchfield-supplied bracket. I have reached out to Crutchfield support twice now to remedy and am still waiting for a response.

Pros: - Great sound - Android Auto is awesome! - Supports several camera feeds - Supports CarPlay

Cons: - Supplied screws not likely long enough for mounting - Very sensitive to the quality of the USB cable used - Volume knob is a bit small and is quite stiff

Crutchfield response on 12/27/2017
Mike contacted our Customer Support team and we sent out the screws. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Jesse from Georgia on 12/26/2017

2007 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product has performed above and beyond my expectations. Will recommend it and your company to all of my friends and family.

Pros: Good product

Cons: No CD player

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Barry from Boulder, CO on 12/26/2017

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything worked the first time after installation with no problems, and the Apple Play and Siri voice recognition work very well with my iPhone 7. The XM Radio also works seamlessly. The display is very good, even on a sunny day. The volume knob on the far left side was a bit of a problem being so close to the left piece of the plastic adapter plate for my 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan, but that was easily solved by grinding some of that plate away with a Dremel tool. Overall, a very nice radio that exceeded my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Spencer, MA on 12/25/2017

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed for a Christmas road trip New England to North Carolina This head unit sounds great and the Apple car play is incredible the ease of use was amazingly simple. Used my phone for navigation and music the whole trip, was able to send and receive messages through Siri hands free head up on the road this thing is going to save lives no joke. The number one reason for picking this unit was the volume knob and I'm so glad I did ... not ready to give up the knob. The install was made simple with Crutchfield ... all the required parts recommended were exactly what was needed ... if there was one drawback it was that the instructions were too vague as to the nav harness installation with the black box but I was able to work around it by looking at others reviews on the site and I knew if I needed them Crutchfield tech support would have been there for me.....Great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit

Charles from Hoover, AL on 12/24/2017

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice unit. The only drawbacks are the Bluetooth iOS interface is very weak and the native phone interface is terrible uf you have a bunch of contacts. It did inspire me to clean out my contact list on my phone

Pros: CarPlay inerface

Cons: Native Bluetooth phone interfaces

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 12/23/2017

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to install and works very good. I was not sure just how much work it might be to change the dash, but it was very easy and it looks great.

Pros: Easy install and looks and works good. Great sound

Cons: The volume knob is not long enough. Other than that it is a wonderful unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent. The perfect

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 12/23/2017

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is great radio. Very fast and responsive, even at below 0 degrees F. Very simple to use with well layout of menus and buttons. Apple car play works flawlessly and instant. Highly recommended. Steering wheel controls work perfectly with the axxess.

Pros: Fast response. Well layed out. Simple design yet full of features.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Nice for the money.

Don from Mission Viejo, CA on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first aftermarket head unit purchase in many many years. The Sony did not disappoint me. This unit covered all the bases for me. I wanted Apple Car Play, DVD, Backup Cam & XM Radio. The sound is enough for me, however, I'm sure many people will want to add an amplifier. The one thing that I would recommend to Sony is to make the XM station buttons larger. Other than that, I'm happy 100%. The unit changes sources quickly, and the screen is clear and sharp. With the free mounting kit, free OEM plug, and no tax this is a great deal.

Pros: Covered all my needs

Cons: small XM radio buttons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/16/2017

2007 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi purchased from Crutchfield and selected the option for them to connect to the harness before shipping which I would recommend. The unit is finished well and the touch screen is really working well. The unit sounds good and on the contrary to what on reviewer said, you can adjust balance and fader as well as various audio presets. The 3 camera input is great and the xm radio tuner works nicely even with the antenna in the dash. Pros: 3 camera input, touch screen quality, included Sirius xm tuner, sound, CarPlay , Siri understands me! Boot time is as fast as most factory units and camera is available instantly. Cons: One thing that is annoying with CarPlay is that if you're in a call, and use the nav, it will switch back to the call screen automatically. You cannot change illumination color. It is light blue. 2 usb would have been nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Denton, TX on 12/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Receiver is fantastic. Very easy to install and set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The volume knob is everything

Matt from Mcminnville, OR on 12/13/2017

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my search for a good upgrade on my wife's old Jetta, I considered nearly a hundred double-DIN head units. Although Apple CarPlay is far from perfect, it's a good enough feature that it was a requirement as well. What shocked me when shopping around was of the dozens of options to choose from, only two head units had a physical volume knob, and the mix of features plus the knob is why I bought this Sony. In practice, it's a great head unit. The stereo boots up quickly and CarPlay begins playing whatever you were last listening to much quicker than my 2017 honda that has carplay (where it can take up to a minute to start playing audio the boot-up procedure is so long). I didn't have to approve the device or go through complicated bluetooth handshakes, it seems to instantly connect to whatever iPhone you plug in. I'm still trying to work out some small bugs with a backup camera and a FM module specific to the car, but otherwise this Sony unit is a peach. I really wish more stereo designers used physical knobs, my wife's new Sony CarPlay stereo is so much easier to use than the all-touchscreen setup in my new Honda.

Pros: Volume knob, quick bootup, simple instant operation for CarPlay/iPhones, good bright display

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Transformed.

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 12/10/2017

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than I expected. Transformed a base model F150 pickup to a luxury model. Superb functionality and sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound improvement, UI, display, CarPlay

Mike from Fairfax Station, VA on 12/9/2017

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this purchase. Great sound, loaded with features with a simple, clear UI. Installed in a 2002 Avalanche as the stock radio started having problems. Sound quality is much improved over stock. The unit has a large number of well-implemented features. With the associated installation materials offered by Crutchfield, it was about a four hour effort to install the radio, a new backup camera, the Sirius module and the Sony dedicated nav unit. I opted to solder the radio leads to the harness adapted leads and used heat shrink wrappers on the wire instead of the crimp-style connectors. Crutchfield's offerings and documentation were spot on and their delivery was the best I have experienced in awhile--delivered to me in two days. My positives would just echo what is already written. The screen is responsive and bright (I have not had glare issues...but a lot of that will be dependent on the vehicle configuration. CarPlay works well with the unit. I was also surprised that my Music app worked with CarPlay. Siri works as good as you'd expect (positive and negative...but that is a ding on Apple, not Sony). The boot up time doesn't bother me. The warning screen, while annoying, is pretty much like every other system I have operated. One nice thing is that when using Nav, a passenger can actually enter data while the vehicle is moving...not always true for a lot of nav systems. Sound for all features. Is great. Having the volume knob is also very convenient. For m

Pros: Sound, volume knob, UI, CarPlay integration, wide array of features (CD, BT, USB, Sirius, NAV, CarPlay, AM/FM, Backup Cam). Major upgrade for an old Avalanche

Cons: Wish I could rearrange Homescreen icons by frequency of use.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great head unit!

JT from Chesapeake, VA on 12/4/2017

2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the unit itself, but there were some issues specific to my 2010 Jeep Wrangler w/ the factory Infinity system upgrade. My unit takes a little under 10 seconds to boot up, and I do have to press the "OK" on the nag screen each time. Once past that, the native UI has always been responsive, and I like how it's laid out... it's easy to find stuff, and when you're messing around in settings, the options were pretty straight forward. Screen is bright and clear. I've only used it with CarPlay (no Android Auto experience). CarPlay has been great. I use Podcasts and Apple Music a ton, and they both sound/work great. Two negatives, specific to my Jeep Wrangler. First off, the recommended Metra dash kit is not a direct fit for this Sony. It required some significant cutting (Dremel) of the two side pieces to make them fit flush to the unit. Even then, with the way they bow out towards the front, it makes the volume knob more difficult to use. Second, my Wrangler has the upgraded factory Infinity amp. With this amp, most aftermarket head units cannot control the forward/rear fade. I didn't think this would be an issue... my factory head unit had the fade set dead center between front/rear. With this Sony installed, it definitely sounds faded forward, and there's no way to adjust that. I have a feeling that'd be the case w/ most aftermarket head units, with the exception of the ones that work with iDatalink Maestro RR to keep that feature.

Pros: Volume knob, responsive UI, easy to use/logically laid out UI, input for three cameras, CarPlay worked perfectly, price

Cons: For the radio, the only con I have is having to press OK on the nag screen every time. For Wrangler owners, see the review for some issues I ran into.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty good unit

Devin from Homestead , FL on 11/24/2017

2008 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really 4.5 stars. The volume knob and android auto is what sold me on getting this unit.

Pros: It absolutely sounds great,,,, waaaay better than my old Alpine!

Cons: Volume knob is wimpy. Safety warnings every time the radio boots up is very annoying. Screen glare is really bad.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Cumberland, RI on 11/14/2017

2004 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 15 found this helpful

User friendly, packed with common sense Features

Jonathan from Milton, FL on 11/14/2017

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not be happier with this unit. I purchased this unit for my 2015 Chevrolet 3500 to replace the IO4 stock unit. the main reason for the upgrade was to get a rearview camera without breaking the bank the Upgrade to the IO8 would not have been possible without spending way too much to get everything changed In the truck. I have the LS Model which is a basic upgrade from the WT. Now not only do I have one camera but now have 3 with connections for the tailgate, cargo, and trailer camera. The head unit is packed with great features and I was able to keep 99% of the factory stuff with the installation kit from Crutchfield. I do not have ON star or NAV with my truck but the Android Auto/Apple service brings these in through the new unit. IT is easy to operate while driving, has more settings than I will ever need and Looks great in my truck. I installed it my self with extensive help from the Crutchfield tech support team. It's not really that hard but when you know nothing about car stereos their assistance was the part that made it easy. the unit was powerful enough to bring the factory speakers to life and the unit is very user friendly. the screen looks great and I have had no issues with it in the daylight at all.

Pros: easy to operate while driving great sound multiple cameras great screen, touch works without issues good vehicle integration Android Auto Android Auto Did I mention Android Auto? Awesome support from Crutchfield

Cons: does not run up and jump in your dash all by itself.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 11/14/2017

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding. Seemless transition between Apple car play and android auto. Great sound. Also thanks to Crutchfield for throwing in the free XM tuner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX200SXM

Vinny from Greenville, SC on 11/13/2017

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this head unit. I installed it in my 2017 Wrangler with a few modifications and it now fits really well. With the accessories suggested by Crutchfield, I was able to maintain the factory steering wheel controls and the USB input in the console, and I used the factory satellite antenna paired with the SiriusXM unit. Android Auto works very well with this unit, and I'm very pleased with both the responsiveness and sound quality. I will be installing a backup camera this week. The modifications that I found necessary were as follows. The rear bracket that holds the stock Jeep head unit needs to removed. This is a simple 2 bolts and from what I can tell is necessary for all double din radios in the Wranglers. The cross piece directly above the radio needed to be trimmed about 1/16". Again, I believe this is necessary for all double din radios. The majority of the modifications were needed on the Metra 95-6511 kit. Because of the volume knob on this radio, I needed to file a round profile in the left bracket. I also filed 1/8" off the rear of the brackets and the front of the slots to space the radio closer to the surface of the dash. I also heated both brackets slightly and bent them inward so that the face of the radio was more in line with the face of the brackets. This provided a much better look and fit. Note that with the brackets unmodified, the knob on this radio sits recessed with respect to the bracket, which I found to be unusable.

Pros: sound quality, phone call quality, simple user interface, sound customization

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Just what I was looking for

Alton from Nipomo, CA on 11/5/2017

1997 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just love this head-unit. Much easier to operate than the high-end one I have in my Tundra. This Sony Head-Unit doesn't come loaded down with tons of bells and whistles. It's easy for me to switch between AM/FM, SiriusXM and my USB Flash Drives. It also has a Volume Know. I was only looking for a receiver with a Volume Knob. That is how I come to find this Unit. I installed it into my 1997, Toyota 4runner and it is a perfect fit. I couldn't be more pleased. I also like the Phone operation much better than the Head Unit in my Tundra. My cell phone paired up and downloaded the phone book in one quick swoop. When receiving a call the name and number, of the person calling, is seen in big letters across the screen. I added a good backup camera and the camera view, in reverse, is very clear.

Pros: The ease of switching from Am/FM - SiriusXM - USB I do not have iPhone nor Android yet. I have a high-end Nav. System in my Truck. The Sony is much easier to operate. Just love this head-unit.

Cons: No option to adjust left/right front/rear speakers but I find I really don't need that option.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP