Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

DVD receiver with free SiriusXM satellite radio tuner

MFR # XAVAX210SXM

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

DVD receiver with free SiriusXM satellite radio tuner

MFR # XAVAX210SXM

60 reviews
View this product

AX210

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IL on 8/10/2020

2011 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not a big fan of Sony because I hit a home stereo it only lasted two years but this one does have an awful lot of features. When I saw it head a serious XM receiver included with it I think there is what made me buy it since it already had everything else. One thing I'm not crazy about is the fact that I have to turn the volume up so loud to actually get any volume. You have to turn the volume up over halfway to around 3/4 in order to compensate for having the windows open in your vehicle. With the tiny little volume knob it ends up being a lot of turning of the knob because you can only grip it with the tips of your fingers and it turns a lot to move very little on the screen volume bar. The knob is too small. Also, in order to shut it off requires two presses rather than just a pressing one button. First you press one button and then you have to press source off on the screen. I would rather have one button on the face of the unit that you can press quickly when you need to turn off the radio right away. The Remote control is a nice feature but most of the buttons are for use when playing a DVD. I'm still glad I bought it.

Pros: It does everything. I can't believe so many of the other audio video receiver's do not play discs but this one does. The XM receiver works great, I just wish Sirius had better prices for their packages. The only thing missing that would make this perfect would be a wireless connection between my iPhone and the unit for use during CarPlay.

Cons: I spent two days trying to figure out why I had no AM reception and my FM was weak. It turns out that the Crutchfield harness has an extra blue wire which is not listed on the wiring instructions in the receiver book. Of course not, because it is not from Sony, but if you do not hook up The extra blue wire to the blue and white wire you do not provide power to your shark fin antenna and of course you have no reception. I had to call to find out that those wires needed to be tied together.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

nick from North Aurora, IL on 7/27/2020

2017 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking unit in my 2017 Frontier SV. One thing to note is that the recommended Metra dash kit makes it nearly impossible to use the volume knob because it is recessed into the dash. After work I'll be taking a Dremel to it to try and make it easier to use, hopefully it looks good. Wired it up last night but I have no audio from my stock speakers, I will be trying to fix it later. Will update!

Pros: Android Auto/Apple Car Play, Bluetooth, volume knob, great graphics!

Cons: Dash kit doesn't work as well as expected

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great picture

MIck from Abita Springs, LA. on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound ! Apple CarPlay works great! Easy to use with blue tooth!

Pros: Picture , Sound , Apple CarPlay & Blue tooth Works great with my iPhone.

Cons: Little slow start up!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Midland , TX on 6/15/2020

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the design and it actually has a volume knob. Lots of design and features for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Millbrook, AL on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 10 camaro, easy install and works and sound great, still learning it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Tracys Landing, MD on 6/11/2020

2014 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Backup cam sucks, when I am backing up to a trailer the red bars pop up and completely cover the tow hitch of the truck. I got it for the reason of the backup cam and it just sucks!!!!

Pros: Easy install

Cons: back up cam sucks

Crutchfield response on 6/16/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver and backup cam working properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Danville, CA on 6/6/2020

2015 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provides just what I needed with Apple CarPlay. Good sound also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerful, intuitive unit

Michael from Chantilly, VA on 5/31/2020

2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took a bit to get the correct harness, but Crutchfield offered fantastic support. Installed in a 2010 Wrangler JKU with the Infinity speaker system, went through 2 of the suggested harnesses and multiple customer service calls; we ultimately found that with my vehicles, the PAC-C2R-CHY4 worked best with my specific vehicle. It's a fairly strong stereo unit (have a feeling it may blow my speakers if I take it to max volume) and has a fairly intuitive user interface. Slightly disappointed that it will not play from my iPod (yes...I still use one as a digital music bank), but I'm hoping I can convert those files for playback on a USB thumb drive. My only other complaint would be the volume dial, I thought it would be great to control the volume from a rotary dial, but the mount gets in the way, so it's a bit cumbersome to manipulate. Also, be ready to get creative to how you fit everything back into your dash

Pros: Ease of use, powerful, intuitive user interface

Cons: Bulky cables, finding a correct harness, won't play all my media formats, harness complicates rotary dial

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Livingston, TX on 5/31/2020

2004 GMC Yukon Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Navigation Stereo system.

Crutchfield customer from Prescott Valley, AZ on 5/31/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System is fantastic and simple to use .it also works well with suggested back up camera. Sound and video quality is great. Price is great for this quality system. Delivered on time and comes with lifetime tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Needs HD option when using the FM band

Crutchfield customer from Centennial, CO on 5/25/2020

2005 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio, good fit and decent noise rejection. Only option missing Is FM HD1,2 and 3.

Pros: Good frequency modulation band with decent noise rejection at this price point.

Cons: Missing HD side bands.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far so good

Adam from Jacksonville, NC on 5/23/2020

2006 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally decided to upgrade the factory radio in my 2006 Acura RSX Type-S with Bose system. Paired with the Metra 95-7867 Bezel/Mount Kit and Metra 70-1725 Adapter this unit works flawlessly. Factory sub definitely hits harder, but you also have enough audio settings to tune to your liking. Love how the bezel has a nice finish, the receiver looks classy, and the colors can be adjusted to match the factory dash lights. Tested the factory mic and it works well, just need to figure out where to mount it with minimal wind noise. For now I have the USB cable and mic routed into the glove box. I'll be testing the mic while driving to see where it works best since the cable is plenty long. May end up converting the front 12v outlet into a USB mount since there's a rear 12v outlet. Have also considered ordering the Panavise 75116-402 RSX Mount so the phone can be mounted with any universal mount on the right side of the radio bezel, but for now I'll just put the phone in the glovebox if I'm going to connect the USB cable

Pros: -Classy look, looks like it could be a factory unit -Volume knob -Responsive touchscreen -Custom wallpapers, audio and color customization -Supports plenty video formats

Cons: -No front mount USB port -No SD card slot -Volume knob doesn't act as a mute button (home button acts as mute button)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Morrison

Christine from Morrison on 5/21/2020

2012 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the look and when it works it is great. While in ApplePlay phone has lots of static noise so I cannot use phone while it is plugged in. Also, the volume and radio controls on the steering wheel work when they want to and that is it. There does not seem to be any reason when they do work. I had a professional install and will be taking the system back for a 4th time. Very disappointed.

Pros: Looks great and has features I want and easy to use.

Cons: static noise while phone while it is plugged in. volume and radio controls on the steering wheel work when they want to and that is it. T

Crutchfield response on 5/27/2020
Christine, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Upgraded for added functionality

Edward from KING GEORGE, VA on 5/19/2020

2012 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome update to our 2012 Expedition Limited. The head unit in our Limited was nice, but I was always wanting to add Apple Car Play ... this Sony Head Unit was the perfect solution (also supports Android as well). The beauty of buying through Crutchfield is that you automatically get the recommendations for what accessories you need IOT retain the maximum amount of your vehicles functionality. While you do lose some of the functionality, i.e., the built in Nav, factory backup camera, and a few others ... I planned to use iMaps, and will add an after market camera to restore that functionality ... in fact, this Sony Head Unit allows for up to 3 cameras to be connected! Especially nice is that this Sony comes with a SiriusXM adapter that plugs right in, I simply got on line and swapped out the radio ID numbers on my account, plus of course, a $15.00 processing fee from SiriusXM, and my SiriusXM account was available on this unit within minutes. What would be nice is if you could use the connections for the factory installed satellite antenna (factor backup camera too) since they are already installed ... need an adapter for those as well. Highly recommend the iDatalink maestro universal car radio replacement interface as well ... well worth the installation to get your vehicles computer info displayed right on your Sony display ... rpm, gas level, door ajar, tire pressure ... all kinds of good info to display! Well worth the time and money!! Highly recommended!

Pros: Price is great given all of the features and extras of this head unit. Included SiriusXM tuner, supports Car Play and the Android version as well. Easy installation with Crutchfield recommended harness and idatalink, retained most of the OEM funcionality, higly recommended.

Cons: Really haven't come across any yet, enjoying the upgrade to my Expedition Limited!!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Greatest Company ( Crutchfield )

Crutchfield customer from Crescent City, CA on 5/18/2020

2006 Ford F-450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This deck has everything I was searching for in a system. The tech engineer was amazing helping me find the correct installation hardware. The hardware was also provided by This Great Company (Crutchfield). I will be installing this system on Wednesday. Plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Android Auto head unit

Cy from Phoenix AZ on 5/16/2020

2017 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this stereo. The Android Auto works great. It has everything I was looking for and more. It boots up relatively quickly and the safety message displayed on bot up goes away automatically in a couple seconds - no need to press OK. I wish the unit fit a little better. For some reason it seems to fit slightly recessed in the vehicles dash making it difficult to reach the volume knob. I had to do a little modification on my vehicle to get it to stick out more which is actually how it should fit. I also want to note that this is compatible with factory steering wheel controls WITHOUT an aftermarket adapter. Sony sells the cable needed (RC-SR1) which is a 3.5mm jack with pigtail. It hard to find but you can make your own using any stereo 3.5mm headphone plug. The wires from this go straight to the vehicles steering wheel control signal wires without any other adapter. Simply use the left and right channel of the 3.5mm jack for the two signal wires and the shielding connected to the steering wheel control signal ground on the vehicle. The head unit allows you to customize the steering wheel control buttons to whatever you want. For example, I use the SOURCE button on my steering wheel to initiate google assistant on the head unit.

Pros: Snappy interface Volume knob Any color can be set for the physical button backlighting Bright screen Simple Customizable steering wheel button inputs

Cons: Doesnt fit quite right, seems recessed, required a little modification to move it further out. Volume knob hard to reach if it sits recessed Doesnt include the RC-SR1 cable for steering wheel controls without adapter No HDMI input

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Chevy truck owners beware.

Crutchfield customer from Delta, CO on 5/15/2020

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is great and is worthy of five stars in a different application. But in my 2001 GMC Sierra I had to modify the dashboard with a grinding wheel and the back side of the stereo with a grinding wheel in order to get it to fit. And it is still only a good fit but not absolutely perfect. The other big issue is that I had to buy the double DIN opening dashboard for my truck and it prevents me from easily operating the volume knob on this stereo. Buyers beware if you are buying a stereo for the knob don't do it in this make and model. Pretty disappointed in that and I wish Crutchfield would have offered a heads up about this problem. Otherwise the function and features of the stereo are great.

Pros: Nice features

Cons: Doesn't fit in an early 2000s General Motors truck

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product so far. A few small tweeks could make this even better!

Crutchfield customer from Buford, GA on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only used it for a few hours so I can't speak to quality or longevity but so far I'm very happy with this radio. Pros Smooth Car play integration DVD playback - Connect green wire to ground. Clean looking radio without all that garbage flash that other radios have Actual Volume knob on a screen Multiple Camera Inputs Calls sound clear with Carplay Cons HAVE TO ACCEPT SAFETY SCREEN EACH TIME YOU FIRE THE RADIO UP. (Lose one star for that) A slow to start up compared to OEM radios. I wish you could remove the Siriusxm menu if not using XM Volume know could be longer or a little bigger. Should have HD radio Should have come with newer firmware

Pros: Smooth Car play integration DVD playback - Connect green wire to ground. Clean looking radio without all that garbage flash that other radios have Actual Volume knob on a screen Multiple Camera Inputs Calls sound clear with Carplay

Cons: HAVE TO ACCEPT SAFETY SCREEN EACH TIME YOU FIRE THE RADIO UP. (Lose one star for that) A slow to start up compared to OEM radios. I wish you could remove the Siriusxm menu if not using XM Volume know could be longer or a little bigger. Should have HD radio Should have come with newer firmware

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Brandamore, PA on 5/12/2020

2008 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working great so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Heber City, UT on 5/11/2020

2019 Ford E-450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my new RV to replace the terrible stock radio/DVD player. I couldn't be happier with the result.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quick and Simple

Crutchfield customer from Ramstein, Germany on 5/9/2020

2001 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am Active Duty military and was extremely pleased that they sold to APO boxes in Europe. The product came faster than expected and with all the required components for me to install it myself. It was quick and easy and i had it installed in less than 2 hours. This was my first purchase from this website but it certainly wont be the last.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, TX on 5/9/2020

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product very happy with it. Although i do find that pioneer products have a fuller sound. Maybe I just need to keep tweaking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great double din

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy so far. Volume knob is a little small but I like having buttons on the side to use while driving so I don't have to look at the screen.

Pros: Easy to use, looks attractive in most vehicles

Cons: Small knob. Have to use xm adapter that was provided even if your vehicle came factory with xm

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome upgrade for 2016 Honda CR-V

Crutchfield customer from Purlear, NC on 5/5/2020

2016 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Exactly what I was looking for to install in my 2016 Honda CR-V. I simply wanted to add Apple CarPlay but was worried that I would lose some of my factory head unit features. Combined with the Maestro unit, I was able to keep all my factory functions and add CarPlay. With the Maestro integration through the OBD2 port I also get engine function gauges and 0-60, 1/4 mile times and braking. The wife couldn't be happier. And...it has a VOLUME KNOB!!!

Pros: Maestro integration, volume knob, Apple CarPlay

Cons: The mounting kit that comes from Crutchfield recessed the radio into the dash too much and the volume knob isn't easily accessible. Ending up going with another brand of install kit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Arvada, CO on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Very exciting. THere are a few quirky things the radio does. When I shift from reverse into drive it does not bring the home menu back instead it leaves up no video signal on the screen and home needs to be pushed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Pueblo, CO on 5/2/2020

2013 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install ,unit works awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great buy

Crutchfield customer from Riverview, FL on 4/26/2020

2008 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took about a hour to install. But the system works great. Works with my steering and connected it to the cars computer.

Pros: Works with Apple products and android

Cons: No cons. In order to do other things you need other products to use with the actual unit. So I don't have a rear or front camera nor did I change the system.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pleased User

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, MO on 4/21/2020

2010 Jeep Commander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit controls are user friendly, even for an old guy (me). The installer was able to connect it to my steering wheel controls and previous back-up camera so they all work like the original equipment (the camera even better). I have not used the Android Auto so cannot comment about it but I assume it works as advertised. The only thing that is not positive (I won't call it a con) is the external microphone for the phone. However, it is small and, nearly, unnoticeable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 4/20/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall nice product. Performs as expected

Pros: Intuitive interface. Common sense feature layout.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Unit

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, WA on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit sounds fantastic lots of features Apple car play works flawlessly easy install with the connectors provided and tech support was excellent and answered the few questions I had quickly. I will definitely order from Crutchfield for my next install I highly recommend them

Pros: Great features came with everything I need for instillation sounds great!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value for the price - exactly what I was looking for

Crutchfield customer from Grapevine, TX on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver! The installation was a breeze thanks to the wiring harness and dash kit provided by Crutchfield, and I was able to maintain the use of my steering wheel controls. I really wanted a receiver with a volume knob, and there aren't many. I was amazed at how easy it was to connect my iPhone and start using Apple CarPlay. To talk to Siri, just push the volume button in and hold til it beeps - it's easier to find the physical button without having to take my eyes off the road. Having my phone's features (e.g. navigation, calling, and music) available in the receiver, and at the touch of a button, is much better than using them from my phone in the cupholder. DVD player works great. The tuner and built-in equalizer all work very well with my local FM and AM stations. I will be connecting a rear-view camera in the near future, and later on will integrate it with an iDataLink Maestro RR so that I may have more visibility into the car's computer and gauges.

Pros: Physical volume knob Simple, clean integration with Apple CarPlay Rear USB port iDataLink Maestro RR integration Simple and easy to use

Cons: (minor) Limited customizability of the home and startup screens

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo for the price

Crutchfield customer from Hayesville, NC on 4/2/2020

2007 Chrysler Aspen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo to replace my single din kenwood, love the android auto functionality providing gps and audio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 3/31/2020

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation went well. Used the ready harness service. Everything plug in just right. The iDatalink Maestro RR works good. Sync works. EchoMaster CAM-WLP backup camera works great, didn't have to do anything extra for it to work with the radio. The only problem I have is now the air bag light is lit and I haven't figured that out yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

William from Ft Walton Beach, FL on 3/25/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I should have payed closer attention to the bad reviews. I understand why these just dropped $100 in price. I've never had so many problems with a receiver before now. Setting up the unit was a bit tricky since the buttons didn't always want to respond but the real problems started when the receiver decided that Apple car play didn't need to work. Bluetooth was a pain to pair and doesn't always want to work correctly and finally the receiver seemed to not respond to the Maestro unit associated with complete kit. Most of my steering wheel controls would not work and Crutchfield tech support told me to call Maestro to fix it. I will be spending the extra money on a different company. Additionally, the associated Metra face plate for my vehicle was a horrible choice. Do yourself a favor and buy a different one.

Pros: Music sounds good when the receiver works

Cons: Clock changes times on it's own Button "beep" resets Apple car play works intermittently Receiver takes far too long to start playing music Receiver doesn't work well with Bluetooth Volume knob is difficult to turn due to face plate (might be the vehicle application)

Crutchfield response on 3/30/2020
William contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

7 of 8 found this helpful

Scratch and dent is the way to go!

Crutchfield customer from Newport, AR on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the unit. It was plug and play. I recommend the Crutchfield wiring harness service. The cost is minor compared to the savings of time and irritation. They literally make it so you can simply unplug your factory unit and plug in the new one. (DO NOT CUT YOUR FACTORY WIRES to save $25 bucks!!!!!). They even add instructions for all! I told my wife I was looking at a newer truck. I currently drive a 2007. But after my new unit, I fell in love with my truck all over again. I have: a backup camera, Apple CarPlay, XM Radio, DVD player, hands free phone and much more. I got a scratch and dent unit. Turns out the scratch and dents were on the box!!!! The unit was PERFECT. Saved some major coin!!! I love Crutchfield. The Mentra dash adapter had to be fitted but did you really think it would all just "click and snap". I would say install difficulty was a 3 out of 10 for a "do it yourselfer". I used my factory speakers and that works great for me. I'm not into tunes as much as I once was. Lots of talk radio, movies, hands free calling, talk to text, navigation, etc. I'm well in under $400 and I'm now keeping my truck! I spent a one months car payment and did the upgrade. Added an under tailgate rail light, backup camera, LED headlights, LED interior lights, seat covers, etc and I feel like I have a new truck!! Way cheaper than a new one. I'll spend the money saved on my wife's new ride project keeping us at just one car payment. Best of all "it's Caronav

Pros: Has volume knob. Apple CarPlay / Android Auto. 3 camera inputs (if you wish to add), back up camera wired to reverse. DVD/CD player. Wiring harness pre made service available (DO IT) Free shipping. Got it all in 3 days. 2 without the harness. XM SIRIUS radio included (free) a $70 value. Unit has features I'm still finding. If you add iMaestro, can get factory diagnostics for some vehicles (tire, pressure, rpm, etc. Great unit and loaded with features. Easy to us

Cons: Smaller display because of volume knob. (I'll take the knob) Any other con would be a disservice to the Unit.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 3/16/2020

2012 Hyundai Sonata GLS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good head unit. Wish the main overlay was a little cleaner like the apple car play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, VA on 3/8/2020

2016 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Integrates nicely with all features on my 2016 Honda CRV

Pros: Great sound. Great features.

Cons: Little cumbersome to operate outside of Apple CarPlay. But no biggie.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Radio

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, CA on 3/1/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put this in my Jeep, perfect fit. Good Sound and great multimedia.

Pros: Put this in my Jeep, perfect fit. Good Sound and great multimedia.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

State Of The Art!

Crutchfield customer from Forest Grove, OR on 3/1/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A state-of-the-art, touch screen audio unit is what defines an expensive, late-model automobile and this Sony unit from Crutchfield has virtually turned my 2010 Toyota Tacoma into a new 2020! It was a simple installation.

Pros: Everything from Crutchfield was simple and easy to interpret. All the parts (and more) were there. I would recommend purchasing the "Ready Install" harnesses if you are not an electrician.

Cons: It helps using their website and other YouTube videos to understand what is involved. I opted to instal and aftermarket backup camera and was days trying to make it work.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Apple Valley, CA on 2/29/2020

1995 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and clean looking. No issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid feel

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, OH on 2/24/2020

2004 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I looked only at radios with Apple CarPlay, camera inputs, and bluetooth. I selected this one based on the physical volume knob and solid buttons. Some other brands have very flimsy buttons. Everything works great. It was easy to install. The sound is good. CarPlay works smoothly. The screen is a little glossy, so glare is sometimes a problem.

Pros: CarPlay works well. Solid feeling buttons and knob.

Cons: Glossy screen is sometimes hard to see in bright sunlight.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Salamanca, NY on 11/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's the sizneck.

Pros: Matches well

Cons: Needs more power

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great head unit by Sony!

Crutchfield customer from Vidalia, GA on 10/31/2019

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit has exceeded my expectations. Everything works great! There is a compatibility issue with the reverse camera, but I don't think it's Sony's fault, due to the fact that my year model F-150 displays the image in the rearview mirror.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

New Tech - Old Truck

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 10/13/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a buy to bring my 2004 Chevy truck into the modern electronic age. I needed to be able to have hands free cell phone usage since I spend a lot of time in the truck. The 210sxm works well. There are a few things to get figured out when using the new Apple Carplay, but overall I am pleased with the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bad software

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 9/16/2019

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bad software. I liked it at first, but then the software bugs started to show up. Radio station preset buttons lost their settings and the clock would randomly be off by strange amounts of time (not just even hours off) like 2 hours and 17 minutes for example. Then the next time I start the car, the clock and the stations might be right again.

Pros: I liked the knob for volume control

Cons: Bad software

Crutchfield response on 9/17/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another receiver. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

17 of 17 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to replace original radio and this one is so much better. Should have done it awhile ago. Sound is so much better.

Pros: Nice display. Easy to use.

Cons: Fit could be a little bit better

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Jerome, ID on 8/27/2019

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic yet modern

Pros: Still plays CDs, simple operation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Happy with this purchase

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, IN on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this stereo. Responsive screen and great CarPlay capabilities. With the iDatalink Maestro, the steering wheel controls still work on my Subaru Crosstrek. I would also recommend the Ready Harness because it made install a breeze.

Pros: Touch screen, CarPlay, steering wheel controls, retains use of factory backup camera

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Warrenton

Vince from Warrenton on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying that Crutchfield is hands down the best place to go for anything audio. I had several questions come up during the install and they were knowledgeable and extremely helpful. I gave this unit only 3 stars because even though its overall a very good unit there's a couple annoying things about it. I love the Android auto feature and all the options I have now for music. - can't turn off rear camera if none are connected, you have to cut the white/purple wire. So if in the future you want to add one you'd have to reconnect the wire. - it doesn't play DVD audio discs. Want to dump a bunch of your favorite albums or audio files onto a DVD and play it for hours of musical bliss? Nope, stupidly unsupported. - when scrolling through the 3 screens of saved Sirius stations it won't leave it on the station you're currently listening to, it reverts to the last station you last listened to on EACH screen. - do not use this unit without the vehicle running. It literally drained my battery during the installation and setup in about 15 minutes. Battery was fine before the install and after recharging.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

16 of 21 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Easton, CT on 7/22/2019

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I like it. It's going to an alpine amp so can comment on the power. Integration with the maestro was OK but couldn't get the existing vehicle mic to work. Touch screen is responsive. Wish there was a flash drive or 2nd USB/Aux input.

Pros: Easy install. Looks nice. Works well. Still has a CD player so you are not stuck listening to crappy Bluetooth audio from a phone

Cons: Needs another USB and would prefer a flash card reader or aux in too.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

expected better

Robert from Manassas, VA on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are buying this for the volume knob PLEASE GET SOMETHING ELSE. I am weird...but I like a volume knob. Seeing as how there is NO dedicated mute button and the mute function from the steering wheel does not work...having something to turn the radio down quickly is really helpful. And turning the volume up and down with the steering wheel controls is painfully slow. Thankfully it does tend to remember volumes for each input so I don't have to mess with it much to take calls. The display itself is ok...but how about the ability to customize it even a LITTLE bit beyond just adding a wallpaper? Who cares about a wallpaper....I want to actually get rid of the Sirius icon and maybe move some of the other stuff around. Resize the clock and maybe get a weather widget or something on the home screen. For this price range I really was expecting better. The accuracy of the touch panel is also crap. Don't plan on using it on the regular as it will have you wanting to rip it out and throw it out the window. sound wise its ok and seems to have decent functions. but as others have mentioned they seem to be fairly basic. I will probably get an dedicated cross over/EQ when I add amps and a sub. Also...a note about the install kit you guys sell. The plastic brackets in the Metra kit just aren't up to the task. I fabbed my own out of metal and they work so much better. The radio is held in place and doesn't jiggle in the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Not great for the price

Crutchfield customer from Chelsea, MI on 6/23/2019

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First up, the startup. It takes probably 20-30 seconds to fully start up and recognize a bluetooth connection. The ATT button doesn't usually work very well and the volume knob is not nearly as sensitive as it needs to be. The settings menu. With various audio sources and myself listening to a large array of different music, it is a huge pain in the rear end to have to use the slider at the bottom, and then click 4 times to get to the subwoofer control. Going to be attempting to move the icons around (hopefully they are adjustable). The crossover controls are really simplified and offer no slope control. The subwoofer crossover cannot be shut off. The radio also didn't come with the standard metal cage for install and there are too few screw holes on the side to appropriately mount the radio. At this price point I was expecting a lot better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

gregory from Hershey, PA on 6/21/2019

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Touch screen is very nice.. Great features that didn't break the bank. Apple play works flawlessly. Very crisp screen. Great sound over the stock unit with the built in EQ's. Biggest problem is what I have seen with other reviews with the video input screen popping up for now reason. Sony - I know I have no video because I didn;t plug any camera's in. Have not tried the fix yet but great unit for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Phoenixville, PA on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit was easy to setup. Touch screen is clear and responsive. Android auto functionality works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Crisp screen and signal, 4volt output

Josh from Mcarthur, OH on 6/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall nice receiver! A cpl drawbacks though, nothing serious but noteworthy. First the screen isnt that responsive compared to the newer 5000 model with the capacitive screen, sometimes have to touch on something a cpl times. Also the startup time is still pretty slow which the new update made it A TON faster still I dont understand why I have to click the button everytime I start my car agreeing to the terms of whatever. Also we had to grind down some plastic around the volume knob to make it to where you could spin it somewhat freely, where it sits kind of inside the dash instead of flush, which is something they also fixed on the 5000 model. But the 5000 doesn't have a cd/DVD player or a volume knob so it's basically a trade off of what u prefer. Other than those points mentioned it's a really nice receiver. The display is nice and crisp even in direct sunlight. The 4volt output is nice running a subwoofer. Android auto works smooth. Hopefully they update the whole layout and some more functions with android auto soon ,its time but that's not on Sony. All the camera options is a added bonus, as well as the Sirius tuner. One other thing I really wish they would have done is to have the screen mirror option so u could play movies or YouTube videos on the screen instead of just having the sound play through it from bluetooth. But I'm happy with it. For the price and what ya get ya cant beat it honestly. Even though I pointed out cons there are far more pros so I'd reccomend

Pros: 4 volt, display, clean signal, volume knob, 3 camera inputs, a video output, android auto, apple CarPlay. Pretty decent EQ with sub control, phase, 10band, DSO, SXM ready. Plays flac files. Supports Waze and Google maps

Cons: No capacitive screen, no time alignment, doesn't sit flush, no screen mirroring

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Love it

Scott from East Lansing, Michigan on 5/3/2019

2012 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing in dash with Android Auto. Hard to find a receiver that has Android Auto under $500?

Pros: Android Auto

Cons: My vehicle takes another $130 Interface to install it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great once working around Sony's software bugs

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 3/10/2019

2013 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm between 4-5 stars here. I like the screen (it is marginally smaller than some with a 7", but the resolution is the same so the text and images are very crisp and sharp). I love having the volume knob and track forward/back buttons on the front - makes it way easier for a passenger to control music, etc. But, the best feature is that it looks OEM - it doesn't look tacky like an after market stereo. Makes me smile whenever I get into the car - a 2013 Toyota Highlander :) Originally I would have given this 2 stars max. Here is why - when driving down the road, Android Auto would disappear and the head unit would switch itself to camera 2 or camera 3's input. But, I only have 1 camera hooked up (backup camera). This was annoying to say the least. I thought the unit may have been flaky / would have to go back (wasn't looking forward to tearing my dash apart multiple times). I updated the firmware from Sony's site - that seemed to make it a bit better - but not perfect. Finally, after searching forums, I found others who had similar issues and they fixed it by going into Settings -> Cameras -> and disabled (off) Camera 2 and Camera 3. Now, it works like a charm. I really like it, but c'mon Sony - really? Don't you test your stuff? Fortunately it was an easy enough fix - hopefully it is fixed for all without having to work around it with Sony's next firmware update.

Pros: Looks very clean, OEM like Volume knob Very sharp & clear screen

Cons: Finicky firmware

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Harlingen, TX on 2/25/2019

2008 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head-unit has everything I wanted 2 years ago but didn't exist at the time. Multiple camera inputs, OBDII data, android auto etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Niceville, FL on 12/25/2018

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500 Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I updated my factory radio because I wanted a backup camera and apple CarPlay. This unit performs as expected. It does take a few sec to turn on when I start my vehicle. It changes functions quickly with no lag time. Apple CarPlay works well. If you have iOS 12 you will have to enter the phone pass code before it will connect to the radio, after that it's good to go. You can turn that security feature off in your phone if you wish.

Pros: Ease of use.

Cons: Takes a few seconds (15-20 sec) to turn on at startup.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Well thought out design.

Bubbatech from Alabama on 12/1/2018

2011 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very well thought out device. I installed this one in a 2011 Prius (no jbl) with a Maestro interface. It has worked with no problems and it is clear that the designers paid attention to details. For example, the display dims when headlights are turned on (the Jensen vx7024 I sent back did not), the home screen is well laid out and responsive, it switches between modes seemlessly even when Apple CarPlay is active, it instantly shows the reverse camera even before boot up, and it sounds excellent. I would buy this unit again.

Pros: Well laid out home screen, nice clean aesthetic design, responsive, gets the details right.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP