Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

DVD receiver with free SiriusXM satellite radio tuner

MFR # XAVAX210SXM

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

DVD receiver with free SiriusXM satellite radio tuner

MFR # XAVAX210SXM

19 reviews
View this product

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Salamanca, NY on 11/15/2019

2003 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's the sizneck.

Pros: Matches well

Cons: Needs more power

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great head unit by Sony!

Crutchfield customer from Vidalia, GA on 10/31/2019

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit has exceeded my expectations. Everything works great! There is a compatibility issue with the reverse camera, but I don't think it's Sony's fault, due to the fact that my year model F-150 displays the image in the rearview mirror.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

New Tech - Old Truck

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 10/13/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a buy to bring my 2004 Chevy truck into the modern electronic age. I needed to be able to have hands free cell phone usage since I spend a lot of time in the truck. The 210sxm works well. There are a few things to get figured out when using the new Apple Carplay, but overall I am pleased with the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bad software

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 9/16/2019

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bad software. I liked it at first, but then the software bugs started to show up. Radio station preset buttons lost their settings and the clock would randomly be off by strange amounts of time (not just even hours off) like 2 hours and 17 minutes for example. Then the next time I start the car, the clock and the stations might be right again.

Pros: I liked the knob for volume control

Cons: Bad software

Crutchfield response on 9/17/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another receiver. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to replace original radio and this one is so much better. Should have done it awhile ago. Sound is so much better.

Pros: Nice display. Easy to use.

Cons: Fit could be a little bit better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Jerome, ID on 8/27/2019

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic yet modern

Pros: Still plays CDs, simple operation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy with this purchase

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, IN on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this stereo. Responsive screen and great CarPlay capabilities. With the iDatalink Maestro, the steering wheel controls still work on my Subaru Crosstrek. I would also recommend the Ready Harness because it made install a breeze.

Pros: Touch screen, CarPlay, steering wheel controls, retains use of factory backup camera

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Warrenton

Vince from Warrenton on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying that Crutchfield is hands down the best place to go for anything audio. I had several questions come up during the install and they were knowledgeable and extremely helpful. I gave this unit only 3 stars because even though its overall a very good unit there's a couple annoying things about it. I love the Android auto feature and all the options I have now for music. - can't turn off rear camera if none are connected, you have to cut the white/purple wire. So if in the future you want to add one you'd have to reconnect the wire. - it doesn't play DVD audio discs. Want to dump a bunch of your favorite albums or audio files onto a DVD and play it for hours of musical bliss? Nope, stupidly unsupported. - when scrolling through the 3 screens of saved Sirius stations it won't leave it on the station you're currently listening to, it reverts to the last station you last listened to on EACH screen. - do not use this unit without the vehicle running. It literally drained my battery during the installation and setup in about 15 minutes. Battery was fine before the install and after recharging.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 8 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Easton, CT on 7/22/2019

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I like it. It's going to an alpine amp so can comment on the power. Integration with the maestro was OK but couldn't get the existing vehicle mic to work. Touch screen is responsive. Wish there was a flash drive or 2nd USB/Aux input.

Pros: Easy install. Looks nice. Works well. Still has a CD player so you are not stuck listening to crappy Bluetooth audio from a phone

Cons: Needs another USB and would prefer a flash card reader or aux in too.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

expected better

Robert from Manassas, VA on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are buying this for the volume knob PLEASE GET SOMETHING ELSE. I am weird...but I like a volume knob. Seeing as how there is NO dedicated mute button and the mute function from the steering wheel does not work...having something to turn the radio down quickly is really helpful. And turning the volume up and down with the steering wheel controls is painfully slow. Thankfully it does tend to remember volumes for each input so I don't have to mess with it much to take calls. The display itself is ok...but how about the ability to customize it even a LITTLE bit beyond just adding a wallpaper? Who cares about a wallpaper....I want to actually get rid of the Sirius icon and maybe move some of the other stuff around. Resize the clock and maybe get a weather widget or something on the home screen. For this price range I really was expecting better. The accuracy of the touch panel is also crap. Don't plan on using it on the regular as it will have you wanting to rip it out and throw it out the window. sound wise its ok and seems to have decent functions. but as others have mentioned they seem to be fairly basic. I will probably get an dedicated cross over/EQ when I add amps and a sub. Also...a note about the install kit you guys sell. The plastic brackets in the Metra kit just aren't up to the task. I fabbed my own out of metal and they work so much better. The radio is held in place and doesn't jiggle in the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Not great for the price

Crutchfield customer from Chelsea, MI on 6/23/2019

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First up, the startup. It takes probably 20-30 seconds to fully start up and recognize a bluetooth connection. The ATT button doesn't usually work very well and the volume knob is not nearly as sensitive as it needs to be. The settings menu. With various audio sources and myself listening to a large array of different music, it is a huge pain in the rear end to have to use the slider at the bottom, and then click 4 times to get to the subwoofer control. Going to be attempting to move the icons around (hopefully they are adjustable). The crossover controls are really simplified and offer no slope control. The subwoofer crossover cannot be shut off. The radio also didn't come with the standard metal cage for install and there are too few screw holes on the side to appropriately mount the radio. At this price point I was expecting a lot better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

gregory from Hershey, PA on 6/21/2019

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Touch screen is very nice.. Great features that didn't break the bank. Apple play works flawlessly. Very crisp screen. Great sound over the stock unit with the built in EQ's. Biggest problem is what I have seen with other reviews with the video input screen popping up for now reason. Sony - I know I have no video because I didn;t plug any camera's in. Have not tried the fix yet but great unit for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Phoenixville, PA on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit was easy to setup. Touch screen is clear and responsive. Android auto functionality works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crisp screen and signal, 4volt output

Josh from Mcarthur, OH on 6/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall nice receiver! A cpl drawbacks though, nothing serious but noteworthy. First the screen isnt that responsive compared to the newer 5000 model with the capacitive screen, sometimes have to touch on something a cpl times. Also the startup time is still pretty slow which the new update made it A TON faster still I dont understand why I have to click the button everytime I start my car agreeing to the terms of whatever. Also we had to grind down some plastic around the volume knob to make it to where you could spin it somewhat freely, where it sits kind of inside the dash instead of flush, which is something they also fixed on the 5000 model. But the 5000 doesn't have a cd/DVD player or a volume knob so it's basically a trade off of what u prefer. Other than those points mentioned it's a really nice receiver. The display is nice and crisp even in direct sunlight. The 4volt output is nice running a subwoofer. Android auto works smooth. Hopefully they update the whole layout and some more functions with android auto soon ,its time but that's not on Sony. All the camera options is a added bonus, as well as the Sirius tuner. One other thing I really wish they would have done is to have the screen mirror option so u could play movies or YouTube videos on the screen instead of just having the sound play through it from bluetooth. But I'm happy with it. For the price and what ya get ya cant beat it honestly. Even though I pointed out cons there are far more pros so I'd reccomend

Pros: 4 volt, display, clean signal, volume knob, 3 camera inputs, a video output, android auto, apple CarPlay. Pretty decent EQ with sub control, phase, 10band, DSO, SXM ready. Plays flac files. Supports Waze and Google maps

Cons: No capacitive screen, no time alignment, doesn't sit flush, no screen mirroring

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it

Scott from East Lansing, Michigan on 5/3/2019

2012 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing in dash with Android Auto. Hard to find a receiver that has Android Auto under $500?

Pros: Android Auto

Cons: My vehicle takes another $130 Interface to install it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great once working around Sony's software bugs

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 3/10/2019

2013 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm between 4-5 stars here. I like the screen (it is marginally smaller than some with a 7", but the resolution is the same so the text and images are very crisp and sharp). I love having the volume knob and track forward/back buttons on the front - makes it way easier for a passenger to control music, etc. But, the best feature is that it looks OEM - it doesn't look tacky like an after market stereo. Makes me smile whenever I get into the car - a 2013 Toyota Highlander :) Originally I would have given this 2 stars max. Here is why - when driving down the road, Android Auto would disappear and the head unit would switch itself to camera 2 or camera 3's input. But, I only have 1 camera hooked up (backup camera). This was annoying to say the least. I thought the unit may have been flaky / would have to go back (wasn't looking forward to tearing my dash apart multiple times). I updated the firmware from Sony's site - that seemed to make it a bit better - but not perfect. Finally, after searching forums, I found others who had similar issues and they fixed it by going into Settings -> Cameras -> and disabled (off) Camera 2 and Camera 3. Now, it works like a charm. I really like it, but c'mon Sony - really? Don't you test your stuff? Fortunately it was an easy enough fix - hopefully it is fixed for all without having to work around it with Sony's next firmware update.

Pros: Looks very clean, OEM like Volume knob Very sharp & clear screen

Cons: Finicky firmware

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Harlingen, TX on 2/25/2019

2008 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head-unit has everything I wanted 2 years ago but didn't exist at the time. Multiple camera inputs, OBDII data, android auto etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX210SXM

Crutchfield customer from Niceville, FL on 12/25/2018

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500 Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I updated my factory radio because I wanted a backup camera and apple CarPlay. This unit performs as expected. It does take a few sec to turn on when I start my vehicle. It changes functions quickly with no lag time. Apple CarPlay works well. If you have iOS 12 you will have to enter the phone pass code before it will connect to the radio, after that it's good to go. You can turn that security feature off in your phone if you wish.

Pros: Ease of use.

Cons: Takes a few seconds (15-20 sec) to turn on at startup.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Well thought out design.

Bubbatech from Alabama on 12/1/2018

2011 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very well thought out device. I installed this one in a 2011 Prius (no jbl) with a Maestro interface. It has worked with no problems and it is clear that the designers paid attention to details. For example, the display dims when headlights are turned on (the Jensen vx7024 I sent back did not), the home screen is well laid out and responsive, it switches between modes seemlessly even when Apple CarPlay is active, it instantly shows the reverse camera even before boot up, and it sounds excellent. I would buy this unit again.

Pros: Well laid out home screen, nice clean aesthetic design, responsive, gets the details right.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP