Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX3200

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # XAV-AX3200

Sony XAV-AX3200

Sony XAV-AX3200

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # XAV-AX3200

43 reviews
View this product

Budget friendly Sony touchscreen

Joshua from Sedona, AZ on 5/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful upgrade from stock (2003 Toyota Tacoma) head unit. Perfect fit without needing a trim kit. I am most Satisfied with the added power and control (eq). Purchased specifically so I could add a backup camera.

Pros: Fit and finish with is on point. Powerful and loaded with features. A/V line in for digital accessories or second (front?) camera. Can set custom background image from usb.

Cons: Apps appear to be "lite" versions (missing controls and options) when I open them in CarPlay. For example: when I open Pandora music, alphabetized artist lists are missing. Not sure if this is a Sony issue or a CarPlay issue.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Kimberly from Del Rio, TN on 5/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything it is supposed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

James from Los Angeles, CA on 5/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice head unit but a little dim.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Greg from Parker, CO on 5/22/2022

1999 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

iPhone connection is great. Radio stations very clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Cory from Sierra Vista, AZ on 5/22/2022

2006 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice, especially for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Great in my 2014 4Runner Limited

Timothy Lee from Georgetown, TX on 5/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent aftermarket unit for my Toyota 4Runner. Easy installation with step by step directions included. Had to connect many wires together but the color coding made it simple. Crutchfield makes it easy with bundles pre made for your specific vehicle and everything works as advertised. Apple Carplay is working great and sound quality is better than stock. Customer support is second to none.

Pros: Excellent customer service before and after the sale. Looks OEM with the Schosche Trim Kit. Color match is perfect in silver. Touch screen is very responsive and is non glaring. Functions with steering wheel controls - kit required.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Andrew from Freeport, PA on 5/20/2022

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio itself for the price works fantastic. The screen is honestly responsive. Few things i dislike but it is not the radio's fault. The angle it sits in my truck (F250) it lets the sun glare the screen. Also it really under powers the factory subwoofer system in the truck. Its not the end of the world i kind of figured that might happen. But besides that it works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Harry from Goldendale, WA on 5/18/2022

2009 Chevrolet Aveo5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an improvement over the factory radio along with hands fee phone and the car play navigation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Kasey from Xenia, OH on 5/18/2022

2007 Cadillac DTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and sounds great! No issues connecting to my 2007 Cadillac DTS

Pros: Sounds great Easy install Car play is amazing

Cons: Microphone sounds like in a tunnel on the other end when in a call.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Radio

Jose M from Kissimmee , FL on 5/15/2022

2006 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In all , an awesome piece of equipment . Great sound , even with factory speakers . Simple installation with store provided kits/wiring

Pros: Apple car Play

Cons: None , so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony install wrangler jk.

Mike from Cumming, GA on 5/12/2022

2012 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this in a Jeep Wrangler jk. Using the install kit is crucial. The install went without a hitch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Jeff from Sanger, TX on 5/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ive only had the unit a week, but works as advertised. Pretty straight forward install. No issues. I would recommend this unit if your on a budget for a factory replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Beau from Baxter, IA on 5/11/2022

2006 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So happy with Cruthfield!

Spencer from Moscow Mills, MO on 5/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I installed this head unit in my 2006 Corvette with factory Bose system. I left factory speakers and amp intact. I wasn't expecting much difference in audio quality thinking speakers were going to be the weak link. After an easy install thanks to Crutchfields ready harness service, which by the way is an awesome service, I couldn't be happier with the sound quality. I would say it sounds 1000 times better than factory radio. Thank you Crutchfield, your service is second to none.

Pros: Super easy to install and set-up. Not overly difficult like so many other head units I've purchased in the past. Love the single din set up behind the dash. Makes for an easy, clean install.

Cons: None at this point.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Bill from Pittston, PA on 5/11/2022

2004 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good head unit to replace a factory GM radio, simple to use, installation was EZ, so far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Jesse from Hendersonville, NC on 5/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounds quality easy controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Joseph from Tobyhanna , PA on 5/4/2022

2010 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful radio. Sounds way better than factory . Just wish screen was little brighter on very sunny days. But it's also very vehicle specific

Pros: Loud. Clear. No issues

Cons: Could be brighter

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Allan from West Covina, CA on 4/12/2022

2007 Honda Element LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality, easy to use interface.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Mark from Simi Valley, CA on 4/12/2022

2010 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing head unit replacement for my 2010 Corvette Grand Sport. The Android Auto works perfectly. The sound is better than the original unit. I would recommend this to anyone looking for new technology. The touch screen is easy to navigate, so anything you have on your phone is on the units touch screen. I am very happy with it.

Pros: It all works as advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Miles from Kennesaw, GA on 4/11/2022

2014 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really am enjoying the Sony head unit. My only ask is that it be brighter with out having to step up to the next model.

Pros: Responsive screen Easy to use Helped improve the sound of speakers Is smooth and fast

Cons: Mic quality is low Screen could be brighter

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Alan from Gilford, NH on 4/10/2022

2015 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the price. CarPlay takes quite a while to connect even after latest updates. Sometimes up to 20 minutes.

Pros: Price

Cons: Slow CarPlay connection

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install, great sound.

Ann from DENVER, CO on 4/9/2022

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 2007 4Runner. Installation was straightforward using included wiring harness. I had one question, but this was easily answered by the help desk. Sound was noticeably better after installation. I did need to use the equalizer presets as the default sounded a little tinny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Budget Android Auto Stereo

David from Nappanee, IN on 4/8/2022

2005 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good budget Android Auto stereo. I was able to get it installed in one day with a bit of pre-work outside the car to get the harness finished. Came from my old Sony Xplode (16 years) head unit and this is a breath of fresh air.

Pros: Features for price.

Cons: A bit dim in direct rear sunlight.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Grzegorz from Bridgewater, NJ on 4/8/2022

2011 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this model in my 2011 Civic. Great upgrade to the stock radio that had to be replaced since dealership's service broke the original unit. Really good sound. Bluetooth integration with music streaming and phone function works great with awesome sound quality. Apple CarPlay option is just a cherry on the top. It took a moment to configure and it takes a few seconds (sometimes more) for the unit to recognize that my iPhone is plugged in so switching to CarPlay is not always quick. Placement/dashboard angle sometimes creates a glare so you may not be able to see the screen clearly. Touch screen is very responsive, and volume and home buttons are very convenient.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Paul from Ashland, MA on 4/6/2022

2015 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. Integrated very well in my 2015 Toyota Venza. Great, clean sound power too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Kaden Willia from Salina, UT on 4/6/2022

2015 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was above expectation. I was worried it having a single din mounting the front would wobble being a double din but it is very sturdy. Sound is incredible once you find a preset that works for your vehicle. Screen is quick and responsive. I don't know if it is fingerprint resistant but mine doesn't show any. With the Crutchfield Ready Harness service, it was an easy plug and play. Even my steering wheel controls and backup camera worked without any other wiring besides connecting the brake wire. I was worried that it was just the stereo harness that was going to be completed. Amazing stereo and service.

Pros: Sound modes Amazing Bass Sturdy even though single din mount

Cons: Limited looks (you can change the background) no single bass, treble, mid settings. all presets

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Above average

John from Hutchinson, KS on 4/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros: Sound quality is great with plenty of mixer adjustments! Screen is responsive and not as reflective in the sun as most others. Boot time is very quick. Double DIN face with single DIN size deck size behind the dash. Cons: Supports backup can but not front cam. Only one USB input that is not very snug fit. Home screen is very basic design.

Pros: Sound quality is great with plenty of mixer adjustments! Screen is responsive and not as reflective in the sun as most others. Boot time is very quick. Double DIN face with single DIN size deck size behind the dash.

Cons: Supports backup can but not front cam. Only one USB input that is not very snug fit. Home screen is very basic design with little customization allowed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Andrejz from League City, TX on 4/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid radio. It was Time to ditched this outdated original Dodge ram radio. Good sound. Simple I ordered with plug & play harness No cutting or splashing wires. I wish was available for my wife old Lexus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Sk y

Timothy from Collinsville, IL on 4/3/2022

2012 Cadillac CTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Works wonderfully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does a lot for one of the lesser cost units

Clayton from Helotes, TX on 4/3/2022

2008 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Had attempted a BOSS, but wasn't happy with the operation of that unit. The Sony looks better installed, and the screen interface is much easier to use. The Axxess steering wheel controls linked right up on first try. I love the single DIN back, as it makes the unit light, and gives plenty of room behind to work with. Factory brackets lined up perfectly. Only cons - I'm having trouble getting the A/V input to take an audio feed, and the RDS display doesn't show song titles and artists like other units. No HD radio on this unit either, but that's not really a concern.

Pros: Lightweight, takes minimal space behind screen in dash. Plenty of features and large buttons on the screen. CarPlay and Axxess steering wheel control connections were seamless. Price is great.

Cons: No HD radio RDS screen doesn't show a lot of data

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I have to pay for return shipping for their mistake....

Crutchfield customer from SANTA BARBARA, CA on 3/30/2022

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Review is for Crutchfield. Crutchfield site said this fits my 2001 Silverado....it doesn't. My truck is a double DIN with brackets at the bottom, this stereo is a single DIN box located at the top location of the double DIN slot in my truck. It would take custom brackets to convert. Now I can't find out how to return but I do see that I have to pay for return shipping for their mistake!

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't fit as Crutchfield site said it would....

Crutchfield response on 4/4/2022
This customer contacted our Customer Support team to set up a return and was not charged a return fee. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Patrick from Hammond, IL on 3/20/2022

2006 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I liked this deck so much I ordered another one for my other truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Taimaa from Ada, MI on 3/19/2022

2017 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The interface is awesome, and carplay works great. Steering controls were tricky but I figured them out.

Pros: Carplay Great Interface User Friendly

Cons: Hard to set up SWC

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I love Crutchfield

Barney from Carencro, LA on 3/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am really enjoying the new Sony XAV-AX3200. I installed it in my 2013 Jeep Wrangler to replace the factory original Alpine radio and to allow me to add a backup camera. I am 65 years old and spent the last 45 years in information technology; I have contacted technical support for hundreds of different products and different brands over the years and no other technical support comes close to Crutchfield. I don't know how these guys do it, but I called several times and never had to wait on hold and each technical support professional was actually a professional who was familiar with the product and treated me with respect.

Pros: Crutchfield Technical Support is First Class!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Rick from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 3/7/2022

2007 Hummer H3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brought 2007 Hummer H3 into the 21st century. Easy to install and wired carpal works well. Only negative is the screen is a little dim in direct sunlight.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit for the price!

Jonathan from Corona, NY on 2/28/2022

2012 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although it's one of the lower tier models, I'd say it packs a nice punch and is great value for the price it's listed at. CarPlay works flawlessly for the most part, although sometimes the unit won't sync with my phone. Have tried various cables and rarely occurs, but I know this can bother some. Furthermore, this could be an issue with the USB adapter I've hooked it up to (probably is since it was faulty cheap) and nothing to do with the unit itself. Touchscreen controls are pretty responsive and haven't had an issue with those. Overall, happy with the unit and bought this specifically for its CarPlay feature since I'm going to be taking more road-trips with my girlfriend and 8 month old son and couldn't be more content with this purchase. Would give this easily an 8-9/10.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Garrett from Bloomington, IL on 2/18/2022

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall unit is very good so far. I wanted a name-brand Car Play/Android Auto unit for a good price, and this fit the bill. It is quite basic. Other units allow some degree of control over the home screen; which buttons are on the home screen, etc. This doesn't. The phone app on the unit is very basic. For example, it doesn't notify of incoming calls/call waiting when you are on a call. You can hear the phone beeping, but the screen doesn't show another call. The lines for the backup camera are very basic; just a parabola shape that can be adjusted, my built-in camera lines are better. EQ is good. FM tuner seems quite good; better than the stock tuner. Android Auto works well. I haven't had any issues with disconnecting and it seems pretty stable. The startup of the unit is fast. Less than 10 seconds after starting the car and it's at the home screen. I also like the fact that it has real buttons for volume, home screen, option screen, etc., as opposed to only being able to use the touchscreen. Screen is plenty bright, although appears a little washed-out. There is only 1 rear USB and it is a hardwired cable as opposed to a port. I would prefer a port in order to be able to more easily connect a dash-mount USB for a nicer "factory" look without having many feet of USB cord tucked behind the dash. I don't use Sirius XM, so if I were to do over, I'd consider the entry-level Sony unit and save $100. Only difference appears to be satellite radio.

Pros: Good tuner Fast startup Real buttons vs touchscreen-only Bright screen Easily add custom homescreen wallpaper Good price

Cons: Lame rear camera parking lines No homescreen button personalization Rear hardwired USB cable vs USB port

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Thomas from Shelton, CT on 2/16/2022

2019 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is very nice. I have no complaints about its appearance and ease of installation. It looks clean and it looks like a factory installed radio. However, there are a few small annoyances with it. The steering wheel controls do not work perfectly as I would've expected. I only have volume up/down, and voice command activation. Nothing else works. But I can live with it. The factory clock cannot be set other than waiting until midnight to connect the battery every 6 months due to daylight savings time. I spoke to a tech prior to purchase and was told that my factory dashboard clock would be blank and would not display a time at all. Not the case. It does display the time but cannot be adjusted without disconnecting the battery power. Not a big deal. The backup camera is unreliable at times. It'll suddenly get "no signal" and the screen goes back to wherever it was prior to putting the car in reverse. These are small annoyances, but they are there. Otherwise, I am very happy with the quality of the unit and the sound is great also. Wish I could've given it a better score. But I'm just being truthful for anyone that might consider this radio. It's great if you can live with the small issues.

Pros: Great sound and great looking.

Cons: A few small features didn't work as expected.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Bluetooth reconnect problems

Jens from Royal City, WA on 2/15/2022

2002 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For whatever reason, the Bluetooth has to be reconnected each time the car is turned on. You have to click thru the reconnect process. That is annoying. Not sure if a firmware update will fix it, but it is a drag. The previous version of this unit did not have that problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/22/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Jens to walk them through the settings to fix the problem. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Zel from Fairchild Afb, WA on 2/15/2022

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio has so far exceeded my expectations. I have the alpine in one vehicle and the Sony in another. The Sony has way more customizable features. Would definitely recommend this radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX3200

Brian from Ijamsville, MD on 2/13/2022

2001 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice head unit and easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

More Of A Lateral Move Than An Upgrade

Derek from North Carolina on 2/9/2022

2018 Honda Civic Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to replace a Sony XUV-AX100 that I unfortunately scratched the screen on in a freak accident while doing some other work on the car. I really liked my older AX100 (now discontinued) with the volume knob but I decided to go with the AX3200 for more screen area and the additional WebLink capability. I was also secretly hoping the intermittent backup camera issue from the AX100 (and the notorious XSVI-1731-NAV) would go away. So I pulled everything out, upgraded the firmware on my existing 1731 and SWC controls, wired in the new stereo, and hoped for the best. Unfortunately, I'm not seeing a lot of extra results for my effort. The CarPlay on the AX3200 is intermittent. I have to plug and unplug my iPhone four or five times to get it to acknowledge the phone. That was never an issue on the AX100. The screen...feels cheaper...and rough. The resolution feels lower - though this may be due to the AX3200 actually having a lower reported contrast ratio than the older AX100. The backup camera is still intermittent (though likely the XSVI-1731 is still to blame here) even though I've tapped the backup wire under the dash as lots of other GenX Civic owners have had to do. Sound quality is - the same - which is to be expected since this unit is no more powerful than the older AX100. Overall, disappointed with the intermittent CarPlay (I do have the latest firmware installed) and I really dislike the rough feel of the touchscreen and low contrast.

Pros: Large Screen Area

Cons: Intermittent CarPlay Low-Quality Screen

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

The Perfect Radio

James from Daytona Beach, FL on 2/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect radio! Back up camera feature works flawlessly. Steering wheel integration is a breeze with no extras needed. Excellent sound quality. Separate A/V input works great!!

Pros: Ease of setup. Sound quality. Screen size. Steering controls. A/V in. Backup camera. Apple car play.

Cons: Haven't found any.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound