Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
137 210 552 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
137 210 552 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX7000

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAV-AX7000

Sony XAV-AX7000

Sony XAV-AX7000

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAV-AX7000

49 reviews
View this product

sony xav-ax7000 reviews

Crutchfield customer from Dinuba, CA on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounds unfortunately it overheat to sudden and it mutes or lowers down the volume other them that its a very good unit

Pros: great sound easy to use

Cons: It over heats to fast on higher volume causing it to shut off or mute and lower its volume

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver overheating. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony xav7000

Crutchfield customer from Searcy, AR on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not fit my Tahoe ! Way to deep ... put in a friends car and within 2 days it locked up and will it turn on. Sony has no answer. I am a professional installer and have installed for 30 years . No wiring issue. Just a BAD product. I have 5000 series and no issue . Don't buy the 7000!!!!!

Pros: Good power if would work !

Cons: Very deep chassis and the menu bar on the face looks cheap compared to the 5000 series. Come on Sony , you can do better !

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great deck to modernize your 90s Toytota

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 6/28/2020

1995 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Single DIN body with double DIN display, installation could not have been more straight-forward or easier. Included harness and hardware made coupling with OEM wiring harness a snap. Start-up and configuration with Android is very easy and intuitive, and the unit operates as if it were an OEM head. Sound is incredible with ample power to drive your speakers, achieving balance and tone is simple. Fantastic value considering functions and features coupled with an incredible amplifier.

Pros: Easy installation, easy configuration

Cons: Have to use volume limiter to prevent clipping/blowing fuse

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simply Fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Putnam, CT on 6/22/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit far exceeded expectations. The write ups really do not do justice for this receiver as the power, sound and features are exceptional. First the sound is incredible with this and I'm happy I previously upgraded all of the stock speakers in my 2014 Ram 1500 prior to putting in this unit. The built in amp provides power well above and beyond the stock unit in the vehicle and the equalizer has presets and can be customized for any type of sound. The interface is simple and responsive. Hands-free calling with bluetooth works very well. I coupled this unit with a dash mount dual USB extension that works flawlessly with Android Auto. The dual USB connections allow for both to be used simultaneously - I had a USB flash drive in one for music and the other connected to my phone with Android Auto while using navigation from Google Maps. Overall one of the best purchases I've made and could not be happier with the performance of this unit

Pros: Power, sound, features, compatibility with Android Auto, simple and responsive interface

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lots of short-comings

Johann from Rockledge on 6/17/2020

2016 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm giving this three stars because it does sound great. The unit does have some short-comings, some of which are mentioned here. Right now, I'm considering returning the unit. Pros: 1. Big difference in sound 2. Much better radio reception than my GM system Cons: 1. This one really grips me. I updated album art on about 6000 MP3s. I can't figure out how to get that album art to display on this unit. The Pioneer, JVC & even my cheap GM system displayed album art. That should be a given. If anyone has seen this and knows how to fix it, please let me know. 2. Screen is very dim even compared to my GM system. 3. You need to connect BOTH USBs in order to perform a firmware upgrade. Only one cable in the box. So frustrating. Aargh! 4. Video display is just so-so. My GM system had crisper display but lousy sound. Crutchfield service is great. They continue to earn my business.

Pros: Great Sound

Cons: Does not display album art Dim screen Need both USBs to do firmware upgrade

Crutchfield response on 6/23/2020
Johann, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues and you'd like our help again, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

stereo channels paralleled, with subwoofer on rear channel...

Byron from Tucson, AZ on 6/17/2020

2005 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Head unit is connected with front/rear in parallel on the front channels, and a 4 ohm subwoofer on the left rear channel, speakers set to 2ohms and subwoofer direct enabled. Subwoofer level control is not functional in this mode; use the fader to set the relative level of the speakers and sub. Unit boots quickly and functions beautifully with Tidal/Carplay from an iPhoneXr. Very loud for a head unit, and at least on par with factory "premium" amp. Installed the firmware update according to the simple instructions at sony.com. Worked without a problem in a matter of a few minutes, and now I can import images from USB for custom wallpaper.

Pros: Very capable built-in power amp. Responsive and well organized UI. Excellent sound.

Cons: Sony tech support with regard to wiring configurations for "Subwoofer Direct" mode, was less than stellar. They simply told me to hire a professional installer without actually answering my questions. Only one USB extension cable provided. You WILL need a second cable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional and well worth the price!

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 6/14/2020

2016 Nissan Leaf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

CarPlay is amazing. Not sure how we got along without it. Plenty of power. Sound quality is great! Touch screen is super responsive. Installed in a 2016 Nissan Leaf and able to keep everything including back up camera and steering wheel controls. Fantastic!

Pros: Everything

Cons: Not a single one.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good radio. Odd installation.

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 6/12/2020

1967 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this radio featurewise and pricewise. I don't have it installed yet but the biggest issue with it is that its a single DIN radio with a double DIN face. No clues in the manuals on what sleeve to use to install it. If fact most of the information available is for motorcycles. I am building a car so can install either a single DIN or double DIN sleeve but the radio doesn't fit either one. Not sure how its supposed to be installed. Actually fits into a single DIN sleeve but the locking pins are wrong so won't lock in. Putting it into a double DIN sleeve it has no support for the base so it appears I have to built something the size of a single DIN to use as a base for it yet they advertise that you can put the extra cable length in the spot under the radio. The double DIN brackets to not hold the radio in position because they are not the full height of the DIN sleeve.

Pros: All the features, pricing.

Cons: There appears to be no installation package that works for standard DIN sleeves.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Android Auto unit

RM from Longview, WA on 6/11/2020

1998 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit as it has a single DIN chassis (at the top, the bottom half is just the screen) and didn't require a sawzall to the sub dash for install into my work rig. Crutchfield install information and customer service is spot on and is why I only buy from them. They email you PDFs of everything you need when you purchase, made it very easy. I run Android Auto all the time for nav as well as Google Play music. (Samsung Note8) It operates perfectly. The touchscreen is fast, just like a tablet or phone. Bluetooth mike works really well. Calls are very clear. The built-in amp has more than enough power for good quality 6x9s, and it gets plenty loud. What it lacks in options and settings it makes up for by doing the main functions pretty well. The AM/FM tuner works much better than OE radio, and has RDS. Update to V1.10 for custom wallpaper. You need to use both USB ports for this. The only missing features I'd really like are HD radio, and the ability to force FM to mono for lower noise out in the sticks. Nag screen goes away quickly The unit is made in Thailand.

Pros: Very nice build quality Anti-glare capacitive screen is very good Easy to read in bright sunlight FM Tuner is good Very fast boot and responsiveness Lots of power Looks very low-key, OEM like. No RCA dongles hanging off the back Easy to bypass brake interlock- ground it to chassis

Cons: Can't dim the buttons separately from screen, they do get warm. Dimmest setting is still a bit too bright No contrast adjustment No FM Mono mode No HD Radio No AUX in Can't hide SXM icon Only one video input EQ settings are global, not dependent on source No iDataLink port. I don't need it for this vehicle, but would be nice for my other truck.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Wixom, MI on 6/8/2020

2009 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was very easy, everything works so far, no startup issues. Android auto works like it should. Touchscreen is nice and responsive. I like the single DIN form factor of the internals because it made it nice and easy to put all the cables and iDatalink Maestro SW Steering Wheel Control Adapter in that empty DIN area. The only possible negative I have about it so far is that I still don't think the screen is that bright, but I don't think most screens are bright, but I think the anti-glare film does help to make the screen appear brighter by now being washed out in the sunlight.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great, Sounds Great, Easy to Use!

Ronald from Roanoke, VA on 6/3/2020

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just replaced an older Kenwood with this SONY in my 2010 Jeep Wrangker JK and I love it! Looks great, sounds great, easy to use! Usability: Very user friendly! The interface is very easy to navigate. I surprisingly like the hard buttons more so than i thought, very easy to adjust the volume quickly. The interface looks more like a high end tablet OS than those other cheap tacky looking car stereo OS's. Very clean sharp, one of the best looking stereos out there. I use mostly apple carplay which runs smoothly. Sound: Clear and crisp! I have some pioneer speakers in my jeep that I thought I was going to need to replace, but now that I have replaced the headunit the sound quality is muuuuch better! Turns out it was the prior head unit that sounded bad, not my speakers. The extra ampage of this unit really helps. Feel: The capacitive touch screen is very sensitive and accurate. It's nice and glassy like i'm using a smart phone screen. The anti-glare film gives the glass a smooth matte finish that allows my finger to slide over it easily. Installation: needed to cut out the old Kenwood harness and re-wire in the new one for the Sony, but after that it's just plug and play! The single din profile gives extra space for wires in the dash! The additional USB port is a nice addition as well.

Pros:

Cons: -Sometimes the stereo does not connect to carplay immediately, sometimes i've had to plug in a few times or restart the unit to get it to work. Swapped out the cable and still occasionally has an issue, although may be a problem with my phone... -The screen does tend to attract finger prints, but honestly much less that the other screens i've used that don't have the anti-glare film. And what screen doesn't get fingerprints? -Wish you could customize the back ground wall paper.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extremely Satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2013 Silverado 1500, Worktruck Style Dash All included Accessories from Crutchfield utilizing PAC RP5-GM13 Wiring Interface for Steering Wheel Controls Rockford Fosgate R165X3's in all 4 doors RF R500X1D Amplifier powering RF P3S Shallow 12 in an AudioEnhancers box RF 1 Farad Capacitor for Subwoofer Amp This Stereo was the last piece of the puzzle to bring my truck's audio to perfection. Its powerful for my speakers. The 5V sub preamp sounds so clean. Installation was simple using all of the included accessories there was plenty of slack in all wiring, and in my Silverado there was plenty of room for everything to sit in there due to the "Single DIN" size of the deck. Be advised, if you are using any of the RCA's in a Silverado like mine, you will more than likely need to use 90 degree angle RCA's, OR.. you can do what I did and just measure and drill holes for your RCA's in the back. Otherwise they will hit the plastic in the back and the radio won't fit. This took me about 5 minutes of measuring and drilling combined. I will attach a picture of where I drilled for ONLY the sub preamp as a reference, there is nothing behind the plastic, but still be careful. But this stereo is amazing in my opinion and all my audio sounds so well rounded now. I upgraded from the XAV-AX5000 and it is well worth it in my opinion. I wish Crutchfield would let me write a longer review so I could go into much more detail, but I would rather give the advice on installati

Pros: Clean Bezel-less Design (looks close to OEM) Touch Screen feels/looks great 5V Preamps Powerful! Door speakers sound great Android Auto works great Easy to navigate menus Sturdy feeling buttons Sound options plentiful (EQ, DSO, Fade/Balance, etc) Custom Wallpaper (with latest firmware update 1.10) Weblink lets you use YouTube and view videos from your phone (with latest firmware update 1.10)

Cons: Android Auto is wired (Not Wireless) Call volume is a little quiet, you have to turn it up loud to hear, but it does go back to your previous volume when ending a call. So this is not much if a problem. I will update this review if I have any negative experiences.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Bonney Lake, WA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio. Plenty of power and features. I have a shorty antenna in my ram 1500, stock radio no channels. This radio over a dozen. Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Receiver!

Tim from VIRGINIA BEACH, VA on 5/24/2020

2011 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed today in my 2011 Nissan Xterra. Replaced and older Pioneer unit. I had installed Infinity Reference Speakers, front and rear, several years ago but only today discovered their potential. The Sony unit is simply 5 stars across to board. Install took about an hour, even with the XM Tuner kit. Specific features I've found outstanding include Apple Car Play, multiple USB ports, the Class D amps which are clear even at high volume, the DSO feature which made the front speakers sound like a concert hall. At 45watts RMS this unit gets very loud, while remaining very clear. The display is very nice with the touchscreen very smooth (my old touchscreen was quirky). I have a powered sub on the way and also a back up camera. Bottom line, you cannot go wrong with this unit. .

Pros: See review.Too numerous to list.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 5/22/2020

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the way this looks in my car. This is a high quality product. Highly recommended!

Pros: Great quality, designed very well and fit perfectly

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty good. I'm glad I got this over the AX-5000

Crutchfield customer from Eden Prairie, MN on 5/17/2020

2013 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great. I really enjoy the audio controls that are included with this head unit, like hi/low pass filter, subwoofer phase change, and 10-band EQ. Two things I feel like they missed the ball on: - No temperature readout, even in CarPlay. My OEM head unit had that included, so I was surprised to find that was the case. - No wireless CarPlay compatibility, even with an adaptor.

Pros: Nice sound quality. Super easy integration with a powered sub addition. The dynamic stage control is really nice for evening out the sound positioning top-to-bottom in my truck, since the speakers are so low (except the tweeters)

Cons: No temp readout. The rear-view camera signal didn't pull in, even when using the idatalink wiring harness (The OEM one is in my rear view mirror). No wireless CarPlay compatibility. Cannot set Google maps to the default mapping software in CarPlay. I would have liked to mount the radio a little more flush with the desk, but the brackets were maxed out on the depth setting already, and it sticks out about 3/8 inch.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 5/17/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great screen, works well without an amp

Crutchfield customer from Evergreen, CO on 5/11/2020

2011 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an older JVC with this. Instalation was easy with the Crutchfield installation kit. Touch screen is very responsive and has minimal glare. The added power of this unit has really helped improve the sound in our truck. Only negative is I with it had a rotary volume control.

Pros: Screen responsiveness, minimal glare, great power, fast boot up.

Cons: Needs a rotary volume control.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Hampshire, IL on 5/8/2020

2004 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony XAV-AX7000 is an exceptional product. Installed this on my WRX STi 2004. Installation was fairly easy with the help of the manual and a few tools. Touch screen feels nice, and all the features are very easy to use. I soldered every connection together which went very well with the receiver wiring harness that I ordered with my Head unit. The performance is good as far as speakers go. I haven't noticed a real difference in volume with the swap, but it fits my needs. One this I notice is that it seems to be very close to max volume to really get the sound pumping (40-45 and max is 50). Haven't had to go above 45 on my volume so it works well for me. I did have the Head unit freeze and shut down on me once after using it for the 3rd day. Hoping it won't freeze again.

Pros: Touch screen is amazing! Very intuitive user interface. Fairly easy install for the tech savvy. Decent sound for not having an amp.

Cons: Froze on me once on the 3rd day of using. There's a bit of a plastic look to the screen when the sun shines on it. It's also a bit hard to see while the sun is shining on it as well, but there is no glare. THE VOLUME BUTTON, it's probably the most annoying thing to use, you'll sit there clicking and clicking away to turn up or down your volume, it's better than having a touch volume but still annoying.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from PA on 4/29/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome head unit, very simple to use, works great!

Pros: Easy install, compact, has enough features but not enough to overwhelm you. Display works smooth and is not too bright.

Cons: Sometimes I have to plug phone in twice for carplay to work. Other than that no issues.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great power & sound, lots of nice features, sluggish UI for USB music

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, GA on 4/22/2020

2001 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is a great receiver with an amazing amount of power and lots of very cool features. The only major flaw is navigating through music on a USB stick is painfully slow.

Pros: - Output Power: Coupled with efficient speakers (>90db w-1w@1m), you will not need a separate amp. I installed this with Polk db652's in the front and rear doors and find anything above 2/3rds volume hits my pain threshold (& I like my music LOUD). - With firmware update (which was easy to do), you can load your own wallpaper (ver. 1.10). - Android Auto - Audio controls: Effective EQ, sub controller, high-low crossover points. - Capacitive touchscreen - Fit perfectly in my 2001

Cons: - Using the touchscreen for USB stick music scrolling & folder navigation is excessively slow; the on screen response can take a couple seconds. (I use a 3.0 USB stick directly attached to the rear USB cable.) - You are restricted to arrows on on the display for USB stick music scrolling & folder navigation, which are too small. There is no 'swipe up/down' through lists. - Icons cannot be rearranged. - DSO minimum 'active' setting (=1) has too much effect, should be half

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Jaime Mejia from Wheaton, IL on 4/21/2020

2016 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so very pleased using this radio, I had an Alpine ILX-F259 in my Hyundai Elantra 2016 and I was happy with it until I read all the features included with this XAV-AX7000. Once I replaced it, I started loving it, everything works great, booting time is amazing, WebLink is awesome and the greatest thing, at least for me, it fits great, my car looks nicer with this unit. the ILX-F259 started looking so big on the car for me. I had some issues programing the Metra Axxess ASWC-1 until I figured the unit has an option to re-program the steering wheel controls. Love it!

Pros: - WebLink Feature - Single din making wires to be organized behind the dash - Booting Time great - The Screen looks fine on a sunny day. - Easy install - Easy Firmware Upgrade

Cons: - No HDMI, however, no needed since WebLink does videos

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds Great!

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, CA on 4/15/2020

2007 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a huge upgrade from the Kenwood I installed a few years back. This one SOUNDS GREAT! The display is really easy to see and use. The bluetooth functionality is almost seamless and the controls just seem more intuitive. I should just stick to SONY. I really like this unit. Was easy to install as well, thanks for making sure to send the longer screws!

Pros: Touchscreen is really easy to use and see, sound/power, Bluetooth functionality is almost seemless

Cons: Only one USB extension cable was included. Access to second USB port is not possible without an additional USB extension cable. Wish I woulda known that BEFORE I installed it. One should be enough (I routed it into the "not an ashtray" on my 06 Pilot), but two woulda been extra points. (and an extra star)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerful head unit with no need for an external amplifier!

Dan from GREENWOOD, AR on 4/8/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a head unit with no need for an external amplifier for your midrange and highs. There's always a need for a subwoofer to add the right amount of lows, just keep that in mind if you are running a regular 4 speaker system. I'm using the Android Auto and it works great. I bought all the wiring kits from Crutchfield and they work with backup camera, steering controls, etc, etc. Very happy with the purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee, KS on 4/1/2020

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and sounds great in my 2013 Jeep Wrangled Sport 2dr. I paid them to pre-wired it for me (worth every penny). It was super easy to install. I only had to run a wire from the battery to the stereo and ground the stereo to the chasis.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 3/30/2020

2008 Freightliner Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great so far installed it in 2009 Sprinter RV van. Sound is great and EZ to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Rch Cucamonga, CA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Unit, Built-in high power. Weblink app makes it even more awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, IN on 3/22/2020

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took awhile to get used to all the features and required a firmware update to be able to stream video but overall a very good stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from St Simons Is, GA on 3/15/2020

2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 2005 MB SLK 55 AMG convertible. Plenty of power to overcome ambient noise even with the top down! The large display with the unobtrusive buttons looks clean and fits in with the MB dash. The internal amp is driving front 3-1/2" Hertz mids and 1-1/2" Hertz tweeters, and four rear stock 2-1/2" speakers. The front line- outs are fed to Infinity Primus 6002A amp which drives left and right 6-1/2" Hertz woofers.

Pros: Fast boot- up with Android Auto. Responsive touch screen. 2 USB connections for phone and thumb drive music.

Cons: Lots of touches to get to often used screens such as EQ and balance/ fader. Screen could be brighter, hard to see when the top is down.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good sound, user interface needs to be more robust, apple carplay has frozen screen few times since install... 1 week. just expected more in the this price point with Sony name.

Pros: Sony name. clear sound

Cons: software stability for carplay, user interface needs enhancement

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from East Aurora, NY on 2/24/2020

2009 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic Head unit. I bought a scratch and dent model.. I still haven't found a scratch or a dent. Car, truck, motorcycle or boat, install this any place!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000, Crutchfield review

Crutchfield customer from Campbellsport, WI on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great , Product, Price, & Service!

Pros: Great , Product, Price, & Service!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AX7000 bummer

Tom from Richardson, TX on 1/28/2020

2019 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 2019 Civic Hatchback with 4 Rockford Fosgate 6.5's. No Amp and a hidaway powered sub under passanger seat. I'm very pleased with the sound. That is until the Head Unit reboots if volume is 4.1 or above. Im thinking since this car is can-bus and there is no "radio" fuse to blow the power is being reset. However it's not throwing a code so I'm not sure. I'll probably run a wire to the bat and power it like an amp with a switch rely. Then again maybe not because Apple car play locks up a lot too. I'm hoping a shorter USB cable might help but we will see. So bottom line Im disappointed. When this happens holding the power Home button down DOES NOT turn it off/on as described. It turns the screen off/on but you literally have to kill the car to unhang it.

Pros: easy install

Cons: Reboots at high volume. Car play locks up and you have to kill the car the reset

Crutchfield response on 1/28/2020
We're sorry your having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 4 found this helpful

Decent

Liam from Havertown, PA on 1/24/2020

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So coming up on about a month with this product. Installation was user friendly and couldn't ask for a better harness set up by Crutchfield. It's a powerful head unit and is definitely simplistic to use. Have been finding more flaws that I keep picking at so will see about returning and swapping out for something different.

Pros: Nice simplistic user interface Powerful Head Unit

Cons: Can't see the screen during the day even with anti glare. No Sony support for updates CarPlay just stopped working while driving and didn't work until next day even though it still charged phone Screen resolution is low No customization to the colors, wallpaper etc CarPlay is super bright at night and eye straining even with brightness turned down on everything.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Hohenwald, TN on 1/17/2020

2004 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a GM tech at a very reputable dealership. I deal with after market radios and bad installations all the time. I followed Crutchfield's buying guide and installation instructions to the letter and these are my results. I have a 2004 Colorado and the factory radio and speakers where shot. The dealership quoted me a price(part not labor). I got on Crutchfield's website and found this radio and what an upgrade! Cheaper too. The install was painless. Very simple and the look is clean. I installed all new speakers and a single sub. This radio has it all. The tech support was phenomenal and installation was a breeze. The sound and picture quality is amazing. For the average diy person, you will have no problem. If you do Crutchfield will talk you through it over the phone no problem.

Pros: It is what it says it is. It fits sounds and looks perfect.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Wheatland, CA on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this unit.. great way to make your older vehicle modern.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Virginia Beach

shawn from Virginia Beach on 1/10/2020

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this before reviews were even up. This receiver has plenty of power for any factory replacement. Sony did things right in many aspects of this head unit. No special frills but will hold it's own for function. Form, and appearance.

Pros: Power, selectable display color to match interior dash lighting. Easof use with wayz, Apple car play and android auto. Connects via bluetooth quickly and easily. Quick simple plug and play replacement.

Cons: The USB factory cord needs another 12 to 16 inches in length. Considering that they do not recommend additional USB. My application required an additional length to fit in factory mount USB locations. It still works though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Downey, CA on 1/3/2020

2011 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent head unit, the screen is amazing, more than enough power for my door speakers, sounds really good. The Android auto works great, I don't have any Apple products so I can't give a review of the Apple car play function.

Pros: Powerful built in amp. Anti glare screen. Android Auto.

Cons: Doesn't support the older 5th gen iPods. No AUX port.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phenomenal

Crutchfield customer from Catonsville, MD on 12/29/2019

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal head unit with equally great service from Crutchfield! Quick and easy installation, and the internal amp made a significant and immediate difference in audio quality and volume. Seriously, like night and day, and that's with stock speakers in my FJ Cruiser. Coupled with new speakers, this unit will knock your socks off. Android Auto and Apple Carplay both work flawlessly, I 100 % recommend the AX7000!

Pros: Easy installation Beautiful, non reflective service Android Auto and Apple Carplay work perfectly

Cons: Nada

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Cottage Grove, MN on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great in my 2007 Silverado. Returned for a wireless CarPlay unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2006 toyota tacoma W/stereo

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, NJ on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the stereo overall Bluetooth connectivity is excellent,has different presets for rock,jass.pop,country etc on the equalizer for easy selection . The hands free is great only answered call attached microphone to piece wire run thru for rearview mirror cant even see it above mirror wires tucked up in headliner down driver side A pillar up in through dash to stereo. Also great capacitive touch screen not too sensitive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Minimal Design for Good and Bad

Guest from Montebello, CA on 12/15/2019

2016 Scion FR-S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although I specifically chose this unit because of the minimalistic design, the interface is a bit too minimal. Besides the integrated amp and Android Auto, there was nothing interesting to tinker with. Installation was straightforward as the wires matched up directly with my vehicle's, but after I finished and a few eq settings, I was a bit underwhelmed with my new toy. But what else was I to expect? A few ticks I don't like so far: - HPF selectable jump from 60 to 80, no 70, when my previous Sony Receiver was able to. - No time alignment - When playing USB music on shuffle, going back to a previous track doesn't work. - Stuck to simple, bland wallpapers. Nothing else visually is customizable All in all though, if you're looking for something minimal and not too nitpicky, this head unit is straightforward and I don't have any regrets

Pros: Nice clean and simple looking Built in amp

Cons: Too simple of settings

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Beatrice, NE on 12/13/2019

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great does everything I wanted sounds awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

XAV-AX7000 is a great receiver

Jason from BRENTWOOD, TN on 11/25/2019

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver. I had to do some slight modification, which Crutchfield warned me about, in the dash (2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited) to get it to fit but that was quick and easy to do. I ordered the recommended wiring kit and the Ready Harness Service that already had everything wired up....except for the power but that was because I had to verify that my radio circuit had a fuse larger than 10 amp. Once I confirmed the fuse, I wired the power and ground to finish off the wiring. I also ordered a new Sirius XM tuner. All in all this was a breeze to install and get everything working. Bluetooth Audio is working great. Android Auto works great as well. It is nice to have the power to push the four 100 watt Kicker speakers I installed a few months ago. They sound most excellent now. Especially with the built in EQ. Touch screen works great and easy to navigate. Crutchfield makes the installation easy with pretty good documentation. It could be better but then that is always the case with documentation. It was good enough that it only took me two hours to install the receiver. I did run into an issue where I had to figure out the power and ground were not wired and I needed to wire them once I checked the fuse amperage. If that was documented then I missed it. Also was missing a XM antenna adapter from the wiring kit to be able and use current XM antenna. The wiring kit did have the regular antenna adapter.

Pros: Wattage to push good speakers Built in EQ to adjust sound to your liking Can play music from phone using Bluetooth Easy to install and configure Good documentation from Crutchfield and Sony Touch screen works great

Cons: Not sure if this is Android or Sony but would be nice if Android Auto worked with Bluetooth. But then I always have my phone plugged in and charging anyway. So not much of a Con.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it!

Mark from Rockledge, FL on 11/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No adapter required to get my Steering Wheel Controls working on my 2006 Tundra. Modified a Metra 8114 cable to interface with my Sony RC-SR1 (Cable for Steering Wheel Remote Input). Saved over $50 not buying an adapter many dealers try to sell you. Found Tundra wire colors on a PAC SWI RC Installation Guide.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

90 out of 100

Crutchfield customer from Winterville, NC on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall it's a great stereo worth a lot of power. My only gripe is you can't upload your own image for wallpaper, I knew that when I got it. My other gripe is there seems to be a lag time when you plug your phone in. It takes a couple minutes to load sometimes. Other than those two things, I am happy with it. I hope that they will update the firmware and resolve those issues.

Pros: Powerful, CarPlay is cool because you can play XM app and navigation

Cons: Only 5 basic wallpaper choices, lag in response at first when phone is connected.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Hazlehurst, GA on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've bought from Crutchfield several tines now and the customer service has been great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Product with excellent Customer Service

Adam from PARKERSBURG, WV on 10/28/2019

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meets and exceeds expectations. I wanted CarPlay, no CD, 45wx4, 4-5v preouts, ease of use, and a clean display. Checks all those boxes flawlessly, not to mention a straight forward install. The capacitive screen does an excellent job of reducing sunlight reflections, but it's at night that the vibrant display really "shines"! I highly recommend!

Pros: CarPlay, no CD, 45wx4 (rms), 5v preouts, User friendly, Bright display, dual USB ports

Cons: No Navigation antenna input to boost Apple Maps but that's just a "nice extra to have"

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Brett from Evans, GA on 10/22/2019

2011 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony looks great in my 2011 Miata and transforms it into a modern vehicle. Crutchfield delivery was fast and the installation help files were good (but they lacked one critical point)

Pros: The amp is strong and performs better than the usual built-in amp. The single DIN chassis design made installation a snap in a car with NO room to spare. Two USBs allow simultaneous CarPlay and USB music. The glare-reducing screen is a huge bonus in the convertible.

Cons: One USB is full featured, the other is limited to only music files. The screen is low-res and the user interface is drab: simple, white icons on a lackluster background (it looks fine in the modest Miata dash, though). The noisy convertible needs a speed-sensing volume function, but the Sony doesn't have it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP