Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX7000

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAV-AX7000

Sony XAV-AX7000

Sony XAV-AX7000

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAV-AX7000

116 reviews
View this product

Popping in the speaker

Crutchfield customer from Anna, OH on 8/31/2021

2015 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After install, I noticed a "popping" noise coming from the right front speaker. After troubleshooting every other component in the stereo equipment, I have found that the speaker output is what is creating the noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/6/2021
Our Tech Support specialist, AJ, is currently working with this customer on his installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Edgewater, FL on 8/22/2021

2019 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it great price great folks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Chatsworth, CA on 8/18/2021

2002 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did lots of comparisons before choosing the AX7000 and was not disappointed. Paired up with four Infinity Reference 6 1/2" speakers the sound is excellent. More than enough power and the soundstage options with the equalizer gets it right. Works perfectly with both iphones and Samsung. It does take a heartbeat or two to boot, but that's what processors do. No complaints. Crutchfield rounded out the order nicely with its installation extras and shipping was fast. The only thing extra I would recommend is a parking brake microbypass to make setup easier and an additional usb as recommended in other reviews. Make sure to update the unit OS as well after installing.

Pros: Screen seems to be step up over other brands. The built in amp and perfect double din fit are top notch.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from S Charleston, WV on 8/16/2021

2020 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really clean sound and I like the features that enhance the sound for low mounted speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Unit-love it more every day

Guest from San Francisco, CA on 8/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been driving around with this unit in my 1997 Tacoma base model for a week now and after some initial reservations have fallen for this powerhouse receiver. I replaces a great sounding Alpine head unit that was a little long in the tooth and have it wired to an Infinity powered amp under the seat and after a day of tweaking the settings, I can tell you that this thing rocks. I am experiencing a lot less ear fatigue and can hear all the music over the sound of the road with the volume just turned about halfway up. The controls are pretty intuitive and I have been able to recreate the great sound I had before, now with Apple Car Play and a back up camera. (Boyo VTL425TJ) Installation was a breeze. The head unit looks great, the camera works great, and the sound is stunning. A few small gripes-I think that it would be better if you could further tweak the factory sound settings, instead you have to back out to the custom control to create your own...also, no saving of custom soundscape. Daytime illumination could be brighter. I love the non glare screen but took some getting used to during the day. I also think this price point should allow BOTH the USB outputs to be able to be used for a phone-the second is for a flash drive only. Perhaps it is the price of the small chassis that allows more space for the wiring behind the dash. Advice-Buy! small note-I didn't back up over my dog-the truck was parked with the engine off when I took the pic....

Pros: Great sound, lots of power, simple controls, easy navigation of menus, easy installation, you won't miss the volume knob.

Cons: AI seems a little dated, not able to save custom settings, cannot adjust factory sound settings, screen could be brighter

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Penn Yan, NY on 7/9/2021

2017 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome.

Crutchfield customer from Seneca Falls, NY on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. Perfect sound at "Extra Bass 2" setting. Radio reception is right on. (Almost to many stations)

Pros: Extra Bass 2, radio reception, Android voice command.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Unit!

Crutchfield customer from Champlin, MN on 6/28/2021

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the installation and sound from this receiver. Installation instructions for my RAM1500 were spot on. Sounds great. The screen is well lit and responds great to my touch. I paid the extra 24.99 for Crutchfield to preassemble my wiring for my application and it was well worth it. Apple CarPlay links up with my iPhone every time so there are no issues there either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MD on 6/26/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awsome. Really helpfull wiring diagrams instructions, and the installation kit I got from them(per their suggestion) was everything I needed. Sounds great, even with the doors off. Great upgrade, great product,great sevice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best purchase!

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, VA on 6/26/2021

2007 Chevrolet Silverado (New Body Style

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! We love it very easy to use and navigate through. Crutchfield support was awesome they were there to help with any question we had.

Pros: Easy to use Nice screen and easy to see Works great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Hubert, NC on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much better than stock

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Lonsdale, MN on 6/3/2021

2005 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome unit. Car play is pretty slick and navigation through the non-car play menus is extremely easy. Definitely adds a current car vibe to your older vehicle. Fits nice and is pretty flush in my 05 F-350

Pros: Smartphone like display for touch responsiveness. Decent internal power to give my Alpine R's some good sound.

Cons: Directions say you may have to directly hook up to your battery, should come with a cable to do so but it doesn't, had to purchase separately.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony SAV-AX700 multi media automotive receiver

Crutchfield customer from Belvidere, IL on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AX7000 is simply a fantastic sounding receiver. It has more than enough power for near-field listening in the car. The internal amp has enough headroom to not get overworked or clip at reasonable sound levels. The touchscreen, and steering wheel control option is very simple and easy to use, so there is minimal distraction while driving. Even FM sounds great on this receiver. Play FLAC file, or minimally compressed mp3's, and it's really good, even through my stock Volvo speakers (which aren't a slouch!) Pairing with Android was a breeze. It does take a few seconds to power up and to connect to Android blutooth after starting, but that's not really a problem. Android Auto works fine as well, but has to have a USB cable connection. Wireless Android Auto would be nice. Perhaps it does have wireless Android Auto, and I just haven't discovered it yet.

Pros: Great sound! More than adequate power! Easy to use! Firmware can be updated.

Cons: No wireless Android Auto. Can't re-arrange the home screen icons.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what my old truck needed

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 6/2/2021

1998 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was so excited when these arrived back in stock. This unit provided a total technology and audio update for my '98 Tacoma. Provides CarPlay, an integrated backup camera, hands free calling, and superb audio. This high powered unit provides the headroom to drive clean, crisp sound no matter the volume level. Touchscreen is very responsive, and image quality is very good. Features and settings are very intuitive and easy to figure out. The install, with all new speakers, an under seat powered sub, power direct from the battery, and routing video all the way from the rear bumper was pretty involved, but the Crutchfield MasterSheet and wiring diagram very very helpful, and everything went smoothly, and no hiccups at all. And it looks fantastic in the dash. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: CarPlay/Android Auto Bluetooth/Hands free High Power Amp Built In Responsive Touchscreen control Dedicated Volume Control Superb performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Glitchy ans slow

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CT on 5/31/2021

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money this radio cost it is way too glitchy and slow. For some reason apple CarPlay on works with cable connected one way, when scrolling thru car play apps feels very slow. Unfortunately had much better experience in the past with a boss system that cost a third of this one Also on Crutchfield site was listed as wireless CarPlay which is not true

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Slow Glitchy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Solid purchase.

Crutchfield customer from Shrewsbury, MA on 5/22/2021

2014 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System sounds great. Solid features. Good value for money. Like the controls and the uncluttered interface.

Pros: Easy to use interface. Solid sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overpriced

JK from Seattle, WA on 5/18/2021

2001 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking unit, but just not impressive technology. 1990's UI. Not worth full retail.. discounted "scratch and dent" units are the way to go.

Pros: Looks nice Sounds alright, nothing special

Cons: Poor resolution Antiquated UI You get very little for your money here (poor value)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony head unit

Crutchfield customer from El Reno, OK on 5/16/2021

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Understandable programming. Buy the recommended crutchfield harnesses, its even easier.

Pros:

Cons: Plastic mounts

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

F-150 2012

Glenn from LITCHFIELD MN on 5/3/2021

2014 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Sony AX7000 along with two sets of JL C1 570X speakers and a back up camera with all the mounting hardware for my 2012 F-150. I did the install in three parts 1st I installed the head unit and back up camera this took about four hours total with about half the time spent running the cable for the camera to the rear bumper. weekend two I installed the front door speakers took about 1.5 hours. at this time i tested the Jl speakers in the front against the factory speakers in the rear by playing with the fader, WOW the rears sound as if they are buried under a foot of mud compared to the JLs in front. if I were to do it again I would buy some extra screws for the radio and bezel mount as my dashboard ate a couple during install( Or make sure to use a magnetic screw driver). I also tilted my head unit to face the driver to reduce glare this is done when mounting head unit into the mounting brackets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Nottingham, NH on 4/17/2021

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted to upgrade my 2018 JKU Golden Eagle stock unit too.

Pros: Great unit for a Jeep. Especially with the anti glare. I can see the display and love it

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Lonoke, AR on 4/14/2021

2012 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything is as promised. Power without extra amps what a concept.

Pros: Easy instructions, better than the last one I bought.

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great radio with one little issue so far

Crutchfield customer from Valley Falls, NY on 4/11/2021

2016 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent interface touchscreen with all the features and power I wanted. It would have a 5 star but it shuts off once in awhile with high volume heavy bass songs. It may be that I have factory speakers still in the rear and cant handle the power. Sony also says may need to hook power up directly to battery to correct the problem. All in all 99% of the time it works without issue and I'm very happy with it. Sound quality, features like backup camera and steering wheel controls work well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Not worth the pricetag

Crutchfield customer from San Pedro, CA on 4/10/2021

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking radio, sounds decent, not worth the price. This radio supposedly has 45 watts x 4 channels rms. It doesn't sound like it. I have JL component speakers in the doors and my stock Toyota radio seemed to give them more power.(I do not have the Jbl stock system) The radio tuner actually puts out a lot of sound, however the Bluetooth, which is what I mostly use, has about half the volume gain as the tuner. For example, having the fm tuner at the volume in the thirties is plenty loud for most music , but with the Bluetooth , I am able to turn the volume to 50(which is the max) with my Bluetooth device turned up as loud as it can go. Pretty disappointing for a stereo at this price. Debating about return, but after hooking up the steering wheel control module and all the other wires, not sure if I want to deal with the hassle..I gave three stars because the radio does have a lot of other features, just nothing I personally need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great radio, terrible instructions.

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, MD on 4/9/2021

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio, is awesome. The setup directions/instructions WERE the worst I've seen in my life.

Pros: Great radio!

Cons: Worst. Setup instructions. Ever.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 4/8/2021

2010 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice head unit that has a well laid out interface and easy to use operating system. Additional power from the built in amplifier is also great if you're looking to upgrade door speakers and don't want an external amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Powerful Unit.

Crutchfield customer from North Hollywood, CA on 4/8/2021

2011 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Powerful Unit The Carplay Works Flawlessly And Just With The Head Unit Alone All My Speakers And Subs Sound Twice As Good. Definitely Recommend.

Pros: 45 Watts Rms.. 5 Volt.. Carplay. Bluetooth.

Cons: Background Choices. Wish It Had A Mute Button Or Way To Receive Calls And Not It Blaring As Loud As The Music.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Waukomis, OK on 4/8/2021

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful receiver easy to use and install

Pros: Powerful! Good warranty from Sony easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Winston from Hillsborough, NJ on 3/29/2021

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it so far albeit lacking some features that other users may find convenient. There is no aux port nor HD Radio, however, I use mainly my phone in order to get the entertainment I need. Android Auto works great and the head unit is fast and responsive. If you have a 4th Gen RAV4, then the backup camera lines from the OEM screen will still remain and there is no need to use the backup lines supplemented with the camera. I mainly got this head unit because I have aftermarket 4 channel speakers that need to be brought up another notch.

Pros: Smooth and responsive, nice punchy sound.

Cons: Lack of AUX and HD Radio

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Save your money

Mikel from Pensacola on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mediocre quality and I cant wait to replace it with a quality double din. Sony use to be a quality headunit. Save your money and buy something better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

????

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, MO on 3/23/2021

2006 Subaru Baja

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to operate

Pros: Easy to program

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 3/17/2021

2003 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit myself. It was pretty straightforward and the setup was fairly simple, with some help from tech I got the steering wheel controls to work properly. This would be a 5 star but I feel like for this price the image on the screen would be a little crisper for the wallpaper image I installed. The bluetooth works flawlessly. I was a little put off by the need to download an app for getting the USB cable connection for the phone to mirror on the screen and still haven't messed with that to see if it works correctly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Boerne, TX on 3/16/2021

2019 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver itself runs great. Very smooth and has a sleek design. The touch screen is responsive and works good. Android Auto works like a charm. I have a Nissan so some of the steering controls don't work which is kind of a bummer but that's more on the Nissan side of things than the receiver itself. Great product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from South Bend, IN on 3/14/2021

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit! High power amp sound without the amps.

Pros: Easy to install. Has plenty of power to fill my crew cab truck with sound.

Cons: Your phone needs to be connected by wire for CarPlay to work. Screen is hard to see in high sunlight.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Dan from SCHERERVILLE, IN on 3/13/2021

2017 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with this head unit. On board power is enough for most people. I replaced all 6 speakers in my truck, and added a sub under the seat. Was really nice to not need to run wires to a separate 4 channel amp for the speakers. The android auto link works great, Bluetooth calling works great.

Pros: Tons of onboard power.

Cons: Wish there was a way to quickly adjust volume. I prefer a knob but even my old receiver would let you change volume with touchscreen gestures. I dont have steering wheel controls.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Comerio, PR on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great low resolution sound but tremendous stereo

Pros: great sound

Cons: Resolución

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Danbury, CT on 2/28/2021

2012 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

User friendly , right size screen works great

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

SWEET!

Crutchfield customer from FRANKFORT, KY on 2/27/2021

2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice head unit with everything you could want with plenty of power! great looks with tons of features and great sound! what else could you want?

Pros: GREAT LOOKS & SOUND!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Definitely recomment.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/25/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is the shiznet!! Great sound quality compared to most units. Looks great when you play Apple car play. Quadratech wants to sell you installation parts separately while crutchfield knows what's up!! Highly recommend!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, TX on 2/4/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install radio. I installed it on my 2013 Wrangler Rubicon. No issues.

Pros: Android auto, clear accurate screen, a lot of features

Cons: No wireless Android auto

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this unit. Great power and clarity. Install was much easier with Crutchfield's advisors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jeep 2006 TJ Stereo Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Cottrellville, MI on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the 7000 because, although it cost more, I didn't need a 5 channel amp to drive my 4 new speakers. Instead, I bought a mono amp for my new 8" subwoofer which saved me money & space. This combination worked perfect for my 2006 Jeep TJ Wrangler. Thanks Crutchfield (Ray)for your recommendations guidance.

Pros: Perfect setup for my vehicle and sounds great!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Big power, easy install.

Crutchfield customer from MURRAY, UT on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So much easier than installing a separate amp! This thing has all the power needed to crank up the Infinity Primus speakers we went with to levels that make us feel concussed. I chose this deck for the internal amp and the Apple Car Play. Both have exceeded my expectations. It cost only a bit more than an Apple Car Play deck and separate amp would have anyway, so I figured I'd give it a shot. Not disappointed in the least! And so much time saved wiring in an amplifier. Very pleased!

Pros: Good power with easy installation. Nice to not have to look at my phone when using navigation (thanks to Car Play). Sounds incredible!

Cons: Bluetooth pairing is a bit finicky every now and then, but I have no doubt a software update will solve this.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pretty Good

Grant from Jesup on 1/28/2021

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off my stars ratings description, 1=mad, 2=crap product, 3=as expected based on specs, 4 =as expected based on marketing, 5=exceeds expectations. I am quite happy with this deck. I mostly wanted something that I could utilize Android Auto. Most vehicle GPS map systems leave a lot to be desired and almost everyone I knew with shiny new cars didn't use their onboard GPS since Maps and Waze are far superior. The reason I chose this deck over others with AA was the extra wattage. With modern cars just changing a deck and/or speakers don't really offer much of a noticeable difference, but I didn't feel like doing an all out build this time including rewiring, amps, and subs. I hopped I could get closeish to an all out build with this deck and some decent speakers. I paired this unit with JBL GTO629 speakers front and back, and it turned out really well. Component speakers would have been better, but again I was trying to be lazy. The sound is the clearest I have ever heard from lows to highs without a separate amp. Still needs a sub to truly thump. On a side note, I installed the head unit first and when I turned it on there was a clear difference. Clearly my stock speakers were cheap. So I could definitely see disappointment if not paired with speakers worthy of its capabilities. Also I had read some reviews that had claims of overheating and as a precaution I used the area they left available by only being a single din to install a PC fan which I ran to a speed controller.

Pros: Extra Watts per channel. Single din.

Cons: I prefer a volume knob over up and down buttons, but this is not a big deal at all. Makes cheap speakers sound worse.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Nice Head unit

Albert D from Shafter, CA on 1/23/2021

2017 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit on a 2017 Subaru Wrx STi. Installation was straightforward although instructions could be a little more detailed. Replacing the factory head unit on a modern vehicle seems like rocket science (I'm a jack of all trades, master of none). Has everything as described and the built in amplifier gave some extra juice to the kicker door speakers I have installed. Could not get all the features enabled due to the abundance of wires but that's a different story. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros: Looks clean Built in amplifier Apple car play/android auto Lots of feature

Cons: Not enough connections to factory radios and lost some functionality

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 1/16/2021

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use, lots of power to my new 4 Kicker 4x6's in 2005 F250. Only reason for the 4 stars (which if I could I would give 4.5) is the screen isn't the most impressive from a color perspective.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 1/15/2021

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really liked the Sony XAV7000 head unit but was a bit apprehensive to pay the premium for the Sony product. However, a little help from a Crutchfield sale and I couldn't pass the opportunity. I compared and reviewed several other products and found the clean menu and simple navigation meant there was no other option for me. I also appreciate the ability to upload an image for the background/wallpaper on the screen that is not available on other models. The phone pairing was simple with the Sony unit and operation is super easy with multiple means of operation (blue tooth or connection via Android Audo). The phone sound quality and functionality through the unit is excellent and convenient...especially since my state has hands free driving laws regarding phone use. The music sound quality is excellent as well but I must admit that I expect that at this point from the known product brands like Sony. The installation was straight forward with the mounting kit, wiring harness adapter for my vehicle, and the customized instructions specific to my vehicle (all from Crutchfield). The hard part was determining the best locations to mount the two USB ports (phone connect for Android Auto and USB stick for media). I mounted the media stick in the center console and modified a panel on the dash for the phone connection. I'm very pleased with the end result and definitely recommend this product.

Pros: -Customizable screen image (upload jpg) -Capacitive touch screen -User interface: Very simple menu screen, layout, and navigation -Two USB ports (phone and media stick usage)

Cons: -No HD tuner option -Dimming functionality not available to match dimming of dash/gages

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to use

Crutchfield customer from West Columbia, TX on 1/12/2021

2005 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and easy to use. Menus are easy to navigate. Carplay works well, like it's supposed to. Plenty of power for high listening volume. Bright screen, very responsive to touch.

Pros: Ease of use, bright screen & plenty of power.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Sheridan, WY on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to use. No nonsense. This unit sounds ten times better than my kenwood, and is half the pain in the neck

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Have to fight off all the girls that want you

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Pfafftown, NC on 12/28/2020

2019 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm impressed with this unit. After a lot of research I chose this unit for a few reasons...the built in amp which powers my after market door speakers...the very fast boot up which is really exceptionally fast in comparison with other units at this price point and the capacitive touch screen which I found to be very responsive and look great. Apple CarPlay worked seamlessly for me. I understand the complaint about it not having wireless CarPlay but if you look around you will find that you will need to spend another $300-400 for any reputable brand that has that feature. One side note, I had LED lights that are causing interference with the camera, this is not an issue with the unit. A noise filter is needed for my set up that I didn't have when installed, a minor inconvenience but if you have aftermarket LeD lights you will want to grab the video noise reducer as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Almost prefect.

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 12/19/2020

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The power is great and makes my upgraded door speakers rock with just the factory wiring. Trick is to go with speakers with a 100w RMS or slightly less so they are not way too under powered and benefit from the head units amp. My only problem is there is no mute button or ATT on the receiver (there is one on the remote) so you have mash the volume button over and over at the drive thru etc. or find the remote. Only other issue is it would have been nice to have Bluetooth tethered Android Auto and not be forced to plug your phone into usb every time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Utica, MI on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound of the Sony AX7000 with out any amplifier. The only improvements could be in the software, such as the EQ. You can not adjust the EQ while on a preset such as "Rock". If you wanted to make adjustments you have to go to the custom selection which it starts from flat. Also when on the phone there is no keypad on the head unit screen so if you needed to press a phone digit during a phone call you need to use your screen on the actual phone

Pros: great sound no need for an amp

Cons: software

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big bang for the buck!

Crutchfield customer from Noblesville, IN on 12/15/2020

2003 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power output for a stand-alone unit. No separate amp required. Easy to use User Interface. Nice USB interfaces and goof Android Auto integration. This is a great deck that we've used with Samsung Galaxy S6s and S20+s. Installed in a 1998 Toyota T100 SR5 4WD and 2003 Honda CR-V EX AWD. We added USB ports to dashes and cubbies/glove boxes of both vehicles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Deck

Travis from RIVERTON, UT on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own both Kenwood (Car) and Pioneer (Truck) receivers, and not cheap ones either, but the sound of this deck is by far better than both of my other receivers. It has two USB ports, but I can only get the left one to work so that's a downer, but not a show stopper. Display is smooth operating, but could be a little brighter and clearer. So far I love this deck, and I'm thinking about buying one to replace the Pioneer in my other truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dud

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, NJ on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went back and forth between this, Pioneer and Alpine. Ultimately decided that since this was to be a very simple install, that the larger on-board amp on the Sony would be helpful. The screen is decent, touchscreen is responsive, but the menu is kind of clunky (2 pages of source options means extra steps to switch between car play and usb). USB is VERY slow to load, and the limitations on size mean you cannot always access every artist folder (32G thumb drive and I can't access artists that start with A through H. Car play is hit and miss. Sometimes you need to plug/unplug/plug in your phone 3 or 4 times before the head unit recognizes the phone. Have tried multiple lightning cables (currently using a brand new one from Apple) across multiple iPhones (8, SE, XS and 11) with the same results. Have a cheap Pioneer NEX in our other car and have zero issues with that, wishing that I went that route here as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Almost 5 Stars

Kent A. from Tallahassee, FL on 12/4/2020

2006 Pontiac GTO

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I mostly love this head unit. It has good power and woke up the stock speakers in my 2006 Pontiac GTO. I can't wait to install some quality aftermarket speakers. The screen is flawless and the interface is more than adequate, although it would be nice to be able to rearrange the icons. Android Auto works great with my Pixel 3. I have the XAV-AX7000 connected to the SiriusXM SXV300V1 Tuner to listen to satellite radio. My biggest complaint about the XAV-AX7000 is that it doesn't take advantage of the features available on the SiriusXM SXV300V1, like TuneMix, SportsFlash, pause, rewind, and replay. It doesn't even show the station icons and album art for the songs when listening to SiriusXM. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a good mid-priced head unit if you don't plan on installing SiriusXM. If I had known the limitations of it's SiriusXM interface, I would have gone another route. Hopefully Sony will see this and make the features available with the SiriusXM SXV300V1 Tuner in future firmware updates.

Pros: Built in power, clean interface, and Android Auto

Cons: Screen icons can't be rearranged and it doesn't take advantage of the the SiriusXM SXV300V1 Tuner's capabilities

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 12/2/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very user friendly. Very happy with this unit.

Pros: Totally enhanced my audio experience along with upgrading the rest of my audio system.

Cons: Nothing at this time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really nice but for the price feel it lacks in some areas

drdoug99 from Ohio on 11/23/2020

2014 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Giving this 4 stars, it to me is very expensive for what you get. In some ways it's worth it, in others I feel for the price it really should have more features. The things that are worth it, and one of the main reasons I bought this over just about all other brands of stereos today, is the built in, high power amp. I was really leaning towards getting a seperate 4 channel amp, and for what this costs, you can easily get a lower cost stereo with Apple Car Play/Android Auto, and a seperate amp for the same, if not even a little less. So my thinking was with this having the built in amp, 45 watts each, plenty of power for some quality aftermarket speakers, and saves me time and effort hooking up an additional amp. In my case, which helped my decision to get this, I got it here on a scratch and dent sale, saving me a solid $125 bucks, so I jumped on it. It arrived looking brand new, the box was beat up a little but the actual unit was still wrapped up and looks great. Kudos to Crutchfield again on their shipping and their deals. Android Auto, this was my 2nd more important option, whichever stereo I ended up with I wanted Android Auto, which this does work with. It does NOT work as far as I know, with Wireless android auto, which again for the price, seems like it should have. Sound quality wise it's very good. It does get plenty loud, I usually keep it around 20 to 25 out of 50 and it's more than enough. Overall I like it alot, just a few things

Pros: It does sound good, gets plenty loud. The DSO modes do make a noticeable improvement in sound quality and sound stage, but I wish there was still a bit more. Very nice looking unit, improvement over factory radio for sure.

Cons: No wireless android auto/car play. Wish it had more control over EQ/time alignment/auto EQ calibration.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Washington, MI on 11/12/2020

2003 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently purchased and installed the Sony XAV-AX7000 and I'm pleased with the purchase. I had intended to get an Android based HU from Amazon and run an external amp. I then found the Alpine bundle with the small amp tied to the back of the headunit in a compact package before finally running across the Sony. The big selling point for me was the amplifier and the single DIN chassis behind the screens. Modern adaptors make wiring up a stereo easy, but the amount of space available can often be a problem. With the single DIN chassis, all of the adapters tucked neatly underneath in the dash. The performance is great, the screen starts up quickly, the unit sounds good, bluetooth pairing is easy. Apple Carplay works without a hitch. I always prefer a rotary knob for a volume control, but there aren't many options out there that offer it and the rest of the features superseded it. The screen is easy to see from any position and light level, the screen is responsive to touch. Very happy with the purchase and the head unit.

Pros: 45wx4 (real) Single DIN chassis Easy menu systems/structure

Cons: Limited ability to play video sources.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Greeneville, TN on 10/31/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice, functional infotainment system. Has lots of great features. A bit time-consuming to install in my truck, but not hard, and well worth it.

Pros: Great features, bright screen, easy to operate.

Cons: Once installed, is nearly impossible to remove.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Apple carplay little problem

Crutchfield customer from Cordova, TN on 10/28/2020

2008 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything is perfect with it EXCEPT the apple carplay. It's not like plug n play. I should plug and unplug a couple of times to get it working. I don't know what's the problem. It's not bothering me that much though because I usually use bluetooth while I'm in town and don't need maps.

Pros: Sound quality Fast boot Touch screen responsiveness

Cons: Apple car play lag

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome head unit

Crutchfield customer from Wentzville, MO on 10/23/2020

2020 Nissan NV Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I almost went with a cheaper Kenwood unit. Very happy I went with the Sony

Pros: Good sound. Good power

Cons: Two USB inputs, but only one cable provided

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Powerful simple upgrade

B from PA on 10/19/2020

2009 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent considerable time looking for a head unit that put out enough power to drive a decent set of component speakers, this definitely does the job. The mids are much fuller and overall sound quality is excellent considering I didn't have to wire anything beyond a simple head unit. Misses a star for eq control and lack of time alignment, that would make it a 5/5 for me, even with the dated simple screen layout.

Pros: Lots of power, sound quality is good, very clean "factory" look in dash

Cons: Can't change background, no advanced dsp audio adjustments, ui is a bit dated.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound and value

Graham from BALDWINSVILLE, NY on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade in My 2015 Toyota Tacoma - Extra power is great. Wasn't looking to install amps and this gets me closer to where I want to be without a huge expense. Installed aftermarket speakers with the unit and the sound is leaps and bounds over what I had before. The extra power really cleans up my music. I did wire power direct to the battery to get the most out of the unit. A little over $1000.00 spent with speakers and installation gear; well worth it! I particularly enjoy the simple software interface on this unit. I don't have to spend a lot of time staring at the unit trying to figure out what I want to do. Apple Car play makes music and using maps pretty easy. Car play connection is another story- one would think a wired connection would link right up; one would be wrong. It's about 50/50 right now. Sometimes it connects right up; others I have to disconnect the cable and reconnect in order to get it to recognize my phone. I've tried different cables and I even bypassed the extension I installed and went direct to the input on the back of the unit - same thing. Web Link is limited especially when it comes to video. Often times I get the audio from the video and no video. As a result, I rarely use it. Display dimming function is limited. On dark roads I cannot dim the unit enough and have to shut the display off. For the price, superior sound and features the radio would be a 5 except for the Apple connectivity and the limited display dimming. A solid 4 stars. G

Pros: -Extra Power -Simple Software Interface -Apple Car Play -Crutchfield Steering control interface is very good - not 100% but pretty close. -Double Din unit that uses only single din space makes installation a snap!

Cons: -Web Link is clunky -Apple Car Play Connectivity -Limited Display dimming

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Better sound for stock speakers

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, VT on 9/14/2020

2016 Honda HR-V EX-L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outside of having CarPlay and Android Auto, my stock speakers sound a lot better. I'm ultimately going to replace my stock speakers but I was surprised how much better everything sounded from just swapping out my stock stereo (Honda HRV 16')

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Ok..

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne, FL on 9/3/2020

2017 Polaris Slingshot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has great sound & my husband loves it...But, I think for the price it's Ok. It's all about the speakers too, so If You don't have Great Speakers, it really doesn't matter. So...We had to get..Better...Speakers..See how this works?

Pros:

Cons: Price & can't play any cd's..

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Sony 7000

Crutchfield customer from S Plainfield, NJ on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would say this unit made my stock speakers loader then the OEM. I've been using it for a week now. I'm in love with the functions quick response. I've would've gave it a five but the only down fall is the screen is not anti glare. Although I did install it on a road glide

Pros: It works as advertised

Cons: The anti glare screen

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit, excellent touch display, Easy install, LOVE CarPlay

David from HUNTSVILLE, AL on 7/18/2020

2013 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver, Sony quality and design. Been waiting to replace the head unit in my 2013 GMC Acadia for years (Factory unit was nice and modern, but lacked sound quality), and waited for this unit to come out since announced in Jan '19. Worth the wait for upgrades of high power amp, less reflective screen and 3 year warranty! Replaced factory speakers with Infinity all around, added a JBL BassPro Micro sub and it makes for a great system. Mainly use music from my iPhone, so I'm in CarPlay always. Love that interface, and love how it makes a background color wash from the album art (see pics below) and CarPlay runs from your phone os, so when Apple updates it, it's also updated on your car receiver as well. Only issue I've had so far, is if you crank it too loud, it usually causes the unit (or CarPlay) to crash (can't discern which) and reboot the unit, but only takes a few seconds - and my ears are probably thankful, lol! Not sure if this is an amp protection "feature" or not... but the extra wattage amp makes less of a need for an external one, which is ideal in most installations. Now if it only had wireless CarPlay, that would make it perfect! I ran the usb1 cable out to the side of my console, so then I can easily replace the lightning cable if it goes bad. I've had Sony car stereos for 35 years, and this is only my 4th unit! Previous ones, although now technologically outdated, have always been great!

Pros: Great Sony quality and design. Quick boot time, music starts playing even before splash screen clears. High power amp makes less need for component amp, great sound controls, Software update enabled custom backgrounds (for those who complained about this) and web link control giving another way to stream music from your phone wirelessly, but I use mainly CarPlay. It's interface is superior imo.

Cons: Crashes when volume too high, no wireless CarPlay.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

sony xav-ax7000 reviews

Crutchfield customer from Dinuba, CA on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounds unfortunately it overheat to sudden and it mutes or lowers down the volume other them that its a very good unit

Pros: great sound easy to use

Cons: It over heats to fast on higher volume causing it to shut off or mute and lower its volume

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver overheating. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony xav7000

Crutchfield customer from Searcy, AR on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not fit my Tahoe ! Way to deep ... put in a friends car and within 2 days it locked up and will it turn on. Sony has no answer. I am a professional installer and have installed for 30 years . No wiring issue. Just a BAD product. I have 5000 series and no issue . Don't buy the 7000!!!!!

Pros: Good power if would work !

Cons: Very deep chassis and the menu bar on the face looks cheap compared to the 5000 series. Come on Sony , you can do better !

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 4 found this helpful

Great deck to modernize your 90s Toytota

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 6/28/2020

1995 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Single DIN body with double DIN display, installation could not have been more straight-forward or easier. Included harness and hardware made coupling with OEM wiring harness a snap. Start-up and configuration with Android is very easy and intuitive, and the unit operates as if it were an OEM head. Sound is incredible with ample power to drive your speakers, achieving balance and tone is simple. Fantastic value considering functions and features coupled with an incredible amplifier.

Pros: Easy installation, easy configuration

Cons: Have to use volume limiter to prevent clipping/blowing fuse

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simply Fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Putnam, CT on 6/22/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit far exceeded expectations. The write ups really do not do justice for this receiver as the power, sound and features are exceptional. First the sound is incredible with this and I'm happy I previously upgraded all of the stock speakers in my 2014 Ram 1500 prior to putting in this unit. The built in amp provides power well above and beyond the stock unit in the vehicle and the equalizer has presets and can be customized for any type of sound. The interface is simple and responsive. Hands-free calling with bluetooth works very well. I coupled this unit with a dash mount dual USB extension that works flawlessly with Android Auto. The dual USB connections allow for both to be used simultaneously - I had a USB flash drive in one for music and the other connected to my phone with Android Auto while using navigation from Google Maps. Overall one of the best purchases I've made and could not be happier with the performance of this unit

Pros: Power, sound, features, compatibility with Android Auto, simple and responsive interface

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lots of short-comings

Johann from Rockledge on 6/17/2020

2016 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm giving this three stars because it does sound great. The unit does have some short-comings, some of which are mentioned here. Right now, I'm considering returning the unit. Pros: 1. Big difference in sound 2. Much better radio reception than my GM system Cons: 1. This one really grips me. I updated album art on about 6000 MP3s. I can't figure out how to get that album art to display on this unit. The Pioneer, JVC & even my cheap GM system displayed album art. That should be a given. If anyone has seen this and knows how to fix it, please let me know. 2. Screen is very dim even compared to my GM system. 3. You need to connect BOTH USBs in order to perform a firmware upgrade. Only one cable in the box. So frustrating. Aargh! 4. Video display is just so-so. My GM system had crisper display but lousy sound. Crutchfield service is great. They continue to earn my business.

Pros: Great Sound

Cons: Does not display album art Dim screen Need both USBs to do firmware upgrade

Crutchfield response on 6/23/2020
Johann, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues and you'd like our help again, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

stereo channels paralleled, with subwoofer on rear channel...

Byron from Tucson, AZ on 6/17/2020

2005 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Head unit is connected with front/rear in parallel on the front channels, and a 4 ohm subwoofer on the left rear channel, speakers set to 2ohms and subwoofer direct enabled. Subwoofer level control is not functional in this mode; use the fader to set the relative level of the speakers and sub. Unit boots quickly and functions beautifully with Tidal/Carplay from an iPhoneXr. Very loud for a head unit, and at least on par with factory "premium" amp. Installed the firmware update according to the simple instructions at sony.com. Worked without a problem in a matter of a few minutes, and now I can import images from USB for custom wallpaper.

Pros: Very capable built-in power amp. Responsive and well organized UI. Excellent sound.

Cons: Sony tech support with regard to wiring configurations for "Subwoofer Direct" mode, was less than stellar. They simply told me to hire a professional installer without actually answering my questions. Only one USB extension cable provided. You WILL need a second cable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional and well worth the price!

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 6/14/2020

2016 Nissan Leaf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

CarPlay is amazing. Not sure how we got along without it. Plenty of power. Sound quality is great! Touch screen is super responsive. Installed in a 2016 Nissan Leaf and able to keep everything including back up camera and steering wheel controls. Fantastic!

Pros: Everything

Cons: Not a single one.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good radio. Odd installation.

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 6/12/2020

1967 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this radio featurewise and pricewise. I don't have it installed yet but the biggest issue with it is that its a single DIN radio with a double DIN face. No clues in the manuals on what sleeve to use to install it. If fact most of the information available is for motorcycles. I am building a car so can install either a single DIN or double DIN sleeve but the radio doesn't fit either one. Not sure how its supposed to be installed. Actually fits into a single DIN sleeve but the locking pins are wrong so won't lock in. Putting it into a double DIN sleeve it has no support for the base so it appears I have to built something the size of a single DIN to use as a base for it yet they advertise that you can put the extra cable length in the spot under the radio. The double DIN brackets to not hold the radio in position because they are not the full height of the DIN sleeve.

Pros: All the features, pricing.

Cons: There appears to be no installation package that works for standard DIN sleeves.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Good Android Auto unit

RM from Longview, WA on 6/11/2020

1998 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit as it has a single DIN chassis (at the top, the bottom half is just the screen) and didn't require a sawzall to the sub dash for install into my work rig. Crutchfield install information and customer service is spot on and is why I only buy from them. They email you PDFs of everything you need when you purchase, made it very easy. I run Android Auto all the time for nav as well as Google Play music. (Samsung Note8) It operates perfectly. The touchscreen is fast, just like a tablet or phone. Bluetooth mike works really well. Calls are very clear. The built-in amp has more than enough power for good quality 6x9s, and it gets plenty loud. What it lacks in options and settings it makes up for by doing the main functions pretty well. The AM/FM tuner works much better than OE radio, and has RDS. Update to V1.10 for custom wallpaper. You need to use both USB ports for this. The only missing features I'd really like are HD radio, and the ability to force FM to mono for lower noise out in the sticks. Nag screen goes away quickly The unit is made in Thailand.

Pros: Very nice build quality Anti-glare capacitive screen is very good Easy to read in bright sunlight FM Tuner is good Very fast boot and responsiveness Lots of power Looks very low-key, OEM like. No RCA dongles hanging off the back Easy to bypass brake interlock- ground it to chassis

Cons: Can't dim the buttons separately from screen, they do get warm. Dimmest setting is still a bit too bright No contrast adjustment No FM Mono mode No HD Radio No AUX in Can't hide SXM icon Only one video input EQ settings are global, not dependent on source No iDataLink port. I don't need it for this vehicle, but would be nice for my other truck.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Wixom, MI on 6/8/2020

2009 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was very easy, everything works so far, no startup issues. Android auto works like it should. Touchscreen is nice and responsive. I like the single DIN form factor of the internals because it made it nice and easy to put all the cables and iDatalink Maestro SW Steering Wheel Control Adapter in that empty DIN area. The only possible negative I have about it so far is that I still don't think the screen is that bright, but I don't think most screens are bright, but I think the anti-glare film does help to make the screen appear brighter by now being washed out in the sunlight.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great, Sounds Great, Easy to Use!

Ronald from Roanoke, VA on 6/3/2020

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just replaced an older Kenwood with this SONY in my 2010 Jeep Wrangker JK and I love it! Looks great, sounds great, easy to use! Usability: Very user friendly! The interface is very easy to navigate. I surprisingly like the hard buttons more so than i thought, very easy to adjust the volume quickly. The interface looks more like a high end tablet OS than those other cheap tacky looking car stereo OS's. Very clean sharp, one of the best looking stereos out there. I use mostly apple carplay which runs smoothly. Sound: Clear and crisp! I have some pioneer speakers in my jeep that I thought I was going to need to replace, but now that I have replaced the headunit the sound quality is muuuuch better! Turns out it was the prior head unit that sounded bad, not my speakers. The extra ampage of this unit really helps. Feel: The capacitive touch screen is very sensitive and accurate. It's nice and glassy like i'm using a smart phone screen. The anti-glare film gives the glass a smooth matte finish that allows my finger to slide over it easily. Installation: needed to cut out the old Kenwood harness and re-wire in the new one for the Sony, but after that it's just plug and play! The single din profile gives extra space for wires in the dash! The additional USB port is a nice addition as well.

Pros:

Cons: -Sometimes the stereo does not connect to carplay immediately, sometimes i've had to plug in a few times or restart the unit to get it to work. Swapped out the cable and still occasionally has an issue, although may be a problem with my phone... -The screen does tend to attract finger prints, but honestly much less that the other screens i've used that don't have the anti-glare film. And what screen doesn't get fingerprints? -Wish you could customize the back ground wall paper.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Extremely Satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2013 Silverado 1500, Worktruck Style Dash All included Accessories from Crutchfield utilizing PAC RP5-GM13 Wiring Interface for Steering Wheel Controls Rockford Fosgate R165X3's in all 4 doors RF R500X1D Amplifier powering RF P3S Shallow 12 in an AudioEnhancers box RF 1 Farad Capacitor for Subwoofer Amp This Stereo was the last piece of the puzzle to bring my truck's audio to perfection. Its powerful for my speakers. The 5V sub preamp sounds so clean. Installation was simple using all of the included accessories there was plenty of slack in all wiring, and in my Silverado there was plenty of room for everything to sit in there due to the "Single DIN" size of the deck. Be advised, if you are using any of the RCA's in a Silverado like mine, you will more than likely need to use 90 degree angle RCA's, OR.. you can do what I did and just measure and drill holes for your RCA's in the back. Otherwise they will hit the plastic in the back and the radio won't fit. This took me about 5 minutes of measuring and drilling combined. I will attach a picture of where I drilled for ONLY the sub preamp as a reference, there is nothing behind the plastic, but still be careful. But this stereo is amazing in my opinion and all my audio sounds so well rounded now. I upgraded from the XAV-AX5000 and it is well worth it in my opinion. I wish Crutchfield would let me write a longer review so I could go into much more detail, but I would rather give the advice on installati

Pros: Clean Bezel-less Design (looks close to OEM) Touch Screen feels/looks great 5V Preamps Powerful! Door speakers sound great Android Auto works great Easy to navigate menus Sturdy feeling buttons Sound options plentiful (EQ, DSO, Fade/Balance, etc) Custom Wallpaper (with latest firmware update 1.10) Weblink lets you use YouTube and view videos from your phone (with latest firmware update 1.10)

Cons: Android Auto is wired (Not Wireless) Call volume is a little quiet, you have to turn it up loud to hear, but it does go back to your previous volume when ending a call. So this is not much if a problem. I will update this review if I have any negative experiences.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Bonney Lake, WA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio. Plenty of power and features. I have a shorty antenna in my ram 1500, stock radio no channels. This radio over a dozen. Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Receiver!

Tim from VIRGINIA BEACH, VA on 5/24/2020

2011 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed today in my 2011 Nissan Xterra. Replaced and older Pioneer unit. I had installed Infinity Reference Speakers, front and rear, several years ago but only today discovered their potential. The Sony unit is simply 5 stars across to board. Install took about an hour, even with the XM Tuner kit. Specific features I've found outstanding include Apple Car Play, multiple USB ports, the Class D amps which are clear even at high volume, the DSO feature which made the front speakers sound like a concert hall. At 45watts RMS this unit gets very loud, while remaining very clear. The display is very nice with the touchscreen very smooth (my old touchscreen was quirky). I have a powered sub on the way and also a back up camera. Bottom line, you cannot go wrong with this unit. .

Pros: See review.Too numerous to list.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 5/22/2020

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the way this looks in my car. This is a high quality product. Highly recommended!

Pros: Great quality, designed very well and fit perfectly

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty good. I'm glad I got this over the AX-5000

Crutchfield customer from Eden Prairie, MN on 5/17/2020

2013 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great. I really enjoy the audio controls that are included with this head unit, like hi/low pass filter, subwoofer phase change, and 10-band EQ. Two things I feel like they missed the ball on: - No temperature readout, even in CarPlay. My OEM head unit had that included, so I was surprised to find that was the case. - No wireless CarPlay compatibility, even with an adaptor.

Pros: Nice sound quality. Super easy integration with a powered sub addition. The dynamic stage control is really nice for evening out the sound positioning top-to-bottom in my truck, since the speakers are so low (except the tweeters)

Cons: No temp readout. The rear-view camera signal didn't pull in, even when using the idatalink wiring harness (The OEM one is in my rear view mirror). No wireless CarPlay compatibility. Cannot set Google maps to the default mapping software in CarPlay. I would have liked to mount the radio a little more flush with the desk, but the brackets were maxed out on the depth setting already, and it sticks out about 3/8 inch.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 5/17/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great screen, works well without an amp

Crutchfield customer from Evergreen, CO on 5/11/2020

2011 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an older JVC with this. Instalation was easy with the Crutchfield installation kit. Touch screen is very responsive and has minimal glare. The added power of this unit has really helped improve the sound in our truck. Only negative is I with it had a rotary volume control.

Pros: Screen responsiveness, minimal glare, great power, fast boot up.

Cons: Needs a rotary volume control.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Hampshire, IL on 5/8/2020

2004 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony XAV-AX7000 is an exceptional product. Installed this on my WRX STi 2004. Installation was fairly easy with the help of the manual and a few tools. Touch screen feels nice, and all the features are very easy to use. I soldered every connection together which went very well with the receiver wiring harness that I ordered with my Head unit. The performance is good as far as speakers go. I haven't noticed a real difference in volume with the swap, but it fits my needs. One this I notice is that it seems to be very close to max volume to really get the sound pumping (40-45 and max is 50). Haven't had to go above 45 on my volume so it works well for me. I did have the Head unit freeze and shut down on me once after using it for the 3rd day. Hoping it won't freeze again.

Pros: Touch screen is amazing! Very intuitive user interface. Fairly easy install for the tech savvy. Decent sound for not having an amp.

Cons: Froze on me once on the 3rd day of using. There's a bit of a plastic look to the screen when the sun shines on it. It's also a bit hard to see while the sun is shining on it as well, but there is no glare. THE VOLUME BUTTON, it's probably the most annoying thing to use, you'll sit there clicking and clicking away to turn up or down your volume, it's better than having a touch volume but still annoying.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from PA on 4/29/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome head unit, very simple to use, works great!

Pros: Easy install, compact, has enough features but not enough to overwhelm you. Display works smooth and is not too bright.

Cons: Sometimes I have to plug phone in twice for carplay to work. Other than that no issues.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great power & sound, lots of nice features, sluggish UI for USB music

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, GA on 4/22/2020

2001 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is a great receiver with an amazing amount of power and lots of very cool features. The only major flaw is navigating through music on a USB stick is painfully slow.

Pros: - Output Power: Coupled with efficient speakers (>90db w-1w@1m), you will not need a separate amp. I installed this with Polk db652's in the front and rear doors and find anything above 2/3rds volume hits my pain threshold (& I like my music LOUD). - With firmware update (which was easy to do), you can load your own wallpaper (ver. 1.10). - Android Auto - Audio controls: Effective EQ, sub controller, high-low crossover points. - Capacitive touchscreen - Fit perfectly in my 2001

Cons: - Using the touchscreen for USB stick music scrolling & folder navigation is excessively slow; the on screen response can take a couple seconds. (I use a 3.0 USB stick directly attached to the rear USB cable.) - You are restricted to arrows on on the display for USB stick music scrolling & folder navigation, which are too small. There is no 'swipe up/down' through lists. - Icons cannot be rearranged. - DSO minimum 'active' setting (=1) has too much effect, should be half

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Jaime Mejia from Wheaton, IL on 4/21/2020

2016 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so very pleased using this radio, I had an Alpine ILX-F259 in my Hyundai Elantra 2016 and I was happy with it until I read all the features included with this XAV-AX7000. Once I replaced it, I started loving it, everything works great, booting time is amazing, WebLink is awesome and the greatest thing, at least for me, it fits great, my car looks nicer with this unit. the ILX-F259 started looking so big on the car for me. I had some issues programing the Metra Axxess ASWC-1 until I figured the unit has an option to re-program the steering wheel controls. Love it!

Pros: - WebLink Feature - Single din making wires to be organized behind the dash - Booting Time great - The Screen looks fine on a sunny day. - Easy install - Easy Firmware Upgrade

Cons: - No HDMI, however, no needed since WebLink does videos

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds Great!

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, CA on 4/15/2020

2007 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a huge upgrade from the Kenwood I installed a few years back. This one SOUNDS GREAT! The display is really easy to see and use. The bluetooth functionality is almost seamless and the controls just seem more intuitive. I should just stick to SONY. I really like this unit. Was easy to install as well, thanks for making sure to send the longer screws!

Pros: Touchscreen is really easy to use and see, sound/power, Bluetooth functionality is almost seemless

Cons: Only one USB extension cable was included. Access to second USB port is not possible without an additional USB extension cable. Wish I woulda known that BEFORE I installed it. One should be enough (I routed it into the "not an ashtray" on my 06 Pilot), but two woulda been extra points. (and an extra star)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful head unit with no need for an external amplifier!

Dan from GREENWOOD, AR on 4/8/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a head unit with no need for an external amplifier for your midrange and highs. There's always a need for a subwoofer to add the right amount of lows, just keep that in mind if you are running a regular 4 speaker system. I'm using the Android Auto and it works great. I bought all the wiring kits from Crutchfield and they work with backup camera, steering controls, etc, etc. Very happy with the purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee, KS on 4/1/2020

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and sounds great in my 2013 Jeep Wrangled Sport 2dr. I paid them to pre-wired it for me (worth every penny). It was super easy to install. I only had to run a wire from the battery to the stereo and ground the stereo to the chasis.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 3/30/2020

2008 Freightliner Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great so far installed it in 2009 Sprinter RV van. Sound is great and EZ to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Rch Cucamonga, CA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Unit, Built-in high power. Weblink app makes it even more awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, IN on 3/22/2020

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took awhile to get used to all the features and required a firmware update to be able to stream video but overall a very good stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from St Simons Is, GA on 3/15/2020

2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 2005 MB SLK 55 AMG convertible. Plenty of power to overcome ambient noise even with the top down! The large display with the unobtrusive buttons looks clean and fits in with the MB dash. The internal amp is driving front 3-1/2" Hertz mids and 1-1/2" Hertz tweeters, and four rear stock 2-1/2" speakers. The front line- outs are fed to Infinity Primus 6002A amp which drives left and right 6-1/2" Hertz woofers.

Pros: Fast boot- up with Android Auto. Responsive touch screen. 2 USB connections for phone and thumb drive music.

Cons: Lots of touches to get to often used screens such as EQ and balance/ fader. Screen could be brighter, hard to see when the top is down.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good sound, user interface needs to be more robust, apple carplay has frozen screen few times since install... 1 week. just expected more in the this price point with Sony name.

Pros: Sony name. clear sound

Cons: software stability for carplay, user interface needs enhancement

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from East Aurora, NY on 2/24/2020

2009 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic Head unit. I bought a scratch and dent model.. I still haven't found a scratch or a dent. Car, truck, motorcycle or boat, install this any place!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000, Crutchfield review

Crutchfield customer from Campbellsport, WI on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great , Product, Price, & Service!

Pros: Great , Product, Price, & Service!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AX7000 bummer

Tom from Richardson, TX on 1/28/2020

2019 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 2019 Civic Hatchback with 4 Rockford Fosgate 6.5's. No Amp and a hidaway powered sub under passanger seat. I'm very pleased with the sound. That is until the Head Unit reboots if volume is 4.1 or above. Im thinking since this car is can-bus and there is no "radio" fuse to blow the power is being reset. However it's not throwing a code so I'm not sure. I'll probably run a wire to the bat and power it like an amp with a switch rely. Then again maybe not because Apple car play locks up a lot too. I'm hoping a shorter USB cable might help but we will see. So bottom line Im disappointed. When this happens holding the power Home button down DOES NOT turn it off/on as described. It turns the screen off/on but you literally have to kill the car to unhang it.

Pros: easy install

Cons: Reboots at high volume. Car play locks up and you have to kill the car the reset

Crutchfield response on 1/28/2020
We're sorry your having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 4 found this helpful

Decent

Liam from Havertown, PA on 1/24/2020

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So coming up on about a month with this product. Installation was user friendly and couldn't ask for a better harness set up by Crutchfield. It's a powerful head unit and is definitely simplistic to use. Have been finding more flaws that I keep picking at so will see about returning and swapping out for something different.

Pros: Nice simplistic user interface Powerful Head Unit

Cons: Can't see the screen during the day even with anti glare. No Sony support for updates CarPlay just stopped working while driving and didn't work until next day even though it still charged phone Screen resolution is low No customization to the colors, wallpaper etc CarPlay is super bright at night and eye straining even with brightness turned down on everything.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Hohenwald, TN on 1/17/2020

2004 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a GM tech at a very reputable dealership. I deal with after market radios and bad installations all the time. I followed Crutchfield's buying guide and installation instructions to the letter and these are my results. I have a 2004 Colorado and the factory radio and speakers where shot. The dealership quoted me a price(part not labor). I got on Crutchfield's website and found this radio and what an upgrade! Cheaper too. The install was painless. Very simple and the look is clean. I installed all new speakers and a single sub. This radio has it all. The tech support was phenomenal and installation was a breeze. The sound and picture quality is amazing. For the average diy person, you will have no problem. If you do Crutchfield will talk you through it over the phone no problem.

Pros: It is what it says it is. It fits sounds and looks perfect.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Wheatland, CA on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this unit.. great way to make your older vehicle modern.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Virginia Beach

shawn from Virginia Beach on 1/10/2020

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this before reviews were even up. This receiver has plenty of power for any factory replacement. Sony did things right in many aspects of this head unit. No special frills but will hold it's own for function. Form, and appearance.

Pros: Power, selectable display color to match interior dash lighting. Easof use with wayz, Apple car play and android auto. Connects via bluetooth quickly and easily. Quick simple plug and play replacement.

Cons: The USB factory cord needs another 12 to 16 inches in length. Considering that they do not recommend additional USB. My application required an additional length to fit in factory mount USB locations. It still works though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Downey, CA on 1/3/2020

2011 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent head unit, the screen is amazing, more than enough power for my door speakers, sounds really good. The Android auto works great, I don't have any Apple products so I can't give a review of the Apple car play function.

Pros: Powerful built in amp. Anti glare screen. Android Auto.

Cons: Doesn't support the older 5th gen iPods. No AUX port.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phenomenal

Crutchfield customer from Catonsville, MD on 12/29/2019

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal head unit with equally great service from Crutchfield! Quick and easy installation, and the internal amp made a significant and immediate difference in audio quality and volume. Seriously, like night and day, and that's with stock speakers in my FJ Cruiser. Coupled with new speakers, this unit will knock your socks off. Android Auto and Apple Carplay both work flawlessly, I 100 % recommend the AX7000!

Pros: Easy installation Beautiful, non reflective service Android Auto and Apple Carplay work perfectly

Cons: Nada

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Cottage Grove, MN on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great in my 2007 Silverado. Returned for a wireless CarPlay unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2006 toyota tacoma W/stereo

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, NJ on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the stereo overall Bluetooth connectivity is excellent,has different presets for rock,jass.pop,country etc on the equalizer for easy selection . The hands free is great only answered call attached microphone to piece wire run thru for rearview mirror cant even see it above mirror wires tucked up in headliner down driver side A pillar up in through dash to stereo. Also great capacitive touch screen not too sensitive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Minimal Design for Good and Bad

Guest from Montebello, CA on 12/15/2019

2016 Scion FR-S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although I specifically chose this unit because of the minimalistic design, the interface is a bit too minimal. Besides the integrated amp and Android Auto, there was nothing interesting to tinker with. Installation was straightforward as the wires matched up directly with my vehicle's, but after I finished and a few eq settings, I was a bit underwhelmed with my new toy. But what else was I to expect? A few ticks I don't like so far: - HPF selectable jump from 60 to 80, no 70, when my previous Sony Receiver was able to. - No time alignment - When playing USB music on shuffle, going back to a previous track doesn't work. - Stuck to simple, bland wallpapers. Nothing else visually is customizable All in all though, if you're looking for something minimal and not too nitpicky, this head unit is straightforward and I don't have any regrets

Pros: Nice clean and simple looking Built in amp

Cons: Too simple of settings

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Beatrice, NE on 12/13/2019

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great does everything I wanted sounds awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

XAV-AX7000 is a great receiver

Jason from BRENTWOOD, TN on 11/25/2019

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver. I had to do some slight modification, which Crutchfield warned me about, in the dash (2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited) to get it to fit but that was quick and easy to do. I ordered the recommended wiring kit and the Ready Harness Service that already had everything wired up....except for the power but that was because I had to verify that my radio circuit had a fuse larger than 10 amp. Once I confirmed the fuse, I wired the power and ground to finish off the wiring. I also ordered a new Sirius XM tuner. All in all this was a breeze to install and get everything working. Bluetooth Audio is working great. Android Auto works great as well. It is nice to have the power to push the four 100 watt Kicker speakers I installed a few months ago. They sound most excellent now. Especially with the built in EQ. Touch screen works great and easy to navigate. Crutchfield makes the installation easy with pretty good documentation. It could be better but then that is always the case with documentation. It was good enough that it only took me two hours to install the receiver. I did run into an issue where I had to figure out the power and ground were not wired and I needed to wire them once I checked the fuse amperage. If that was documented then I missed it. Also was missing a XM antenna adapter from the wiring kit to be able and use current XM antenna. The wiring kit did have the regular antenna adapter.

Pros: Wattage to push good speakers Built in EQ to adjust sound to your liking Can play music from phone using Bluetooth Easy to install and configure Good documentation from Crutchfield and Sony Touch screen works great

Cons: Not sure if this is Android or Sony but would be nice if Android Auto worked with Bluetooth. But then I always have my phone plugged in and charging anyway. So not much of a Con.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it!

Mark from Rockledge, FL on 11/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No adapter required to get my Steering Wheel Controls working on my 2006 Tundra. Modified a Metra 8114 cable to interface with my Sony RC-SR1 (Cable for Steering Wheel Remote Input). Saved over $50 not buying an adapter many dealers try to sell you. Found Tundra wire colors on a PAC SWI RC Installation Guide.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

90 out of 100

Crutchfield customer from Winterville, NC on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall it's a great stereo worth a lot of power. My only gripe is you can't upload your own image for wallpaper, I knew that when I got it. My other gripe is there seems to be a lag time when you plug your phone in. It takes a couple minutes to load sometimes. Other than those two things, I am happy with it. I hope that they will update the firmware and resolve those issues.

Pros: Powerful, CarPlay is cool because you can play XM app and navigation

Cons: Only 5 basic wallpaper choices, lag in response at first when phone is connected.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Crutchfield customer from Hazlehurst, GA on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've bought from Crutchfield several tines now and the customer service has been great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Product with excellent Customer Service

Adam from PARKERSBURG, WV on 10/28/2019

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meets and exceeds expectations. I wanted CarPlay, no CD, 45wx4, 4-5v preouts, ease of use, and a clean display. Checks all those boxes flawlessly, not to mention a straight forward install. The capacitive screen does an excellent job of reducing sunlight reflections, but it's at night that the vibrant display really "shines"! I highly recommend!

Pros: CarPlay, no CD, 45wx4 (rms), 5v preouts, User friendly, Bright display, dual USB ports

Cons: No Navigation antenna input to boost Apple Maps but that's just a "nice extra to have"

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX7000

Brett from Evans, GA on 10/22/2019

2011 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony looks great in my 2011 Miata and transforms it into a modern vehicle. Crutchfield delivery was fast and the installation help files were good (but they lacked one critical point)

Pros: The amp is strong and performs better than the usual built-in amp. The single DIN chassis design made installation a snap in a car with NO room to spare. Two USBs allow simultaneous CarPlay and USB music. The glare-reducing screen is a huge bonus in the convertible.

Cons: One USB is full featured, the other is limited to only music files. The screen is low-res and the user interface is drab: simple, white icons on a lackluster background (it looks fine in the modest Miata dash, though). The noisy convertible needs a speed-sensing volume function, but the Sony doesn't have it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP