Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX8000

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAVAX8000

Sony XAV-AX8000

Sony XAV-AX8000

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAVAX8000

55 reviews
View this product

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 2/16/2021

1991 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking receiver, love the ease of use.

Pros:

Cons: Needs a video input

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Stay away from this one

Ian from Loganville, GA on 1/27/2021

2013 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this for several months now. I updated it (which is very easy) to the newest firmwear. I have had so many problems with this radio. I am so mad that I bought this one. Pros: - Nice size screen - Great sound Cons: - remote is worthless. It's covered in buttons but only a few are used for this radio. - What station you are on (radio) and what other station you can go to, covers the whole screen. So if the station has a display of what's playing (singer, song), it only tells you very little about it. Look at my picture. Where it says HITS is the only line where it tells. - Screen buttons don't always work. (touchscreen says what's going on but touching the screen doesn't do anything) - Regular buttons don't always work. - Switches sources on its own. Randomly goes from radio to Bluetooth back to CarPlay. - CarPlay drops out when it wants and the icon disappears from screen to choose it again. - In CarPlay while using maps, I'll go to Spotify to see what's playing and when I return to maps, The maps app freezes and has to restart. So if you are anywhere close to a turn or something don't mess with the radio. (I'm talking miles while on the highway) - Carplay doesn't always come up when I plug in my Iphone (11 max pro) SO I have to plug, unplug the phone several times. Turn off my car to turn the radio off completely. Several times. I have had to reset the radio to factory so many times that I'm about to just pull it out and throw it away.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Jess from Dallas TX on 1/18/2021

2014 Volkswagen Eos

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit looks great and produces excellent sound. Everything functions top of the class. The reason for only three stars is the lack of any screen contrast or saturation controls. The screen is washed put with Apple Airplay. Apple maps, Google maps, Waze and Tom Tom navigation apps are very different to see during the day. Its kind of craze to have a high end head unit with no control of the screen aside from 4 levels of "dimmer".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Carplay sometimes drops out

Crutchfield customer from Kent, OH on 1/6/2021

2009 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo except for the fact that CarPlay drops out occasionally when your phone is hooked up via the usb cable. I have tried six different cables with three of them being Apple cables. Other than that one fault it is an awesome radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Michael from New York, NY on 1/4/2021

2018 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound. Screen is very responsive. Screen resolution could be better as I expect more from Sony. Easy to use and install.

Pros: Size and sound

Cons: Resolution

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MI on 1/4/2021

2012 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Looks and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

excellence

Crutchfield customer from Marion, IA on 12/31/2020

2005 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

always impressed by the professsional help and the ease of installation thank you again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

John from KINGS PARK on 12/30/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this radio and since day 2 ive had nothing but problems with it. Never wants to connect through car play, the dam radio freezes and while on a call will literally freeze disconnect then restart and then wont reconnect to my phone. It does have an ok screen and the touch response is not bad but it taking multiple times to plug and unplug just to get carplay to work is maddening. Its software is up to date according to the shop and my iphone 12max is also up to date. It was also a problem with my SE2 so i can only blame the radio. The sub will cut out until i stop turn off my truck turn it back on and then the sub works and i know its not the amp bc i can see it still on. its an overall bad radio im gonna ditch it and get something way better. Trust me it not worth the headache.

Pros: looks nice and fits

Cons: too many issues just read my review

Crutchfield response on 1/6/2021
John, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Mills

Chris from Great Mills on 12/29/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo. Just installed it today in my 2001 F150 lariat 4x4. Sounds great. Plenty of options.

Pros: To

Cons: Cannot add store multiple phones.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony

Doug from TN on 12/27/2020

1995 Honda Del Sol

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does fix a Honda Del sol , so far so good.

Pros: It's a major upgrade for a Honda Del Sol in a single din radio

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Display tilt options

Crutchfield customer from Boiling Spgs, SC on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is good but pictures showing display options are misleading. Display doesn't tilt unless you use tools.

Pros: Great sound ease of use and works great

Cons: Display does not move electronically but has to have tools to move. You need additional software in order to mirror YouTube videos which is a pain.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Pell City, AL on 12/27/2020

2017 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My husband was so happy to get this!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Van Nuys, CA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Dunnellon, FL on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit to replace the base system in a 2020 Camry. The Sony without Apple Carplay wasn't any better or as good as the Camry's. Crutchfield was great and let me return it without question. This unit would be a great upgrade to a vehicle that didn't have Apple or Android.

Pros: Big screen worked well with CarPlay.

Cons: Base Sony system was outdated and not very good.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awsome unit awsome company.

Crutchfield customer from Davenport, IA on 12/21/2020

2011 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awsome unit. Bluetooth sound great to people on either end of the call. Love the seamless integration with phone via Android Auto. Install was very straightforward especially with the master install info provider by Crutchfield. I spoke with Colby a tech advisor prior to purchase and helped me make a great choice. He answered all of my technical questions. The whole experience was great!

Pros: Perfect fit. Easy installation

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best bang for the buck!

Crutchfield customer from Anadarko, OK on 12/16/2020

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit! It was just what I was looking for, nothing too flashy, with a big screen, and Apple Carplay.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

2006 Volvo S60R

Jorge from SIOUX FALLS, SD on 12/13/2020

2006 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They said it didn't fit in my 2006 Volvo s60R looks and sounds great have with the stock amp and a alpine S-A60M for the Alpine R-SB12V sub and really hits hard like the old days I didn't need to upgrade the stock Speakers they sound great

Pros: Nice and big great sounding

Cons: Needs more move ability

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing product

Crutchfield customer from Sumter, SC on 12/13/2020

2016 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo. Everything you could ever want. Love the 4 channel rca outs. Only complain is that android auto isn't wireless, but you get what you pay for. Sound quality is amazing though and love how your basically able to control everything from the stereo itself.

Pros: Amazing audio, rca output

Cons: Android auto /Apple car play not wireless.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2018 camry

Crutchfield customer from Forest Lake, MN on 12/6/2020

2018 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great , easy to use. Wish I could use voice command with blue tooth but wont work with this unit, you must be connected to phone. Worth the $

Pros: Great sound ,easy to use, descent price.

Cons: No voice command with blue tooth..

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Xav av8000

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, OH on 12/3/2020

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product such a huge upgrade to my cars interior!

Pros: All the pros better sound and look

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 12/3/2020

2019 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Screen glare!

Rich from Front range, Colorado on 11/29/2020

2018 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible screen glare in bright light - nearly impossible to see. Good sound, easy installation, simple operation but still disappointed. I'm researching a replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent quality and performance

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredibly responsive touchscreen, even when using it for Apple Car Play. Easy to connect and it fits like a dream. The large amount of screen placement adjustability makes fitting this in your vehicle a breeze, even if you're tight on space. Highly recommend this for anybody who wants to upgrade their stock system to something with little more punch and a whole lot more features.

Pros: A nice little enclosure to route the USB through the USB housing if you prefer a neater look like I do. VERY responsive touchscreen, and a great EQ system.

Cons: Wish it was a little more difficult to remove the screen from the unit in case of attempted theft, but honestly the current system would probably stymie most would be bandits.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 11/16/2020

1999 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I feels great having the ability to modernize a twenty two year old car in this fashion and upgrade. I do wish that the software was a little more indebt with features and also the addition of another USB connectivity. I did face a glitch with the buttons functioning a little wonky. I associate with the temperature as it was cold on those days when it happened. We'll see how it goes when the warmer months come along. This Thanksgiving will be a test of its long run operation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, MN on 11/4/2020

2013 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is awesome. The screen helps lot with navigation and also it make the backup camera look huge.

Pros: HD audio, android auto, Apple carplay, FM radio and xm ready. Easy to find USB port.

Cons: Needs a better mirror screen app.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice simple headunit with everything you need! Highly recommend

Crutchfield customer from Paris, TN on 11/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my kenmore motor home and was pleasantly surprised! Very clean screen very clean sound navigation from Apple CarPlay works flawlessly and it's single din! Very nice headunit that is straight to the point. No fancy widget buttons. Just a nice and simple unit that I'd buy again!

Pros: Simplicity, functional, single din, 5v preout, big screen

Cons: None that I've noticed thus far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Saipan, MP on 10/3/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I owned a Sony XAV-70BT and loved it's features but it was time to upgrade to a new head unit callable of Apple CarPlay and more... I've always loved Sony products with the ease of use and familiarity of my previous head unit... overall I was happy with the unit and the shipping was super fast given the location where I'm from... installed in my 2005 Toyota Tacoma X-Runner

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke, MA on 9/20/2020

2003 Dodge Viper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great although on a 2003 viper you have to shorten the shifter otherwise your hand will hit it in reverse

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 8/25/2020

2018 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this head unit. Installed in a 2018 Nissan Titan. Slight glare on screen and that's why it didn't get 5 stars. Easy installation and love the WebLink app on the update.

Pros: Ease of use and install Plenty of control options Very versatile

Cons: Glare on screen.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A+++

Crutchfield customer from Mc Intyre, GA on 8/21/2020

2014 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it crutchfield is a A+++. I will be ordering again from crutchfield. keep up the fantastic work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Justin from Jasper, AL on 8/6/2020

2009 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made 09 Camry great again. This is my first aftermarket install. My wife has a 13 f150 with navigation (all bells and whistles) she likes this radio better. I have worked in steel mills for 17 years and am going deaf. I bought this radio for a louder hands free phone and stream music. I was not let down. Hands free calling people can hear me and I can hear them WONDERFUL. Can say enough about app interface. Apps are easy to use and safely.

Pros: Awesome sound I think a could turn it up and destroy my speakers with no distortion in sound. 16 programmable fm stations Apps work like they should. Screen mirroring with WebLink Interface is easy, and large Can listen to YouTube Can listen and watch with WebLink Hands free calling is great. Great for short arms

Cons: Fingerprint magnet Screen glaring is BAD No HD radio Screen resolution not great but ok Volume goes up and down when you change apps.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great device, glare screen

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great device, well built and quality. My only problem is the glare on the screen, on a bright day the glare on the screen is very inconvenient

Pros: Great value Great sound Amazing Sony warranty

Cons: Glare on the screen is really bad

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

10/10

Ayden from Greer, SC on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this for my 2011 Camaro SS, never had a screen just a regular radio. This radio transformed the interior to look like it just came from the factory. Really has a Tesla feel with the floating screen. 10/10 easy install with Crutchfields instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Loving the Apple CarPlay on the big screen

Paul from Edmond, OK on 6/29/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2019 Toyota 4Runner. It's just the right size. It does not block the air vents or climate controls. I prefer using Apple CarPlay over the clunky interface that came with my 4Runner. People have complained about a glare. There is a bit of a glare sometimes but it's no worse than the old screen I replaced. There aren't a lot of bells and whistles with this unit it if you're looking to use CarPlay and want a big screen, I recommend this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Guest from Staunton, VA on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean looking maneuvers well Very functional

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Emerson, NJ on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great system easy to use setup easy sounds awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 6/23/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this on my 2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited without any problems even though Crutchfield's website said it was not possible. So far this is a great product with the simplicity that I was looking for and the quality that Sony is known for. As other reviews have stated, it only pairs with one Bluetooth device at a time which is unfortunate for this price range.

Pros: Simplicity, high quality and ease of installation.

Cons: It pairs with only one device at a time. Device (tablet portion) very susceptible to theft by removing 5 screws... makes me worried when driving with the top down.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Nice Unit!

George from Saint John, IN on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Happy with the unit. Love the 10-band EQ that the unit has. Only problems I have is does not come with a single DIN mounting cage/sleeve. You will have to find one elsewhere like I did. Took two try's but finally found the correct one. You will need one from a Sony X-plod CD player. Also don't like that you don't have a lot of options with the screen. With this nice large screen and you only have the option for 4 different colors, wish you could upload your own images. Over all love the unit. Also Crutchfield says this will not fit in a T-Bird, but yes it does. Made it work in my 95' and still have about 2" clearance from shifter.

Pros: Large Display, EQ built in, Lots of RCA hook ups!

Cons: Not alot of options for display color or image changes, doesn't come with single DIN mounting cage/sleeve.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Angel from Stockbridge, GA on 6/3/2020

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit for my 2016 Tacoma. The sound is good "above average" but the the screen's brightness is terrible it catches glare that cannot be compensated with the settings. Also in the Tacoma during the installation, even if you push the screen all the way in you can see the screws and metal in the back. Unless you're willing to do mayor modifications on your dash that cannot be corrected . While driving the cover plates in the back of the screen rattle. I will end up buying a different unit from Crutchfield because definitely there's no better customer service anywhere else. You guys are great ,Sorry for the poor review of the product .

Pros: Glare poor brightness. Can see metal and screws in the back of screen. Supplied plastic covers in thwack of the screen rattle.

Cons: Above average sound.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Awesome sound and price!!!

Gilberto from Alameda, California on 5/31/2020

2020 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best value ever!!! This is the bargain that I was waiting for, the features of expensive equipment for the low price that I wanted, it is installed in a 2020 Corolla Hybrid (they said it couldn't be done) but with Crutchfield help and time and patience it is done paired with awesome Rockford Fosgate components in front and Infinity Primus in back the sound is UNREAL!!! Just one think I didn't like and it is that is not capasitive screen but for the price I am very happy

Pros: Price vrs features

Cons: Screen has not the definition and speed for expensive equipment But worth it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Pleased

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MO on 5/30/2020

2010 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good good quality! Love the big screen! Crutchfield was very helpful and professional! Shipped quickly! Very good prices! Thank you Crutchfield, will be ordering from you from now on!

Pros: Big Screen

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great oversized display

Ricardo from RESTON, VA on 5/27/2020

2010 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in my daughter's 2010 Prius. Great product and with the $100 off even better. Installation was a breeze with the PAC module and the Crutchfield master sheet. Going through the menu is easy. Thought I'd have to replace the stick speakers immediately but was pleasantly surprised by the units amp. Still going to replace them though. Bought for the car play and that works great. Of course I got It for the oversized display easy to see the maps. Would give it 5 stars but compared to the bells and whistles of other units it falls a tad short. Would definitely recommend this head unit.

Pros: Price clear display ease of going through the menu. Sturdy mount.

Cons: Wish it had hdmi input one usb.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from New Port Richey, FL on 5/26/2020

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality on this radio is unbelievable. Fit perfectly in a 2018 Camry!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SOLID

Tarriell from Ft George G Meade, MD on 4/19/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a good solid all around unit, originally went with a 9" alpine that was horrible an swapped it out for this. I will admit I was hesitant about trying Sony I've always brought Kenwood and pioneer. This thing sound quality is a 10, I have a 10" jbl stealth box and the bass boost made the sub hit super hard. The over all display and options are very basic and to the point, the buttons on the screen are very responsive and so is the touch screen. Be sure to update the software because you then can add your own screen saver and also mirror your phone to the unit . Lastly the installation is super easy. Trust me get this unit I don't know what the people on the bad reviews are talking about . FYI this went in my 2017 ram 1500

Pros: Crossover and EQ are good . Sound quality , easy installation

Cons: Doesn't have wireless CarPlay

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 3/15/2020

2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was easy to install and the interface is easy to use. Without reading the manual, I was able to set the time, change the eq settings, and set radio stations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Sherman Oaks, CA on 3/10/2020

2004 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Catches glare, can only pair one phone

Mitchell from New City, NY on 3/5/2020

2018 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2018 Sequoia by a professional who used the OEM mounting hardware. Looks gorgeous--at night. During the day this unit catches so much glare it's often unreadable and even distracts from driving as reflections of trees as you drive by catch your eye. The other major issue is that you can only pair one phone to Bluetooth?!? I don't mean have one phone connected/paired at a given time. I mean the Sony can only store one Bluetooth profile, period. So my wife's phone is paired to the system and if I want my phone to be tied-in I either have to delete her profile and then pair my phone -- or hard connect it to Carplay; which is at least a good-enough workaround but I can't stop scratching my head about this one. Only other issue, and it's minor, is that XM radio doesn't show any station artwork. Overall I'm generally happy with the unit but the Bluetooth issue is a real head-scratcher. But I can't recommend this unit; if I had to do it all over again I'd spend the extra money and get the Alpine

Pros: Simple interface, maybe too simple.

Cons: Catches glare, can only pair one phone to Bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Anthoney from SANFORD, NC on 3/3/2020

2007 Cadillac DTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor screen brightness, lacks crossovers, boring interface. I should have never left Pioneer for the sexiness of Sony.

Pros: Attractive, tons of screen positions, well made hardware.

Cons: Poor software, very few customizations of interface or audio profile, screen may be glare free, but is unreadable on bright days. Using it feels much cheaper than equally priced Pioneer or Kenwood units.

Crutchfield response on 3/4/2020
Anthoney, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 3/3/2020

2005 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The system works. The display is good. The system is responsive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 2/24/2020

2000 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Said it didn't fit my 2000 Suburban but took the chance after some research. Ordered the harness kit, metra single din install kit and some longer screws https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07BYGJ18W?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_mob_b_asin_title Fit perfectly but when the truck is in park the gear shift covers part of the screen. No big deal since I don't use it unless I am driving. Sounds great, Android auto works well after some set up and Crutchfield techs are great as usual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

2014 Tundra

Crutchfield customer from Brandon, MS on 2/12/2020

2014 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Works great In my 2014 Tundra. Easy installation with Crutchfield's tools and installation instructions. Phone support was also awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sony functionality with few frills. Large size screen is perfect for my 2nd generation Highlander (2008-2013). The plastic install kit was pretty flimsy so I modified it to use in parallel with my factory metal bracket. The kept the multipurpose dismay from bouncing around when I travel over rough roads. Still having trouble integrating the OEM camera but found a T-harness adapter on EBay that should work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good head unit for tight spaces(single din areas) and older vehicles

Crutchfield customer from Donna, TX on 1/8/2020

2015 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I know that this will fit in a 2015 Mazda3 since I have tried alot of alternatives. I simply just love sony. Overall its a basic radio with updated features including wired Android auto and Apple car play. Xm radio works but doesnt include Channel/station art which is something you should get at this price point along with wireless Android auto and Apple car play but you can't complain since the overall nice big size monitor makes up for it. Over all I really enjoyed this head unit but should have gotten more features for the price. Also the the XAV-AX8000 features built-in 4 x 55W amplification, as well as Bluetooth connectivity for audio streaming, with support for the SBC and AAC audio codecs. If you own a car with a rear-facing camera, the XAV-AX8000 can connect with that as well but no option to hook up a front facing cam like some other units. Also this head unit does not have HD radio stations or does not come HD ready which is something that might be important to some.

Pros: Android auto and Apple car play big size monitor Wireless remote outputs: 5-channel preamp outputs (5-volt front, rear, mono sub)

Cons: *No wireless Android auto and Apple car play *No Xm Channel/station art *No Custom wallpapers or boot screens *Not HD ready *No Second input for second front facing cam.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

10 of 12 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000 is Perfect for using Google Maps!

Crutchfield customer from Silverdale, WA on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While I love my Toyota Tacoma, I have always hated the stereo with terrible tiny map. This was exactly the radio that I had been waiting for. The large touchscreen with Apple CarPlay allows me to navigate my vehicle with Google Maps with an easy-to-see screen. The photo here is the stereo I installed in my 2015 Toyota Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Screen

Crutchfield customer from Sandpoint, ID on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Big Screen, looks great easy install. Android play works great and sounds great. I like having the RCA connections built into the back of the unit. Last install was difficult to find room for all the RCA cords.

Pros: None.

Cons: Almost two big. Steering wheel clearance to screen is tight!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP