Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
803 935 222 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
803 935 222 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX8000

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAVAX8000

Sony XAV-AX8000

Sony XAV-AX8000

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAVAX8000

13 reviews
View this product

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from New Port Richey, FL on 5/26/2020

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality on this radio is unbelievable. Fit perfectly in a 2018 Camry!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SOLID

Tarriell from Ft George G Meade, MD on 4/19/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a good solid all around unit, originally went with a 9" alpine that was horrible an swapped it out for this. I will admit I was hesitant about trying Sony I've always brought Kenwood and pioneer. This thing sound quality is a 10, I have a 10" jbl stealth box and the bass boost made the sub hit super hard. The over all display and options are very basic and to the point, the buttons on the screen are very responsive and so is the touch screen. Be sure to update the software because you then can add your own screen saver and also mirror your phone to the unit . Lastly the installation is super easy. Trust me get this unit I don't know what the people on the bad reviews are talking about . FYI this went in my 2017 ram 1500

Pros: Crossover and EQ are good . Sound quality , easy installation

Cons: Doesn't have wireless CarPlay

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 3/15/2020

2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was easy to install and the interface is easy to use. Without reading the manual, I was able to set the time, change the eq settings, and set radio stations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Sherman Oaks, CA on 3/10/2020

2004 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Catches glare, can only pair one phone

Mitchell from New City, NY on 3/5/2020

2018 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2018 Sequoia by a professional who used the OEM mounting hardware. Looks gorgeous--at night. During the day this unit catches so much glare it's often unreadable and even distracts from driving as reflections of trees as you drive by catch your eye. The other major issue is that you can only pair one phone to Bluetooth?!? I don't mean have one phone connected/paired at a given time. I mean the Sony can only store one Bluetooth profile, period. So my wife's phone is paired to the system and if I want my phone to be tied-in I either have to delete her profile and then pair my phone -- or hard connect it to Carplay; which is at least a good-enough workaround but I can't stop scratching my head about this one. Only other issue, and it's minor, is that XM radio doesn't show any station artwork. Overall I'm generally happy with the unit but the Bluetooth issue is a real head-scratcher. But I can't recommend this unit; if I had to do it all over again I'd spend the extra money and get the Alpine

Pros: Simple interface, maybe too simple.

Cons: Catches glare, can only pair one phone to Bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Anthoney from SANFORD, NC on 3/3/2020

2007 Cadillac DTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor screen brightness, lacks crossovers, boring interface. I should have never left Pioneer for the sexiness of Sony.

Pros: Attractive, tons of screen positions, well made hardware.

Cons: Poor software, very few customizations of interface or audio profile, screen may be glare free, but is unreadable on bright days. Using it feels much cheaper than equally priced Pioneer or Kenwood units.

Crutchfield response on 3/4/2020
Anthoney, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 3/3/2020

2005 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The system works. The display is good. The system is responsive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 2/24/2020

2000 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Said it didn't fit my 2000 Suburban but took the chance after some research. Ordered the harness kit, metra single din install kit and some longer screws https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07BYGJ18W?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_mob_b_asin_title Fit perfectly but when the truck is in park the gear shift covers part of the screen. No big deal since I don't use it unless I am driving. Sounds great, Android auto works well after some set up and Crutchfield techs are great as usual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

2014 Tundra

Crutchfield customer from Brandon, MS on 2/12/2020

2014 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Works great In my 2014 Tundra. Easy installation with Crutchfield's tools and installation instructions. Phone support was also awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sony functionality with few frills. Large size screen is perfect for my 2nd generation Highlander (2008-2013). The plastic install kit was pretty flimsy so I modified it to use in parallel with my factory metal bracket. The kept the multipurpose dismay from bouncing around when I travel over rough roads. Still having trouble integrating the OEM camera but found a T-harness adapter on EBay that should work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good head unit for tight spaces(single din areas) and older vehicles

Crutchfield customer from Donna, TX on 1/8/2020

2015 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I know that this will fit in a 2015 Mazda3 since I have tried alot of alternatives. I simply just love sony. Overall its a basic radio with updated features including wired Android auto and Apple car play. Xm radio works but doesnt include Channel/station art which is something you should get at this price point along with wireless Android auto and Apple car play but you can't complain since the overall nice big size monitor makes up for it. Over all I really enjoyed this head unit but should have gotten more features for the price. Also the the XAV-AX8000 features built-in 4 x 55W amplification, as well as Bluetooth connectivity for audio streaming, with support for the SBC and AAC audio codecs. If you own a car with a rear-facing camera, the XAV-AX8000 can connect with that as well but no option to hook up a front facing cam like some other units. Also this head unit does not have HD radio stations or does not come HD ready which is something that might be important to some.

Pros: Android auto and Apple car play big size monitor Wireless remote outputs: 5-channel preamp outputs (5-volt front, rear, mono sub)

Cons: *No wireless Android auto and Apple car play *No Xm Channel/station art *No Custom wallpapers or boot screens *Not HD ready *No Second input for second front facing cam.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 9 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8000 is Perfect for using Google Maps!

Crutchfield customer from Silverdale, WA on 1/3/2020

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While I love my Toyota Tacoma, I have always hated the stereo with terrible tiny map. This was exactly the radio that I had been waiting for. The large touchscreen with Apple CarPlay allows me to navigate my vehicle with Google Maps with an easy-to-see screen. The photo here is the stereo I installed in my 2015 Toyota Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Screen

Crutchfield customer from Sandpoint, ID on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Big Screen, looks great easy install. Android play works great and sounds great. I like having the RCA connections built into the back of the unit. Last install was difficult to find room for all the RCA cords.

Pros: None.

Cons: Almost two big. Steering wheel clearance to screen is tight!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP