Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX8100

Digital multimedia receiver

MFR # XAV-AX8100

Sony XAV-AX8100

Sony XAV-AX8100

Digital multimedia receiver

MFR # XAV-AX8100

16 reviews
View this product

Great value from a reputable brand

Frank from Tamuning, GU on 9/14/2021

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is exactly what I was looking for! It does everything I need it to do and more without spending 1k+. The amount of adjustments you can do to the screen is perfect if you need to ensure that your AC vents aren't blocked (which was a need or else my wife would've told me to return it haha). The install was easy and looks great in my 4Runner! I'm glad I purchased it when I did and from Crutchfield because the Team is great!!

Pros: Easy install Great value Apple CarPlay Android Auto 9 inch floating screen Multiple adjustments

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jeep Wrangler none Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Assonet, MA on 8/9/2021

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2017 Jeep Smoky Mountain none Alpine. Talk to the people at Crutchfield on some of the wiring easy. Just a great bunch at Crutchfield. So on the radio I also installed the Alpine backup camera. Super easy on this model to do. I like how you can adjust the angle and the up and down height and the mounting kit for the looks factory. And the Email instructions shows ever thing.

Pros: Easy radio the use. This radio is made to mirror our phone.

Cons: I would of like to have one more adjusting angle. But looking at the way it made I see why.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from New Market, MD on 8/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So i am comparing this to the Jensen CAR8000 since i ended up with this after trying the Jensen. Nothing against the Jensen, it was 5 stars for the price. The Jensen had a larger, more detailed screen than the Sony (also better touch to the screen), but had a lot of glare - not so on the Sony. The FM is meh considering the specs say it should be way better than the Jensen. Android Auto (my main focus) is top-notch. Sound is outstanding and the 20 watts on the Sony makes a huge difference as does the 10 band EQ (with 32hz). Mounting screws on both were a pain, but that is because of my dash. 4 Stars is for price. Its a great radio, but the price is high for what you are getting. The ability to adjust the EQ any time via the option button is great. Haven't used the HDMI (honestly, i liked the DVD on the Jensen along with the volume knob.) Auto-dimming is an issue - i find since it is not in the dash (but above) i need full brightness during the day and have to set to auto at night. Or else is doesn't go to full brightness during the day. Brightness had to be adjusted on the Jensen a lot also (too bright at night without changing). So they both have issues there. Having the RCAs on the back of the Sony is a huge plus over the bundle of wires hanging out of the back of the Jensen. This is running Polk MM 6x9s along with the rest of the stock dash/rear Sienna speakers. An NVX amp is connected putting 760 watts RMS to Alpine S 12" which sounds great for a minivan

Pros: Sound is phenomenal, great EQ, great power, since is single DIN i get an extra pocket in my dash.

Cons: FM is weak compared to stock Sienna radio. (Wife still listens to FM despite having the apps on Android Auto. So do i if my phone is not connected.) Screen resolution, touch and dimming could all be better. Only 1 USB input! I like having the ability to switch between my phone or if its not connected having all my music on USB without having to find it and plug it in. At this cost, there is no reason to have both. (The Jensen had 2 USB AND MicroSD, but would not play AAC files-long story!)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 7/28/2021

2015 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this radio in my 2015 F250 and it sounds great. Big improvement over the stock radio. Installed Kenwood speakers also. Having Android Auto is awesome. Didn't see the parking brake at first, so just connected that wire to the ground.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Joseph from Jefferson Ga on 7/27/2021

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 94 Ford f150. This is a very nice unit for the price and everything worksgreat so far.. Very simple to operate and would recommend it .. Screen is not easily visible in really bright sun, even with tinted windows..

Pros: Price,and very user friendly

Cons: Glare on screen in sun light, but this seems to be with all aftermarket units..

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound, look and feel. It brought my 2008 to 2021. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OK, not great

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 7/26/2021

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony XAV-AX8100 is OK as far as car stereos go, but it's another one of those things where you have to wonder whether anyone at Sony actually uses their own product. See my Pros and Cons for details but the short version is I would not buy this unit again.

Pros: 1. HDMI input is nice. 2. Touch screen is responsive

Cons: 1. Screen is dim and it's not adjustable. 2. The anti-glare screen washes everything out. A glass screen like on any cellphone would be far better. 3. Only one USB port. If you use Carplay it requires USB which means no playing media from a thumb drive. 4. The home screen icons cannot be customized. 5. Hitting the 'Next' button on the steering wheel makes SiriusXM go to the next station, not the next present, making it fairly unusable. I was told this was a Sony thing and not change

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

If you have an iphone, dont buy this

Chris from Ft Mitchell, KY on 7/22/2021

2010 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently bought this unit to replace a Sony AX-100 because the AX-100 stopped working properly with my iPhone. I just bought the latest iPhone and before that, I had an iPhone 6 that worked fine with the stereo. The symptoms were that sometimes the AX-100 wouldn't connect CarPlay, I had to unplug the USB and plug it back in several times. Once it started working, it would intermittently stop working. Sometimes after 5 minutes, sometimes not for an hour or more.I already had the latest firmware from Sony, so I tried some iPhone troubleshooting steps that I found online and could not fix the issue. I chalked it up to my stereo being too old and my iPhone too new. So I bought this stereo. What a mistake. For starters, I have a 2010 Silverado, and this stereo sticks way too far out from the dash. Like ridiculously far. It interferes with the gear selector on the steering column when putting the truck in drive. I can get around that by moving my hand position, but it is annoying to say the least. The worst part though, is that this stereo is showing the exact same symptoms as the AX-100. I have to plug the USB cable in multiple times before CarPlay will come up. It's not my charging cable either because the phone starts charging every time, but the radio just sits there and acts like nothing is plugged in. I'm extremely disappointed in this product. I'm debating returning it and just buying a normal DIN radio with Bluetooth. CarPlay is great but not

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love the screen

Campbell from MECHANICSVILLE, VA on 7/21/2021

1994 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio I like the big screen but was hesitant about blocking the reminder of the dash but worked ok. Difficult to get all set screws due to proximity of screen to control panel So far so good though

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stereo Head Unit Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Saint Michaels, MD on 7/19/2021

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think it looks pretty good, easy install..great price...its was the best upgrade solution for what I was looking for. Installed in a Jeep Wrangler 2012

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Exceeded expectations

Crutchfield customer from Mandeville, LA on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been into car audio since I was a teenager. Radios, amps, subs, I've lost count on how many car audio set ups I have had. This Sony head unit exceeded my expectations. By far, it is the best head unit I have ever had. If you are on the fence with this one, jump! You will not regret it.

Pros: Very intuitive. Easy to install. Best hands free / Bluetooth sound I have experienced.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from West Hollywood, CA on 7/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great !! Very easy to use!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

It's like a whole new car again...

Crutchfield customer from Oak Lawn, IL on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When my wife and I started getting the "itch" to shop for a new kiddie hauler, we quickly realized that we were both drawn to the tech in these new vehicles more than the other amenities that they offered. We have a 2011 Toyota Sienna SE. We had an aftermarket Kenwood DNX6990HD in there already but it lacked Apple Carplay and was clucky with Bluetooth at times. This Sony XAV-AX8100 breathed new life into our minivan. The added output power made the stock speakers come to life. The Apple Carplay was fast and responsive. The bootup time of the radio was nearly immediate. There are no in-depth customization features in this radio so if you are looking to build a competition system with deep customization options look elsewhere. However, this unit is leagues above just being "average" in performance. The screen is snappy and responsive. The display is sharp. I haven't hooked up my reverse camera to this yet or tried the HDMI port as I just installed it last night with the excellent support from Crutchfield. I sat in the van for over an hour just enjoying the clarity of this system over our previous radio. This is wired CarPlay/Android Auto but it wasn't a dealbreaker for me as it also charges the phone while in use. I'm using the Axxess adaptor to retain steering controls. NOTE: Sony offers a mono subwoofer out so you'll need a mono-to-stereo adaptor if you're connecting an amp or powered subwoofer. All-in-all this was an excellent and affordable option for our family.

Pros:  Easy to install  Extremely adjustable floating panel for positioning the screen perfectly  Fast bootup time  Excellent power output  Responsive display  HDMI port is on the bottom of the head unit - not behind it  PRICE  Did I say PRICE already?

Cons: Very minor cons:  Mono sub out - needs an adapter  Not many wallpapers on-board (can upload your own though)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Peck, KS on 7/12/2021

2012 Dodge Truck 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the head unit, the only thing I wish was different is the screen brightness. When wearing sunglasses it's especially difficult to see the screen clearly. Otherwise it's a great upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah, FL on 7/10/2021

1986 Chevrolet El Camino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Todo bien

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 7/10/2021

2014 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice head unit, screen size is the perfect in between size - large enough to read easily, but not so big that it dominates the dash. Sony's software is straightforward and clean, and Android Auto (my primary use) works very well. Touchscreen is very responsive, particularly for a resistive screen. I've removed one star for the lack of screen brightness - it matters only in direct sunlight.

Pros: Screen size, software, physical buttons

Cons: Dim screen, single USB

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP