Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS™

Bluetooth® wireless noise-canceling headphones

MFR # MDRXB950N1/B

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS™

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS™

Bluetooth® wireless noise-canceling headphones

MFR # MDRXB950N1/B

33 reviews
View this product

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Crutchfield customer from Chickasha, OK on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones sound amazing, have amazing battery life, and were purchased for a very cheap price on this website. I highly recommend.

Pros: Clear, crisp sound, great noise canceling, very portable, booming base, long battery life, comfortable.

Cons: Plastic seems cheap but I haven't had any problems thus-far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

wesley from Blanchard, OK on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely nice headphones. Works flawlessly and sound is superb. I have no complaints

Pros: Price, sound and comfort

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Crutchfield customer from Warminster, PA on 10/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is good. They fit nicely.

Pros: Sound is good

Cons: They became very warm on my ears after a few songs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great head phones!

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 10/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Great sound especially with bass enhancer. Noise cancelling works like a charm. Finally - these are very comfortable around the ears.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stereo headphone

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't had headphones in a long time please don't have as much bass as I thought it would

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

T head phones

Crutchfield customer from Herrin, IL on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Comfortable to wear with great sound and good bass. Works well with my iPhone with easy to operate controls. Received my order on time when expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great product/great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product/great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality is very good but the headphones are heavy and bulky and they fit my head too snuggly even with maximum expansion. I will admit to having a large head!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Howard from Bronx, NY on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent headphones with a really good sound.

Pros: Decent product with a comfortable fit.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, amazing bass!

Jake from Dalton, MA on 3/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these back around Christmas time on sale. I have been a fan of Sony products for a while now. These do not disappoint. The sound is great, and the bass amazing. My friends with Beats and Bose are amazed at how good these sound. The noise cancelling isn't as good as a set of Bose, but I think they do quite well. They cut down on the airplane noise perfectly. Get these on sale, they won't disappoint!

Pros: Great sound for the price! Comfortable to wear, phenomenal battery life!

Cons: A little bulky, but expected with over the ear phones.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good Sound / Poor Construction

Guest from Phoenix, AZ on 2/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these every day at work and carry them back and forth using a hard clamshell case. I treat these phones with care and respect since they were a gift and since they represent a significant price upgrade from the old phones I lost. I take care of my stuff. Last week I rotated the left cup and held it to my ear to listen to something without putting them completely on. The cups rotate for "DJ" style listening. Later when I went to put them on, I noticed one of the arms that held the left ear cup was broken. To say that I was disappointed is an understatement. However, the disappointment was only beginning. I went home and located the receipt. These phones are only eight months old and there's a one-year warranty. Cool. I called Sony Customer Support expecting them to replace these defective phones. Less than ten minutes into the call the rep says, "Let me check our database." [Keyboard typing sounds.] "No, I don't see any reports of this type of problem with this model so this would fall under physical damage, which is not covered under the warranty. You can try calling an authorized repair shop to see if they can be fixed." What?! Frustrated, I took the number and called the repair center. They said they could be fixed. It would be $93.00 before parts to fix some phones that were $125.00. "No thanks," I told the lady, "I'll try to glue them back together myself or get a different pair." Avoid this model. Seriously. You've been warned.

Pros: Good sound Noise cancelling Extra bass

Cons: Poor construction Break easily Sound "hiccups" on Bluetooth repeatedly

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Guest from Mt Crawford, VA on 1/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup. Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Crutchfield customer from Morgan Hill, CA on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones have amazing sound quality. They are also great with noise canceling. They are comfortable and very light weight.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, FL on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't get them to work between the Pandora and my Sony TV so I gave them away to my niece

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Tom from Pierre, SD on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK for the price. Not very comfortable for me. Low budget headphones. Wish I would've bought a better pair.

Pros: Low price

Cons: Uncomfortable. Sound quality average

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 Extra Bass head phones

Charles from Lexington, VA on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with exceptional bass! I use the app that is provided by Sony to fine tune the sound, really nice feature. Came the next day from Crutchfield as advertised. Great company, thanks!!

Pros: Exceptional sound Fits well and comfortable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Crutchfield customer from Bastrop, TX on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product. Sound is good. Noise canceling good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great value

Jerry from Blytheville, AR on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these week before Christmas, has a lot of bass so if you like bass these ae for you. Have worn these for 10 hour sessions, the are very comfortable. They do everything that advertised. They are a little on the heavy side but these are a great value for the money. I would recommend these to anyone.

Pros: Does everything that advertised. They sound really good.

Cons: Little on the heavy side.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Smashing bass and crysyal clear sound!

Greg from Pompano Beach, FL on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are life changing! I would and have recommended them to friends. They feel and sound great and go a long time before recharging.

Pros: Sound great and look good and they are at a really incredible price!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy set up, my wife loves them..

Steven from East Sandwich, MA on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, my wife loves them.. Frankly, this is the first "tech toy" in a while I've gotten for my wife that I didn't have to set up for her. So, I gratefully don't really know what the set up was, but it must have been pretty easy with her ipad.

Pros: Easy set up, my wife loves them..

Cons: long charge time - 7 hours

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound, poor fit

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with high quality. Quite happy with the purchase. My 4/5 rating is because I find them uncomfortable to wear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

They Do the Job!

Jack from Redford, MI on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted some noise cancelling phones for my son. He says they block out my wife and I when we argue. If they do that, they must be DAMN good!

Pros: They work as advertised. (How much stuff doesn't?)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Ruben from Carson, CA on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for some good wireless headphones to watch movies and tv on my apple tv. Loving the voice indicator when you turn on/off the device or turn on/off noise canceling or bass effect. Watching action movies with the bass effect on is the way to go. Happy with these headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound is Excellent; Noise reduction Wonderful

Robert from Port St Lucie, FL on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are great. The sound is superb! The noise reduction really works very well. I purchased them to use at LA Fitness. They have ongoing music there -- music that is loud and not at all what I want to hear. The Sony headphone eliminate the outside music. Fantastic!

Pros: Great purchase at a low price for the quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Guest from Cincinnati, OH on 8/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like the noise canceling a lot. Used it every week day for Skype meetings. Music sound was really rich. By far my overall favorite set of head phones. I could even use it well on my Android phone. --sound is great --noise canceling is good --blue tooth range works well --battery life is very long --very comfortable However, one day, as I was putting them on my head for another meeting. I heard this tiny cracking sound. Sure enough the plastic that holds the earpiece had cracked just below the swivel. I called Sony because I was well within my one year warranty to get it fixed. And wouldn't you know it, they don't cover physical damage even if it's from deficiencies in their product design. The reviews on Sony's site seem to prove this issue best with multiple photos of this defective cracking. Wow...what can I say after 10 months of careful use this happens. The plastic the holds with the actual earpiece is just too weak near the MDR-XB950N1 logo and swivel. It will only be a matter of time before it cracks. The more you travel, the more this flaw will become apparent because of the need to re-adjust the headphones after you remove them from the case. So, mileage may vary but I used my just about every day. AND I have a hard case to protect them--which is also doesn't come with. But if you happen to use a head set mostly every day, it's just a matter of time before this cracking happens to your headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Best sound ever

Les from Bluffton, SC on 8/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, great sound quality and ease of use. The bass is incredible and the unit is very comfortable to wear. Another Sony hit.

Pros: Easy to charge, bass is A-1, very well made product

Cons: None that I could think of.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Wow!!

Mason from Lynden, WA on 6/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Trying to buy the best n/c BT over ear headphones at or around $200 involved quite a bit of research. I own some open back Sennheiser HD650's and a pair of Audio Technica ATH M50X's. Let me first say that I was unsure of buying anything with the label extra bass associated with it. I soon discovered that my fears were unwarranted and these headphones have exceeded my expectations in every way shape and form. They have great range and the base can be adjusted using the app, which is a critical component to the performance of these headphones. The noise canceling technology is excellent and can block out a loud TV nearby, a mower outside and a snoring wife. I was concerned that the noise canceling would not be perfect like other more expensive brands but when it comes down to how it performs I simply did not think about the sound being played through the headphones at the same time the noise canceling is working. And you just don't hear anything around you but the music. The sound is full bodied and has excellent range. The ear cups do in fact stick out a bit, but I am not in a beauty contest when I wear these things and they are extremely comfortable. I believe that if you use the app to fine-tune the sound these headphones are an incredible value and come very very close to some models $150 more.

Pros: Sound tuning using app, comfort, surprising range and yes the bass is incredible.

Cons: Ear cup thickness

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Crutchfield customer from Isle Of Palms, SC on 1/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are outstanding. I was prepared to go with another type but calling Crutchfield I was guided to this quality at such a reasonable price. Awesome sounds

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

They simply won't die!?

Steve from Virginia Beach, VA on 1/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new Sony Bluetooth Headphones! First, the battery life is amazing. I put it on charge on Christmas Day before using for the first time, and so far, it hasn't needed charging with sporadic use including one night where I fell asleep with them on. I have 4/5 based only on comfort and size. I have a large head, so they fit especially tight on my head, so much I was worried about it causing headaches, but that hasn't happened. They're also rather large, so if you're looking for sleek, not so much. Pairing is fast though, if you're looking for Bass, I had to turn the bass down in the Sony app so Bass-lovers will be satisfied. There's also the Bass button you can turn off, but I simply fine tuned it for my desired level. Distance from my phone was pretty impressive and the noise canceling is pretty good. I plan on using these during work around the house/garage, so it definitely works better than any other headphones I've had for noise canceling, but I believe there are better options out there. Overall a solid 4/5 stars is a respectable score. I'm happy with them and hoping to enjoy them for many years.

Pros: Long battery life, fast pairing, tons of bass, good on ear controls, solid/robust design, 1/8" jack and wire for non-Bluetooth devices

Cons: TIGHT/slightly uncomfortable on head, Very large profile

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Ok, Not great

Daniel from Bethlehem, PA on 1/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off I got these on a great sale and got gift cards 20% off so I shouldn't really complain since these ended up costing me a lot less. I thought for initially being such expensive headphones that they would have a better overall sound. Bass is a little lacking without the bass boost and is too much with it on. The mid and highs are alright but nothing great. They are very comfortable and battery has been good.

Pros: Comfort, battery life

Cons: Sound quality

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding headphones. Awesome bass. Good value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MDR-XB950N1 EXTRA BASS

Julio from Guaynabo, PR on 12/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bang for the buck, specially on Sale. Comparable headphones cost double than these or more. No kidding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony xb950n1 extra bass

Paul from Windermere, FL on 11/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, adjustable bass with the app is great. Bluetooth connects with no problem, battery life is great and noise cancelling is amazing, most of all they are comfortable, love them and loved the price.

Pros: Great sound, noise cancelling, comfortable, long battery life, great price. Thanks Crutchfield.

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

TOP