Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XM-GS4

4-channel car amplifier — 70 watts RMS x 4

MFR # XMGS4

Sony XM-GS4

Sony XM-GS4

4-channel car amplifier — 70 watts RMS x 4

MFR # XMGS4

9 reviews
View this product

Sony XM-GS4

David from Port Townsend on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice amp. I'm using in a three channel setup, driving a set of Polks in the front doors, and an 8" Kenwwod sub in the trunk. The subsonic filter takes the mush out of the subwoofer, and unlike my old Hifonics Taurus, this amp is very smooth and detailed even at lower volume, which is where I do a lot of my listening.

Pros: Small, good build quality, excellent set of filters and crossovers, detailed sound.

Cons: Not a huge fan of the screw terminals, but with proper spade connectors for power and ground, it is still easy to set up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome amp!!!

Lucas from CARMEL, NY on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have a 4 channel alpine amp which sounds good but to boomy and didn't like the way the bass was hitting so I got this amp and WOW!!! This amp blew the alpine amp out with sound quality!!!!

Pros: Small foot print and sound quality

Cons: Gets a little hot compared with the alpine amp

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great AMP!

George from Saint John, IN on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amp! Lots of adjustments. Great for running component speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XM-GS4

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, TN on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my XR401.4 with this amp. The design is elegant in my opinion. Simple, doesn't overheat. Have gains set to 65w each running Kenwood XR components for the time being. The only think I liked with other amps is the wire inputs using set screws and ferrels, this amp just uses screws, which is fine and holds tight but for appearance, would prefer to have set screws. The removable cover (access to gains, crossovers, etc) does extend a little past the terminals so you can easily hide the wires and not really see connections.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XM-GS4

bob from Cincinnati, OH on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

plenty of drive and crisp and clear sound, Very satisfied

Pros: It's all good

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great clarity

KT from Garden Grove, CA on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used in an active two way system, excellent sounding amp for the price. Easy to install package, fairly compact chassis. If the signal inputs were slightly recessed into the chassis, it would create a tidier install. They need to build a slightly more compact, lower power four channel amp for minimalist hi end systems.

Pros: fairly low height

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XM-GS4

Marvin from Nairobi on 9/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like clarity and size

Pros: Clarity

Cons: Price too high

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Good Amp

Vern from Lexington, MA on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tested it with a 4ohm load and an oscilloscope and I was able to get about 77 watts/169 watts rms output bridged before clipping. I have the front channel hooked up to two Kicker 6.5" CS series components and the rear channel bridged and driving one 12" JL Audio subwoofer. It has enough power for sound quality and zero noise problems. It also looks very nice, I'm glad that Sony decided to ditch the "Xplod" look. I had a Kenwood "Excelon" KAC-X4R hooked up before this and it had hissing noise problems.

Pros: Good looks, good power output, no noise

Cons: Need spade crimp terminals

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Easy hook-up, great sound improvement.

Stephen J. from Winfield, WV on 9/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the compact size and ease of connections. Install directions were clear and diagrams were also. After experimenting with level controls I was able to balance 7 speakers and a Bazooka tube for awesome results of sound quality in my truck cab using a 12 year old Sony Explode dash unit.

Pros: Filters and balance controls, good connectors, compact size, wiring diagrams and install directions.

Cons: Not enough info on the filter and balance controls ( I had to find this on the internet ). Also the connections seemed to be in an awkward order compared to the way I wanted to lay out the wiring in my vehicle.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP